(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

joanne, why dont u tell yr boss? better to say now. let me share my colleague story. my colleague also only annouced at 5 mth and i know both my bosses are very unhappy about it - they are saying dunno why she cant announce after 3mth still must wait until 5 mth, seems to think she is not cooperative /like not very team p;layer kind, only care abt herself, cos they need to plan man power around her. my bosses then tell the ladies to say as early as we can - i guess they meant after 3 months. ha, maybe my bosses kia-su, or rather my dept need to plan resources well cos we dont hv extra headcount or cant just employ a temp to do our job.

yrs is its twins, so u may hv to bed rest early and maybe got to deliver earlier. i tot its good to tell your boss asap. is there any reason that you dun wan to say first?

no worries, i also din gain much weight.. only 1kg in 1mth, during 4 mth.

baby-me: i also sign up for wong bb class in march (sun slot). i already started wearing maternity clothes. i hv packed away all my normal clothes. more airy and roomy. i think its bad to make the tummy feel tight like no room to grow. dont restrict growth of bb, like what my frn told me.
now sianzz.. my hubby disallow me to go swimming aftter seeing the news of chlorine leak at phuket swimming pool! aiya sianz, that one is phuket mah, i really feel like wanna swim.. *hai* anyone tried before? safe right? just slow breaststrokes only mah.

Had my 14th week scan last 2 weeks. Dr M scan me and say bb is at 11cm and growing well... I 1st time sugar level high and I told her I had 100+ before I came and say I am honest. Then I told her last week I had 2 small cup of durians and she advice me nt to eat eat cos it high in sugar and bb might be too big and diff for me cos I am on the slim side. She keep asking me if I had consipation or nt and ask me to eat more veg & fruits & water to prevent it. When she scan me I ask her can see bb gender she continue to scan but bb lying in a yoga position buttock facing up but lying flat and hand stretching out. She try to scan the buttock but can't see anything ONI see buttock. I didnt see dr loh scan machine before so I cant comment but dr M machine still can see my whole bb and she will measure bb height. It will took me a while before i see the bb. My detailed scan will be on 06 mar. So worry.... I also hv sign up for the Wong bb class at amk in 28 April @ 2 pm. I also sign up for the FBI card gt so many goodies from applying FBI and when I last visit the clinic also give me free gift... Milk powder & bb mat/nursing mat...

Hmm.. A stranger said I don't look like I have just delivered!
. Anyway, just bought a play pan ($99) from
Expo bb fair!

Tanny, mine is Sat slot. Agreed with u, don't restrict bb growth. Must wear those loser ones. Btw, where did u buy your maternity wear? Any recommendation? Those I saw in shopping centres like very ex. Don't want to spend that type of money.

Hi tanny
I cant make it to sun class as need to take care my boy so can only make it on wkday.. But all r full..;( oh, i hv forbe last time so try to hide long.. But already prepare to tell him next week as i hv to wear maternity wear soon.. So is before 5mths..;)

Hi baby n tanny
So far, i spend $70 for 4maternity wear thru a spree here.. My mum say very cheap as she say buy here very expenisve.. I remember i spend abt $300 10yrs ago when buy at a OIO shop for just few pcs.. Yesterday i just bought another 6pcs for $90+ so i think is more than enough le..;) those maternity r so sweet n nice.. My mum praise it too.. Say really worth the $$.. She is one of the mum fr aug n july thread.. Very helpful of her to organise this spree for us..

Hi hazel
Thks for ur tips, will give them a ring tomorow, hope they can squueze me in...

hi hazel,

my gal will turn to her daddy when hbs call her. but i heard fr frens tat bb too young nw so vision blurr can't really focus. wat they c is black n white blurr image.

Wah hazel, u can still go out when u r on confinement? $99 is cheap. Too late for me to go now too

Btw not sure who did ask b4 on bird nest price. I went with my mum to Lao ban niang juz now... Red colour bird nest (dun know what's it's called) we were quoted $1.5k. Usual price... $1.9k. V v v v tempted. In the end still din buy. My mum say I ate so little bird nest now have a lot at her place. Those who wants to buy cordceyp, pls buy now! Was told the price will go up a lot soon. Now at Lao ban niang it's priced at $950. Soon she will raise price. My mum bought half liang for my confinement. Was given a v reasonable price....

Catherine, need to buy things leh.. Now with my mum at poh Heng buying jewellery for belle.. Her full presents.. :p She is really pampered by everyone!

Wah gold so ex now... Yr mum love belle a lot!!!!!! Lucky gal. I would decline if my parents buy my gal such things. I rather they keep the $ for themselves. Feel so bad now they r standby for me like today mum can't go Msia with my dad. My mum dun want to go to her co d&d becoz my gal is out by then ... She scare no one look after us. Dad now cannot run around sg... My parents r juz rotating among themselves if one is out the other must stay at home in case anything happen to me.

Catherine, my mum said 外婆 must buy jewellery one.. Is a custom. Anyhow, both her grandchildren (my niece & nephew) she also bought last time at full mth.

She also said after full mth, bb is to wear silver anklet which she also bought for belle.

Wow hazel, belle is really blessed with lots of people loving her
great! Wow her full month party will be even more fun with lotsa of people sending their blessings hehehee

Saw my fren's 3 months old baby yesterday which is also a princess. Compared to her elder bro n sister, she is so kuai that she din make much noise in 4 hours. just drink milk n guai guai sit down there n watch tv with us. Hrd she slept thru after 1 st week ...wow....

Jus had a nightmare that lose the baby n my job. Yeah den realise within the dream inside is like I m also dreaming n the person ask me to check whether am I dreaming or not. Inside the dream I alreadly realise i m dreaming so feel relieved. Hmm been having lots of funny dreams lately. Wonder you all have such experiences too?

Oh yes, Hazel, for baby's bath, which brand you using huh? Is their hair shampoo the same as body huh? Yeah when I went back NTUC yestersae , the newborn pampers discount no longer have. Now they have pampers 3 for 2. You may wan to stock up as is ranges from size S-L. not many left though.

Hi J03,

Dr Loh only gave me fish oil n prenatal vitamins. Yeah mi also din take iron n calcium. I believe we can absorb these from the normal food that we take.

Yo, ladies, do u all still take salad huh? which salad sauce is safe for us huh? I used to love ceasear salad a lot but hrd gt raw eggs so I stop taking. felt like increasing my vegetables cos realise not taking enough.

Dr loh dun prescribe iron or calcium unless he feels that mummies do not hv enough.. Like wat we shared in previous postings, excessive iron & calcium supplements r no gd to mummies. Since we are also getting enough supply from the food we eat.

Sunbelle, thanks. I hv lots of diapers at home. Ntuc always hv sales now & then.

Chris, how many times clariss wakes up for night feeds? I told the CL to drag the feeding time this wk & to give belle more per feed coz currenty her last feed before bed time is 930-10pm. Then CL wakes her at 2 & 6 am respectively to feed. If not, dunno what time she sleeps until... So, if her last feed at night can be 11-12am, I wun wake up thru the night until next morning then feed. Easier for us. My mum also told me after her full mth, if she sleeps thru, no need to wake her..

Gals who r starting to buy bb stuff.. Dun buy too many 5oz bottles for start with.. Coz some teats, may not suit bb very well.. Eg medela teats S size is bigger, some bbs will choke.. Belle doesn't but the milk flow is faster than she can drink so milk will flow out fr her mouth.. V wasteful

My 5oz bottles r free.. Avent n medela.. Then realized she suck v v slowly on avent..so I bought 2 nuk bottles since tmc uses that.. But nuk teats r rubber, need to change every few wks if not, they will turn sticky.. I m going to buy 8oz pigeon bottles to try.. Since she needs bigger bottles soon,.

Sunbelle, we use Kodomo non-resinable shower gel. For both hair n body. Just one drop will do.. Bb is v fragile n water temp needs to right... N hv to be careful not to let bb catch a cold.. we wrap her to bath room after removing her clothes, cleaning her eyes, face n mouth.. Then Wash her hair first with bath tub water, wipe her hair dry before removing the wrap n place her in bath tub to bathe,

Gd morning!! didn't have time to go thro the threads, super busy day since fri when CL went back ah...

Had baby shower on sat, the caterer was meihao99, chose them last minute cos heard good reviews on motherhood forum, food so so only. But service cock up ah!!! They supposed to arrive at 11.15am to set up the buffet as buffet starting at 12 noon. They arrived only 11.55am after i called them 2x, they say driver caught in jam. Then by the time buffet set up already 12.35pm and then i realised tat they passed the wrong quotation to the driver so he didn't bring the stools which i ordered. So angry i called the office up and screw them upside down ah cos all my guests have arrived and no seats ah!! Then they quickly sent another van to deliver the seats in 30-45mins. Forget it, anyway i didn't pay for the stools cos not stated in the invoice. I was very angry with them cos that day left only me to coordinate as my hb went to fetch my parents and pay vegetarian meal as one of his fren vegetarian. My in-laws came around 11.20am to help out with preparing and heating up the food they brought along for the buffet. My mil very good cook, brought along pineapple rice, vinegar pig trotters, abacus seeds etc... Very chaos cos my frens, in-laws frens and relatives and my colleagues all arrived at the same time. Everyone is calling my name ah..how i wish i can divide myself to 5x hahahaa
Anyway heng ah shower over liao.......
Should have ordered from either neo garden or maybe lavish, hiaz........

Today 1st day alone with bb, woke up around 5.30am cos bb crying, fed her around 6.05am - 6.15am. She very hungry so finished her milk in 10mins. Then i coax her to bed and then i went to wash up and do my laundry and moo moo session. My gal slept thro and woke up around 9.10am, prepared her BM around 9.20am and fed her. Now leave her alone by herself gonna bath her soon. I'm soooo hungry ah, had milk in the morning but now hungry cos need solid food..........

Chris, I told me guests, bb shower from 12-130pm! So, they will come at different timing.. My CL still around.. So I either I carry or she carry belle that day.

Your hub woke up at 530am today also?

Today 1st day alone with bb, woke up around 5.30am cos bb crying, fed her around 6.05am - 6.15am. She very hungry so finished her milk in 10mins. Then i coax her to bed and then i went to wash up and do my laundry and moo moo session. My gal slept thro and woke up around 9.10am, prepared her BM around 9.20am and fed her. Now leave her alone by herself gonna bath her soon. I'm soooo hungry ah, had milk in the morning but now hungry cos need solid food..........

Hi hazel,

nope hb let me sleep thro out the nite till 3.30am after he fed the bb and let her sleep he went to sleep around 3.30am then i take over. U le?

wow at least your cl around to help out during bb shower. My CL gone before that.

Chris, CL had to wake belle up at 2 & 6 am for night feeds. If not dunno wat time she sleeps till. Anyway, like wat I shared above, m going to ask CL to drag her feeding hrs to 4 hourly this wk so that I will hv an easier time after she leaves. I already up her milk at 10am & she finished it after 4 hrs gap from 6am earlier feed. I read this can take up to a wk to adjust.

Hey Chris,
I extended my CL till I leave for HK on 3rd mar. I will be alone like you by then.

I have a trial session that day when my CL went back to Malaysia to chop the passport. I was alone n my hb only back at 10:30pm. Still need to drive to airport w the bb to fetch him. Difficult to concentrate esp when the bb crying at the back. Stressed! It is not easy handling alone need a bit of getting used to.

I also have my baby full moon last weekend. We have it at a restaurant about 5tables. Just eat then go back. No need to clean up the house after the party. I did not order those full moon gift box. I ordered the Ang Ku Kueh n Glutinous rice from this stall at Bukit merah Blk 127. My CL offered to cook the red eggs. I bought packaging from Daiso n SKP then we pack our own goodie bags. Quite fun. My sis-in-laws n nieces came over to help me w the packing. Our guests love the Kueh n the rice. I found this stall from got ieatishootipost food blog. The peanut one is the best!!!

For those who wants order AKK can try this stall
Poh Cheu
127 Bukit Merah Lane 1, #01-230 S150127
8am-6pm
Close On Sunday and Public Holiday

Hi hazel,

So nice your gal slept for so long hrs.. Mine has her last feed at 9-10pm, wakes up at after midnite or 1am++ then after feeding sleeps till 3am++ another feed then all the way to 6am+++. Headache ah. My sil's bb last feed is 9pm then sleeps thro all the way till morning ah so nice.

Chris,
Your baby good gal alr lah. My baby feed every hour or at most 2hrs from 10pm to 4 am on then she will sleep more and stretch the feed to 3hrs. Hope she will chg her cycle soon. Every baby different. My elder boy skip the 3am feed at 3weeks old, so last feed 1am and first feed 7am. Both baby are fully on BM. So now I only really fall asleep after my 4am feed, skip breakfast and wake up ard noon.

Hazel,
My hb based in HK. I based in SG. Now either of us got to fly up or down every weekend. Since I on ML then fly there n stay till end of ML then back lah. Supposed to fly over today our house Reno delay so need another 2 weeks then can move in.

Neil, wow! U working here while hubby in hk! How u cope? The flying is so tiring & now with 2 children somemore!

Qing, did a swap test for infection? Who is your gynae? Mucus discharge with blood.. Hm.. Just ask gynae if there r any risks to bb & if it is accurate to do pals smear when pregnant as cervical cells may change during pregnancy

Hazel,

Ya the doc at kk is trying to c if mayb cervical cancer or watever. I googled online myself n alot mention that the result during pregnancy will not be so accurate.

Neil, I agree with u that's a v v v v nice akk shop. I stay near there and always go there to eat... U make me drool now

I juz finish work... Ml starts on fri!! These few days on leave!! Yeah... Finally. Can rest

Hazel, ok lah we quite use to the flying. Sometimes we meet in other cities instead. But now with a small one difficult to fly. And he fly more lor. Now trying out whether I can tahan housewife live in HK. Trial for 2 months, if ok then I come back n quit if not. Then got to think again.

Catherine, enjoy your break!

hi Chris baby,

think I have also read somewhere where this meihao99 pissed off customers by delivering late. but read too many cannot remember where is it. yeah I m thinkng a lot lately about cost of tins n also when to return work after giving birth. Are u all taking no pay leave to spend more time with your littie one huh?

After playing with my fren's 3 months daughter last night, I realise that today I m still thinking of her. Wow looks like baby smile is really able to capture our hearts hehee..

Hi Qing

I am currently having mucus discharge with blood,. I was on 1 wk of forced bed rest and Dr Loh gave me utrogestan.
Dr loh has checked my placenta and i am diagnosed with precenta previa.

Did the dr did a test to see if u have infection? Do u have cramps? Did the Dr check your cervical length via ultrasound and bb heart beat?

Maybe u shd rest more, walk less and see if discharge lessen

Hi Eveline, still preggy

Meryl,

I started spotting then mucus discharge for more than 3 weeks. Given more than 5 times of injection and bed rest for more than 3 weeks. The doctor did not do any test and asked me of my last pap smear which i did in 09. So he told me that he will be doing pap smear in a mth time to see if cervical cancer or anything.

Every week he is more interested in the fetus growth and I hve to b the 1 who ask him if there is blood clot of cysts in the uterus which is causing the discharge then he will scan n tell mi dun hve. He didnt said anything abt placenta low and i also tinking is it possible to b vaginal infection. When I mentioned ti him I did SIS scan with Dr Loh n he did even knw wat is tat scan. So i m abit disappointed wif him. After I came hm n read abt the inaccuracy if pap result when preg i more sian.

What test did Dr Loh did for u? I tinking of going to Dr loh for 2nd opinion bt paisay as i went to him when i knw i preg then decide to go bk kk after deciding that kk is still the ideal place i wan my bb to born in

Hi hazel,

There's a bigger BB fair at expo this weekend!!
Its by media corp and there's more companies participating. I wanna buy a bb mattress for my gal, saw it at the fair Babyone hole mattress but they dun sell just the mattress alone and have to buy with the bb cot as a bundle. So the salesperson told me tat if i wanna find bb mattress may considered the coming wkend fair which has more companies participating thus more choices and i might be able to find it there.

Nell,

Wow you are really capable!! I've not tried bringing bb out alone yet. Only tried bringing her along with hbs to Joo Jiat temple to pray last sunday. Heng ah she slept thro the journey in the infant car seat. We were both very kan cheong cos 1st time bringing her out ah.

Hi hazel,

Heard from my sil is actually normal and good for your gal to sleep throughout the nite. Its better to let her sleep and not wake her up for her feeds during the nite cos if not BB's sleep will be disrupted and she will be used to waking up every 3-4hrly and when CL leave you'll have a tough time. Like us we hope tat bb will sleep throughout the night ah. My sil's bb started sleeping through the night after her last feed around 9pm till morning ah since her bb was 3wks old. In the morning, its advisable to wake bb up for her feeds tho.

Hi hazel,

ya my gal normally wakes up around 12am+ or 1am+ then every 3-4hrs she'll wake up for her night feed eventho we feed her FM. We are trying to prolong her sleep so normally we dun wake her up but she like alarm clock lor will wake up and cry for milk ah!!! faint .. she drinks about 90ml FM

Hi nell,

Wow you on total breastfeeding ah? cos u mentioned your bb wakes up every 1-2hrs at nite? We give our gal FM cos cannot afford to wake up every 1-2hrs will die ah.... My sil's bb also takes FM and last feed 9pm then sleep through the nite. So nice rite!! She keep saying we got to train our bb etc but i agree with what you say every bb is different. Of cos we also wished our gal will sleep thro the nite too.........super shag ah.

catherine,

So happy for you!! Now you can finally rest!! heehee...Please try to nap and rest as much as possible and eat well to build up your body stamina.
6702025.gif

Chris, I dun give milk whenever belle cries for milk. I will carry n soothe Her & give pacificer until is time for milk feed. At times, she has not poo yet, uncomfortable n cannot finish her milk. An hr after feed, she poo.. N after that she wants milk again coz her tummy has space now! I wun give one coz I dun wan her to get indigestion.. Anyway, she wun be able to finish either.. Yesterday night was bad.. Fed her at 8 plus to abt 9pm after 4 hours from last feed. She only took half of the 105ml of milk. Shortly after, she poo! Then 10plus she cried for milk & dun wan to sleep. CL wanted to rest n made another 50ml of milk for her! After that she still cried.. I told CL no more milk! Is FM not BM which is easily digestible, BM can feed on demand but FM cannot feed like this. I carried her n soothe her n gave pacifier (at times, she still cried) until close to 1am then I gave her 105ml FM. She finished 80ml & fell asleep! So, if CL gave in to her cries at 10plus & fed her more, we know how much she can drink!

Your silis right, got to train bb If u wan bb to sleep thru. The first wk is going to be tough but, no choice.. Rule of thumb, cannot give fm at such close interval.. If indigestion even worse.

Qing, I know who your gynae is already. Anyway, go see dr Loh for a 2nd opinion. No need to be pai sei. Dr Loh is ok one, just tell him nicely his KKH dr suspected u may hv cervical Cancer & wan to do pap smear. And he didn't even do a vaginal swap to rule out infection. Tell him u r hesitating to follow him coz of your condition - mucus with blood as you r worried bb maybe born premature n TMC is way too expensive if that's the case. Share with him that his kkh dr may hv good skills imparted by him before he left but lacks the experience that dr loh has. Say something soothing & reasonable. Dr Loh is understanding enough.

Also, I will advise u to change to another experienced O&G KKH gynae. U r already pregnant. So, no different to those gals who got pregnant naturally. Just hv to tell the next KKH dr, that since dr Loh left, the current dr u r assigned to is not experienced enough. I recommend Prof John Tee. U can see him either at clinic A or tps. Prof Tee used to cover for dr loh delivery cases when dr loh is on leave. Remrmber, every pregnancy & delivery carry risks & need judgment calls fr the gynaes. Good & accurate judgrment comes with years of clinical experiences which junior dr lacks no matter how gd their skills are. If i were u, i wun let the current dr deliver me.. I dun wan to put bb & myself at risk. Btw, How many wks r u now?

Fyi, i was seeing John tee before he transferred me to see dr loh for Ivf. He is also my mum & sil gynae. My mum was diagnosed with big fibroids more abt 10 yrs ago when she was early 50s. She was bleeding now & thrn coz of that. The usual solution for these ladies at that age is to remove the entire womb. But John tee didn't coz he suspected that my mum will reach menopause soon then. If so, fibroids will start to stink in size.. He did a hormones test then n confirmed. So, nothing was none but closely monitored my mum. Within 6 mths, my mum really had menopause. She went for yearly pap smears n scan thereafter & fibroids are shrinking.. The smaller ones are so small now.. John tee actually told my mum to see him every alternate year instead now.