(2013/01) Jan 2013

hi gals, Got super freaked out so went to see gynae after toilet this morning... Waited till almost 1pm to see him cos there were 12 patients waiting... *faints* Had pink little lines in my discharge... Doc scanned and saw the sac so told me see him 2 wks later. now eat the ang moh "an tai yao"... :p doc gave me a US picture for me to tide over the 2 wks till I see him again... *haha*

Vitamins & Supplements:
At the moment, early pregnancy is just to have folic acid. No need to take pre-natal vits yet until later.
^5 Jo, I'm also taking the blackmores one. Coincidentally, i concieved after starting on this brand for one month...

s_loh/tres, me oso hard to cut down on tea. Cutting down is like killing me. I feel like a rag doll wo tea... plus first trimster always feeling sleepy - double wammy!!!

purple_rain, test one enough le... congrats congrats!
agree with jarol lah, fix the appt with gynae anytime aft the 7th week.

Oh forgot to add this... If you are taking DHA from outside, rem to take those WITHOUT PRIMROSE OIL. Primrose oil will cause uterine contractions...

purple rain > haha think 1st pregnancy thus make us feel uncertain & excited? I also tested with clearblue. then actually got guardian's house brand to test and double confirm. hmm... if dun take milk can also take soy milk.

btw ladies, is there a "standard" timing when u take ur supplements? I read that if taking the vit (esp those contain iron) make u nausea, can take in evening after dinner... duno how true the claim?

hahaha..bz until ... again...

Draaaloon
i cannot cannot cannot tahan the smell of milo or the smell of anything milky... very troublesome right?? i tried holick. tried choc milk, strawberry milk... also can't... now when i look at my fave koi, i want to puke... i tried to eat...but no appetite... tried to drink... can't get it down my throat... ai yo... how ah??

snowhopes
thanks for the menu above... i'll try that... i tried biscuits... can't... but i'll keep trying other foods to see how...

oh..i found something that i can stomach...hahaha.. grapes... strawberries... and surprising avocado milkshake... i know it sounds weird...hahhaa..cannot tahan anything milky but craves fro avocado milkshake... maybe cos it's cold? then won't have the milky smell that floats up??

purple rain: me also fussy eater .. dun take milk. last time rarely take chocolate milk. now the sight of it makes me feel arghhh... so i bought soy milk yesterday but havent drink yet

josky, yes I have heard about taking after dinner. U can try to see if you feel btr that way. For me as a matter of preference, I usually take supplements (like folic) immediately after breakfast. for my first preg I will take folic & multi vits tog aft breakfast. As a matter of habit, I take probiotics (for my yeast infection) before I go zzz (even thou it's suppsoed to be after meals...)

allyfan, avocado milkshakes are good due to the fats of avocado. during my first preg, I will drink them almost everyday in my 2nd & 3rd trimester.
well well, glad u found some food that u can eat (can have them as snacks). But not too much grapes cos they are very sweet hor ( i overate fruits during my first preg and got warned by doc cos my urine sugar level was erhmmm positive for sugar)...

U can also try nuts.
like almonds and walnuts (i avoided peanuts thou). I used to chew on them - mum said they are good.

josky: i tested myself twice after gynae tested with faint line.. and actually i still hav the clearblue digital... hahahhaa.. and i intend to test again just to see the word 'pregnant' lol

Oh... anyone who is a coffee drinker here???

i read up that we cannot drink coffee... but sometimes really cannot make it... i'm someone who needs a cup of double espresso then i can start my engine...

recently, stopped drinking...well, not totally stopped but reduced... it's not very good for the baby right???

snowhopes
I'm so happy...hahaa..found a milkshake that's actually good... at least i can drink it if i really can't eat... hmmm...i read abt fruits too..abt the sugar in them... yup..will try to cut down on grapes..i think the strawberries should be ok right?? not too many..hehehe...

Nuts!! Why i didn't think of them?? thanks!! later i go buy a packet of almond...hmmm.. thinking abt almond makes me hungry... no puking feel... hahaha.. i think i'll dash downstairs my office and buy... hehehe...

JO
I trying not to drink the sweet gassy drinks...but instead replace with carbornated mineral water... gassy but without sugar... cos i also scare later too much sugar...or put on too much weight...before preggie, i hate gassy drinks cos i scare i put on weight..hehehe..

draaloon
did u try using the clearblue one that states the no. of weeks u r pregnant??? I'm thinking of trying but hor...i'm coming to 8 weeks liaoz... hahaha..not sure if will display or not;..

Isit eat calcium pills will result in hard stools? Somemore i also dun drink alot of water, maybe less than 1 litre a day... If eat calcium pills sure contispation till siao...

If drink soy milk is sufficient, will stock up liao. Isit those that states with calcium?

Mayb I will buy watsons brand to test again. DH & I are still unconvinced yet... haha...

Can drink yakult? I'm taking it everyday.

Any recommendation for multi vitamins?

allyfan, I am not a coffee drinker. but I am a tea lover which is same same since both oso got caffine. Can you try taking de-caf? That has lesser caffine... For me I am cutting from 2 cuppa to 1 cuppa.

This is an exerpt I took off baby centre: "The March of Dimes advises women to limit their caffeine intake to less than 200 mg per day (that's about one 12-ounce cup of coffee)"

Here is a chart to find out how much caffine is in our drinks (looks like green tea is safest):
http://www.babycenter.com/caffeine-during-pregnancy?page=2

snowhopes
oh... hahaha... i just did a calculation..i still got 50mg to spare... cos 2 starbucks shots = 150mg of caffine...hahaha...

i also love tea... i can take coffee for breakfast, tea during lunch and dinner... i also love tea...well, i think i'm in love with caffine... but reading up..even chocolate also got caffine...jia lat..

Hi all! Am back from lunch after seeing my gynae!
Result is out! My beta is more than double than the Blood test result lAst Friday. BB is growing well, should be coming 5wks. Going to see my gynae again in 2 wks' time.

Congratz odi!

Snowhopes : hope that ya r ok! Hey u were at the clinic earlier then, I left ard 11plus, going back to him on 02jun saturday morning. Yourself?

snowhopes.. ya.. actually i took pics for the e tests.. haha and intend to print it out after 3 mths to do sketchbook.. LOL

Ally, yup.. the one i got is the digital one.. that will show no of weeks.. i yet to try... wanted to do tis morning.. but forgot.. hahaha

purplerain, watsons brand not bad leh.. quite fast n dark.. cheap too...

ally > if i'm wrong, gassy softdrink also haf small % content of caffine...

terrible ar, like so many things need to cut down on... T_T real torture esp for MTB who are fussy eater (i'm also one)...

purple_rain: Yup, you can get the calcium pills from pharmacy, or you can just wait till when you see your gyane and get it from their prescription. For now, only folic acid is CRUCIAL.

Ally: I'm a coffee drinker and have been drinking 1 cup of instant coffee almost every morning for my #1. As long as you dun consume more than 200mg of caffeine per day, it should be ok. Else, it could increase the risk of miscarriage or your baby having a low birth weight. You shd try drinking single instead of dbl espresso...
But after my MIL commented my #1 in having a dark complexion from my drinking of coffee, I've decided to reduce my coffee intake for this round. A few sips of coffee from my dh's cup everyday nia... Switched to drinking tea! Lighter color! lol

draaaloon
pls test and show us!!! i am so curious... maybe later i go buy 1 and test and see the results...hahaha... i super bo liaoz right?? hehehe..

Jo
I know... gassy drinks also..so sian huh... didn't know mountain dew has got so much more caffine..don't look like!!! oh well... what to do?? now i want to be fussy also can't... as long as the food can stay down, i don't care..hahaha.. now is my terrible MS that is killing me...hehehe... but still, i'm trying my best to enjoy this MS-ing period...hehehe..

littledragongirl(LDG)
oh... drinking coffee will have dark complexion?? then what if i drink plain water thruout my pregnancy?? won't my bb be ... transparent??? ai yo!!! hahahhaa... then cannot drink fanta green or any blue color drinks... hehehe... just joking ah... =P

canopyhaze
heard the hb already??? or in 2 weeks time??? so excited for u..hehehe... and congrats once again.. confirm that u r preggie liaoz...

Ally: hahahhaa! I knw it's a ridiculous saying, but since coffee is not exactly a pro-preg drink, might as well drink lesser and see if #2 will turn out fairer! lol

ally: okay.. i tink watsons hav offer.. i bought e digital at $19.90 only.. usual price is 26.90 i tink.. hahaha

transparent.... hahahaha

ahahah LDG and Ally,
not such thing lah! i drink those coffee shop kopi every during 3rd trimster, but my bb girl is so fair.. it's just the DNA lah! but I still think we should moderate caffeine intake during preggers, to be safe than to be sorry until we are in 3rd trimster ba!

Ally : didn't get to scan bb or hear any heart beat as gynae is super bz as he just back from holiday and more his partner has just scanned me last Wednesday. Furthermore I have done the v scan last Wednesday to determine the size of my cyst as well. He will do the scan only in 2wks time, I should be coming to 8wks by then.

Hi Ladies, I'm back again!

Thank you snowhopes for helping with the updates.

I'm still feeling sick and miserable, really like ADS... and DH keep reminding me that I wanna be a happy and joyful mummy... hahaha... I can't wait for my appetite to come back... and I have been feeling this pain and discomfort in my tummy, like 24/7 just at diff tensions... sometimes more painful on my left side, another time can be on my right side, then the centre just seems so discomfort and bloated all the time... feel like taking mc everyday but my mc very limited lei...
I'm trying to tahan this discomfort till my next gynae appt, which is this sat, hope everything's fine with my bb. Can't wait to hear bb's hb and it's development...

Ally, u are bery funny, drink plain water later bb come out transparent, or green/blue if drink fanta green or any blue color drinks... hahaha...

allyfan, u really super caffine lover... hehe... looks like u can keep your double expresso. minus the teas and chocolates.

canopyhaze, congrats! *hugz* i reached about late 11plus too... Didn't know which is u and I was half wondering if u still at the clinic. :p I'm also seeing him on 2 June but the last appt at about 12 plus... soooner or later, I will sure see u de. Dr Tseng gave me a US photo to bring home (that should tide me over for the next 2 wks). he say should be able to see baby le by the time it's 2 wks later... ;p

s_loh, I collecting all the photos... ;p If u wan can try taking belly shots... (start early! *winks*

allyfan/jarol, you two very cute uh... I took coffee and tea for my first one leh. I dun think skin colour is affected by what we drink la... My mother drank lots of milk for my younger sis, she oso turn out tan tan one...

These couple of days, I keep feeling 1min cold, next min hot... when cold, I'll wear jacket/cover myself with comforter, drink warm water, then shortly later start feeling warm, so remove jacket/comforter, then cold again, so keep repeating the actions... aiyoh, dunno y like that...

LDG
really no harm trying... i may start to avoid dark color or weird color drinks..just in case mah... hehehee...

Liz
JIA YOU!!! I'm here with u on ADS!!! hahaha.. really jia lat right???\

hahaha..now i know why my ILs buay tahan me... everytime they say something, i will say back... if my MIL dares to tell me the color of drinks that i take and my bb color, i will tell her abt plain water and transparent... red plus blue color = purple... red plus yellow = orange and blue plus yellow = green... hahahhaa.. i bet she'll be so angry until she smokes!!! OPPS... hahahaa..

Liz, jiayou! nxt appt shld be here soon.. times flies actually.. hehe

snowhopes.. hahaha.. ya.. hubby say we can start setting up tripod to take photos already.. lol

Liz
don't feel miserable... think of it as... a privillage... not everyone who wants to experience ADS will be able to experience lor...hahaha..think of it as limited edition can liaoz... like that hor, will feel happier...

and happy mummy = happy bb wor...

I think i'm quite terror to make her smoking ... hahaha... but it's quite fun to see her reaction sometimes... hahaha..

Thk u dra, u n hubby so pro, still got tripod, I just kept thinking (in my mind) that i wanna take pic, but so lazy loh...

Ally, agree, I wasn't working the whole of today, even though I'm physically in the office... haha...

Haiz... feeling so hot now....

I can't believe it, I actually crashed after lunch! Took a nap with my #2.. woozy feeling now... But the bed is sooo ... Ahhhhh

Food during pregnancy
Drank lotsa tea/coffee when I had #1 and he turned out fair, didn't drink much with #2, and she's tanned...

Ate durian during #1 a d they they say my bb will be big, he is super tiny (and still is underweight) and hates the smell of durian now.

Ate a lot of beef steak during #2, and they say bb will be sturdy, but she came out really petite and still is...

So....

Thank u Ally, it's really a contradiction, sometimes I feel that I rather not have this limited edition privilege... lolz...

wow... U really mean to ur MIL, i think it's fine as long as she doesn't feel offended.

s_loh, make sure same background. same tube & pair of shorts! :p

liz, u try this? the next time you hug the toilet bowl, you say this to yourself. My baby is making sure that he finds a good nice home in me for the next 9 months.
even thou i know it sucks to feel nauseated and even puke. as for hot flashes, I get it too.. sometimes out of the blue, I will be sweating buckets! then i will feel cold...wrap until like ba chang under the covers. after a while feel so hot, throw away the covers...

fullhouse, my dad say must eat more birdnest so baby have smooth skin. Luckily my gal came out ok despite i only took 2 bottles thru my pregnancy... my gal is also quite small despite the fact that she is 40 wks.

*yawn* not only monday blues ... more like 1st trim bllues! every working day also feel sleepy and sian... physically sitting at the desk but mind and soul wander to dreamland etc liao...

can't wait for 6pm to come faster... but thought of the crowded train is also sian liao...

ally: we are funny. lol

fullhouse: when taking the beef steak, whats the doneness you ordered? I mouth itchy, went to order a medium-well yday for my bday dinner. Then on Fri, ate a pc of salmon sashimi and 1 fresh oyster at a buffet dinner with col! Now worried like mad bec left abdomen pain since yday! Hopefully naughty me din so luckily caught the salmonella or listerosis!