(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Oh ya, e GP did write dwn a schedule list for mi on e type of jabs for diff mths. He said he dun follow e health booklet one since we r taking e 6 in 1 vac.

I reminded dr Loh for my report n he asked Alice to send me!

Diaper sizes r depending on bb's weight. Belle is 4 mths n weigh 6.35kg. Another 1 mth, S will not be as roomy as M which starts fr 6 kg onwards. If I m not wrong diapers expiry is a few yrs. better to check with the promoter.

I use manduca carrier. Good. I also hv sling pouch carrier bought fr mother care. So at times when I carry belle in my arm, I will use the pouch carrier, so can free my hands.

Diapers also better not to overstock too many even though can keep coz bb keep growing at diff rates, my gal grew out of everything very quickly.

Chris, the tags on bb clothes only to follow as a guide but really depends on the bb, even i ordered from old navy, gap,polo ralph etc supposedly bigger american/european sizes too small for my gal esp if they have chubby feet and ankles or wrists. My gal looks very uncomfortable so i ended up wasting some online purchases even.

Joanne Like what Bbliss says it all depends. Like my gal, pee one time cry already. Change lor. Mamy poko or whatever in her first mth she will juz cry. V particular with her diaper. Must b clean and dry. Now she is better. At night put mamy poko last throughout.

Bbliss, my gp follow tmc standard. Some gp follow the jabs govt insist. My pd go extra mile see what is gd and recommend. That's y I m sticking on to what my pd is recommending and not go to gp. Not sure if u know... Each time yr bb take a jab, the nurse must fill up a form and send to moh. If they dun, u will receive a reminder letter to bring bb for jab. Hey drink once a day not v gd. Try to 'seduce' her with milk. My hubby always does that to my gal if her appetite is no gd.

Hazel, u mean e pap smear report izit ? Toking abt tat, I yet to recieve mine too. Been 2 weeks liao. Maybe gotta call up Alice to remind her.

Hmm... Times reali flies. I b gg bk to work in 1 mth time liao. Nw starting to feel sian Liao coz can't bear to leave my gal upon starting wk. Another thing tat make mi even more sian to go work is my Tummy !! Been 2 mths since giving birth, e tummy still ard. All my clothes cannot fit. Look so unsightly wif e presence of tat tummy.... Even tot I have shredded over 10kg of wt (but still have more to go), e tummy juz refused to be flatten. Argh.... Nw dunnoe go where buy clothes tat can fit n hide my tummy....

I fr a M size upgraded to L/XL... Dxxm... Any big size mama here to share where to buy clothes n hw to flatten tat bulging tummy

Catherine, mi n my mum tried various ways to coax her to drink milk but she simply refused. Cried til like very Chaim like tat. Face red red n wif tears somemore. *faintz* But gave her water, she entertained by drinking some. Tat's yesterday. at least this morning, she willing to drink. Nw waiting for her to wake up for next feed.

Hmm...I din noe abt e writing to MOM part. Actually I wanna bring her go c Dr Ong as my gal's PD. But DH nt keen coz nid to drive dwn TMC. To him, he feels tat vacc can do anywhere n sInce GP or polyclinic can do it den go GP or polyclinic lor. Anyway, I bo bian juz listen tO him lor coz really too tired to keep arguing wif him coz he will always think wat he say or decide is correct.

Can ask if using Medela breast pump, can the bottles let say fit into Avent sterilizer or vice versa? Or If I choose 1 brand, den the accessories e.g. bottles will need to be from the same brand or it won't fit?

Re: manduca carriers at motherhood fair.
All sold out before the day ended n won't restock. Did research on carriers. Supposedly baby bjorn's designs such that baby's weight all fall at baby's groin area, so not good. And another popular brand is ergo. Heard that u need additional inserts for newborn n it'd be hot. I bought the $150 manduca yesterday. Contemplated for a long time cos really not pretty. But just buy la! Hubby use lo. Lol.

Bbliss,
There were other carrier brands around but the manduca one best deal cos old model n limited colors. Strollers not a lot of variety.

Angelxuan,
Here's the Vanille Denmark cot. http://www.babytown.com.sg/vanille-denmark-convertible-cot-p-345.html?cPath=103

Joanne n pierced,
My friend been using bumwear n says it is good, I searched for reviews also good. But I must reconsider la.

Mc,
Can fit avent. Cos avent sterilizer is one full container kind of space, not structured to slot in bottles individually kind of space, if u know what I mean. I asked before. I bought avent

...wow forum gathering speed very fast, I just woke up, slept extra 3 hrs today, expo really tires me out...

Juvi, the Pampers staff says once a year sale at expo leh...I hope he is not lying. Heee...hope my estimation is correct, very rough. My methodology is, NB (to 5kg) uses 6 pcs a day, 180 for 1 mth, so equals to about 8 NB pack (hv to buy in multiples of 3, so we bought 9 packs).

For S (3-8kg), say uses 4 a day, will need 120 a month, 3 months about 360 pcs, about 8 packs if M then.

I've also bought a bit of Drypers as standbys in case diarrhea, so it's cheaper
Then maybe switch to Drypers during M or L period, cheaper...

Above is daytime estimates. Nighttime I'm getting Mamy Poko.

So far, no one complains about nappy rash fr Pampers and Mamy Poko, so I feel can safely buy in advance but if any concerns, best to pend purchases too

House like battlefield...shopping bags everywhere...

Thanks for the replies! I just woke up from morning nap, going to get ready. Once hubby comes back at lunch time, we will cheong the fair!

Tromso, if ur bb is more than 3 kg at birth, u dun need so many packs of NB. U can I straight to S after 2 wk. coz NB is small n when bb poo alot, it will leaked... Clothes, bed sheets all stained! Bb will lose 10% of birth rate in the first few days after birth then wil start put on v fast!

Hazel,

I think the flaws they mention are those products that don't pass the internal QC e.g label are sew in wrong place, scratches on plastic part or dirt in the cloth. Basically still can use but not so nice nia.

Tromso, haha I also revised my order Liao. Just 4 packs of nb n 4 packs of small will do lah..the rest just buy when time comes lah cos really dunno how big the baby n how fast will grow. Buy now just to take advantage of the sale. The rest really too early to buy, my baby's room still like a store room with lotsa stuff n ironing. My hubby suppose to take charge of it but ah, I tell u, think sooner or later it will be me doing it lah.
For sure I'm going to install a ceiling fan in the baby's room to cool e room, impossible to hv e air con on the whole night next time n I also fun want the baby to get so used to air con.
I dunno abt u gals but I hate research. Reading up on all the different stuffs like cots, strollers, baby carriers n slings r worse than studying for exam Leh..... How? Can we arrange to meet up then u all share what we know, or rather what u sistas know abt all these? Drinks will be on me Hahahaha!
Next week??

Bbliss, u not taking full 16 weeks? Who help u watch over yr gal? Juz to share.. I was v depress over my tummy since I gave birth. Worse depression was last mth when I can't fit into 70% of my clothes. I bought girdle on labour day. After 2 days of wearing I slim down. Then i did push up and sit up for 1 week went down a little but came back. The tummy really shrink last week. V stress whether my gal can cope IFC and thinking of gg back to work ... I went to a shop I usually buy my dresses yesterday.. Surprisingly i can fit in s
Size. So dun worry it will shrink down. Juz saw my knee doc he say I slim down too much. Haha but I m 1kg away from my pre preggy days

Tell yr hubby, dr ong is not at tmc but united sq. néed to find gd docs ma.. Then bb can b well taken care of. Same for food... Ppl will travel to buy the nicest chicken rice. If he can drive to jb to eat/shop juz Do an extra more for the gal. Is he willing to go to mt Sinai? Alexandra village??

Thanks Hazel. The girls in my family are quite light at birth, so far all abt 2.5kg. So I'm aiming max 3kg for my girl
My estimates for NB diapers is 1 mth, if bought too much, will pass on to my friend who will be delivering after me
I'll rather slightly overstock for first month than understock, very afraid wil have to go out n scout for things during confinement.

S diapers for 3 mths should be reasonable right?

Sashamama, my hubby tried both Manuca and Ergo, says the weight distribution for Manduca is more at the waist, he likes it better ie more relief for back. However, we've been asking around, sadly, most feels this sorta baby carrier is not useful and ended up white elephants at home or pass on to other friends
Most prefers sarong sort and even this is not used often. I'm gonna wait and see for baby carrier. I'm guessing may be more useful for sahm taking care of baby along, easier to go marketing/ run errands with baby on weekdays. But many of my sahm friends uses the stroller I see. confusing hor... for $150 Manduca, I feel it's very worth it...!!!

Thks gals for ur feedback on diapers.. As me will be using cloth nappy on day time so wun buy too many pamper since is for night time only..;) i only hv 3pkt of nb pamper so intend to get another 3more pkt since is very cheap..
Wonder today got enough stock or not? Anybody there already can update?i buy 4pkt of s size and 2pkt of M size too since pamper wun spoilt easily..;)

Hi xuan
I think motherhood fair usually hv another smaller fair at marina square at around oct to nov period but wun hv so many exhibitors like this time..

Juvi yah loh...I'm just catching up on the forum posts whilst having lunch now and felt relieved I didn't buy more than what we originally planned for yesterday. End of day, may have some white elephants at home I feel heee... My gf chided me for buying Quinny stroller, says its a waste of $$, especially many kids don't wanna sit in it after 1+, 3 wheels not stable, etc....blah blah... I guess different people perceive value differently, can be quite tiring doing research and getting all sorta 'unhelpful' comments from people around us....like reading about the forum mummies here, having issues with MIL 'very helpful' comments, geeezzz...overwhelming indeed.

Good thing we have this every encouraging forum as supports

btw my gf warned me from taking Bu cos her relative apparently took ample Bu and baby was borned soft bones...arghhhh....why this sorta negativity from people I wonder...?? Anways closing in on the finishing line, I'm expecting more feedback and also criticisms fr concerned friends and relatives, I just have to withhold info so won't get bullets from left right and center (but def must keep asking questions but DON'T show my cards heeee...).

Sorry for complaining here, had a rather lousy night yesterday 'arguing' with my BFF about my stroller choice and Bu routine. Next time, I won't justify to them my decisions
Can argue till cows come home.

hi tromso, why your fren like that one? poor EQ! it's individual choice why must she insist that her way is right? dont share with her anymore, i dont like pple who only criticise and give negative comments knowing that the purchase has already been made... i probably will show my black face.. not that i am not receptive to ideas and suggestions, but if pple have already done it, what's that pt of harping on it?

yday i spent $1000+ at motherhood fair.. anyhow bgt certain things and now regret.. but cant be helped liao.. reached home just throw everything on floor.. really diff to research and compare so much.. was v tired at the end, though still tempted to go back and buy more other bb stuff.. but it will be madness tomrw and sun, i think i wont have energy...

btw, dont know if one of my bbs is too high up or not.. i always have to throw up if i ate slightly more (too full)... just puke..

joanne, i am 23 weeks today... yes, envious of you! jia you! u only have a few more weeks to go! yeah!

Cock cock my legs r so "sour"means tired after yday shopping at expo n bb kingdom.. How m i gg to shop fr bb stuff at ltr stage..

Super mega horrid jam to get into the expo carpark!!!

Update I read from aug thread on pampers is out of stock. Need to camp n wait for stock n 1 person limited to 1 set of 3 packs at $10 for NB.

blur_xuan, just take it easy and try go slow.. my stamina yday considered not bad liao.. i reached there ard 11:20am.. walked so long then took lunch ard 1:45pm.. then shop shop again and left ard 4:15pm... tired man! i saw sashamama update.. aiyoh, so hardworking of her to do "live" reporting... i told my hubby sashamama was here! of course i cant recognise her.. hubby needed to be home early to prepare for his test today.. i pai sey to go slow and took up so much of his time...

Juvi.. my MIL say dun shift any furniture in the house till after 1st tri if you believe it..haha..

I will be meeting Dr Tan next Sat..can't wait..

I am ok to meet up, jus let me know the date but of cos not on working hours :)

Ladies I just went for my 8th week scan and doc started talking about Nuchal Translucency Scan with Maternal Serum Biochemistry for Risk Assessment of Fetal Anomalies. Anyone had to do that? How is the procedure like?

The pampers staff says when reach my turn probably no more NB n no more restock of NB. and M size no more stock n won't restock. Only have S, L, XL now.

cook cook yah loh...I think there are some mummies who really don't fuss much, get the basics and do the basics only, and really, nothing wrong with that. But upon hearing how others have gone the extend to do a bit more for their kid/s, their defense mechanism will go up sky high and start criticising no end. Feel that they are just making life difficult for themselves cos no one else other than themselves is doing the comparing. No point comparing honestly, everyone has diff lifestyle, spending habits, value system, parenting methods, etc. Suggestions are very ok but when comments strike out like a cobra attacking its pray, unnecessary. Anyways bygones... thanks for listening

I'm at Robinsons now, nursery not much discounts just standard 20%. But has quite few carts of discounted clothings for kids, not NBs. Just FYI, can go to Custm Service and request for extra 1 set of the $5 vouchers (in addition to what you have rec in the mail), just mention you didn't rec the mailer in the mail

I've purchased the breathable netted cot liner and cooling seat liner, so on top of getting 20% off, I use the 2 pcs of $5 vouchers to offset the bill
Plus 5% rebate, Robinsons is great

Catherine, yup, I did not take up full 16week. My mum will help to look aft my gal when I m bk to work. Told my mum I wanna bring gal bk after wk everyday but my mum finds tat it will b too tiring for mi. E arrangement my mum suggests is tat, she will cook n ask mi n dh come for dinner n at e same time see gal den aft tat go hm rest. Bring gal hm on fri nite den bring bk to ah ma's place on sun nite. My mum finds tat such arrangement is better for mi. She scare I no enuff sleep n haf to go wk early.

I noe my mum mean well but I told her I will bring bk everyday to try. If really cannot, den I will consider her suggestion. Coz on my part, I oso dun wish to tired her.

Btw, when u said girdle, izit e abodmen girdle brought fr guardian ? I have this at hm but din really use it coz very uncomfortable bundling myself up..haha... If this really help, I will try to be hardworking n wear it.

U oso said yr tummy really shrink dwn last week, izit becoz u overly stress coz Elis gg IFC? Anyway, glad to read fr yr post tat Elis is settling well

Sashamama, are u at pampers booth? I am so tired..sitting down now. Hubby queuing at pampers, last one (they don't accept anymore for the time being). NB, M oos, S limited stock.

Already bought LG play mat, L size $180, dreamgenii cherry case $30. Considering the vanille cot. If can't get pampers, may try Goon. Checking out pigeon later.

Btw, saw another type of pregnancy cum nursing pillow at the booth behind Avent. Looks much bigger size compared to dreamgenii, costs $100 plus.

Bought 2 x 2 packs of S and 1 x 2 packs of L. Lol.

No more NB when reach my trn. And M didn't even come. N these 2 sizes most probably NO MORE RESTOCK!!!

Hazel, just saw your post. I'm going off Liao...ended up buy too many things, a few 50% off, quite happy, pad my own shoulders

Btw if u purchase over $150 (3 receipts combined) can get $10 Fraser Shopping Center at L1 custm Svc counter. Carpark coupon redeemption all distributed out for today.

If u purchase more than $150 at Robinsons Ladies section, in 1 receipt, can claim a nice girls brolly

I queue up 4 times to get the $5 vouchers heee...so almost all individual items get $5 off on top of 20% and 50% off
Gd achievement today

Quite some dresses at 50% off, so tempted to buy...

Better run off before the office crowd comes!!

Sashamama, last night Pampers M oso outta stock when we were queuing for it. Heee...u got L too, my hubby was pondering and I put a stop to it...L is 1 yr onwards is it??

Wow, looks like a lot of good deal at the fair. Too bad have to give it a miss as doc just given me another week of mc for bed rest

Lynn, my doc also asked me to consider if wanna do the screening. But got risk leh.....so dunno shld do or not. Maybe will read up more first bah.

Tromso, dun need to bother how others think. We are not living for others, you happy can liao. ^^

Tromso, we bought quinny stroller too. V stable n good for rough grounds! Bbs usually wun lie in the stroller for long. So, we still need a bb carrier. I hv a pouch sarong fr mothercare also. Bb carrier more comfortable than a sarong as the latter dun give us much support. Also, at times, like grocery shopping n marketing, stroller v cumbersome.

Hazel, thanks for answering my query. I am aware about the CVS & amniocentesis and that both I know has their risks. So glad to know NT is just a scan; no probing of needles.

Thanks Kiki_gal
Sorry, I'm forgetful, why are you given bedrest? Take more fluids, nap a lot and listen to soothing music when you are awake
I like fm92.4, good background music. Then fr 11am - 3pm I'll tune in to fm96.3, beautiful music, 3pm onwards is foreign news, so I'll go back to fm92.4 if I'm not napping. From 10pm onwards, fm96.3 plays same beautiful tunes

It's quite amusing how my baby actually reacts to fm92.4. Sometimes I'll turn up the volume and do my reading and she'll move about a lot when certain pieces are played. Then when I switch channel to say Class 95 fm, no movements fr baby heee...very cheeky

You can take this bedrest period to better connect with your little darling inside too

Thanks Hazel, I also feel Quinny is very stable. Last night, this customer service person stood on the back 2 wheels support bars and bounced up and down on the stroller, very stable

You are using the sarong baby carrier now. So Maduca will be for later use?

Hazel, so the two screening is just BT only? So if in the high risk grp then need to do further test? Would appreciate if you can enlighten. Thanks.

Tromso, I was bleeding in week 5 so was admitted and was ask to bed rest after discharge from KK. Today is my review and as still spotting on and off, dr decided to give me one more week of bed rest. Your baby so cute. My gf ask me to start reading to BB so will take this week to start reading to BB ^^

Kiki rest as much as you can. These few weeks is very crucial. Dun forget to take your supports & monitor your spotting. I am paranoid too thinking if baby is ok. Glad to hear baby's heartbeat pumping today.

Kiki, Oscar tests comprises of Nuchal Translucency ((NT) Scan and a blood test on you to test Maternal Serum Biochemistry to arrive at a combined Risk Assessment of Fetal Anomalies. U can google online to read more on Oscar test. If u r carrying multiples, u may wan to skip the BT as it wun be accurate. That said, Oscar test is just based on statistics. If the result turns out high risk, in most instances bb is still fine. Only more conclusive tests like CVS and amnoicentisis (carry miscarrige risk) that u can conclude if bb is normal or abdnormal. A no of sisters here with high risk Oscar test result visit prof Amanda for a Detailed genetic scan which carry no risk. That said, usu the 19-20 wks full scan will be able to detect abdnormalities if they r any. But if wait till then n if the unfortunate happens, n mummy wants to terminate (legally is before 24 wks pregnant), it will be alot of heartache as bb is already form. Termination then means induced labour n to deliver naturally.

Tromso, I use both. Bb carrier can make mummy n bb very warn. So I only used in aircon places. Pouch slings can carry bb a few ways. Eg, at later stage, at times we carry bb upright, v tiring for the arms. With pouch slings will be better. Watch the video at the link below, I bought this sarong fr mothercare: http://www.pupsikstudio.com/baby-carrier-pouch-slings/