(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hazel, catherine

i've just checked the gripe water that we bought was woodwards. I've just given her 3/4 teaspoon mixed with water. Btw do you all feed bb with water?
Coz clariss 3 out of 5 meals per day is EBM. Attended wong boh boi's classes tat don't need to feed water to babies. And i also dilute my gals FM feed too. But my in-laws keep saying got to feed water to her if not she won't be able to poo like my gal. They keep saying i stubborn didn't feed her water daily tat's why she 5 days liao still didn't poo poo. faintz............
6884815.gif

Today the 6th day and no signs of poo poo yet. stress ah........

Tromso : Im also with Sam but not gg today. lazy.. Sometimes she does quite a lot of poses, but other times she does indeed talk a lot/ sharing a lot.

just had a lot of durian pancake yesterday.. got to wait 3 more weeks to see my bb.

is it use baby detergent to wash the bb clothes?

Heartbeats,

heehee wow u still remember drinking gripe water..cham i dun have any memory of drinking it hahaaaaa..aiyaya my stubborn hbs dun wanna give it to our gal cos say she's too young while my in-laws, dowager and my sil insisted tat fr newborns gripe water should be given daily to improve digestive system. Wat i dun like is whenever my gal doesn't poo poo all arrows will point to me and everyone including hbs will ask wat have i eaten etc... actually i seldom eat fruits cos too lazy to go buy.. Like last round i didn't eat fruits, and in-laws found out wow kena lor said bb drink my milk how can i don't eat fruits no wonder clariss didn't poo etc......faintz.
6884837.gif

Tronso,

i remembered speaking to one of the malay massage ladies which my mil's fren recommended me and i called her up to fix appt for prenatal massage cos neck and back aching ah..that time i just reached 32 wks and she said once hit 32 wks cannot massage cos might cause contractions etc

Shasha,

Yup same for me, eversince i got preggy hahahah i became queen ah..hbs dun let me do housework, most of it done by him..unlike last time we always "quarrel" about who never do hsework etc..he always joke with me say hahaa better enjoy myself for the 9mths as i'll b queen...blah..blah...
But i did some hsework too cos need the exercise and no patience to wait for him to do cos it will take donkey years....

My poor bunny is grounded to his cage ever since clariss is born..we only let him out like once in a blue moon, he used to ran around the house daily when we are bk from work. Poor boy, maybe tonite i might let him out cos he always at the cage door begging me to let him out with his 2 paws standing up. hahahaa
6884849.gif

Hi tronso,

i'm used to be with updog fr big splash. The trainer encourages us to go for lessons up to the day b4 with give birth heehee my class got alot of ang mohs and other foreigners.

Hi Chris, thanks. Yes I've heard the same thing about massages in 3rd trimester too, especially the ankle and breasts, may cause contractions. Ok, if I'm trying prenatal massages, will do it during 2nd trimester only, thanks

Tanny, glad you mentioned that, alright, I will be looking forward to more exercises from Sam
I'm planning to stick to Monday 11.30am class unless it's not suitable, like if it continues to be very gently (perhaps more 3rd trimester ladies there). May I know how big is the class size on Sat? How's the 2nd/ 3rd trimester proportion like?

Hi tromso
How much is the baby safe pillow after discount in robinson? Thk u..

Hi kimmy
Hugz.. Hope u r managing well without CL.. Really tt hire maid n CL is all abt luck... Btw, how much is the charges when u go to parentcraft centre look for wong boi boi? Take care n hope all goes smooth for ur confinement..

Me still busy reading archive...

Tromso, once bb is born they r free to take any insurance package. Yes the wash can b use anytime.

Chris I know which one yr sil bought. U go to gmarket it's about $129 if I remember clearly. We r thinking to buy too at last year bb fair.. See how she react to this one first. If she is ok we will put this at my mum place and the big one for our house.

Yu guo sinseh says Bb can't drink water. Explain later. I m outside and battery running low

Tromso : Oh Mon class is full of tri 3 most of them i rem! i've been twice for mon class i think. Sat class is more of tri 2, like me.. Mon is not for me, cos i would need to take leave

Chris : ya lor, i din know the condition was so bad.. was told that its ok, just kept in store room, just clean clean can use. scared that the poor baby will face all these germs, no matter how well we try to clean it, cos its really blackblack/ greygrey..... yucks! my p/t cleaner came this am and told me its cleanliness condition is really bad. There is no professional used baby items cleaner in Singapore right. I know for luxury bags got professional cleaners.

Need advice for those breastfeeding, do u all latch on or express? Tried latching but guess not rite n now both breasts super pain n hv some bleeding too. Need to rest how long b4 latching again? Tried pumping but qty is decreasing leh. Any tips to up the supply using pump? Thx in aydvance

Tanny, no wonder the Mon class goes quite slow and gentle, so I guess I can't avoid Sat then, was afraid it'll be quite full. How many attendees are there normally?

I think she has another class Thur evening but usually feels quite tired evening time. Are you still doing swimming?

Hi Joanne, the baby safe infant pillow 0-9 mths, is about $17 after discount. Is baby fair at expo cheaper?

The beanies is $28 after discount (wow heart pain but it's quite full of latex pellets, unlike the bean husks). But the baby safe beanie smells of latex, so I'm airing it now, i may just wash it closer to Edd (pillow doesn't smell). I'm planning to get latex cot mattress too but may get it as a package with the cot. I think the baby safe one was $170 at previous Baby fair expo. Baby safe may be a better brand as it's natural latex, I suspect those cot plus latex mattress package may use synthetic latex, will have to check.

Sigh Chris, if I have known It's better to go Como on Sat, I would have signed up at Updog cos it's nicer to visit ecp on weekends
Do you used to attend the weekend classes?

Hi Sisters, need some advice. For those who have taken TCM during your pregnancy, did any of you take ginseng, cordyceps these kind of herbs?

Is it ok to take them?

Chris, the grip water hub bought is also woodwards. It was written there alcohol free. The Yu Guo massage sinseh said can give water wor.. Anyhow, water is used to make FM. So, water has to be safe for bbs! I give belle too!

Hub made me super pissed off! Went out at 9 plus for some car gathering. 10pm I SMS him n said belle is cranky! He still got mood to upgrade the car's software theft n came back at 1am! My mum came to carry belle so that I can go toilet, wash up, etc! M so sad that I made him looked after belle whole night till this morning feed!

tanny,

Dun play play, juz throw it away cos there's alot of bacteria and fungus ..tat time my fren passed me a bb chair the cushion very clean but got bits of dark mouldy spots, we wash in hot water, soak for 1 day and then scrub still no use, then me and hbs went to kaki bkt and bought a new cushion.

ya yu guo also told me can give water but can give v little only if not will damage their kidneys. i read in the web to give not more than 1 oz of water per day (ie 30ml) cos in BM 94% are water.

Heng ah, clariss jus poo 1hr ago, i massage her tummy like wat the yu guo sinseh taught me.

Cool, better dun take any tonics on first tri, ESP ginseng. Wait until bb is fully formed & will absorb more from mummies. After full scan

Hazel,

cool down...can understand the fustration. hbs taught of bringing clariss to NEX baby spa for swimming later, ie provided no rain and she not cranky if not we'll have to postphone plans.

Chris, preferrable to bring bb after 4 mths old. The spa water there dun change very use FYI. Also it is not as sterilise as swimming pool water has the latter has chlorine!

Hi Cool, some of us here starts cordyceps in 2nd trimester. I started from Week 15 onwards. Can add Pao Sheng to brew with cordyceps, as Pao Sheng can bu qi, but has to get the good pao sheng, preferably more than $100+ for 一两 (about 29g) cos the cheaper ones may be the more liang kind. My TCM dr suggests the $300+ 一两 sort (age older) but I only bought the $150 一两 cos cordyceps and birdnests already burnt a big hole in the pocket.

For ginseng, what Hazel says is correct, it's better to take only say in 3rd trimester. Some TCM shops recommend Korean ginseng, which is very extremely good for bu qi especially in 3rd trimester but also not to forget that it's quite heaty. Hence in the end, some chose to take dang sheng and good pao sheng instead.

Hope this helps

Hi mummies, can I check with you, do you bath your babies in cooled boiled water OR use the slightly warm water from the tap?

Also, do you use baby wipes to clean the diaper messes off your newborns? Am reading the magazine and it says drs recommend that parents wait for at least 1 month before exposing baby's skin to baby wipe. I've always thought baby wipes from the start....

Lastly, any mummies using baby monitor? Do you find it useful and what brand would you recommend?

Dear Tanny & Tromso,
Thanks for the advice on the insurance! So I guess there is nothing I can buy now till baby is 14days old? What do u gals intend to get or have gotten for baby after baby is born huh? Sorry I really have not much idea on this!

Dear Tromso,
Ya, after 10 years my hubby has finally almost fully accepted this fact that Sasha comes with Mama, thus Sashamama! You sure you wanna get a dog now that u r pregnant? It'd be double the work. And the heartpain when the pet leaves is unimaginable. I am worrying everyday. She is now deaf, and yesterday, i was sitting on the sofa without lights switched on, she walked past the sofa but didn't seem to see me! Started to go into every room to find me and decided to sit right outside the empty toilet (closed doors) to wait for me to come out, thinking I'm inside! I am so so worried that she loses her sight soon too. It'd be really pitiful. Now she can't hear my soothing voice nor singing, and if she can't see, she'd probably be staying put at one place in fear. How to walk to her food and go to the newspapers to pee and poo? I really cannot imagine... *shudders*
Thx for sharing the link on Induction and Tonics! I saved them in my document's tabs for future reference!

As for the prenatal massage i did at babies & bellies, i bought the cheaper trial first session at $39.90 for 1 hour. I have sensitive skin, so the masseur used olive oil (and used a lot!!!). She starts with calves, then thighs, as well as buttocks, back, shoulders, neck, head and chest (optional). No touching of tummy. Only at 3 places i felt a little more shiok: behind the kneecap area, buttocks area (to clear water retention) and shoulder area. The rest of the massage i felt that it was pretty gentle. I went for massages very regularly before pregnancy and prefer the more painful ones ( i go for foot reflex last time too). I will try 1-2 more and compare, see whether it is common for pre natal massages to be this gentle. Anyway Ida coming in 2 weeks, so am looking forward to that!!!

Dear heartbeats,
I was sitting outside the clinic and then went in to sit at the long cushion outside his room. very crowded, waited nearly 2 hrs to see him but that is very normal la, expected. As for the motherhood mag, i guess i must have browsed thru the wrong one, will go find again!

Dear chris,
As for housework, i also do a bit bit lo, like throwing clothes into washing machine and hanging them, hehe. Your bunny must feel very sad hor? You dun let bunny out cos scared bunny's fur fly around ah? I having big headache cos sasha sleeps on my bed in my room. If i dun let her in, she will bark the house down. Hubby dunwan sasha to sleep with us anymore when bb comes. I agree it wld be better for baby but that is provided i can start training sasha to sleep without me outside the room, probably will do that when maid comes in june. Maid needs to help me soothe sasha whenever she barks.
Congrats on baby pooing! Is the poo especially a lot or smelly?

Dear Cool,
I stayed away from such herbs after pregnancy. Even when i drink bottled chicken essence, i drink those without herbs (but i also stopped drinking the bottled ones altogether after the first few weeks). Im gonna start taking some birds nest this week onwards. That's be the only "tonic" im taking. Am 22 weeks now.

Re: Playmats
I recall the baby expo fair had the playmats. Korean brand and LG brand i think. We plan to get that during the next baby fair. Spoke to the boss, he says buy at fair is cheaper than from him at his shop or from sprees. I guess thats why the mats are pretty much sold out on that last day of the baby fair!

Chris, can't u juz tell a white lie and said ya bb poo?? This save the pointing finger and stress on u. Sinseh told me bb can't drink water cos bb kidney not well developed yet if they drink water kidney must work v v v hard. What my hb do and mum does is once elis has a hipcups let her sip 1 mouth. But hb always overdo

Chris, u breastfeed ur gal rite? It's quite common that Bf babies dun poo everyday.
My gal had once or twice stopp pooing for a few days, her longest record was 9 days!
I read somewhere previously some even dun poo for a month.

It's normal unlike formula fed babies. Shows that ur bb has digested everything in the milk. No need to worry about that.

Tronso,

yup i used to attend the sat classes
i'll have my bfast around 1.5hrs before class then drive up to class heehee after tat i bath at the centre b4 pick up hbs from wkplace.

Shasa

yup my 2 dogs are very old and sick, the younger one depends on long term medication which is burning a bit hole in my pocket cos now got clariss expenses as well. The older one v sick, whole stomach bloated now waiting for her time to come. We didn't really bring her see vet as no ones one to help share the bills and with the test and x-rays will easily cost close to $700+. She's 14yrs old liao. My other dog, which is her son passed away 5yrs ago at the age of 7 also has the same symptoms of bloated stomach, is liver failure also spends thousands on his medical bills and he passed away less than 6mths. So hbs say no more dogs liao..........
6886027.gif

oh i only limit my bunny in the living room, even so he'll jump up the sofa to look for me, if i in my bedroom he'll jump up the bed..

Catherine,

ya we also let her sip 1 mouth..if bb at in-law place and i not around they will feed her water without my knowledge then later tell me lor...hiaz they keep say last time their 4 sons also drink water and fine..and my sil will also says the same thing like her gal drinking water and fine too..But they know tat we dun allow too much water so they give only a little.

During hiccups, my baby niece then was also just given 1-2 spoonful of water, sometimes works sometimes doesn't
very poor thing seeing her feeling unease with the hiccups but luckily goes away quite quickly.

For constipation, I just read this in the magazine:

"Some formulas are prepared with a predominantly palm olein oil blend which could result in harder stools that may be more difficult to pass. Dr Nancy Tan (PD special interest in gastroenterology, hepatology and nutrition, SBCC baby and children clinc) says the fat blend in formulas may affect the hardness of stool - unabsorbed palm olein used to provide palmitric acid may interact with calcium to form insoluble soaps that affect the hardness of stools"

But no specific brand of formulas is mentioned in the article.

Hi Sashamama, I've also not done any research on insurance yet. I may just get NTUC hospitalization plan (I think it may be the cheapest) and a term insurance.

Wow....you are quite adventurous with prenatal massages, do let us know if you find any good ones
Thanks for sharing about the massages at Baby n Bellies. I was also recommended Ida for post natal massages but I think she doesn't do Punggol/ Sengkang area which is where my parents stay.

Talking about Punggol/ Sengkang, outta curiosity, the other day I decided to call up My First Skool at Anchorvale to check on the queue for childcare 2 yrs old. Guess what, for year 2010 babies, there are still 150 on the wait list
No wonder everyone warns about the queue there. Hubby's friend living in Sengkang waited 2.5 yrs before PCF has a spot for her child, I thought the couple didn't follow up hence the wait but looks like it's a reality. Hope more childcare centers can be set up in that area soon, so unbelievable....

Chris, I can imagine having breakfast at relaxing ecp big splash and slowly making the way to yoga next door
used to have more life before pregnant, now just very homebound, I can't imagine life after childbirth...sigh... I recently started to follow the ch8 drama 再见单人床, and started to wonder if it's really that hard to maintain a relationship once the little ones arrive. To make matter worse, the Taiwanese drama 犀利人妻 really makes me ponder more....

Hi Sashamama, from my understanding we r not entitled to any medical insurance b4 bb is born due to ivf. But u can start buying d moment bb is born. The most basic will b medical insurance which u can use your medisave to buy. The rest u can do ur research slowly. According to my agent, she say the rest of the insurance premium will not increase significantly even if u buy them aft bb is older.

Welcome to all new MTBs! Happy that more ivf mummies r on the thread..

Hi cool, warm welcome cux I think besides myself u r only the other MTB under Dr Yu at the moment on this thread! Hahaha... On TCM, yup 1st tri dun take herbs. Unless u r comfy wif an tai Yao prescribed by ur sinseh. The rest of bu stuff take in 2nd tri.. According to my sinseh, take birdnest on alt wk during 2nd tri only cux it's considered liane. But in 3rd tri, can tak bird nest wkly.

Hi Chris baby, I read Woodward website. Their grip water does not ve alcohol. N I know my mum used to feed this to my niece. But u can only use it 1 mth aft bb is born? Tats Wat the website says.. Maybe just try it? It may help?

One axa agent told me the new axa plan revamped to include ivf / artificial insemination - started last week. I wait for her further confirmation again. I wan to check what happens to the plan after the bb is born- like can be converted to what kind of insurance plan...

Pierced, my gal is on 90% bm and she poo a lot!! Almost every few hrs one time. If she does not by the 6th hour it will b one Big chunk.

Chris like today we forgot about her poo cos frens came over. We thought she was cranky and I carried her as I read my papers. Suddenly it struck me... It was a lot... So we say sorry to her then she smiles haha.... My mum came over to put her to bed cos I complain ... Mum put her down less than 15 mins she is awake. Now me in the room with her ignoring her cries. Haha

catherine, yup they will poo too, my gal will poo few times too, esp when feeding her.

just that I ever experienced my gal not pooing for few days and I did panic at first, tot something was wrong, Pd said it's normal and I researched and realised they will not poo too sometimes and it's ok, not constipation.

Heartbeats, ya, actually i was thinking of storing fresh eggs too since Im turning 35 this yr and unexpectedly got a BFP for Fet so gotta scrape the idea for now.
Ya, heavy down pour but luckily my gal already had her fun at the waterpark. Not too bad for us, coz we bought a 1 yr zoo membership so we go as and when we feel like going. will be worse for those who got tickets and the rain spoilt their day.

Chris, I know those LG korean kind. hee, I bought those Korean playmats too ever since my gal was few mths old. I have 1 at my mum's and 2 at my place.
They are expensive but worth it coz my gal practically lived in it with the playyard since she was few months and she even nap on it. Even now when she's 4, she still have her naps and at night, sleep on it.

Catherine, if our bbs refused to sit in Bouncer N car seat, what r the chances they will like to be refrain Inge play yard?

Hi Hazel,

My friend jus passed me the basic pink colour net bouncer kinda. I think outside costs abt $39 n mi blur blur jus now forget to ask whether can use for newborn. Now her baby sleeping.

Bb's backbone is v fragile At birth. TW Bouncer needs to be inclined as a small angle so that bb can lie comfortablely SG birth n wun slough.

Hazel, i juz got to keep trying and b v persistent. Must teach her that she can't b choosy ESP car seat. For rocker, now she is better. After I repair my car (being vandalize) I will force her to sit on car seat. Playmat has lots of cartoon I will talk to her to c how. Today we played nursery rhyme DVD and we sang with her. She doze off haha

Long time no check in... Today mark my 6 mths. Went for routine checkup and doc say my wgt nw is 53kg which increased by 9kg before preggie. Doc worry I might hv diabetes cos both my parents hv it but they ONI hv it when the are in old age not from young. Now I am worry whether I hv it cos doc say if I hv it will affect the bb. So doc schedule me to hv a sugar test at 28 weeks. Does anyone hv such cease like me? Is it common for preggie to get higher sugar level?