(2013/01) Jan 2013

Hi all mummies-to be here! My first posting here and like purplerain - i also deliberately plan for a dragon baby in a snake year to avoid too much competitions. haha. According to babycenter, my beanie is due on 16 Jan 2013.

I am staying in Shangahi now, so can get pretty lonely without my friends and family, so looking forward to particpating in this thread.

Sorry gals keep spaming topics... Ask u all something about ultrasound pic

Ultrasound pic: Dr did one yesterday for me. He din do V-scan, did the tummy scan. Then he measured and the he saw the sac but did manage to see the "fetus". Accordingly, the size is 6 wks 0 days. normal or not uh? Is it cos it's a tummy scan that's why?

josky, for first gynae appt. does not matter what u wear. If doc is doing tummy US, u wear top with bottom (skirt) would be easier. even if we wear skirt also easier for v-scan.

For your first appt, you can prepare a list of qns which you wanna check with the gynae. Usually if it's your first child, the gynae might ask about family history, etc. I cannot remember but they might only do pap smears and other test when you are more progressed in the pregnancy (like wk 8 onwards, etc).

Snowhopes, Japanese loves raw stuffs. My mother-in-law will serve at least 4 times per week at dinner. Be it fish, squid, octopus, egg, roe, liver etc. Such are fresh and are packed or served immediately from catch. Compared to those in Sg, will take at least 2~3 days later? But only those very good restaurants in Sg will have such fresh catch or shipment. About bacteria growth, in winter is more prone for growth due to the low humidity. In summer if it is too hot will also cause growth as well. However the Japanese are very particular and careful, so food poisoning is quite rare.

Fullhouse, Yes. It will be 12 weeks if I go for OSCAR. My Sg gynae said is fine. Not sure about here but will ask on Friday.
My #1 was born on Jan 2010 and my #2 will be in Jan too.

Tres, Yes. Preggers mum eat just anything. There is no restriction in their diet but I remembered my mother-in-law asking me to stop taking spicy stuffs. But I just can’t tahan.
Life is slower in the country side and outskirt. But I enjoyed it very much compared to the hectic life in Sg.

fatBobo, the Japanese do not have confinement. Just lots of rest and eat.
Once doctors given “yes” for shower, they will just go. There is no saying of no shower for a month or can’t eat this or that. I remembered I have to tell the nutritionist at the hospital to alter my meals because I can’t eat many stuff.

About pantang, end April I attended a funeral, changed bed sheets and used vacuum cleaner. I guessed I just don’t take it too seriously or rather I didn’t know that I can’t do all these.

Waaaa just a am so many posts

Draaaloon :
hehe I think really dep on individual how pantang they gog to be ba

Ally:
Hehe so look forward to tomm Gynae visit
Analyst job is strainful for the brain manz, rest mOre

Snowhopes:
Don't know leh I'm only told when very near to my edd then for tt vacuum thingy.
Tres:
Mine showing also and pants getting tight , time to dig out all my maternity wears .

Fatbobo:
Welcome
my # 1 same yr as ur #1+2 hehe.

Celia/ jOcelyn:
WelcOme
keke same here I'm aiming for dragon baby in snake yr and same birthday as me :p

Oscar Test:
What's this? I don't rem abt this too.

Yishun/Amk/ bIshan:
Hehe count me in too if have wkday gathering I work near yishun though don't stay near:p

West:
Anyone stay in the west?

#1 Cs vs #2 natural:
Any mummies has any idea what's the chances like to have #2 natural since my #1 is thru CS?

S loh
The KKH tps is more ex than TMC... In fact both public hospitals' pte suite is more exp than TMC.

Sickness
I'm not sure if I'm down with stomach flu or ms now. But have been on supine mode for the entire morning... No appetite for lunch.. Cooked lunch but can't stomach anything... I never ever had ms... Never ever, and I'm feeling hungry but nausea at the same time. Good thing hb's off today, but it's the kddoes' piano and violin later and I need to drag myself there

S_loh, me stay Jalan Bukit Merah area...

minnieluv, I also thought Japs more trained in food handling lor. And they are particular about freshness.

fullhouse, maybe you really got stomach flu... I also liddat for my first preg. I more cham, threw up went to see doc and ask if I starting MS. He say no I got stomach flu... ;p

updates!! Anymore wanna be added to list? for mummies with empty fields let me know the details.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Baby #</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae Name</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>BB Gender</TD><TD>BB Name </TD></TR><TR><TD>allyfan</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>purplewish80</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>3-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Edward Lee</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>LDG</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>5-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>lizzie_grace</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>7-Jan</TD><TD>Dr C K Toh</TD><TD>Mt A/TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Icydolphin</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>8-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tigermum</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>8-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>minnieluv</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>9-Jan</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jlau</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>12-Jan</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koms20</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>13-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Goh Shen Li</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>snowhopes</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>14-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Canopyhaze</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tres</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chipsnchops</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4season</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ng</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>xaramama</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Dr Shamini</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

@ally~ lol ya rest another two weeks. = lazier by another two wks.. I jux woke. After taking the carrot cake I went back to bed :x lol er... I wasn't thinking so much in the color of the food intake vs baby' s complexion :p I guess it Shd b ok...

@draaaloon~ oops... Hmm.. No where else u can get veg bee hoon? They dnt hv temp mkt being setup? For me tis craving out of no where one... I m still thinking wad Shd I eat nw... Cos I'm hungry again....

jlau:: towards the mid of 2nd tri..till delievery.. i took coffee once a day.. sometimes with milk...sometimes kopi-o. both my girls have fair complexion. so i tink it doesnt really link. hehehe.

@snowhopes~ I did hv small meal bfre zzz... But i m still hungry.. Hub suggested tt it cld b bcos I woke up too many times at night... :x oh no.. I'm gg to put on a lot of weight....

@fatbobo~ heehee so gd u can stil hv ur caffeine intake.. I'm banned fr my fav coke...

For the benefits of mummies who are nt sure wad Oscar test is:

11-13 week NT Scan w Maternal Serum Biochemistry
------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is a first trimester option commonly referred to as an OSCAR test that is offered to all pregnant women as an earlier n more accurate method of screening for chromosomal abnormalities, in particular down's syndrome.

The risk assessment is done by a combination of your maternal age, fetal length, fetal NT and serum biochemistry at 11-13 weeks 6 days into your pregnancy.

A composite risk assessment score will then b computed for you.

What is NT?
-----------------
This is the fluid collection beneath the fetal skin in the region of the fetal neck that is measured by means of an ultrasound scan. A thickened NT beyond normal thickness is associated w down's syndrome or any other chromosomal abnormalities. The normal thickness Shd b less than 2.5mm

What is biochemistry?
-----------------------------
This is a sample of your blood that will be analyzed for levels of two hormones that are released by your body during pregnancy., namely hcg &amp; Papp-a

Their levels will determine your baby's risk of having drown's syndrome.

Ladies. Agar how much is the oscar test? next visit will be blood test and oscar

for #2 mummies. do you all feel tired?
Maybe cos my boy is very sticky to me and he always want me to play/ carry/ just slag around me.

I feel so tired.. yesterday i even let him cry (it his milk time) but he can go bed w/o milk.

I just fall asleep. hai.. feel sooooo bad

hha, fatbobo, this remind me on my auntie story...

She said she control drinking kopi o every day while having my cousin, he came out darker skinned then for her #2, she buay tahan, drink 1 cup kopi O daily, her daughter came out fair skinned.. so the theory is really busted lah!!!

jlau, why kena banned? DH dun let?

minnieluv, that's sounds nice to live in Japan, imagine the fresh ikura still in the sac.. love it and had it everyday when I was in Hokkaido for holidays.

my job need me to travel and my next trip will be in June. Btw that time, I will be almost 12 week pregnant. Do you think it is advisable to travel?

okies done!
<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Baby #</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae Name</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>BB Gender</TD><TD>BB Name </TD></TR><TR><TD>allyfan</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>purplewish80</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>3-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Edward Lee</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>LDG</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>5-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>lizzie_grace</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>7-Jan</TD><TD>Dr C K Toh</TD><TD>Mt A/TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Icydolphin</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>8-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheese84</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>8-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>minnieluv</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>9-Jan</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>babylon</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>10-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneages</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jlau</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>12-Jan</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koms20</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>13-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Goh Shen Li</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>snowhopes</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>14-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Canopyhaze</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tres</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chipsnchops</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4season</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ng</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Josky</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>xaramama</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Dr Shamini</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

cheese84, I remember TMC oscar is about 100+. For the TMC mummies, if you taking the oscar at TMC, remember to sign up for FBI or SBI to get the discount. Actually the earlier you sign, the more benefits lor... cos detailed scan at TMC also can get discount. Eh, that was about 3 years back, but I guess still have right? ;p (http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm)

I also feel very tired. My 2nd ger is like acting very manja (prob cos she is coughing quite badly oso). plus I got cramps every now and then... So scared that I am going to MC... :'(

tres, the kopi and milk affects baby skin colour myth is confirmed BUSTED!!! My younger and older sis are the BEST examples! My elder sis v fair - my mum drank lots of kopi while preg, my youngest sis quite tan - my mum avoided kopi adn drank fresh milk everyday... U SEE LA...

BP:: ystrday my ob-gynae roughly jot down some do's and don'ts... one of the don'ts is "to avoid travelling during 1st tri".... by june..n since u'll be stepping into 2nd tri le.. shld be fine.

but.. is your flight a long haul or short? and what country r u gg? (as like..safe plc etc?) yr company aware of your pregnancy already? why not u sound your boss up first... n say that ur willing to travel, but just in case, u still need to get a clearance frm your ob-gynae.. which he can oni determine at a later stage?

Jo, for those taking one bedded there is discount (that was 3 yrs back. now I not sure). Then I get disc when I see Dr Ang Ai Tin (off the consultation), can feel the diff aft 2 years (when the incentive is expired).

I just called up KKH and realized that they do not have packages for consultation after 16 weeks like TMC. Shall see how, coz i will be travelling this weekend to London, maybe when i am back then start planning. Hope its not too late :p

jo icy > huh tot no food then even will MS? just now before lunch think my sugar level start go low end up i oso feel sick... but after lunch then feel so much better le. though i see e food also dun feel like eating, end up drink soup w a few mouth of rice only...

so suggest u better take a bit of food even if no appetite...

icydolphin, like what josky say, btr to eat something. One bite of biscuit oso good. eat something la even if means waste half the food...

joyclene, if you wan those consultation package for TMC. you need to go to those gynaes that offer it. Cos like Dr Tseng oso gynae practise in TMC but he does not have package vs. I think doctors like Dr Lawrence Ang (correct me if I am wrong). If i am not wrong, those gynaes under the Thomson Women's clinc may have packages.

hi ladies.. may i know typically.. hw much shld an antenatal package be? or rather within how much?

the ob-gynae i saw last evng.. he's package which starts frm 16th wk is abt $600..n his c-sec fee is abt $2k. of cos, hosp bill (glenE) doesnt include.

is this reasonable?

I just called TMC, some doctors no longer partcipate in FBI/SBI which mean no 5-10% discount off the consulation fee. Dr Paul will soon no longer partcipating too.

congrats to all jus announce mummies..

Have been actively reading the forum but not time to post... busy wif work!! sigh... can't wait to go for my 2nd appt next Mon. Really hope can hear bb heartbeat. this 2nd pregnancy is so diff from my 1st.. don't even feel like preggie!!! *touch wood* maybe my MS still has not kick in.

canopyhaze, you oso got sign up for the FBI? Cos I remember the FBI card will have $400 disc for 1 bedded and dunno 10% disc for consultation with TPC (this one I can confirm cos the nurses zap a copy of the FBI card for their records)... mmmmm.... I cheapo took 4 bedded so din get any disc from the FBI... ;p ;p ;p

OSCAR:
appointment not so early right? I thought is week 11 onwards leh... then detailed scan (anomaly scan) where can tell gender etc is week 20 onwards...