(2013/01) Jan 2013

@piscean33, we actually had this pact before our marriage :p

it's the doctor that can't hold on it.. and kept luring us to say, we want to know the gender on every visit :p

pocketpig, i will suggest infant care though ..

Hi Shice, please update my details as well

Nick : Sunshine_81
Baby # : 1
EDD : 29-Jan-2012
Gynae Name : Dr Benjamin Tham
Hospital : TMC
BB Gender :
BB Name :

pocketpig > yes, agree with freesia, all have pros and cons. however, if u were to send bb to infant care, think u can start registering/queueing now.

for maid, it should be cheaper than nanny as maid can do housechores and cook for u.. but both maid and nanny has their own set of problems..

Nits, not sure if prenatal massage will help insomnia. I went to get some relief from my back aches and to prevent/ reduce water retention. WHy dont you go for one to try? I think quite a few got promo for first tries. I has my first try at baby bellies at $40. Not bad, i say. I do share your woes of insomnia and its really sporadic. Like one night i am fine and the next i cant sleep. One night, i can sleep with hubs working with night light on and the next night, i cant.. Constant struggle..But i am luckier than you as this is my first baby so i dont have another to take care of right now. =P
I also go for my monthly facial.. Cant go without my luxuries of facial (esp since i think my complexion has worsen) and massage.

Piscean, yes.. Have ordered from taobao my 2nd purchase and waiting for the items to come! Got a couple of my preggie friends, plus a couple from here to purchase together abt 10kg! We can shop man! Am already shortlisting items for 3rd purchase. wahaha!

Am trying to look for decently priced dressier maternity dresses without much success though.. Was going to go without them until i realise i have at least 3 weddings to attend in my 3rd tri (2 when i am like 36 weeks!).. U all know of any place/ sites to recommend?

mordern maternity, they have 2 branches, 1 at harbourfront while the other at united square

Had my sugar test 2 weeks ago. Yes, the most torture part is not able to eat aft drinking the carbonated sugared water. The nurse was measuring my blood pressure, then the nurse told me cannot eat within the 2 hours. My reaction was so big that my blood pressure shot up. The nurse laughed and redo the measurement again. Generally I don't drink carbonated drink. So it's quite a challenge esp the nurse said must finish it within 10min.

pocketpig> I guess for you (if it is your 1st child) then better nanny then Infantcare i guess.. unless you really really really trust your maid if not better not take that route!!!

OOoooii, I love my prenatal massage, everytime I had the mssage i feel so so refresh! BUt the sad thing is that I can go as often as I have to look after #1. can only arrange before date nights! hahah

Yiping.. if you have any link, share share.. my SIL is getting married in Dec too.. I will need a nice dress!

Yiping, how exactly are u able to endure a 1.5hr session of the facial, lying on ur back? I seriously couldnt last thru' my last session I had, was turning to my sides every now & then

Maternity Exchange at Marina Square (Level 3). Bought a black stretchable dress. I matched it with a bright pink shawl and accessories to attend my gf's wedding in July. Will repeat the same for the upcoming wedding in Oct.

Thanks, Sunny! Shall go harbourfront to check it out soon.

Nits,my therapist has a pillow for me to 'kiap' under my knees.. so my knees are raised. You know what i mean? Then last 30min when i just resting in the room with the masque, i tilt my body sideways from neck onwards . Prob like you.
I also dunoo when i will stop my facial.. Prob my next session (7th mth) might be my last, depending on how i feel.

tres, if i find any links, will def share.. So far think ASOS is nice but too expensive IMHO.

ctrus, how big is the cup of the carbonated sugared water given? same amt as a coke can? or half? just wanna be mentally prepared for the "challenge" since most of u said it's terrible to finish it. haha..

tres, where u go for ur prenatal massage? wonder which one is good. I'm yearning for a good body massage now.

Hi Ladies...

Anyone know if Maternity Benefits is CPF deductible? Bcos i just got news that i'll be retrenchment. And my last day will be next month 17th.. Company is paying me 4months maternity salary + 2weeks retrenchment benefits.. Since my salary is not high.. the 20% CPF will make a big diff for me...

Any idea? TIA

Sunny,
Same like you. we also din know the gender. It gonna be a surprise.

Snowger,
Went for my details scan last Friday. Sonographer told us she can see the gender, ask if we wants to know. we said it ok so long bb is healthy.
My #1 & #2 both gers so bb clothes are in white, yellow, pink n blue colour like rojak.
Now got to think of 2 bb names. 1 for gal n 1 for boy starting with Q.

@shice, i tink if my memory did not fail me, its about 200 mls.

@tres, u make me drool.. i wana go for a proper massage too ... all i have at home is a DIY from my hubby ...

@ Sylvia, totally agree with u... #1 just go shopping, eat and enjoy life but when #2 comes along, such things are a gem... hehehehe

@ Friends, let's hold hands and sail thru it as ours born same mth and yr...We can make it.. Hooya!!!

@ pocketpig, well IFC is good but the tendency of baby falling sick is higher plus u need to take leave to take care of bb.

Pros is that IFC has a structured timetable so bb is been well taken care and the interaction with ppl (teachers) are there. And once again that depend on the cc too.

I am one of the mummies who put my child in ifc when she was only 3 mths old. No choice.

For nanny, have to find a reliable one.

For maid, best to have someone in the hse to oversee them cos u may not know what the maid will do to bb if bb is crying etc..

@ piscean33, we shall try our best..
Actually been a 2nd time mummy, we are worried whether the emo of #1 will be affected..so will have to manage it when the time comes.

Hurray to all mummies...

@ bblove, i thought the water bring it to boil then off the fire and throw the bottles in? Was taught by TMC parentcraft trainer, Ms Wong boi boi abt this boiling method

Teat
Which brand will look like the breast nipple? I look at Tommi Tippee and i know mine is not that long lor.. whahahaha

re: post-natal massage
i was tinking of origins too.. (previous preg only engage freelance..n din do well....!) n someone mentioned abt mummy's massage as well. anyone heard of mummy's massage?

all these massages are so expensive... n to tink abt the $3600 for CL.. faintz big time!

karen:: sorry to hear abt yr retrenchment. i like to think that the maternity benefit shld be CPF deductable as well. if in the case of an employee, that monies shld b deductable too rite?

Sterilizer,
At what age would u all stop sterilise the bottle? I still do it once a day for my 27 mths old child. Maybe stop it when they stop sucking milk from bottle.

bbjoy, wah... u can tahan not knowing gender? I cannot leh. I MUST know.. too curious le lah... :p

Karen, for use of CPF medisave, you can refer to: http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/CPF/my-cpf/have-child/HC2.htm

For ease of reference, I share the table and info with u. Medical fees (Pre-delivery, i.e. seeing gynae) can claim $450 (you will need to keep the gynae reciepts). For delivery fee claims, you can take a look at the first column. Second colum is inclusive of the $450.

<table border=1><tr><td>Type of Operation </TD><TD>Medisave Withdrawal Limits for Delivery Procedure ($)</TD><TD>Medisave Withdrawal Limits under Medisave Maternity Package* ($) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Normal Delivery</TD><TD>750</TD><TD>1,200 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Normal Delivery (Assisted)</TD><TD>1,250</TD><TD>1,700 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Caesarean Section (Normal)</TD><TD>2,150</TD><TD>2,600 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Caesarean Section (with Tubal Ligation)</TD><TD>2,600</TD><TD>3,050 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Caesarean Section (with Hysterectomy)</TD><TD>3,950</TD><TD>4,400</td></tr></table>

re: sterilizer
errh..actually im still using for my 3yos. hahaha. we actually stop aft they turned 2... then, there was an episode of tummy upset for my girls. suspect prolly the helper then din wash clean (prolly too much soap or wat)... so we decided, better for them to sterilize the bottles.. since we duno hw they wash la. so now.. oni sterilize once a day.

bliss : sure, let me wait for Rebecca of Origins to email me first, then confirm with u. But most likely will be signing as i didn't feel comfortable with my previous massage lady. And by the way, i still continue using the sterilizer twice a day for my 33mths boy.

Karen : Sorry to hear about your retrenchment,i think all CPF are deductable from the monies you received.

So I guess it is CPF deductible afterall.. haiz.. alright.. I guess I’ve already predicted it.. just trying my luck…
Thank you @ ahBui (jumbobo) and @ Snowger (snowymum) and @ canopyhaze (canopyhaze)

Need to go calculate the cost of delivery too… (>_<)

bliss_ling, I still using sterililser. After 1.5 years, I only sterilise once a day (at night). Now at 3 yr plus (yes yes, the gal still wan bottle), I sterilise when I feel like it... :p or if hubby fails to wash it within 24 hrs.

The sterilizer not only can use for bottle but pacifier, bb's utensils (folk/spoon) etc also can right.

Any upcoming bb fair e.g. Isetan/Taka? I want to buy stroller. Cannot decide btwn combi or capella.

ctrus, if u wan to sterilise other items, you need to check if the utensils can take the high heat from the steriliser. dun wan to melt inside. :p

bliss, you asked abt teats right? i saw medela got this new innovation where the teat body feels like the breast *lol*

Bliss,
True emotions is important especially when they have been getting the sole attention for past 1yr plus. For minequality worse, cos I have a #2. I need to pay extra attention to her mid child syndrome.
Have already told Hubby if #3 is out. Nanny will concentrate with attending to bb while we concentrate on the gers except when required to bf bb.

Ctrus: usually, pacifiers can be sterilized, but for forks and spoons, you need to check the labels. Coz some may melt under high heat. E.g pigeon's teether cannot be sterilized. My mum didn't know and put my boy's orange duck teether into the sterilizer... Haha, it became an orange mass when I opened the sterilizer. It took me a while to realize the mass was the poor duck! Luckily it didn't stick on the sterilizer dish.

<font color="119911">@karen: Ya, think the ML are CPF deductible.
Try not to worry too much on the $$$ prob... 船到桥头自然直!

Hopefully my weight gain won't be a lot when I go for my gynae check next week!
Previous round was 3.5kg in 5weeks, so if weight gain is still a lot next week, gynae might ask me to take the GD test???
Since a lot of mummies here are saying if weight gain too much, gynae might test for GD?
I hope not!!!

Actually my weight gain is about 2kg each gynae visit and my gynae said is normal. I did the glucose test (just in case) because my grandfather had diabetes.

I've put on a total of 2 plus kgs since this pregnancy started, as compared to my pre-pregnancy weight. Hubby's almost admonishing me, to just eat more! I try, but I often get this heartburn, and then suddenly feel full, but when I do get hungry, I ensure to pop something in. Atleast when at work, I have all these snacks at my desk and make it a point to eat something, but when I am home on weekends, it's just the 3 meals that I take, especially with busy weekends, bringing daughter out whenever possible, the usual 3 meals is more than I can fathom. No time for in between snacks.

@ ahbui,canopy &amp; snowger, great rest my heart on the sterilize bottles.. Hub and mil also question me abt it so I told that my gal sucks on teat when she drinks milk so it better to get sterilize.

@ Canopy, ok lets wait for rebecca to get back to u =)

@ xinyue, I was told NUK teat also but nw got wide neck so not sure which is good... Ur child using NUK nw? Wow u solid leh, stop sterilizing when your was 6 mths old.. Huummm I the worry kind so nw I still continue...

My child water bottle i also wash and rinise with hot boiling water.. hehehehe

@ ctrus, can use for pacificer but as for others it better be BPA free..

@ snowger, yes yes I saw it before... the medela teat.. lol.. seems really look like breast hor...

@ bblove , oh yes u goin to have 3 kids so the 2nd child may feel neglected... U mean during confinement , nanny takes care of bb while u and hub concentrate on the gers? Well that be good for the gers cos once bb out they may feel the difference..

bliss : has just PMed you with Rebecca's email. Do let me know if you're keen. I think will sign up for the 10days $748 package. But need to inform hubby first before i sign up.

I will be on leave from this fri till next tues but can't meet during these few days as i'm having exam on Tuesday afternoon. Can only meet after next tuesday. I am thinking of taking a few days' leave during the 3rd wk of october when hubby travels to Australia, then i can send my son to childcare in the morning, and meet you ladies. Or i can take half day anytime 1st wk of Oct to meet as well.

Talking about Nuks nipples, may I check with yu ladies, if it can fit into Avent Bottles?

What other brands of good tits can fit into Avent bottle?

bliss > Nope, my child using Avent bottles and teats. He rejected NUK teat.
But I was told during the prenatal class that NUK is good.. -_-

This adv (of when to stop sterilising bottles) was given by my aunt. Her logic is, when the baby reaches 6 months, he/she starts to put everything in the mouth. These things are more dirty than the teats. Therefore, we can stop sterilising.

My boy is taken care of by my mom since after my ML.. So at least i know how she washes the bottle, thus stop sterilising. But will use hot water to rinse the bottle before letting boy use.

No la.. so long u r comfortable with the idea.. no harm, i suppose.

yiping, ASOS got nice dresses meh? I dun mind splurging coz it is SIL, last wedding inthe family mah !hahaah, will ask HB to sponsor lor!

Shice : I go for my pre natal massage at tamarind spa at Serangoon gardens, sign a package with them so try to go as often as I can!

Sunny : Good what DIY massage can be everyday leh! I have to ask for it sometimes! hahah

XFZ : *waves*** hi hi.. you have been a really silent reader for a while ah! COngrats on #2... we can have mini gathering with the MAr'11 mummies too! ahahah

Ctrus, Taka might be in March. For strollers, u might wanna check out this also:
http://www.babygogo.com.sg

BBlove, can share abit on mid child syndrome? First time i heard of this.

Sterilizing:
I stopped sterilizing once my DDs reached around 1yo &amp; eat regular 1 or 2 solid meals a day. But i made sure to use separate sponge &amp; pigeon detergent to wash their utensils. Other sponges can be so oily/dirty from washing woks &amp; pans.

For my first pregnancy with my daughter, i had gained about 7kg for the entire prenancy, till about the 28week check-up, tho i hadn't gained much weight, my gynae told me the baby's growth was fine and all. And suddenly, on the 32nd week, I was told it was IUGR, and I delivered my gal upon completing 37weeks, with she being just slightly over 1.9kg. I don't want the same thing to repeat. In my detailed scan 2weeks ago, I was told that the baby's growth is fine, but I don't wanna be complacent about it. Really need to buck up on my weight.

What brand of milk bottles r u mummies buying?

Every time I walk into kiddy palace, I will be confused looking at the different brands...

My MIL will be looking aft the bb (until 18mo) when I resume work after maternity leave. We got no car hence cannot send/fetch bb everyday so will be weekend parents. Also worried whether they will spoil the child. Haiz...