(2012) TTC for #1 2012 Mums!

Congrats lady dee.... Grab ur baby dust.....

Tomorrow i'll be back to gynea for scanning.... Hope my eggs grown well.... So tired n frustating in ttc

haa.. share wif u gals something.. haa..

I got a huge blueblack on my arm lo.. Due to e blood test.. haa.. 2cm long... Dunno y so long sia.. wondering if it is e needle tat poke inside den become so long.. haa.. =D

6266526.jpg

<font color="000080">VaNiLLa >> Aiyoh, did you go and carry anything heavy after the blood test? That time I went to buy groceries after my blood test, after that got bigger bruise than yours! </font>

tethysea, no leh.. haa.. i oso dunno how did this bruise came.. i oso shocked la.. Maybe is there a few days liao.. i oso nv notice until ytd.. lol.. aft blood test i went tmc to do oscar scan ma.. Den sign up for e FBI card but all e freebies is hubby take de.. i jus walk.. haa..

Maybe walk too much? haa.. =D

Hi all just back from my gynea, my egg still small le.... Even it is cd14 ald... T_T he asked me to come back next monday.... Hope it will grow well.... *finger crossed

Does anyone experienced on iui? He suggest me this method

Vanilla: i often get that kind of bruises after injections.... But don't worry it will shade for 2-3 days n dissappear ^^

san2, haa.. no la.. not worry.. jus shocked got such a big bruise and till now.. 1 week le.. bruise still there.. haa..

As times goes by it will disappear.. haa.. anyway, i wanna see how long it takes to make it disappear.. haa.. =D

Good morning ladies!

vanilla - I wonder could it be the nurse not skillful enough? I had such big bruise b4 for drawing blood.

julie - make love not war...hehehe.... Might help to take a break from the stressful life like holiday or staycation?

san2>What do you wanna know about iui? I have not experience the process before, but I've previously worked in an androlody lab and handled iui cases.
Anything I can help?

Vanilla: woww a week... quite long kekekeke

Julie: agree with coyote

Lady Dee: is there any side effect of iui? is it painful during the process? Is it really worked, n how many success rate? hahaha so many questions....

I have read in the internet lots people said it doesn't help much... so confused whether try it or not

san2> Nay, no side effects for iui unless you consider getting preggy a side effect.
The process of iui is that they will take your DH's sperms, give it a good "wash" and take only the "swimmers" to inject directly to your uterus. It shouldn't be painful, but will probably be a bit uncomfortable as a catheter will be used to pass your cervix to the uterus to inject the troopers.

The purpose of iui is to increase your chance of getting preggy but unfortunately, the success rate is not very high. Probably around 15-20%, meaning 1-2 out of 10 will get preggy.

coyote, haa.. errmm.. Dr Ang, my gyane drew e blood for me de.. haa..

san2, ya la.. cuz i drew blood during my last visit to gyane ma.. haa.. which is 03 Nov.. so... today is exactly 1 week lo... =D

Eeepsss...I am on cold feet when drawing of blood..I had that kind of bruise when the nurse poke like 2 or 3 times on same spot due to inexeperience. Normally the bruise won't be so big one and go off within few days.

Verone.. omg!! 2-3times? sure very pain la... Mine only 1 time.. haa Ya i oso dunno y my bruise so big... =( but not pain la.

Vanilla..it will send goose pimples down my spine whenever I think of it..I gg for health checkup soon at same hospital..hopefully won't do by same nurse.

verone, haa.. e nurse newbie is it? wah lao.. my gyane is abit rough kind.. So already little pain le.. cant imagine if he cant find my blood vessel poke here and there on my arm.. i thk my arms sure bruise like dunno wat la... lol.. =P

Hi san2

I’m a silent reader on this thread and saw your question on IUI.

I have been through 4 failed cycles of IUI. But everyone reacts differently to it, so don’t let what you read or hear discourage you. In any case, I’ve not given up on IUI especially when I know mentally, physically &amp; financially, I’m not ready for IVF. Indeed, success rate is not that high and my doc told me is about 25%. Well, but even with IVF which is much more invasive also does not guarantee 100% success. Nonetheless, there are still cases where people strike with their first IUI.

You can refer to the thread here whereby lately got 2 forummers striked with their 1st IUI! So it really depends on individual and of coz, loads of baby luck.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/412490.html?1320829636

Generally, the procedure itself is painless. Infact, you don’t even feel anything and the troops are all inside you before you even know it. The trick is to remain cool &amp; calm and talk to your doctor or nurse to take your off mind. But the clamping device to open up your cervix is a little uncomfortable. Normally for me, I will feel cramping the very next day after IUI. It’s perfectly normal as informed by my doctor. Thereafter, you can do your normal activities, but avoid any strenuous exercise or doing housework. Get as much bed rest if you could.

IMHO, no harm trying out IUI. At least there is someone who can help scan &amp; monitor to see if you’re ovulating, whether your womb or lining is at the correct thickness and follicles are mature and big enough before putting you through IUI, especially for my case, my dh &amp; I do have underlying fertility issues.

Btw, mine is IUI + xerephene (aka clomid). Another type is the SO-IUI which requires daily injections for 1 week or so. I’m too not sure on that. But you can always speak with your doctor to find out more before you decide. Sorry for the lengthy post! Good Luck! :D

May: wow it is really helping me so much.... thank u for the explanations... so satisfied... hahhaha now i have some courage to try it.... thank u

this cycle i have clomid 50mg x 2 plus have progynova.... but yesterday scanned the egg only 1 n so small
so the dr ask me to wait until monday... i've been on clomid for 4 cycles too plus hcg injections everytime ovulated...

hopefully this new method will helped me.... feel so frustating n depressed....

gut luck for ur next iui... so when u will do the 5th?

san2, jia you jia you... give u more PEAS!!

。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。

Pass my very lucky 1st cycle on clomid lucck to u!!!

san2> No worries gal! Coz at the initial stage when I started on my 1st IUI, I was like you. Totally lost and there's no one I could turn to for advise. And I also did not really search through the IUI threads here. It was only my 2nd or 3rd IUI then I saw the thread I sent you earlier for some support. So I really went in there without knowing what to expect. hehe

Which CD did your doc scan your eggs? I totally understand what you are feeling, but sometimes things happen when you least expected. So cheer up!! Take it as another ttc experience and who knows we can hear good news from you real soon!

I'm currently seeing a TCM @ Marine Parade. So if I take his herbs, I cannot take the western medication. So will switch to TCM for time being and try on natural mode first. Then when our mind tells us its time to switch back to IUI, we will go back for our 5th cycle. Haha...sounds like a lot of contigency plans eh.

may,

Jus wondering how long in between can u gals take e IUI? is there a time frame?

Is it costly?

Good luck to u too.. ×PEAS* for u too!! =D

vanilla: thank u so much.... bring my 40" container to grab ur peas *comp comp comp hahahaha

may: so happy i can meet u, who knows my feeling
pray for ur TCM method will strike... because i have friend that going through many fertility procedure and switch to TCM and got pregy
hope u will get soon

my scan is CD14 le.... it is a bit slow growing for my egg

Hi Vanilla, for my 1st &amp; 2nd cycle, I had it consecutively. For 3rd &amp; 4th, both I rested 1 cycle then try again. So normally after the IUI, they will give you the next cycle of clomid in case the existing IUI fail and you can straight away start popping the clomid when your AF reports.

My 1 IUI cycle is $1,078.50. Inlcudes medication, scanning, IUI procedure, washing of dh troops (freezing + thawing). That's for my case lah. Coz different docs charge differently.

Thanks for your peas!!

San2> haha ya...Coz not many will understand the frustrations of having to go through a longer n tedious route in conceiving. So it's good to have some support along the way. What did your doc say other than asking you to wait till Monday? Meantime you don't do anything strenouse also coz my doc say can break the egg! Haha...coz I wanted to go cycling then. As for TCM, thanks for your wishes gal. Haha...I hope so too but not banging too much hopes on it. Coz I dun wan to give undue stress to myself. Hehe

May - do u know whether low sperm count can do IUI? The IUI u did no need to go for daily injection? Is there any downtime
Iike u need to home rest for a week or so?

may, wow.. thats really some money.. Den IVF i presume even much more expensive? So for you bh troops will they like select e best one or jus like thaw and put inside le?

Anyway, do u all believe in like eating e red egss or bb 1st month bathing eggs will conceive? I heard myths like tat before.. u glas tried before?

So if any of ur friends bb 1st month.. rmb to ask em for the eggs.. esp e eggs tat are used to bath the bb...

Jia you alright.. I may not totally feel and understand the frastrations u gals are going thru.. But i can come in as and when and spread more PEAS!! =D

Coyote, yes. My dh troops is low in quantity and quality. We still went ahead with iui. But My doc did prescribe him with supplements and we did see improvement. Coz for every iui, the lab will give you the report. So we can compare. Nope, Mine is not those daily injection type. The only injection I have is to release the eggs prior to iui day. Haha...my doc din say must stay home rest for 1 week type. But recommended to stay home rest right after iui. Of coz better still rest for 1 week la. No go work = stress free mah! Haha

Vanilla, yup. That's quite a sum of money. But its a glimmer of hope for us. Even seeing tcm not exactly cheap but still cheaper than iui of coz. Hehe. Yes, they will wash the sperms and select only the best to put inside. Coz some got head, some no tail etc. so normally in my case, I will have at least 1 frozen and 1 fresh sample for iui, which is also recommended by my doc.

Ya, I did eat all the red eggs for my frens bb 1st month but nothing happens leh. I even went to zhu sheng niang niang there to pray and took the eggs showered with bb dust by 1 of the forumers who conceived triplets via so-iui. But so far nothing happens yet. So I guess I have to wait patiently for my turn lor.

may, 1 fresh and frozon sample? 1? means only 1 sperm? NOt like alot of sperms meh?

So the doc will insert into your uterus area and wait for e sperm to find e egg? Or they insert till very close to e egg?

Can the treatment be paid by medisave de ma? or muz be full cash?

I have a fren who is married for 2 years plus got preggy once but MC le.. Den try like 1 yr plus still dun have and jus nice she knew i'm ttc-ing too.. So she ask me to go to tcm @ marine parade together to see e tcm..

Tat time our cycle is just 2 days apart, hers is 10 Aug, mine is 12 Aug.. So O day quite near too.. She took e medication for 1st time and strike le.. I was on my 1st cycle of clomid(which already finish) and i took e tcm herbs too..

Both of us strike on tat cycle.. Apart from lucky, i guess e TCM at Marine Parade is really good ba.. Since my fren like tried normal ways for like 1 yr plus still no news.. Den go take e medicine 1st time only.. Strike le..

I rmb when i was collecting my medicine, gt a lady coughing and said she wanna buy some herbs to cure her cough la and she told he auntie she is like 3 months preggy. Later auntie told me, she see e doc since like 2008 or 2009 end and finally concevie back then la.. Which is ard apr 2011? And she is 33 yrs old le..

So gals jia you jia you ok... =)

Vanilla, the sample is like those small test tube with loads of ideal spermie. Only the super strong 1 that swims the fastest will meet the egg. Ya, it will be close to the uterus and whether the 2 will meet is fate and luck Liao. IUI cannot be paid from medisave. Only ivf and must be public hospital. Oh, so u went to the tcm at marine parade too? But how come you can take his herbs when you're on clomid? Ya, quite a lot of people conceived under him. My frens fren is 1 of them so she recommended him to me. She also strike just 1 cycle after taking his herbs. This is my 2nd cycle taking his herbs. But the waiting time is horrible! Haha

May - thanks. I also tot of trying IUI but a causual gynae told me sperm count low cannot do IUI. That was why we didn't proceed. Your payment of $1k+ is for pvt clinic isn't it? May I know which clinic?

coyote> My gyne says low sperm count doesn't mean zero sperm count. And with supplements, can help improve in 1 way or another. He also told me he saw a couple before and the dh low sperm count but they managed to conceived naturally. So there are indeed miracles! Yes, my $1k+ is for pte clinic. I did mine at The Woman Specialist Clinic @ Bishan, Dr Henry Cheng. He's one of the fertility associates with a fertility centre: http://www.careivf.com/

My dh troops washing, freezing &amp; thawing also done here.

may: yes my gynea told me to get some rest not to do so many walks.... he said the egg not growing well in time maybe because i'm too tired... cos i often go back to hometown. go here go there... so he asked me to stay at home for a while hahahah

coyote: i think iui is helping much for low sperm count... because it will choose the best sperm n put it near ur eggs...

Thanks May, that is very helpful. Since I am clearing leave end of the year I might go for IUI. Can u share the procedures of consultation of IUI with me? Can I just walk into the clinic and tell them I want to do IUI? Do they need to do tests prior to the procedures?

Hi all, I believe in IUI, there's a procedure called sperm washing which sieves out the better quality sperm. I think the doc reviews the sperm count after sperm washing to see if we got a good chance for IUI. My fertility doctor also asked my DH to do sperm washing to see if his troops can swim up the uterus (swim-up technique). If the sperm can swim and the sperm count is not too bad after sperm washing, IUI is possible. If not, I think the doc will recommend IVF

Hi Coyote, I think it's best to look for good fertility doctors/specialist and go and see them for their opinions on whether you should go for IUI, SO-IUI, or IVF.
I have a list of good fertility doctors that I compiled over the time i've spent reading this forum - 1) Doc Paul Tseng, 2) Doc SF Loh 3) Doc LC Cheng. They are also recommended by my normal gynae. You can check them out also.
I have personally only seen doc LC Cheng. I like him as he's very gentle with the scans and reassuring. Of course, lately the TMC name is not too good because of the IVF mix-up and he's the head of the Fertility at TMC. However, I will still recommend him to my friends. The downside is the waiting time to see him can be long.

I think it depends on the fertility issue. If it is related to sperm fertility, it may also be good to see a urologist.

san2> Yes! you should get more rest! Other than having a stressfree mind, I guess to a certain extend having a tired body is not good for ttc also.

coyote> yes, san2 is right. The IUI is to sieve through only the best troops to attack the egg! Haha.

I believe you will need to go through some test and checks first to check for any underlying fertility issues or whether your dh troops are okay or not before giving you the available options. After our checks, I got PCOS while dh troops low quality &amp; quantity. That’s why he suggested IUI. Coz during then I don’t even know what’s IUI and its existence! Haha…I only know about IVF. But he says that’s only the last resort. And he assured me that IUI is safe with no side effects.

Anyway, below is my treatment procedure, but it’s only for your reference, as we may or may not have the same medication. And different docs charge differently as well.

Pre-Pre-IUI
Serophene (similar to clomid): $12
Day 2-5 scan: $50
Consultation: $50

Pre-IUI
Day 12-14 scan: $50
Consultation: $50
Ovidrel(injection to release eggs):$120

IUI Day
Procedure for IUI: $250
Mischellaneous: $42
Utrogestan (安胎药): $80

Troops Freezing twice @ $74.90 per storage: $149.80

Washing of troops (2 frozen &amp; 1 fresh sample): $224.70

Total cost for 1 IUI cycle: $1,078.50

Hope the above helps!

Where I used to work (gov hospital), the doctors will do a series of test including sperm analysis before they determine if you're suitable of IUI. I can't really remember the criteria for the sperm. (I only worked for half a year and it was more than 5 years ago.)

But iirc, after the washing and sieving out, the total number of sperms left should be more than 1 million and at least 95% are swimmers.

May, ya.. I went once only.. I din thk I was able to strike on 1st cycle. Cuz my pro is irregular menses. Very irregular, like one year come twice only kind. But I was young din thk too much I was still thking nv come even better.. Haa.. But when I wanna have bb den I thk jialat. So I went e TCM lo. E doc was doing e ba Mai for me, I was still telling e doc, my pro not very big hoh.. Den doc reply not ovulating still not big pro ar? Haa.. I was like oh.. So he made it sounds like a big pro and thus I oso nv thk I'll strike so soon..

My menses came on 12 aug, I started my clomid on 13 aug to 17 aug ma.. When I go see him is aft I finish my clomid but e period before I O. I was really jus nice. I mean e timing.. Happen to noe Fren who was ttc very long so she ask me go together..

As for e waiting time, my Fren went there And Q first cu I stay at cck so it was quite far for me she is nearer so she Q first den I join in later.. But really heard e waiting time is really long la... Alot of pple sitting and Even outside oso have lo..

Anyway, do they see male patient? I mean since e TCM is really wonderful y not ask ur hubby go see together. Cuz my Fren hubby went together to see but tat time my hubby nv.. Maybe going to e TCM can improve e sperm count n quality?

vanilla> I guess both the clomid &amp; his herbs works for you. Subsequently did you go back to him for an-tai-yao prior to you seeing your gyne 8 weeks later?

yes, waiting time is horrible. Minimum is 2 hours even when we turn up at 8.15am, coz people are already queuing outside when the roller-shutters are still down! Lucky that your friend 'queued' for you. So the last round we went, we geared ourselves with breakfast, newspapers and ipad to keep ourselves entertained while waiting! haha

Yes. They do see male patients and I do see him together with my hubs. Infact we see many couples there! Guess it's all by word of mouth recommendation.

may, ya.. I gues both together really helped me.. I nv go back leh.. Cuz i rmb when i was there, i heard doc say even if strike liao 1st 3 months oso cant take any herbs so coming back to him he oso cant prescibe an tai yao.. But my friend recommended me e homemade chicken esscense... yummy leh.. and i thk good for us too... i means all ladies la..

I'll ask my fren is she is going back anot lo. Den i tag along.. Cuz if tat time not for her i wouldn't have went down cuz i'm lazy to wake up so early.. haiz..

The waiting time can kill la.. even my fren Q first we still waited like another 1hr plus before seeing him lo... *faint*

hope the medicine works for u gals too.. Jia you wor... *PEAS* =D

vanilla> Ya, indeed your 1st trimester cannot take herbs especially dang-gui &amp; ginseng. Even my gyne says so. Coz my sis also seeing the same doc and she's in her 36 weeks already. But I saw the sinseh prescribe some herbs, or prolly was tonics for 1 of the preggy lady whom I believe just got preggy very recently.

Haha...I just made my home-made chix essence last weekend! Indeed its very yummy! Coz I don't really like the taste of the bottled ones. And I added some wolfberries and red dates to my version. But I tink for your case, you just play safe and drink it the way as it is. I also made my own LRD tea. Really trying all ways to keep my womb warm and more conducive for conceiving. haha

Oh, but another thing I don't really like about the TCM is there is no privacy!!!! But no choice. I don't deny the sinseh is good. So got to live with it.

Thanks for your peas again! :D

may, ya.. yummy... haa..

yes.. no privacy... like e doc was saying my pro den others al can listen sia... same goe to others.. i can noe others conditions.. lol.. =D

Welcome.. =D

i am abit confused. Clomid is for those menses not regular or???

My menses is regular and havent been to see any doc yet. TCM went once before taking his medicine i fall sick so the herbs still in my fridge.

I read about Clomid and tot of visiting to the doc and request for that. Should i ? pls advise.

Jan jan

If I m not wrong clomid can be used to regulate menses n oso for ovulation purpose.

Do check with yr doc when u ask for it.

Anyone here with dr tan kian seng from Clementi TCM?
Consulted him once last month. Done accu and taken prescribed Chinese herbs. This month bbt seems to show that im not ovulating! Haiz.. Dunno what is wrong with my body...

<font color="000080">Hi Mai Ne, I think you might be in the wrong thread, because this is for people who are still trying to conceive. But to answer your qn, yes you can continue to take the med as long as your doc advises that you should take. I think I took progesterone supplements until bb was 11weeks.</font>