(2013/05) May 2013

Xuan - Trixia is spammer i think lol.

Is your hair long or short?
Some people I heard grow more hair during pregnancy, but also some got hair fall, depending on the hormones. My long hair always drop a lot and still the same now. As long no baldness appear should be normal?

Rach - you having a bb boy? haha some ppl say that method (pointed tummy = boy, round tummy = gal) buay zhun one so just hear half of it can liaos. haha.

Xuan - i started off doing underarm waxing coz tired of shaving all the time. later went on to do half leg and brazilian waxing. the place i visit is a 1-woman shop but she's quick and good so i stick with her. I stop underarm waxing when I took up a IPL package...but coz pregnant so stop the treatments and I noticed the underarm hair seem to grow quite quickly. eecck. haha. for brazilian waxing, we will wash up then the lady will powder the area and apply hot wax (not super hot type but hot enough to open pores). when dry, she will peel out the wax quickly. the pain is always at that instance when she pull..after that ok liaos. and i feel v.clean and happy with myself. hahaha.

Bonus
- my bonus is performance bonus for last year. they will pay in march so early march will know how much we get.

Carter
- i heard my fren say Carter's sizing run abit small. her baby at 2/3mths already wearing the 6mths romper liaos. haha.

Hair
- me dropping hair since day 1..i think the amt i dropped seemed to be lesser lately. not sure lehs...but maybe can cut shorter to reduce the weight of the hair. i cant stand my hair now...very dry and frizzy! shld have rebonded my hair just before i got pregnant...but then again, didnt know at that time will get pregnant. haha.

xuan: mine is girl! my bonus is annual bonus.. they give every June..

chiro: wooooo! thanks for the info! i'm clicking my way to my shopping cart now.. hahaahahahaha.. but any ideas how much we should prepare? my hubbie always say people will give as gifts during full month.. but then baby first month wrap towel meh..

my hair short short now.. so not much hair fall..

super busy today
today is last day of work liao. Everything squeeze and do today

my belly button getting flatter but i realise getting darker also in between the lines

mine hair also drop from Day 1 but is getting lesser like sleepyskies. initially drop until i very scare coz i very seldom drop hair one.

Rach - my fren told me usually ppl will give bigger size clothing for bb as present so we shld prepare more newborn clothes. But I was thinking, bb in the first few months will rarely go out so buy v.nice clothes also like no use. haha. end up i only bought 2/3 pieces of newborn clothes...not sure if we shld buy more newborn clothes..if bb is fat then maybe can wear the 3-6mths one. haha.

JC - my belly button is also becoming flatter! everyday i observe to see if its popping out. hahah but yes, the inside also v.dark..like dirty dirty but there's nothing lehs.

Chiro: I'm long hair. But huuby said like dropping more n more..

Carter: yup. their cutting a bit more slim. Please buy a bigger size for your bb.

i used to drop lots of hair
but after preg, i du drop much
my.hub love to admirr the floor now
but i m worroed after delivery
gg to go botak

I also dropping a lot of hair and its turning to be very dry. I am thinking is it due to my laziness as I am so tired of doling up these days.

Bb weight:
Went for my gynae check yesterday and bb is 600 plus grams now at week 24.anyone knows if this wright is acceptable? Gynae says oki but ppl ard me say my tummy looks small. I so caution and keep eating now.

Calcium:
And mil commented my calcium intake not enough cos I dun like milk and although I tried to drink more. Haiz I drink milk till lao sai. Gynae call me to get calcium supplement instead. Anyone got good suggestion for natural calcium.?

Min (obliex) - according to the babycentre chart, 600 gm is okay for week 24. Dont worry about ppl commenting small. diff ppl diff pregnancy pace...

Min: I don't drink milk too but started to drink one warm cup every night however, stop for a week already cause wake up I sure lao sai. LOL! mmm, my doctor gave me calcium supplements thou' cos I told him I don't drink much milk. Why don't u get your gynae to recommend u??

Cheese? I drink milk also will go poo poo..but maybe is preg reason , not so easy like before. Now on average is once every 2 days

A lot of mummies are june take bonus! Same same too..mar is FY closing than june take bonus and increment. Just nice baby come will have extra $ .. So maybe some things i will wait till bonus than buy

Will have restructuring again..so maybe after my maternity leave, will change job scope/ dept. i ask my boss got plan to extend the contract staff she say no..an she like no hurry to find a replacement ..left 3 months

my bonus is mar. one mth to the letter...hope will b decent. need the monies to buy things....

wan to ask u gers...if i wan internal trf, do u think is ok to raise after getting my letter? also, shld i flush out my maternity or use my annual leave to cover my maternity so that i can utilise my balance of the maternity leave next yr?
coz i will haf 20 days of al n muz consume by dec
if i swop with maternity, the cutoff is next yr may.

JC (csy1): same here.. company will go through some changes.... hope i still see some of my colleagues when i return after maternity.

oh about tummy shape hor...when i had my 2 boys...my tummy is quite pointed and not so "barrel"
now this one girl...my tummy is freaking round and then hor...i am so barrel shape...

but then my nose never become big or what la...or pimple outbreak also dont have

2Ks: Same. I don't have "barrel" at the moment. Ytd went buy new shampoo hope can help to reduce my hair drop. The shop aunties were discussing about my tummy. Said:"see see..got pop out belly button, tummy grow outwards...waist not much rou de...Sure is BOY la! believe auntie!! Auntie got 2 boys. and that auntie got 1 boy 1 girl..."

I am like...er...ok...LOL!!

Bonus: sigh. Still super fed up over the bonus pay out but ntg can be done alright =( Next month boss promise me that there will be salary adjustment. Hope he keep his promise. If not after ML or end of year I'm saying bye bye already...

Min : 600+g at wk 24 is acceptable. Mine also, 689g at wk 24.

Xuan & 2Ks : I'm having a boy and tummy is also pointed. Nose become bigger and red but most probably is because of increased sensitivity. My tummy quite high, my breastline is the starting pt of my tummy. Anyone here the same? My cousin's wife is also pregnant but her tummy is low. Wonder if there is any difference between high and low tummy.

Btw mummies, i have a qsn..
For hosp, i heard from clinic nurses that upon admission, we pay deposit. But when we discharge, do we pay the balance of the bill then get our medisave claim or we pay whatever that is outstanding after deducting our claim?

Mummies while bb are in the hospital, do we need to bring clothes for them to wear or just bring one set for going home?

Jill : same same..some of my colleague on maternity leave..than after that i go..than one of them was still sating end of year will be full force..i say hopefully lah..also duno who stay who go

For mummies who have an older child, how to prep the elder child? Have heard of getting pressies for #1, then tell them tis from #2 etc.. but during the pregnancy, hw to get #1 to even like #2? coz currently #1 knows abt bb, but cannot accept and will look at my tummy and said 'I don't like baby'.. then when we tried to talk to #1 abt bb etc, #1 will just clam up and ignore us or proceed to play with other stuffs etc.. headache..

Hey mommies & MTBs,

Happy Chinese New Year to all of you! Have fun but don't exhaust yourselves during the visiting ok!

Min
I've been skipping my calcium supplements from gynae but i think i better take it soon. My knee feels quite "loose", hahaha. Like some minor knee pain. I better take Calcium pills. Scared later bone degenerate or what.

Xuan
how many months bonus u getting? Looking at the rate i'm going, I'm just happy if i get 1 month in bonus.

Vi
That's a hard question to answer. U have to ask someone from your office with similar experience. I think for me i'll clear all my ML one shot. ACtually I intend to take NPL also. But it depends on how much $ I can save (looking at my spending, like not much unless i get a good payout for PB

Bewildered
I got a present for #1. He was thrilled. we told him it's from baby, hehe. Don't worry when baby's out i think things will be better. Just be prepared lor. I mean, my #1 used to pounce on the baby bouncer when I'm about to put #2 down. But over a few weeks, he grew to love #2. They are the best of friends now (playmates!).

JC
I brought about 2 sets. I don't recall babies getting newborn clothes. But i think if u dn't bring, they will provide lah. They can't possibly let baby remain unclothed right. Hehe. I'll bring again, plus a receiving blanket so baby can go home in those nice new clothes

pinktulip: Thx for the assurance! =) really soothes the frayed nerves coz was really worried over why is #1 behaving this way? then v concerned tt #1 will bring this undesirable behaviour forward when #2 is out.. dun tink we'll have the energy to manage both.. one crying, one whining for attention.. shall wait and see how thgs goes and hope tt #1 will accept #2 when #2's out.. =)

vicvic: Actually I have a low tummy eh. But I think it's slowly moving up because now I'm having breathing difficulties eh. Cannot eat too full. if not sit down very uneasy...Initially doctor said I have a little low-lying placenta.

Pinktulip: ya. Actually my teeth also. That time I think I not enough calcium intake. My teeth will bleed eh. But after that I took the calcium pill one in morning at night I drink milk.. Then everything was back to normal. no more bleeding. Lately I stop drinking milk cos keep Lao Sai, then the bleed comes back. Im thinking to drink milk again but I hate the smell!

Bonus: I got 2.25months this year. sigh damn sad actually was 4.5months!! because of the performance rating, have to fight with senior for the grade 1. End up, finance department head said one department only can have one grade 1. So, in terms of contribution level of cos I lose to my 5 years old senior lo! End up he took the extra 2months+!!!! Got a super HUGE bonus!!! Initially was me lo!!! damn! but they said will adjust my salary next month with extra commission...don't know la. they always lie to me de. sick of it. Ytd I was super fed up! I write email say my boss.

bewildered: yup! I heard of that tradition also. That time my SIL gave birth to my #2 nephew, she bought a small car and then tell #1 nephew that it's from didi. She also got ask me buy for my nephews then when they come visit me ask me pass them said is baby cousin give de. They believe that like that the cousins can get along well. I don't know how true but I will just follow lo. No need buy exp toy car. jus those small cheap cheap ones will do. 意思意思 only...

for tmc, bb will have clothes to wear upon discharge, a top and mittens and a receiving blanket. i just bring along a bottom and booties.
anyway, just straight away go hm what...no need wear so nice la...kekeke

oh tmc have a goody bag and a diaper bag given.
i think mt a gives a bath tub

bewildered: i only told my boys i got meimei inside the tummy...so sometimes i get my elder to listen and talk to meimei.
but for the younger one, he is too young to be aware of. but then cos he was from infantcare, so he is quite aware of babies around...

but then i will still prepare present for them, said from meimei lor.

vicvic: my tummy is also quite high, also from the breastline. the baby will change position as we get to the later part of pregnancy and when it's time, the baby will go down. not to worry

upon admission, we pay a deposit. upon discharge, we will pay the balance minus the medisave. that's the practice for Mt A but i think the same applies to other hospital as well.

For Mt A, I was asked to bring a set of clothings for bb to wear home. During hospital stay, the hospital will provide the clothings, diapers etc. Most hospital will give goody bag and diaper bag also.

bewildered: so far my friends who have #2 will buy exchange present for the 2 kids. Will tell #1 that the present is from #2. some of the #1 when bb still in tummy they were very sticky to mummy and didn't really like the bb. but when bb out, after a while they grew to like to the new bb and will sayang bb, try to kay poh when mommy is changing the baby etc. so not to worry yah.

Vicvic: I think my tummy quite high too...the start of the bump is just after my breast. I feel that this makes me look v.big and clumsy. haha.

Min - maybe ask your gynae to prescribe calcium supplements for you? If not go pharmacy and ask for one thats suitable for pregnant women. Think safer to eat coz we lose quite abit of calcium esp. during breastfeeding. You no longer with Dr Ho right?

I think being pregnant makes us more lactose intolerant? Coz last time I take milk often, no issue of lao sai. But nw, if I take milk too in the morning or late at night, confir lao sai de.

Xuan - 2.25mths not bad! Although you could have gotten more, but nvm...at least got 2mths and more. Hope you get your salary increment as promised!
I hope my bonus got at leasst 2.5...pray hard coz really need to get alot of stuff for bb's arrival.
I heard of getting presents for #1/2 etc but to get for cousins I never hear before. haha.

Happy CNY to all mommies!! Enjoy the long break and good food!

sleepskies: Last time I drink milk in the morning I also will lao sai. Just that...now I thot change to drink at night will be better. Initially was ok, no LS. but after a few weeks every morning LS! makes me late for work. then I stop awhile. but maybe will get another new tin later. I'm taking those powder form milk for mummy. Similac mummy...At least I can accept the smell.

Haha. Maybe because I'm the youngest in the family. Then My SIL hopes our kids can get along well so ask me buy lo. But nvm la. I very sayang my both nephews also. I also hope my baby and them can get a long well. If mine also boy, then family will have 3 boys!! My mother sian 1/2. hahaha cos she said enough boys le! She want girl girl... LOL!

Bonus: sigh* better than ntg la. bo bian already. already set liao. Nothing more can be changed now. I just hope he keep his promise le if not I sure 'TURN FACE' !!!! Hope you get FAT FAT BONUS TOO!!!

HAPPY CNY TO ALL MOMMIES!!! ENJOY THE NICE FOOD!!
(my hubby ask me better control. so spoil mood. LOL!)

anyway can I check with those mommies that goes thru normal delivery. Does the gynae cut your there to make the opening bigger for baby to come out? I mean literally cut? got inject any jab or anything before they cut?

ya lo.. tummy high makes me look big and clumsy. but then, still nobody wanna give up their seats to me in train. one look at me then fall asleep liao. =.="

XuaN: my placenta also a lil low, but the starting pt is quite high, so doc say nth to worry abt. Regarding calcium, maybe wanna try fresh milk?

Any mummies know what Parkway East will give when you discharge?

Hi mummies -
Please let me know if you are willing to take over about 27 glass bottles with 20 caps at $14?
Many thanks!

Thx Mummies!

Was really worried to the point tt wanna enlist the help of the cc teacher to try to talk to #1.. :p

But nw am convinced tt #1'll grow to like bb when bb's out, so feeling much better...
have actually stocked up on diff toys, like playdoh, little tikes items exchanged fr huggies and other stuffs, coz #1's those v chin chye type of kid... No pref, no attachment de, doesnt even have fave soft toy nor bolster n all.. So nt sure wat to give her.. Have read tt some mummies also ask #1 to buy gift for #2 but think if i were to try, #1 may dislike #2 even more...

Xuan: my Boss also mentioned tt during bb's 1st mth, in order nt to let her elder boy feel left out tt all attn's on #2, my boss also bot pressies for elder one again.. Think i've to try all means to get #1 to like #2, else next time v headache..

Think some gyn will choose to allow natural tear than opt for episotomy..

Tummy: am carrying real low until losa pple also commented tt i may have early birth and this is kinda scary coz if deliver anytime nw, will be really premature.. -_-

Calcium intake:
Thanks for all the advice. I got hubby to buy calcium supplement pill and I started to take two pills today (1000mg In total). I think I will try to drink a bit of milk too cos I was told preggy woman need 1300mg of calcium every day.

Sleepskies:
Yupe I am not with dr ho already switched over to kkh with prof john tee at the private suit. I switched cos wanted to deliver at kkh.

hello mummies! Gonx Xi Fa Chai! Have a prosperous New Year!

For episotomy, i recall my gynae didnt even tell me he is cutting me..only realised i had the episotomy when he was sewing me up....super painful i recall after when the effects of epidural wears off....i still cringe at the thought of the pain. I had to buy a float to sit on it for about a week.

Happy New Year mummies!!

bewildered: i told my no.2 that im pregnant and she say thats mei mei.. and is really meimei.. she say ifi didi she wont like. heng lor. but now she quite love mei mei in my tummy. everyday kiss my tummy de. lol and must kiss 3 times! she keep telling me wait till mei mei come out she wana do this n that blah blah blah.. i hope mei mei come out the two gals wont fight. cus i heard usually the big one will bully the small one -___-

I'm also looking forward to getting increment n bonus letter but this year it will be in end March instead of early March sigh. For my department, our bonuses are typically higher than market though our monthly salary is definitely lower than market. So all-in we are actually getting market pay.

Hi mummies! Happy new year to all! Have been busy nvr post much

Xuan, for episiotomy, Dr Poon did for me. I had a bad tear as well as episiotomy cut. I think bb head too big. Lol. But anyway I let doctor decide whether to cut me there or not. If don't cut sometimes the tear will be very bad and jagged.

Will definitely be buying some toys for #1 and telling him that it's from #2. I foresee sibling jealousy coming. Lol

I think let doc decide whrther to do epistomy bah. My friend told me if not, later crack till the backside! Dont know is she too exagerrating or what

But if take epidural, wont feel the pain right?

JC: taking epi wont feel the pain.. and yes i heard one of my frd tear till backside hold there.. must be damn pain lo. but i heard those ang mo hor. usually dont need to cut one i so envy them. i heard cus they below is more flexible and stretchable. or more big? LOL thats why when they push out no need to cut or tear.. like poo come out. damn envy lor! i have a frd is like that.. she is not angmo i think mix blood or something like that. haha

I only know the difference between asian and angmo is the distance from the cb to the poot poot hole accordig to the antenatal class.

Asian must cut side way down and ang mo can
Cut straight down..

I think if dont cut and tear, later very painful and difficult to sew back. If cut liao than maybe the tear is "nicer".

This yr new yr like centre of attraction. dont know abt the rest of the mummies but i prefer lesser ppl to know. Now even my hubby china relatives also know..aiyo

Maybe is becoz havent pop yet, anytging can happen and plus i have GD, so i very cautious. I told my hubby dont keep calling me preggy / big stomach in front of ppl..think he too happy to be daddy and i also feel bad when i damp his spirit

Helo mummies..
May I ask whether is it necessary to bring own sleepwear to hospital?i m going thru c section at tmc.

Appreciate all advise.

Hi mummies, yup. Definitely I am centre of attraction at house visits. Everyone is touching my tummy like I'm some fortune Buddha. Mmm. Keep asking me baby's gender. Haha. Which I've yet to cfm n I've to keep repeat my story again n again. So tiring.

JC same here! But lucky this year I'm not center attraction cus my SIL just pop so baby cover me lol. And I'm quite sian to visiting like what u say Lo haven't give birth anything will happen. Mine so far cny got a few relatives say har? 7th months Liao like still so small then I'm like snook. Faints. But I told my frds in fb that I'm pregnant le cus I don't want people surprise to see me and so shock. Haha

Ya i think bb healthy more impt than anytging else

I just feel abit sian coz everybody fussing over me. I know they meant well but i told my hubby i am the mother i more worried than anyone of you and know what to do and not to do.

I wanted to share the news with my good friends but some of them also like me try for very long also no news yet. So i feel quite bad. My hubby also recently told his frd abt him being a daddy soon. 4 of us quite close and they also try very long ..go iui ivf also no news than his frd hear liao although happy but can see he very sian

Holiday ending liao..tmr going bac to work..