(2013/01) Jan 2013

ahbui > yup.. huh funny leh.. 1.5kg @ 31 weeks is big. 1.7kg @ 32 weeks, needs boosting.

maybe u can eat durians, drink more milk, increase carbo intake..

u booked ur hospital?

by the way, i know we are supposed to slp on our left. i done that and find it hard to breathe at times, am more comfortable sleeping on my right or on my back for now.. any mummies know why?

i forgotten to ask gynae abt it during yesterday's visit.. getting more bird brain..

oh.. like u.. i oso know that it's recommended we sleep on left.. but i sleep better on right for this preg..so sleeping mostly on right.

any negative effects?

i oredi booked hosp 2 weeks ago.. but cos mine is 'horoscope' c-sec.. as i chose specific day & time.. so we're booked in le.

xinyue, I was like u during my last pregnancy. I cannot sleep on the left as I cannot breathe well. I just sleep in the position that is comfortable to me. It is not cannot sleep on right or back, is just that studies show more circulation to bb if we sleep on the left.

ah bui, my gal turned out fine. During my pregnancy with her, i alaways sleep on the right.

ah bui > not sure of negative effects.. maybe only blood flow to placenta not good? I see.. no wonder u booked so fast.. u asked his nurse to book for u?
u be with GlenE?
yam yam didnt mention anything on hospital booking, until i asked his nurse.. -_-

snowger > ok, thanks..

i asked my gynae regarding sleeping posture on tue night.. she mentioned dun need to purposely sleep on left / right / back.. although research mention that sleeping on left is better for bb and reduce swell.. she said sleep at our most comfortable position, coz right now what we need is good and undisturbed rest.. so dun worry.. however, if sleeping on your back causes you back ache, put a small pillow undernearth ur back, this will help.

Snowger: mayb can c.. Coz when doing ultrasound muz bring up shirt so c ur tummy oso can c pelvic bone rite? So mayb they judge fm there bah..

Xinyue: i don feel 2.7kg is big leh. Maybe average lor. Coz my #1 gynae alwaz say average and she came out 2.9kg, same as me when i was born!! Mayb this time will be bigger.. Will c if gt any growth during next visit, coz doubt put on much weight this past wk coz no appetite.

Sleeping position: i oso tink whichever is comfy for u. Since now seems like every position oso uncomfy.. So if find comfy position juz stay tat way lor..

Siewz, the lobang I got is for 红粮米酒. I tried to pm u the person's hp number but u dun accept pm. Maybe u can pm me? She stays at Queenstown area. Let me know if u still interested.

Tigress, I also fixing Csec date same week as urs. Hopefully baby is of good weight then.

Getting more n more busy at work, then more tiring at home. Only manage to come to this thread like 2-3 times a week. U all r really getting very active! Haha..

Snowger, I think bb weight got nothing to do w pelvic bone. My gynae said my pelvic bone is quite small, compare to my overall size, like a "boy figure". But my #1 is 3.65kg at wk 39. Cannot dilate, (as gynae said) due to small pelvic bone. So ended up csec. That's my experience la. Maybe i'm the odd one out. Haha..

Shice: i tink it's coz everyone so excited its so near due date!! So all super active!! Anywaz, ur #1 so big!! Meaning this time big oso?? Dilation is due to pelvic bone? Didnt know tat..

Xinyue, dun think ur bb is big. mine at 31 weeks is 1.9, close to 2kg.. my colleague told me drinking mummy's milk does help..

Shice, thanks! i managed to get a contact from a colleague.

Any experienced mummy did not get any CL? Any tips to share? my mum will be helping me, but my friend said i may nt have enough time to rest. hmm...

junior_jj, with regard to medisave, from what i know, it covers hospital and doctor fees. which hosp will you be giving birth at?

xinyue

I slept better on right for #1. that's why I also forgot hv to sleep on left! LOL!!

Nw #2 is always on right, so will feel pain, I feel better sleeping on back this time

I din dye nor do treatment , straightening thru out preg and when I bf-ing. Only will straighten/dye on CNY when kid 3rd birthday. dye hair is also once a year as bf-ing.

The cutting down on carbo & sweet stuff, from day 1 I really tio niam til now! Hahahaha!!

Just hope bb is above 3kg when delivered as #1 was 3.4kg and very easy to take care and hold neck even when very young.

Shice
can pm me on contact for the red rice wine. I wonder if I need more as I only hv 1 bottle, but like need more. I dun mind buy more and cook myself later.

siewz

if ur mum can help alot, then u can still rest. It's the same whether ur mum or CL helping.

Help cook, wash laundry & bottles, bath & change bb. take of bb n u too.

unless ur mum only cook and take care, then u hv to do the rest, u wont rest much. & that's why I ban my MIL coming to help. coz she dun change diaper, dun bath bb, dun cook, dun wash,etc....... only play with kids...... dunno come do confinement for wat.

ah bui

u can take beef ,steak to increase. rice/ noodle usually end up in mum so better dun take too much

Oh.. if cant take beef, pork as protein helps.

Chicken guy
Lol. I'll post on fb jan 13 page lah, not sure if I should broadcast here.

Bblove
Sure!!! I love exchanging recipes!!

Creamcheese can also be quite sweet leh, dep how much sugar you add..

Has any of you tried the vanilla bean pods from phoon huat? Saw it the other day and was so happy. Dun have to use essence and can do vanilla sugar.

Update on my bb growth scan, at 33wks+4days is 2.1kg & average size. Next check is 2wks time.

Fullhouse, ok pls post on fb. I didn't buy fr phoon huat, but fr Amazon. It's cheaper only in larger quantity as there's shipment cost.

Aspialle,
PM you. Dun know why handphone dun allow posting yesterday. Like what Julie say, you can consider starting a home biz on cuppy since you have a maid to help out with kids.

Julie,
When your own house come, the kitchen is your territory and you can do lots of cooking/baking. I love to trial n error on baking and end up doing lots of nonsense for kids teachers and colleagues. Hubby also say like playing with toys.

Cuppies from 1-1 lesson
7828536.jpg
7828537.jpg

Cuppies baked for colleagues birthday
7828538.jpg

Doreamon bun for kids
7828539.jpg

Mooncake for kids' teachers and colleagues
7828540.jpg
7828541.jpg

7828542.jpg

Fullhouse,
Yes, yes, I love exchanging baking and cooking recipes. Maybe next time when kids older and we dun not have tat heavy commitment, we can all pool together and start a bakery confectionery

Morning all!!

Siewz: i oso tink if ur own mum is there to help is gd enuff. For my #1 my mum did almost everything, except feeding la coz i bf mah.. I oso change pampers myself. Other than tat all mum do. Bt like nothing much la, cooking, washing, bathing bb. So this time same lor, oso my mum, at 1st tot of getting confinement catering than she nt so tired need cook for me, seperate dishes fm her, hubby n #1. Bt she say she can handle.. So i leave it to her, give her $$ better than let caterer earn rite? Hehe!! As for the fb group tink u ask bblove or aspialle better, coz i'm oso the recruit, they're more o the managers coz i oso newbie at baking. Hehe!!

Sylvia: u ban ur MIL she wont angry meh?? Or mayb she go over play wif ur kids than ur mum take care of u, than ur mum can concentrate on u. Isnt it better? Bt mayb there'd be conflicts between the 2 mums.. Better nt.. Haha!!

Piscean: wah, urs already 2weekly check up.. Mine still 3wks.. Dono after next visit which is 36wks will be 2wk or every wk. cannot be 3wk liao mah, 3wk after 36 is 39wks liao!! Wah, like tat say can reli feel very near liao.. This morn my collegue still say, wah u still here ah? Tummy so big haven pop ah? Haha!!

Bblove: yup, i oso tink so.. Tats y hope house come soon soon soon!!! Wanna cultivate my ger to be more ger.. She like quite tomboy leh. Or mayb still young? Likes cars, like to play wif boys (ok mayb this is normal.. Haha).. N ur cupcakes are soooo nice!! Wonder when can i reach this standard..

bblove: wah, very nice! I also took some lessons on using fondant to make cupcakes, but too lazy to do at home. My cupcakes are all eaten plain without designs. Hahaha...

junior_jj,
ooh i see. coz i recently did pre-registration at TMC, then they shared the max amts that could be claimed under medisave. not sure if it's the same across hospitals.

Julie, i totally agree. give $$ to own mummy then caterer. at least you are assured mummy will get you good food and ingredients to cook for you.

Siewz: my #1 was delivered at TMC and if i nt wrong they onli tell u claimable medisave as in for delivery rite? No say for pre-natal checks rite? Coz i didnt know prenatal checks can claim oso.. Now than i know coz last few mths my hubby fren asked him coz his wife delivering at Mt E and they told him keept receipts. Bt this time i delivering at KKH and they did call me sign medisave form to claim prenatal, bt tat's onli if delivery don exceed max claimable amt. so guess shd b no refund for prenatal charges la.. Where gt delivery wont exceed max claimable amt..

Julie,
the lady whome we spoke to did tell us to bring along $450 worth of receipts from the prenatal checkups. with those receipts, then we can claim another dunno how much. (cannot remember liao :p)

Siewz, I not engaging CL too. My mum helping me with confinement. Got lots of rest, no problem. We do confinement minimalist style.

Shower use the herbal stuff, drink lots of longan water and fish soup. My mum help me with the laundry and showering of baby as the say it's best not to touch water.

You will be most tired with feeding baby cos can be every two hours, if lucky, every three hours. Night feeds are tiring, but if want to boost milk supply, good to have night feeds. My #1, my mum insisted that I get rest and don't let baby sleep with me at night, I only woke up to pump milk once at night, end up supply very little. #2 I feed myself at night, disrupted sleep, but supply increased quickly.

<font color="119911">I just finished my check too!
Bb now 2.5kg at week 35...
Next visit will be 2 weeks later, followed by 1 week thereafter.</font>

siewz > i didnt engage CL for #1. Mom did confinement for me.. Didnt really have much rest..
Mom practically does everything for me, bathe bb, change dirty diaper, wash all clothes (mine and bb), cook for me and hubby, prepare my bath water, did the marketing and replenishing of stuffs (hubby did help out)..

I was ill-prepared for #1's arrival. So many last minute shopping/stocking up to do..

As my #1 was quite cranky and demands to be carried almost all the time, i attended to bb. Fed bb myself as I was breastfeeding.
So not much rest for me..

Tigress, yup, I'll be delivering at tmc too. Maybe can meet up to see ur bb. Haha.. Tentatively my csec date is 18 dec coz tur n fri are my gynae's op days.

Julie, my baby was ard 90%, above avg. but for the last visit, she dd not grow much for the 2 weeks. Thus her weight remained at 2.1kg n dropped to below 50% percentile. Hopefully when I see gynae this coming Monday at wk 35 there's at least some wt gain for baby. As for dilation, I know usually ur pelvic bone will expand n w the contractions to push the baby out, it will cause dilation. For my case prob my pelvic bone is too small, thus contractions n baby is unable to create the "force" to dilate down there.

Sylvia, will pm u the contact.

Btw my baby is already engaged at wk 33.5. Is it too early to be engaged? My gynae told me to rest n not walk too much, else may deliver earlier than the schedule csec date.

Shice,
tks!

Julie
My mum nt ard anymore, or I wont hv headache and be SAHM too. I didn't directly tell MIL I ban her lah. LOL!!
But kid nt close to her too since kid hardly see her too ( total meet up not more than 15 times since #1 born). She is like a vistor, nt relative and kid also dun like her as she always say negative stuff.

#1 wont want her to bath her, wash her potty, etc &amp; she wont do these things too. so why let her walking ard my hse n dig my hse.

This is wat she did during confinement for #1, she was digging everything out of boxes and cupboards to see n kepo. in the end, even take my house phone n played. then a few days later, she called and asked me " can I dun come? I hv to meet frds and do my things?"

for me, can I tell her nt to come n come?? since her excuse was as above, then dun blame me for keep my kids a distant.

&amp; she is super anti bf-ing!! She will treat bf-ing like I kanna aids!!! Imagine I bf #1 hourly interval and if she was around, I like flasher every hour wor! LOl!

Up to today, I took care alone without her, so I can gracefully ban her! LOL!!

Siewz/ Freesia/ piyoz / Aspialle,
Thanks. Only fall in love with baking after I have my own hse.

Freesia,
I love to do buttercream twirl like what Aspialle did but was never successful. So end up learning fondant on my own through internet. If I go for those 1-1, it cost abt $150.

Siewz,
Piglet is mooncake moulded freehand for kids' teachers.

Aspialle,
good weight for a 33 weeks.

Sylvia,
Own mum is always the best

Ah Bui,
My bb same weight as yours at 32 week. Gynae say normal.

Re: Shaving bb hair
How many of you intend to shave off bb's hair for full month. Can share why must shave? MIL was telling me to shave off all, while mum say dun need, just cut a bit. My #2, I also just cut a bit only.

Siewz: last time at TMC oso no1 say anything about claiming.. Bt so long ago doubt they'll care bout me la. Haha!!

Piyoz: wah.. Ur mum so care bout u.. #1 i did night feeds myself, bt even thou latch every 2-3hrs still low supply.. Mayb coz i all along never reli drink milk bah..

Shice: wah 90%!! Tat's alot.. Haha!! Wat u eat ah? I oso wanna beef up bb.. My #1 thou come out weight ok bt don reli like to eat, now still very skinny.. Bt ger don too fat oso la.. Haha!! My last visit was 33wk5days. N doc say 50% engaged. Mayb this last few wks u don walk too much lor. I now oso try nt to walk too much..

Sylvia: mayb old fashioned thinking bah, last time where gt pro bf one.. Bt i have a feeling when we have our own house relationship wif my in laws will oso like tat.. Anywaz now staying there already no tok liao, can u imagine if no stay there? Don even know will go back nt.. Bt mayb out of politeness muz go back once or twice bah..

Bblove: i all along love to bake coz i love to eat cakes!! Bt mayb i'll be more hands-on only when i get our own house? Same like u lor.. Mayb the last time i can pop by to inspect the construction of the house will b in dec b4 popping.. Hehe!!

Bb keep moving past 1hr.. Dono issit coz hungry coz i didnt have lunch or issit juz being an active bb.. Haha!!

Bblove: i did shave my #1 hair.. All. Coz her newborn hair very little anywaz.. N heard pple say shave all will grow out thicker n smoother. Bt seems like diff bb diff bah. Coz my fren ger no shave n her hair n thick n long. My ger one thin (mayb genes fm me n hubby).. Took very long to grow. Onli recently about 2half yrs old than can tie up her hair. Bt i'm glad i shave botak oso. Coz she had those flaky scaly skin on her scalp. If no shave wouldnt have been able to notice. Without the hair it healed faster oso. N she botak sooooo cute!! Thou she was mistaken for a boy for very long.. Haha!!

Bblove: and oso coz we shaved her hair we did the hairbrush oso.. Bt wasted la.. Coz we did the shaving at those kiddy saloon which cost m $20. When went to dothe brush the person told us they actualli do it for free if u do the hairbrush.. Haiz... So for #2 will bring there directly to cut. Bt prob is dono they will do a clean job nt..

aspialle : your bb is quite big.

Bblove : i didn't shave my #1 hair; he has loads of hair when i delivered him. Simply love it. Hubby &amp; I only cut his hair cut once, thereafter he has been sporting the coconut head hairdo (looks like korean) till now.

Went to #1's childcare this morning to celebrate his birthday, he is elated to have his classmates, teachers &amp; us celebrating for him.
Another round of celebration with the family members @ our home on his actual day tomo.

Looking forward to my checkup on monday, bb will be 34wk+1day by then.