(2013/01) Jan 2013

Jo (josky)
My pain torlence level normal, but I had no contraction even test with the CTG machine, I had very little "show" in the morning and mild pain at my hip so I went to my gynae around 4pm.. then gynae did CTG for me but no contraction, until about 45 mins later he say wanna do V check n I went toilet before that and I was heavily bleeding.. then gynae did V check and said I'm 6cm dilated... so he asked me to go to hospital straight.. I still asked if I can go home take my things but he said no... when I reach hospital, I told the nurse that I wanna admit cos 6cm dilated, nurse was shocked and asked me why come so late.. she don't let me go toilet cos she scared that I will give birth in the toilet -_-"""

haammiebao,
wow envy u leh... u r so lucky to have such smooth delivery!

icyjo,
oh ya now I rmb... we (w ally) belong to small size grp... hmm... i got a... duno tummy or bump showing... I tot is my 'spare tyre" putted on just before tested BFP... but apparently my pant are indeed getting tight.. & o'm only going 7 week...

anyway... anyone going to motherhood 2012 this weekend??
understand that's e myth that cannot buy bb stuff till 3rd trim... but how abt maternity wear etc? anyone going to check out good bargain??

I went for my scan today and tada... i heard the lil one heartbeat loud and clear, so happy!
also ask the doc many questions we had here, hope some of these are helpful :
Friends: doc say nail polish is ok, but be careful of solvents (aka nail polish remover - can always file off anyway :wink!!)
Hammiebao and others : About the fish, doc say can eat lah as long as not raw. a good guideline is any fish not larger than 1.5 meter!
about the beauty products, here is a list of "ingredients" that are not acceptable or no definate studies (means don't use it to be safe) :
-Propecia
-Retinoids/Isotretrium
-Phatalates and Parabens
-Fragrances (never apply directly on skin, ok if other people wear it and u smell it)
-Tolene
-Formaldehyde
-p-Phenylenediamine
-Oxybenzone
Ok to use salicylic acid and lactic acid lah!
The rule is moisturising products are ok, no whitening thou.
I also ask many other questions, let me know what else you want to know!
4 season : for the list, my doc is Dr Loh at Raffles hospital and I had been with her fertility clinic ttc since early this year, made the right choice!

Angeliqueos
Great to hear HB!! I can't wait for mine!! But still early...
Anyway thanks for the information!

Jo
From my past experience, actually online BP in SMH bargain can be quite good or sometimes better(I checked price on nursing bra and BP price was better), now still too early for us to buy baby items, I didnt wait till T3 to start buying baby items, started buying clothing when I know baby's gender.

Anyway I might go to the baby fair, if I'm not lazy to go.. Hee..

Sleepless in SG... Woke up at 3 am, til now can't sleep... At least one doesn't feel nauseous when she sleeps

Angel
Paraben's found in most products, even your daily soaps and medicine/supplements. Difficult to avoid!

Snowhopes, Syyy
My first was 22 hours long, 9 hours without epi the couldn't take it anymore. I just couldn't dilate.

My second I asked for epi the moment I stepped in, even though I was already 4cm. They put in the epi and I delivered. Epi kicked in after delivery while docs stitching up... But anaesthetist was nice to waive his fees lol...

Thats why the gynae now told me, mild contractions must go hospital already! Better go hospital to sit and wait, rather hb crash his car trying to get you there..

For both the water bag didn't break until the gynae did it...

Okok I shan't scare you first thing early early morning...

Good morning ladies!

Angel, I did my pedicure last sun

Fullhouse, for the past one week, I have been waking up around 3.20am... I also don't know y. So tired loh... Took me at least 30mins to an hr to fall asleep and then alarm rang... Time for work... Zzzzz... So tired and sleepy when in office...

Symptoms
Anyone having migraines or headaches? I'm having one daily, all day, since the weekend. Panadol doesn't really help. The only thing that helps is lying down. But I can't possibly lie down whole day!

I hope this won't last

early morning tummy ache *ouch*

hammiebao,
paisei, wat's BP? izzit Baby Product?
ya lo... if not tired/lazy might pop by to the fair look look see see.

btw anyone have any recommendations for maternity pants?

<font color="aa00aa">josky, BP is bulk purchase.
maternity pants got 2 types... The type with an strechable material on top that you can wear over the big big tummy/fold down. THe other type is the band type, can make bigger by releasing the button on the band...

Fullhouse, I had a friend who suffered from migrane/headache during her pregnancy. you might wanna speak with your gynae. I read from somewhere that is possible to get headaches (once again due to our dilated blood vessels and the blood circulation thing).

Your first birth was really long! I did not take epi during my first birth. I only took pethedin (the jab on my thigh). Laughing gas was really a joke (cos no effect on me at all. all i could think of was how smelly the mask was). my contractions only became bad after breaking of waterbag... Uh so excited that I will be able to relive another birth experience...

angel, oxybenzone is an active ingredient in my Dermelogica morning moisturiser!!! hmmm looks like maybe I got to find another sunscreen protection liao...http://www.babymed.com/beauty-products/sunscreen-safety-and-your-pregnancy</font>

experienced mum,
dun mind sharing w us first timer, frm ur personal views, which type of maternity pants do u prefer? the adjusable type OR those w strechable material on top??

Morning everyone!!!

Guessed everyone has their own set of prob
spent an hr at boy's cc he just refused to let me go &amp; want to go off with me . Just soooo weird, a 360 deg change of his behavior.

Full house:
U checked with ur Gynae aldy? Shdnt take too many panadol also wo

Delivery:
Oh most of u thru natural? Mine is cs conscious type, coz bb's head too big for natural,everything in 15mins.

i also having headache, had it since last night, tot I can sleep it off but I can't.. &amp; I can't take panadol, if it continues, I will take HD leave and rest!

Jo, Spring maternity has a few nice stuff, or buy online ASOS, cheaper than most maternity shops in SG or if you are small bulit then buy those maxi dress or T-shirt wear them over tights lor... ;-)

Morning Fullhouse, I also had the same symptoms as you. My #1 preg was even worst that I had to take unpaid leave to stay at hm for the whole preg. Hopefully my #2 preg won't get so bad. Yes, Panadol really dont help much but that the only med you can take. Whenever you hv migraines or headache, just rest yourself in a cool, dark and quiet room. You will feel much more better. Try not to use pc or hp during the pain... hope this will help.. cheers!!

Morning ladies! not a good start on a tuesday for me. vomited my breakfast out. just finish a meeting and rush to the toilet to vomit again. nothing left in the stomach. only vomit out the sour juice

headache:
those w headache, do u have enough rest at night? maybe try slp earlier each night? like wat jennifer said, rest in a quiet and comfortable room. should help..

tres,
hmm... tot wann find pants more for work purpose... still gd idea to get bigger sized dress/tee ! thks! =)

josky, I have both types and both I oso ok... I think for me the comfort of the material matters the most. Anything soft is good.
Cos I did buy a pair where the material is quite stiff, not that comfy lor...

missy, u ate too much for breakie? I just ran down to canteen to buy some fried bee hoon with my fave sambal ladyfingers... later will down some hot green tea (*uh thinking abt it liao*). was at the edge of feeling puky...

Migrane/Headache: Agree with Jennifer. Best to rest in a DARK room with no noice. I find that aircon sometimes make me feel worse... As long as I eat panadol and find sleep (not easy to fall asleep with the headache), I should wake up feeling btr... Preg cannot eat panadol extra right?

<font color="aa00aa">Morning ladies.. can i join the thread? ^^

just to ask a question.. morning do u gals feel heartburn?</font>

Jo, I'm ok with both types of pants too, really depends on preference!
Some mummies like to wear over tummy (when it's big), I prefer mine to go below instead, so you see lah! Dun buy so many at 1 shot, your preference will change when you get bigger??

When will these MS/ADS be gone? Feel so terrible... Want to eat so bb can grow well but just no appetite... The thought of food makes me nauseous...

okay all updated... gals with the "?" in columns, can post up the details so can update it in... :p

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Baby #</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae Name</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>BB Gender</TD><TD>BB Name </TD></TR><TR><TD>allyfan</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Friends78</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>2-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>LDG</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>5-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>lizzie_grace</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>7-Jan</TD><TD>Dr C K Toh</TD><TD>Mt A/TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shice</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>7-Jan</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>BTMY</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>7-Jan</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Icydolphin</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>8-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheese84</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>8-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>SupriseBaby</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>8-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Clifford Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>minnieluv</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>9-Jan</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>babylon</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>10-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneages</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>nlimm</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>11-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Choo Wan Ling</TD><TD>Gleneages</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jlau</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>12-Jan</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koms20</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>13-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Goh Shen Li</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>snowhopes</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>14-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celia</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>14-Jan</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>verre</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>14-Jan</TD><TD>Dr LN Sim/Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Canopyhaze</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tres</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chipsnchops</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aspialle</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Syyy</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>16-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4season</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Josky</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chipsnchops</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A/Mt E</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angeliqueous</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>bliss ling</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Purple rain</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>21-Jan</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Karen</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>23-Jan</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nimkulut</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>27-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Lee</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>L3x</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>30-Jan</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Missy</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>31-Jan</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>xaramama</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Dr Shamini</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

snowhopes: i didn't eat much for breakfast. had a slice of cake and a cup of hot drink. didn't manage to finish my cake too. last night also puke abit of my dinner after reaching home.

wah your breakfast sounds sumptuous! can drink green tea? even if it's hot? i was told to avoid caffeine so avoiding tea and my favourite starbucks! argh~

morning babbiee! i'm not sure how heartburn feels exactly but i sometimes feel bloated and like something stuck under my breast. feel very xing-qu and wanna puke.

welcome fabbie, when is your EDD? No heartburn yet.

purple_rain, its suppose to peak at 8 weeks. Should go by 11-12weeks (as in taper down).
Jia you. Dun worry about puking unless u are puking all the time and getting dehydrated. Drink more water ok?

<font color="aa00aa">snowhopes: not sure yet.. this thursday going to recheck so will know when edd =) by then will update the chart hee ^^

purplerain: hmm i think 2nd trim will be better </font>

missy, I didn't finish my bee hoon... only the yummy veg... :p I still drink tea/green tea because I cannot survive a work day without having one. I have it in moderation so it should be ok.

anyone know what fish we can and cannot eat? i think one of the mummies mention deep sea fish cannot eat cause of the high mercury content. but how about the normal fishes we eat at zhi char store? promfret, sea bass, garoupa?

<font color="119911">josky: I prefer those stretchable type but worn below the bump, feels more comfy.

Seems like waking up in the middle of the night n having difficulty getting back to slp is quite common! I have been experiencing this for the past 3 weeks le! And same, ended up feeling v slpy in the day... :s</font>

<font color="aa00aa">LittleDragonGirl yup yup me too... =S middle of the night will wake up and pee. so tiring! but its worth ^^</font>

Tea/coffee: my gynae said it's ok to drink a cup of it daily... I need my Teh C every morning or else will fall in depression... During my No 1 preg, I slowly progressed from normal Teh C to Teh C without sugar as I failed my urine test on the sugar level almost every visit... Was made to do glucose test too
so this time round, I will be careful with my sugar intake... Already started to drink Teh C less sugar... I still need sugar cos of low blood pressure...

Jo, I prefer to wear pants under my belly with those adjustable elastic band... Cos can continue to wear after delivery mah.. I bought mostly secondhand ones from forum... Cos maternity wears r very ex in Spore...

I sometimes puke after an hour plus after my breakfast + folic acid and prenatvit…. Do I need to re-take the folic acid or prenatvit again?

<font color="#49729C">gooooood mrng ladies.

errrh.. i hv a qtn.. i know we shld try to avoid mayo... but hor.. anyone has idea wat cream is that they use for those chicken floss bun? i juz whacked an entire chicken floss bun..n the cream (which i normally dun really fancy) tasted soooo goooooooood to me! shld i be avoiding it? sigh.

ystrday aftnn coffee break oso eaten something we shld hv avoided... peanut! i had the peanut pancake from jollibean.

manz.. this pregnancy.. im really eating lotsa 'forbidden' stuffs. unlike the previous... very disciplined.</font>

<font color="#49729C">are we all supposed to be taking pregnancy multi-vits already? my ob-gynae din gv me any leh. im oni taking folic acid now.

karen:: i dun tink u need to retake... it shld already hv been taken in.</font>

hi hi, i think mulit vits, gynae will give once 2nd trimster right??

huh ah bui, why can't take peanut butter, I'm eating peanut butter everyday with my bread leh? MAyo I know coz they say mayo has uncooked eggs but I think for those commercial restaurants and bakery, they will uupasturised so it should be ok.

ahbui/tres, some gynae gives multi vits as soon as u are preg. My gynae oso giving only from 2nd trim onwards.

Peanut some people say take liao will increase the child's chances of allergy.

I read about peanuts~ some say it’s okie and benefit for pregnant woman. But there’s articles that also say that it may increase the risk of baby having skin allergy if mum eat peanuts during her pregnancy. It’s pretty subjective.. But if really have the craving to eat it.. then I think it is just too hard to avoid it…

<font color="aa00aa">ahbui&amp;karen: i also have folic acid and pink too =)

peanuts: i only know kids canont eat too much peanuts and i did heard pregnant also cannot eat.. i think can eat ba.. just dont eat too much. </font>

For me.. so far.. other than raw food.. anything that comes to my mouth…..I just eat lol. It’s my #1 bb,but I just can’t help myself munching on those unhealthily food. ( I know I should not).
But junk food seems to comfort me much more than any fruits or veg..