(2013/02) March 2013

not working has its pitfalls. people tend to have very very little sympathy for a housewife who sits at home with hte baby (which is not fair imho coz taking care of a baby and hte house is actually very tiring). it can be very sian leh (i think!) but eveyrone will just be like, wah, so lucky you can stay at home and not work. no money of your own to spend, everything must ask hubby, no sympathy from friends, parents and inlaws unlikely to want to help baby sit.

sbb, slowly talk ba.. no choice. think your mom felt its waste of money, but youre actually sayanging her becos of her health and engery. ask your bro to help. sometimes hearing from a 3rd party is more convincing. :D jiayou!!

sbb & blueswimmer crab:
I think SAHM has its pros and cons lor.... How i wish i can be SAHM for a few years then return back to work after that. But risky also, scared can't find job after that.

Celtbaby
My 1st one is like that already lor. Everyday fetch bb back. Luckily we all stay quite near.
At night taking care if more tiring than anything. Haha.. I cannot imagine with 2nd one without a helper.
I already told my hubby, I do not know if im confident or good enough to handle 2 in the morning without someone to help cos my hubby left home at 6am daily.

Sunflower
Ya lor. I unhappy with my mother leh. Cos she is too money minded already.
Last time she is not like that. Don kw whats wrong with her these few years. I every month gave her SGD 700 leh. Still not enough ah.
Somemore I take care during night time wor.

Blueswimmercrab
What you said is correct!!! Stay at home mum is actually more tiring. U know its just like maid, cooking and taking care of children 24hrs.
I told my husband, if you want me to stay at home can… you give me 2k per mth and pay all hp bill can already.
I told him, I not FOC wife to do everything leh. I also need to shop. Haha.. he almost fainted.

Mrs Lee
Hahaa.. my mother thought we bullying her ah. Cos its 3 against 1. Sure lose one.
It’s the same family problem la. It is whether u want or don want to listen. Lets see after discussion with my hubby.

We already knew her health got problem already somemore she 3.5 years back go through major operations.
Now she thin like bamboo and sleep also got a problem. Maybe she go out work is happier for herself. Heart more happier la.

Celtbaby
With current market, I don think they might want to accept ppl that is not working for 1-2 years too.
Its too realistic especially if you are in some working field.

went for my scan... ratio quite low... doc suggested doing amioniceteisis.... hopefully will turns out good...
praying hard

hi sbb, maybe ur mum is getting old and feeling more insecure? old people get cranky when they are that way.

sahm also got pros lah, can watch children grow up, don't have to juggle work stress and family stress, i just think in current sg sentiments, the sahm is actually really sacrificing a lot compared to working mums. to me, the scariest thing is that after 10 years, ur kids are older and may not be spending so much time with you, u don't have cpf or savings and are completely dependent on ur husband to provide. of course, i think a good husband will give you money even when you are staying at home, but the mentality would still be the money is your husband, not your own to really fritter or spend freely. imho.

Sunflower
Total all in SGD 700 or is it too little? I don’t know.
My son milk powder is I buy one. Than cooking my mum cook lor. Than now she only takes care of him half day. Cos morning till 12pm, my son will be in child care.
The highest I heard is my colleague MIL demanded 1k per mth in total.

Blueswimmercrab
I think she is insecure ba. Haha..
But we are living so near and you know she has my hse key leh
Haha..

wow bluecrab sounds like stay at mum is tough... my work load is hectic and stressful and i intend to quit my job after giving birth and getting the ML benefit. at the same time i would also want to have a second child and i need ML benefits again. cant decide if i should resign after giving birth?

i'm also worried about cpf since we will be supporting our new flat next year... sigh. i dont wish to burden my husband and i feel that working have $$ and i can buy more things for my bb.

babydreamy
if you want to resign, u cannot resign when u are having ML. u have to resign after u came back to office. at least work for few mths and show them u cannot managed without your child and work at the same time.

blueswimmercrab
i scared no money lor. cos i like to spend too. i like to buy whatever i feel like without require to think if have or don have $$. if stay home, i guess i have to think im using my hubby sweat and blood money. haha..

Sunflower

My MS was better last week in the sense that i have no vomitting only nauseas. But i started vomiting again last night. But it is not recurring again ! Keeping my fingers crossed. :X

hello fellow march mummies! happy to join this big family~ currently at my 9th wk, any fb grp for me to join?

sbb, maybe your mum just feeling lonely bcos all have their own life and all.my mum used to think like that before she past away (she's only 40+ at that time).

babydreamy, my previous job i went back after ML and quit after abt 3 months. cannot immediately la, because doesn look nice

serene, hope everything is dine for u!

Just some advise for those who wanna quit- do so after all kids if u plan to have them near each other. I quit when kids 1 yr old. Sahm 6 mths. Come out work again. Son went cc. Trouble start when he start falling sick in cc. You have to take care of him , and u will fall sick more frequently too. I took so much mc when I started work. Then u may want to try for #2. U may have bad ms n can't concentrate at work... It's tough having to juggle new enviroent with demands of Ur child n your own ms. If Ur company can allow, take no pay better.

thanks sbb and lynn for your advice. aiyo. guess i will have to endure.

thanks diamantz.. i was also thinking if i should endure until 2 children and resign after that. dilemna. oh well wait for it when the time comes...will know what to do

Yah sbb, i think you will need a helper if you wanna take care of both ur kids yourself... Hw old is your #1? Still requires Alot of attn? I cannot i imagine if i ve #2, shall not think so far.. Haha

Being a sahm is just my wish but dont think i'll be able to do it. Housing loan is one big problem, plus in future bb's education, childcare, tuition, medical etc all needs money. Single income cannot lor, unless hb earns alot. Or if i strike toto... ;p

Yawnzzzzz.. 9pm... Time to zzzzzz

Feeling horrible today! Just vomit like a Merlion! Lunch, Teabreak & Dinner. Omg! Just now went dinner with a few friends, all know except one. She keep probing me to tell the truth! Haiz.. Really hate it lo! I will tell when the time is ripe what. Oh.. And guess what? My Malay colleague sitting bside me just told me she is preggy but she intend not to keep cos she already got 2 and can't imagine herself with 3. Haiz..

Sbb
But do Ur mum cook for U an Ur hb daily? I did marketing on weekends and I find it's so Exp to do groceries nowadays , not talking bout cooking for a big family. I actually understand where Ur mum is coming from, money is really not enough if she has to cook daily for a big gang. But of cos, it's up to u how much u give.
Maybe u try to put Urself into her shoes and see if u can figure out why she kept complaining about money. I managed to see things on a diff angle. As for her own health , I also second that u need a helper to share the load of both Ur kids, else Ur mum will tired out.

Hi berrylite! I've accepted your fb friend request. But hor.. Erm.. How do I get into the group? Pls advise.. Hehe...

This morning I tried a new replacement for plain water. I bought peach tea n mixed it with plenty of plain water in the hope of diluting it yet having taste. Hehe.. Worked quite well for me.

I'm doing OSCAR next week and a blood test too.! I heard the blood test is for thalassemia. You girl's know what other purpose the blood test is for?

I can't take cooking smells too... Especially if I'm near the coffee shop air vent. Eeks!

CL or mum or mil is always a headache. Some ppl hv too much offer while some hv no help. Jiayou girls! As for me, mil volunteers n we stay together. But I don't think she has the stamina... Hubby will find a chance to talk to her n I don't know when.. Sometimes being in a rush to solve matters will make it worse. Let's wait n see for now.

sa_love: paiseh... can u just pm me in fb again? coz i forgot who i added and there is no notification to me for people who approve my requests.. sorry...

the blood test for thalassemia (blood deficency) not sure if is for mother or bb.. i did mine before getting married coz my hub is thalassemia carrier... as long as i'm not, is safe to try for baby.... but chances of baby having thalassemia is there stil but only a minor... when both parents are thalassemia carriers, the baby will be a thalassemia major... which will have alot of issues...

u might wanna read up more on via

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thalassemia

berrydelight, i have also accepted you. my nick is Jxxxxxx Sxx. pls add me into the group too. thanks! :D My browser can only view the doc but cant save, able to update for me??

Mrs Lee
10/06/12
22/03/13
Dr Heng Tung Lan
Parkway East
Bedok

blurbabe: i went from 12 noon - 2.45pm leh.. cuz i got no appt, need to wait n queue..

sunflower: am getting better also.. no much MS liao..

Morning mummies! Today i woke up due to hunger. Woke up cooked Maggie mee, ate 2 spoon, felt so full. =S
Anyway, I can’t open the file. Can help to update too? Thank you.

Karennsh
6/6/2012
28/03/2012
Dr SM Chua
Mount Alvernia
Queenstown/Pasir Ris

Sunflower:
My mum only cooks for me, my 2 brothers and my son. My hubby will go to in law hse eat. Cos just next block. Ha.
We are meatless family la. And my money is contributed from both of us.
She only buy vegetables and the rest like fruits, electrical bills, rice and etc all bought by my brothers.

Nope, she doesn’t wants anybody to help her. What to do.
I wanted to bring her to Chinese sinseh she also don want, do this don want do that don want.
I think aunty old liao, some will be either stubborn or wiser. What to do…..

My hubby we will be working out a plan this sat to decide if we do want her to take care of my son too.
Cos of the stress im facing and also she is always threatening to go work is not healthy for my son and myself now.

Berrydelight
You ask me to add u cos u can’t find me in facebook. Haha..
Well.. I haven add yet cos my hp facebook got a problem. I can only do it when I have time to log in at my home computer on weekends. Or later I try to use my IT computer. Haha..

Berrydelight

I have entered the details at the google. 
It seems that a lot of the mummies here are having no. 2. Haha..

Yen
I vomited water this morning again.
Yesterday and today. I thought its suppose to be better than how come vomited water when I never had it before. Haha..
Sian

Re: blood test and scan
Who is going down to TMC for the scanning next fri?
Im gg leh. Slot is 1215pm.

can any mummies feel their bb movement at this point of time? i think i felt some movement this week. or is it my "gas" in my body?

Have always been a silent reader. Can i join the fb group as well?

My EDD: 8 March 2012
Gynac: Dr Ang Huai Yan
Hospital: Glen e
Hometown: Pasir Ris/Punggol
Currently:12 weeks (Going for oscar scan tomorrow)

Have a 18 mths gal.

email:[email protected]

berrydelight : have PM you my email add and updated the google doc file. thanks! =)))

1 more day to weekend! hang on there mummies.. i need my bed desperately.

sbb, i'm also vegetarian for going to 20yrs since sec sch days. i haven't find any vegetarian CL yet, cos i don't know of any contacts. my previous confinement was done by my mum but i guess i will need to hire one for this time. do you have any other contacts for good vegetarian CL?

afternoon mummies!

Welcome new mummies! Yeah! one more day to the weekends..

I think i've been eatg too much spicy stuff recently, last night sleep halfway stomachache, need to cut down. I still feelg nausea on n off during the day n night but not as bad as b4. At least now I'm able to go out for dnr, last time i couldnt even get myself out of the hse during dnr time. Jia you ladies! I can smell the 2nd trim le, we are almost there!!

Thanks berry on the info on thalassemia. I want to ask my gynae abt it during my next visit, also ask abt RH+ & RH-, not sure what this is also. I think it has something to do with mom's antibodies fighting the baby.

My cousin did advise me to do the thalassemia test b4 concieving but i didnt.... hopefully me n hb both not carrier.

Hi experienced mums,
Anyone of you kept spotting in the first 3 months and baby is fine??
I'm spotting again... hope everything is fine.
@9.5wks now...

i have spotting on and off but my gynae told me it's ok as long as it goes off and don't get heavier and heavier. he said that most probably is implantation bleeding but he gave me progesterone pills to take too. if you are worried, maybe you can visit your gynae to have a check?

haha.. same here celtbaby, only spicy and sourish food like tom yum excites me.. all others, i feel it rather bland..

try drinking ribena to keep the nauseous under control? it works for me thou.. NTUC lately got sell ribena in low sugar, less guilt feeling. ;p

Blueswimmercrab
I think compassionate ba. Haha.. from young my bros and I don like meat leh.
See them poor thing. Than happens my mum turn into vegetarian cos my grandma got cancer in terms for praying for good health.

Winnie
Haha… if I can detect them than I think its fabulous. Haha.. last time I got a friend she said actually by almost 3mths, sometimes we can feel the bb movement cos not first time pregnancy.  don kw how true.

Jessi
I tried to ask my friend for you again if they have . If not than probably u have to check agency if they have any vegetarian CL.
My first one also done by my mother, but she old liao le la.. how to handle 3 person one time. Haha…

any ladies feeling tired after lunch?
i feel like sleeping... haha... i haven eaten so much. my colleague just bought me apples. haha..

Re: revealing pregnancy
any ladies reveal your pregnancy liao le ma?
my tummy very big le, but im still hiding it. i tinking of revealing now and than. cos already 2.5mths.

@sbb: me! haha.. the sleep bug never leaves me alone i feel..

i only informed my immediate bosses abt my condition, as for the rest esp at work, maybe try to wear loose dresses, less obvious if dont wish to tell b4 hitting the 3mths mark. ;)

jolz, i keep on yawning leh. haha..
i can't help it.

i even wear loose dresses and they suspected already but no one asked. today i wear tight one, can see the big bump out, but i cover with my blazer. haha..