(2013/02) Feb 2013

babygalore: welcome welcome!!! is this your #1?

nickole: oh yah hor, got saturdays haha!!! totally forgot abt it. i didnt know soft serve ice cream got raw eggs =x ya, why cant eat mutton ah? (but heng i dont like the smell anyway but asking out of curiosity)

Heard from old ppl tat eat mutton will cause baby to have epilepsy / fits

u can sign up for the the newsletter at babycenter. they will send u the general progress of ur baby.

wow this thread is moving so fast!!!
Yah i oso heard abt the old wives tales abt mutton. crabs too;baby will be 多手多脚。as for spicy food, i'm a lover for that, but smhow during my #1, i had v low threshold for spicy stuff. Was craving for sweet stuff like fruits during the 1st tri n everyone said i must be carrying a gal, n they were right.

when's a good time / too late to see the gynae? the earliest appointment i can get is 25 june. wonder if it's too late? based on calculations, am week 4 now.

haha.. all these food restrictions are really interesting. I bet I can't remember them. Anyway, for my first preg, i ate/drank everything except liquor and soft cheese such as brie. I had all kinds of ice cream including sundaes too.

twinkie
it's never too late to see the gynae, but best is to see at 10 weeks. Having said that, if you feel unwell, go see the gynae ASAP.

Wow..!! So many posts..!! Welcome babygalore..!! Well..I'll just eat anything in moderation..like my mum said..just eat whatever you feel like eating but it's a nono if you're aiming for big portion..

I agree with tiggerbabe..go and see a gynae if you're feeling uneasy..engage your desire gynae when you're 8 weeks and above for a first trimester screening and blood test..that's when you should be able to hear baby's heartbeat..for me..I'll be going when I'm 10weeks coz that's my slot..no earlier slot..haha..

twinkie by 25th you shld be about 6weeks? i thk its ok and not too late? like what tiggerbabe say unless you r feeling unwell then gota go early.

like my case too kiasu le go too early scan also cant see anything so abit waste money.
went first time when im abt 4wks plus to cfm im pregnant.
then went again last week cos of frequent cramps and spotting..
at this rate going broke very soon man.
im 5 wks plus today, nxt wk going for chk up again cos when so far only sac can be seen, no yolk yet =( quite worrying

oh but you may want to purchase folic acid from pharmacy or gnc and start consuming them first?

I'm having my 1st appt n scan end of the mth only... Would be 6wks plus than.. Shd I see dr before that?

Hi ladies, like BabyGalore, i also got my BFP on Monday. Has anyone been feeling sore hips (soreness near the skin)? Find it so odd.

BabyGalore, actually 6 weeks plus is just nice for heartbeat scan. B4 that, cannot see more than the sac and maybe the yolk.

No mutton -- epilepsy.
No bah ku teh leh? Cos it's herbal?
No crab -- many hands n legs.. Tot it's more of uterus contraction?
No dang gui - heard from my gynae too. He advised against this since I was TTC. But can't rem the reason.
No oranges/ bird nest - phlegm?

Oh dear.. All my fav food.. How? Haha..

Think can only stick to those 'safe' food like fish, chicken, pork, beef..

silver: i guess i am a bit worried becos i have frequent cramps too. kept going to the toilet to check my panties for spotting but most of mine are dark coloured ones so it's kind of hard to see (i didnt put pantyliners cos i seem to get itchy from it now, don't know why).

Angeline: your appt when you are 10 wks wld be your first visit?

dhm: i am the opposite of you. i dont like most of the food on that list!

luvnhope: warm welcome to you

twinkie: hmm u try the scent free kind of liner? thot liner is gd as you can easily tell the colour of your discharge or try get some light coloured panties?
oh also can check out the tissue when you wipe.
if not then mb the smell? though its kinda gross but u know menses smell quite strong.

hi luvnhope and babygalore..congrats and nice meeting all mummies to be here..

heh we can share both our anxieties and excitement here.. sometimes i think de hubby just dont get it loh

For those whose having #2 this time round, do you feel the tummy is showing already at near 6 weeks? I seriously wanna think that it is baby bump n not bcos i'm fat. Feeling v bloated too.

Luvnhope: Welcome..!! My gfs do experience aching on hips, lower back or even calves..just do some light stretching before you get out of bed and place pillow on your back for 10mins at night..it might ease your discomfort a little..

DHM: Hahahahaha..just have 2 mouthfuls to satisfy your cravings..

Twinkle: Yup..I'll be 10+weeks by the time i go for my first trimester screening..coz my 1st pregnancy..I went too early..as long as no spotting/bleeding or constant pain/cramp..it shouldn't be a problem for me..

And do "air" your vaginal..stop wearing liners for days..it'll somehow gets better..make sure you never change or put in extra detergent when you wash your panties..and avoid lace for the time being..cotton panties will be better..

Niemweis: Yes..!!!! I just told my hubby this evening that my tummy kinda bulging out compared to my 1st pregnancy..i told him i hope it's not fats too..hahahahaha

Angeline,
Hahaha...
That means I can hv a plate of every 'forbidden' food in 2 mouthful servings.. LOL....
I can't live without my liner leh... I found that my discharges are getting more, n the liner I had is thick type. Soaked thru if I only change once a day. My discharges is abit tea colored... Is that sign of infection? I dun feel itchy, cramp, pain tho'...
Why need to air? Prevent infection?

Twinklejoy,
Lucky u...
I got a hard time in chasing them off.

Choco,
Bird nest hv to avoid until when? Tot its 'lun' (moisturizing) than 'liang' (cooling)?
Maybe I shd cut down my bird nest as I'm hving some tea colored discharge?

ok abt the scissors... It is 'believed' to ward off evil spirits around u when u r out at night.

Bird nest avoid only till first trim is over

I still feel 'wet' wor...and after walking in shopping area just 30mins i already feel so tired. Brought a pair of flats, no more high heels from now onwards

DHM: Yup, I also heard that can only take bird nest from 2nd tri onwards..

Angeline: Even though this is my #1, I already feel that my tummy is bulging out.. I keep telling my hubby jokingly that this is not the baby, its my fats.. Haha..

Btw, anyone knows if it is still ok to use feminine wash such as Vagisil during pregnancy? I've been using it before I got pregnant..

silver: ya i have just resorted to smelling haha and scrutinizing my wipes esp when my cramps worsen at intervals. felt a bit gross at first but then tell myself no choice! :p i do only use scent free liners (cos of sensitive skin to begin with) but usually within 30mins of putting i really feel the itch and have to discard it.

Angeline: oh you are a #2 MTB. hee. no wonder you are experienced already and understand your pregnancy better!

this morning i discovered i have an aversion towards tuna while preparing dh's breakfast. i have had no nausea till now. yikes. i hope it's just tuna and not all fish!

DHM: Haha..that's fortunate enough..!! 2 mouthfuls..!! Well..to "air" it when it itch..that's to let your vaginal breath..as the skin around there usually pretty thin and highly sensitive..use cold water to wash and pat it dry before wearing panties..if any smelled discharge..it might be infection..just avoid those I mentioned in my earlier post of lacy panties..tea color discharge/spotting might due to implantation of embryo..but not too long though..

As for bird nest..like chocolate said..have it after your first trimester over..

Theblessedone: Hahaha..my oh my..just hope we can get rid of it after birth..!! Hehe..well..I'm still using vaginal wash as usual..just make sure you've wash it throughly..don't finger it in for extra wash..pat it dry..and it should be ok..unless you're sensitive to use it now..

Twinkle: Hehe..can pretty much say compared to 1st pregnancy..I've much knowledge on how/what to deal if I've faced any doubts..but well..I'm still one anxious MTB that will tend to be forgetful at times..haha

Well..I'm a private pre-school teacher when I'm younger..am a part-time baby sitter too..I do go house-to-house to guide new mummies on breastfeeding..but of coz am a full-time working mum till I resigned in march..coz wanna concentrate on my children..I love kids..!! Hahaha..that's why I work part-time as baby sitter..

wow angeline sounded very experience.!
thanks for sharing with us on your knowledge..

oh ya twinkie i'm starting to get turned off smelling certain food and even my favourite coffee..haven officially puke yet just feeling very pukish when i smell them...

the feeling's a little like indigestion like that..haha

as for the bulging tummy for #2 i do heard that if it's not the first pregnancy, the tummy will bulge sooner as the uterus expand faster or something like that...

silver: i havent offically puked too! only gagged violently the whole time while i rushed to finish making the sandwich. haha your body is protecting you from consuming caffeine!

Angeline: nice of you to come here and share advice with us
most of my friends have no kids yet hence most of my info come from forums.

is it ok to eat instant noodles during preggy? since last night i have been thinking non stop about korean instant mee.

twinkie : there's only a few things to keep in mind about food, avoid high mercury content food, avoid any food that possibly caused food poisoning such as uncooked food, avoid soft cheese and nonpasteurized milk. The rest all you can eat in moderation. Don't need to be so uptight. Unless you are feeling unwell, then you need to seek advice from gynae what food you need to avoid. Everything else you can eat in moderation. Enjoy your pregnancy

Other than food, I would advise to avoid perm/straighten/colour hair where excessive chemicals may enter your body. I will also avoid nail polish and inhaling too much of poisonous chemicals such as insecticide, strong detergents etc.

Lastly, avoid any product that contains retinol.

Also stay away from strong radiation. I ks, so won't hang around microwave when in use.

thanks tiggerbabe! how about sliced cheese like Kraft? can I eat those? not sure if it is considered soft cheese. i also stand far from microwave now while warming up food cos I usually bring food from home to work.

hi twinkie

best not to have so much processed food like instant noodle, it has got 0 nutritional values to you and bb..

agree with tiggerbb to stay away from radiation.
No microwave , no smartphone ( if possible).

Btw, hello to all mummies and mum to be!

Thanks tiggerbabe!

Hi Angie, thanks for your advice
shall see if my craving subsides later!!

I called a gynae's clinic and was informed should only make an appointment when I am at week 6 cos only then can scan. Is it true?

Week 6 can likely see baby's heartbeat. If u go earlier, will not be able to see more than the sac and yolk. The first milestone scan is the heartbeat scan anyway. So just nice to go at Week 6+.

Ladies, as much as I would like to join this thread but my af didn't fail to report to me.. Thought I would have chance but af came late.. So sad.. But nevertheless, wishing you all a healthy smooth pregnancy and delivery. Will come in and peep peep a little..
xoxox to all..

Cheers: Shirley

Ladies, as much as I would like to join this thread but my af didn't fail to report to me.. Thought I would have chance but af came late.. So sad.. But nevertheless, wishing you all a healthy smooth pregnancy and delivery. Will come in and peep peep a little..
xoxox to all..

Cheers: Shirley

Silver and Twinkle: Nono..I'm here to look for information too..no matter what one has gone through..it'll always never enough to look for new info..I'm so glad to be here with everyone to share our doubts and take in more new stuffs..

I eat instant noodles too but moderation..like ham too..they're all processed items..like what tiggerbabe and angie mentioned were right..keep in mind that..

Shirley: Worry not..keep on trying..good luck to you..!!

extra baby dust to you Shirley
hope you get your good news soon in the very near future!

Luvnhope: heh. i emailed one gynae amd he was very nice to explain to me as to why going later would be better. now i no need to be so gan chiong liao.

Godbless: mind sharing which gynae you are going to?

I just tested positively. Based on online calendar, my edd will be 10/2. First day of cny!

Either a dragon bb or snake bb then...

This is going to be my 2nd bb, my first is turning 1 next month

Simone: Congrats...!!!!

Twinkle: The gynae's really good to share..all mummies gonna keep in light mood and be happy..!!