(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Babyjourney, good to hear no major issues. If pain, take normal panadol also can, till you clear the med with Dr Loh. Ya i m still on bedrest as my boy's placenta still previa, in fact, its complete previa
for so many weeks liao, i am prepared it may not move up, then csection liao lor

Thanks Tromso, ya will check with Dr Loh in next check up, by then i will be 30 weeks le. Just curious how he seems to allow now in Pierced's case.

Heartbeats, lucky i check w dr loh, out of e 3 meds given by dentist, dr loh only say 1 can take. Dr Loh feels my tummy n says my baby feels big. Hehehe.

If your son is complete previa then just csect. Dont worry too much. Rest as much as you can.

Hi tromso
Just do the massage by maya.. She is good...i see my milk spray out but she asks me to let bb latch on every 2 hrly.. Doesnt it mean i no need rest? Wht abt u? How u do now? If u latch on, do u pump again immediately after latch?
Wah.. The heat really hot lor.. Like burning my skin..;( u mean it will hot all the way till u remove the wrap?

Hey ladies... haven't had the chance to log in the past two days and just catching up on the posts now...

Jo3, u haven't considered retraining ur current maid so that she can meet ur expectations? Much less hassle than getting a new one.
Glad u got more bottles. Really much easier that way.

pierced, good weight for BB! You can rest easy now! ;)

Hope everyone's doing well and have a good weekend!

Hi Joanne, gd to hear that
When u pump nxt time, shud see bm increased
I'm pumping mostly now, only latch on twice a day. If u feel that after latching on, breasts still not empty, can pump. Maya told me to latch on then pump too but I dun dare cos dun want more bm but u shud try that!! This morning, heather slept mostly when latched on so I pumped out after her feed.

The heat should stay for couple hrs. For the parts without wraps, like thighs, leg, feet, if you cover yourself under blanket and sleep after massage, you'll feel the burning sensations in those area too, more value for $$ heee... I woke up yesterday after massage, felt my thighs and leg burning up lol...but my thighs today looked more trimmed now. Hope you'll see some changes too

Heartbeats, I'm also surprised he gave Pierced that option
When I was in labour ward for bleeding, I was delighting in the fact that same thing happened to Baby Me and Dr Loh induced immed, so I should get similar treatment too, although the nurses were saying I should be able to go home and wait somemore. That's why I felt Dr Loh is quite careful with us, rather induce than leave things to chances.

Baby Me...gd for you!! I still don't dare to try on my old jeans, I feel my butt and lower abs still quite heavy, but nxt session is my last, so I'll try to request her to focus on those areas. Aiyah her rates not cheap, otherwise I'll seriously consider more sessions...

Tromso, heartbeats, No no, he was just joking when he ask me yest whether I want to give birth today.
U know how he jokes, def not asking me to induce.

He usually wont give that option unless he really thinks its necessary. Mine is just to wait and monitor.
I already ask for his doctor letter and he is only still going to see me in 2 weeks time, which I will be 38 weeks almost coming 39 weeks. I was quite surprised as thought will see him in 1 week.
Haha, so I may pop before the next appointment with him.

Heartbeats, regarding induce, u have to speak with Dr Loh and see what's his opinion, for what I feel, like what baby said about what he said to, no need induce unless really necess.
I rather have baby come naturally unless really need to because of certain conditions. But maybe like yours is twins, see what he say.

Joanne, Think you have to latch 2 hrly otherwise milk supply will not be able to meet up with demand. normally we bf is 2 hrs each time, only FM feed can last longer.

Luv, thanks! yes, can be relieved now and relax a bit about eating. haha!

Hi tromso
Do u pump every 3 hr? I still prefer to pump so tt i know how much they drink else very tedious if they cry for milk n not sure how much more to give them...;( but she say to cleaar my lump now, hv to do latch on.. Let me try n pump later to see how much i can squeeze out..;) ya, i feel the area where sweat got burn feel due to in touch with water (perspire).. she told me abt u who mention to her i very desprate abt this bm thingy too.. Hee.. Thk u.. So she try arrange for me asap..;)

Hi luvnhope
I dun think she can make it.. I try give her many chance too but she still do things slow n i Really need someone who can help take care my bbies.. Burmese maybe hardworking but when take care bbies, they may not be so suitable.. And my maid does things half half tt makes me vomit blood.. Who will iron whole clothes except the pocket?? She prepare warm water tt can scald my tongue then when prepare next time, she test using her hand many times to make sure not too hot nor cold.. As i wait for quite sometime why no warm water n realise she does tt so how to entrust her to make milk for my bbies.. N many other things.. Maybe their country pace is slow so she does things slowly too or maybe she is too smart thinking tt if she does fast, she will hv more things to do..;( so for long term, i hv to change else really cant work in peace..

Hi mc007
See my post to luvnhope above.. Hope u r lucky to get a burmese maid..;)

Jo3, babies are the best pump. Maybe ur pump is not effective in emptying ur breasts or doesn't provide sufficient stimulation. Plus ur interval b/n feeds is too long.

You can consider Indo maids too. I find them not bad too. But I also think it depends on the maid u get too. No guarantee that Fillipinos will be good.

Hi Faithfully, how do you find the food fr Xin Yi Ping (e Creatuve Catering)? Did you choose the Baby Ist Month Buffet with cupcakes?

Did you get the cake boxes too? Thanks for sharing

Joanne, true, when I latch on, the 1 harder lump will go away during feeding but with pump, I'll hv to massage and knead it each time. I'm pumping 4 hrs now cos too much bm, but still 140-160ml and Heather only drinks 70ml now, don't feel like freezing so much. Mum gave her 80ml earlier and I stopped her cos I don't wish for Heather to be overweight as she is already putting on weight during first week whilst others seem to lose weight.

For your case, to increase bm, can try bf/ pump every 2-3 hrs like Pierced suggests. It's like after I latch on 15 mins then I pump immed (cos I don't feel it's truly empty), still hv quite a lot bm, despite Heather sleeping thru 2 hrs after that feed. So the supply does increase when there is more demand.

Pierced, I was also told 2 weeks review after week 35, but if you don't feel assured, can always request for weekly.

Yep, Burmese maids are slower, seems to be consistent feedback from many. But they are not as 'out there' as Indo/ Philipinos ones. My SIL, tried the latter and settled for Burmese, felt she can rest her mind about unwanted activities fr maid but maid is quite slow...

Burmese as in Myanmar maids right? I use a part-time cleaner from Myanmar and she's pretty hardworking and knows how to clean the house quite well and efficiently. And looks very down to earth. Really depends on the luck of the draw i guess.

Luv, I popped at 39 weeks for #1, yup thats what they always say for #2 so now it's just to wait and see. Hee...

Maids is really all luck and really cross fingers that u get a good one. Nowadays also quite difficult to get good maids. Like my previous indo maid was at first ok but end up also vomit blood with poor attitude etc, my mums neighbour filipino maid has been here for a long time and she's good. My neighbour leaves things to her and she takes care of the son all the time.
My Gf though wanted to get myanmar coz her granny and mum both has indo maids, so don't want them to all mix around together and cchit chat.
Mainly indo maids now are different coz generation different, they know after 6 mths, they don't like can go back since loan repaid.
Luv, I also tried a part time cleaner from Myanmar and she's quite good too.

Tromso, u looking at catering too? I'm also thinking what cateerers are good beside neo garden? Kind of sick of their food already since tried them a few times,

Hee, ya ur supply is super good, think if u start freezing, will be like some with over supply and use it for facial. Keke...

Tromso, maybe like what u say, dr Loh want to save our money, hehe... Anyway, think if no issues, I will just stick with 2 wks otherwise can always pop by for visit.

Hi tromso, today will be Vera full month so I am not sure hw the food like cos hvnt started. But my hub try before at his friend bb full mth and he say nt bad.

Thanks Faithfully, sorry I've forgotten Vera hasn't turn 1 mth
Enjoy the party today, hope everythg runs smoothly for you.

Pierced, have you checked with tmc if you can stay for 1 night only? Althought I was there for 3D2N, on my bill, I was only charged for 1N ward, dunno why, maybe b'cos I spent 1 nite in the delivery ward (11pm onwards break waterbag, epidural, then delivery). So means if I were to be in delivery ward after midnight, I would have incurred 2N ward charges... Nonetheless, I was charged the package price 2k for normal delivery though I thought package price is only for 2N ward stay. So just FYI in case price is very diff without package...
I think Dr Loh charged me 1.5k.

I'm considering Faithfully's caterer, as I find that Neo's food is acceptable but somehow charges about 30% more than others and 1 course fewer (only 9 courses instead of the usual 10). Faithfully's caterer provides full mth cute cupcakes at no extra costs, so I'm quite drawn to that
Now my headache is we'll hv about 80 guests, no separate time slot, just 11-3pm, so hoping caterer can bring in food twice instead of 1 time food for 80...will be quite chaotic but at least 1 time chaos lol...can't wait for 1 mth to pass...

Hi ladies, I have a pantang question. Yesterday my mum & I were discussing whether my pregnant SIL can visit me & baby after I deliver at the hospital and during baby's full month, and vice versa. If 2 of us should avoid each other & our babies, then there's a question on whether my own brother can visit us and my husband can visit them or not? And whether we can give full month gift to each other? Our pregnancies are about 2 months apart.

To me, I think if it's own family members, should be fine isn't it? Maybe just don't carry the other baby. Anyone has heard, seen or experienced this situation before?

Hi Angel, for myself, throughout the time I was pregnant, my SIL was ttc and she was very eager to buy us bb gift asap in case she gets pregnant and becomes pantang therefore can't purchase bb gift. I personally feel it's quite an unnecessary pantang practice but for her, it bothers her a lot. So I guess it's up to individual perhaps...?

As for visitations, I'm not too sure how it works, I feel hubbies are not subjected so much to the pantang, just like hubbies can go for weddings but many preggers will shun away. Not sure birth of a child will crash with another pregger visitor or not.... For me, when my gf gave birth, I didn't visit her at hosp cos I was early stage pregnant then and so tried to be pantang.

If really feel like visiting and afraid will crash, I've got an idea
Can check the 黄历 Chinese calendar, will state what animals will crash with a particular day and if that certain day is apt/ unwise to do certain things. Hee...quite far fetched bit I know some pple uses it for pantang reasons.

Tromso, for the delivery charge, do we have to inform dr loh that we want the package? May i know what do we need to do? Thank you.

J03, maids u hv to give specific instructions. Eg making warm milk. U hv to tell the maid, 50ml cool water fr the Tea pot, 30ml fr hot water fr thermo flask to make 80ml of milk. U got to make urself first n know the hot/cool water portion. Even my experienced ex HK maid i got to tell her. When wash bottles, u need to give specific instructions how u wan the teats n bottles to be washed, how many drops of liquid cleanser is needed, which basin to use, how much water, etc. u got to show The maid. Some a few times before they get it. Thus, u need one u can communicate with. If u dun, u will face the same issue with the next maid too.

I m already in SG water, waiting for the cruise ship to anchor. My 3d 2n trip has ended! Belle performed v well! She can even sit thru a 1 hr song, music n acobatic show!! Can bring her to the movie she is 1 yr old plus already! BUT, keep sticking to me like glue!

Anyhow, Next trip yo melbourne in nov for 11 days!

Hi Tromso, thanks for sharing. I feel that my mum is the super traditional and pantang type.. After a serious thought, in order not to jeopardize the relationship between us both, I will just respect her wishes, avoid contact with my brother, SIL and their baby after i deliver until a time my mum feels it's okay to meet again. Otherwise if anything not pleasant happens to my brother's son, I will be blamed by her for life.

Hazel, happy to know that you had a great time on the cruise and Belle enjoyed herself too. So nice that you & family will be going to Melbourne for another holiday soon! I'm thinking if I should do a baby moon..hehe.

Hazel, congrats on having a successful trip with baby Belle! I didn't have ur guts with my gal previously, hahah... Hope I will be more confident second time round.

LuvNhope, belle sticks to me like glue. So, as long as I m around, she will not be too difficult. She does not even need her bloster. We bought her to redang in a speed boat too! Weather was super hot. I just removed, her cap, socks and pants (she was wearing rompers) n she sat with us near the beach. I gave her smashed ice to cool down. We sat there easily 1 hr. Yesterday, hub was queuing to get our passport bk. I went to the toilet. Came bk belle has been crying for 5 mins. The pp around asked if she was hungry.. No.. She was looking for me. I carries her over n shortly after she stopped crying. The folks there said is abit early for a 6 mths old bb to be so sticky. FYI, hub can't coax her to sleep.

With a second child, it will be more difficult for u to travel... 2 young kids is no joke.

J03, I also need to show my ex HK maid how to iron. She even burnt some of the clothes. Those clothes made of thin material after ironing still wrinkled! Got to show her how to irion. Even cooking, she told me she knows but cannot meet our standards one. Eg cook soup.. She will throw everything in then when boil off the fire! Like that the essences where will go into the soup. Cook curry chicken also the same. I got to tell her, fry the potatoes first until 3/4 cooked, fry the chicken meat with curry paste. Then add water... Etc.. Then curry chicken will taste nice.. Even fry eggs with prawns also must teach. That's why I seldom cook. End up I still hv to show her how to do it..

Hazel, looks like Belle needs you around for security! Yeah, donno how it'll be like with 2 young ones. But in a way, the large age gap b/n them would help cos the elder one wld hopefully be more independent then liao.

Jo3, agree with Hazel. Moreover, different employers have diff expectations. What worked for one employer might not work for a new employer and the maid wld have to be retrained to meet the new employer's expectations.

Just hv a gd cry last night.. Both bbies dun want sleep at 8pm onwards though we hv feed them full.. I hv to pat one after another bb till 11pm without rest at all n my boobs r so sore due to exceed 5hrs n still no pump out n maya had loosen the ducts so very soon, i feel feverish..;( so i call up maya n she says i shd try latch on but my aerola area already crack after boy suck..then she advise me to use hand express since pump will make it worst but is too tiring to do hand express so i still pump but using small power.. I try turn on my aircon hope my boy will tahan longer fOr next feed but i am wrong, he still wakeup every 3 hr to feed plus i try to pump twice every 3 hrly too as i worry fever comes again.. My boods r feeling so sore n i dun know why too.. I complain to maya say i want give up breastfeeding since so tough n always fever which i cant hv else who take care bbies in day time..last night i sleep only 3hr and had feel feverish twice today though hv try pump but just dun know how to empty it..;( i tell maya why see others so easy bf like tromso whereas i so jialat.. Oso my supply still miserable though she has unblock the ducts n she says i am restart fr scratch so supply sure no build up yet..;( think i hv the energy to continue bf only when my boy can sleep thru ( gal take care by hb), any tips on how to let bb sleep thru? Else very very tired.. I was so busy last night tt i dun even hv chance to accompany my elder son.. Seeing him stare out of window makes me feel he is so bored..;( he even look sad when pass by bbies room n go to his rm to sleep.. Really feel so upset tt i drop tears again...

Tromso, have not checked with Tmc yet. So meaning they still went ahead and charge the package price for 2Ns even though u only stayed a night? Thanks for letting me know. Will check with them and see what they say.

Ya, neo food is more exp,so I thinking of checking others out and trying new food, coz we already catered from them a few times last yr and this yr due to bros wedding and other functions. The one that faithfully using looks good too. Yes, indeed a big headache for timing for first month.

As for panting, think really individuals and like if parents are pantang, I think better to follow. I think so far my mum is ok, only no going to funerals etc. as for weddings, bb showers, I still go ahead. Also my Sil is also preg and so far my mum didn't say anything regard to that. Maybe don't carry bb only.

Joanne, since you are trying to settle down with your blocked duct n soreness, why not you give your babies fm first so they can rest/sleep longer. You never take care yourself how you can take care your babies? Let your sore nipples rest for awhile, pump n massage on your own as often as you can. Apply cream after each pump to ease the soreness. Once no more block ducts n soreness, you can try to latch on again.

I had fever because of too tired n lack of sleep too. My gal always wake up n asking for milk within 1-2hrs interval if I bf her without fm. My supply also not much n only enough for one feed, no more extra to pump. So sometimes I just give her fm so that I can rest slightly longer. Partial bf is much better than none at all, so don't give up.

Hazel, glad to hear u had a great time with belle, now u can look forward to your next trip to Melbourne. And she's so well behaved. So nice! I can't wait for another holiday too.

Angel, if can, quickly go for baby moon. Will be very different when u travel with a kid.

Joanne, hugs, will be better soon as since u are bf for 2 and starting to pump again. Different people have different bf experiences. Are u giving fm to them at night? Coz your bbs are still young so quite hard for them to sleep thru the whole night yet.

Angel, my SIL gave birth abt half a year later than me previously. During preg, we still went for reunion dinners together. But we didn't visit each other during confinement month or 1st month celeb. Just do what u r comfortable with i think.

Jo3, it's expected with BFg to feed 2-3hrly really. I've even done it hourly b4. If u want baby to sleep longer can give FM at night instead. If u endure the cracked nipples for a while, it'll get better soon really, once ur nipples toughen up and get used to the suckling action. Then it'll be painless from then on if babies latch on correctly. It's really much easier to latch on than to pump once u get the hang of it. And as mentioned, babies are more effective in emptying breasts.
Of course, if u feel that stopping would be better for your emotional n physical health, at least you know you've tried. Only you can decide what's best for u and ur babies and ur son. It's understandable to feel emotional postpartum. Learn to let go of the small things and focus on the positives.
Like you, I also felt depressed previously over my low supply. But I made peace eventually and decided I'll just do my best to give however much I can for as long as I can. And I'm proud I did it. You just have to find an arrangement that you are at peace with. Take care!

LuvNhope, I gave up bf when belle was 3.5 mths old. I dub hv enough at all despite the supplements n eating the right food. One day, I can only feed ebm 2-3x. With a demanding bb, n without a helper, I can't pump every 3 Yourly at all. I can't latch on too coz Not enough for belle. I need to combine a few pumps to give 1 feed of ebm. Plus all the sterilising, the need to do housework, etc. super stress n tired. How to hv enough milk? Like what u shared, I weigh the time n efforts vs the Amt of milk I can produce n decided up give up. FYI, I can't even eat in peace when I stop bf! That's how demanding belle is. Even now, she needs to be entertained. I can't leave her in the cot entertaining herself or for her to fall asleep on her own. She likes to koala to me. Even when I shower, I can't close the toilet door at times. So that she can see me when hub carries her.

Hazel, yeah, BFg is a personal decision, and each mother's situation is different. As long as we've tried our best, that's what matters.

What I did usually was latch on and top up with FM. Reliable help is also important so that we can go to work knowing that our baby is safe. At least u have ur mum to help out right?

Joanne, I have a friend who had twins went into depression bcos of bf. The main problem is no support from hubby. Try to get your hubby n family support n help as much as possible. Taking care twins is not easy indeed, but with helps will at least lighten your burden. Pls take care gal!

LuvNhope, yea mum helps during the day... I m somemore who needs to sleep alot.. But since belle is born I m deprives of sleep. Belle will wake up at 4-5 am for milk. Last feed prior to this is 9+pm. Wkend, b4 8pm she will wake.

Joanne, like the rest said, if u really think u can't cope with all the pumping, sleepless nights, esp when u have two to deal with, then u might consider stopping bf, and give fm instead. After all, you have tried your best.
One of my gf also did try and stop after facing infection, fever, etc, she is the one who has to take care of bb without any help so for her own health and mental health as well. She decided to stop. No one will fault u that u can't bf them.

Hazel, hahah... I've not known what a good night's sleep is since I had my gal. Even when she can sleep thru the night, sometimes i'll get up instinctively to check on her (esp when she's ill), or to close her bedroom windows when it starts raining in the middle of the night, etc... There was a period of time when she refused to sleep in her own bed and co-slept with us. Sometimes we'd be "attacked" by her flying kick or fist as she moves in her sleep, hahah... Part and parcel of motherhood.

Then now, the preg hormones are giving me all sorts of weird dreams almost every night such that I don't think i truly rested. Ah, but can't complain, can I? ;p We "asked for it", lol.

Luv, hee part and parcel of motherhood, really, I used to love sleeping in now after having a kid, no chance of me doing that. Have to check on this and that, plus my gal wakes up early too so I have to be earlier than her.
Only the daddy can continue sleeping without being disturbed.
Plus I'm still getting her back into routine of sleeping on her own after a long while of co sleeping with us due to our overseas stay. Now she stil want to sleep with us in our room.