(2013/01) Jan 2013

Realised on scan it states edd 4 jan instead of my 15 jan...
Anyone knows y? Does it mean I will deliver earlier?
7843766.jpg

aspialle: From what I understand, the EDD will change based on bb's growth. But we should follow the first date that gynae gave us.

Morning ladies!!!

Aspialle, my US scan also shows differing EDD every time. Just an estimated date, also some machines not accurate in determining the weight of the baby. Just take it with a pinch of salt.

HCP
I have one too. Very useful, I find. Just heavy to wash.

Canopyhaze,
Take care of yourself too. Catch lots of rest when u can.

LM,
My #2 gets phlegm easily at one period too. She was given the ventolin and fixotile inhaler. Helps to expand the tightened airway and clear phlegm. Given the flumicil orange drink too. I get the first few dosages from the GP, the subsequently just buy box of the flumicil from phamarcy to stock up and use every time she starts sounding phlegmy.
Someone told me giving her cod liver oil builds up her immunity. Can help reduce cough and phlegm.

xinyue here.. decided to change to this nick as walls have listening ear..

wa.. so many posts to catch up..

siew > better pack ur bag! my #1 came out at 37 weeks!

Friends > I washed my hair once every few days during confinement, still had bad hair loss..

canopy > take care..

LM > the PD will put my boy on neubuliser and also suck out the phlegm. only some med (not ventolin and fixotile inhaler nor flumicil )for phlegm and that's all.

re MIL taking care of kiddies, am totally against that as my MIL has very bad habits. DO not want my kids to inherit her bad habits. she can be rather inconsiderate at times too.. and the worst thing is, she and BIL will be moving in with me very soon.. now, is really 8 pax in a 4 room flat..

argh.. really no mood to prepare for the upcoming of #2. yet to get ANYTHING done. now, placing bb cot and doing confinement is a problem. with MIL around, i cant have my rest as i need to constantly eye her and my #1. that is besides the point. MIL is either on the TV or phone or PC whole day long and she turns on TV volume REAL loud. imagine, if i am washing dishes in kitchen, with water running and the cling clanging sound of dishes, i can still hear the TV program clearly. same goes for BIL. whenever he is home, he will on the PC 24/7.

it is unlikely they will contribute to the monthly household expenditure..

there are also some other issues which i am not comfortable sharing here.. SIGHHHHH...

aspialle, the GA (Gestational age) in this scan is calculated based on the baby's weight and size. It just means that your baby is the average size of a baby which is 35 weeks old. Our EDD does not change throughout the pregnancy and EDD is most accurately dated during the first trimster. Subsequently, all the fetus will start growing at different rates - including putting on fats, how long they become (as this has to do with genes). Which is why if you were to compare 2 babies born at say Week 38, their weight and size can vary(some more heavy/longer than others).

wasabe > bb does not need saraong.. most, if not some of the older generations believe that putting bb in sarong, bb can slp longer or fall asleep faster. this is totally not the case for me. my mom used to put me in sarong. i would wail the moment i am in.
they also believe that sleeping in sarong is 'cooler', maybe bb slp longer.
in recent years, it was claimed that sarong is no good for the bb's spine. as sarong has no support. bb spine is curved up when in it. but rocking bb, u r making bb dizzy/giddy. thus bb 'falls' asleep faster.

It been a few days I yet come into forum.

Last week, my gal is down with cough, high fever and runny nose last week... Was put on nebulizer as she had abit of lung infection, antibiotics, Singulair for few days.. First time using it, she screamed til nearly torn the wall down. Had bruises due to struggle. She pointed at me "You're a bad guy" .. Oh gosh!!!

Nw continue singulair and flumucil..

moonchip, the nubeliser actually uses the same mix of ventolin and fixotile... Or so I was told by my PD. So as long as they are smoked, the medication is same same...

wasabe > Just to share on using pacifier. My #1 use pacifier from birth. Actually i'm not totally against it, the pacifier can be a lifesaver at times when they are so cranky especially cos' i wasn't successful in latching on. The problem is when it becomes a habit and the use is not moderated. My SIL took care of my #1 till he was about 22 mths and all the while, the pacifier was like glued to my boy's mouth. It's also one of the reasons for my boy's slight speech delay now. We only managed to wean off in the daytime when he goes to CC but now at night, he still needs it to sleep though i will pull it out when he sleeps. The other problem with pacifier is hygiene. As they grow older, they drop or hide their pacifier everywhere and anywhere, and then anyhow put into their mouth.

In-laws taking care of bb > Actually I do think they are the best caregiver (other than ourselves or our own mums) when bb is young. Cos' in most cases (sure will have some exceptions lar), they will definitely dote on the bb, take good care of the basic needs and can be trusted. It's just that as our bb gets older, they may then not be the best option to educate and instill the correct values. If my in-laws are willing to take care of my #2, i'll let them lor and just close one eye at certain things but send her to CC once reach 18 mths.

moonchip: yeah, packed my bag over the last weekend. :p. now just have to add in a few small items.

ooh, ur no.1 came at wk 37..

My son going p1, will be in Sch from 12 to 6 pm.. Pondering whether I shld continue with my maid or send him to cc in morning.. I dun trust her with bb so she is v free after my son goes Sch...

snowger > I see.. thanks for correcting me

I cant remember what my PD told me..

bliss > take care

siewz > yup.. but hopefully urs will stay inside u till ur EDD ;)

Time flies.. some of the mummies be going for c-section in 2 weeks time, right? excited? if so, pls rub some excitement in me leh.. SIGHHHHHH

aspialle > my opinion : think u can say bye bye to ur maid and get a part time one instead? don't think need to send ur #1 to cc in morning since he be spending only few hours at home on school going days? how about sending ur #1 to ur mom's place in the mornings?

this is just my opinion..

Haiza Im also scared of weaning.. Not against pacifier just didn't like my mil mindset that baby must use either pacifier or sarong. She say v easy baby cry just stick the pacifier in and v easy wean off.. Grrr but nvm I shall go with the flow and determine need for it and try not to be stressed by her since first 4 months bb with me..

Sarong I'm a bit hesitant cos I scared bb drop out lol..

Haiza my ger also slight speech delay.. She's 24 months now.. Partly cos my mil speaks to her in Chinese and hokkien, me in english.. and also cos mil always gives her things v automatically but with me I will ask her what she want then she will say

Aspialle do u need maid to cook or do housechores? Otherwise really quite wasted

moonchip, snowger: My #2 also on the neubeliser. But she needed long term medication. The clinic couldn't rent us the machine for long. So Doc "promote" her to the puffs and we will use with the spacer. She was on off on the puffs from 2 years onwards. Now 4+, this year, her cough don't flare up so easily.

Bliss: my girl had Singulair too. Very expensive med. We mixed with rice or milk to feed her. Jia you and be firm on giving the medication. My girl used to struggle and scream like crazy whenever she saw that we on the neubeliser machine. But no choice, otherwise, she cough till very badly.

wasabe, haiza: I am ok with giving pacifier. Can really calm the babies down. As for weaning. We were determined to wean them off once we let them start CC (2 plus?) Just told them one day that pacifier is lost. My boy searched through all the cupboards in the house till late at night the first night, then next day, never find already.

moonchip, siewz: My #1 and #2 both came out at 37 weeks. Both diff gynae but both gynae decided to induce me at week 37.
Thinking this #3 maybe also sama sama? I haven't pack hospital bag too. This is my 33 week.

this weekend mark my week 36.
Very kan choing cos doc say scare mei mei come out at week 37 like khor khor also.

suddenly dont feel well. cough, flu.. yucks

Wasabe
It is common to have slight speech delay if the child is acquiring multiple languages simultaneously. But it is actually better for the child! By three or four they catch up and can be fluent in mOre languages. Definitely better than monolinguals :p

LM
If you get the cast iron skillet you hAve to diligently oil if everytime after use. It gets to the point of 'non stick' after a while. Or you can get the enamel iron cast, though you do have to wait for it to heat up before putting your fish or eggs in. Little oil for first batch then subsequently dun need oil.

Hey but cast iron is forever! Heeheee.. I agree it is so exp! But you can wait for sales (up to 40% off wor) or beg someone to lug it back from Europe for you!

Adding oil to food
Actually I don't have a problem adding oil to food, just as long as it is not deep fried. The same goes with low fat milk, and sugar replacement diet. Think we always feed kids junk then make them take low fat, low oil and low sugar, which is not what kids are supposed to eat. Kids are supposed to drink full cream, eat appropriate amount of oil in food (not fried), and not take sugar replacement like aspartame (which is for diabetics anyway).

Non stick surface
They all nanotechnology to coat it leh, that's why it is non stick...

But I must say it is very convenient. Lol.

Cheese
Wow so soon??? Your edd is early jan? Ah but you are really prepared, arent you? So exciting. You might be the first to deliver! Remto post pic

Puff / nebuliser,
I have the puff thing too, but my daughter refused to use it. Wasted my money. She also hated singulair and would reject her food once she tasted it inside. The nebuliser looks scary. Is it usually the first thing recommended once kids have bad cough?

Hi all mummies, all of us left abt 1 month...so excited! counting down......Lets all jia you together!!!

Im a first time mummy and wana check if I will like to have natural delivery, do not need to pre-register for admission? I will be delivering at TMC but i checked with my gynae, he said dun nid pre-register cos also dunno when I will be deliver so cannot advance book the room?

Any advise from experienced Mummies that deliver from TMC before?

Yeah fullhouse.. haven buy few things, but can last min buy barz.. really tiring and just wanna nua with my #1 at home. hope he can get use to mei mei next time. He's very sticky to me.

LM - i have the neb, puff, singular.
My boy need to be long term medication as he always cough, a bit will trigger to his lungs already, so we buy the machine and he also get use to it to eat med everyday and use the puff.. very ker lian

rugirly (rugirly) - my gynae already pass me the admission form, and I will meet the cord blood in charge to donate mine, just like what I did for #1.

no need register de le...

moonchip, I had swollen feet and blood pressure was high too. #1 case, gynae detected some protein in urine. Both instances, gynae suggested induced delivery.

Cheese, you all ready? Hospital bag packed already? Load lots of vitamin C to beat the flu!!

LM, my girl was diagnosed as having bronchitis. One time it was so bad, she could not even breathe properly cos her airways were very tight. So want given the neubeliser. The puff thing is very common. Initially thought the childcare teachers didn't know how to administer it for them in school. End up she was so familiar with it cos many kids now need that.
Singulair - I sometimes mixed with bit of water, then syringe into her mouth. Don't give her time to reject.

rugirly, there is this form which I filled up from the first floor counter. Need you to fill in particulars and indicated preferred type of room. TMC staff said on day of delivery, bring IC will do.

Hi all, found this on the TMC site - what to pack for hospital stay

What to Bring For Your Stay
For maternity patients, please bring along your:
• personal nightgowns (front-open types for easier breastfeeding)
• maternity brassieres
• cardigan or dressing gown
• bedroom slippers
• sanitary belt (optional)
• sanitary towels (optional)
• polythene bags (for your soiled linen)
Note: It is advisable to have a bag ready with these necessary items packed 2 to 4 weeks befoe estimated delivery date.

We will provide the following for your newborn baby:
• baby vests
• disposable diapers
• toiletries
• a baby bag
• wrapping blanket
• a pair of mittens
Basic toiletries throughout your stay with us will be provided. However, you may also like to bring along your personal clothing, cosmetics and toiletries for a more comfortable stay. You are advised against bringing large sums of cash or valuables.

piyoz. loll. maybe few things haven buy...
babycot haven adjust up, but portable bed is ready for mei mei already...

I rem my boy had severe bronchitis and need to be hosptialized, and he also have prenomia when we are back from holiday frm taiwan, very poor thing. lungs very sensitive. Doc say have to outgrown himself one...

good thing is my boy(2year old) eat bitter stuff, like pao sheng he like to chew it. he will remind me to give him medicine to eat... and the puff to use.. he already know the procedure de... haiz.

I hope he can outgrow it soon

snowger

Actually I dun deep fried or fry food!! so happy call pan is like normal food to cook or make pancake. The only thing is pan fried teriyaki salmon. LOL!!

yet to make bread though wanna try.

Fullhouse

eh... less sugar? I only know eat less ice cream, junk food like sweets.

The full cream milk is a must as low fat only for adults.

Think the less oil is not to deep fried?

Coz me will be just a few drops of oil when needed. usually I dun even use oil as meat already have.

Like salt, use pan salt, rose salt or miso which are healthier.

Dunno if these are what you are referring to.

@ moonchip and piyoz, thanks ladies...

@ LM, mine was found to have abit of lung infection and some sound coming out from lung. To prevent serious lung infection, pd will usually recommend nebulizer to prevent further "damage"...

Singular
mine still ok with singulair, she will open her mouth.. i thought singular no taste ??

LM > My boy is also very prone to cough and phlegm. Occasionally the prolonged cough will trigger bacterial infection and high fever. But so far, our PD and the docs in KKH has never put him on nebulizer. I think cos' even though he coughs badly, his lungs are still ok as in no wheezing, inflammation or difficulty breathing. So I think it depends. For now, he's on allergy medicine - nasal spray, zyrtec and ketotifen but I think not really v helpful.

Haiz..I'm also one of the procrastinating mummies. Haven't prepared anything except for buying some new pinky clothes. All the other stuffs like clothes, sterilizer, pump, bottle warmer etc are stuck in my super messy storeroom. Must go dig them out soon.

LM

bad cough

My doctor din intro nebuliser. instead gave lowest dosage of medicine as he believed that let child's immune system to do the work, the medicne is to assist n nt totally swipe off.

My son's pd also believe in letting the child's immune system do the work. The medicine is basically to relieve any pain or discomfort that prevent the child from sleep well at night. So now, if it's just slight cough or flu, which doesn't affect his sleep, i'll just let him rest at home and recover naturally. (PD is expensive also and doesn't really help, i feel) Unless in very bad or unknown cases, then I'll bring my son to PD.

Btw, ever since i start my son on brocolli every alternate days (he loves it), I noticed that his immune system is alot better than during his first year, where he would get flu and cough (w phlegm) every alternate months.

Moonchip, my parents dun like to take care children...

Wasabe yes need to cook lunch n dinner and laundry lor, however aftn that time wld be nothing much to do...

Last time my no1 I do every thing myself with no maid, but this time round my son going p1, if no helper I have to bring him to Sch with bb ...

Aspialle, maybe keep maid for a while longer? Will be good to have another person to help out. Imagine rainy days, children fall sick etc. can be quite stressful if u were to handle alone.

Just took a coconut..... So nice and cooling......

Coughs
Thanks all for the suggestions. Super tired from just consoling and/or chasing after her and wiping mucus and tears everytime she cries.
Dunno if its a mega teething pain issue? She keeps grabbing her mouth and doesn't want to eat or drink. I can see about 4 teeth erupting.

@ cheese & Piyoz for the info, i called TMC and they asked me to pre-book, they fax me the form and i faxed back already =)

Haiza, I laughed when I read your post mentioning that pacifier can be lifesaver. Cos I feel the same! Nowadays my boy is very chatty... Can talk non stop without comma and full stop. And when he realised that i'm not paying attention, he will shouted 'mummy! mummy!' I'm a bad mummy and at times I will stuff pacifier in his mouth to stop him from talking and normally when he is tired and somemore with pacifier, he will feel drowsy and doze off. The pacifier is his comfort thingy...

Happy call: I can't live without it for frying! Used to only boil and steaming method cos I have a white kitchen. Strictly no frying allowed cos I dread the cleaning after cooking. With happycall, my meals now more variety liao... Lol. I have a steam, grill microwave too but I only usually use the microwave function... No built in oven cos I prefer to buy cakes than to spend hrs baking one. In short, I'm lazy lah. Anything that needs a lot of work and cleaning is no no to me :p Also, Hubby has high expectation when comes to dessert and he asked me don't even try baking unless I can bake 'hotel' standard. He rather have me going high tea to chill with him. Btw, my kitchen is very big and I even have an island in the centre of the kitchen. Kind of wasted hor.... Lol.

Angeliqueous, i replied ur email. pls check.

HCP i have one too.. seldom use. cos very heavy. but its good to use. yup can use to bake cakes. some ppl even use it to bake pineapple tarts. erm, i tried, but took long time leh. so i think bake in oven better. lol.

Built-in-oven, i have too.. but seldom use. size is basically the same for all brands i think.. but for those of u thinking of having built in oven, do consider the height of the oven. mine is located below my stove, nowadays my 18mth old kept playing with the knobs! which i think its unsafe. if possible, place it at the height of eye level. so that dun have to bend down to see the progress and put in/take out.. a little suggestion =)

i think my pregnancy this time round like very xin ku leh.. started with a blue black eye when i woke up one of the mornings last one week! then sprained my back while trying to carry my boy, then cough, and hurt my tailbone. now my back pain again, and with my 'new pain' in my mouth. dunnoe how come cannot open my mouth bigger to eat. can only open small small and a spoonful of rice can be filtered out becos not open enuff.. haiz! my colleague said one side of my face looks swollen due to my 'mouth-ache'! i think i m probably too heaty. i just drank a can of jia jia liang teh. hope will be better

so fast u all counting down liao, i m only week 31 tmr!

last sunday, my hb asked my mil if we need to go over for reunion dinner anot, since i will still be in confinement mah. she asked 'u really dun wan to come over to do ur confinement ah?' she said she can cook for me in the mornings and can help to bath baby before she goes to work in the afternoon. haiz! i dun like the idea of staying over at her hse especially with bil's three kids there, i think will be noisy with them playing with my elder boy. but she insisted that the eldest niece going to P1 next yr, then not at home liao, then for the younger ones oso go to school so wont be disturbing. but i feel pls lah, they go sch oso a few hours only. come back oso noisy. and kids will naturally come in and play with new baby mah. how to rest like that? Mil is working shifts, she said want to arrange work afternoon shift for that month so that she can cook for me. but if i dun go over, then the problem will be who is going to deliver the food! my mum is supposed to do confinement for me like what she helped my with my #1. but hb complained that she cook the same thing everyday, not nutritious, so he wanted his mum to cook for me. haiz! becos of my c-sect wound, i cannot eat chicken, eggs and alot of things mah. but he kept saying i only taking pork and internal organs all not nutritious! he said where got ppl confinement eat these only?!
but i feel its inconvenient to go there stay leh.. i oredi told him, if he decided i can stay at our hse to do confinement, then he go register our boy's playgroup class for next yr at our downstairs. now if we stay there whole month, then who is going to fetch and pick my boy to school? i asked my hb, what is going to happen to me and baby and our #1 in the afternoon when mil goes to work? he said got maid mah. i told him, 'u rather maid look after ur newborn baby and dun want to let my mum take care' and he kept quiet. :S
i told mil to cook when she is free lor. no need purposely cook and get my fil to send over. the rest of the time my mum can cook mah.
problematic right? got ppl help oso 烦, no one help oso 烦... :/

nickole, your situation sounds like mine. I could not get my hubby's 4th aunty (MIL's sister) to do my confinement this round. So my MIL offered her services. Initially I was ok cos I thot only she will be staying over at my place. Then after that I thought about it... NO LEH! There is a very strong possibility (in fact a well hidden truth - cos when I asked hb if it will happen, he just kept quiet) that my nephew will come over during weekdays as his classes are in the AM. He is super noisy one (truth be told - I cannot stand him. I know that's very bad of me.) And to make matters worse, during weekends both my niece and newphew may come over to my place esp if my FIL who is in the sales line need to meet clients on weekends! NO PEACE! And since my mum offered to help me look for a CL, I took it up lor... :p

rugirly, the TMC "booking" is not exactly booking per se. Cos after you deliver, it's still based on first come first serve (i.e. what rooms are available). THe only good thing is that you fill up the pre-admission form - like ur personal details, ur spouse name, etc. Hubby don't need to write and give so much detail when u both check in at the delivery suite.

Mummies with kids with frequent coughs is it due to childcare? My dd is also one with frequent coughs.. There are always like 5-6 meds to feed when she has a bad cough and of course singulair as well. I feed until very xintong cos she will struggle. Will non aircon childcare really be better, but there are few non aircon ones near my place except those pap ones who had super long waiting list

I totally have not prepared or packed anything for number 2 though I'm home on bed rest all day.. Really nua lol.

My Gynae told me I have to remove my cervix stitch at 37 weeks in her office... I got very scared hearing that. She say no need anaesthetia though I was on full GA when the stitch was put in.. Now I very jittery liao damn scared for next visit

snowger,

LOL!!!!

then instead of resting, u will hv a wet market with u whole mth!! wah.. turn bonkers!!

Think TMC & GlenEagle are the same, nt book on rooms, just registered to cut down registration time when delivery. Guess they also scare give birth in lobby while register? LOL!!!

my MIL even ask me cancel my CL leh!! but after what she did to me last wk, hb auto raise the ban himself, he ban MIL to come n meet me and even help in confinement!!

Heng!!

Anyway, she ill treat me now, I dun see that she will do my confinement properly too.

Sylvia,
She's 23 months now.

These 2 days I can't really diffentiate between the sickness tantrums and the terrible two tantrums. Hai. Everything becomes a power struggle. So I want to get her cured ASAP so discipline and order can return!

Confinement,
I'm trying to cut down the number of visitors at my place who come to Kaypoh about the baby. I mean if you're not bathing/feeding/changing the baby or #1, that means someone has to entertain u. Learnt my lesson from #1's confinement when I had a family friend and husband come over and stay the whole afternoon with her noisy brood of 2 plus maid. She sat there gossiping with my mil. Sigh. One by one we went off to the rooms to sleep and they still didnt get the hint.

I hope my confinement lady can cook well without excessive use of ginger. Previously my mil just paired everything with ginger slices. And I had no vege for at least 3 weeks cos all veges to her are cooling. Lucky got stool softener from the gynae! =p
It's the small things like that which can drive u into post natal depression!

Sylvia
Everything in moperation lah.

Huh what happ to your mil and you? Did i miss something?

LM
I know what you mean by visitors. They don't seem to get it that you need rest after delivery. My first delivery was 22 hours. It started after midnight and ended the second day midnight. So I didn't have much sleep at all after delivering my boy. Morning and afternoon no one came and I was thankful. At night I so badly needed my sleep but guess my in laws whole family insisted on visiting!! At 10 pm!! I was begging hb I was really tired, but they insisted they are on their way (buying bao!!!).. Then they turned up past 10pm, eating bao in the room, and I nearly died.

Second time told them to visit me at home else I'll go crazy like the first time...

Best just let me sleep... Don't come until full month lah..

Oven
Best investment leh. You can do anything from grilled Saba, salmon teriyaki to beef burgers, steak, casserole, roasts, pies etc! And lagi best no 'fire to watch' over! Timer set, I go relax!

Don't have a microwave oven coz I scared explosion and radiation. Yah I'm the paranoid and wimpy housewife lah.

Singulair
There is a chewable tablet that tastes like sweets! Can ask your pd for them instead of syrup?

Snowger
If your mil is doing your confinement, why is the whole kampung squatting over at your place? Doesn't make much sense. You often have them over so they are very comfortable there?

Friends
You are making me jealous! Island kitchen top!!! I only have space for one human buttock
in my kitchen now :S

LM,

think u hv to understand the stress for ur kid as they will seem to go backwards due to sibling rivalry. will need more attention.

So with sickness, they need more comforting.

Some CL dun cook vege and like ur MIL. Lucky my CL does, orelse I will die without vege for 1 mth! LOL!!