(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Tromso, pouch sling I bought using mothercare gift voucher. Manduca carrier my friends shared to get me as gift per my request. Both I got them after delivery.

Joanne,

since birth we only change once for her and she slept thro wearing the same diaper no leakage. We used mammy poko (NB)up till full month then we changed to small size huggies ultra for the nite, and day we used drypers and pet pet interchangeable in the day and so far so good. Just bought mamay moko (M) + (L) from watsons roadshow at my wkplace very good buy less than 30cts whahahahhaaa goood buy!!!
7107900.gif

Hazel,

i was there at the expo with my frenz..hbs forbid me to buy say we already bought 2 big pkts of huggies wee wee dry and 1 pkt of mamay poko.. Oh my frenz went to q for pampers!! Very good buy she bought alot!!! They stock up very fast so if you see that is out of stock you can just roam around and they will restock very fast. Like size L and XL ran out of stock a few times but they replendish very fast
7107924.gif

Lynn, thanks. Dr says to decrease the amt of support. Dunno if will cause any problem or not.

Hazel, thank you for the detailed explanation. Will go google for more info ^^

Kiki_gal, your baby/ies are warriors, still fighting on after all these
Hang in there and keep talking to your little one/s to stay strong, healthy and happy. They can really sense our love for them

Thanks for the tips Hazel

Lynn, prof Has his own pte clinic in Camden that specialises in antenatal scans.. He does not do deliveries unless there r serious complications in the pregnancy. His clinic as below:
Antenatal Diagnostic Centre and Women Clinic
#06-07/08 tel: 6333 8621
Dr Chinnaiya Anandakumar

Chris, M size pampers still hv stock? Or like some f the sisters shared, no more re stock?

Hazel,

yes, coz my fren queued 3 times hahahaha she very suay wanted to get L or XL but by the time she queue till her turn they told her no more stock she took Medium instead. Then while we are looking at other stuff we saw them push the boxes of L and XL in then she queued again and got L but the XL sold out. We went roaming around and saw them push size S and XL boxes in again and my fren went to queue 3rd round and got XL hahahaha
7108001.gif

Hazel,

clariss has being wearing medium size when she was 3mths old, certain diapers cutting are small so we bought L size for her instead. Like drypers wee wee the cutting slightly smaller, their size L is close to huggies ultra medium.
7108007.gif

Hazel,

today i saw carter's body suit selling at $8 per pc and their sizes are european size cos their 0-3mths i think clariss can wear and will fit just nice, but i bought their 3-6mths instead cos roomier and hope she can wear longer.

Chris, how long it takes to queue? I m not sure if we wan to make a trip there tomorrow though expo is near coz belle appears to be v tired today after the Vacinne yesterday. She slept till 10 am this morning!

Hi, has anyone tried ARDO breast pump before? Saw it at the Mums R Us booth and looks good - very silent, easy to use, light and compact.

http://www.mummysreviews.com/2012/03/29/review-ardo-calypso-amaryll-breastpump/

Went to check out Philip Avent twin electronic pump and thought it's not bad too, slightly noisier than ARDO. Anyone has tried Avent and like it?

For Medela PIS, it's not hands free, is it? I went to ask more about the pump but was attended to by a male promoter (the female promoters "resting" away). He doesn't seem to know the diff between the PIS & Freestyle as well. Also seems awkward to do a demo when I asked to see how to operate both the pumps, but he still tried his best (without using the demo breast). Overall, still feel blur and think this Brand's electrical pump seems most complicated, noisiest and heaviest. Really wonder why Medela is the most recommended brand for breast pump.. Please advise, sisters using Medela. Thanks!

Hi Hazel/ Pierced/ Chris/ Catherine

Aiya... I can only complain, my ah Lao will still insist my mil to take care, else my sensitive in laws will be very upset. My mom needs to work

My "loots" for today...hehe..

- Pooh flower L size LG play mat $180 and 2 bottles of organic spray/cleanser $20. Free gift - cute little hanging monkey soft toy.
- Dreamgenii cherry pillow case cover $30
- Vanille cot + oeko tex mattress & classic pooh bedding set at $369
- night owl bedding set at 50% off (offer for buying the above)
- 2 mattress protector (breathable, washable with waterproof layer below) for $36
- 2 maternity pants at $10 each (daily special)
- Pampers S size 3x2 packs
- Goon NB size 2 packs
- Avent magic cream and bottom balm, 2 tubes each. Free gift - iPad and iPhone cover
- Motherhood magazine subscription. Haven't check out the bag of free gifts.
- Goodie bag for expecting mums, not sure what's inside yet too.

Now every part of me is aching & tired, but happy.

Angelxuan, FYI, hospitals r also using medela pumps. Simple reason, PIS, is heavy duty, good suction n reliable. Freestyle is compact, less parts to stetilise, hands free and light... But suction not as good as PIS, no good to use it to establish milk flow n it cannot empty the breasts completely. Free style is only good after milk flow is established.

What I bought TODAY!!!

PAMPERS Booth
2 sets of 2 x 48pcs S Size - 2 x $30
1 set of 2 x 60pcs L Size - $30

BUMWEAR Booth
Package C: 10 x Diapers + 25 Inserts + 100 Nappy Liners - $381
5 x Country Save Laundry Detergent (1 box lasts for 40 top load and 80 front load washes) - $113.90
FREE: Membership Card

PIGEON BOOTH
Pigeon Bottle Brush (Sponge) - $6.30
Pigeon Bottle Brush (Nylon) - $3.90
Pigeon Safety Nail Clippers - $7.90
Pigeon Cotton Balls 2 x 100 a pack - $5.20 for 2

GLOBAL OUTSOURCE SOLUTIONS Booth
Aden + Anais Swaddle Plus Cloths (4 in a pack) - $44.70
(Multi-use: For stroller, nursing, burp cloth, blanket, swaddling, etc)

BB CLOTHES from 3 booths
Luvable Friends Bibs - $22 for 7
Libby Short-Sleeve Tops (Newborn) - 3 x $5
Libby Long-Sleeve Tops (Newborn) - 2 x $5
Libby Short-Sleeve Tops (3-6mths) - 2 x $5
Libby Long Pants covering feet (3-6mths) - 2 x $5
Carter's Bodysuits (5 in a pack) 1 x 6 mths & 1 x 9 mths - $30 (for the 2 packs)
Carter's Blanket with Hood - 1 x $16.90 (Bought 2)
Carter's Hankies (8 in a pack) - $6
Swaddle Towels (Square) 1 x $11.90 (Bought 2)

MUMS & BABES Booth
My Brest Friend (Deluxe) - $73.28
Medela Purelan Nipple Cream - $10.32

AUTUMNZ Booth
Medela Nursing Bras - 1 for $20 (Bought 3)

PUREEN Booth
Large Rubber Baby Cotsheet - $9.50
Head to Toe Wash - 1 bottle $6.50 (3 for $19.50)
Liquid Cleanser - 3 bottles $17 (3 for $19.50)
Baby Powder (Cornstarch) - I can use during confinement too - $2.50 a bottle (Bought 2 bottles)
FREE: 3 small bottles of bath, shampoo, top to toe wash

SPRING MATERNITY Booth
Vanille Denmark Cot + Oeko Tex Mattress - $369.04
Inclusive of delivery and assembly
(Better deal than babytown)
FREE: $10 Voucher at Spring Warehouse

Other freebies:
Motherhood Magazine @ Motherhood booth
Similac Pouch to be hung at Cot + Similac Sample Pack @ TMC booth (Saw WBB & chatted with her, lol)

TOTAL DAMAGE TODAY --- $1364.14

DAMAGE YESTERDAY
Goon Diapers Newborn (0-5kg) 58pcs $15
Goon Diapers S Size (4-8kg) 52 pcs 2 x $15
Manduca Baby Carrier - $150
Avent Magic Cream - 2 x $12
Avent Bottom Balm - 2 x $14
Pigeon Wipes (4 x 6 x 82pcs) - $78
Pigeon 200pcs small cotton buds - $3.60
Fisher Price Rainforest Playpen - $199

TOTAL DAMAGE YESTERDAY --- $527.60

PREVIOUSLY, already bought
Peg Perego Stroller $590
Inglesina Carseat $420
Avent Steriliser Bundle $188

So far spent $3089.14 approximately & I haven't finish buying my stuff!!! Goodness!!!

Sashamama, do u know that Bb powder is bad for bb's respiratory system? So, most dun use now. The head to toe wash is non resinable?

Sashamama, you bought the micro fiber fabric bra from Autumnz? I bought 2 previously and it's really comfy and good for outdoor wear
I compared Spring Maternity's cotton bra and Autumnz's, felt SM is better (more support n comfy) but pricer at $29, Autumnz only $16.

For nipple cream, you recall how the mummies here were suggesting to apply 10 layers of breastmilk if experience soreness? You may like to try this first before putting on the nipple cream since there's preservatives in creams normally. Hope no sore nipples for us!!!

heee....I think my stocks are similar to yours now, bulky item only left with carseat. Still undecided which to get...

Just curious, for 6mths baby's Learning Table (those with many activities on table top, music, touch, ABC, etc.), which brand seems to be most suitable?

Bbliss, I bought the girdle from pigeon. Everytime I wear I ask my hubby to pull to the tightest. I remembered I bought l size coz that time tummy really big. Now even if hubby pull to the tightest i dun feel its tight anymore. Dun know y if i put the binder from guardian, I get blocked ducts. My stress could b self inflict. From elis not pooing, gg to IFC, lots of errands to run b4 i go back to work to managing work in office and spending enough time with her. Elis is not sleeping well in IFC but is learning fast from her frens in school and is paying attention to what the nannies do to her. So it's easier for me to read to her now. Yesterday, The principal assistant spoke to me again about adjustment that my hubby and I had to do now hat we have Elis and how to get more bm. She has A boy and a 10mth old gal. My expectation of my hubby was wrong. My IFC pd nurse and my knee surgeon also spoke to me yesterday how to handle a bb. Guess all saw I m too tired. No one believe elis prefer her dad. Sigh.... They told me not to give in to bb. If bb cry and they r not soiled, hungry or ill, Let them cry and dun care. It's a way of their communication but in a wrong way. Knee surgeon gave a v v v candid example. Knee surgeon told me I must b evil hearted like him if not kids will b over spoilt. Sometimes I have no heart in doing so cos elis is so young but I will try!

Chris, the principal assistant told me to aim for 2nd kid when elis is 2-3 yrs old. Immediately I said no way! She told me y a 2nd child is gd for the family. I told her I m old and i dun want to go thru the process of feeding milk, pregnancy stress and the need to wake up at night. I fall short of telling her that IFC charge v ex haha.... Hey I m surprised Robinson is not crowded yesterday. So much space to walk. Y yr hubby dun let u buy the diapers?? Is it worth to go? I m only gg after 3.30pm cos my mum wants to go too.

Hazel, thanks! I am still undecided..

Ladies, if it's still too early for you to buy baby stuffs from this fair, don't worry. Read from other threads that there could be other fairs/sales later on to look out for. Pls note that I have not verified the followings with any reliable sources.
- July baby fair (no other info, just saw a MTB commented in Nov thread)
- Aug Taka baby fair (saw a MTB commented in Oct thread)
- Oct Philip Sale (I remembered last year, there was one in Oct too)

Hazel,
I recall WBB saying use liquid powder fr baby, I forgotten which brand. Do you know? The corn starch powder more for myself. Heh. Thx for the reminder!!! When is it more suitable for babies to use powder? Also, wats non resinable?

Tromso,
I bought medela brand from that booth. Only medela had my size. (cup G) *faints* no choice of color nor design. Only 1 type, bought 3. Nipple cream I wanna use sometimes now cos sometimes itchy! Been having slightly flaky nipples cos a little milk coming out I think.

Later I go look thu my shopping list to see what r outstanding. Will need all the advice I can get!

Sashamama, why do u need liquid powder? Powder is already out in our generation. The bottom we put bottom balm. Body n face, magic cream. Bb shower gel some brands need to rinse off with clean water. Some no need if diluted bath. Infants n bb r too young to rinse off any gel or soap as we shower them in a bath tub.

Hazel,

Oic! I heard WBB mentioning liquid powder but I've forgotten for what use. I've yet to read extensively on this. Went with friend who delivered in Jan and just bought what she said she used, lol. Was too tired to think too much yesterday, so just buy first.

Sashamama, our parents time put the powder on bb at her neck fold, arm pit n bottom so that they smell nice nice n to keep them dry. But then again, when they sweat, there will be dried power in the folds at the neck n arm. Also powder is no gd to bb respiratory systems, regardless how old or young they r. Liquid powder serve same purpose but may no harm to respiratory system. Also, if is a bb boy, n use porder somemore, the loOse Powder may go into his penis n cause infection - that was wat happen to my cousin when young n some bbs I know. End up have to he hospitalized n went thru painful procedure. My cousin almost lost his life coz of that.

SG weather is v hot n humid. Mosquitoes r common n they specifically like bbs unless u always keep bb in aircon place. There was once I forgot to put magic cream on belle's legs n immediately she got bitten! I saw n quickly apply on the bitten spot n swelling immediately subsided.

Wow, long list of posts! Catching up on all the reading!

Sashamama, baby powder contains talc which like hazel say no good for bb when inhaled.
If wana buy bb powder, must buy talc-free kind like california baby or Gaia. but they are pretty expensive too coz organic. I used to use both brands on my gal but only when she was slightly older, not NB to keep her joints dry due to her excessive perspiration. she cant take the heat well.
Like hazel say, use magic cream on body so i will try this cream out first on #2.

Tromso, learning table? I think i got one from Fisherprice but that was a gift. otherwise i think Leapfrog is another good brand for toys too.

Hazel, hee i dun really need, was just telling tromso. I have got a few leapfrog stuff handed down from my gal,
but US is so much cheaper like u said!

Sigh, US is cheaper for everything baby.

Thanks Pierced, the Leapfrog one is called musical table I think, I'll check out Fisher Price too. Just compiling a gift list for friends as they are asking what we like for full month gifts, forcing me to really plan ahead lol....

Pierced, did you then put powder on your girl's joint cos she was getting rashes fr the perspiration or just preventive?

Sashamama heee....I didn't know there is Medela nursing bra from Autumnz. Cup G...!! I didn't know G exists, I'm cup C now. My shoulder is still the same but boobs and upper body more flesher now, hope I can slim back otherwise will have problem with clothes. What cup were you previously?

Btw, for dry nipples in 3rd trimester, I read in the WHAT TO EXPECT book that, can avoid applying shower gel to your nipples during shower. For myself, I never apply apply shower gel to nipples (I don't know why), and throughout the pregnancy, I find them quite 'moisted'. I had little milk leaks in first and second trimester but so far in 3rd trimester, quite clean, hope production will continue....

Hi Hazel, for mossies, if living on high floors and don't get them in the house....will they appear when baby is around? Are you living nearer to the ground floor hence the mossies?

I'm contemplating getting Sebamed baby cream cos recommended by many friends but unsure if can help with mossie bites, I've actually not seen a single 1 in my home so far...touchwood...!!

Re: pureen cornstarch powder
No talc in it. When can I start using on baby? If anyone ones use it? I better go read up.

Tromso,
I all along need that kind of size, lol. Dun wan to scare u all, lol. Sec sch I already C/D. Was 51kg 11 years ago before I with hubby, cup already E/F. Then put on so much weight the past 11 years. I think by my full term, I might double that weight! Too obese liao. Must try to slim down after confinement. 2nd trimester I didn't put on any weight tho. When my mum delivered me, I was 9.2pounds!

Tromso, I dun see mossies around n nv me nor hub got bitten. But belle gets bitten that time when i nv apply magic cream on her wor...

Sigh... Hazel, I was afraid you may say this...ok, in this case, I better get magic cream or some mossie repellent cream ready

Sashamama, jia you!!! Take brown rice after delivery
I intend to get a personal trainer if I don't slim down/ tone up successfully. Really don't wish to buy a whole new wardrobe, praying hard!! My sister had her postnatal Malay massage done and on Day 1, the massage lady (Ida's cousin btw) already told her she doesn't need anymore massages cos everything 7788 back in place lol....very lucky, she has my dad's side skinny genes, I've got my mum sides fleshish genes heh....

Juvi, I already have a lunch appointment coming Wed, maybe I'll join you gals next round

Share with you all 1 of my friends total skincare solution (for his 2 yr old son):

After bath: Sebamed baby lotion
Minor skin irritations: Sebamed baby cream
Bugs repellent: California baby
Sunblock: Mustela SPF 50+
Mosses bites: DermAid or Sebamed cream

Suitable for babies? Comments? Thanks!!

Sashamama I have similar issue with you. Currently I am wearing D/E & it's getting quite uncomfortable if I wear it the whole day. I dun wear any to sleep but the idea of them sagging scares me. It is already difficult to buy normal bras here in those sizes. Which comfortable ones can you recommend?

wow talking about putting on weight tink i oso put on quite a far bit..more than 10kg liao..yeah hope able to lose most of all after delivery....

J03, i am seeing dr loh weekly now. yeah havent got the admission letter yet. what are the contents to be put inside the admission letter huh? keeping of placenta included huh?

yeah wanna ask those mums whom have had full month parties huh? issit necessary to have cakes during the buffet huh? hmmhmmm headache cos tinking thru the list of food plus red eggs and AKK etc. so not sure whether necessary to have cakes cos i intend to keep tins simple jus invite relatives and frens for buffet that all....

any comments huh?

Hi tromso
Haha.. I just finish reading thursday archive..thks for ur advise on sterilized cotton wool.. Will check out the thing fr tmc..;)
So shd we put in ziplock bag after open?

Hi hazel
Thks for ur info on magic cream.. How frequent u apply per day?

Who went down to exhibition today? My friends manage to purchase 15pkt of nb pamper on thursday sell me 3pkt of nb pampers..;) wonder do they still hv pampers today for sale?

Btw, both my feet starts to get swollen.. Not sure is it because i go walk at expo on thurs? Sasha, tromoso, bb, tanny.. Ur feet swollen?

Hi sasha
U really buy alot hor.. I cant walk too much so walk very fast around the hall to finish see what is there..
Btw, i hv sign up for cordlife 21yrs plan for both bbies.. Got to deposite 5k plus to cda account after bbies born.. Oh ya, my boy time oso no need apply powder.. He apply powder only when few yrs old n he say hot so we apply some powder on him..

Hi catherine
I havent tell doc Loh on my prefered pd.. Will tell him in my next checkup..

Hi hazel, chris, catherine
Do u let ur bb sleep in aircon room in first mth or fr 2nd mth onwards?

Chris, hazel, we went to bb fair too late. All pampers gone. They limit 1pack per person. If have, the max I can buy is 5 packets.... Huggies also dun have the offer wet wipes. So crowded. Chris really regret not listening to u to go on thurs. sigh.....

Hazel, I din see the inflatable bb bath tub leh....

Joanne, Elis sleep in aircon once she is home. She already had aircon at tmc u think she can get used to without aircon??

Meryl, I worry for u leh... R u resting enough?

Hi Joanne, gd idea to let your hubby handle the purchases, you rest ample
Yes, I'm planning to keep the opened cotton wool pack in zip lock bag.

Sunbelle, gaining 10kg plus sounds normal, should be able to slim down close to original weight within half a year
I just hope won't get so very hungry during breastfeeding and end eating a lot more
Exercise should help.

So far I haven't seen cake at full month. Sunbelle, which caterer will you be using? Will you be getting those cake/ ang gu kway/ glutenous rice gift boxes (eg Sweetest Moments) or cake vouchers?

Wary of sagging breasts? I was at Watsons other day and was recommended the Elancyl bust firming cream, may be an option? I only purchased the Mustela body firming cream.

Tromso, breast feeding cannot apply anything to your breast lah. Wan to look pretty also cannot like this. Now pregnant, breasts also dun anyhow massage...

J03, first mth, belle sleeps with CL in the other room, no aircon. Day time sleep with me, aircon.

Catherine, the inflatable bath tub when pump up looks like a real bath tub! It is selling at the store with sells all types of floats. This morning only left with yellow colour also... I was there at 11am when the fair just started. The q for pampers was v Long. NB n M sizes already out of stock.

Hazel, it must b so crowded that I din c. Next time I will take leave to go. Din know we can bring our old milk bottle to pigeon and buy a new one for 50%. Should have done that!! Nvm I will wait for the taka bb fair.

Catherine, u starting work this Monday... M feeding belle now.. Went out n got back 45 mins ago.. Belle was not at her best behavior just now

wow.. i am really amazed at sashamama's and angel's purchases at the expo fair! there's really so much to buy i must agree.. but we have no car so v troublesome.. my taxi to and from expo already cost me $50 liao..

me only bgt a few things - a baby cot, a playpen (chris, this is much nicer than blue color playpen!), a bouncer chair, some maternity wear, avent bottles and sterilizer (including warmer), bedding sets, a sarong bb sling, sign up motherhood magazine, bgt trial of prenatal massage... already vvv tired... my regret purchase was the baby cot, also bgt from spring maternity, but it was the smaller one... my bedroom really too small to put 2 cots, so i reckon a smaller one will fit better (but after that regret didnt buy the bigger one).. but many of my colleagues told me the baby cot becomes white elephant, so i thot maybe can just buy cheaper one.. since i am expecting twins shd buy 2 right? but 2 of my colleagues also shared with me they use playpen instead of cots, which they prefer coz softer and not so hard if they hit against it.. in the end, bgt 1 cot and 1 playpen loh.. i guess various other things can still wait.. didnt buy the milk pump coz dont want warranty to run out fast.. will buy nearer the date.. (but then, may not buy the most exp kind coz scarcely no milk and then waste money).. actually v tempted to go back and check it out again, but hubby has another test coming up, and he really v turned off by the huge crowd... btw, all my purchase and free gifts remain untouched and left in my spare room! shame on me!

catherine, u starting work on tue right? will need a lot of new adjustment... hope all go soon soon for you and yr princess

today my first lesson with WBB.. aiyoh, i felt so inferior coz can tell i am the oldest
my tummy also the biggest! i asked WBB what can be done to move up my low placenta, she only said to avoid some stretching exercise (those involving moving the legs).. i guess its entirely in God's hand now...