(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hi Chris, I did not know chicken essence will help! Hmm.. If I had tried that, maybe I will ve frozen embryos.. But now that I know, will take that for my 2nd ivf attempt..

Hi Hopeful, it's interesting you mentioned that organic egg helps with eggs growth during IVF. I've been taking organic eggs for about 2 yrs now (to reduce body's exposure to hormones injected to hens) and during IVF, I was taking up to 10 egg whites a day. And guess what, my eggs were ready for retrieval before the standard schedule and had 18 or 20 eggs with goodheatings. Maybe organic eggs do help
Makes me feel better now having spent all that extra $$.

I was made aware that preggers need about 70g proteins daily, it's a lot considering 1 egg contains only 3-4g. So I supplement my diet with organic plant protein powder daily, about 20g. Hope baby is putting on decent weight.

JY Sunbelle and Meryl, hope your babies will catch up asap, and enjoy your protein diets

Hi Joanne, I also just received reply from My Beauty Loft, Medela FS is same day collection but think I'll wait till 3rd trimester too
counting down the weeks....

Btw, will you be buying the baby bath towel fr WBB? Heard it's about $15, but i have many unused ones at home
What's so special about it do you know?

Just curious, what other purchase recommendations WBB made? Starting my class's only on 2 week's time

hi chris baby, hopeful and piercd,

will try organic eggs, chicken essence and drink more milk hehehe
yup totally agreed that being positive will make overall happier hehehee..

Hi Tromso, issit safe for us to take the protein powder huh?

WBB oso recommends the avent bottom balm which if you can wait for philip sale, sometimes is 20% off 18.50. but for convenience you can buy from her too. her lesson is good esp the hand on class on taking care of baby. impressive. i love that lesson heehe

hi chris baby, hopeful and piercd,

will try organic eggs, chicken essence and drink more milk hehehe
yup totally agreed that being positive will make overall happier hehehee..

Hi Tromso, issit safe for us to take the protein powder huh?

WBB oso recommends the avent bottom balm which if you can wait for philip sale, sometimes is 20% off 18.50. but for convenience you can buy from her too. her lesson is good esp the hand on class on taking care of baby. impressive. i love that lesson heehe

Tzac, maid got to slowly monitor. She can cook n bake too. I just looked at her background. Ex hk ones r usually well trained, she took care from new born, cooked, did marketing n all housework. I was just worried abt her attitude coz experienced helpers may be hard to re train I suit our style.

Hi cool
My edd is end of July but due to twins, maybe will be beginning of July... How abt urs?

Hi hazel
Yes, i agree with u...;) do u give her any teabreak in afternoon? my maid is here n so far ok.. Just abit slow now but maybe still new so we will see.. Hope all will be well... Btw, i saw destin cream sell in gmarket.. Seems cheaper too..
Wonder is the quality same as outside too??

Hi tromso
She keep praise her towel is of gd quality and i buy the epack which cost $31.50. It consists of two swaddle cloth, one bath towel n some small white cloth works like handkerchief..gd to use tt for bb bathing, wipe off the milk vomit out etc... She say use 10years already oso wont spoilt...;)

Hi sunbelle
No lor.. Last time for my boy, oways take back a full or half photo of his whole body but now only two circle..;p..
Will be going for my FA scan with full doppler.. Think will know both bbies weight by then and shd hv some full body photos ba...pray hard will pass the scan result with flying colour...

Thk u pierced...;)

J03, I leave it with her to manage. By 2-3 pm she is free. So, she can read or write diary. I bought biscuits, coffee, tea, instant noodles, bread, kaya, etc for her. So is her to her to take her own tea break.

Wow Joanne, yours are twins!! :D Congratulations! There seems to be quite a few twins..
Heartbeats, Cockcock....mmh i think there's 1-2 more ladies also right?
So happy for you. My EDD is 1st wk Dec.

Tzac, shichida is about $745 for 3 mths. Ya I m on gug waitlst at united sq. I still got gymboree to sign up. But I will wait till elis can crawl if not I scare she dun enjoy her class.

Chris, I went to carrefour to buy milk powder since got 10% discount but they dun have small size. Waste my trip. Get yr hubby to stay away from clariss

Hi Sunbelle, I know a few ivf forum ladies also taking protein powders from GNC and Amway Nutrilite, these are not the body building sort, so it's safe, it's like taking calcium or iron pills. Mine is fr Amway Nutrilite, from organic plant source, I was taking it even before ivf cos some friends recommended saying its good for conceiving n pregnancy. You don't have to worry about it if you start to get enough proteins daily, i know it's quite hard to accept, took me a while to accept it

Hi Joanne, thanks, I'll take note of the pack during class. I saw the bath towel at friend's place and thought it looks cheap cheap heee...but if good for newborn skin, should be worthwhile getting it

Hi Pierced and ladies interested in getting new cots. I visited Baby Kingdom and Hypermart earlier today and noted there that there are generally 3 types of cot quality:

30 inch width:
- Pine Wood: generally around $350 including foam mattress (they carry same range as Kiddy Palace and same pricings but no warranty at these 2 shops)
- Cherry Wood: $450+
- European Beechwood: $650 - $900

The Babyone latex mattress is $199 with holes (will look for sale price at Baby fairs), breatheable, anti dustmites, anti fungus, better support for baby weight etc (hmm...I can't rmbr the list of properties)....

I think that's all I've gathered

Hi Catherine, I'm motivated by your early child education
Just wondering what's a good age to start Shichida? The other brain stimulation/ development centers are not as good, Little Genius, Little Neuro Tree etc?

Just curious what does Growing Up Gifted teaches, how diff fr Shichida? Sorry, all these are very alien to me

I wanna ask if it's compulsory to hv an infant seat in the car? I got a chieat at seat but only for 6mths or older. Infant can't sit in car seat right? Is it ok if I wear the baby carrier (baby bjorn) and carry my infant in the carrier if I sit behind in the passenger seat? Cannot right? Someone told me its ok.

I got a dark line running from my belly downwards - anyone got it? Heard it's pretty normal due to hormonal changes..

Is it ok to lose alot of weight in 1st tri? Today i went to see Dr Loh, did the routine weight test and found lost another kg. Since preggy till now, i lost 5 kg le. I forgot to ask Dr Loh during consultation.

And today finally had appetite and a huge craving for chicken bryani! Ate half pack with the curry then realised got indian spices. Oh no .. dont know safe or not. Anyone got any views? Sigh~ So nan de got appetitie then went to crave the wrong food!

Tanny, i think its compulsory, dont know read from where. Today i saw a infant carseat cum stroller at Spring Maternity. About $400 quite worth leh since got both infant carseat and stroller. But i think the infant carseat cannot convert to toddler carseat later on.

Tanny, i think the dark line running down ur belly is called Linea nigra. It is caused by pigmentation in the skin where your abdominal muscles stretch and slightly separate, to accommodate your baby as it grows.

Hi J03,

thank you very much for letting me know that we are not alone to get the circle foto hahahaha
we really miss seeing the full one leh.....

Hi Tromso, you r right . i got the same feeling as you on protein powder. oh yes, jus to share what i see in metro baby fair -shears white cot plus mattress plus bumber set - only $299. tomorrow last dae leh.

Angel, Babyjourney, today i finally go shopping eversince ET! MS gave me 1 day off since yesterday so i took the energy burst to go buy some maternity bottoms and pumps. Shiok! But stamina still low. The moment i finished buying, MS reported again.

Bought a simple khaki shorts and black office skirt at Spring Maternity.

hi heartbeats,

is normal to lose weight in 1st trimeter. no worries, second trimeter you will catch up one ..no worries as long as baby is growing well can liao...

Tanny, i tink is under the law to have a car seat for baby cos will deduct merit points from driver if caught by trafic police.

today's dr loh clinic is until what time huh?

Babyjourney, yup but i was there around 12 and today not much waiting, i saw him and left before 1pm. How's your scan today? Oh ya, he got allow you to record? I was going to reply your PM that he allow recording of ultrasound leh, so nice hor?

I saw him today is impromptu one, early morning got a tiny wee bit spotting.

Heartbeats, Have your spotting stop? If hv spotting, dont walk too much or carry heavy things ok. Good that you manage to go for some retail therapy. I only manage to buy 2 bras today.

I was there abt 1250pm+. Waiting time today was v short. Today's scan can see baby more clearly (than TFC) and my baby is moving ard. Yes Dr Loh allowed us to video the scan and he even turned up the volume till v loud to let us hear and record the galloping heartbeats sound.

Sunbelle, it is indicated on the website that Dr Loh saturday's clinic is until 1pm. But when I left at 1+, there are some more patients waiting to see him.

Ya! Today waiting was so good, i told Dr Loh and he said cos he made it an effort to finish up early at TFC thats why can start his clinic at O&G earlier and less crowd! I also saw babies moved for the first time today! So awesome hor?! Hubby was jumping behind Dr Loh in shock. Hehehe but when hubby record, babies stopped moving, so didnt managed to capture on video, hope next visit can capture.

Spotting ok already, it was just a tiny wee bit. But now i worry about the chicken bryani i ate. Greedy me!

Subelle, i think last appt is 1pm but he accepts walk in so sometimes when too many patients, he can see until 3plus.

Heartbeats, I think dont have to worry too much about the bryani. Coz indian pregnant ladies also eat bryani and indian spices mah. Moreover, you did not eat ALOT, so think should be ok.

Heartbeats : Aiyo I also eat chicken bryani too! And I din even rem the spices until u say it here. Nvm lar - Indian pregnant also eat this right, Malay also eat curry right? Eaten already then don't think abt it.

tronso,

i bought my babyone latex mattress (largest size) with holes, anti-fungus etc at kiddy palace for only $89.00!!! after discount, original is around 120++. Baby kingdom and hypermart stuff can be ex.

Joanne,

we bought the full set ($29) at wong bb's class..got 2 thick wraps which we are using and bath towel and also small hankies very gd and soft (quick dry) for cleaning bb's face.

I remember someone was asking about mixing FM n BM during feeding is allowed? According to WBB, it's better to separate. Feed them with BM first, if not enough then followed by FM.

For Destin, only use when baby having rashes. Otherwise, just use normal bottom balm like Avent brand is good enough.

Heartbeats, glad your ms is subsiding.
Hope the scary spotting goes away ASAP!

I was at O&G around 1:15pm+. Am still very excited about hearing baby's heartbeat for the first time! I thought my baby seemed quiet/sleeping but it's heatbeat certainly tells me alot is going on in there. Dr Loh said my baby moved but I didn't really catch it. Luckily my DH recorded the scan so I can watch it over and over again to try figure out his/her gentle movement.

Hi chris
I bought that set too and tt means the price goes up as i bought at $31.50.. For those who want to buy the epack now can buy at the shop opposite the tmc admission counter..

Hi cool
Thk u..lets pray all of us will hv a smooth pregnancy and carry our bundle of joy after 9th mth of pregnancy..

Hi heartbeat n baby journey
How u gals do the recording? Ur hb record using the monitor tt doc loh is looking at or the monitor infront of us? I dun dare record as worry he dun allow.. Next time i must record too..;) thks for sharing...

Hi heartbeat
There was once i take abit of indian curry during first trimester too n feel bad after tt as realise they using the five star spice to make the curry.. Fr then on, i stop take indian curry..;) but, if u not oways eat, shd be ok..

Hi Tanny
Yes, they say is a must to use infant seat.. So i oso looking for two and not sure how a saloon car can squeeze in two infant seats, my boy, maid n me??? Think cannot bring maid out else how to squeeze?

Hi Chris
Ur discount for the mattress in kiddy palace is bec u hv the member card or due to promo?

Bbjourney, I was planning to buy bra today too. However felt quite tired after seeing Dr Zhao (straight after appt with Dr Loh), hence headed home instead. Did you buy those with no under wire? Think I read somewhere that it's not good to wear bra with under wire during pregnancy..might affect milk glands or something.

Babyjourney, Tanny, Joanne, i scared liao. Today was so so so craving for it. When hubby refused to buy, i throw tantrums and almost cried leh. Then he buy back, i eat like gor dio like that untill half pack then realised. Scared liao, wont dare to crave liao. Somemore i so prone to spotting better dont anyhow eat. Appetitite seems to be coming back. Just now hubby cook maggi mee, i ask for just the soup (no noodles) and couldnt resist a 2nd helping of the soup. Now tummy super full, haha

Angel maybe our babies movement still quite gentle. Dr Loh was also the one who first point out movement, i didnt even see till he said so and zoom in. Then there it is, little hands waving. Dr Loh say "Baby saying hello" hehehe

Joanne, hb stood behind Dr Loh and record the screen Dr Loh is looking at. My angle also can record the screen at the ceiling but too far leh.

Joanne, my hubby also recorded the monitor that Dr Loh looks at. Think the angle it's less taxing on hubby's hand to hold the recorder still throughout the scan.

Hi Joanne,
Yes, I bought the epack n bottom balm

Didn't buy the shampoo n body wash as I have bought the pigeon brand, also 2 in 1 type.
I'm going to miss WBB class. So fun n lots of stuff to learn. My hubby told my baby that WBB is her 'Lao Shi' hehe. When is your doc talk? Next Tue?

Joanne, i asked Dr Loh "can we take video?" n Dr Loh immediately replied "of cos, y not, get ready." my hubby also recorded the monitor Dr Loh looks at. My hubby said next time he will bring camera to record, today he use his iphone to record.

Angel, u also plan to buy bra ah. Some of my bras getting tight liao. Yes i bought those that hv no unwired. One of e salesgirl told me if the cup size still fit, can just buy the extension hook to sew on. After buying the bra, i also feel v tired and headed home. Actually plan to buy some clothes too but ended up only bought bras. :p

That day Cockcock suggested to hv Dim Sum this coming friday afternoon. Is it ON? Cos i need to take leave.

Dear Tanny,
Thx for sharing with me abt beauty loft! will check them out!

Dear sunbelle,
Dr loh never gave me a nice photo of baby before, probably cos adenomyosis causing the scan to be unclear and also baby in awkward position due to being squeezed inside. I don't have photo of baby's side view of head with body ever since 2nd trimester. the last scan at 22 weeks, one photo is baby's spine (no head no legs) and another photo is baby's 1 leg. lol. No weight recorded on the photos le.

My next scan the coming Thu, i see him once every 2 weeks cos in case complications arise suddenly

Dear Meryl,
Dr loh is really very careful with you. I feel really relieved. And also, really hope your baby gains more weight! I have heard my colleague say her friend's 900g baby managed to survive and grow healthily.

Dear Joanne,
The car seat i bought can turn to face both ways, as infant need to face inwards. I bought from taka fair. Also, you sound like you are scared of Dr loh le! Why don't dare to ask him abt doing video? lol. I also get hubby to record, without asking him, lol :p

Hi Sashamama, I saw the Inglesina car seat you bought at baby hypermart but the sale price is about $450 for 2011 model. Yours was $300+, was it 2011 too? Do you know what's next best to this brand, like cheaper brand? Are cheap cheap brands like Grace and Lucky Baby carseat very lousy? Sorry, I've not started my research on carseat cos all the while thought we'll be getting maxi cosi until recently realised baby will not want sit in the baby carseat after say 6th months (prefers to sit more upright then), so decided no point paying $300 for it.

Hi Chris $89 is really good bargain, the Baby Kingdom guy says they are selling playpen mattress low $100+ and latex mattress no such low prices. I'll check it out at Kiddy Palace. If I'm not wrong, KP staff discount gets 40% off, yours is normal sale price?

Anyone using Baby California baby bath and shower, moisturizer, bum cream? What's your take on it? Thanks!!

Hi Sunbelle, the Shears cott at Metro is very tempting hor...heee, hubby and I were so attracted by the cute and good quality bedding set
It's actually a slightly smaller bed, 27 inch width I think (those sold in Kiddy Palace etc are 30 inch) and this Metro one cant be converted to kids bed, ie no separate 2 half panels provided to guard the kid fr rolling off the bed once the entire front cot barrier has been removed. But if not considering that far, I think the Metro one is a gd buy cos usu such cot is around $260+ range without bedding set

I hv a sharp pain at my left side of my lower back when I try to stand up or just slight bend my back... Is there a way to reduce the pain? And my left leg hv been cramping even when I try to massage it... Still the pain is there... What can I do?

Hi Sashamama
What is the brand of the convertible car seat which u bought? I have the same thinking as Tromso, previously wanted to just settle with maxi cosi. But now, since Dr said my baby is on bigger size, I'm afraid can only use for few months. A bit wasted. Might as well get the convertible one.

What about stroller? Is there one which is convertible from infant to child stroller too? Didn't do market search on this type before as wanted to buy the Quinny one.

Now got to consider again hehe

Do you have any bleeding leakage on your mattress after delivery? Do we need to buy moisture proof mattresses cover?

Hi sunbelle, for protein, I'm assuming you are already taking soy milk and mummy's milk powder, not helping? Did you take twice milk powder a day cos its packed full of nutrients. I'm also more of a vege person but has since increased meat intake due to pregnancy, can detech the perspiration smells stronger now lol...

Hi Heartbeats, Joanne and I are both quite careful about our food, so I avoided curry during first trimester too. When I entered into mid 2nd trimester, I immediately went to have chicken briyani heee...I guess can relax a bit when pregnancy has stabilized especially if have concerns about the status. Otherwise, don't give yourself extra pressure ok

btw I was quite presently surprised that outta the, say 5 eating joints/ restaurants I've been, 3 serve fresh mayonnaise, meaning made fr raw eggs
Especially Jap restaurants, Italian and western joints. Hence it's good idea to query before ordering.

Hi Faithfully, could it be sciatic nerve pain for you? Does it ease off if you try to not sit/ lie on that side? I used to have sciatic nerve pain in first trimester but with target muscles exercise, it has since not re-emerged. Hope you'll find where the problem lies and feel better soon.

Hi Baby, ahhh I know, you are also concerned that Zapp Extra isn't suitable for newborn right? Guess what, yesterday we did an observation. The baby carseats are suitable for newborns and has slight inclination, same for the Zapp Xtra too, slight inclination, not 100% flat (I think new standard says 100% flat then suitable for NBs but I noticed most carseats ain't such). For Zapp Xtra, once the newborn cushion padding is added to it (abt $80), we feel it's safe for NBs. Planning to get the cushioning head supports too for use in carseat, stroller, home in case the devices are still tad too spacious for newborn. We like the Zapp Xtra cos can reduced to very small when folded up, fear that car boot may not have enough space with normal strollers plus barang barangs.

It's a real headache, only yesterday I realised it's impossible to fit in 2 carseats plus another adult into the back passenger seats. So if planning for 2nd child, mean pocket big hole, car upgrading, sigh
Maybe garmen should give big and young family special concessions for car purchases heh...

Hi Tromso
The baby carseat you mentioned is it the maxi cosy which can be used only up to 1 yr old? Might be too small after baby 6mths, then must change to child seat already. Now come to think of it feel a bit wasted.

The Xtra Zapp is good. I'm also thinking of buying that for stroller. Was thinking Maxi Cosi infant carseat because can fit it in the stroller too, but hor now confused liao hehe.
So the Xtra Zapp can use for NB baby too? Maybe getting Xtra Zapp for stroller n for carseat get those convertible one hehe