(2013/04) April 2013

tayfamily: Going gold coast. I booked my air tix and everything months ago so cannot cancel. =( For my 1st pregnancy, I also pre-planned a short holiday but got to forego the air tix coz I was puking too badly. =(

hihi mummies...who are going for facial..remember to inform the therapist beforehand that you are preggie..so that they wont help you do shoulder massage and will not use machine on your face..

thanks to all mtbs!

I felt so much better after complaining.. LOL..

btw, recently i happened to come across a news that actually in singapore, there are many complaint cases at MOM regarding maternity.

Many of my friends kena also.. got sacked during maternity.. got sacked after maternity

Angela: NICE! Enjoy ur trip but maybe try not to walk too much and over exert yourself?

Mocca: 4 months maternity leave is good but I doubt they will give another 2 mths cos the SMEs will for sure make noise.... sigh...I would be VERY HAPPY if they could just list the pre-school education as part of the formal education system, since the current childcare/ infant care is sooooo expensive....

Thanks Huiling for the reminder. Definitely will remember to let my therapist know later. I don't even want her to do my favourite face massage. =)

tayfamily: Yeah, going to take lots of breaks and I have asked hubby to remind me not to touch any animals there since we are going to the animal farms. In case the animals got some kind of disease. Going to be a super sian holiday for me this time. =(

help...

i dun have ms but keep feeling hungry. my stomach is like bottomless pit. 15 min after lunch i feel hungry. i just finish a tau sar piah but still hungry.

if this goes on i think i will put on at least 1 kg per week. I was like this for 2 weeks already.

cannot concerntrate on work cos of hunger. how? i feel fat

Dear mummies.. Wow.. I did not come in yesterday to see see look look and i got a hard time chasing what you all chat about.. hahhaa..

Yesterday when for my 1st gynae appt.. all is well
can see BB heartbeat le.. now 6 wks plus going 7 wks..

MILs.. can be a tough nut to tackle ya.. Now im staying with my SIL, still going on well.. maybe cos b4 marriage my terms with them are quite gd already.. my MIL always come up to my SIL hse on every tue.. to help my SIL with any hsehold chores or helping to look after my SIL 5 yr old boy.. so that my SIL can do her hsehold chores at peace.. my MIL will help to iron her son and my clothes too.. And if I cook, she will help me to cut vegetables.. I dunno how the future will be, when my BB is out.. but just take things easy now.. We shan't stress ourselves too much ya..

Racheal, Angela, Im actually suppose to go for my honey moon trip in Oct to Hokkiado.. But cos of the nuclear, and im preggie now.. Gonna cancel it

doramum: It's normal lah. I am also eating like a cow now. Try to snack on oat biscuits or cereals as it keeps you fuller and it's much more healthier than tidbits. =)

doramum, try to choose healthier snack. we r not suppose to eat 2 shares now. that the misconcept many has.

our food intake should be as per normal, but is ok to snack in btwn, just choose snacks that give us more nutrients =) of cos, occasionally indulge in unhealthy stuff still ok la.

Piggy: Ya better avoid Japan for now. For me I travel every Sept to celebrate my gal's birthday. This time round my ILs are joining us for the trip so I cannot imagine forfeiting a few thousand dollars for the holiday just because I'm preggie. =( Anyway you can still go for your honeymoon after you have popped. =)

angela, mocca: healthy snack like fruits make me feel even hungrier after eating. maybe i should eat more pasta and cheese to keep 'full'

Trinity: no point to complaint to MOM. cause they will tell you to engage a lawyer to sue the company. where got the extra cash to sue the company... local SMEs can be kinda cunning. i used to work at this local recruitment agency. they simply asked the lady who is on maternity leave to leave the company and they packed her stuffs in a box and asked her to go down the office to collect. this local recrutiment agency is quite recognised in singapore and they know the rules & regulation well. so if they dare to do this, sue or complain also no use. cause they sure got very strong back up plan.

I dun think mom can help much if u face company termination or only gets 3 months ml. Because there's always a side clause protecting company bk side. I heard of ppl Kena terminate before pop and mom only mediator like that tings drag over a yr pls still no outcome in the end is too taxing to follow up ... I do not know how true this is ... Bt sounds very gov ..

angela, yaya.. will go for honeymoon trip after i pop.. but hopefully by then i will be able to bear myself apart from my BB a wk or so.. haa..

huh? i tot MOM will protect us, help us fight the money back. All they need to do is issue a letter order coy to pay, why ask us get lawyer. the salary oso not enuff to cover lo...

my friend told me bodyshop also do same thing. fire ppl when preggie.. she has 2 friends kana. i already stop buying from them..

Yes is true about the MOM thingy. If you earn more than $2500, MOM will not bother, they will ask u to engage lawyer to sue the coy. Then is the court responsibility. Every time need to attend court session for few minutes but half day is gone. Who has the time & money for this.

Ya better don't go Japan especially Hokkaido, my frend went this march come back feeling uncomfortable. Dizzy n vomittng.. Went see her gynae cos she was preggy that time into her 3mths. In the end discover her Bb kana affect by radiation n had to hv abortion.

If u earn less than $2500, they refer you to legal aid. Even coy don't pay workers, workers go MOM. You know what they do? They called the boss to MOM to settle their workers so that they don't need to open a case file for it.

Maxlene, so serious?? oh dear... that time they say it's more serious in Tokoyo.. initally still thinking hokkiado is further, so shld be ok.. but then my Hubby dun feel safe, and I dun wanna take the risk.. And we decided to cancel it.. and take 3 days leave, book a hotel at RWS instead to relax..

huh serious? nvm i have a friend working in MOM , but she hand the foreign worker part , Not maternity.

i will ask her after I pass 3mths ... i hope my boss doesnt know all these n give me my 4mths

co cannot sack only when you are in your last tri. anytime before that, co still can sack you on the grounds of incompetency. hence, very important to find a company that value work life balance and is tolerant their female staff being pregnant.

ya, not safe to go any part of Japan now esp if you are trying to conceive or alr pregnant. coz the radiation level is still very high.

feeling sick again and dizzy. tried eating my fav potato chips n i feel sick after eating a few pieces.

mocca: really!? omg. i thought they very support human rights etc? yucks! no, MOM is part of gov. and so which means, they like to play 'tai ji'. my friend very poorthing. when she got back from her maternity, her boss purposely make things difficult for her till my friend wanna quit. then when she wanna tender, the sickening boss told her she need to serve 4 months notice. and the most sickening part is, the boss went to amend the notice period of her letter of employment period! then my friend called MOM and they simply told her that they cant do anything unless she engage a lawyer. but the prob is where got the money to? she just given birth somemore lo...

ggchua, your fren employer is a man or woman?? how can he / she do that??? really if it happens on herself, if she is a female and got pregnant, then she will understand..

mocca, if your contract states 3 months ML and you were agreeable back then, I think it's hard to fight for 4 months ML unless your company/boss willingly gives you the 4th month ML.

If company sack/retrench pregnant employee, they may cite that it is due to work performance etc etc. Very hard to justify and MOM normally take forever. In the end, unless you're rich enough to sue the company, it's quite pointless

Need to work on good r/s with boss. Find it so horrifying that your FEMALE boss is so disgusting!

sob sob... I didnt read on the ML cos i just got married last year. we didnt expect to have bb so soon. I only read on the bonus n other terms..

my boss like my work so far but comes to bb, she more what. hai, i feel like telling her now but should i wait till later mths to inform her?

when u all usually tell boss

Maternity Leave
A confirmed associate is eligible for 3 months’ paid maternity leave. A confirmed female associate shall as far as possible give prior notice of at least 2 weeks to the Company of her expected date of confinement.

so does this mean i can get 3 mths from coy, 1 mth from gov? since last mth is paid by gov right

Better to tell boss as early as possible since she will find out sooner or later. Best to tell her than she find out on her own months ago right?

I'm in a very bad situation now too. In betweenc changing jobs. I haven't told my boss I'm preggie yet as he's holidaying now. I also don't know how to break the news to him and whether he will still want to bring me along to the new Company. But if I stay on in the current Company, I feel very sian because I am already used to working with this boss. Sigh...

mocca: mine more soon. i just started my current job in july and ta-daaaah! currently i'm still under probation and im always on MC. i think end of my first trimester just nice is end of my probation. my company is a japanese company. hopefully they are not as jialet as the locals!

ggchua : wow, a mother somemore!! !@#%^ oops.. at times we really dunno wat is in the employer's mind..

Mocca : I also have not tell my boss abt it.. He's a father of 2 though.. Yesterday went to the gynae chkup, got an mc. today i pass to him, to sign on my MC.. cos initally I applied leave.. He just took a quick glance and sign it.. I wondered did he got my hint?? oops

piggy: ya! leave also good la. no point staying at this kinda company with this kinda mean boss.

btw, my company only have few locals (less than 10 i think). only i'm married and pregnant in this company so far.. hahaha

Piggy: I guess male bosses who also have their own children tend to be more compassionate. My boss has a daughter who is same age and same month as my gal. When my gal got into so many "accidents" earlier this year and I had to take urgent leave all the time, he was very understanding and his wife also assured me that he understands.

ggchua, oh im very same situation as u hahaa
me also from jap coy, i joined last oct so heng, pass probation liao.

boss only return 1wk later, im thinking wana tell her when she back. just now she just ask me carry cartons to her car. i use leg to kick. bend down n use knee to lift it up. avoid touching tummy as much as possible. i wana tell her n excuse me from carrying cartons again..

angela: company pays 2 mths and govt 2 months if im not wrong. gotta depend on individual bosses. Some don't really like it and will whine and scold, but will still give the preggie employee maternity benefits.

Mocca, quickly tell her so you won't have to carry heavy stuffs omg.

Shirelle: OIC, maybe I remember wrongly. I only remember one part is paid by Company, one part paid by govt. Anything lah, so long as I get my 16 weeks.

Couldn't resist the temptation and drank half a can of coke. Haven't had caffeine for 4 days liao and really feeling zombified. Now I feel so much better after the coke but very guilty about it. =P

i already tell my boss liao..haha..this week..cos want him to understand in case i feel xingu and want to mc...cos now is peak period..so i scared he doesn't understand if i don't tell him the truth..

i think i'm very drama now.. last week i wanna take half day cause i vomitted till quite jialet. went to talk to my boss and i dont know why i just suddenly burst out in tears. my japanese male boss got a big shock. lol..

Omg so mani companies so anti-family. Then I better wait till I wanna close factory then go job hunting. My last company v gd. Can have 6 women on ML de. I just inform my superior I'm preg, then she faster reduce my workload. My workload aldy v little then she still reduced further. Mine is indo shipping company. Then I will take lave or mc every week till I delivered. If no mc or leave, I use unpaid also ok

wa joyce u r the few lucky one! my boss din add on workload i already can go buy roast pork to thank god liao.

my hubby just told me to wait till my appt on 5 sep. make sure my black dot become a real baby first before break news to boss

ggchua : ya we can eat cod fish bah.. and cod fish is ex, many many nutrients in it.. we can't take shark fins, tuna, salmon.. those deep blue sea fishes... i think cod fish nt deep blue sea fishes bah..