(2013/01) Jan 2013

im new here, just tested positive using the preg kit hehhe im so happy but yet to see the gynae.
Clearblue kit shd be accurate hor?
As my hb is very pantang and refused to let me share the news with my friends thus decided to come here to know all jan 2013 mummies hehe:p

All of u started on folic acid pills aldy?
Im only seeing my gynae this wed, not too late hor? Based on my last menses, i shd be in wk6 le

Thk u snowhopes for the encouragement

Can we start taking bird's nest now? I saw many ladies' comments here in the earlier posts that it's too early for us to eat bird's nest now, but my MIL already bought and ask me to eat bird's nest....

snowhopes: eating more bird nest so baby will have smooth skin is another myth! I have been brewing the bird nest to eat every week after the 1st trimester, but my #1 still got rashes and eczema!

toking abt bird nest.. i tink my MIL s*ckz ahaha
my hubby ask issit nid to take bird nest.. she said.. who say so.. so exp.. no use one lah

aiyo.. so stingy leh

Liz
I'm big!! The durian and steak went to me :p

Snowhopes
I had birds' nest for #2 too, can't see any diff in her :p

Ldg
I think salmonella is caused by contaminated food? The prev case of rojak food poisoning case is one example? So it's really heng-suay bah? If you always eat the same kind of steak I really don't see why not. I always eat medium well to medium rare lol...

Thank u nlimm for sharing the link, looks like it's fine to eat bird's nest during our 1st trimester...

On the day when I know i'm preg, DH and I already told both our parents, siblings, my SIL and close friends, then my parents start telling my other relatives... then my close friend told our common friend -_-" then I told my boss and close colleagues within the 1st week... hee...

nlimm, congrats and welcome to the tread... like we always say kits no false positive de... if got line means tio already... ;p If u havent started folic please start now...

LDG, in fact I heard of eating too much bird nest has adverse effects like the child having allergies. So moderate is good.

ladies.... I found something that can seem to suppress the nausea feeling... sugar coated ginger from NTUC! Gao Li Ginger, it is together with those salty small bottle snack!

I tested positive ytd morning, hvn tell my mum. Will break the news to her.

Some said wait after 1st tri, cos the foetus will be more stable.

liz, it's normal for complexion to become bad during the first trimster. I will not be eating too more bird nest like my earlier pregnancy. dun think it's really that good for the baby... I rather drink essense of chicken to keep my spirits high... ;p

I oso got a few pimples... going facial this sat afternoon... wooohoooo!!!

Annoucement?
I think no hard and fast rules bah... some old people pantang, so they say wait till aft 1st trimester then tell people.

For my first pregnancy, my parents got to know first (especially exciting to share the ultrasound photos with my mum. I might let her know if my 2nd scan can see the baby form). Then a friend of mine who recommended me to Dr Paul Tseng got to know (cos I was spotting and I wanted to confide in a friend who had given birth before). Then into 2nd trimester, then my PIL and friends got to know. :p

tres, i also bought the Gao Li Ginger, i don't really like the taste n it doesn't really work well for me, sometimes still feel Nausea shortly after finishing it in my mouth.

Thks snowhopes, in that case, i shld start eating essense of chicken, but this is very heaty right? I think I have been eating lotsa heaty stuff cos need to avoid the "liang" stuff, which contributes to my pimples outbreak...

liz, that time i read that century egg suppose to help with MS. so maybe eat century egg with those sweet ginger slices?

I have been taking essense of chicken once a day in the am, avoid drinking during afternoon (cos easier to shang huo)... just to keep myself perky... else I will be like *lembek* the whole day. If u taking, drink lots of water! what heaty stuff u eating (fried?)?

Thks snowhopes, century egg don't sound appetizing to me, feel like it will make me more sick... hee...

I have been drinking Milo everyday, with crackers and eating heaty fruits like lychee, longans, mango... sometimes I crave for sour and spicy food like tom yam, mee siam, "suan la" soup, all like super heaty, I can feel my sore throat coming liao...

liz, opps... century eggs no appeal to u uh? that's my favie at the ngoh hiong stall... But your fruits are really heaty!!! Try to eat those neutral ones like apple and papaya... too heaty later constipated leh...

More help for those having MS -
1) Eat Early - tummy empty = MS most likely to strike
2) Eat complex cabohydrates - whole wheat crackers, dry cereal, raisins (psst @allyfan, actually whole wheat crackers dip kopi very nice one!!!)
3) Eat late - have a light snack (e.g. banana muffin, string cheese, handful of dried apricots) before going to zzz = happier tummy when u wake up
4) Eat often - keep tummy filled a little all the time, eat small frequent & small meals - 5-6 times a day

Am Cfm reporting here

Am tiger mum aka cheese84
Edd 8 jan 2013

Very very hard not to tell some colleague cos I eat a lot
N am too noisy ( trying to hide my ms by coughing instead )
N #2 tummy so big already

Am so happy to hear lil beanie heartbeat

purple_rain, DOM got alcohol right? not recommended esp after the placenta is formed (what u eat gets transferred to the baby)... unless u wanna double boil away some alcohol?

courageous *hugs* my first preganancy was like that too... also i change bedsheets on my own! Old wives tales but I think i will observe lah! dun want to go thru the heartache again!

I will only tell parents and boss / close colleagues so they will understand my situation ;-)

canopy, me and u on the opposite spectrum of the slots!!! think most of the in b/w appts taken, so Filo told me to take the latest slot to avoid the madness... :p i havent ask him what is his latest delivery cost wor!

Thanks all for welcoming me to this big families hehe.

Snow hopes: ya I go googled after posted my 1 st MSG aiyo need start folic acid le so scared of it ! I rem tts the only pill tt made me puke when taking though it's the smallest

Birdnest link:
I not sure if correct, just googled this pm after I saw all ur posts. Personally I drank abt 3-4 bowls only during my 1st preg, my 1st boy very extremely fair but I think partly coz me n Hb very fair so inherit de. He got eczema though

Liz: heard hor I think myth is if get alot pimples u will get a princess , if prince the mummy will get prettier . U want prince or princess ?:p

Purple_rain: hehe I also test yest am :p

Courageous81: hugs* u making me worried

Cheese: so fast can hear heartbeat aldy!? U making me more excited n looking forwards to my wed Gynae appt

Thks snowhopes, I will watch the fruits I eat now... hee...

nlimm, really? I thought I heard that if it's a girl, mummy's complexion will be good... Mmm... confused... I'm fine with either boy or girl, but if u really want me to choose, I will prefer #1 to be girl then #2 to be boy, but DH prefer boy 1st, actually he prefers twins, 1 girl and 1 boy, that's so difficult to strike loh...

tres, i heard from my ah ma that u can change bedsheets on your own but u have to do it when the sun is right on top (ie noon). And ermm... dun shift the bed...

but u know what...shhh... my ah ma din say that... I got power card to ask hb to change bed sheets!

wanna know more pantang i heard of:
1. no setting up of bed/cot for the little one until they are delivered in hospital (especially with the bed n bed sheets all up)
2. no sitting on the bed to sew
3. no shifting the matrimony bed
4. no drilling & painting in the presense of the pregnant mummy in the house
5. no going for funerals!!! (this one is confirmed.)

it's quite funny actually the number of "myths"... but I followed most of them anyway... ;p

for raw food like sashimi...i would advise to stay off wor...

i've an ex-colleague who didn't know she was pregnant with twins... went for buffet... kena don't know what virus or bacteria.. lost both twins at week 9 ... she advised me last time not to take raw food if ever trying to conceive...

snowhopes
hahaha..if my little one allows me to eat... i confirm will eat... hehehe....

now still stuck in office... damn...don't think i'll get to go home today... sighz...no mood to work yet so many things to do..so many deadlines to meet..i'm so dead...

nlimm, u see if can take it like erm hidden in a pc of swallowable food? or eh, pound and mix it into your juice? Folic is very very impt... If u really cannot take the pill, eat folic rich foods. can take a look at this link: http://www.babyzone.com/pregnancy/pregnancy-food-and-diet/10-pregnancy-foods-with-folic-acid_94205#gallery/asparagus

allyfan, wah... u make me scared... ok no taking even one pc of sashimi... *ARGHHHHH painful!!!* it's the same for mouldy cheese such as blue cheese. They have the same type of bacteria... :p

Is it really not ok to install aircon while preggy? My aircon is down, the weather is so hot, MS so unbearable, I am feeling miserable

cheese: my edd same as yours.. u can hear heartbeat? last wed I went for scan can see heartbeat as blinking light but gynae say now very small so wont be able to hear heartbeat yet

Lil dragon girl
Hee.. My first nick is cheese! My fav..

Jo! My name starts with jo too! Haha so qiao!
Yes today hear bb heartbeat. I tt blinking light is means their heart pumping?

Snowhopes: ya boi! Am in the earliest slot and you're in the last slot, if not, can meet for kopi! Going there alone on sat as hubby will b at home taking care of #1.

Aiyah canopy! U choosing more sat AM slots? If yes next time I will pick 2nd earliest... Haha!

Tigress, can but 你不可以在家。

S_loh can la!!! :p but not u... Hb... You cannot climb high high.

I dunno if this will sound stupid...???
But how do u ladies dress for first appt?
Any experienced or first time mum who been 1st check up can share the experience/procedure that occur for first appt w gynae??

Liz:
no leh they said coz if girl, she ' snatch' all ur beauty essences haha so we end up not so pretty:p i thinn most DH likes 1st boyboy but girl 1st better at least can help to take care of Didi haha.Actually I hope for a girl but after seeing some misfortunate kids having this n tt problem , I think best be as long as baby is very very healthy & normal

Snowhopes:
Wa that's alot!!!
1)Bedsheet:I nvr heard of cannot change bedsheets leh & we being changing even for my 1st preggy esp when my #1 sometime still hopes onto our bed n wet it

2) Cot: oh I set up mine once I bot it b4 my #1

3) Cut/Sew on bed: this I accidentally did once during my 1st preggy, I wasssss so worried!!! So scared my boy has cleft lips & worried till delivery then. My boy fine fortunately but better avoid coz a online mum's baby got it

4)No shifting of m.bed, no drilling : ya I heard of these too very commonly

5)No funeral=> yes PLUS I'm told cannot go baby shower, wedding too as will 喜冲喜

6) No using of vacuum cleaning=> Snowhopes , u heard of these? Myth states tt will suck our precious babies away too esp 1st trimester don't do it, if wan make sure we not at home

Ally:
Ahhh I start to worry, tomm pls come 1st!!! I ate alot sashimi coz I don't know I'm preggy then aiyo.
What u work as? Sound very busy .

Snowhopes:
yalor during my last preg, I rem wasting alotttttt coz for every intake, I will puke out at lest 1 1st then Hb said so wasteful haha. But when take wat, all allocated by Gynae n I just follow.
U r with Paul, can I ask is he gd? I'm thinking if to get new Gynae coz my current de during my 1st preggy was very ex . My Hb said go back to her better coz she has all my info but then hor back then in 2009, my bill for scheduled cs summed up to 7K for 4 days 3 nights &2bedded.

Draaaloon/ Tigress :
ya like what Snowhopes said can but both u Cannot be ard

Jo:
Dress or loose pant ba
I only rem if scanning anything will do coz it's scan fr tummy area. But for tests it's thru our vagina then dress

Morning alll...

Vacumm cleaner? I juz used It on last sun.. Haha
Wedding and baby shower shld be okay ba but dun carry the newborn.. I been to baby shower and mummies where i saw preg mummies but i guess depds on ind.. As well as if folks at hm say cant den better listen

Good morning ladies!!!

Draaaloon
u r so much earlier than me!!! Good morning!!!

Snowhopes
Ya... u better avoid... i hear my ex-colleague case, i also scare... it's a good thing that i am not a raw food fan..i prefer my food cooked...hahaha... but best to avoid... anything that's raw, best to avoid... even salads...especially if you don't know how they prepare the salad...

nlimmm
Don't worry ok?? should be ok one.. my ex-colleague went to those not so expensive jap buffet ..so i guess their sashimi not so fresh?? don't worry ok? if not bb comes out ah..have a permanent frown on his/her forehead...
i work as an analyst... that's why see numbers and crunch numbers and analyse until i want to puke... it doesn't help that i have ADS... don't know how to survive..hahaha..