(2013/01) Jan 2013

Looking at the expo fair this weekend deals. Like not too bad for 1st time mummies to explore... ;p

When u all think is good time to buy diapers?

your_image.gif

Xinyue

no matter is 1 bill or 2 bills, the claims are the same amt.
Coz it's by MAX amt used.

DM, unless u walk alot or emergency cases, usually I heard is neary EDD or later. My #1 is actual EDD. So I hope #2 also actual EDD too as lung maturity will be well developed. For long health purpose, lesser lung problem, asthamas, cough, flu, etc.

Snowger

can buy diaper if cheap.

Cant see ur list leh. I still thinking to go or nt coz I only need newborn pamper diapers. The rest... I bought from the warehouses. Maybe stock up wet wpes only.

Xinyue

think my #1 era dun hv such menu. Nw is in thing to hv confinement food. LOL!!

Amnio fluid
I tot the moure the better as means more oxygen and nutrients from bb? The only worry is if the amount is lower than usual.

sylvia,
the listed vendors are:
Huggies . Drypers . Merries . MamyPoko . Pampers . GOO.N . PetPet . BabyLove .S26 . Abbott . Friso . Dumex . Enfa A+ . Gain IQ . Nestle . PediaSure . GROW . Pureen Babycare . Mii . Philips Avent . Medela . Heinz . Stokke . SHEARS . Organix . Pipila . Cordlife . Autumnz . Happy Bellies . PUKU Singapore . Concord . Mambino . Swissper . Palmers . ABC Design . Play Tex . Happy Baby Organic . Bumwear. Moo Moo Kow . Sophie & Friends . Mircalite . Hallmark . Cybex . Maclaren . California Baby . Bumwear . MOMMA . Boikido . Difrax . Bio Oil . Babymoov . Ed Hardy . Minimonkey . Mybee . Joli Petite . Moon Rabbit . Bumper Playmat . Babies Culture . Love To Swaddle UP . Doomoo . Delta Baby . Mimos . Wakodo . Grovia . Early Star . Breathable Baby . Kid Basix . Cosatto . Baby Einstein . Mamas & Papas . Mother's Corn . ErgoBaby . Delphin . Luvable Friends . Raf Raf Baby . ABC Design . Geuther . Skip Hop . Bebe Comfort . Earth Mama . Grolier . Mums & Babes . International . Music4Tots . Diamond Lifestyles . JJ Cole . NUK . Weego . Nuby . Jam & Muffin . Tango Designs . B&G Lifecasting . Natural Touch . Palmax . Posh Baby Shop. The Birth Shop . Babies Bellies Pre & Post Natal . Babyonline.com.sg . mummykidz.com . Milky Way . Small Small World . Marriot Vacation Club . Bebe Avenue . Baby Concept . Baby One & Ange . Learning Tech Program . Altitude Alliance . Prudential Assurance. American Express . Mums & Babes . Bella Luna . Music4Tots . Essence Studios . OCBC .

I cannot upload a clear enuf image :p so give u the link

http://www.smartkidsasia.com/Marketing/edmimages/images/mother&babyprint.jpg

xinyue,
I think NB diapers grow out quite quickly... Furthermore, diapers for NB gets changed every few hours... I may buy Mamy Poko, Huggies or Drypers... Cos Huggies n Drypers my #1 used before. But when she got older, she used Mamy Poko and Drypers. Mamy Poko for night and Drypers for day.

Komodo Wet wipes are good. I will grab them if I happen to go past Watsons.

Chesse/DM, I asked my gynae yesterday... Usually the estimated EDD is v similar to the first one. If first one early, second one will also follow same. Unless ur first preggy had some complications which caused him/her to be delivered early (e.g. pre-eclampsia, etc).

Chesse, my gal was about 2.6kg (yet she is a full term bb at 39 wks +). So doesn't matter la. What's important is they are healthy!

haiza, the baby's weight is an estimate. I rem my #1, her estimated weight at delivery suppose to be 3kg plus, but come out is only 2.6kg lor. She is healthy and I guess I had an easier delivery since I'm quite small sized too.

As for helping bb fatten up, I hear many mummies eat Durians to do that. Warning thou: Durians are very high in sugar - so Gestational Diabeties is a risk. Furthermore, Durian tree nowadays got a lot of hormone injections to make them ripen and grow more... So I rather eat if I wan to then for the purpose of growing the bb weight.

I would rather just take more protein (I do take beef steaks occasionally outside since my home got guanyin- actually cannot eat one). Protein can be animal protein (like chicken, fish, eggs) or vegetable protein (like soy). This pregnancy I have 3 square meals a day (including breakfast) and one supper (supper usually is milk w cereal or bread spread w butter/cheese and sometimes when I get unhealthy - maggie mee). :p

Oh oh, I forgot. Some mommies also drink the mommies milk? Like Similac Mum, etc. But this round I didnt take. my #1 I took, but her size still pathetic. So this round, I just drink fresh milk.

junior_jj, kodomo wet wipes are good cos they are quite big and moist. What u wan is wipes that are wet and big to clean up messes (esp poo poo). So far my fave is J&J and Kodomo. But J&J more expensive (I think), usually the hospitals use this brand - pink packaging (if I didn't rem wrongly). Smell wise, kodomo is also ok.

If u wana buy and keep should be ok. Just keep in a cool place away from heat. If u open one pack to "try", you better use it up cos it will slowly dry up after u open it.

Snowger - tink my gynae dont believe drinking milk
he say will make me fat only.
My bb during detail scan sonographer say she is on the lower side but my doc say ok..

Then i compare the rate with khor khor, mei mei indeed small even during my last check. Hmm,bigger a bit easier to carry...

When khor khor out he is so small till i so scare to carry... lol

Oh.. Can you believe this. I have not bought anything for baby yet.. Haha.. Not even a single item. OMG.

Today I just downloaded online the checklist. Gotta read it tonight.. Haha..

Anyone has a complete list to share?

yes, i can believe. i only bought a bb cot for #1 when I was 6months plus pregnant. didnt stock up on clothes, diapers, wipes, etc.

cheese, my gynae also dun believe in the "special milk" for mummies... :p I drank it for my #1 cos I heard from other mummies that it will plump baby up - for my case SO NOT TRUE. So this time I will just drink my fave Meiji fresh milk. Hehe, that's why I gave away my free thin of similac mum and the dumex mummy milk powder... Don't waste. yah big easier to carry lor. But my hb seems ok to carry my bb from birth... ;p

DM, no kan cheong la... Can always slowly buy. Go baby fair look see look see...
Some things like stroller, baby sling, baby carriers (can always wait till later to get).

I thought I have a list somewhere but dunno put where... Let me go find it then I post... Lolz.

Xinyue: So I am not alone.. My friends around me all say walao.. How come I can "ren"? LoL~

Snowger/Cheese: My gynae also told me that. But I am drinking it.. Cos my gum become very sensitive.. If I eat something too hard (like chicken or pork) my toothache starts. So I eat softer food anddrink alot.

Milk drink before sleep as supper. I also drink milo, soya, fresh milk and plain water. Haha.

cant wait to see mei mei again... still got 2 weeks to visit gynae...

But mei mei poor thing cos i not much time to talk to her inside her tummy.. unlike during khor khor, more time.. now have to entertain/ teach him..

recently just put in into PG to let him get used to the rountine, next time MIL will help up for mei mei...

am glad till now, 3rd week he say wanna go school.. but with running nose.. cough..

I just went gynae, put on 2.4kg in 3 weeks! LOL!!

Gynae only said watch sweet food and carbo. Bb is healthy. Before he complain abt my weight, I told him must cut down , if nt, cant natural delivery. Hahaha!!

Snowger, I also like meiji fresh milk... but

just realised why I put on so much weight.... I drinking meiji fresh milk normal & choco but nt the low fat one as #1 cant drink low fat! & then almost everynight eat touhua! LOL!!

I dun like kodomo wet wipes leh. :p think quite rough compare to tollyjoy/lucky bb leh.

Daiso have 105 pcs wet wipes big pieces $2 can consider.

my #1 sensitive skin only can use pamper when newborn, so I buying pampers. Later when grow bigger than change to mamy poko, huggies ( for night to hold long hours) or pamper esp when offer is super cheap. I rem pampers during a period promo 4 x L size only $25. Big stock up then.

Hope will have such promo again.

Snowger,

tks for the list for expo!

I go n ask hubby.

Yes, I pump #1 with durian the last time, once every 1mth or fortnight. but nw always having sore throat as very hot weather, so #2, only ate once. So wondering why I still out on so much weight. LOL!!

Think meiji fresh milk really pump up! LOL!!
I still drink milk for mums to increase nutrients when I eat cereal.

my supper........ steak :p, indian rojak ( urge to eat but seldom eat), tou hua, cereal. Sometimes after cereal still hungry, then eat again.

Think these are where I put on weight. Hope these weight goes to #2, nt on me.

DM

usually advice is shopping during 4-7th mth preg as 8th mth onwards will be nt walk so much unless u wanna give birth early.

U can also shop online/ spree since they hv discounts from gap/ old navy/ carter's etc. sometimes up to 35% off. Alot of online sites & facebook online stores to shop.

Kekekeke!!

There's a warehouse sales end Oct, will update when the co gives the details.
U can find, toys, cot, pram, wet wipes, bathing items, milk bottles, diaper bags,clothing, etc,etc.

For Breastpad: I recommend Facebook online store -Bubblytots Mise's Japan 168pieces value pack at $25. Good and cheap!

DM, I also havent buy anything except a large Longchamp bag to be used as diaper bag. haha...
I am still doing my research. Today just order a customized beansprout pillow from SMH forum which will take about 1 mth to reach me.
I also 'ren' very long because my hubby dont allow me to buy. He said the things gonna keep for months until can be used. He only allow me to start buying in November.

Sylvia, ur appetite is good!! Hahah

Recently I eat very little... I can't finish a portion of wan ton mee!! Which I tot 2nd trim should be able to eat more!!

Diapers
I had already stock up Pampers and Goon nb! Hahaha

Mummies, just wondering if it's necessary to buy a breast feeding support pillow? Wondering if it will get very tiring carrying baby while breastfeeding, especially as the bb grows and gets heavier.
Sometimes I wonder how much of what mummies are advised to buy are really worth buying (ie. will be used and not collect dust)

Syyy

I used the support pillow for 3 -4 months usually bb like me to carry then on the pillow as harder and nt close to mummy's body.

It's good to relax n no need to carry to bf and arm will be tired.

Oh ya... I hv to go n dig it out too.

hammiebao

I dun hv good appetitte leh. only supper is like a meal. the rest of the meals are half of wat I usually eat. That's why I kept wondering where are my weight coming from.

Must be the supper.

Cord blood

asked gynae about his opinion. He said the most important will be when we as parents are old as like our parents dun hv such storage for them to use when old. Though it might not be applicable to the bb as the previous posts, the siblings' ones can benefit. & even if 1 illness cant use, but many other illness can.

Plus NUS now is on researching using stem cells in heart as heart can't grow cells and only can use pacer nw. The research showed that adding stem cells, the heart grew new cells and in term, heart can recover n be healthier.

Another thing is not rely on 1 cord blood but have at least 2 kids' so that both kids and both parents can benefit.

But he emphasize that ask me to go n ask myself n know more about it myself. He's neutral whether I take up or nt.

Syyy

nt a problem!

1st mum is shopping ard. 2nd time mums etc are digging around, unless give all away then hv to shop again!! LOL!!

DM > hmm.. just take it easy.. slowly slowly.. imagine, when my bb was discharged from hospital, i dont even have diapers and formula milk on standby at home! What we did was, few weeks before my EDD, we check out the various brands of diaper and FM first. 2nd day after bb was discharged, then we stock up a little bit

As u would realise alot of things available in the market, is actually redundant.

Re breast feeding pillow, it is all up to individual. My aunt passed hers to me. I used a few times before keeping it.. Doesnt suits me..

Why I said not to stock up on diapers.. U never know if the brand that you are getting suits the baby's skin. if u stock alot, to only find that your baby cant use it, how?

DM > just tell them u r waiting for yr end sales.. Lol.. certain things, dont get too much, as u might be receiving them as gifts (1st month or during ur hospital stay).

<font color="119911">I also have the iHerb discount code liao!
Just need to key in this code HKW307 and you can receive $10 off your first order of $40 or more, or $5 off orders less than $40!</font>

For those giving birth NO2. Do u intend to tk package include Epidural?

I was wondering to tk? cos my lst experience taking epidural was nothing,, as if no take as i pain for 9 hrs before i took epidural. but another side i scare the long hours of pain agn.

Any advise?

@aspialle: Wa yr bb is big! 1.1kg is consider really big at 25 weeks. mine 24 weeks weigh @ 950g. i think u shd cut dwn on sugar/carbon. :)

Gynae say this weight acceptable?

It will get abit hotter as the heat from the water continues to warm the milk up even thou the heater stop heating le. Gt to watch out for the temp carefully in case overheat n kills the nutrients.

@Fullhouse, you also doing reno during your preg time? do you have t-blog in renotalk? Congrat for your new place ~

@yumeumi, thanks for sharing the photobook promo, I have bought some last time which expired in year 2015 .. can design many photobooks for my first baby ~

Oo.. mt A reno till so long, hope no affect to us ... will be deliver in mt A also.
@ctrus, I didn't receive admission form from Mt A but the gynae nurse helped me to book and I choose 2 beded, already received the confirmation sms .. next visit will check with the nurse for the admission form.
@cheese, didn't aware that walk will cause earlier delivery .. in that case, I will try not to move a lot during Dec as I also dun want to have earlier delivery ... hope my baby girl can stay after new year 2013.
@DM, I also haven't bought anything yet .. main reason was busy on house renovation. Will go baby fair tomorrow, hope can get some basic stuffs. Btw, I shared the checklist previously .. you can chk.

hi hi..

walking will contribute to early delivery ah? I tot it is good as it promotes faster delivery... erms.. been walking a lot alot.... now better talk to bb, ask her guai guai ah!

to those mummies meeting today, have fun!!!

At 24 weeks, mine is only 589g and my gynae already ask me to cut down on carbo. Wonder is it because of my weight gain. Till now had gain 7 kg

Attended the first class of Childbirth pgrm at Mt A last evening. The renovation make the hospital like a maze.

Will be going to the bb expo fair tmrw with friends because hubby on ICT (outfield). Just look/see. Rather than staying home alone

Pocket pig
Yes just moved in and it's a nightmare. Boxes and dust e everywhere! Grrr...

Will take a breather and meet up with the rest later :D

EDD
My #2 came out later than my #1, if I rem correctly.

Actually I want a December child. I really don't find the dragon year more competitive. It gets more and more competitive yearly anyway. Dragon year only means more bbs, which to me is a good thing, it 'dilutes' the average :p Jan bb really waste time...

sweetdream, ya my gynae says still ok, did my glucose test, result not out yet. however my tummy so big until people around me thought im either having twin or going to give birth already.

my no1 i did not take epidural and did not intend to take for my no2

@asphere, where is ur son school? I going to move to Tampines 7xx.
@minkx, really need to start so early? Is it the normal practice?

Headache whether to look for nanny or maid. I stayed quite near to my office, able to go back home during lunch time .. e.g. leave home at 8am and back home around 6pm, i.e. 8am to 12pm and 1pm to 6pm will be only bb at home with maid if I opt for maid.

With maid, there is somebody to help for houseworks and cook .. but afraid if they are not good; nanny more professional in terms of taking care of bb; but houseworks have to be done by your own .. is more tiring. I m thinking if I can start hiring a maid during my maternity and can monitor her personality before I hand over my bb to her? But still afraid what if something happen when I start to work?

Any suggestion?