(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hi Girls, read ur updates. Glad everyone r crossg various milestones.

Ron- if u r worried abt the pain, get it chkd with the dr. Reassurance is the best medicine at times. Tk care.

My amc scan is due next week. I was given options either to go for Scan alone or scan plus bloodtest. Scan gives 80%accuracy while bt is 90% accurate. May I know if u girls r doing both scan nd bt as a part of downsyndrome test.

Ron, me too experience such pulling pain occasionally n I get worried. M also having bloatedness, but according to the pharmacist she mentioned dat was one of the side effect of the oral progesterone.

I do experience some breathlessness if I walk or stand too long. M jus tested BFP on Tuesday.

Hello!!! Sorry for late report, after the fair v hungry so we went lunch then coffee & cakes

Okay so the fair we found nothing much, quite small... They give motherhood magazine w goodie bag and then there's avent, pigeon, cordlife, baby clothes, insurance, baby studio photography etc. Pampers only drypers, pigeon and some jap brand. They sell wet cloth for diaper bags also. My pov: unless u intend to go see how the avent, medela and pigeon pump demo and suction, no point. Or unless u wanna buy sterilizers, pump, milk bottles etc. not much prams on sale or cots. Hope this info helps. P/s: one exhibitor told us next month suntec got new bb fair which is twice this size and more things.

oh to add on also have sell the parklon/LG mats, and other brands too (but from same manufacturer) at $110 for the large size I think :p

Kimmy, thanks for the update
was thinking of going tomorrow. But now, don't seem very interesting. Will go to the suntec one next mth

Sunnie_Gal >> no worries. Glad to help. Yah, go suntec one next month cuz the person said its twice the size and hopefully there will be more things too.

Welcome Sherlyn and congrats on the bfp!

Mommies- how many bought avent sterilizer vs. pigeon? :p I saw both today. One has a 3 in one and the other looks not too bad too....

Kimmy, my dad went down in the morning and said there's nothing much at the expo too, so I didn't go down, went harbor front centre to get Jamestown cot bed n stuff from mother care flagship shop instead. The stuff can be delivered at later date upon request.

Sherlyn, Congrats!

Hope, I'm doing both the BT & scan. Did the BT this Wed. Going to follow up with the scan 2 wks later at week 12. Wondering if the scan is too early though...

Typo error, I got atlay white cot bed, not Jamestown, quite good buy coz it feels sturdy and sales discount of about $300 now.

Hazel - detailed scan need to take blood also? So scared of detailed scan yet so excited!!! Talked to cordlife today and they said if after drawing blood they find not suitable, $900 non refundable out of $1400 (special pkg if deliver in tmc)

Ritzc - wow they can deliver cot at later date? That's good cuz i nowhere to put for time being :p yours sounds like quite
a steal @ $300. I saw one at spring maternity @ $2244 -
faint!!!!!!!

Ladies!!! Omg!!! (tears) I can feel bb moving near pelvic bone and near lower belly!!!!!!

Kimmy, detailed scan no blood test. FINALLY!! U felt bb movements! If at pelvic bone is v obvious. That isy most sensitive area too!

Kimmy, it's about $300 discount from original price of $800 plus for the bed without mattress. But can apply for Vip mbrship n get further discount for other items like coolmax foam mattress n fitted sheets to go w it. It's a good buy coz all in all I spent $700 plus for the cot bed, coolmax foam mattress, cute jersey bed sheets n mosquito net, while originally just the bed frame itself is already $800 plus.

There r cot beds that cost $1000 plus at mother care flagship shop too, but it is beyond our budget la. My parents n inlaws will faint if we spend so much on bb bed. I juz wanted to get a dropside cot bed but the others I see r either shaky thin panels or too exp. So we settled for atlay n I'm v pleased w my buy though hubby keep saying the accessories such as the jersey bedsheets r too exp. But the bedsheets r v smooth n love the design, v cute!

Hazel - I know!!!! While I was typing the previous msg on iphone waiting for dinner I felt a "goong goong zhnng zhnng" from left to right ard pelvic bone and then i was like huh? and then I felt the same thing from right to left. Wah! I tell you..I was stun for a while then I told dh and he said see! Baby telling you hungry, quick eat. hahahahahaha. Wah i tell you, tear loh! Cuz Ive been talking about this so much this week right? Shiok!! At least now I know what to look out for. keke.

RitzC - wah that's very good value leh! From 800 to $300!!!! how to apply for vip membership, must spend a min. amt? Yah loh i think ridiculous to spend so much for a cot leh. $2244 is after discount somemore (faint). I rather spend on other more worthwhile things. So you 'tested' this one is 'stable' already ah? how much are the jersey bedsheets? Is the cot a 'standard size' meaning we can get mattress and sheets from anywhere or only from mothercare shops? Sorry for my questions and brownie points for cute design! ahaha I'm such a 'sucker' for such stuff. Only the harbourfront outlet have this cot ah?

Sunnie_Gal - no idea what it's made of, but I went "wow" at first becuz it looks quite stylish and even when you convert to bed when kid is bigger, looks quite nice. brand is leander I think (you can google to see images). I tot Spring maternity brings in affordable stuff, so when I ask the price I din't expect to hear $2244 after 10% discount. Alamak!!!! Really beyond budget, that one! (fainted)

Kimmy, can apply for mbrship w $300 spending in accumulated receipts within 3 mths. The cot is $437 la, down from $ 875. The mattress a bit exp at $288, but after discount $259, bedsheets originally $69 for 2 pieces, after discount $62. Mosquito net my dad nagged me to buy but not necessary la, bought at $16.50 sales item no further discount. Think nearing bb fairs most shops offer good deals to stay competitive. Even kkh bbjorn air going for $169. But that I intend to get after bb is 2 mths so to see whether he is comfty in it

Sunniegal, cot bed generally a bit more exp than cot coz suppose to be able to convert to junior bed to sleep in until 5yrs old.

Thanks for the details RitzC. Wow. You're making me tempted to go look at the cot!!!! I shall check it out. Cuz everyone tells me they buy the one from taka - apparently there's only one brand and type in taka? So am seeing got other designs/ brands a not :p

I check a few outlets but seems like only harborfront centre have cots on display. By sturdy, I mean juz personal prefernce for thicker bed frames n panels rather than flimsy ones that I saw at some other bb stuff outlets. But I didn't went as far as kaki bukit bb hyper mart so dun know whether there r better ones out there. Mattress can get elsewhere but muz fit bed specification less there's gap. I can't walk too much so can't go taka. If got time muz really compare n get the best deal! Anyway, anything involving bb n maternity r usually quite exp , haiz

Hi sisters, it has been a hectic wk at work.. Tired..

Hi Kimmy, huh? Nothing much at expo?
Nvr mind, will still go tmrw to kaypoh. Regarding baby cot, I recall my sil bought hers at kiddy palace. Quite cheap. N steady.. N d thing abt baby cot.. Seems like babies outgrow cot very fast. So maybe buy less ex one? Personal thots. I taking over my sil cot. So can save money.. Hahaha..

Today had another scan at SGH. Just realized tat their scanning machines are quite lousy quality as compared to pte ones.. Can't see girl girl well. N she showed me side view today.. Asked abt 4D scan. Can do in SGH too! But Dr say shd do only during 8th mth cux now BB still look like skeleton..

Hi Sherlyn, congrats!!
yeh.. I ve breathlessness too since bfp. I was quite worried cux sometimes even when I talk a lot in fone during work, I get breathless too. Asked gynae. She says it's normal. Cux of a few reasons. 1) originally I already ve sinus issues n nose is small. So breathing is already an issue 2) preggy time nose membrane will thicken n makes breathing worse. So now every nite I will use nasal strip while sleeping n bought a saline nose spray to help during day time. Hope it helps..

RitzC - thanks again. Will most prolly go MC to check out the cots. Went online and saw them briefly (they look very nice!).

Hopeful - ahha ya nothing much as in heavy duty stuff but if you want to see how to operate and the sound of the various breast pumps then get them do demo for you...haha good that you can save on cot! Yeah, just go and kaypoh - who knows you may end up getting some very cute rompers there. Very cute!!!! haha
How much will your 4D scan cost at SGH, do you know?

Hi Kimmy,I nvr ask lei... But I just saw my hubby niece's baby 4D pic.. Looks so cute!!! N lucky me, I have 2 nieces already.. So my mum told me not to buy any baby clothes cux she has tonnes stored away. So I can save quite bit on tat plus d pumps as well. I think I just need to buy d motor for d "sarong", play yard tats abt it..

Hopeful, is better to get all brand new spare parts n tubes for breast pump. More hygenic. These kind of stuff better dun share..... Even at KKH, when mummies request for hospital grade pump during their stay there all spare parts n tubes r brand new.. My personal views....

Hi msmiele,

Thank u for your reply.
I was quite upset to discover that 1 of my twin babies was gone during the 2nd scan check-up. Now, feel very unsecured n worried....

Spring Tulip - I am truly sorry to hear that you had lost one of your twins during your last scan. No words can take away the pain you are feeling right now. It is normal to feel insecure and worried especially loosing something so precious. It is nothing you did or didn't' do. Nature can be cruel at times. Please don't be discouraged. As difficult as it seems, you need to be strong and be positive. Remember that you have a beautiful baby growing inside you that needs mommy's hope and love.

Spring tulip- don't be too upset. I was also supposed to have twin but my other baby did not have a heartbeat...at least one of them is growing healthily. It is better to lose it at an earlier stage than much later.

Sherlyn - A big congratulations to you. You must have grinned from ear to ear when you received the call with the good news...we all did. I'm afraid the pulling, tugging, bloatedness (flatulence included), breathlessness is all part of the pregnancy package. So don't worry and enjoy the ride

Hi Spring tulip, sorry to hear abt this. But as msmiele said, u need to b strong for the other twin.

Just came back from parenthood fair. Yup nothing much to buy but I found a new pram love. Joolz.. It's really ez to handle n steady. But cost $1498. They will b at suntec fair again nx mth. So will decide by then.. Also saw pictures from studio loft. Wow, I like the preggy pics. Anyone has any feedbacks on them? N also pre natal massages. Anyone thinking of doing it?

Spring Tulip - sorry to hear about it but yes I agree, be strong, happy & positive for your other baby too.

Hopeful - hehe yeah Joolz is not bad :p I heard that can get further discount if you go and cho cho the guy I think. Mwahahah. Oh yes...preggy pictures, we were talking about them the other day at the fair. kekeke. Looks fun!

Hey..should we organize a dinner (so that working mommies can join in too) for Dec or Jan?

Hi Kimmy, is it? D Ang mo guy can give better discount? Hmmm.. Thx for d tip..
Yeh.. D naked preggy fotos look sexxyyy... So tempted! Dinner in dec sounds gd!

For books, can check out the coming popular book fest at suntec 19-27 Nov and other warehouse sales at expo. Usually can get good value of $ during these fairs too!

Been having headaches recently. And wake up from naps & sleeps to feel numbness in my hand/fingers. Wonder why. Anyone who has similar experiences?

Er..Those book fairs usu dun hv those I want. Also, very messy too to look around. Eg fom baby Einstein, baby genius, flash cards, etc. Even if they do, they r still not as cheap as those online..

Hazel, sometimes really have to try our luck at these book fairs
I like wandering ard and looking for 'treasures'
sometimes, can really get very good buys

Hopeful - that's what I heard from my cousin whose frd got the joolz at $1,100+ I think...and the frd loves it

Hazel - thanks for the link. Very useful, never knew of this site. Haha very convenient for lazy bums like me who likes to click click click

Sunnie_Gal - great, anytime in Dec or just weekdays/weekends? Let me know so that I can start making arrangements/reservations ahead. Hehe. hi-tea sounds very good and tempting too! Oh you are not alone, I've been having very bad headaches too that it makes me feel nauseous recently...yikes!

Hi Kimmy, noted. Will see if I can push down d px a bit more in dec. Keep thinking abt the pram.. Think we will get that..

Btw I m at 16 wks + now. How's d appetite of sisters who are ard d same wk as me? Ate u eating a lot or eating very little? I ve not been having appetite. These couple of days I only eat twice a day. Late breakfast/early lunch n dinner.. Is it ok? A bit worried. Cux I only put on 3kg from d time I bfp till last Friday..

Kimmy, any weekday afternoons good for me.

Hopeful, u're doing OScar scanning this wk- wk 16?
Thought It's recommended from wk 11-14?

My appetite not as good now though no MS. Now wk 10. Dont like rice now. Sometimes, just eat baos. Lost some weight. But still try to eat at least 3 meals a day + snack at tea-time.

Hi Sunnie Gal, no. I did my Oscar scan last mth already.. Nx mth doing detailed scan. But now in 2nd trimester n no more MS. So thot shd eat better n start putting on weight.. But still not happening. So just a bit worried

Hi Sunnie gal

I am in my 9wks plus. I have also having hand numbness. I did a search on the net and it is due to water retention, and the webby calls this carpel tunnel syndrome . I wonder if we are too early to get numbness as we are only in first trim. I think maybe due to duphaston . I am seeing Dr Loh tmr and will check with him.. I will keep u posted

My morning sickness come and goes.. I vomit air, clear water or sometimes yellow gastric water. No appetite for food too. I notice I have weight fluctuation. I can gain 2kg and then lose 2 kg the next 2 days. Do u experience this as well?

I am still having spotting and will be asking dr loh for another jab tmr.

Meryl, pls keep me posted abt wat Dr Loh says. thanks

I burp a lot. My weight doesn't fluctuate so much. Still within a kg. but I'm not slim in the 1st place, so have excess weight & fats to fall back on :p

Meryl,
I'll be seeing Dr Loh tomorrow too, but its at 230pm... Guess its gona be a long wait for me liao... Afternoon slots always have to wait v long.... Are u working currently? Maybe can request HL from Dr Loh so u can rest at home.... He'll give you one... Take good care

Meryl, u got to do wrist exercise to prevent carpel tunnel syndrome. That is what mrs Wong taught at anteNatal class.

Kimmy, the cheapest books r still from flip kart website. That is an Indian website. Books r v v cheap in India coz they r usually printed there. I can get nursery rhymes vcd/cd at 68 Rs. Divide by exchange rare of 38, it is dirt cheap at <sgd2. I ordered the books n CDs which will be delivered to my sil's plc in India n she will bring bk for me. Bb books like baby einstein, baby genius, etc are all ex in SGD even when there is a sale. For bbs, must buy board books to prevent tearing n those touch n feel books r not cheap too.

I order from book depository only those I cannot find at flip kart. I just ordered 14 bb books from book depository n cost me only sgd80! Ordered from flip kart another 8 books n 2 DVD t be sent to India also! Ha!

Hi ladies I heard from my cousin the ship "hope logos" will dock at harbourfront on dec 17 and u can go up the ship to buy the books there.... The books r cheap there... I plan to ask her to grab some bb books for me. If u r keen do reserve a date on yr calendar and make a trip there

Hi Sunflower, I am seeing Dr loh in the morning, purposely asked for the earliest slot to prevent long waiting hours. Hehehe

Hi Hazel, yup, noted. I read that we need to raise our hands above our head to reduce numbness

Merly, morning also bad timing leh. He has many ER, ET and other O&amp;G procedures to do in the morning. I always see him in late PM at tps. He only run clinic at that time n nothing else... Unless he is called away fir emergency delivery...