(2013/01) Jan 2013

Morning all..today is the very first time I'm up so early since preggy.... Woke 5 times throughout the night n gt hungry in the middle of the night...
jux finish one pkt carrot cake hub rush to buy for me bfre he goes to work :p

My ms become ads Liao....

and abt pantangs..i heard a lot... but also have so-called "remedies" if really no choice got to go...

for example, furneral ... if really no choice and got to go, use a red string and tie it round ur waist... this is to protect the bb in our womb... after that, cut away the red string and throw it away once u reach home...

weddings i heard before too...but so far, i seen my friends, SIL.. all attended while pregnant... so far ok leh...

as for drilling and installing of aircon... hmmm... my very own niece story... my SIL aircon broke down when she was in her 3rd tri.... 1 mth before my niece's birth... so she went ahead and change and install aircon... according to her and her mother, as long as she's not around, it's ok.. so they went to change... my niece came out ok luckily...except for... her entire back has got this type of bruise-looking kind of birthmarks... it's in patches... machiam like kena hamtam by something and left all the bruises on her back... so my mother was saying, it could be due to the hacking and drilling while installing the aircon that left the marks on her body... luckily it's quite light in color.. but can still tell it's blue-black looking... my mother was saying.. luckily it's on her back and not on her face...

so i think we better believe in all pantangs than to do something and later on regret... right???

purplerain
CONGRATS!!!!!! AND welcome to the group!!!!!

JLau
When will u be starting work?? try to rest more... i totally understand ADS... it's damn tiring... i also woke up a few times just to pee... hahaha... and i already didn't drink a lot of water cos i scare i wake up too many times..but still...haizzzz.... Carrot cake u ate what color? black or white?? hehehe...

COngrats purplerain

this morning, i tested using clearblue digital.. it's say 'pregnant 3+' on the instruction, if it's 3+, it will meant based on LMP, 5+

@ally~ me starting 4 jun :x trying to rest mre but diff... Keep feelg uncomfy at chest area.. Lie down rest also wil feel giddy... I already stopped taking the progesterone pills n I m still feelg the same way...

Wake 5 times-- 1 tummy pain.. 1 clear my dog's pee n poo .... 3 times to the restrm... Arrrggghh

Then woke again 5 plus cos fil was sneezing hard in the kitchen.. 6 plus neighbors creating a din--- mummy n daughter arguing.. 7 neighbor daughter stamping the ground wit her heels... Then I felt sudden hunger.. N had to make hub rush to buy veg bee hoon for me bfre he head for work,., but ended up w carrot cake BLACKIE cos veg bee hoon store nt open

draaloon
oh...so that means they'll go up to only 3+ is it?? it will be so interesting if the test kit able to tell if u r 8 weeks pregnant or something..hahaha..

Thanks babes!

i checked thru babycenter, it said i should be 5 weeks preggie. I did keep track of the intimate moments, to my understanding, it should be ard 3 weeks?

JLau
so nice huh... still have abt 2 weeks more to rest... hopefully by then ur ADS will be gone... or at least become milder...

and something abt cleaning dog poo ... there's a type of bacteria in doggie's poo too... so must must must remember to wash hands very very very clean ... best is to let the husband clean it...

black color carrot cake ah...hehehee....ok... i'm thinking about my color theory again...hahaha... cos yesterday i asked hubby.. what color u want our bb to be... he looks at me blur blur... then i explain the theory to him... he rolled his eyes lor... hahaha...

ally, ya.. i tink so too.. based on the instruction, there's only those few 'options'.. that being the last.. haha..the kit cannot detect anymore so will only indicate 3+ haha

purplerain
u got keep track of intimate moments one ah?? i used to... while ttc-ing... but after a while don't have... so wanted to go for ivf... but scare of needles.. and doc says i'm too young... and asked me to try again... then anyhow ..then now pregnant..hahaha.. weird huh.. bb comes when i least expected it...

jlau, i missed my hse market veg beehoon but the market is closed for reno for 2 mths.. omg...

ally, i only noe got to stay away from cats... dog poo oso... hahaa.. i shall ask my hubby to do everyting!!! hohohoho...

I still attend wedding, baby shower, visiting fren who just gave birth ... Perhaps I ok with all these except attending funeral.

Bird nest
I started to take it for #1 since the start of 2nd trim. I took those ready to be consumed. My #1 skin is very fair and good too

Prior to delivery, I had coconut. When I delivered her, She was very clean and not bloody.

Lol, so many living in Yishun? :D

Pantang
Just remember don't let it rule your life. Some are pretty commonsensical. Sewing in bed? The needles most prob will get lost in your bed and poke you at night? Ouch!

I think I must have infringed on all pantang rules in my previous two pregnancies. My children are fine and cute and (in my self obsessed opinion) smart
... Thing is I didnt let those rules ruin my life. If I had known and lived like the beliefs, eg a dragon cannot coexist with a dog then I'll treat my son (born in the year of dog) very differently. But I didn't and my son turned out without those terrible complexes people think we will have as a family
Of course, I'm hugely aware how blessed we are as a family

Yishun gynae
There is a Hii Women's clinic at Yishun Ring Road. A Dr Hii there is pretty good. He's the old school gynae and I like him. His nurse is fantastic. But he is not the coddling kind of gynae lah. Can try him.. He delivers at Mt A and TMC.

congratz mummies... n i wld like to join too.

juz saw ob-gynae last evng.. saw beanie's sag at abt 0.45cm niah via v-scan... so shld juz b abt 5wks. :)

this is my 2nd pregnancy...bb #3. my twin girls r almost 34mths old now.

gg back to ob-gynae in 1-2wks.

i was quite uptight previously.. very pantang abt many things..... n i find myself very stressed up. hahaha...

whn i was like in my 8th wk during my first pregnancy... my tummy was already showing..... ppl started asking me if i was preggy. some ppl say shld not 'tell' n let ppl know within the first tri.. but i thought i was very happy to share the news. esp whn ppl asked if we're preggy... we shld be very very happy to acknowledge the presence of the lil beanie inside us. hehehe.

certain tings like not attending funeral.. yes i will avoid.. n my hb will try not to attend too! i had a story of him bringing 'dirty tings' back previously....(that was aft delivery of the twins de...) next time got chance then share.. hehe!

baby showers / weddings.. depending on the closeness/relationship.... i will attend.

painting, sewing.. hm reno.. i duno hw to sew..n they say dun use scissors on the bed too. we din hfta paint anything in the hse previously..so no experience....(as i know some new couples..so happen their new love nest oso arrive abt same time as bb!). i tink we did some drilling or watnot.. but i tried not to stay in the room lor.

btw.. we oni found we were hvg twins at abt 11th wks.. aft 3 u/s at least.

my tummy now at abt 5wks... is like 4-6mths preggy manz! kaoz. cos plus the kuku ball-of-duno-wat-left-over since the previous pregnancy!!

I'm ex-Yishun, but I still go back to Yisun every weekend to my mum's house.

I just weighed myself, lost about 1.5kg so far. That's bad.

congrats fatbobo.

abt the pantangs stuff, i agree w fullhouse, dun let your life evolve around you! In fact, I've attend funeral while preggy w #1 (ard 5 months). It was my grandma, lotsa of pple tell me nopt to go but it is my GRANDMA wat!!! so I went! My bb turn out fine!

ya, mummies with #2 or #3, dun you think your tummy shows easy, i just realsied that my belly button is getting inverted, very fast hor? shit man! I'm scared I will be bigger this time around!

fatbobo
u've twins for #1&#2?? how interesting!! but hor...how come so late then know u have twins?? and how they find out one?? must be so fun to dress them up!!!

draaaloon
then i no need to buy and test liaoz..hahaha.. i'm pretty sure i'm pregnant..hehehe...

ok ladies... got to disappear for a while... gonna go meeting... brb...ehehhee.. may log in during meeting if too bored...hahhaa..

tres:: hahaha.. yes.. tummy will show real fast.. n i tink 80% of 2nd time or more mummies will be bigger than previous.

during my first mth of pregnancy.. i too attended my grand-aunt's funeral wake.. n my family took almost all the night shifts too. my late-grandaunt was not married.. n so we hfta be there for her.

same... bb(s) oso fine... n in fact.. the late-grandaunt evn po pi... n we hv twins!! (bahaha.. of cos i know nothing linked here scientifically!!!!)

Good morning, mommies. Congratulation to all who have tested positive!

Fullhouse, my husband is Japanese. I'm located in Fukui Prefecture which is facing the Japan Sea. I'm not coming back for delivery. But I may consider coming back for OSCAR. On Friday will find out whether the university hospital here offers such test. You will be surprised that such testing is not common with the Japanese. My 1st did not do such test. I was 39 then. Luckily all went well.

Snowhopes, thanks for updating.

I do not have any MS so far. Occasionally bloated stomach and feeling hungry always.

About eating raw fish or eggs or liang stuffs, the Japanese do not have such believe. They just eat anything or everything. My mother-in-law cannot understand why there are so many restrictions in my diet when I was pregnant with my 1st. I think different culture and upbringing have its differences

nlimm, I guess it depends on how much you believe or not. For me, there are certain things that I know and I avoid just to be on the safe side ba... Cot setting up is ok it's more of the placing of the mattress on the cot such that "someone" can lie in it. Haven't heard of the cannot use vaccumm cleaner leh, it's such an impt pc of electrical applicance at home... :p

Dr Paul Tseng: Me & Canopyhaze are with Dr Paul Tseng. He does not have a package so the consultation, ultrasound and all other tests are ala-carte. Vitamins & fish oils he won't force you to buy so it's up to you to decide if u wanna buy. For him consultation is between $70-100, Ultrasound is $40. My experience with him is as your pregnancy progress, he does not do ultrasound on every appt. He will use his hands to size the baby & position, measure your tummy to see if growing. Personally I find him reassuring and confident. He is also pro-natural (i like), a lot of ang mohs go to see him de. He delivers at Mt A and TMC.

allyfan, I dun think your niece those orh chey are to do with the hacking lah... My gal also got a lot on her backside leh. We din paint nor renovate the house. For funerals, I heard it's not red string but red sash to be tied around the belly. I saw during my hb's granny funeral. one of his cousin was preggy.

jlau, u got try to take a small meal before zzz-ing? it might help you loads so that when u wake up in AM, u dun feel so lousy...

Wah, we should have a Yishun gathering lol...

Fatness
Poking my tum, and it's flabby and soft. So for me, not showing early, just being fat

minnieluv,u are in Japan right? Is it true that Japanese dun eat as much raw stuff as Singaporeans do? i.e. as long as u have meals, there will be raw stuff? I feel that in Japan, the fear of bacteria overgrowth in food is lesser due to weather there. And people are accustomed to keeping raw food safe and fresh for consumption. In Singapore, they anyhow hantam. Sometimes, not fresh still dare to serve! My sis n I went to the HL building there to eat sashimi. I eat one mouth I almost want to pui lor - cos the sashimi was so fishy and obviously spoiling liao... *faints*

tres, I think it's ok to go for the funeral, whatmore it's your granny la... I guess for Buddhist/taoist practise, the pregnant mother will put a red sash over the tummy as "protection".

fullhouse, ^5!! ;p me oso tummy big but it's cos of fats... *wahaha!*
Yesterday I very wu liao, pulled down my dress inwards between the legs and showed hubby the "tummy"... then he laughed, saying so fast so big liao... acutally cost bloated la.

wow u mummies are early (opps prob i'm late). terrible, was so tired till overslp n late for 40min to work! jialet~

purple rain >
the calculation thru bbctr norm adds 2 more wk in cos it start counting from e start of ur last mens period (LMP). so it will state 5wk though physically ur precious could only be 3wk big.
we oso wanted to avoid 2012 dragon bb... end up "accident" happen else i prob b in the march '13 grp. =P

fatbobo>
wow muz b execited during ur #1 pg to know u got twins! i haf same qns as ally, how come so late then can know is twins?

s_loh, ur market also closing for 2 mths? Mine oso leh... 25 May... uhboh super sian la... one less place to eat... could we be staying around the same area???

Minnieluv
If you are coming backfor Oscar, then it'll be before 12 weeks? Your gynae there ok with flying at first tri? I'm off to London next month, and I want to be sure all is ok before I go... Am squeezing the gynae's slot and managed to get one for this Fri before he leaves for holiday on Sat :p

Actually I do know oscars' not popular in some ctys.. In fact, I chose my gynae this time round based on one statement he made on his advertisement: we love babies, and we love life. Please do not ask me to perform abortion :D

I'm quite old too, so I know the risks are there. We won't abort even if the oscars turned out unfavorable. the last thing we need is a pushy gynae who has other beliefs ...

Your #1 is 08? Same as my #2

Ah, you must have the freshest seafood there! Lucky you :D

i'm back in.. gosh.. still stuck in meeting.. luckily brought laptop along...

all these talking making me feel sick..want to puke...

ally/josky:: mine was identical twins. means.. it was one zygote split into 2... this, in some medical terms, is considered a malfunctioning of the development of the zygote. cos by right..one zygote develops into one feotus. but in some ways, it did not development properly.. n ended up splitting! the splitting process can happen anytime (i guess)... but the later the splitting.. the more dangerous it is!!! i tink so as i linked to those unfortunate siemese twins..they splitted much later...when most of the organs or watnot formed already.. so cant split properly. hence.. yes. ): identical twins r said to be not genatic de..means it doesnt run in the family or wat.

(plus.. i personally feel that hvg twins.. doesnt run in the husband family... if the lady is preggy with fratenal twins...she has the genes to produce more eggs at a time.) but alot of ppl say the hb side hv twins blah blah.. i dun really see the link. but i may be wrong!

wow, minnieluv, seems nice staying in JApan, where the life seems 'slower' than SG, is it true?
I'm also curious... preggers mums there continue to take sashimi? I heard my frens say it is true?

haha, anyone living in Bishan / AMK area??

chipsnchops >
oh no I haven make any appt leh... (btw yes also first time mum to be) er.. i tot as long as within first 10wk go check still ok? oh no oh no... haven select gynae... *stress*

jo: me too... duno choose which gynae. With the increasing number of dragon babies, think clinics shld be packed, gynae will be super busy...

purple_rain: I bought that prudential preg insurance for my #1.

Feeling so sad now!

My friend just told me she got a failed pregnancy... Bled since last night and its those majiam AF type so she went to gynae this morning, but gynae cant find the sac. She was suppose to be 5-6weeks.

Junior: How about Dr Goh from KKH TPS. I am with her. Haven seen her though but heard gd remarks about her. SHes quite packed though. U need to call and check out.

junior, my friend recomm her sister de.. dr han how chuan at kk, pte suite too... i tot of changing to kk coz e gynae i'm with delivers at tmc, mt e and mt a.. husb say maybe kk cheaper.. but i'm already comfortable with the current one, so not changining.. she feedback dr han is not bad..

s_loh:: sorry..but im not sure.. i tot if you're at KKH.. but in the pte suite.. fee oso comes up to abt the same? unless u go as public..queue and see those random medical officers.. then much cheaper?

jumbo, ya.. tat's wat i tot too.. but my hubby tot it will be cheaper.. but later on my hubby say depends on me, so i insisted tmc.. hahaha
ya.. unless go as public.. queue and see those random medical officers.. then it will be cheaper but random MO, abit uneasy...