(2013/05) May 2013

pinktulip - can we store the milk directly in the bottles? or must we store it in bags (then when its time to feed bb, we transfer from bag to a bottle)?

I think pinktulip (ipanbaby) brought up a really good point in the link.. now i dont think i wana rely on my 2nd hand pump... will invest in one.

2ks u work in Philips? I used to work there hehehe... Yeah heard that the avent pumps not as strong as medela.. hence will look into new ones..

sleepyskies
You can store in bottles but bottles would cost a lot too, and u will need to buy lids (instead of teats & bottle cap).

Personally for me, I would have about 5-6 bottles that I can spare for storage & to keep in freezer. But when I ran out of them, I used milk bags. But the milk bags I used more when I was storing to return to work. Don't worry, just read up more and you'll find a style that suits you

JC, sleepyskies

Actually for me also I never announce in FB. Is there a need to? Hehe. I also rarely post on pregnancy matters on FB. I think I'm also quite cautious coz there may be people wanting to get pregnant...they might feel happy yet sad for themselves you know what I mean.

jill
My office used to be up the hill at Toa Payoh too!! I would walk down beside Philips to go to Toa Payoh central for lunch.

An acquaintance who used Avent double pump said that the pump is really powerful & good. But at $800, I think...forget it lah huh....hehehe.

pinktulip (ipanbaby)- hehee so qiao u work slf and mcys the uphill? I worked in philips for 6 yrs.. hahaha... I also very cautious and even friends tag me photos i will untag.. nor will i announce openly. let it be suprise when baby arrives.. pray that baby stays healthy in growth. :D

Thanks pinktulip!
Was just confused between the use of bottles and milk bags for storage. I always thought just store in bottles can liaos. hehe. For the 4mths ML, am intending to latch during the day and bottle feed at night. Perhaps I will also buy a few spare bottles (with lids) for standby..if not enough then will use milk bags.

Hmmm, I think its up to the individual whether they want to share abt the pregnancy/bb on FB. I see some of my frens posting their bb's scans on FB too. haha. For me, I am just paiseh to announce so openly so unless ppl see photo or see me in person and ask, I wont say.

Btw, breast pumps can use the bottle steriliser to 'wash' and sterilise right? Dont know shld buy those 3-in-1 or 4-in-1 steriliser which acts as a food/bottle warmer too...thought it wld be convenient esp for night feedings. Any recommendation for steriliser - Avent or Pigeon? Any particular model?

jill, sleepyskies,
some people are very open about it. hehe. Maybe we are more private. Actually even if i'm tagged in photos, can't really see my tummy. I also opted to approve tagged photos before they appear in my wall. I've been tagged some really funny things lor. I mean, people bake lasagne also tag me. Haha. What's the point right.
Sleepyskies
Yup I use the bottle steriliser to sterilise my pumps too. It's generally a steriliser, not specific for bottles. Avent or Pigeon should be able to fit in more parts. Basically it's just a big space to dump in all the parts to be sterilised. I have to get a steriliser too. The one my SIL gave (used since her daughter was a baby and now her daughter's in Sec 1) has conked out. Would need to get one soon!

Pinktulip
I burst out laughing at your last comment on whether you look like a lasagne! hahaha! I nv opt to approve tagged photos (didnt know got this option! lol) but if I realise the photos I'm tagged in are those spam type, then I just untag myself. haha.

I know some ppl prefer Avent over Pigeon and vice versa...so I just wanted to know if there are any differences between the 2. Go kiddy palace, spring maternity etc, I see the price abt the same (Avent 3-in-1 at $159 vs Pigeon multi function steriliser at $129) so dont know which to get. Need to visit those bigger shops so I can compare all the models at 1 go! Save myself the headache. hahaha

sleepyskies,
hehe i think their objective is to share the food they cooked, just for fun, laughter and joy. You're right, maybe i should just untag. hehe. FB supposed to be fun right, not stressful :p

U can wait for baby fair & see if they have bundled deals. Actually the pricing is about the same lor, all controlled pricing. But if lucky at baby fair there'll be some deals which are slightly cheaper or they'll throw in some freebies.

Ask u all hor, for those of u who buy 2nd hand pumps or continue to use you own existing pump for the your coming #2/3. Do you replace the spare part like tubings, valves and membrane? Or u all just continue to use the same one?

Also, I saw thing pumin pal thingy, quite interested, anyone use it b4?
And not too sure if I buy the supershields I should buy 2 sizes or just 1 size will do. Currently the Medela breastshield , I used the 24mm one.

Xuan, for my #1 i used avent then switched to Nuk during the second month. Don't know why my son just cannot suck the teat of Avent. Maybe too hard. But anyway when my son was young, i used NUK latex teats cos it's soft and my son suck well on it. The silicon teats also quite soft. After a while i used Pigeon. I love pigeon. Till now still using pigeon. But i know Avent is a popular brand. My pump is Medela so i keep medela bottles for pumping and storage. The skinny bottles can also use for pumping and storing milk.

Re: Sterilizer
I know many buy Pigeon or avent steriliser. Actually i buy Lucky Baby brand sterliser. It's cheap and usable for me
To me steriliser can use can le.. Hee..

Griny, for my #2, i will be changing the breast shields and tubings. Basically all the spare parts that come into contact with the milk will be changed.

Breast pump: I used PISA and very happy with it though a bit troublesome to lug it to-and-fro from office. I have a number of friends who used freestyle and PISA and all prefer PISA. Basically their comment is after you use PISA, there is no feel when you use freestyle cos PISA suction is much better.

If you are able to latch your bb well, you can actually consider leaving your pump in office and latch your baby at home. Some of my colleagues do that. For me I'll probably borrow a pump from my friends who has finished BF and put 1 in office and 1 at home.

Griny: I have used pumpin pal for my #1 and simply love it. I used together with the hands-free kit. Actually 1 size should be ok but they always sell in a bundle with different sizes. I find the output the same when I use different size.

pumping in office: I pump 2-3 times in office. I have a few sets of the pump parts so I will leave 1 set in office. After pumping, will wash the parts with the baby detergent and then put in container with hot water to rinse the part and then put hot water in the container with parts to "steam" it. If your company has microwave, you can also use it to sterilize your pump parts.

bottle & teats: I use NUK teats with Avent bottles. Cos the avent bottles came free with the sterilise but I don't like the teats so changed to NUK. For teats, personally have to trial and error cos different kids like different teats. From what I know, most are ok with NUK but some prefer pigeon and others.

mummies who's planning to get avent/pigeon pump, do note whether if you are able to get spare part for the tubing, ect.
I cant remember which brand my colleague got, but its one of the 2 brands above. she happen to lost one of the part and have to buy a new set of pump as she couldnt get replacement for the part.

Debbie,
I oso thinking of whether I should change the parts esp it was heavily used for my #1. I think I would be gd to change new one.

Irene,
I was attracted by its handsfree oso. Most prob I will buy the handsfree but just have not decided for super shield whether I want to buy as the whole set or not.

Blurdopey,

I think getting spare part for Avent still not too bad. At least, can get from Philips @ TPY, if not there are a few sellers from the bulk purchase selling the spare parts oso.

alohaaaa!! almost to the end of day already.. for mummies who are working, jia you! i'm just about done with my task for today but super lazy still.. haha..

pinktulip: Oppppps!! hope i never make u throw up!

awesome advise on the pumps mummies! for first time mummies like some of us, it is very useful.. will consider getting from the megababystore link.. most likely will see see at the baby fair first bah.. it's coming!

heading on or already in our third and final trimester!! woohoo!! jia you jia you! this phase over means the beginning to the next headache.. haha..

Xuan: I use nuk teats and bottles for my #1, as I've read reviews that Nuk teats are shaped very closely like the nipples. I intend to use this brand for #2 too.

Dian_tang: i think is not enough unless you are determine to fully latched bb. Cos newborn feeds very frequently. Last time i prepared at least 5 to stand by.

Blurdopey: cos its 2nd hand. Bought from my ex thread mummy that used only 3 months. Was a good buy cos she gave me other related things

Looking for milk bottles now

aiming for Nuk brand now...

however, which is recommended?

Plastic or Glass type?

Also do u recommend latex or silicone teats? Heard silicone is more lasting but which one is better for babies' development in general?

tia

Dian tang, 3 bottles a bit little if you are most of the time feeding using bottle. I needed at least 5 bottles as for #1 I never latch. Only express breast milk out

Griny, my spare parts also heavily used by #1. I think by now not very clean also since its kept away. Are you using medela? Can buy spare parts from spree.

sleepyskies: for me, i pump already i store in bottles for those daily consumption one. any extra i will packed in milkbag, lie flat and store in my chest freezer.
after 1-2 month, i practice 1st in 1st out. this is because firstly to delay the date of the milk (although i have a chest freezer which i can store my milk 6 mths)
secondly to let my bb get used to frozen ebm. (ebm stored more than 2 months or so in freezer tends to have a fishy smell - its normal dont worry)

thus i have some storage bottles and also milkbags on standby.

dian tang: i standby 4 bottles at least. cos dont have to keep sterilizing mah. dont need too many. cos u also be sterilizing the pump parts together with the milk bottles

jill: no i am not working at philips. my sis's SIL works there...so she can get staff price still

vi: u can consider pigeon package. they have this sterilizer package usually in their fairs. taka bb fair also will have. its very worth.

xuan: i always stock up my pureen products during the fair.
i usually will get the ABD washing detergent for bb clothes. then the bottle detergent. i think its 3 bottles for $17. outside selling $6.60 per bottle. orange or mint flavor. u dont one flavor also have.
then this round i gonna get the pureen wipes for ifc use also. cos got flap one easier for them. metro selling $7 for 2 packets.

2Ks - milk for daily consumption no need to put in freezer? Just put in the fridge normal compartment can liaos? How long can the extra milk be stored? Can we mix new and old milk together? Sorry ah, still v.confused abt what to do...and I read that we shldnt boil the frozen milk coz it will lose nutrients. Then how shld we de-freeze the milk from the freezer?
The ABD washing detergent is by Pureen? Good and gentle for baby clothes? Do we need to use any germicide? I read somewhere there's this brand Napisan which is a gentle germicide to be used with baby detergent. But I go many places find also dont have. Dont know if its necessary to get it anot...

When is the taka fair again, ladies? Am going to get a copy of the Mother & Baby mag later..need to stock up stuff le!

Is Pigeon sterilizer better or Philips Avent 3-in-1 Sterilizer better?

I saw from the Mother & Baby mag that Pigeon Sterilizer bundle selling at $138. I think Philips Avent sterilizer bundle I saw at Isetan selling at $189 or something.

Thanks 2ks!
I just bought the baby diapers , wipes, nappy rash cream baby shower gel from a medical hall in teck whye etc . They do sell the herbal pack for bathing dur confinement .

I have the following items :

1)BNIP Anakku cloth napkins letting go cheap. 12pcs/pack (usual outside selling 10pcs/pack) going cheap at 1 packet for $25, 2 for $40.

2) TMC diaper backpack. Black colour, Interior is fully lined with plastic and waterproof. ** Comes with a changing mat! Dual-zipper enable open from both sides. Large net pockets at both sides for putting water bottle. $10 only!

Self collect since bulky to post. Pickup at :
Weekdays
Alexandra Retail Center
Pasir Panjang Road
Vivo (lunch time)
Taman Jurong

Weekends
Aljunied, Dakota MRT
Old Airport Road area
Geylang/Guillemard Road
Weekend at suntec area or Kallang Leisure can be arranged

Intersted pls PM me or want to vieew pictures

sleepyskies: chilled milk (keep in normal compartment of fridge) can be store for 48 hours.
u can always mix the milk, but MAKE SURE both same temperature. means freshly pump and chilled cannot mix together until they reached the same temperature.

and defroze of febm - usually i bring down the fridge the night before for next day consumption. or soak with tap water lor...
but note, when bring down put in fridge to defroze, remember to put inside a container in case the milkbag leaks

just warm up with hot water will do. note: not boiling water. i used avent digital warmer, 3-5 mins done.
if outside, i bring along a container plus hot water to soak. it will take abit longer.

ya...i been using pureen or pigeon washing powder all along. less foam lor.
i never used napisan la...its exp and not necessary.
but i know napisan is good for clearing stains esp good for cloth diapers.
think i saw in cold storage.

Hi mummies. is it a must to buy sterilizer? I'm still thinking if I should get one.. If without sterilizer, what should we do? Wash the bots, put in boiling water then onto the rack to dry? If with sterilizer, we just wash, put the bots in sterilizer and that's it?

vicvic
i m.getting those set
seems cheaper

but i think is indicidual preference?

bb weight
is 792g at week24day4 heavy?
my bb practically double in size fr 330g a month ago to 792!

vicvic,
Are you planning to bf? if yes, think you will need a sterlizer to sterlise the pump parts. (mummies, do correct me if i am wrong)

vicvic: its more convenient i should say..
a sterilizer is not that ex nowadays.

vi: yday i just see my gynae. he told me at my stage now 600-800g is ok weight, normal. i am 25 weeks + now.

JTS,
if your baby clothes are stain with their poo, actually jus wet the clothes, sun it under the sun, and viola the stain will disappear. if still have, jus repeat the action. wet the clothes and sun it. :p

vicvic, i think it is worthwhile to invest in a steriliser. as 2Ks mentioned,sterilizer are cheaper nowadays and there's always bundle sales at fair. I have been using my steriliser for more than 2 years for my #1 and will continue to use for #2 so it is a good investment. For steriliser, you wash the bottles etc and then put in the steriliser and after a few minutes, the items will be steriliser and you can use. If you don't have a steriliser, after washing, you have to put the items in a big pot with water and then boil and then use tongs to take out the items and then pour the water away. Basically if you use pour, you will need a lot of water and longer time. With steriliser, you only need a small amount of water.

Blurdopey, yea i plan to bf. so actually there's many things to sterilize.. haha.

2Ks & Irene, well yea.. so better i get a set from the fair. so many things to buy! breast pumps, storage bottles, feeding bottles..

can storage bottles be used for feeding? just add the teats maybe? i plan to get Ameda Lactaline dual pump. Can NUK bottles fit that pump?

Also mummies, any recommendation for infant mattress? I decided not to get a cot and let bb slp on floor w mattress due to space constraint. Is fibrelux mattress good?

2Ks, thanks for the details!
I hope I can remember all these when the time comes. hahaha.
When you say not boiling water, can use those hot water stored in the flask type? Scared those also quite close to 'boiling' temperature..Should babies be drinking room temperature milk or slightly warm/lukewarm milk??
2Ks, the Avent digital warmer you mentioned, is it the bottle warmer? Am thinking of getting that...but not sure if we really need it. haha. 1 last thing, if you go out, you bring the EBM (in bottles/milk bags) with ice packs? Then warm it up when its feeding time?
I realised if you never mentioned, I nv thought about feeding issues when I bring bb outside. hahaha.

vicvic
haha a lot of things hor? Isn't life so much simpler if we are SAHMs in kampung, just latch on demand. No need to sterilise our nips. Fresh milk from source. hehe. Too bad we're working moms. Or even SAHMs need a break too from BF these days.

I also intend to use Ameda Lactaline Dual Pump! U better check about the bottle fit first before you buy. I'll have to look out for it too.

sleepyskies
Is there a reason why you want baby to feed through a bottle outside? Personally, I think the best perk of latching on during breastfeeding is the hassle-free feeding. No need bottles. No need FM Powder, hot water flasks. Just latch, and that's it. When my babies were small, all i brought when I left home was my wallet, keys, an extra nappy & a small pack of wet wipes. Sometimes an extra romper, that was all.

morning ladies...

Have been on leave for the entire week...
CNY was fine with the usual "oh, what's the sex of your baby? how come cannot confirm that it's a gal or boy? if cannot see, then most likely gal la."

Baby was extremely active last night and throughout the night. I was awaken by the movement. I was patting and stroking my tummy for the entire night, hopefully to entice baby to sleep. But it continued to move pretty agressively. Hubbs was woken up by all my movement and tried to talk to baby too. Was awake for almost an hour in the middle of the night before baby slowed down in its movement...

I had coke light and teh c yest afternoon. Could it be the case?

pinktulip: yaa. so many things. with advance technology and all, everything becomes more complicated actually. our expectation also higher. haha. Especially for first time mum like me, everything also clueless, hence everything becomes more complicated. lol.

regarding sleepyskies' question on bottle feeding when out, i think it's just in case bb doesn't latch on well or something. cuz we won't know till baby is out. so ask first just in case. im also curious to know how.

feeding EBM outside:
not all baby can latch well. So actually it is not uncommon for some baby to be on total EBM. so even when mom is out with baby, still need to bring EBM along to feed. and sometimes, someone other than the mom will be out with baby so also need to bring EBM out. when out, you can bring along freshly expressed EBM if you are just out for a few hours as fresh EBM can last 4 hours. If you are bring cold EBM out, then just put in a cooler bag with ice pack to keep it cold and also bring along a thermal flask of hot water so that you can warm it up when needed. It will take a while to warm up so better to prepare before your baby usual feeding time. After warm up, you can use the EBM within 1-2hours. So usually I will warm up the EBM when I am at places like restaurant so that it is easier as I can request for bowl & hot water from the restaurant.

EBM storage guide: http://kellymom.com/bf/pumpingmoms/milkstorage/milkstorage/hours.

sleepyskies, yes you can use those hot water stored in thermal flask. room temp or lukewarm is ok. the bottle/food warmer is very useful. you can warm up the milk very fast using that which is important when you have a hungry and crying baby to satisfy. and when they start solid, you can also use the warm to heat up puree etc. usually the warmer and steriliser are sold as a bundle too at fair.

vicvic: yes you can use storage bottle for feeding as well. for medela storage bottle, you can remove a part of the lid and put in a standard size teat (not the wide neck ones).

Boon: i used plastic bottle all along. Glass one too dangerous for me cos I am quite clumsy lol. I used silicon teats for my #1 since young. he is ok with it. but different babies have different preference. latex ones are softer so some baby prefer latex. basically have to try to know.

Irene: normally we pump straight into the storage bottle? if so, then will medela storage bottle fit most pump or only medela pump can be used?

sleepyskies: dont worry, by then i can share again...but sometimes i share until tired...

avent digital warmer, i think its one of the few that can warm milk in less than 5 mins. i ever tried pigeon, lucky baby...omg more than 15 mins...
wait until the baby cry until dunno where liao.
i have to use digital warmer cos my boy drink 180ml at night that time, so if i used hot water to soak, i need to change water couple of times to warm up that bottle.
thus digital warmer is definitely faster.

when go out...its either latch with my nursing poncho. but hor i tell u, sometimes bb is fussy, hot environment or noisy environment or unfamiliar place they refused to latch.
thus i usually standby a bottle of chilled ebm in my fridge to go...then i bring along a flask of water and a container to soak.
sometimes i just pour hot water in my container.
i am using zojirushi...
wait i try find pics show u, maybe u understand better.