(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hope, been thinking how you're doing. Hope the spotting stops soon, take care.. My prayers are with you!

Bbliss / Hazel - i think I'm just fat, that's why pop out. Maybe also cause I just finish food that's why. After digesting for like 3-4 hours then simmer down already.

Hope283 - Yeah, email Dr Loh like what the other sis suggest here. Maybe also try to bed rest more and not to bend/walk around too much. If dr scan and said bb is fine, maybe it may just be 'pregnancy spotting' as what other sis here have mentioned before. I hope it stops soon though so that it doesn't worry you out too much. Prayers with you too!

Hello eabb >> wow! Twins! Congrats! Hmm I used to tell myself if I do have multiples, I will confirm deliver in KK probably because I know they have experience handling it and have the equipment for it and also any unforeseen costs wont be too insane on the pocket as vs. private. Not sure whats your take on this, but end of the day, go with who & where you're most comfortable with.

Hope, since the dr is at his clinic today, just walk in again. I walk in every week since week 13 coz I'd be more anxious at home facing the spottings. Ur dr will not turn u away once u r there. Take care

Otherwise, seek second opinion from another gynae. Frankly, for my next pregnancy, even if I have to do ivf again, I will ask to change to a non ivf gynae after bfp. Their bedside manners may be better. I dun mind a kan cheong gynae who do more rather than pass everything off as 'normal'. Also, amongst all reasons for bleeding, some may be due to low placenta. Seek a good gynae for advice to get assurances n medical attention.

Good morning sisters!

Kimmy, how was the cordlife event?

Eabb, congrats and welcome here!

Hope283, how's the spotting? Have you seen a doctor yet?

My mum made chicken soup (with ginseng and chicken essence) for me yesterday and after I drank it, I feel pulling on my lower abdomen.
Could be coincidence but a little worried.

Good morning!!

Koirc, I went to EYS and they told me that it is alright to drink plain chicken essence without any herbal. They say for me, I'm less than 3mths preggie so any herbal is NO NO for me.

Not sure how many months u r preggie..

KKH Patients - Anyone knows when Dr SF Loh be moving to Thomson? Asking on behalf of my 2 friends who had ivf with him for their past pregnancy, and they wish to do another ivf soon for their second/third one. Please advise, thanks!

Morning! What a lovely morning to sleep in unfortunately can't

Koirc - Cordlife event was not too bad. Towards the end a bit 'boring' for me cuz they were talking about labour/birth plans as well as nutrition for newborn to toddler. Haha maybe cuz it seems so far away for me so only my mom & husband were listening in. My mom did buy me some stuff from the baby bazaar they had along with it too (she too excited). But my main takeaways were benefits of cordlife (which I will need a personal session with the husband since he wasn't there during that presentation), baby & tummy massaging and bonding with baby from Mrs Wong.

But Andreanie is right, whatever Mrs Wong covered was like at teaser to get people to sign up for her anenatal class. So I'm pretty sure it will be covered again during her classes.

Thnk u girls. My spottg bit subsided and colored turned to black. Tody I had a very light black spotg in the morng. Will observe for another one or two days and decide accordingly. I hv sent an email to dr loh whether I need to increase duphaston. Will followup with a call later. Thnk u girls for all ur support.

If I hv to change gynie, wud u pls give some recommendations.

Hope - Rest well, girl. As Kimmy said, some ladies do spot throughout their early pregnancy but go one to have healthy bouncy baby. Hope dr Loh replies you soon. The doctor scanned to confirm bb is fine, so stay positive, & try CRIB as much as you can until you HL ends.

Wow Ron, you're amazing!!

Eabb, welcome to the forum and wishing you a smooth twins pregnancy too! Do you have morning sickness? Just want to compare ;)

Hahaha.. Ron, I would ve thot u r not working!! Tsk tsk Tsk... Skiving ya?? =p

Hahaha.. Ashley, now u seen the spreadsheet u know who is ur benchmark?
u feeling better or still the same?

Ron, you are so helpful and active even in this thread. Good job!

Ladies, may I know what is Dr Tan Heng Hao from KKH's weekday and weekend consultation fee?

Hello Ron - Thank you so much for helping to do the spreadsheet. You got my info right, except I changed my EDD date from June to Apr. Hehehe :p

OMG! Earlier I had anxiety attack. I had left office in a hury during lunch to repair a watch and then it was only on my way back I noticed that I was missing my phone. I panicked, and searched, couldn't find. Tried to recall when I last used my phone (these days my memory is very bad) and then I panicked and hoped that phone will be on my work desk. Then again lunch time means anyone can take it away right? So I rushed up immediately and found it 'hidden' behind my laptop (which I put it there while charging earlier). Gosh. I have lost 2 iphones before (1 was stolen in my home when some friends came over) so I got phobia, esp. with all my data inside! eeeps. Kept telling myself "calm down woman!!!".

BTW, during the Cordlife event, there was 2 roadshows for post-natal massage. One was for babies & bellies & another under Rustic Nirvana. Anyone knows any feedback from either before I commit to a deposit?

Hope283 - glad to hear that spotting has cleared up! Phew, that's always a relief, but just keep monitoring. I hope Dr Loh will reply your mail soon too.

Hello to sisters,
Just read thru the forum and knew that Dr Loh is moving to TMC in Jan12, so what abt his patient that is going to do IVF in nov and will he be going back to KKH for consultant?

Koirc,
Hope u're feeling better now. Just did a quick google check, seems like most sites discourage consuming ginseng for pregnant women and nursing mothers. Seems like a lot of food we cannot eat now. Wonders if there's a comprehensive list somewhere out there. Else it's like discovering something new everyday.

Ron,

Just a thought. Do u wanna include a column for HCG? Read somewhere that the beginning levels is indicative of sex of baby. Think it could be interesting to see if there really is a correlation between 1st beta HCG levels and sex and whether carrying singleton and multiples as well. U can just add column and we just input on our own?

Ron, thanks for the spreadsheet
but since I dun have good experience w my gynae, I deleted her name. Dun want cause unnecessary anxiety in her other patients. What doesn't work for me may work w others. Juz most important to get a gynae that one can click w to make pregnancy less stressful.

Hope, u can check w ur frens who have given birth. My next pregnancy I will choose a gynae w good record of doing cerclage. Have a gynae in mind but will find out more about him if I try again for a second kid two years later. U take care n rest more in bed k

uhh.. beginning HCG level may indicate the sex of baby? That is something new for me :p I'm hoping for galgal. HEehe..

Tomorrow 1st scan finally!! scan scan scan...

hopeful - ya, i am skivving but it's so boring at work, plus we have open plan office so cannot surf online for baby prams & all those cute stuff. hahaa.. Yesterday, dh & I went to Vivo to check out some prams & got information overload with all the options!

Kimmy - It's american style dates ya (mm/dd/yy) but do change coz i am sure I got a whole bunch of dates and doctors' matching wrong coz doing it while watching TV. Must relax ya! When r you back to tai-tai again ?

Ashley - ya! you now have twin buddy (eabb!). This week m/s better or not?

Tzac - hmm.. It should open once you click on the link... Maybe need to check your IE setting What error message r you getting? (just realised I sound like my IT support guy at office
).

ladies - pls feel free to add or delete any information in the the file. It's for all of us to share.

Sunniegal - I left out all the other information about our HCG etc, scan dates, etc coz I tot the less info we have, the less details we have to compare & worry ourselves (and other new sistas). The other thing is there is a difference in terms of which date BT is done between doctors. Also, probably more importantly, I was too lazy to track so much information. hahaa... but do ahead and add the column, the file is set to be changed without passwords, etc. No problemo, it's belongs to everyone here, I just keyed in the basic info.

Silsilly, how r u?
Ur bb v active thru out the day? I was lying on my side just now n can feel most prob my bb's leg poking at my side! He is getting more visibly active this week though still gentle, no vigorous kick. Between ur belly button pop out? Mine just getting shallower w a bit of swell at the edge

Hi Ron, tks for the effort for setting up the spreadsheet. I had change my EDD to the first date that given by Dr Loh. Am at my 23th wks now, bb move a lot especially at night when mummy get ready to sleep. Hv to visit the loo 2-3 times at night, so tiring....

Welcome to all new MTB!!!

Hi Ron, I also went shopping this weekend at the Taka sale!! End up bought a wok!! I dunno for Wat.. Hahaha.. I also went to baby section to check out the prams. But just too many pple.. Hubby ask me to forget it cux I tend to faint at crowded plcs even b4 bfp.
Care to share abt the pram info? Same as hazel, I m eyeing the quinny+maxi cosines infant seat. But I a bit scared too big for my car boot. Cux last sunday was reading the papers n they were talking ant quinny prams..

Summer, I'm the same as u, wake up to go to the loo few times every night. U changed to Mt Alvernia? Benjamin Tham is the chatty type right? Read about him a few times in past motherhood magazines

Hey MTBs,
Any one did research on Medela Pump in style (Advanced) vs. Freestyle? I've been engrossed reading about pros & cons and well, both have their valid points! Haha. Anyone care to share their pov as well?

Hopeful - hahaa.. err.. wok is good, very useful
I got a 1st maternity shorts hahha... damn shiok after trying to max out my biggest shorts all these while.. .

DH saw the Stokke in newspapers & he was like "We should get that! It's so cool!" & then he read it cost almost $2K hahaha. *faint*, so I think no Stokke for us.

I haven't even gone so far to short-list but we went to check out the weight of the pram. The Quinny Zapp is very cool & easy to move. So far we like the MacLaren Techno XT, coz it's relatively light & has lie-flat mode. Me now thinking of just using the baby sling for first few months but i think not a practical idea. The Preggos are really sturdy & looks very comfy, but very big & bulky, so unless DH is always helping to carry the pram, I don't think I can handle by myself. So for 1st time MTB, really must ask around friends & family what works for them.. coz I didn't realise how heavy some of the prams were when you need to carry it (either to collapse & put in car/taxi, or sometimes walk-path got stairs!) as opposed to pushing it.

One gf said if you take alot of MRT, make sure you get one with good wheel control & lightweight otherwise v dangerous if cannot get inside before door closes, or wheel get stuck at the gap.

I am hoping to inherit my bro's kids' prams & infant seat, then no need to decide.. hahaha.. unless SIL expecting #3 by then!

Ron - Stokke is cute & good. My relative and another friend has it because they like the adjustable seat height and no need to keep bending down. BUT it is quite heavy, expensive and you must keep dismantling the top & bottom (bottom frame on its own I've seen even the hubbys struggle with it) if you go into a car / taxi. I agree Preggos are sturdy but P3 is very heavy @ 12kg! If you are considering Preggos, S-I is not too bad @ 7kg. It can stand on its own so you need not care about having to lean it against something when there's puddle of water or floor is dirty and you need your hands to carry baby and groceries etc. Quinny Zapp, I've yet to check it out yet. Maybe...soon! Best is inherit prams. haha you know what they say right...you inherit cot/pram/playpen from a child, your child also grow up healthy :p Old wives tale but I guess every bit of savings counts so that we can spend on other more impt things too. Hee Hee

ritzc! im doing great! hope u are too..

yup yup.. bb very active thruout the day now.. i call my bb mr 'shufflin' cos he shuffles all day and especially at nite!! kick kick kick kick! sometimes the kicking giv me nausea! haha.. my hubby feels him kick like most of the time too.. the tummy moves upwards downwards like a wave now.. can feel him stronger now..
and yes, belly button popping out.. but i still look kinda small tho.. the other day, went to my mom's fren place and she asked my mom "is this the daughter that u said was pregnant?"
by the way, ive reached 60kg! i never thought i would reach that number.. ive gained about 6 kg so far.. how bout you?

Hey Ron, thanks for doing this for us! You're amazing!

Jane & Sunnie gal, :'( :'( :'( I'd better tell my mum to stop. Oh no, now I'm worried. Why cannot take ginseng huh?

Kimmy, I do my massages at Rustic Nirvana sometimes. I think it's ok only... I am thinking of doing the Malay Jamu massage after delivery. They say that is very good especially if you want to slim down faster. Hehehe... Maybe our Malay sisters here can advise.

Silsilly, my hubby still can't feel my bb kick
He put his palm on my tummy my bb will stop moving. Then I put my palm bb will move again. Urs muz be a v active boy to give u nausea! I'm 62kg now, gained about 4kg. Btw, how's ur gynae? He put u at ease?

Koirc, don't worry so much. It is not just ginseng, I was told to stop eating herbal stuff + bird nest until 2nd tri. I didn't ask why.. just guai guai followed cos I asked 2 different EYS. Both said the same thing.

You can ask your mum to continue boil chicken soup. My mum get those Kampong chicken from wet market. But I started coughing after drinking for a week and had phelgm. Switched to pork ribs + anchovies. That works well for me..

ritzc,
my gynae is a very straightforward and professional guy.. he answers my queries attentively based on his own experiences.. when i asked about the chicken pox thing, i felt very calm afterwards.. so far, a good choice.. moreover, he also peforms assisted reproduction at his clinic and he understands concerns of ivf patients.. excellent bedside manners too.. in fact, his rates are actually quite affordable and comparable to that of TPS..

its always nice to hear updates from you.. lets jiayou till january and deliver our babies safely! 3 more months!
oh btw, have u bought any bb stuff yet?

Hi Ron, thanks for the info!! Seems like vivo has quite a bit if baby stuff to shop ya? Ok, that will b my nx stop..

My bro still using d same pram he uses for his girl since birth. Combi.. I dun like it cuz it's so flimsy.. Ya, I m inheriting quite a bit of things from them. Initially suppose to buy all new ones cux my sil bfp same time as me. Unfortunately, no hb aft 7 weeks.. Sigh.. 2nd time Liao.. Nowadays I go back my parents plc I also dun dare bring up the BB topic..

Those sisters in 2nd trimester, do u all keep feeling pulling sensation ard ur V area frequently ?

I been experiencing that for past few days n my lower back very 'suan'.

Ron and kimmy,
Wow u both already done ur homework for prams! Thanks for the info abt it... V useful for me coz I hvnt start looking around yet..