(2013/02) Feb 2013

Hello Simone! Congrats

Hi Simone,

Congrats! my EDD is after CNY but will probably be around CNY if I opt for a caesarean. you're also another experienced mommy.

Luvhope: "The earliest time to detect a pregnancy clearly in the uterus and see the fetus and the fetal heart beat, you need to be close to 7 weeks." Hence, going too soon might be unnecessary like what others mentioned, you may see only an empty sac and cause undue alarm and worry to yourself (bad for gan chiong #1 MTBs like me) heehee. so i shall patiently wait. this means there's longer time for me to decide which gynae!

Godbless: did you choose Dr Ang through recommendation?

Thanks Twinkie!
Actually u can still change gynae halfway if u're not satisfied with the one u go to at first. Dun worry!

Luvnhope: because i am very scared that my hemorrhoids problem will worsen to the point of surgery (during birth which happened to women in my family) and was told that if go through such a surgery more than once may cause slight loss of control over bowel movements. actually i may have to change gynae at later stage as there is a chance my dh may get an overseas posting. which means i have to make a decision to stay back (without dh) and deliver or go over there to do so!

of the 3 docs i have narrowed down to, 2 deliver at tmc, 1 at gleneagles (read that it's very expensive). Godbless, where does yours deliver at?

Glad Goh, you're so brave to have 2 kids so close!! 

Angeline, yup, I was aiming for about 2 year gap.. I was actually hoping to conceive #2 slightly earlier, so that the 2 kids will be 2 academic years apart.. My #1 is a late Dec 2010 baby, so if the next one comes out in Feb 2013, although it's about 2 year gap, but schooling wise it's 3 year gap.. Oh well... Think too much, better late than never! Wish you a smooth smooth pregnancy this time! You're a brave mama... No painkiller?! Gosh.. Can't imagine.. My pain threshold is zero.. During my labour, I requested for epidural first thing upon reaching hospital!

DHM, my #1 is a boy. Anw it's very normal to hate fish when pregnant. 

Re: food
Last time my gynae said eat everything , but in moderation. The only things I avoided were raw food.. It was just too miserable!! No sashimi, medium rare beef steak, runny eggs, poached eggs... Sobs.. And ignore any claims that caffeine makes your kid sleep less, I abstained from caffeine during my #1 and he turned out hyperactive anw.. This time round I'm drinking a cup of coffee everyday.. Mostly because I need it otherwise I have no energy to chase my #1 around!

Edd is just an estimated date..as date drawing nearer..depending on baby's size and condition..edd date might be earlier..

No matter what it is..keep yourself happy and take good care of yourself..don't be too stress out..

O=)

Ying
I love medium rare steak too. Good news is we can eat! The bacteria on the beef is only on the surface which will be cooked and killed already. For my first pregnancy, I started with medium steak then after confirming with my gynae, I continued to eat MR steak
No problem.

Tigerbabe,

Thks for telling me that!!! Haha! Was eating a fully cooked piece of steak yesterday n feel so sad.. Now I can enjoy my medium rare steak now!!! Yippee!!!

Luvnhope: ya lor
but the hemorrhoids are really an issue.

Ying: did the epidural jab hurt? some told me like your whole spine is burning n catching fire.

twinkie, i took epidural b4 too. Not that scary lah. You'll be thankful for it, unless your threshold for pain is super super high!

Luvnhope: Mine 6 years too..!! Hahaha..Ying..3 yrs very good already..!! My #1 is a boy too..hahaha..

Tiggerbabe: How bout semi-cooked sashimi..? I loveeeeeee sashimi but....totally refrain myself from eating it..

LuvNhope: how did the epidural feel like? not at all like the burning feeling I mentioned? hahaha i have pretty low threshold for pain!!

Angeline, *high five*! Hahah... Imagine, after #1 finishes PSLE, then #2 goes into Pri 1. My DH was saying that we'll spend 12 years or so shuttling to the same school!! LOL.

twinkie, i guess by the time labour pain hits u, anything else is insignificant! Hahah... Like when the gynae did a cut "down there" to prevent tearing and did stitching afterwards, i didn't even feel it (okay, could have been the epidural at work too). But i think really depends on the skill of the person doing the epidural for you. Keep fingers crossed that you get an experienced anaesthetist!

Luvnhope: i have been reading up on natural tear vs epistomy. both also got 'horror' stories like tearing all the way to the anus, or worse, upwards!!

twinkie, oh dear, my doc now seems to be pro-natural, may just let it naturally tear. I certainly dun want it to tear all the way!!!

hi mummies to be,

I have a few sample packets and half a tin of pregnancy powder (similac) to be given away

Coz i find it a waste to throw away these so

mummies who dun mind the balance milk powder pls PM me

LuvNhope: may i know who is your gynae? different from your #1? haha. those are more unfortunate cases, i guess? hopefully it wont!! :/

Jasline: Welcome and congrats..!!!!

Luvnhope: True true..!! Hahaha..!!!

Twinkle: Don't be afraid..you won't feel anything when gynae cut it to enlarge the opening..coz contraction will be too pain to tolerate any other thingy..

If health ain't a problem..opt for natural birth..normally nurses will let you try laughing gas, thigh jab then epidural..whatever it is..always be in your comfort zone..all pregnancies and labors will be different..just be comfy yah..~

hee most of us here edd ard CNY.
oh one thing to highlight if you ladies getting confinement ladies better start confirming now ya, CNY period more ex by 1k i heard and also more difficult to find confinement ladies...

somehow when i really eat throughout the day. my nausea seems to be better..like in between meals i'll snack on crackers, apple or yoghurt..seems to help...

oh ya as for gynae i looked for the one nearest to where i'm staying and luckily it's walking distance from our place..not so sure about how good he is though i've read quite a few testimonials on his website left by the previous patients..

guess will decide again after a few more check ups.

DHM, tell me about it.. I tried well done steak once and I decided to just stop eating steak altogether till my pregnancy was over!

Tigger, that's good to know! Truth is, I just had medium rare steak the whole week before I did my pregnancy test.. Was on cruise and ordered steak every evening.. Lol!!

Twinkie, no lah, my epidural didn't hurt a single bit.. The injection was NOTHING compared to contraction pain! When you're in so much labour pain, it kind of numbs everything else, including a needle into your spine.. That's my experience at least.. I don't think I wanna give birth if there's no epidural.. Hah.

Re: gynae
When I was looking around for gynae, there were two things on my mind:
1) good stitching skills.. Due to my low tolerance for pain. A gynae with good skills makes all the difference to the post-delivery recovery stage. I'm glad to say my wound didn't hurt a single bit after delivery, not even when passing motion (have heard other horror stories from friends about how painful their wounds were).
2) the gynae is not the kind who will coerce / scare patient into inducing birth / c-sect on certain dates so as to fit their own schedule. Don't be surprised but there are gynaes who will do this, and I think it's highly irresponsible. My SIL had to induce and vacuum for no good reason before her EDD.. Racked up her hospital bill and I don't think it's good to force bb out.

Luvnhope / Angeline, so your #1 will graduate from p school before #2 goes in? Gotta go through P1 registration horror twice? I have a friend, whose #2 born end of Dec.. She was saying super heng the #2 came out before new year, otherwise it will be 6 year gap and gotta redo all the parent volunteering and balloting again..

Hihi Mummies,

Please help...

I have a brand new set of Medela Swing single electric breastpump in original US packaging/unopen for sale.

I am selling the following in bundle at only S$300(nego):

1. Medela Swing single electric pump
2. Brand new 100% cotton Breastfeeding blanket (Brown color)
3. New/unopen Playtex standard Pre-Sterilized Disposable Liners 8oz/236ml (125pcs). It is very good for storage of breastmilk and is easy to use.

Total original price up to S$412.00

Self-collect at Tiong Bahru/Tanjong Pagar mrt station.

Interested parties, pls send me an email at [email protected]

P/S: Due to size limit here, Playtex picture is available too upon request
mime_pdf.gif
Medela Swing Electric
Copy of 2012-06-12 07.45.44.pdf (43.8 k)</td></tr></table></center><center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_pdf.gif
Breastfeeding blanket
Copy of 2012-06-12 07.48.21.pdf (44.0 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Angeline
if it's your usual Jap restaurant should be ok. You will know if they are fresh.

Choco, I didn't put on much weight for the 1st trimester for my previous pregnancy

Choco: It depends i guess..my 1st pregnancy..tummy very small..when i'm about to due..i looked like only 6mths preggy..but i gained 13kg..everyone guess my baby will be less than 2kg..that do freak me a little..but after i gave birth..i heard nurse said.."8pounds"..!! And i'm lucky enough to wear back my old jeans 4 days after i gave birth..i've no idea where those weight goes to..maybe water and blood i guess..As for this time round..i'm only 6weeks..but tummy already popping out..and yes..do concern i've difficulties in regaining my figure back..hahaha..

But well..anyway..i've gained 7kg before my pregnancy..coz i'm under TTC..so i take in lots of tcm and stuffs thus ballooned up..i'm not greedy..as long as i can remain like this after birth..i don't mind..hahaha..

Tiggerbabe: Thanks for the advice..my hubby still say.."Oh no..there goes your sashimi.." hahaha..i really love it..!!

Ying: Hahahaha..that's true..kekeke..will be in primary school for 12 yrs..!! And yes..there're gynaes who actually wanna you to go with their schedule rather then the other way round..My gfs had quite bad experiences with a few diff gynaes..who gave ridiculous excuses..normally 1st pregnancy tend to listen whatever the gynae said..so this time round..play smart..keke..of coz..if it's not health issue..then there should be a way to find comfort in both ways..

Don't fret mummies..still a couple more weeks to decide where and which gynae you prefer..you can always change if you're uneasy..just be in your comfort zone..don't stress yourself as it'll stress baby too..

Helo ladies!!!

I got my BFP this am!!! Finally!!! Hvnt seen the doc though!
We had been trying for 6mths &amp; almost wanted to give up!
I hv irregular periods &amp; some minor fertility issues, so really no faith to think that we would be so lucky with another miracle baby.
Nevertheless i decided to test aft a few days of waking up in the middle of the night for no reason.
Well, hmmmm.... Maybe it's the Eurocup. Lol
Who knew!!! Jeng jeng jeng!!! There lies my beautifully BFP!!!!
We are officially over the moon!!! ^_^

Angeline,
I had a ton of sashimi at japan's tsukiji mkt i at 5wks when I had my boy.
Gynae assured me it's ok &amp; sure enough my boy is all good!! ^^
I just had a dozen oysters the other day without knowing I'm preggy too! Oops!

Twinkle,
Hi babe. I had c-sect bcos my pelvic was too small.
It's scary for me esp when I can feel the doc cut me though it's painless.
The painful part is when they were pushing out the baby.
I felt like I was going to die.

But I guess it's nvr as painful as vaginal birth without epidural bah!
Recovery wise it wasn't tt bad for me. I was walking around the ward the day after.
Just hv to tk care of possible scarring near the bikini line.

Don't worry too much, all these will just happen naturally for the best of the baby.

LuvNhope: Oh! you're going to Dr Paul Tseng. while researching really read many, many awesome reviews about him. I narrowed down my choices to Dr CH Koh, Dr Benjamin Tham and Dr Jothi Kumar
Was very keen on Dr K H Chan because many mommies were praising his stitching skills but unable to afford his fees!!

Angeline: so envious! you regained your figure so quickly!

Momo: congrats on your bfp!! heh. somehow i feel excited seeing more and more MTBs coming to this thread. you mean you can still feel the pain of them pushing out the baby despite having the epidural? i thought it's supposed to be pain-free?
are you going back to the same gynae?

Choco: me too! i keep reaching for food at night so I brush my teeth to stop myself. haha.

Ying: my friend's sister's stitches split when she was passing motion! :S and she had to be re-stitched. really scary!

twinkie, listen to your body. If you're hungry at night, just munch a little. Hunger's a way for your little one to tell u they need food, remember? So long as you eat healthy food, shldn't get fat.

LuvNhope: the thing is i am actually reaching for junk food like pocky, chips etc. which has no nutritional value and plus i think it's just me being greedy haha!

Momo: Congrats..!!!!!!!!! I TTC for almost a year..likewise..I told my hubby that will be the last mth to try and..keke..!! Am very happy for you..!!

Twinkle: Envious..?! My oh my..but i ballooned up when I started to BF my son..it's REALLY ballooned up..!! I was told BF will keep you slim..? But instead..I gained lots of weight..I eat as normal or maybe slightly more but I can't control..i tried to reduce my intake..But I can't produce much milk..so yah..no choice but to endure it..It's only till I stopped BF 2 1/2yrs later..I regained back my figure..

Angeline, har? BF supposed to slim you down leh.. My colleagues come back from maternity looking slimmer than b4!! One even had triplets!