(2013/05) May 2013

hi babymaine, can chk with u which website do u order from? is it cheaper than outside and do they deliver to yr hse?

to all mommies-is it hygiene to use a used breast pump by changing the spare parts?heard its not cheap to buy the spare cuts too. any1 heard of unimom forte breast pump?any comments?thanks

babymaine: ya...the 5ox bottles without lids, she is clearing at $4 only. with lids and caps $7.50 or something. she had quite alot of spare parts still. go check at WTS
my hubby also was asking me next time #3 sit what stroller...he said he wanna look for infant seat...i told him #3 just stay at hm till 6 months la..then no need infant seat...LOL
dunno why #3 totally no mood to buy things lor.

JC: taka bb fair should be feb or mar.

JC - not sure when is taka fair... but expo fair is in Jan and Feb... 18 - 20 Jan... then Feb is after CNY... can't remember exact date...

wt81 - u mean the breastpump parts?? previously i bought from tanlengleng... but now she's no longer doing spree... so i will get from BP... either agape babies or little thinkies... i opt for courier, cos registered mail will still get damaged... and the breast shield will break easily if not handled with care...

ya i probably wait for the BB fair.
More out of convenience lah, like this 1 stop i can get most of the things.

I think I will wait for taka fair.. Will buy all clothing first. I think I got nothing much to buy. The most exciting I am going to buy is breast pump.

wt81: different purpose leh. i used the herbs as water to wash myself...
then the lemograss shower gel to soap my body.
so different purpose.

JC: check out palmar brand? i think slightly cheaper abit. but then hor..cot also at least $300 lor.

xuan: all mothers have milk...its only how u 'call' the milk out. and yes, a breastpump is necessary. unless u doesnt wanna feed bm
i know a few of friends friends, they refused to bf their baby...so baby once discharge all on FM.
so its personal preference. u can opt not to buy if u decided not to bf. or if u think u can cope with latching only.

babymaine: the expo bb fair is under what one? some smaller fairs i dont go...cos nothing and waste time.
i only prefer motherhood fair or parent & baby fair.
and its time to stock up my pureen products too!
i heart the bottle detergent

Hello….

I agree with 2k, on the milk supply. Hav to be patient and hard working at the 1st month. I could not latch my girl properly so I pump every 2 hrs to build my supply. 1st 2 weeks less is ok. As long as it building up, it’s a gd sign. But bf can be very tiring, but feel that its worth it for the baby.

EBM:
For me, all will go thru 1st in 1st out system. I will maintain 5 bottles ebm in the fridge, excess will be packed into milkbags and freeze in my separate chest freezer. In those days which I have shortage (eg: due to block ducts), my frozen ebm will be my back up.

But hope that I can do more latching this time round, find it more convenient if want to go out. Dun need to bring so many barang barang.

Babymaine,
I oso hope that I can go natural not induced this time and hopefully no epi… All my friend I know so far din take epi. Really inspired by them. Induced to need to be constantly strapped and monitored which I feel restricted.

JC,
For cot, see if you hav friends who want to pass down or not, for me, my #1 dun use cot for very long ~ 10 month already outgrow liao. Even I lowered to the lowest, she was like monkey still managed to climb out. Now just sleep in matteress on floor with play yard ard it.

2ks and griny,
Do u all pump for the first month? Or latch all the way?
I rem I latch and pump for first month and second month I exclusive pump. I prefer to pump out than latch cos I feel after latch still got to pump very troublesome. And dunno if bb drinks enough anot.

Thanks for the advise! Will source for breast pump soon!

I need recommendations for stroller. Really headache looking at the design, weight and obviously the pricing~

griny: i almost same as u...just that i start storing into my chest freezer after one month.
2nd one will be much easier and faster...so hope u have a fast delivery.

bbkk: i pump and latch for the 1st month. cos sometimes bb only managed to suckle 1 side, then the other side also must released mah..wait one big one small lor.
and also i wanna tell my brain to produce more...so i latch and pump latch and pump...
tired la...
but after i go back to work, i dont latch already cos i find bottle can last the baby longer...so i pump out and feed...and also kiefer bites la!
then also hub can help me feed while i do my chores mah..

Hi ladies...

just got wind that the 'competitive' lady in my office is preggie too... 4 months... probably due May/June... haiz...

2ks - thanks for the link.... i place order le... waiting for her confirmation...

JC - i got my cot from baby fair... can't remember how much but it's super cheap i think 129 or something like that... convertible to toddler bed... but must be expo fair... they dun set up booth at taka fair...

18 - 20 Jan 2013 = Baby Expo 2013
22- 24 Feb 2013 = Babycare Festival 2013
15 - 17 Mar 2013 = Smartkids Asia 2013

The baby expo and babycare are big fairs...
Smartkids Asia unless you wanna get educational books and toys...

Taka fairs should be March and August...

anyway mommies jus check. do you all use sterilizer for the milk bottles or using traditional way to sterilize them (using hot boiling water - old method used in our parents day)

Cos hubby ask me why need sterilizer.

babymaine: okay i think i will go all...LOL.
i need to get my pureen stuff and new nursing bras...
mine old already cannot make it...

taka fairs only more for strollers, big items...
go early so can have the freebies.

xuan - i use steriliser... steriliser is very convenient... dun need to boil water... just add water and press 1 button... sterilise finish can keep inside steriliser for 8 hours... but must descale every 2 weeks... baby stomach is not fully developed, so sterilise to kill germs and bacteria...

2ks - haha... i wanna get nursing bra... but will get from bebelove... mine also spoil... cos i lazy to handwash... mwahahha... so the hook spoil... i dun think i'll be getting new stroller, though very tempted to buy quinny buzz/ zapp... cos we'll be getting maxi cosi infant seat...

babymaine: i wanna buy the cheapo nursing bras..i bought a couple less than $20 one quite comfy leh...and the shape nice.
for bravado, the shape not so nice although comfy so if wear tight fitting clothes can see the folds of the bras.

haha...i never like quinny buzz, heng ah...there are a few other models of strollers that can fit in the maxi cosi infant seat..
my baby jogger can but i need to buy the adaptors which i am damn not willing to spend.

hehehe a little lagging in replying.. cause still clearing emails and work stuff after a long break from work.. *shag*

i only bought like little mittens during the trip cause its too cute to resist.. hehe.. but the parents got these restrictions like baby stuff cannot buy so early lah.. and cannot keep in own house.. so i don't dare buy.. but can't seem to resist too! haha..

and yupyup, its my #1.. hehe.. tummy finally growing and weight gaining slow and steady.. next week is my detailed scan! wait until neck long long already man..

Bbkk,
I tried latching for the 1st week but I could not latch on properly and my nipple is injured and bleeding. So I fully ebm to recover, then tried latching again but bb not used to latching anymore.

Xuan,
I use modern stream sterilisers is fast and convenient. To me sterilising is to help to kill bacteria and bb immune system not yet so develop yet. So won’t want the bacteria to make bb fall sick.

2ks - oh is it... i wear bravado ok leh... i like the support... i bought spring maternity bra initially... hate it to the core... dun have support de... and can see nips... =.=
currently using capella... but it doesn't have infant car seat that fits... haiz... headache...

babymaine: capella infant seat can fit in a few models of their own brands only.
i used to own capella cos my hub friend is distributor so we got it dirt cheap. but then i sold it away cos of the wheels problem.

last time hor...limited selection on nursing bras...now got alot lor...many patterns and designs

Hi mummies, hoped everyone doing good.

Fool4love,

That lady really can ya..machiam, 要就有。

Babymaine,

This pregnancy I also having high blood. So worry cannot go for natural. Gynac seem worry as my BP always stays around 138.

Mummies wanna ask something esp those Edd near end of may starting of jun. Can you all feel baby kicks now? Coz now think we're 18wks shld be able to feel abit rite. Everyday I'll lie down on bed to feel the kicks but can't leh. Sometimes can feel a small wave but it's like in split seconds so not too sure whether issit bb kicking.

Tend to get worried.

Kathy: LOL! my previous BP was worse. around 148!! But last week appointment doctor never mention abt my BP anymore. wonder why. cos i still saw its at high 128...mmm

esther: my edd is 27 May...i would not say kicks...
i feel like water inside moving, some bubbles like that..
its a split second...usually occurs when i rest on the bed after i move too much.

Esther. my edd is 27th May too. i always feel the baby moving now.

if this is ur first child, might take some time before u can feel it.

2ks - the model that i have doesn't have the infant seat add on... mine is s705 09 model... thinking of selling... but i think fetching price will be $80 or $90... now seldom use... cos we have another mothercare stroller in the car, save boot space... my girl uses that...

xuan - capella is 6.5kg i think... i can't remember... but it's sturdy, 4 wheel drive... one hand closure... bulky...

babymaine: oh...think the infant seat can only fit on smaller models. yours is the bigger model. more stable de.
sell then can get a new stroller at baby fair...since maxi cosi cant fit in also mah...

2ks - ya.. but quinny is ex... unless spring got the quinny zapp and maxi cosi offer for $500, then ok... i saw at last baby fair, but i didn't buy...

2ks / xuan /JC: my edd is on 10 jun after the Oscar scan. Issit becoz still early? I dun really feel bubbles maybe once in a while, can't really feel coz it only happens so sudden and fast before I know it.

Rejoy28: this is my 3rd one that's why abit worried coz by right shld be able to feel earlier rite?

Read back some posts mentioning abt c-sect and natural delivery.

Rejoy: mine 1st c-sect coz bb distress and partly think I'm too gan cheong. Then #2 I wanted natural but gynae dun allow leh he say scared the previous wound will rupture. Ur gynae at least say can but depends on situation. Mine turned me down lor.

I prefer natural to c-sect at least tummy will not have the wound so ugly.

Mummies who. C-sect the first preg, do you all have keloids?

babymaine: pay by instalment kekekeke.
i think i prob getting a 2nd hand maxi cosi...so much cheaper. but the thing is i need to get the stupid adaptors

I'm 23 weeks today and the kicks are def getting stronger and more frequent. But I'm a second-time Mummy so think it's more obvious as compared to first-time Mummy.

Thanks for the advice on FBM (frozen breast milk)! Yup FIFO and LIFO are official acronyms for First-in-first-out and Last-in-first-out haha. Wah means if we practise FIFO, our babies will be drinking not-so-fresh FBM after a while when we have built up stock in the freezer? Think it's a decision between using i) fresh BM (less than 2 day old from fridge) + old FBM or ii) not-so-old FBM most of the times. Anyone has an alternative method to share?

Yah I am super pro BF too. I read that it's important to latch within an hour from delivery to help in the supply. Didn't get to do so last time so will make sure I do so this time round.

Hi Mummies, I have slight spotting again. Tissue paper wipe kind can see slight pink discharge n prior to that very little red blood. My detail scan on coming Mon. Do u think i should go see doctor tomorrow?

Kiringal
Did u bend down, carry things or walk ard a lot?
I had that last mth
The gynae say is ok. Coz I haf bern bending down n might haf burst a blood vessel. Plus if ur placenta is a bit low, it might rub n burst ur blood vessel too.
she told me is ok. But minitor myself. As long as no pain....

But if u are still worried, go n see ur gynae. Get some assurance