(2013/01) Jan 2013

bliss_ling, Dr Paul has never been in the FBI/SBI consultation fee discount thing leh... I asked the nurses 3 years back when I first signed up for the FBI... I did however get the 10% from the PDs (Dr Ang Ai Tin) la (again 3 years back)...

Hey Hey!! I'm back!!!

I thot i saw people joining in for puking session...

no mood to work..so come in here to relax my mind... and also read up abt oscar...

my gynae no mention to me abt oscar..i'll ask her when i see her next week...

Is it necessary to have oscar?? detailed scan = oscar?? or totally different?? and what's the purpose of detailed scan??

snowhope / blissling:
anywhere online to find / know which doc participate in the FBI ma??
and so if apply FBI first consultation can use to enjoy discount liao??

allyfan, how's your meeting? OSCAR is optional de, i know some docs dun ask their patients to do. So far I think detailed scan is the compulsory one.

OSCAR is to check for down-syndrome (there is a blood test and a scan where they will check the measurement of the NT and certain features of the babies like whether the child has a defined upper lip, etc).

Detailed scan @ 20 weeks onwards is to check for size of your baby (like head circumference and vital organs (if I not wrong), the length of their limps/hands, spine development and the sonographer will try to check the gender of the baby).

josky, you can get the list from the TMC recep counter cos I dun see it online leh. 3 years ago, they gave me a list after I sign up and I see until my eyes @_@. ;p the online information can be found here (but not much)
http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm). U can try calling them?

snowhopes
meeting until i want to puke... ended at 2.30pm... went for quick lunch..which once again..i can't eat... but still force myself to take some soup... but then come back and donate my lunch to toilet bowl....oh well... nothing i can do..hahaha...

oscar..maybe next week my gynae will ask me to go.. detailed scan seems like compulsory... sounds... uncomfortable...but i guess no choice lor...

allyfan, both scans is on the tummy de (not down there i.e. v-scan). Usually is quite fast (about 1/2 hr and u get to see ur baby in "detail") unless ur baby is facing the wrong direction or refuse to move despite u shifting ur tummy to the side (etc). Sometimes the sonographer will ask u to cough or walk around or "bounce" ur tummy to wake baby up to "shift" position... :p quite cute...

some mommies for detailed scan resort to drinking yakult to wake the baby with "sugar" before the scan... ;p

josky, can referred to what snowhopes posted. I called the TMC directly and the lady just told me the list of gynaes who join the FBI/SBI.

snowhopes
oh... i thot it's down there...then jia lat... will be damn uncomfortable..cos my 1st scan was down there... damn uncomfortable...hehhee.. hopefully next week will be on tummy liaoz...

my friend drank orange juice before scan..and her bb danced for her to see lor... she told me very cute....

I went to google...and there's something call 3D scan... can see bb's face ah... wonder which gynae in sg offer this scan..

Fatbobo:
Me too ,95% extreme west:p

jlau:
thankyou, so tts Oscar test.

Snowhopes:
How do i update and add myself in tt list of jan mummies?It just doesnt appear i table form after i copy.

Drink Vs Skin Colour:
Myth not true coz i been drinking chocolate milk every day 2-3times but my boy turns out to be so fairrrrrrrr.

MS/Puking:
Try take sour titbits? Hope i wont have this,no idea how to work if really happen

Gynae + hospital bill:
[Based on my 2009 bill @ Mt A 2 bedder coz 1 bedder totally full]
Gynae 's CS : $2.5K , Anaesthetist's : $1K
4days3 night(2 bedders): $2K+
Nursery charge: $1.3K
Theatre charge: cant rem
Total my bill ard $6.7-$7K

nlimm:: bahahaha~ 95% extreme west. im at pioneer...tink im the furthest liao le.

wah buey tahan.. i super duper hungry!!! had rice for lunch.. cookies for tea-break (just ard 3ish-pm)... now still very hungry! my tummy is already very fat........... h.o.w.!.?.!

allyfan, usually by 8 weeks, the belly scan should be quite clear le... my gynae will say with full bladder then can see clear clear. 3D scan gynae usually no do de... cos need special 3D imaging machine. I heard that NUH has the services but u pay specially for the scan la...

nlimm, need some "formatting" leh, u wanna give me the details i update for u lah... easier... ;p cos need to copy to excel then copy back here...

bliss_ling, he nowadays super hot la due to the dragon year lor... *faints* I usually take either his first or last appt so that I dun need to wait super long. The longest I waited cause without appointment/walk in just this monday was 1 hour. ;p he do not accept walk-ins unless u are an urgent case (i.e. bleeding or cramping very bad).

long waiting time will also happen if he happen to have deliveries happening during the time when he is doing appointments (that one bo bian la and it happened to me before. The nurses say he got 2 patients in delivery!, then again the longest I waited was still 1hr).

I see many ladies here start puking oledy. I am 6 weeks + , and i have friends who have MS by the time they reach my stage. But I am feeling okie, no sickness at all.

Now which makes me worried too. Not that I am asking for it, but I was told feeling sick is GOOD, means yr baby is growing well. Ermm....

Yes.. I also heard abt it. Having MS means baby is growing. but i do have friends who suffered MS but in the end, bb is nt growing too. Haiz. guess is all fated.

celia > ya!! i heard abt it! I'm same situation... but think should not worry too much n cause stress to self(or bb) ...

Hello ladies
Happy to join u all..
Im supposedly in my 7 weeks now, edd is 5 jan according to baby center..
Think i went to see gynae too early last week...he only saw my sac but still cannot see the baby..
Btw this is my 2nd pregnancy..my #1 was born in 09

Can i ask u all who will deliver at tmc..Will u be taking the SBI? Is it worth it? For my 1st pregnancy i took FBI, it was quite worth as i got disc when i took the prenatal classes, disc for the ward n detail scan..but this time i wont be joining the class again..dunno worth to take or not..

Nice to get comforting replies from you ladies! I am in Shanghai now and the drs here do not see the preggies till their 9-12 weeks!

I called up the Parkway hospital here and even they tell me they can only offer me a scan from 7 weeks onwards. Luckily this friday is day 1 of my 7 th week, so hopefully my scan can see something. You know u dun really feel pregnant till you see something concrete on the screen or a photoscan. haha.

b4 my AD, my mum told me, e moment i entered the newly wed bedroom, i shldnt sit on the bed, so i will not hav MS.. erm... i followed.. i sat on the dresser chair instead.. no MS so far *keeping fingers crossed*

her friend told her when she got married, she did the same.. and when she was preg with me and my siblings, all no MS as well..

celia, u very cute la... it's ok to not have MS de... some woman can *Lun* btr so they may not have such bad MS or nothing at all... but I agree with u that nothing beats seeing the little bean on a photoscan. SG gynaes are mostly quite happy to do US for u (just whether can see or not). At week 7 onwards should be able to see liao!

cherry83, I will see how first cos i dun think i taking one bedded (dunno if got disc for ward leh). My gynae confirm not in the scheme. If the PD, Dr Ang Ai Tin not in the scheme anymore I won't bother signing le... that time I sign FBI cos I wanted the Dr Wong Boi Boi books, i enjoyed discounts for the OSCAR, detailed scan, pre-natal class, PD consultation, one TMC middle of the night A&E consultation, food from Deli-france @TMC... So generally still quite worth the $$$. But now no Wong Boi Boi books... like more expensive leh...

Snowhopes..thanks

Btw is it true if #1 got ms and #2 no ms means most likely will have different gender? Any of u experience this n true enough?

s_loh>
haha got such theory de ar? hmm... i din sit on bed on AD... so hopefully that's y... *keep fingers cross* =p

Fatbobo:
Hehe me at lakeside;p

Snowhopes :
Great! Thankyou
My details:
Child:#2
EDD: Based on online calculator shd be 14thJan, but I intend to CS on 11thJan ( my birthday!! Hehe)
Gynae: Dr Choo WanLing ( Shdnt be changing if her rate din soar up :p)
Hospital: Gleneagles
[U wan add 1 mOre column for the town we stay in?]

MS vs growth of baby:
No worries, I agreed tt no ms doesn't mean baby don't grow well coz for my #1 I also no MS but baby growth was perfect then. But I got ' Real pain at ass bone area' fr wk 7 and aggravated till 3rd trimester with the pelvis bone expansion till I can't stand it then baby head circum bigger then norm so opt for CS. Hope this round I don't get tt pain it's so painful!

Cherry83: u happened to be oct09 mum?

All:
Do u ladies feel like peepee more often then normal ?
I been feeling so bloated n feel like peeing whole day long

Nlimm: nope i'm march09

Yes i pee so often n get bloated easily
So far no ms..but last wk abit nausea but once i eat, i can enjoy the food..yesterday no appetite at all n today hungry like crazy, eat any food also can haha..funny..

nlimm, i updated based on the current info first... see if the gals wanna have their "town" in the list?

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Baby #</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae Name</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>BB Gender</TD><TD>BB Name </TD></TR><TR><TD>allyfan</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>purplewish80</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>3-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Edward Lee</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>LDG</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>5-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>lizzie_grace</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>7-Jan</TD><TD>Dr C K Toh</TD><TD>Mt A/TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Icydolphin</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>8-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheese84</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>8-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>minnieluv</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>9-Jan</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>babylon</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>10-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneages</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>nlimm</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>11-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Choo Wan Ling</TD><TD>Gleneages</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jlau</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>12-Jan</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koms20</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>13-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Goh Shen Li</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>snowhopes</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>14-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Canopyhaze</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tres</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chipsnchops</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4season</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ng</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Josky</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>xaramama</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Dr Shamini</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

purple_rain, hehe... when ur EDD? cannot see u in the list... maybe u can give birth on ur anniversary? ;p

ermm... ok just in case I go MIA and u gals wanna update the table... just follow the following steps uh:
1. copy the latest table into Microsoft Excel;
2. update the information in Microsoft Excel;
3. Copy the whole table including any empty fields (like in our case is the BB Gender &amp; Name)
4. In the Post area, type in \table and {} next to \table. Paste the stuff u copied from excel inbetween the {}.
5. Preview first make sure everything sui sui then confirm the post.

s_loh, haha... let me interest u with one more customary wedding related to child birth myth...

Before hb picks u up from home, u need to take a flower bath? My MIL tells me that the bride suppose to swallow/eat one whole egg while bathing... By swallow/eat one whole egg, it means pop the whole egg into the mouth and u eat it from there, no hold in hand to bite... Do this = easy, smooth child birth + short delivery...

True anot? well... for me still holds water. but i am waiting for someone to bust this myth!

Snowhope,
Difficult to prove that coz your sample size is way too small. Half of the participants would have choked to death that very day!! Kek kek kek.. Quails eggs can?

Fullhouse, that is true! I got my mum to buy the first born eggs which are v much smaller than the ave eggs. Not advisable for gals will small mouths. I admit I chor lor &amp; I could still chew on it aft putting the egg in my mouth. Swallow not possible unless they are quail eggs lor... :p

Nlim
Ha I nearly wanted to go Choo Wan ling this time round, but she looks too glamourously leh. In fact the two gynae rec are Ann Tan and Choo Wan Ling, both too glam for paltry looking me! How did you get to know her?

Eggs
Set me thinking, I rem reading years ago about eggs being very nutritious for preg ladies, have your guys heard of this?

fatbobo,
my boss asked me to postpone my trip. I told him that my next check up will be on 11 June. Let's see what my gynae advise.

I had already cancelled a few of my trips.

Having mild MS only with empty stomach... have to hide it by coughing...

Wana ask a shy question, can have initmate moments during 1st tri? *blush*

Morning everyone

Snowhopes:
Thankyou
Oh nvr heard of tt flower bath n egg myth, is it particular dialect gp practice?

Full house:
Choo was my #1 Gynae in 2009, shes my sis's best frd's sil. After researching on her background n detail, decided to gd r it a shot then &amp; after 1st appt I find her quite 细心so decided to stay with her but then she was with pan pacific. Now she's with gleneagles not sure if price still the same if soar up alot we might need consider another Gynae

purple rain >
generally I read that is ok. but if can better to wait till 2nd tri when more stable.

snowhope >
ya same thought w nlimm, is the flower bath n egg practice only applicable for certain dialect?

everyone:
have u feed ur bb breakfast today? =)

Anyone knows if we can go dental during 1st trimester? Just rem I have a dental appt later to do crowning

Jo: eating wholemeal bread with magarine, plain water.

snowhopes: never heard of flower bath. Rmb the couple need to eat eggs, need not swallow but bite as to break it.

me having egg tart, vit C and milo...
rainy morning... cold cold office... gosh~ totally no mood to work...

purple rain >
haf u found a gynae?

hmm... find out more abt those 2 u shortlisted and decided which one u eventually wann call &amp; go for first appt??

I also have a few in mind can't decide cos hear diff review abt each of them... &amp; another consideration is also their rates &amp; hospital which they do delivery.

nlimm,

i dun think u can do major dental works now. Prior my pregnancy, I asked the dentist if can do braces, she said NO. as pregnant women gums get really sensitive and sore and the results wont be good. I am not sure if yr crowning is a one session thingy but according to what the dentist say - all procedures has to be pushed back till after delivery.

@ purple rain, i still searching for a nearby gynae. Initially want Dr Gordon lim but his clinic is in Gleneagles. Hope to find a nearby gyane and I heard of Dr Hii and Dr Chen in Yishun too. My fren had Dr Chen and she is comfy with him. Natural birth..

I also looking at Dr Henry Cheng in Bishan. My cousin had Dr Christopher Chong and was told that he is good and stitches are good too.

Was telling myself that I hope to choose a hospital which was not too far off so that my parents can bring my #1 to visit me.

Hospital: TMC, Mt A, Glen e and Mt E. Mt E good but the traffic is a headache , always jam.