(2013/05) May 2013

Fabbie
i think bb bjorn is good for newborn. i bought for my #1 when he was around 3-4 months old. It really supports my back, until my boy was around 11kg, then its not suitable liao. then i switched to manducca. with bb bjorn, i can really go shopping and still carry things while carrying my bb, very useful!

fabbie: i also using balboa sling! i like it cos the end part got sponge and its adjustable.
i also tried using mim sling but gave up...dunno how to tie la.
i think pupsik also not bad, i see alot of mummies using, but i know must get the right size. most use M i think.

then when bb around 4 mths, i used beco. but my beco is bb facing me only, there is a new model i think can face out one.

i personally think a pouch will be better for newborns cos they like to be cuddled. but when they are bigger, pouch style might be taxing to the mother.

but then...i find, no matter how good or exp the bb carrier is. using it for 1-2 hours is always taxing to the mother's back. carrying a pack of rice on yourself for few hours is no joke.

debbie: the smaller FTG the panels are non-removable. pop the whole thing in the freezer. its quite small and compact. good for 1-2 feeds. i usually use it for work.

the bigger ftg is heavy. thats why i didnt buy and i bought pigeon one instead. cos can take out the ice panels to freeze. sometimes i add ice pack on the top and bottom cos its not insulated.

medela cooler bag that c/w the pump - i am not using that cos its
firstly 1) short
2) too big and the bottles can roll inside
3) the ice brick is damn bulky and heavy
4) sideways not quite insulated.

i used the cooler bag to store my pisa pump motor instead

fabbie: i think i face the same pain as u. u feel like something splitting then dropping rite.
its cos of the uterus stretched. this pain will go away after u give birth.
just try to walk sit rest walk sit rest more often.

i been having tightening of stomach even...its very early for my case, thus i have to rest and rest and walk lesser.

yr gynae sure said normal one...2nd bb onwards its like that...
poor us...our body like rubberband u know...stretched then contract then expand...sigh

bbkk: why u wanna sell it? most ppl have prob putting baby in, cos they afraid of squeezing the baby in. but once u get the hang of it, its ok de.
the handle there is sponged so quite comfy ah

Morning folks!
How was the weekend?
I wish I was at home now. *monday blues*

Re : Slings
I like! But I have to go and hunt for it.
I think Baby Bjorn Synergy is not bad. But when baby gets heavy there can be a strain.
I had an Ergo but sold it off coz I felt it was rather warm.
I also have a Patapum carrier, more suitable for older toddlers. I used it mainly for overseas trips.

Having a little headache now. And yesterday dreamt I gave birth already but work in office still haven't finished being cleared!

worried79: yup! I heard good reviews for manducca carrier. where did you purchase yours from? Saw the specs that it can be used from NB onwards.

Xuan
i got mine from Baby Slings, i think mine was $200 over. its very useful too. i used it until i was preggy with my #2, gynae advised not to use it anymore, and try not to carry my #1. yes, it can be used for nb onwards till 4-5 years old, if i m not wrong. but its tiring for us to carry our toddlers for too long as they grow heavier...

2ks, ya cos I dunno how to use. My hb saw baby like no space inside then I also not used to it. For this time round I am not going to use too. Maybe just use pram. Haha

Xuan, I bought manducca limited edition one. It really have good reviews and it is indeed very useful. Those of u can consider buying.

sleepyskies
I think you can wait till baby's out before you purchase a carrier. After all you can't put a newborn into a baby carrier. A sling might be more suitable. Carriers are probably when baby's neck is a little bit more stable.

I'm also cautious in using carriers for newborns or very young babies. I think better for them to lie down rather than stay upright.

worried: i think when 11kg i will be taking stroller liao. LOL 11kg so heavy.. faints. now thinking either ergo.. or beco carrier.. Hmmm fan leh.. i wana buy 2nd hand don't wana get 1st hand.. u mean manducca is good?

2ks: yes yes i love balboa sling n i hate mim sling.. LOL ya the below pain is like the feeling below like got some tear or what.. is like from bed wake up n pee then pain liao. -___- i ask my gynea just now le.. he say usually will like that have u have no.2. 3 and 4.. gosh so really have to ren ren le.. T___T i think the MOst painful part is changing.. u wear a underwear by standing wah.. your legs lift up damn pain liao.. i wonder if i didn't take epi is the pain will be Worst than this?? if yes IM GOING TO TAKE EPI!! LOL

BBK: u don't like balboa? i felt quite easy to use leh.. LOL compare to mom sling haha

Xuan: thanks for the link!! looks quite good leh.. maybe will get it! hahaa will source for 2nd hand btw.. hubby can wear Manduca?? but seems like manduca is quite ex right?

check up.
Yeah today is my 29 weeks and went for check up everything is fine.. doc say don't walk too much.. walk slowly cuss baby is getting heavier.. and she weight 1.1kg! wow.. i cant wait next 3 weeks later to see my little gal weight how much haha. quite excited ^^

Vi: what did TODAY advertise about the baby fair?
Previously I've got a copy of Mother & baby. Inside also got information on the fair.

fabbie: I think hubby can also use Manduca. Yup. I'm getting it too. Not sure wanna get 1st or 2nd hand. mmm. Since it's my #1. Thought maybe can keep it for #2 also. hahaha. congrats! baby girl Charlotte growing well!! hehe...

hi mummies im back...

after a bz month (final exam last 2 pp & cny back to melaka) finally i can tk a break!! so happy stress free now!

I juz went for my check up last firday.. @28 weeks bb 1.3kg.. consider v.big? Gynea n me still praying hard bb to be deliver after 37 weeks(cross my finger) most properly another 9 weeks i will deliver my boy already..hopefully not a premature baby...

xuan thanks thanks.. my no.1 all the items i also buy 2nd hand one leh.. i hardly buy 1st hand one. cus i felt they all play for awhile only. LOL so no need to buy 1st hand haha. btw i saw manduca people selling like so ex.. 190 above.. -____- not sure how much is the original price..

BBK: where u buy the Manduca sling huh ? and how much?

Xuan and fabbie,
I got my manduca in Bp. There are currently one lady selling in Bp now and one in overseas Bp section.
I bought it with my friend with her thread spree. The lady is amazing, cos I saw the one I like limited edition is oos in the website but she managed to get it for me.
Mine limited edition is $200. I think Bp now selling cheaper at $180.

Rina
So exciting right..less than 2 months you'll have your little boy with you!

Bbkk
I'm obsessed with carriers. I really hope I dont end up buying the manduca. hehe.

xuan
the info same as the mag
but for those who do not haf rhe mag, it is good to refer to Today to see what are some of the deals

can see the softcopy Today if u cant get the hardcopy

Bbkk: the bp seller sold you without the box is it? If so, I think I might know which seller you referring to...Do you have the link of the Bp seller? Is the Manduca carrier authentic?

pinktulip: more on worry... worry abt my #1 donno wat is his reaction... he dam sticky toward me..

Fabbie: cannot too soon must after 37 weeks which is 9 more weeks if not i haf problem if i conceive 3rd bb

Xuan, the link u provided is the one I am saying. But I never order from them. I ordered from aug 12 thread with my friend. They are holding spree that time. One of the link u gave selling limited edition only $180 lor, I bought $200 leh.. Sad

Bbkk: but the selling at $180 doesn't come with box. That's why I scare to purchase from her and she doesn't sound friendly in her posting eh.

Sling/ carrier/pouch:
For my #1 I bot sling but nvr even open coz at same time found pupsik pouch n so just used it. Carrier mine is maclaren one coz tt time bot together w their rocker & pram as a bundle set . But maclaren not cross back type I find it shoulder straining ESP my #1 quite heavy . Is Manduca cross back like baby jorn ? I thought baby jorn is gd still ponderinh if to get it

Fabbie:
wah urs 1.1kg aldy tts gd weight for ger ger? I'm looking forward for my checkup this fri too but I'm only wk 25-26 definitely won't hit 1kg :p

Rina:
1.3kg!! I think in 3rd trim will jump even faster the weight .

bottle warmer: from what i know avent can warm the milk the fastest. and when you have a hungry crying baby, speed is important LOL

storage of EBM in office: i always store in the refrigerator compartment and not freezer cos not if put in freezer, it would likely thaw a bit on the way home. Think not so good to thaw and re-freeze. on the way home, I use the medela bag with the icepack that comes with it. If not enough, I will use a cooler bag with icepacks (can buy from daiso). Then go home faster transfer to fridge or if wanna freeze then transfer to milk bag.

prenatal massage: i tried a free prenatal massage from Preg Massage referred by my friend. Was pretty relaxing, like those normal aromatheraapy massage and totally not hardsell.

Xuan: You can actually just standby some NUK teats (wide neck ones) and no need to buy the NUK bottle. If your bb don't like Avent, you can just replace the teats to NUK to try.

JC: for excess milk, it's really up to you. If you have very good supply and prefer to latch your bb all the way. Then you can just freeze your excess milk so that you can use if necessary for example when you go back to work. For me, usually I will try to feed as fresh EBM as possible and for the excess I will freeze.

carrier: bjorn is easy to use but seriously its lifespan is short. when the baby gets heavier like around 8kg or so, your back will break. I was using the bjorn synergy which was supposed to be the one with better support among the bjorn range but when my bb was ard 8kg, I gave up on it and sold it away and changed to BECO GEMINI. and my friends also advise that for boys, it is not so good cos it presses on the groin area. ergo, beco, manduca, boba are all very very good carriers. all my friends who have these carriers love their carriers. although not cheap, it is well worth the investment. but do beware that there are imitations around. If the price is too cheap, better be wary. I chose BECO GEMINI as it's the only one among these type of better support carrier that can allow bb to face front and my #1 was too used to facing front after being in Bjorn.

sling: I have 3 slings (gifts or hand-me-down from friends) and I totally clueless how to use it LOL. I tried to watch the video and practice at home but can never get it. So gave up and use carrier instead.

Irene.. i also loooking at BECO Gemini too cus looks better leh. haha.

nlimm: i duno is it a good weight anot leh.. hahah.. but i just hope my girl dont hit to 3kg can liao. i scare too big hard to come out. LOL. my no.1 was 2.8kg like that 40weeks.

Carriers I think better wait for bb to come out then buy. I heard for beco if mummy small built not suitable.

Bbkk: manduca hor most designs limited edition... always c limited edition on it... but just the design or colour ma. But its cheaper than beco lor... I bought my beco more than 200 I think.

I also bought Beco Gemini under the recommendation of Irene (she's my friend haha) last time and my boy loves it. I brought him out on my own many times during my ML just using the carrier and my diaper bag. It can support quite well and I don't feel much strain from a normal 2-3 hr outing with him (including 1+ hr coffee or meal time w friends). As I got it from amazon when my hb was in US then, I paid only US$110. My hb used the carrier too!

I also bought the pupsik sling as I believe babies should not be carried upright for long b4 their neck strengthens. It serves me well as it's easy to wear at home so even when my boy was older, I used it for strolls downstairs as u can also carry bb upright in pupsik. Actually, even till now, my mil used it to rock my 20 month old to sleep when he refuses to sleep on certain days. According to my mil, he would even bring the sling to her and asked to be placed in it n would fall asleep within 5 min haha! Surprised the pupsik can still fit my big-sized boy of 14kg!

Fabbie, I like beco or ergo though there are a little more exp, but certainly more lasting. i bought mine 2 years ago for abt $180 after discount. MAybe can surf the net to see whether there are any discounts available. But for these 2 carriers, it is only suited when their neck is stronger.... So guess for the first 3 months, will use the cloth slings...I have seen my frien used the bolba sling...like the padded part of the sling

captain piglet, amazing u could use your pupsik on a 14kg! I find it so tight to put the baby in and the strain on my shoulder was what make me look for a new sling. Maybe next time we can have a sling outing and u could show us how to use the pupsik well heheh

my hubby got a huge tummy...so when he used my beco...i got to release alot for him...keke...
but i like it cos can back carry also...but you need help to put bb in when u wanna back carry.
last time dont have gemini yet..no front facing...

Oh I guess will just search n see see look look. I wana look for 2nd hand maybe I put in the wtb section see got good offers anot.

2ks I think I swing here n there maybe in the end didn't buy haha but I saw beco Gemini the design n cutting like quite nice. I realize very hardly people selling 2nd hand this sia.

Cot mobile for playpen
This time I will be using playpen at my in law house but hor is it quite limited to buy cot mobile for playpen? Cus I saw normally is for baby cot only

Memphis, cos we used the pupsik upright for my boy. He confirm can't lie horizontally in it so if upright only need to put his butt to sit inside. Also maybe cos mine is L size? Kinda big for my size and even bigger for my mil who's slimmer than me haha.

Hi mummies.. I am in my week 27. Just wondering how often do you go for check up during this period? Do ur doctors always do a scan? I am wondering is it safe for babies to have many scans during the whole pregnancy..

Devi: my appointment is every 3 weeks. And yes, each time I go we will do the scan to check on Baby. mmm...I'm not sure if it is safe about the scan during the whole pregnancy. but I supposed it is??

jill: same same!! this saturday!! so excited to see baby. hope this cheeky fellow let me confirm gender leh. I'm already hitting week 27 by Saturday!! =(

Devi I'm 29th this week. Every 3 weeks visit
very visit will have a scan. Should be ok to scan is not like everyday ya scanning hehe

Quite a few of us appointments on this sat. ^^ i'm 26 weeks now.

Getting more excited and nervous as the days passed. Do you all feel the baby moving more?