(2013/05) May 2013

charliebrown
maybe mine is also 2d? not too sure, will ask him on my next visit. coz when i see my bb on the screen, the features are not so clear leh, mine abit blurry one

hihi everyone! what a tiring monday. really don't feel like going to work this morning LOL.

2ks: yup yup it's Lactus. I'm taking it occasionally now to prevent constipation and piles as I have piles history. recently all my friends who just gave birth all kena very bad piles after giving birth so I will also take after giving birth to prevent.

fabbie: for my #1 i used mdm suria who is mdm ida's relative. mdm suria was very nice but now she don't do my area so mdm ida took over. my friends who used mdm ida liked her too.

esther: it's common to burp alot during pregnancy. in fact i burp the whole day and throughout the whole pregnancy right from the start. my hubby asked me to go and do the pregnancy test for #2 when he noticed that i have been burping more than usual LOL.

chiro: for first time mom, if you don't have maid at home or anyone to help you then it is really better to get a CL. i have a colleague who didn't want any CL staying with them so she got a day-time CL. so the CL only comes in the day and leave in the evening after preparing the dinner and settling the baby. But the charges for day-time CL is not much lower than stay-in CL. So it kinda bo hua but my colleague is ok and prefers this way. If you really really want to try to do it without CL, you can order those confinement food delivery so at least you don't have to worry about the food portion. And your hubby must really help out so should talk to your hubby to set the expectation right.

sleepyskies: inverted or short nipples can be corrected. but you must start soon. it would be too late to wait till after delivery as it takes time to correct the nipples. if you are attending antenatal classes, it will be taught during the class. you can also visit the lactation consultations at TMC for this. even if you did not manage to correct ur nipple in time, you can still pump to provide BM to your baby. for my friend who has inverted nipple, she still managed to bf her #1 for abt 1 year thru exclusive pumping. for after pumping for so long, her nipples have been corrected and now she is latching her #2 =)

bbkk: don't be too sad over your diabetic ya. my friend also got GD for both her pregnancy but she survived! basically need to watch ur diet and everything will be fine.

BF: To me, the toughest part of being a mother is the initial phase of BF, other than the horrible MS. I cried for many days then. But I'm glad that I managed to endure and eventually provide the best food to my child. To some, bf is a very natural process. the baby latch like a pro and the supply is abundant. but for some, the baby just simply refuse to latch and the milk supply is forever low no matter what you do. for 1st time mom who intend to bf, my word of advice is that you must be prepared that it might not be a easy process. in most cases, every if baby is co-operative and your milk supply is good, you might still get sore and bleeding nipples at the start. but this will be over in several days once ur nipples are seasoned. if you belong to the not so lucky case, seek help from the lactation consultants and keep trying. if it still doesn't work, you can also pump out the BM for your child. a lot of my friends from my #1 SMH grp is into exclusive pumping. no doubt it is tiring and tedious but with peer support it is much easier =)

The black and white is 2D I think. My gynae also scan that in the cd for me.

Worried79, dun worry. U will know ur gender in next visit.

Thanks all, for commenting the pic. When bb grow bigger and more developed, will post again in fb again.

Hi all, jus follow the thread occasionally, it move so far leh.. can keep track of discussion.

Hi bb08, i also same like you hv 2 gals. now hope this no 3 is a boy. Let's pray together!
I am also thinking if i should ask gynae nt to tell me the gender. I will be v sad if another gal leh

irene: i always requested for lactus syrup from my gynae upon discharge.. dont have to force and can poo...LOL
pooing is a pain after birth.

i totally agreed on u on bf. i also have one side short nipple. #1 i didnt managed to latch him long, but i succeeded for #2. i latched him on & off till 6 months until his dracula teeth come out, i cannot stand it.
on lactation consultants, some points i dont agree with them la..
like they ask u to use cabbage to relieve engorgement. cabbage will reduce milk flow lor! use hot compress works better.
and they ask u to use cup feeding...omg..its a mess...if alternate between bottle and breast once u discharge, the baby not likely have confusion.

hehe.. yah Dr Gordon Lim has got very good 4D machine. plus no need queue separately in the hospital. just do all the scans including detailed scans in his clinic itself. bbkk and i have the same gynae. but this time i told Dr Lim I dont need the 3/4D scans. 2D can liao... save some money. cos this time 3rd kid le.. not so anxious like for no 1. in fact no 2, i didnt really keep looking at those 4D scans le.. dont know where i put them even.. so i tot this time, just forget it..lol!

worried79
normally not so soon for first and second preggy... this one is my third one and yes i felt the baby hiccup hahaha

mami B
oh...i thot i heard from somewhere that 2nd time mummies will feel it sooner...haha..i was asking my gynae if i should be feeling bb movements now, and he said there is nothing such as SHOULD. it all depends on bb. so, maybe i will only feel it much later.....

Worried79, my gynae last sat told me I shd be feeling kicks soon this week or next week. He says second one will be faster. Ask me to monitor. Btw, I am 16 w going 17w this week

bbkk
i thot i should be feeling the kicks anytime now too. but dun really feel anything yet. occassionally do feel like some movements, but i think its not the kicks. actually, for my no 1, i enjoyed feeling the bb kicks. i just turned 16 weeks yesterday.

Worried79, I felt it just now.. It hard and it seem pressing against it, so I assume she is moving around but not kicks yet. Just movement

Bbkk, m nt taking the 4d scan since i didn do for no 1. m those try to be as fair to the children, since didn do for no. 1, dun wanna do for no. 2. then fair ma... wait next time no 1 ask mi, how come didi or mei mei gt, i dun ve.

so watever i do for no, 1 wld do for no. 2. :0

Bbkk, thank you for your reply. my oscar blood test is ok. Urine strip ok. First one also no GD. I thought i saw ants in my toilet of late, hence extremely paranoid.

Charliebrown and 2ks, i tried the exercise too, but, no improvement. My mum says engine is loose. Now when i want to get off my seat, i am very cautious. Its quite embarressing

Re: gender
So many mummies know gender already. For me, I will wait till this Friday. So far baby has been covering legs or putting legs together. My no.1 is a boy and I would really wish for a girl. But nonetheless, health is the most important. I leave it to God then. It's already decided since conception
this Friday I'm going for gynae appointment and its my mum's birthday. Really pray that I will give good news to my mum about gender as she wishes for a granddaughter

Fruitloops, don't be so sad k?
as my gynae always say, he has seen very good boys and naughty girls. Haha. Don't worry can try for #3!
my hubby say if #2 is a boy too, he will let me try for #3.

Bbkk, shopping time for you! Congrats! Two girls also good! Girls normally like to play together with girls and they tend to be more filial

Re: baby kicks
As a second time mummy, I think I started feeling baby kicks at 15-16 weeks? But it's really light kicks. Hee..

Debbie: I have been a silent reader of this forum .it is my first baby . My due date is 10 may 2013. I also haven't know the gender of my baby as my detail scan is in jan 2013.

I love to read this forum as there are many exchange of pointers here .Thank you , sisters !

Hi dian tang. My EDD 14 May. Quite close to yours. Welcome to the thread!
yeah the mummies in the forum can really be a pillar of support for us

Irene - thank u for the advice, I have found a CL thru my mom, just havn't meet up so not confirmed yet.

2ks - your gynae fees very affordable, good that he's near your place also.

Want to ask mummies, if there's sharp lower abdominal pain on the left, is that any concern? It has been going on intermittently for a few days. I'm not sure is it the uterus expanding but the pain area is v low on the left and always same area too.

Debbie: thank you! I still have a lot to learn from everyone here. Read that we can feel the baby kick now but I dun know how is like cos it is my first one .

iko: yeah she 2008 then start early.. i duno maybe they all k2 they all pass out liao ba. then k1 move to k2.. then N push to k1 to learn more different in teaching. 1 month early lor. i find not bad la. at least have a bit of preparation so can learn more what kindergarden teaching. cus kindergarden is quite impt i felt.

Chiro: when i dont even have my no1 he always disturb me one lor! like i see korean drama i cry like mad he can go n tickle my feet instead of sayang me.. is like when im so angry he still can make funny faces o make me laff. so im like always laff and cry and angry when im with him.. 3 in 1! i super hate it. maybe i dont like half half de. LOL

worried79/BBK - im 18 week le. can feel bb moving everyday.. which makes my confidence building up.. last time dont even have will think here and there.. now not scare.. cus she is always "playing" inside my tummy LOL the feeling is like something inside moving and sometimes a few kicks. it mostly happen on the evening.

I also started feeling the kicks when I was 17 weeks..now I'm 18 weeks its even more obvious everyday at night when I rest still on e bed. But this is my second one so much earlier. I rem only feeling the first kicks at week 21-22 for my #1.

I also pmed some of u to join e fb group but no response leh..

I am also feeling some movement...like bubbles in the tummy .... i love the feeling of having a little one in me

Mami: U are so disciplined not to eat sashimi....thats really my weakest link...i have it every now and then but make sure that its fresh or from reputable restaurant. oh mann!! i miss laksa and hum !!! makes me hungry now!

Mummies, I have a question. When you gals sleep, do you sleep to your left, or to your right or facing upwards?? i try to sleep on my left until my hands get numb lol

I read from books that we need to sleep on the left . I also sleep til my neck feel aching . Sleep on the back will cause the uterus to 'hit' on the main organs and interfere with the breathing and circulation .

Memphissbelle: yah! Hard leh!! So many times i wanted to sneakily eat it but i stopped myself. I am so gonna order all the sashimi in the world to eat after delivery hahaha!! Beer too!! Nowadays my gfs love this taiwan fruit beer n its killing me that i cant hv it. No lychee beer so i open a can of lychee, dilute with ice water n ice. And enjoy haha!

Hubby also v prudent, my gynae also v prudent. All say dont eat. Actually one of my gf is a doc. She thinks its fine and she ate it frequently when preggy leh!!! But i shall be guai guai and tahan til may13. Grrrrr....

Remember ah, we have a hum party in june. Whahaha!!

On sleeping on the left : my gynae explained that there is a major blood vessel running on our right. So we should sleep on our left so oxygen can be freely delivered to our growing baby as we sleep.

so interesting. i have been tossing and turning at night. just cant get the right posture. had even resorted to sleeping on my tummy. haa.. other than posture, i keep waking up to ease my bladder too.

eat in moderation shd be okie. I think most impt is the way they handle the food must be clean and proper.

I still can sleep on my back. I am going to enjoy this while it last..hahaha

captain piglet: we prob didnt add u in cos find your nick unfamiliar.

mamil b: after delivery still cannot have hum overdose leh cos breastfeeding mah...
poor life hor...
i been restricting myself to only one can of coke per week basis...
this one i control...

captain piglet: same as you, for 2nd time mummies, I can feel the movements earlier and able to recognise it. Yesterday after lunch I had a strawberry smoothie, it was abit sweet and cold, so could feel bb movement whenever I took a sip. For first one, I felt the movements at 20plus weeks too.

Sleeping on left side- left side will be better for us especially when our tummy gets bigger. Now still very mobile, so sleeping position is still ok. Just that now I will wake up at 1am, 5am!

hi every1, did any1 let up the seat for u on train? apparebtly thk my tummy is still small and no1 discover that i am preggy. hope bb is growing thou tummy is small. this is my 1st bb and i am in my 18th wk too

OMG! I had some mouldy bread unknowingly!! Faint!!

I'm still sleeping on my tummy.. That's e only way to get rid of the gas in my tummy.. me gets numb arms whenever I sleep on my left too..

<font color="0000ff">Good morning mummies~~~

I also read before that we should sleep on the left as our liver is on our right side, so detoxification will not be interfered due to the weight pressure.

Anyone signing up for infant care already? I'm intending to register with a newly opened centre, but their infant care operations only starting in Jan 2013, so I cannot see how they work during operational hours. They have only 8 infant vacancies and quite a few signed up during their open house already.

The other infant care near my place which is My First Skool got HFMD in infant care at the time of visit, so we can't go in to have a look at all.

Care to share your experience?

Good morning ladies!

Any mummies have a checklist of the things to bring to hospital on delivery day? would u mind to share?

Currently I am planning to buy a bag for this purpose but I dunno wat should bring, so need to know those items 1st then can decide the size of bag.

morning mummies...

i start the night sleeping on my left and tossed and turn and by the morning, i'm all over the place. haha!

i'm also having intermitted sharp jabs/pain... is that the baby moving?

chiro: yes...i had reserved a space for ifc for my #3, he will go to the same ifc that #2 used to go..
8 vacancies seems ok leh...
MFS has a standard rules to follow one...so should be fine.

tsm: u know...my SIL bought a bigger than cabin luggage to hospital lor! to me damn kiasu.
u dont have those luggage bags type? that kind will do.

dian tang: Tks a lot, it looks good,will go thru soon.

2Ks: yr SIL so cute, haha! I have many type of luggage bags at home, but I wish to buy a new one specified for the delivery day( i a bit liao lui...).
keke, my hubby stop me to buy yesterday and take out and shown me all bags we have.but i still trying to find a excuse....hahaaa

been out for a while.. just finished catching up.. went to collect my FBI goodie bag at TMC yesterday... then shun bian sign up for the hospital tour since its 1 hour away... the 2-bedder room seems quite old leh.. same as the normal 1-bedder room.. the premier 1-bedder seems better and of course the suite which i don't think need to be so extravagant to stay in suite lah hor.. but my hubbie seems reluctant now to stay the night cause of the cost (which i think is ok) and the sofa bed which he thinks a bit hard.. sigh.. so hard to convince him.. but i feel that we mummies have gone thru so much during the pregnancy that we deserved a more comfortable room and also we hope that our husbands will be there to stay with us rather than leaving us to sleep in the hospital alone and he coming back home to sleep.. sian..

going thru the hospital tour makes the whole thing suddenly very surreal.. like it's coming it's coming! haha..

gynae checkup tonight! hope everything will be good and baby will be good to let us see gender..

any mummies have interrupted sleep? Recently i keep waking up at 4+ or 5+ and couldn't slp till morning.. feel so tired and irritated. =.=

sashimi : i'm still eating. too nice to resist. but not v often since now i get sick of it if i eating the same food. hum also abit. maybe 1 or 2 when i order fried kway teow. haha. i crave alot for coke since I'm pregnant. but will control la. if i have coffee on that day, i won't touch coke. if i didn't, i'll take a can if i crave for it.

2k: i also didn't get added into fb grp..

rach: for me, i rather save the money. no other bed is more comfortable than home bed. i rather my hub go hm and take a rest better then 2 days later the "monster baby" come back home and war begins.

anyway the hub can stay till 9pm or so...by then i also wanna rest early...
the 2 days in hospital is the rest that i will have before the real job starts once i discharge...so i dont mind to have peace. anyway u be busy with bf every 3 hours also.

and if you opt for total bf, the nurse will push the baby to u once every 2-3 hours...1 cant sleep better than both cant sleep...

thats what i think la..

Oh ya , my fren reminded me to bring our own breast pump cos she said the hosp type cannot make it and I hear she said is manual type . My fren prev stay in TMC . Maybe the sisters here can give their advice

dian tang: i didnt bring my breast pump for my 2 pregnancies..
cos i latch more often in hospital to let the milk come faster. first few days is only colostrum...if u use pump very wasted, might waste it.
and who gonna wash the parts for me in hospital, i be in pain, cant get up &amp; down always...

belle: usually i sleep on my right or left side.. sometimes i will just wake up facing upwards..

sleeping position:
i didnt really care about sleep right or left. so im always like turning right n left or upwards.

I agree that bed at home is more comfortable although I still wake up in the morning to pee or drink milk . Last week I was hospitalized and stay there for 3 days . Every few hour, the nurse will take the blood pressure and temperature and u will be waked up .

2Ks: when you put it like that, it makes more sense.. haha.. cause when he rejected me, he's only shaking his head and just talking about the cost.. makes me feel a bit pek chek.. the nurse at TMC says visitors gotta leave at 8PM..

waking up at night: me... wake up every night either 2am, 3am or 4am to pee.. then it takes some time to go back to bed then suddenly it's time to wake up for work! then i will be so tired that i will work from home.. lol..

2ks: wow u have 2 kids Liao . Really not easy ya . So you manage to breast feed for first 2 kids . I also hope that I could have do breast feeding .