(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hi Bbliss,

I m thinking of what to go inside our hospital bag. I know some ladies use travel luggage bag to check in. yeah lots of questions in my mind on Breastfeeding too. Do we take fenugreek straight away when we give birth or what?

Hopeful, when did you have food poisoning? My DH also feels that the an tai yao didn't go well with the food I had (just milk and bread baked with sausage, cheese & pork floss). Anyway, I decided not to touch the an tai yao tonight.

Bbjourney, think lemonade is too sour. Going to the toilet 3-4 times sounds bad. Pls drink more water to keep your body hydrated. I am sipping sprite now. :p

only feel my bb moving now 24 weeks..when u feel bb move, is it v low like a hand below the belly button? sometimes i feel it at the side, a hand on the left from my belly button. but no pain.

Angelxuan - could also be tail end of 1st tri, coz it's wheN hcg peaks.. So maybe nature just snuck in pregnancy sign fo good measure
hope u r feeling better now.

Sun belle, the breastfeeding hotline is a hp no different from the parebtcraft no, ya mt a give bathtub. All the 'things' eg hand santiser r not foc. U actually pay for it. Check yr bill....

Chris, really envy u leh can go vivo. Today elis slept better. We wentbto marina bay financial center for dinner, less crowded there. Lucky she behaved v well. My fren gave her h&m sweater and my hb banned me from letting elis wear again. Too short already haha. This morning elis was in gd mood after shower and we talk to her. She boo at her dad after I said daddy only buy things for u not for me... My husband laughed at her. Husband said next week die die we will go shopping to buy sweater and clothes for her. Hope elis behave.

Tzac, now i would say elis is on 70% bm. I give her fm for her first and last feed. My logic is when she wake up, she is hungry better tobfeed hervwell like how we eat breakfast. Also I got no time to heat up bm. She poo maybe every 3 hrs and ya it's yellow and watery. It's ok to ask. I dun mind. Sometimes poo just 1 drop sometimes a lot!! U will know if she wants to poo. Her face turn Red and use a lot of force ... It's like an adult who is pushing our sai out

Tanny, next scan ask dr the exact bb's position. Eg head, legs n hands are where. So, when u feel bb's movement, u will know which part of the body is moving! It can be as low as pelvic hair there! I always ask dr Loh at every scan bb position m also where she is facing!

Bbliss, dunno yet. Seeing dr tomorrow. Belle is like a princess, always wan to be carried sayang!

Hi Tanny, I felt baby's movements at 20weeks. He is moving all over my tummy(below belly button). Dr Loh mention tht bb will move around, no fixed position yet.

Chris and hazel, finally my husband is convince Elis dun like aircon! It was proven on sat at shopping mall and last night. No matter how we coax her to bed once she reach the bedroom she gets up in like 5 mins and we must carry her again Rock her to bed in the living room. Finally husband told me off the aircon and use fan. Now elis has not get up.

Bbliss,

yup dun stress yourself too much over breastfeeding. I've got 1 fren same like catherine has alot of milk ( she didn't take any fish soup or papaya soup) but engorgement till inflammation till finally she took pill fr gynae to stop milk flow. My mil's fren daughter everyday take papaya fish soup still dun have milk. It varies. Like me, only a bit compared to my frens but they told me dun stress over it just pump lor, whatever we have be it little just give to baby. For me, when i start pumping, i'll find a place like my bed, make myself comfortable, on the TV and then pump.
6889544.gif
Just try to be in a relax mood.

Sunbelle, following r e items I packed in my hosp bag for delivery.

-2 sets of open buttons pj
-1 face towel
- 2 sets of nursing bras
- disposable panties
- Kotex pads
-1 set of bb clothing n mittens cum bootties ( to wear when gg hm)
- toothbrush, toothpaste

End up, e pj I ONI used 1 set. Bb clothing din get to wear as e nurse told mi they will dress bb in e TMC clothing n hooded towel so no need hm clothes.

All e IT gadgets like chargers, camera, Hp, iPad etc r in HB's bag. He oso packed his own bag for tat day.... Haha... Including all e medical receipts fr Dr Loh, admission letter.

As for frenugreek which u asked, I oni start taking them when asked by boi boi upon seeing her last week n tat is close to 1 week aft my delivery. Tink u can ask e LC on tat day they bring yr bb for u to latch. (Apparently I forgot to ask abt e frenugreek coz totally cant rem got such supplement

Catherine,

heehee good tat u enjoy your meal at marina bay. Yesterday we brought clariss to my mum's place then vivo city. She didn't really sleep v well in the pram tho cos it was really noisy esp with kids running and screaming away. But so far so good, she didn't fuss, we juz give her beannie and pacifier. She slept most of the time but not deep. By the time we reach home around 8pm+ she super tired liao, blur blur then by 8.45pm she KO till 11.20pm, hbs wake her up for her last feed then she ko till 6.30am crying for milk. Now she sleeping again. Should be waking up soon.
6889551.gif

Chris, yup. Taken yr pointers. Gotta force myself to drink more water. Even be4 preggy, I have this bad habit of nt drinking water....

Hazel- yr princess like to be carried n sayang ya ? Mine one when she cries, only e confinement lady can soothe n handle her. Both mi n my hb carry, she will still cry. Can't imagine hw to cope wif her cries when CL leave.... N which is y my hb ask mi to tahan e CL grumbles n. complaints since we nid her....

Juz can't imagine hw vann n kimmy coping without having a CL. At times, I really can't stand the CL tat I tot of asking her to leave but den......sigh.... Unable to do so.

Phew.. Finally finish reading the archives.. Monday bluez again.. Zzzzz...

Hi tromso
Notice i forget to answer u ur question.. Yes, my hb will do the rest of the shopping fr few wks later.. He has no problem ba.. Last night feel some cramp at my right tummy.. Like gastric pain.. Not sure wht happen.. Maybe walk too much.. Glad maid is coming in soon... As for u feel negative after see 再见单人床, i dun think it happens to all.. Infact, me n my hb had some quarrel before hv my son.. After give birth to my son, we still hv some quarrel due to he dun hv much patience.. But as time pass, we become very understanding to each other and due to son, i feel so touch n see the positive side of him as see how sweet n caring he is to him.. His committment and help etc.. So i feel glad to be with him n it actually bond us closer.. Think is due to my son that i see so much positive side of him..My current pregnancy is a pleasant one as he covers all housework include play with son so tt i can rest.. So dun think negative after see the show k.. With the birth of ur bb, u will feel touch of how he play with her.. Drop tears too.. And will feel the family complete. Quarrel will get lesser as both of u will be more understanding to each other and wont want to affect our kids well being..;)
Hv no time go robinson.. Zzzz so hope motherhood fair got baby safe pillow promotion else my hb will get all things fr kiddy palace le...

Hi kimmy
Hope u can Shun shun lili complete ur confinement n glad u fire ur cl..

Hi hazel
When ur maid comes in? I oso busy buy toiletries, mattress for him last weekend.. My hb setup her bed too.. Feel abit stress as hope my mum got things for her to do else later she get too pamper as nothing to do.. Did u prepare a list of houserules and duty roaster for her? Need to draft out the rules n let her knows on the first day.. Hope both of us get a gd maid..;) also, hope belle health result pass with flying color today...

Catherine,
hahaha clariss love air-con, PD every joked and commented by baby is a air-con baby during the 1st appt when we brought her to see PD for her rashes and flu. PD says give her air-con if possible. faintz... She sweats easily and after her feed if there is no fan blowing at her her hair will be wet ah....faintz

My fil is finally convinced after PD told him to keep her cool as she afraid of heat so now he will on the fan for her to keep her cool hahahah and not insist tat we let clariss wear long sleeve and pants.

Sunbelle, me using avent electric single pump.

Chris, thx for tips. Ok if use nipple moisturising cream? I realizd tat of bb suckle, the nxt rd when u pump, there will b more bm. I m happy tat managed to hv more tis morning whwn i pump :) may i knw anyone buy small fridge juz to store bm? Does it hv freezer? Where to buy n how much?

cant believe tat i hv delivered her as its like i m still pregnant haha Talkibg abt tat, i still hv a 3 or 4 mth preggy tummy. How abt those who delivered? Wonder when can slim down. Guess will b difficult as find tat i v v hungry nowadays, eat mire than when i m preggy

Bbliss,

yup i share your thoughts too..tat time i complained to my hbs daily abt CL and hbs keep tell me to tahan ah... can u imagine my cl telling clariss tat " aiyo, your mummy lousy dunnoe how to carry you, only i know how to carry you tats why u don't cry'..... Angry rite? i was super pissed off when i heard it. She talk infront of me and took over the carrying of my baby when she cried non-stop.
But don't be stress over CL thing though i know is tough..cos if you can't get help elsewhere then got to tahan tahan..

Tzac,

its okie to use nipple cream. But it didn't work for me cos after applying Avent nipple cream, my nipples got inflamed, and i used cold compress to ease the pain and then use BM to apply. BM is "foc" good and natural and by 2 days it healed

Congrats!! if you can after pump let bb latch on it will help to stimulate more milk. For me i dun have chance to let her latch on, only tried like 3x let her latch on when i was pumping 1/2way CL brought bb in for her to latch on a while. It helps and my milkflow increased..but muz be persistent to see good results. Like now i seldom have time to pump, milkflow will start to go down abit.

For bb man yue celebration, can sisters share which buffet caterers did u all engage n any ordering of cakes ? Thx !

Tzac,
Breastfeeding will make you more hungry hahaha but dun worry it burns more calories so you'll slim down. Like me altho i eat more now, my weight beginning to drop slowly. Don't really need to exercise or diet. My frens who are breastfeeding swears that they loose weight..even wong boh boi says tat she gained 26kg during her preggy and she breastfeed all the way and regain her pre-pregnancy weight by 1yr.

Bbliss,

i ordered from meihao99, but please dun order from them, they are late and forgotten about the stools which i ordered, end up my guests got no seats for 1hr. (later they delivered the stools in 1hr). Think can consider lavish which hazel recommended or NeO garden (which i initially wanted to order from) But point to note is tat i heard from my frens tat NEO garden's food portion just nice for the guests not much extra.

Catherine,

I went to baby gap usa website and also ralph lauren baby wow wow sooo cute... but got to order in bulk and not just a few pcs cos hbs and my sil says if just order 1-3 pcs not worth cos of the shipping costs. hmmm?????? Like 1 bb gap dress s'pore selling like $49, USA selling USD23.00. Bodysuits selling like USD9-12 here selling $19-$29.

Hazel,

How's belle doing? Hope her check-up will go smoothly and clean bill of health.
6889622.gif

tzac,

i don't use small fridge to stall BM, i stored them at my chiller section (cos i dun put any food there) for 48hrs as i dun have alot of extra to freeze anyway. For a start you can buy a bigger air tight container to put your EBM bottles in the freezer, then when u get more BM then change to a small fridge. my neighbour bought a freezer to store he BM. You can take a look at courts, i ever went tamp courts (near ikea) to have a look at the freezers ($299-500) depending on the capacity and if there are promotions price is cheaper.

catherine,

hahaha i told hbs about u hitting the baby cot..ad he laughed..then i told him at least she hit the cot not like him "hit" his daughter's cheek. then he defended and say he "hit" lightly etc.... again i told him off and say even catherine's hb also dun do it, they are all very gentle. hahahaaa

Hi BBliss, your case sounds like mine previously. Dun give up yet. Some older folks will ask u to stop since no milk like my MIL previously. She keep saying better to give FM, i was super stressed out at that time, plus already feel so lousy coz not producing milk.

I kept massaging and took super lots of Fenugreek, plus the moher's milk tea and fish &papaya soup. Did u get a malay massage lady? I got mine to massage my breasts too for me to increase the supply. and i did manage to build up the supply. Plus pumping initially will not get much coz it's different from latching. The let down is different. I only managed few drops first and slowly increase.

If u still intend to BF, dun give up and maybe consult the TMC consultants again. They will help u.
Theres also a support group to help out.
http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/

tanny_baby

anytime if you can start exercise once doc clears tat you are okie to exercise. Like my sil she started climbing the stairs in her 2nd mth. Just dun strain yourself, try like 2 storey 1st then slowly increase.

Thanks catherine for the reply. Feel more at ease after reading ur post :) din bf my #1 so din knw wat to expect.

pierced,bbliss

just to share, my stupid CL also tells me to give up especially after my EBM decreased by 1/2 after listening to her advise on using cold cabbage compress on my nipples... She said tat oh based on her experience some people if no milk, milkflow will decrease lor etc...She even commented tat wow i got no engorgement like before tat means my milkflow diminishing and going to be finished liao etc....... it made me very stressed. I was at my 3rd week then. And i ended up calling my buddies who told me to ignore her and just go on, the most substitute with FM la..

Hazel,

heehee i told my sil too tat clariss loved to be carried and she complained tat hers doesn't wanna her to carry, too "independent" till at 2 mths+ when my sil wants to carry her to sleep her baby started fussy and then crying as dun wan her to carry prefer to doze off herself. The only time bb likes my sil to carry is when they are in the car or go shopping.

Chris. that's so irritating rite, esp when u expected the CL to be mre experienced and encouraging esp u are a 1st time Mummy, we won't know what to do.

Tanny, actually u can start exercising anytime as long u have no medical condition. For my #1,i walked everyday, I didnt climb stairs in 3rd tri coz of pain at the pelvic, and afraid we might be a bit clumsy and fall.Otherwise, just brisk walks or strolls will help too. I did a lot of swimming too. so was quite easy for me to push my gal out.

BBliss...u sound like me...i also have such a low supply of breast milk...problem is i also can't find to pump cause so busy taking care of her...hubby returned to work today...so left alone to care for her...got my mum to come down to help me so that i can get some sleep...i also want to breast feed but so little supply...feel like giving up.

Hi vann, agree w u tat dun hv time to pump, always seem to clash w her feeding time.

Bbliss/vann, how long it take to feed ur little ones? Mine drink 20 ml n will go to zz liao, worried whwther she is taking enuf milk or not..........

Hope, Ron, thanks
I am feeling better already and eating well. No more merlion.

Hope, how's your discharge thingy? Did you see dr Loh to check?

Angel,
the white / water discharge is fine, no that much already; but i will still let Dr Loh knows when i see him on Thursday.

but this morning i feeling very nauseous and feeling like going to vomit ( i think this is just a matter of time
) no good feeling!!

Chris, it's so hard to get elis to sleep today and I have a lot of laundry to do. Frens came to c her and gave clothes. I must Hand wash first time to make sure colour dun run. My Filipino part time maid said elis is fat cos I took too much vitamins when I was preggy. The maid taught me how to lose weight haha still say I cannot drink cold water and no aircon for 7 mths! My hb told her I m v. Naughty etc. Can u imagine 2 groups of frens came over the weekend all said elis is a daddy gal. They saw her cry but when I carry she cry more. Hb carry? Quiet! Fed up!!!!

Tzac, dun stress. Yr weight will come down. I lost 13 kg in 4 weeks. Now me still stuck with 2kg of fats for 2 weeks. No matter how little I eat, how much chores I do still like that. I believe it will go away.

Bbliss and vann, its gd to have more milk but thats an issue too. U will know when u have that supply. now I only express like once every 5 hrs. If I m lucky I get 80ml. If not only 50ml. I have blocked ducts. Realised on sat. Mayb I should go parentcraft . Chris, should I removed the blocked ducts or juz stop bf??

Hazel, what did the specialist advice??

Hi Tzac
Hows ur c sect wound? Recovering fast? Did u able to carry ur bb? As they say if got csect, cannot carry bb.. Will pain.. Did u use the breastfriend pillow to do breastfeeding? As i am still considering whether shd i buy the pillow?

Catherine,

U might wanna check with parentcraft on whether you should remove block ducts cos if dun remove scare might kena inflammation le. Is it painful?

Hi Angel, good that you are feeling better. I recall reading when taking TCM, need to avoid taking spicy, oily, heavy meals beforehand. For myself, if I take spicy food before, the an tai Yao doesn't go down very well.

Also, it's not advisable to take lemon juice after an tai yao, as the lemon will lessen the effects of the an tai yao....because lemon is 'li' (TCM dr's advise)....I'm not too sure what 'li' is but I've heard it a lot.

As for sour drinks, I used to be ok with yogurt drinks and slightly sour fruit juices (like orange) after meals but now, these don't go down well. I'm guessing it's also partly because these drinks are cold. I read that the enzymes that aids in digestion thrive in warmer climate, so taking a colder drink after meal effectively cools down the system and the enzymes couldn't be 'activated' to help in digestion. These days, I will take hot water after heavier meals, helps a lot for my case.

Hi Sunbelle, I can't remember where I've read or someone told me that the pink/ blue netted bouncer/ rocker is not very suitable cos of the straight inclination design, that the baby will slide down and the body weight is held up by the safety belt putting pressure on the groin. I've looked at other bouncers/ rockers, the inclinations are slightly different, in that the baby will be slightly sitting on the bouncer itself (there is a slight dent in the bouncer to hold the baby's weight). Not sure if I'm confusing you....

Hi mummy, I'm new here fm Feb 2012 forum.
I hv Breastfeed ( it's pump out then bottle feed) my bb 2.5 mths ready. Have Blockage ducts both breast more than a week, no matter how I massage, hot towel, hot shower... Still cannot ease away the hard stone. Any advice to clear the ducts?

Hi Joanne, thanks for your relationship advice
I guess the shows are also acting at a caution for me, reminder to not neglect hubby after childbirth. Actually I observe many young parents friends having difficult times with their relationship especially with pre Pri Sch kids, sometimes mood does feel quite heavy after chatting with them. But it's good to hear encourgements from been-there-done-that parents like yourself, thank you

I think Baby Safe should be present at the upcoming baby fairs. If I'm not wrong, it has a booth at the earlier Baby fair (expo) but wasn't present at the later Baby fair (expo). Before Motherhood fair, there will be another Baby fair in Apr, so if I see Baby Safe, I'll let you know. Btw are you planning to let your little darlings use these pillows at birth or later?

Hi Tanny and Miracles, I'm starting to feel baby movements above belly button last week
Movements are quite a lot during hungry periods, so it gets a bit difficult to sleep soundly after midnight. Do you feel hungry very often?

Tanny, you experienced the lower backpain on Sat? I've experienced the same too, twice, on different days. It was very painful and a lot of pressure but went away within 1 minute. I'm guessing it's normal as long as it's not prolonged and doesnt keep coming (touchwood!!!).

Catherine, i sure hope i can lose wt as i noted i ate 3 meals plus tea as super hungry heehee. Thanks for the encouragemt though :) hows ur engorgemt? Still v painful? Agree w chris u shd check on ur blocked duct n hope u will not hv pain, if any, now.

Chris/catherine, may i know how often u pump bm to b used at later feeds? Is it 3 hrly? Mine is more like juz in time milk pdtn so find it v v stressful to pump in time for the feed. As timing of feed not regular 3 hrly n osso hv to time n ensure bm not left os for 2 long. Aiyo so many things to consider. Still dunno hv bm or not so dun dare buy fridge. Did u all get a small fridge juz to store bm?

Joanne, my csection wound ok. Can walk on 2nd day n i was discharged on 3rd day. Seem like my gynae v early discharged patients as i tot can oni go back on day 4. Me osso stopped taking painkiller after 6 days :) so far so gd n will b going to c gynae tis sat. Hmmm me still carry bb leh, started carry on day 2 n its ok lah. Did wear abdominal binder though so dunno whether tat helps. Sometimes hv slight pain but overall its ok is the bfing pillow useful? Me thinking of pumping out as latching really pain.

Hazel, hows review w doc? Everything ok for belle?

Tzac, my engorgement is done thanks to my persistent in cabbage compress. now is blocked ducts. i am waiting for my "alarm clock" to ring, feed her and coax her back to bed before i can call parentcraft. if u understand what is my "alarm clock" haha..... dun pump 3 hourly. thats what i did! pump when u think u want to. best is juz nice like 5-6 hours. i dun have a fridge to store my bm too. i put in my freezer. like chris, i was asked to clear all the food in my freezer b4 i gave birth. now its all bm except 1 tub of ice cream inside there. thats y i tell my friends, thats my daughter's fridge. not mine. haha

al, me same as u. blocked ducts. i am thinking of going to tmc parentcraft or if really no time chris has a malay lady who can do that. my main purpose of gg to parent craft is to seek advise how to stop bm. i have to stop by mid may to get ready to go back to work.

chris, i am on gmarket now. so many things to buy again. hope my alarm clock ring later.

Hello everyone!

Thanks for your response - had a quick look through now that I got some me-time in between. Just had my Malay massage. Shiokness! Managed to knock out for full 90 minutes. Feel recharged.

Okay, I can't rem. who ask what but I'd do my best to respond here.

CL from hell - ok actually she is quite ok. Just that her methods are traditional in terms of baby care. She's good at cooking at to her being efficient (fast) is what she seems to want to excel at when perhaps cuz I attended WBB class so I have expectations of hw I want bb to be handled.

Seeing WBB - actually I walk in to parentcrraft last wed cuz got PD appointment. So at the same time I needed a place to feed baby. Ms chew (the lady who saw me when I was still at hospital) attended to me, but WBB came in half way and took over. Also WBB felt that I shouldn't let bb cry as I pump milk and just let him latch on naturally. The advice she offered was very sound and reasonable. When you latch, U want that personal bonding and connection.

Bbliss - I was prescribed fenugreek too but I stopped after a day because I had diahorrea big time for days and one morning I saw my bb having the same color of stools too. So after I stopped, his stools turn back to normal mustard. Like you, my CL not encouraging also part of the reason I asked her to leave. I didn't need that unnecessary stress and I was crying so badly. As for breastfeeding, don't give up! Perservere. I know its tough..I went through the same, wanting to stick to BM for as long as I can hence I decided to go parent craft. They loan me the supplementary feeder (I decided to give him FM after he was admitted to KKH cuz I couldn't pump to meet his demand and they fed him FM and he seemed a lot contented. Seeing him cry would break my heart). So what I would do is latch first for 15 min and then supplement w FM after that.
Happy to say I hired LC to come in today and she assured me that I have enough milk supply & showed me how to unblock my ducts. Very encouraging and I hope after this morning session, I can maintain 100% latch on as running up & down to wash and sterilize for night feeds is very very tiring. Let me know if you want the contact as she does house visits which I find convenient instead of having to run out of the house during confinement.

Ytd my frd also loan me her avent dual pump to try and I was amazed that I could pump 30ml within 10 min when the medela fs would take me quite some time to do so and leave me with sore boobs. Then again everyone's breasts are different, so I found avent to be more comfy for me in terms of suction and the padding around the funnel...so you can trial and error by loaning from friends too (a suggestion if you wanna express)...

Okay, got to run. Time for next feed. Hah I had 3.5 hours of me time liao, time to get back :x

Hi Tromso, thanks for sharing the tips about taking an tai yao.

Bbjourney, how's your appt with Dr Zhao today? I just spoke to Dr Zhao. She said that I can stop taking an tai yao as long as I don't have uncomfortable preg symptoms. As for the half dose from ytd, leave it in the fridge then finish it 2 days later. But need to drop by RCM after next scan appt to let her check if I can "graduate" from taking the herbs.