(2013/01) Jan 2013

hi mummies.. been awhile.. trust all is good!

juz had my u/s ystrday..(finally aft so long..s was used to very close u/s whn preg with twins..u/s nw is like a mth apart!).. anyways.. bb is abt 969g at 25w6d.

EDD is 21 jan... but i wld b cut up on 8 jan. CL fee slashed a-wee-bit nw.. at least less than $3k. :)

@bliss_ling

Oh TMC give Fitti too? hehehe...think both my kids, 1st one was at Raffles, I got Pampers, 2nd at TMC I got Pampers too. Haven't tried Huggies yet but I know Huggies cutting tends to be smaller..

Went gynae check up yesterday, gained another 2kg again .. now is my 7 months (28wks), already gained total of 9kg .. scary ! Anyway, I'd eat a lot, more than my usual eating habit and stop all exercise ... Wonder how much weights will gain throughout the pregnancy.

Baby weight 1.2kg and EDD pulled earlier to 3 Jan :p
Doctor said the baby head already in correct position, hope she can stay there still deliver .. 80 days to go.

Bliss

u never buy NB diaper ar?
How come TMC gives Fitti? I tot all give pampers. The pamper hospital gave is like half when we went home. Kekeke!!

I am trying to recollect what brand actually cut skin..... coz the taping piece actually cut skin at tummy and then red then become a mole.....

I'm looking at Moony, Pampers, Goo.N, Merries & huggies for S diapers. Maybe later then choose other brands as they get older.

Sylvia, I tried a few brands with my gal when she was younger. Like Goo.N (cos can get 2 pc sample), huggies, Pampers and Pet Pet. In the end I stuck to Drypers (day use) and Mamy Poko (night use). I remember that my gal had leaks when using Huggies (huggies I did not buy the lowest range leh. Cost about 20 over cents per pc) and Pet Pet. As for Goo.N, for some reason, my gal's bum bum was wet/moist when I changed her out (the diaper surface was also damp) and the diaper was not even heavy.

Bliss, back in 08, I remember bringing back Pampers leh... How come become Fitti? Anyway Fitti got 2 types the cheap one and the "premium". :p So maybe is Fitti Premium la, so no lugi still.

cheese, how much u pay for the 4D scan? it's so interesting but because I never do for #1, will likely not do for #2... else like very "pian xin".

Agree with canopy, such big eyes! and looks chubby already! ;p

Cheese

yes, agree. Big eyes!

I shld ask for 4D scan, I think this time I hardly get scan. Coz see on monitor. :p Next chk up ask for it.

Snowger, oooo
I rem using Goo.N for a while as having sensitive skin, then they increase price by alot, then I din buy anymore.

But I suddenly rem of mamy poko incident.........
the diaper when I took out drop millions of tiny drops (balls) and cover the 4 mth old bb! I quickly went to wash off, then to gp nearby to chk anymore went to eyes or ears or nt. Then I complain to mamy poko, they refused to refund or acknowledge. Just told me that exchange 1 to 1 policy.

I was like if my bb hospitalised, then how?
So I stopped using all the way till pull up pants. but the cheap one always hv to change frequent, so in the end with pamper 2 packs for $25, I changed all the pampers then.

My boy same age & mth with bliss so i also got Fitti from TMC when discharged. Drypers not suitable for my boy. The side tapes cut his tummy... Pampers leaked. He been using Mamy poko since his newborn days till now... Very siong cos quite ex and promotion is only discount of $3-4 niah... Expensive butt... lol.

@ jan and snowger,
hehehe.. guess mine was in June 2010.. I was like har "why no huggies / pampers"?...lol

@ sylvia, for #1 yes i bought NB but for #2, buy Size S cos it huggies and cutting for huggies is smaller..maybe should get just 1 pack of NB in case..

@ cheese, nice ... like kor kor leh.. big eyes.. will be a beauty = )

@ friends, yup i used mainly pampers for her cos she in infant care centre since 3 mths old..nw using Mamy poko pullup.. very difficult to tape her cos she refused and we used pants when she was 1 yr old..

@ snowger, i also never did any 3D/4D scan for #1 but very tempted to do it for #2 but later will sure label as pian xin (bias)

Caregiving for baby when born

I think we talk abt this before.... some will be with mummy who is SAHM , some with mil etc.. then for those whose baby will be taken care by mil / mother, will you all bring bb hm at night?

@ canopy, your mil is staying with u but then at night u be taking care of bb needs..?

Snowger (snowymum) - I nv pay for my #2, my gynae say let us see if we can do 3D today for fun.

then we capture her! hee..
for #1 hor... i go to radlink and do.. haha.. bias.. but in the end i also nv pay.. cos to sonographer my pic not pass.. she just give me a photo out of goodwill
- both free in the sense..

Bliss ling.
for me, MIL come my house mon to friday..
sat-sun she rest and sun we go her house and eat and bring her home again.. this goes on since my #1 is 8months old and she tc of him til now 27 months,just recently go PG...

Bliss_ling, we wanted to do for #1. Then later I think think didn't want to go do. In 2008, this was still fairly new and there were even some companies which were asking for mummies to do the 4D scan (FOC) as their machines were new in the market. :p Think this round I also skip la... Spend the money to take my maternity pics instead! LOL LOL.

Caregiving: #1 comes home every evening. Hb brings her over to MIL's place every morning for drop off (very siong for hb but he drives la and its on the way). I only started leaving my gal occassionally over at my MIL's place when she was 11 mths (i.e. when I started weaning her off BM and she was on FM).

cheese, ur gynae so good! *Jealous!* My gynae got new US machine but don't think it can do 3D. If he got I wont mind paying extra to get a shot of the face. I also heard that 4D scans can confirm confirm the gender... Since 4D scans are multi-dimensional... :p

Thanks Bdmummy. i go find out abt the shipping first.

Jan11325, ^5! my actual edd oso on 7Feb.. but most prob will be earlier.. =P

Aspialle, IMHO, if u dun have any medical problems like low placenta or baby position in breech, then its better try for natural birth. i wanted to go for natural, but end up going for c-sect during my #1, cos i had low placenta. During my hospital stay, i 'keh kiang', thinking i bf, so dun take painkillers, let it recover itself. but got 'scolded' by the nurse cos take painkillers are supposed to help recovery. lol! after taking painkillers, then i have to come down and walk walk then can get discharged, if not, i have to be hospitalised till i get down to walk. without painkillers, i cant even move on the bed!! after c-sect, every sneeze or cough, have to press on the wound, else very pain.

Mount A gives huggies S during 2011 May. we bought Drypers NB at home. so when we finished that pack from hospital, we used Drypers. and to our surprise, huggies S cutting is even smaller than Drypers NB. lol! so i oso dun advise stocking up too much NB sizes. get S better.

Bliss, my boy now is being taken care by my mum in the day. we bring him home every night. till after my delivery, i will bring both back home too

Those mummies taking maternity photo-shoot. What kind of theme will you be having? Gimme some ideas. Mine is on 28 Oct (sun)

Ctrus. what feel u looking at?
my friend too sexy one.. some like fun ones. bring your own props if you have like socks. or anything sentimential.

For my #1 i just take at playground n my home - my friend help one.. this one ... haven think wanna take a not. tummy not nice.. lol

I dunno what feel I want... see others like v romantic and sweet. I engaged my wedding PG (friendly rate)... just for memory sake

@bliss_ling - heheh mine in Jan 2010 so luckily still have stock for Pampers, but it changes always so its difficult to say.

Even the milk formula they provide, every month different brands. I used to work in hospital so everytime, I see babies use different brands of milk and diapers.

As for looking after kids, I am lucky, my parents stay with me, so for now, Mon-Thur, my 2 elder kids sleep with my mum and I take Fri-Sun, heheh, but when new baby comes along, I take the full shift for the little one.

I just went Sheng Siong just now saw Drypers NB selling $5.75, 28 pieces. Wonder if they will have any offer, otherwise I should be getting PET PET NB.

@Nickole - hehehehe so zhun ah, we same day EDD. But me C-sect la, so January kar char come out le.

It's been a long time since I last posted... have been very lazy to do anything... lolz....

I'm at my 29wks now and I just visited my gynae last Sat, my baby gal is 1.1kg now, gynae said it's a good size, not too big, not too small... but so sad, there wasn't any scan shot for me cos my gal was using her hands to cover her face...

I'm a 1st time mum so pretty clueless as to what I shld buy/prepare for my baby... Can someone share with me ur list of items that I shld prepare? I have some friends who told me that they have pre-loved items which they can pass to me, hence I dare not buy anything yet... ok, i'm also very lazy to do any shopping... Think the most impt thing i need to do now is to clear n pack my study room to make space for my baby... which i have been procrastinating... sigh...

In regards to Confinement, i'm taking over my in-law's maid, so she will be my main help taking care of baby, while my FIL (He's not working while my MIL works) will help to cook those confinement food... hope i can cope and won't feel helpless...
Just on sun, my MIL was telling me abt my BIL's wife's confinement, abt how she hardly washes her hair or bathe and somemore she uses white vinegar to wash her hands, wonder if my MIL is hinting me to do the same... can't imagine myself not bathing or washing hair for the whole confinement mth....

@Liz

Some Items you might want to prepare:
1.Breastpump if you are breast feeding/ latching on baby would be best if you are SAHM

2.Breastpads (leakage of milk from breast)
3.Baby bottles
4.Baby mittens/booties
5.Receiving blankets (optional)
6.Baby cot (playpen also can)
7.Bath Tub (Soft cloth too to wash the face)
8.Pram
9.Bottle sterilizer
Passed me down items from friends are good too, like clothes, receiving blankets...etc.
And the list go on and on...if you want extra, like toys...rocker....sarong rocker....

Just outta of 5hrs meeting! Damn tired!

Bliss : Nope, My mil is not staying with me, but she will be coming over to stay with us during my confinement and hopefully continue to stay a few months, really hope that she can stay with us for good. Yes, hubby & I will be taking care of bb during nite time, mil will help during in the day and also to keep an eye on #1 when he is back from childcare. She will help out with some cookings, but most of the cooking will be done by our maid.

Hi Jan,

Thank U for the list. I'm gonna be a full-time working mum, so will need Breastpump. My SIL say she will pass her BP to me but she's she breast feeding my 6mths old nephew, and I dare not ask her abt the breast pump cos I don't wanna give her pressure, cos I'm pro breast feeding and hope she can continue as long as she can...

Aspialle, my gynae good mood
My #1 he tried doing n my boy cover w his hand
Nv do n this time just nice he say do n Mei Mei co operative!

3D/4D
Actually it was around when I had my first at 2006. I nearly went for the scan but the gynae had emergency operation and I was late for a meeting, so decided not to wait... End up second one at 2008 didn't take coz want yo be fair.

Gynae now has the machine in his room so every visit will give us a 3D photo... But erhmmm I'm not sure here I chuck them : P..

Diapers
Okok I have forgotten. I rem my girl was last using mummypoko. My son used to use GOON when they do home delivery. The rest think cannot pass, cant rem why.

But now someone shared there is offer at kiddy palace for pampers NB, so hmmm might get it since I have vouchers.

Milk
Will be bfg, but will wean at around 1 bah. Can't imagine I'll be ordering milk again so soon! Both my kids recently stopped taking pediasure and I was relieved I can stop harassing my hb over the milk powder orders...

Thanks Xinyue, Cheese, snowger, nickole, jan & canopy.. Well most of u will be taking care of bb at night.. For me, hub insists to either leave #1 with my mum so that I will not be stress over bb things.

He strongly wants his mum to take care of bb at night cos I be taking care of #1 who he said that #1 will go disturb #2 as all will sleep together in a room who should we continue to stay in mil's place.

It will be after work, bond with bb then ard 9 plus, we will go back to my mum place and then bb with mil. Fri and sat, i will take care of bb then sunday back to mil place.

Most funny thing is that even my parents also said this arrangement will be better til the child is older.

will i get stress up easily if thing doesnt work up the way I want it to be.. Guess out of good will, they all afraid i will sink into depression which I had for #1 for few months...

bliss > for me, my parents are against the idea of the kid being separated from the parents.. I still remember when i was pregnant with #1, my 'ever so nice monster in law' volunteered to look after bb from Monday to Friday and told us to bring bb home only on Friday evening, 'return' bb back to her on sunday.

my dad, upon hearing that, told me to discuss with my mom on child care arrangement..

who knows, after birth, the 'ever so nice monster in law' just keep extremely quiet on baby sitting!

for now, hubby told me to take care of both #1 and #2 at night..

wont u feel tired from all the travelling?

i think is more of #2 disturbing #1 and ur hubby with all the crying at night..

Bliss, my boy is currently been taken care by PIL at night. The 'ideal' plan we had initially was to bring him home every weekend, on weekdays we will go to PIL's place for dinner and play with him until he sleeps and we will go back to our place. However, it does not go well with my boy to sleep with us over at weekends. Thou we are very close, he will still cry badly for my inlaws and insist of going back to PIL's place when comes to sleeping time. So if you were to let your inlaws to take care of baby, this is something you have to take note. Well, for us, we are are more than happy to have our bed for ourselves.

Yiping, for diapers better dun stock up. cos u will never know which brands are more suitable for ur baby. last time my boy had bad nappy rash using huggies, which was given by hospital. after that, we changed to drypers he is ok. but now ok with any brand.
but for cutting wise, other than huggies, Drypers, pampers and Mamy poko cutting quite big as compared to huggies of the same size.

Bliss, but if u bring #1 back with u, then #2 stay at mil, then seems like the two siblings wont be able to bond too. but anyway, just do whatever u had arranged.
and most importantly, be happy

i oso scared i will go into depression with two at home!! haha.. hubby's support is the most important!!

last time we see my bil and sil left their 3 kids at mil hse, even for weekends, so we decided that when we have kids, we have to bring them home everyday no matter how tired, else long term wise, they dun wan to go home. like what had happened to hb's nieces and newphew. sometimes when my sil want to bring them home, #1 want to stay with ah-ma, dun wan to go home. #2 want to follow jie jie, so end up only didi follow mummy back home. they are even closer to the maid than mummy, who looks after them in the day!

<font color="119911">bliss, I will be bringing #1 and #2 home every night from mil place.
Dunno if I will be able to handle 2 at the same time but just have to try!

It will most likely be #2 disturbing #1 at night from his/her 2-3hrly night feeds lor.... Instead of the other way round.</font>

@ xinyue, my hub afraid to look after crying kids cos he said he will not help out in wee hrs.. He said the baby needs 2-4 hrs of feeding in wee hrs etc so if i back to work, can I take it? He is a type of person that needs 8 hrs of sleep..

After what I went thru for #1, he is afraid that the cycle will be the same thus there goes his beauty sleep..

I think it worthwhile to sacrifice the sleep to bond with bb and it doesnt take long to break the feeding cycle ..

We just live across the street... hehehe.. less than 5 mins drive from my mum to his mum place.

@ Friends, so currently ur boy not staying with u &amp; hub?? wow.. that for #2, will it be the same arrangement too? Does your work require u to work shift?

@ nickole, hehehe.. my hub lazy lor.. haizz.. no suport and he gets so work up when I told him that i try to take care of bb on my own at night.. I have this feeling he wants the baby to be close to his mum cos my #1 who is a gal is close to my mum..

Plus he also at times very rude, never call / acknowledhe my parents.. So all treat each other invisible.. He trying his luck by telling me that he will stay at his own place so that can "help" to take care of bb when needs arise to. He said I will not feel sandwich between my mum and him.. I told him, nope if like that then better get a seperation nw..

@ LDG, true.. likely #2 will disturb #1 since #1 dont need to wake up for night feed.

Bliss : I do agree that both kids cannot sleep together as either one of them will disturb the other. My arrangement is #1 will be sleeping in his own room with my hubby end of the month to let him get used to. So that when #2 is born, hubby can come to sleep with me &amp; the bb, and #1 can sleep with my MIL since she will be staying with us for a few months.

Routine for night feed - some advises needed..

Well, I was been told that in order to stop the child night feed (cant rem that fellow say at which age of the child), if tne child cry at wee hrs, just give plain water and refuse to give milk to them, slowly they will learn and ackknowledge the fact that no milk after last night feed.

This guy told my hub that he tried for his 2 kids when they were barely 2 months old. Let them cried for few days and they enjoy peaceful sleep. Hub bought the idea and I dont.. Even mil also said it not possible cos as newborn sure will wake up 2-3 hrs especially those breastfeed bb.

Well, true enough mil words definetley make a strong stand and hub kept quiet.

Would like to hear from all experience mummies = )

@ canopy, agree and that is the best arrangement for you as you have a room for #1 = )

The r/s will be closer to the one who takes care of them day and night.. Like my hub, he was closer to his grandmother who looked after him since baby til 5 yrs old then moved back with his parents.. so everything also grandmother first rather then his own parents even during our wedding banquet, the first person he gave thanks was to his grandmother.. His first bonus also bought an expensive OSIM massage chair cost ard 6K plus for her.. I think he bought something for his mum..

Liz, you are already 29 wks .. so fast. Mine 28wks already 1.2kg, but gynae didn't say if she is too big. I shared the baby checklist previously in this thread, you can search my nickname or refer to previous pages. I also a 1st time mummy .. and you can consider to sign up the prenatal course too. I going to attend my 2nd class this Saturday at TMC ...

bliss ling: for newborn - i totally dont agree to cut down on night feed by letting them cry for a few nite to let them know. i cant bear to do it. i will do it probably when they cross 1 year old...they are on partial solid food, perhaps that is the time to train them to cut down on night feed.

bliss > our hubby similar pattern! Like what some mummies pointed out, will u be ok if ur kiddies are closer to MIL than u? i.e. they will be screaming and crying when it is time for u to bring them home? what if ur kiddies run to MIL instead of u?

FOr me, I looked after #1's need most of the time. Now, gotten a maid, #1 sleeping in same room with her.. I am constantly worried that #1 will be closer to her than me!

Hubby told me already, when #2 arrives, we all (4 of us) be sleeping on the same bed! Lol.. He too afraid #1 being closer to maid.

nickole > agreed with u on the diaper issue

sushi > re formular milk, personal opinion is, it depends on ur purchasing power and the bb itself. what suits my bb might not suits urs. so best is get those sample (400g) to try out. again, some brands are very expensive while some are ok in pricing...

Bliss, yes. My boy staying with inlaws. But we see him everyday cos we just stay next to their unit. For weekends, we will bring him over to our hse in the morning, play or go out 'Kai Kai' and will send him back around 9-10 plus at night (his sleeping time) so that inlaws can have the whole day free to do their own stuff. This arrangement works well for us cos we r like your hubby's pattern, need full 8 hrs of sleep or our temper will be very bad during the day. Lol. We r not that type who will feel jealous when my boy prefers to be with inlaws at times. As long as it's not outsiders, maid or nanny etc. Own family members is ok... So this kind of arrangement also must depend on the couple's character lah. For this baby, we will bring her home daily cos can see that inlaws are very tired and no longer have the energy to do 'night duty' already. They r in their 70s liao... So have to see how it goes...

This was my list that i shared with a colleague. It may not have everything but the impt stuff should be there...

<table border=1><tr><td>Description</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Clothing</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shirts (short sleeve)</TD><TD>For day use (minimum 6 pcs) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shorts</TD><TD>For day use – Not necessary esp if using cloth diapers </TD></TR><TR><TD>Socks/booties/mittens</TD><TD>I bought ½ dozen of mittens &amp; botties from the bugis shop. Would be just enough if you only wash baby stuff every 3 days. I change once after bath n once after a wipe down.Mittens is a must to prevent bb from scratching themselves. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Long Sleeve (top &amp; bottom)</TD><TD>Night use (minimum 3 pcs)Must have if intend to let bb zzz in aircon room. Need for the first 1 week to keep baby warm. After that I let my bb wear short sleeve to zzz (cos I dun on aircon) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kai-Kai clothes</TD><TD>Baby won’t go out frequently during the first 2 months so 1 to 2 pcs is enough. 1 for full month to wear. I did not buy any before baby is born as during full month, friends may buy for baby oso. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lala Land Use (for sleep)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Baby Cot/Baby play pen</TD><TD>I prefer to buy a cot that is convertable to tod bed. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cotton Swaddle (MUST HAVE)</TD><TD>2 pcs to interchange </TD></TR><TR><TD>Waterproof mattress cover (Optional) </TD><TD>1 pc (The front is cotton, the back is plastic.) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bean Sprout pillow </TD><TD>This is good for putting over the chest of baby to warm them as well as to keep them “secure” </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bath Use</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wash Tub</TD><TD>The blue tub is big. So baby can sit inside to bathe until quite old. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Soap</TD><TD>No need to use shampoo on new born. For the baby wash, use one to two drops in the water. Use also to wash hair + body. Face use water and cotton wool (no soap pls). </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wash Cloth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sterilised Cotton Balls</TD><TD>For newborns to wipe the eye area </TD></TR><TR><TD>Facial Cotton Wipes </TD><TD>Helpful for wiping babies face and eye area </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cotton Wool (sold in a roll)</TD><TD>Cheap and good for wetting and washing baby’s bum </TD></TR><TR><TD>Baby Oil</TD><TD>Good for moisturizing baby skin as baby skin will peel during the first 2 weeks aft birth </TD></TR><TR><TD>Baby Lotion/Moisturiser (Optional) </TD><TD>Good to have. Not necessary. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ru Yi Oil</TD><TD>Must have. Removes air from baby’s tummy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Diapering</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Disposable Diapers</TD><TD>Convenient and a must especially for night use. One to two packs is enough. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cloth Diapers + Diaper Lining</TD><TD>Only if you are super enthusiastic about washing… But can buy a dozen cloth diapers to use as burping cloth. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Baby Wipes</TD><TD>When going out or if you do not intend to use wet cotton </TD></TR><TR><TD>Diaper Rash Cream</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Changing Mat</TD><TD>Can buy those blue colour with bubble type </TD></TR><TR><TD>Feeding</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bottles/teats</TD><TD>I bought only one 4 oz bottle. Usually comes with the teats already. Unless u are determined to try a particular brand, else the TMC class should have provided u with a random brand. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sterilizer</TD><TD>Steriliser is easier to use (in my opinion) and can help u sterilize more things at one go! </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bottle &amp; Nipple brush</TD><TD>Important to help u wash ur bottles clean </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tongs</TD><TD>Only if you nvr buy the sterilizer. Tongs would only come with sterilizer. For you to "kiap" the bottles out aft u sterilise them. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Small tin of baby formula</TD><TD>I did not prepare cos I was determined to BF. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Breastfeeding</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pillow for breastfeeding (optional)</TD><TD>Not really useful. Cos difficult to position. Although I bought it, I did not manage to use it. I find pillows better </TD></TR><TR><TD>Breast pads</TD><TD>Can just buy one box of disposable first. Subsequently realize that need to use/change frequently. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Breast pump</TD><TD>Good to have. Not necessary until later… especially if you bb drinks directly from breast. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nursing Bras</TD><TD>They open from the front. Esp useful if u intend to breast feed! J Personal experience: I bought one week before EDD but land up my bra size still went up and had to buy new ones. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Breast milk storage bottles/Breast milk bags</TD><TD>Can buy those from Avent… Milk bags Lanisoh is good </TD></TR><TR><TD>Washing Baby Stuff</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2 basins </TD><TD>For washing clothes </TD></TR><TR><TD>1 diaper pail</TD><TD>For soaking soiled cloth diapers </TD></TR><TR><TD>Other stuff</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nail scissors</TD><TD>I did not buy anything special for baby to use. I use the scissors with v sharp pointed ends to cut baby’s nails. And I only cut after she is 1 month. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Baby thermometer</TD><TD>Can buy from Guardian Pharmacy. I only buy it when baby went for jab. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Baby Car Seat</TD><TD>Mandatory if you are driving baby around in your own vehicle </TD></TR><TR><TD>Baby Carrier</TD><TD>Dun buy too early. Wait till baby is older and while bringing him out, you can bring to shop to try the carrier. Warning: Not every baby likes being carried in carrier </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stroller</TD><TD>Have to be fully recline so newborn can lie flat. May need to buy a less bulky one for easy travel. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Optional Stuff</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rattles/Baby toys/Mobile</TD><TD>I din really buy. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pacifier (Optional) </TD><TD>Depends on ur inclination. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bouncer/Swing</TD><TD>Not rec for use until more than 1 mth old.</td></tr></table>

xinyue, that's what I am experiencing now... My gal will run for my IL's when it's time to go home. The feeling sucks. And I am quite angry when my MIL seem to be silently happy that it is the case!

bliss, I subscribe to the concept that the baby will not wake up for milk in the middle of night when they have sufficient to drink in the day. Which is why I follow a routine of at least 6 to 7 feeds (if not more) in the day time b/w 7am to 12 midnight. My gal "self-wean" and started sleeping thru when she was about 8 week old. I was also mindful that the night feeds are "guided" by her. Because sometime during the 8 week, she would still stir at her night feed time. But it was just stir not wake up to ask for it. If the mummy does not realise this, and wakes the bb up for the milk, the bb might not feed well and may then be "conditioned" to waking up to just suckle (not drink milk) at that time.

I only applied the concept of letting her drink water when she started night wakings when she was close to a year old where she is already started on solids and should not be having night feeds. However, if she insist on milk, I will still give it to her. And I will make a note to try to increase her food/milk intake in the day.