(2013/01) Jan 2013

ladies, for oscar test do you do it at your gynae's clinic? or we have to go down to hospital to do it? cause my gynae say my next appointment is my oscar test and i can do it at his clinic. abit confused now.

detailed scan pricing:
friends, ur pkg price is oscar + detailed scan ya? cos I'm not doing oscar so wondering how much is detailed scan alone costing...

TMC FBI membership,
hmm... if detailed scan is done by TMC lvl 4, then can weight out if wann apply FBI or not cos my gynae not in the FBI scheme...

TMC Childbirth Education Course fee:
anyone know how much would the course fee be like??

Good morning! I'm expecting my #2.

EDD: 29 Jan
Gynae: Dr Heng TL
Hosp: Parkway East Hospital

I'm at 9 weeks now. Going for my OSCAR test on 9 Jul.

missy: Your gynae's clinic perhaps has the manpower and resources to do the oscar test direct. Good for you. You need not travel separately.

Jo: This is based on what my recollection for #2 four years back.... If just detailed scan should be hundred plus. The Childbirth classes around $200 plus. Need to register early and chop if you want popular trainers like Mdm Wong Boh Boi. But she is very good. Very funny too.

Shice: Thanks. I actually did the rubber band thing to remove piles previously. So irritating that they are back!!!

Canopy: Great to know that your boy is well!!! It's terrible when children fall sick.

piyoz, oh was abit confused when the gynae say i come back to his clinic for the test. so they will be doing a ultra-sound scan and blood test? what else should i expect for oscar test?

Courgeous81, pregnancy last 40 wks so each trimester is around 13 wks. Some baby websites consider start of week 13 as 2nd trimester, some says week 14 onwards is counted as the 2nd one.

Nonetheless, I consider myself in my 2nd trimester once I reach my 12weeks (3 mths) - coz I wanna shout out about my pregnancy! Will be 12 weeks completed this weekend, so I cant wait man! Haha.

Jo, maybe u can call to check the pricing? I wonder how come so many different sets of pricing... So confusing... They shd have just published the pricing on the web...

missy: actually, I never do OSCARS before for my #1 and #2, sorry, can't tell you what to expect.

I only did NT scan previously where first gynae looked at the thickness of the neck. Once that was cleared, he did not ask for other test. For my #2, maybe cos I was 31 then, Dr Adrian only scheduled me for detailed scan.

Don't worry too much. Just make sure credit card with you... then listen to instructions from your gynae.

piyoz, u did the rubber band thingy urself or a doc helped u? i wanna permanently remove them, else they keep coming back, esp during preg.. very irritating.. and sometimes super painful..

shice: I want to save money. So went queue up at polyclinic to get referral. They refer me to SGH to see specialist. That very first visit at SGH, the doctor did it for me straight after consultation.

Very fast. Done in 5 minutes and he "stapled" the piles. Bit of discomfort. Must resist pushing sensation for that afternoon.

But now pregnant, later during delivery sure more piles will come. How? Drink more water, I guess.

Actually mine not painful. Just splash out blood every time I go toilet. But confirm is fresh blood from the back, so not so worrying. You are right, just very irritating.

<font color="0077aa">shice</font> thanks for ur reply!

<font color="0000ff">jo</font>, when i said natural birth needs doula i actually meant hypnobirthing or water births. sorry. i dun mean natural birth as in vaginal birth in the technical scheme of things. hypnobirthing births needs doula (either paid or hubby), because the mom is generally in her own relaxed zone during labour, she will prefer not to talk to nurses so the doula will be her voice. I rem during my 2nd labour, 3 nurses came in to say hi and i just grunted and went back to close my eyes. i was so rude. :p the doula's responsibilies are also to bring her into the relaxed zone, keep her there, encourage, and be the barrier between the outside world and her.

<font color="ff6000">tigress</font>. so nice that ur friend did a waterbirth. but i think its her own choice of not using any relief right? cos usually ppl who choose waterbirths choose it to be as close to nature as possible and thus that translates to drug free. so its a personal choice for her. and heee technically one cannot use epidural while soaking in the tuh bah.

<font color="119911">missy</font>, lucky that ur gynae has the equipment to do NT scan. so u neednt travel. the blood test they will take at ur doc clinic and send to lab bah...

<font color="ff6000">canopy</font>, good to know ur boy is well!

piyoz, ic.. not sure if i should go for it now that i'm preg.. scared later on sure got more piles..
i drink more water also no use.. if not preg, stil alright.. but now dunno why, now like permanently there.. yours sounds serious, got blood.. mine just swollen and sticking out.. so everytime sit on the chair will feel something there.. haha.. ok.. getting gross.. :p

Am now at tmc, just done my blood test at my gynae there n bring one tube to here.. Am earlier than my appointment
Saw beanie, So happy! My first boy got minor 地中海平血
Doc say 2nd might have also.. Hai. Hope everything ok.

Hammiebao
Haha i would consider those congratulatory notes irritating. lol. Im mean lah.

But these people really have no senses. People don't say then shut up, go post on people's wall as well!

Fb
I won't be posting anything regarding my pregnancy on fb, not even later. A very very close friend of mine just had a mc. I just cannot bring myself to post anything now

Cheese
Thelessemia minor? Then your son dont have to go army Liao! But minor is ok lah. Choose spouse carefully next time though.

Antibiotics in chix
Whatever you buy, $8 kampung chix from CS, $16 kampung chix from market, it would have growth hormones and antibiotics in it. Regulations for antibiotics and growth hormones coz they are all factory farms. The reason k. Chix tastes different coz they are a different breed. Did my research for my 2 kids then. So unless you buy the $30 organic free range frozen chix, just eat less chix.

Frankly I'll rather eat fish than chicken. The mercury content in small fish is more manageable than the things they pump into chix.

Daisybuttons
You did hypnobirthing for #1, #2? I've always wanted to do it but it's so exp. Anyway doubt my labour will last long enough for that to be much use.

Fullhouse, a male with thalassemia minor doesn't have to serve NS at all or still must serve as a clerk? Will he be categorized automaticallyas PES D or E? Would it make a difference if he were an athlete in school? I've thalassemia minor so there's a 50% chance my child will have the same.

Piyzo &amp; Daisy : thanks, yup, am glad that he is ok after 3wks of on &amp; off fever, flu and vomiting.

Just back from lunch, feel like puking.

i'm expecting my #2.

my edd on 1st gynae visit was set as 06th jan
today went for the 2nd visit and edd was brought fw to 02nd jan instead.

gynae: dr heng tuan lan

first child: boy
second child: girl (hoping and gynae thinks highly possible too) keekee

Canopy: 3 weeks!!?? Oh dear.... He must have lost some weight. Take sweet or sour plum, to reduce puke feeling?

Welcome stlock, so fast can tell boy or girl already?

I just met a very nice mummy yesterday at the clinic. She is expecting her #3 - boy, first two also boys.... But she still very happy, just glad that the children are healthy.

I wasn't expecting to do OSCARS, then suddenly dr ask me to go in two weeks' .... Then all the negative wild thoughts came. Doesn't help that hb is overseas. Must have happy positive thoughts......

piyoz : yes, 3 weeks, my entire family was down with intestinal virus infection 3 wks ago, hubby has since recovered, only me &amp; my boy can't seems to recover, on &amp; off fever, flu &amp; puking, our tummies are forever bloated, so can't eat much. damn sian!

Am leaving office earlier today cos hubby can't make it to pick up our son; furthermore i need to walk over to pay my season parking fee @ capital square as they close @ 5.45pm, will leave office ard 5pm today. Damn sleepy now.

<font color="0000ff">canopyhaze</font>, oh dear 3 weeks! u must be so tired out! stomach flu very draining.
take care and be gentle on ur tummy now just recover.

<font color="ff6000">stlock</font>, welcome!

<font color="0077aa">chicken</font>. i know Sakura chicken doesn't contain antibiotics cos they use jap farming tech and its written there antibiotics free. but until today, besides organic chicken, i really dunno where to find chicken thats both antibiotics AND hormones free. sigh. organic chix is super exp.

<font color="119911">fullhouse</font>, yes i did for both kids. I only paid for class, and for #2 i paid for private lessons cos i know basics. so its not exp cos my hubby is my doula, i didn't engage one.
u had short labour for both kids? thats so good!

Daisy : I think nowadays engaging a doula for Waterbirth are a must. I'm thinking of looking for Dr Paul Tseng as I think his charges are slightly lower than Dr Lai Fon-Min.

Just wondering how is the experiences with Dr Paul Tseng.

Is OSCAR a must for everyone? I haven read about it so far hehe.

just had lunch.. feeling pukey now..
maybe it's the car ride.. but i'm already in my 12th weeks.. shouldn't it be going away?

<font color="ff6000">hana^kawaii</font>, oh u r right, just read up. waterbirths at all 3 hospitals do require certified doula support. I also heard that beside Dr P Tseng and Dr Lai, Dr Chong Yap Seng from NUH is also pro-waterbirths. For Dr Paul Tseng, i have only heard good reviews about him...never heard anything negative. if u are going for natural, he's a good choice. i almost changed my gynae to him for my #2, but as too used to my first doc, so decided to stick with her.

<font color="0000ff">shice</font>, i had jap ramen for lunch at raffles city. very yums. i stil have nausea even at 12 weeks, so u r not alone. hugs.

hi, i'm into 13 weeks already. did the scan this morning and nothing obvious protuding out, so high possibility it's a girl.

i'm hoping for a girl too.

continue to feel tired...

hanakawaii,
no la oscar is not a must... is optional de. my gynae is dr paul, he nv ask me to go, only show me e brochure for more info, then tell me his view is i dun need go.
so far only had one encounterance w dr paul, so far so gd. as diasybutton mentioned, saw gd reviews abt him so decide to go to him esp when he is pro-natural..

<font color="ff6000">jo</font>, were u the one keen on waterbirths? if i am not wrong, you need to go for classes, to understand the why (background), the internal process of birth (this is different from the regular 3 stages of labour) , the relaxation/breathing techniques, to decide its for you. Its different from the regular classes conducted by hospitals. when i attended my hypnobirthing classes, they touch on waterbirths too and showed videos. it was quite awesome. but it wasnt for me. Have fun!

daisybuttons,
hmm the idea sounds interesting n all e readings seems to gif me the impression that waterbirth seems to be painless!
then again, hearing all others sharing more abt it, e thought of incurring more cost i.e in doula &amp; attending courses etc is putting me off liao.
gonna save where possible cos flat coming also..

Seems like many of u decided on TMC already? Hubby asked if I want to try other hospital like TMC, however I read of bad experience there. So might choose Mt A again.

Daisybuttons: So u did water births without any pain relief?your pain threshold must be very high!

piscean: my hb opp... ask me want to try Mt A or not, instead of TMC.

Mt A does have a lot of very good reviews, nurses very kind etc. But my gynae seems to deliver more mummies at TMC, also I love the food at TMC, so going back there.

Mt A gives bath tubs after delivery, right?

Jo: Think waterbirth not painless, just that they teach you how to control the pain. And yes, more expensive.

Daisybuttons: Your hb very steady huh, can be your doula. My hb cannot stand blood. Also, when in pain, I scream like siao and don't listen to anyone. Think stick to normal delivery better.

Can mummies here share their labour experiences? My SIL strongly encourages natural birth without epidural cos herself did it for her 2 sons.She said if on epidural, den when i reached 40s, will back ache la, this &amp; that... How true is this statement on epidural?

I was thinking, of cos If i can choose, i also want natural birth without epidural but scare my pain tolerance level is low.

Purple rain, my 2 best friends gave birth to 3 &amp; 2 children respectively went without epidural. I thot I can do without too but I gave in to epidural after 12 hrs of labour. The pain was unbearable. Till now, I have yet to experience the side effects... Maybe I will suffer the backach in years to come but I did not regret opting for epidural last min. It was an instant relief!

purple rain: Think it's all in the mind. But it is really very very very pain. Worst pain ever imagine.

#1: Asked for epidural at 3-4 cm dilation. Given shot, takes half hour to be effective. Within minutes dilated to 9-10cm.... ready for delivery. Epidural effect only set in after baby delivered, ie during stitching... $$ wasted.

#2: Thought better asked for epi early, half an hour after induced labour, signed papers, this time luckier, dilation 9-10 cm within 20 min. Gynae called in before epidural can be adminstered. Saved by $ for epi.

So, confirm it is possible for natural birth. The laughing gas is quite a good pain relief. But it all depends on your readiness on that day itself, and how long your labour is. Long labour is very tiring.

Actually I quite freaked out for #2 when the contractions started coming.

I think no one can really describe labour pain. Mother's love is so noble!

Even for epidural itself, also painful? Cos is inject into our spine?

hi mtbs..

juz took a short walk (to buy tea-break)..n now eating my bao..(2 siew mais r waiting for me)..

anyways.. rgd epidural. i heard lots abt backaches n watnot too. but during my 2st delivery, i opted for c-sec (cos i chose date to deliever), so i had to hv the jab. they called it spinal.. at the recovery bay, i asked the nurses there..wat's the difference, she told me it's spacing difference..which, of cos, i still dun really understand. haha.

actually hor.. whn some of u complained of backaches now, whn u did not experienced during your 1st pregnancy... i was tinking if this cld b due to confinement?

of cos..im not 40 yet.... i cant tell if i will b hvg severe backaches then, let's hope not. haha. but then, im sure not everyone lucky to hv short labour or be able to tahan the pain woh. but then agn..i hvnt experienced any labour pain before..(which i feel that's motherhood too).. so, oso cant comment too much la.

so anyways.. (aiya.. i say so much.. actually i wana say....) i feel that.. the confinement period is cruicial. like some said, evn whn u hv some minor daily prob.. if u did a good confinement, can reverse the negative de woh.

purple : it depends on individual threshold towards pain. Mine was a 13hrs labor, natural with no epi. I am the sort who will clenched my fist or shut my eyes when having injection or have my blood test done. But surprisingly the pain was bearable to me, all i wanted was to get it doned with and have a nice dinner as i didnt have any food the whole day. (Was admitted around 8am in the morning and gave birth @ 10.30pm+ at nite), i reckon more frustration than pain as my hubby could see the bb's hair when i pushed during contraction, but it went in again when i relaxed, it went for more than 2-3hrs before my son was out. Dr Paul was asking me whether i need to be anesthetized before he starts sewing but i declined. I remembered i was wheeled to my room and i immediately asked the nurse for food but they only had milo and sandwich left, so hubby went opposite to taobao beef horfun for both of us.

<font color="ff6000">piscean</font>, no leh i didn't do waterbirths. i mentioned waterbirths not for me heee.

<font color="0000ff">labour</font> i did hypnobirthing. hhmmmmm well, hypno is a choice of the type of labour i wanted. i wanted something peaceful, so when i came across this new approach i was keen. heng hubby ok. for my #2, my labour was 8hrs, totally drug free, hypnobirthing labour and birth. my girl even came out with waterbag intact but gynae snipped it. but for #1 my labour was 26 hours, after the clock hand moved around the clock face two rounds and we crossed into another day (not scaring other first time moms here, everybody's labor is diff ok?) and i dilated very slow 20hrs still only 3-4cm, and i gave in to epi for the remaining 6 hours. but I still got my hypnobirthing labour experience for both, and i really enjoyed it. Especially for my 2nd birth, i felt so elated and empowered after 2nd birth it was so surreal.

<font color="0000ff">piyoz</font> heee...yah thank goodness hubby was supportive. it was not easy for him. we need regular practices for the last tri. he needs to learn birthing scripts, light touch massages, how to sound soothing to me etc. he needs to feel confident enough to talk to nurses and doc. haha u very cute. actually nobody likes pain lah. just that the hypno method teaches how to relax ur body and let the contractions work. you are into your own world, u shut off external noise and u relax. my eyes were closed and i looked half asleep most of the time. it was fun!

<font color="119911">jo</font> yah flats and renovation is exp!

daisybutton:: woah.. hypnobirthing sounds really cool. i tried to read online..but still rather clueless abt it. but i bet ur gg for it agn this time huh. :)

hmmmm~ but i guess i will be electing c-sec agn this time. since i chose date for my 1st preg.. it's oni fair i do same for this as well. hehe.

daisy : hahahah! The beef horfun opp TMC is yummy! I went to Alexandra Area (the same kopi shop with KEK stall, the one which got featured in Channel 5 Meat &amp; Greet last nite) to meet my friend and to have seafood soup. It was yummy but puked out everything when i am back in the office

Going off to pick up my son from his childcare centre soon.

<font color="0000ff">ahbui</font> haha like u said, i have to be fair right? so yah loh...

<font color="ff6000">canopy</font>, the old old coffee shop opp tmc? have horfun? i must try!

piyoz..
the 450++ is both oscar and 20 week detailed scan at tmc with fbi discount. i decided to do both cos my friend told me she did detailed scan alone and already cost 300++ . and i heard oscar alone is 300++. so might as well do both at the package price.

OSCAR
did oscar at tmc this morning. scan looks good. baby jumping around, can see eyes, mouth, brain and baby cross leg but the angmoh sonographer like never see gender.. i ask her can see she say its either boy or gal DUH... for me 4 tubes of blood drawn during blood test as I also wanted to do the thalassemia test as long time ago, I was student and after a random blood test, doc tell me to take but never take cos as student no $$$ then. Pray that the blood test results would be good...

icydolphin, how to sign on the "package"? What is thalassemia?

pijoz/tigress, if you apply online, bring along a copy of the payment/proof that you signed up for the FBI/SBI (if you have not recieved the card by then. it takes almost 2 wks to get the card).

Birth w/o epidurial: I had my first without epidurial but took pethedine (injection on the thigh). I think it's not only abt ur pain threshold but also whether baby is in the right position, not only head down but also facing down when coming out- pain will be lesser. If the baby is coming out with the face upwards (looking at sky), the skull will be pressing ur spine and that causes a lot of pressure and pain...