(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Mi have e posting issue too.

Vann, where r u supposed to have yr gbs test ? When I asked dr loh abt this test 3 wks ago, he said do it at wk35.

Hazel, will gbs test trigger contractions ? Wat wld be e implications if tested tve huh ?

Catherine - wishin u a smooth n fast delivery

Bbliss, no GBS will not trigger contractions. Just a cotton bud to swap the vagina. Tested positive need to take antibiotic to clear GBS if not there is a risk of passing to bb thru natural delivery. The risk is reduced to 1/4000 if on antibiotics. Not cleared still at delivery, antibitoic drip thru out labour until bb is born. If C section, no need test for GBS.

I see. Thx Hazel. But wat exactly is gbs ah ? Izit some sort of vaginal infection ?

Btw, hw u coping so far with Belle ? Any changes to her look fr birth till nw coz I heard bb changes along e way.

Oh ya, do we nid to buy FM for standby for e initial few days coz understd from u mummies, it takes few days for BM to flow ah.

Bbliss, group b strep test. You may wan to goggle online for more info. GBS is v common.. Dr Loh told me one.. N easily found in the dead skins on our body, stools, etc. if we r not delivering thru the vagina, we can leave it alone.. The thing abt belle is, she takes v long to feed! Ie an hr! Can faint Loh.. CL has the patience I dun wor.. Also she is a chilli padi. When she is angry as her feed time is here, she will cry the roof down! Give her the bottle when ready she will cry still for a whole coz she is angry! The thing is, give her milk buys she takes her own sweet time to drink! Haiz

Bb has water retention for the first wk after birth.. So bb will lose the puffiness n chubby n hence weight. I can see belle is growing on length (she is long, with long limps too).. More flesh on her face too.

Actually, even if u hv enough BM, is good to give some FM in the first wk of delivery to clear off the jaundice faster. If bb takes after daddy's blood grp, usu jaundice level will be higher.. But FM can flush the toxic in the liver out better than BM.

Gals, any idea if the lamination of birth cert can be redo without spoiling the cert paper? I saw some creases n irritated by it.. :p

Bbliss, first u decide what fm brand u wan bb to take. TMC nurse will ask u If bb cries for milk n u dun hv enough. TMC has most brands, nan pro, fiso, similac, Enfalac, s26, dumex Mamil gold r the common ones. U buy a small tin to standby at home.. I take alot of fish, fish & papaya soup n fluid a day.. N fenugreek n domperidone that dr Loh gave me.. Still not much milk till now.. Only enough to give 2-3 feeds ebm a day.

Also, I used to say at night I wan to latch on.. But now, I will say, FM.. Is tiring taking care of bb.. So I need the rest at night.. Fm makes bb fuller.. BM once bb pee or poo, hungry Leow.. Also on BM, bb poo many times a day still after the first 2 wks of birth.. The cleaning is tiring too.. Dun even talk abt the sterilizing of bottles... FYI, 700ml sterilizing liquid, I m on my 3rd bottle & FM almost finishing 2nd tin of 900g starting fr belle is 1 wk old when she is back.. Pampers, also dunno finish how many packs.. Buying all these also tiring! Tomorrow I going to baby care fair n to stock up somemore!

Hazel, relax. She also drink, poo ... U know how I wish all these fm, diapers can b ordered online and deliver to our house so that we need not go out. U steady still can go out. When is yr cl leaving? I dun think I can tahan 1 hr feed too... I think my gynae did stretch today. Nvm la tomolo inducing her out pain also must tahan.. U juz remind me to qc on birth cert. I better send my mum to do it with my hubby.

Thx ladies. I only pray my gal give me a easy time. All I m scare is she is distress. Gynae nurse told me tomolo morning can only eat light breakfast. But if eat light breakfast where is the req energy to push out?? Bcos I m choosing to induce my gynae nurse booked a bed for me. Heng no sleeping on corridor lol....

Catherine, CL leaving next tues morning. The BC was perfect when I took it home. I didn't keep it properly in the drawer after I took it out to bring to KKH. Any idea If laminating can redo? Take a bottle of chicken essence before u leave home tOmorrow to give u energy to push.

Hazel, I will ask for u tomorrow if can laminate again. Treat this as learning and slimming process. My big boss told me so long as I dun have maid I sure slim down v v v v fast. I m looking forward to wear back my pre preggy clothes and high heels...

Chris, how r u coping?

Hazel, once laminated cannot redo. My CL leaving on Wednesday. Hope she can stay till saturday. If not I got to tahan 3 days all alone plus packing luggage.

Chris, I have no choice but to get used to driving ard w my baby alone. Cos in HK I will also be alone till my hb finish work. We stay in suburb so if want to go out n eat my lunch I will need to drive out. How are you coping?

Catherine, jia you! All the best!

Yes can use wipes. Just make sure is alcohol & fragrance free.

Neil, I feel like bringing belle to Yu Guo & check why she is drinking milk so slowly! That's my greatest headache after CL leaves.. I confirm cannot coax her till she finish.. U very capable.. To handle 2 kids alone.. I will be blowing my top everyday if I were u coz sure irritated.. U bringing your 2 kids to hk alone or?

I dun know what's wrong with me today. I feel so hungry!!!

Ya hazel, I would think gg to yu GUo is gd. Share with me what the sinseh says if u do go.....

Hazel, baby not sick dont bring doc lah. Just that we need to figure out how to handle them. think you bring her to see mrs wong better. Just wondering, could it be the teat? Maybe you try other teat n different flow. Before that, do a trial n error first.
I not bring my boy to HK. He got school, will only be there for march holiday. I stressed lah. My boy seems to be struggling w his sec 1 at SOTA. Full day school plus still got to attend concert on weekends n write review. Don't know how to support him. My stress level not lower then his PSLE year. But at least financially less stress this year.

Sigh, my gal these 2 days new pattern. Wake up at 4am then dont sleep till 7am feed. Shag

Neil & Catherine, yes Yu guo got many sick bbs n kids! Now HFMD is at peak also.. Better dont go... Not teatts.. Already tried a few brands.. My CL actually asked me to use the 2 holes teats for 4 mths old bb n above! Crazy right? My gf asked me wats the issue of drinking so slowly as long as bb is putting on weight? She told me one of her twins was like this too! She said if is wind or colic, bb will be crying non stop... True also.. She said if she drink slowly, just break it up itnto smaller feeds st shorter intervals...

Neil, my girl will fuss fr 8-10pm every night... Suspects cos she knows daddy is home!

Btw, taka sale starts next wk!

Hi catherine,

my gal was really cranky since 2pm.. crying and then sleeping for a few minutes wake up again. She's very tired but can't sleep. So from 6.15pm onwards i got to carry her and she slept all the way in my arms till hb comes home around 6.50pm then she okie liao.

Hazel, actually no harm trying faster teat. If she don't like just keep till she older. Just try lah.

Haiz, my gal day and night also need to carry to sleep. Put down less than 1hr wake up liao. Went for jab today. Doc give medicine for wind. Hopefully get better then she can sleep better.

Chris, sound like evening colic. But if only few hours then just carry. Cos for my boy, the evening colic only last for 2 weeks. Go get a baby sling or pouch. Then you can carry n can still do work. I got the pupsik pouch from Mothercare to carry her so my arm get a break.

Neil, I tried medela S size teat. It follows faster than she can drink.. So milk keeps flowing out fr her mouth during feeding.

Yes, I intend to get a sling pouch soon! Easier to carrier her then the baby carrier that my friend is giving me... Bb carrier, I feel safer when she is older..

Hi hazel
Take fair fr when to when?

Hi Nell
Is pupSik pouch good? In the market got so many, wonder wht brand is gd?

Hi chrisbaby
Looks like u r doing well alone take care ur bb.. Think u already get the hang of it..;) well done...

Hi joanne,

Cos got in-law's help to takeover during lunch so tat i can bath and eat ah. cos morning everyday i wake up around 6am will start to do bb's laundry and own laundry. Then follow by breakfast and then pumping. Then BB wakes up again at around 8+ got to feed her then bath. By then 10am liao, in-law comes over and take over for a while. After lunch, i'm on my own again till hb comes home. Shag ah..cos sometimes bb doesn't nap very long during the afternoons and i got to find time to do hsework etc.

H hazel,

my gal's BC's laminate already came off from the side ah... jia lak manz..hb and i also headache how to re-laminate it ah.

Hazel,

For my gal, we used pigeon 0-3mths wide neck milk bottle (yellow color) where there's a hole in the tits. At times, if she is very hungry she can finish her feed within 10mins. If she is not hungry she'll take her own sweet time like 20-30mins to finish her feed. So far nitefeeding, we dun wake her up, only if she cries then we feed her cos nite time is for her to sleep and we hope tat she'll sleep thro the nite. Now average every 3hrs she'll wake up, me and hb panda eyes liao.

Chris,
Why don't you latch on in the day when you ard alone w the bb. Less work n save time, you don't have to pump, wash, feed, burp. Feed direct when you are alone and at night pump n ask your hb take over.

Joanne, I find it quite good only thing is I can't share w my hubby cos different size. I like pupsik cos no extra clips or ring. So no need to worry whether tight or not. I also bought minimonkey mainly for my hubby to use.

Hazel, I prefer sling pouch cos more natural for the baby just like cradling bb. So bb sleep better. Carrier more for going out when bb bigger. If belle can't cope w the flow, then you have to stick to S teat. Slowly feed lah. Train patience. Cos you will sure need a lot when bb grow up. That's how I psycho myself.

Chris, belle at times can sleep till 4 hrs during the day... Even on ebm also can.. In the middle of the nights, always 4 hourly.. Was told cannot relaminate...

J03, check taka's website. I hv not receive the mailers or aka members so dunno exact dates.

Chris, you bring your bb birth cert to the laminate shop n see whether they can laminate over. Cos when u pull out the front laminate the wording will tear. If stil cannot then go back ICA n get another copy

Yes, can always get another copy of the birth cert by calling ica.. But the word "copy" will be printed on it... I knew coz hub requested for another copy when he can't find his original copy..

Neil, yes that's wat I thought too comparing sling pouch n carrier.. Sling pouch dun hv a ring.. Easier to wear too! I actually prefer those sold in bb carriers & sling shop at UE Sq but I hv mothercare & kiddy palace vouchers, will check these out first tomorrow..

Just arranged for the hairdresser to come my house to give my ger a hair cut. My ger is dropping her baby hair, so getting the hairdresser in to give her a trim so that I can keep her baby hair. I still have my boy's baby hair, all his milk teeth! Happy memories!

Hazel, ue sq at river valley? They dun sell baby stuff... Ai ya taka sales y u come so soon? I forgot to sign on application form now DBS dun process my card. And i m starting confinement soon....I can't go out

Chris, Huh panda eyes? Now I hear yr story, Neil's and hazel make me wonder if I can cope. ESP night feed. For housework I can ask my part time maid to come. Dinner - hubby agree we order tingkat on weekdays and fri night we eat out... Weekends he will cook

Now i m in pain but bearable. Trying to sleep but I can't. My nose is v stuffy and pain is there.. Went to my parents place for my hb to teach my parents how to vacuum the mattress, sofa etc... Guess lots of dust still hover around me.

Catherine, ur pain is contraction pain or coz of flu? Belle fuss yesterday night coz dunno how CL fed her until she vomited her milk during feed.. Thereafter, she cried n dun wan to sleep. CL said she was not full n made some more milk n forcing her to drink, I stopped her. Told her if she was hungry she will drink fast, no need to coax her to drink.. I took over n carried her to soothe her.. Asked her to massage belle's tummy as I suspected she has wind.. Then she quiet now but still eyes big big.. I carried her then thereafter she passed motion,. Then I have her some milk.. This time really hungry.. Finished in 20mins instead of the usual 1hr! CL just wan to sleep.. Belle dun sleep she can't sleep. I coax belle by carrying her m soothing her in front of CL,. She bo Bian, sit there to watch n dare not sleep.. I v nice to her already, nv raise my voice or scold her,, she saw my temper before when I raised my voice at hub,

Hi Catherine n Hazel
That is United Square.. My son favourite shopping centre...;)

Thks Hazel as the website no show yet.. Sianz.. Till now still no updated.. Tts why i thot how come u know is next wk?

Hi Catherine
U delivering today? All the best ya!!!

Hi Nell
Thk u so much.. I see a sling pouch got a round ring at our shoulder area, r u refering to tt?

Hi Chrisbaby
Lucky ur mil come n help u for awhile woah...;)

Anyone know how to make similac milk? Not sure why, after i try yesterday, got bits n pixel of milk patches float ontop n can feel the patches when drink.. Yucky..;( why like that de?? Ammum n nun has no such problem... Any idea gals..

I m at the delivery suite now. On machine to check next is to make me poo. I hate the pooing feeling. Had that when I did my endoscopy check

Hi Catherine, all the best to your delivery, smooth and fast one!!

Hi Joanne, for Similac, just have to keep stirring, no choice, I don't quite like the taste, have a complimentary one at home, just passed to cousin yesterday. I accidentally bought the Anmum chocolate flavour previously, it's quite nice

Hi ladies, just curious. I see that most of you are using Avant, Pigeon, Medela milk bottles. Any reason why Nuk milk bottle wasn't your initial choice? Thanks.

Ya I also want smooth and fast delivery!!!! Thx ladies pls pray for me. Hubby say my contraction no pAttern.

Hazel, my nice hubby got bullied by tmc counter staff!!! Say no 1 bedded tonight ask us to pay to go suite! What the hell! During hospital tour it was mentioned that If dun have the choice we want they upgrade we no need to pay. But what is the message to him now? Tmc sucks. He is v soft so he said ok. For me I m the fierce one I will say no! Making me boil now. Where's kimmy?? Have not seen her in here recently. So ladies if u r coming to tmc better ask yr hubby to b fierce to them. I will sure kick up a big fuss later!

Hello hello! I'm here!!!

I had posting issues for whole of yesterday! Urgh. Actually prepared a longer post but oh wells.

How is everyone?

Catherine - Jiayou jiayou! Wishing you a smooth & fast delivery. OMG, TMC staff needs to be taken in hand. I think they are being 'ya-ya' with their attitude now because they know patients need them more than they need business. Carrier & sling shop is at Square 2 (facing TTSH) on 1st level, near buds organics and toilet.

Vann - I recall reading something about you visiting dr loh recently? I'm seeing him next week hooray, will be 35 wks then! Will probably insist on seeing him at 37 wks again! :p And speak to him about doing GBS test early.

I recall some ladies buying baby ru yi from laobanniang is it? Because I went to some chinese places and all told me that baby ruyi is also in metal container and I said no no no, its in paper cardboard box!

Taka fair : 4 Mar - 26 Mar!
Expo Baby Fair: this weekend!
Mothercare sale: starts 1 Mar!

Prepare your shopping lists & credit cards babes!

Nell - how are you? when u going back?? Ahhhh wanted to catch you before u leave, my mom was asking about you and your daughter earlier...

I gave in .. Took epi. I dun understand y woman can tahan many bb and y woman can go thru natural birth. I feel bad I scold the nurse when she did cervix check. It's pain like hell!!!!! I m shivering now and only at 3 cm. they juz put urine bag on me. I hate the feeling!!!! I should have opt for c section

Thks Kimmy n Hazel n Nell n tromso

Btw, do u gals use maternity support belt? Is it useful? May i know where to get n wht brand is gd?

Catherine, hang in there n jiayou. Hv been checkibg thread to get update on u :) me never try natural b4 but am sure u will b able to c ur little one soon. Jiayou, jiayou ....

Went for appt tis wk n confirmed delivering 1st wk of apr. Wow, its really fast as i counted n its 5 more wks to go.......anyone delivering ard the same as me?

Any1 been to bb fair at expo? Gd? Thinking of getting a Capella stroller n wonder any gd deals there or shd go for taka fair... Hmmmmm.... Left with oni the stroller n think hv gotten most of the things.

Hi Catherine
Relax n deep breath.. Tell urself tt other woman can do it so u can too.. U will feel very relax after epi take into effect..;) jiayou woah...

YA epi took effect but I still feel pain. Now in birth room watching cartoon to relax. My mum still say not pain. Nurse knew I was in great distress and ask me quick jab epi in. Feel so much better. To b honest this is worst than my knee op or appendicitis op!!!! 3.5cm now when m I reaching 10cm?? I already missed the lucky birth time my fs lady gave!!