(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

nell,

wow so nice go bintan

Chris, can also put 3 ply tissue paper under her chin when feed bb milk. After that throw. No need so many hankies.

For mittens, they are worn during first month only coz cannot cut bb's finger nails during first mth. Some bbs r born with v long finger nails, mittens are to prevent them fr scratching themselves. Bbs are swaddled up most times in first mth, even feeding time. Not much opportunity for bb to wipe her face with hands or vomit on it.

Same for booties, only used in first mth. After that SG is too hot for that during the day. At night, i prefer to use socks instead if bb sleeps in aircon room or for going out to aircon Plc.

So dun buy so many as use only for 1 mth.

I am om way to 112 katong, watching Shelock homes at GV gold class.. But car park is full!!!! Argh!!!

Chrisbb, My mum also said use tissue or kitchen towel when feed bb. That's y we r gg to buy that. For hankie, I agree with u. My mum also bought a lot. Same for towels. For the isetan sales, is it for members? I m lazy to go out today... Thinking of gg to toys r us tomolo. My hb wants to buy a toy for my gal... Hopefully there is more sales

Hazel, is Carter or Oshkosh on sales too? I will login at 1pm tomorrow to buy. Now US and us r 13 hrs apart. Enjoy yr movie.

Catherine, u check the websites www.carters.com

Bath Towels, I hv quite a few coz I wan to change daily. Some mommies dun change daily from what I know. Hankies I hv a dozen. My mum told me is enough. Also, hankies, v easy to dry. Dirty immediately hand wash, very fast dry Leow... If not there is dryer.. Still hv those I bought from mdm Wong.. My mum already said I kS. She said she no need so many.. Hehe

Hazel, I can't stand it if the towels r not change daily. Same for clothes. Maybe I m those clean type. My mum buy more cos it has to b split between 3 places. Her house, my house and my gal infant care. I would have to rely on my mum and hb to wash during confinement cos we can't touch water right?

Catherine, yes u r right. Mummy or CL or hubby will hand wash if just a few pcs. For me, I will wash bb Cloths daily using washing machine at least once. I can set tO wash at hot water if need be. I dun need full load to be hand wash coz I wun do that after 1 mth either. Yes, towel I will change daily. Her clothes or other cloth is dirty during milk feed, I will change too. I hv bought separate laundry basket n rack to dry her stuff too.

Ya, u need more of u need to split to 3 plcs. ESP infant care, need to pack more. My mum is just upstairs above my unit. At night when I return, wun dirty much bb cloths too coz My mum Will clean bb n change to pyjamas before I bring bb home at night.

U know the night overall bb wears, I didn't buy much of those kind with booties attached coz some bbs dun like to be all wrap up. We wun know our bb's preference until bb is born. So I buy mainly those without booties attached. Let her wear socks instead. I also buy from carters 0-9 mths sleep bags with front zipper from usa (cheap!) as she will be sleepin in aircon room. That will keep her warm. Coz after first mth, wun straddle her any more. Use blanket, bb may kick it off in middle of night.. n not very safe also.. Also, bb can use if we bring her for Travelling to cooler countries. Hehehe

Catherine, To share with you, I buy right down to the stool to sit for bathing her on bath tub, non slip rubber mat to Plc in toilet, bb hangers to hang her dresses, small plastic wash bowl to wash her brushes, breast pumps, etc,, 2 pails to shower, one pail each in kitchen n toilet to contain boiled water for me to wash hands, face, etc! Kekek

Ya Same as u I bought blankets for my gal. I m quite worried if she can adapt to change of environment.. From hospital, my mum place and my home. My mum place , where I do my confinement is not as windy as my place. My place can b v v v cold. Can u imagine my bamboo nearly fell off the support stand this afternoon. now I think the same as u. Till I know what my gal prefer I will quickly go buy more. I have a Tom and stefanie nearby... Quite convenient,

Hazel, u r v well prepared. I also have the stool, pails to wash her clothes, basket to put her wet wipes, diapers, cotton bulbs, wash bowl to clean her.... For her hangers, hmmm... Unfortunately my clothes r a lot, my hb has to put his casual wear and my office suits in her wardrobe... that left with nothing for her. I tried clearing up but really can't! So now I fold for her and I shall attempt again during my maternity leave. Who knows I can't fit in anymore?

Catherine, yes not enough cupboards for clothes! What I did was I clear away some of my clothes n folded some away to make space for her dresses. I only hang her dresses. The rest I fold n put in zip lock bags in drawers. I plan to get a cupboard from ikea after she is born to put her clothes. I saw one I like already. Now, pregnant, no moving of furnitures.

Just notice that my tummy has started to move downwards.. Even hubs noticed. Since I saw gynae on wed, I hv put on a few hundred grams too when my diet n food intake no change!

Catherine, some times, I will sit there n think hard wat I hv missed.. While chatting with you, I just realized I hv forgotten bb ru Yi oil! Must ask my mom to help me buy. Jan, I need to buy some condiments n seasonings too. So that I the CL can use it to season my fish. My mum just asked me that day how to bake salmon & cord fish. Coz she dunno how to cook these kind of fish.. Her standard fish is "Ngoh her"

I also bought a umist baby from Osim since bb will sleep in aircon room.. So that her skin wun be dry... No choice, got to really think thru wat I need.. If not I get irritated when I need something n is not there.. Still hv to wait for hubs to drive out & buy at parkway parade or Bedok..

But some stuff I can't buy yet.. Eg disposable diapers. I only get 1 pack for NBs. Coz if bb is bigger n chubbier, need to start her off at "S" size instead. All these weight thing gynae told us are estimation.. We wun know for sure after bb is born.. Diapers r ex. I dun wan to stock up n later end up too small or dun fit bb well..

Oh ya, I would need to prepare a time table too for CL.... In both english & cinese version (in case she dunno englsh).. Such as wat time I want to hv my daily lunch, dinner, water to be ready for my shower, bb day shower time, when to wash bb clothes, change her beddings, my beddings, etc...

My gf delivered in oct told me she has her mom & CL to help her... She thought she is v well prepared.. But first week when bb was back home was even more stressful than giving birth! Hope my case will not be so bad since my bb is my mom's third grand child.. Furthermore, she has taken care of a few bbs before..

Hazel, we r not perfectionist. Relax. I did ask my hb if we r to buy the cooling sheet for my gal in case she has fever. He told me to relax. Haha I can't b like u to set time table. My mum is doing my confinement will kill me. All I can do is pray that I m in my mum's gd hands. Thankfully my dad is around to help and he likes to go out. I m sure my mum will summon him to buy this buy that. Also I will leave my car in his hand. If need to buy heavy stuff ask him to drive out. Dun ever trust my hb to do that. My gal is coming out in feb. Hb has classes, final yr project and exam till march. Need to let him concentrate on his school. Nt easy for him to care for us and his part time studies. Not forgetting he spent last 4 yrs studying now last leg already can't give up.

I wanted to buy diapers that is a bit bigger for my gal ... Put-on standby. Mum said no. She said those s size is for 4-7kg so the range is a bit big. May not fit my gal. So... I let her decide. If can't fit she answer for it haha ... All i think i will do is to pass her $ to buy food for my confinement and all other things. If not enough my hb can help me draw. Seriously I m really looking forward to c my gynae in 2 weeks time and another 65 days more to c my gal. Even when our kid r born I m sure u will c them crawl, grow up,walk and eventually call u 'mummy'. When u hear that, whatever we went thru during pregnancy is worth it, right ladies? Sometimes when I think of that i will cry. I realize i changed a lot these few mths. From a person who dun care about food, loves to go out shopping for my own things to a homely person and worry a lot about my unborn gal . even now go shopping I c her things first....motherhood really change a person....

Catherine, if is my mommy , I wun need a time table coz i can trust my own mummy. She brought me up. After so many yrs she knows my pattern n ways of doing things. Eg, She knows wat time I need my meals n shower. Yes, I m like u, I trust my parents more than hubs. I can bet with you if I ask my hubs wat's my gynae's full name, he will stumble coz is not a Christian name.. That is why, I will make sure I get most of the things I need now.. My dad dun wan to drive anymore coz he said he is old n slow.. Finding a car park lot stresses him! So, if he helps me buy that means he will take bus. I know he dun mind but dun wan him to lug these things as they can be heavy.

Yes, parents r the greatest. They always hv our welfare at heart. We will do the same next time too.

Hm.. Realized u sleep v late always? Do sleep earlier, if not later bb follows your pattern! For me is I woke up coz of the toilet breaks n also heart burnt.. Ok, I go bk to sleep again!

Ahh i also wake up quite early as need to go toilet and is now sleepless. Guess cos I sleep like 9pm..

O my!! C u all say so many things to prepare; my legs begin to jelly..... Hazel n Catherine - so well prepared! Wow! I was thinking of leaving everything to CL and I just lie on bed..

Im thinking of hiring a CL but my mum ask me why must when I got PIL around.. My PIL are v free people. They dont work..At home only. FIL everyday go out and chi chat with frns at coffee shop etc. MIL is housewife at home, sometimes see the 6 yr old nephew few days a week. I asked my hub to speak to her PIL see if they can come n help out look after baby during the confinement month (with CL) as well as during my 4 months of maternity leave and thereafter when we go to work ( with maid?) Where would u all put yr child when u return to work? Anyone gg to employ a maid? If no maid, just my PIL look after kid inthe day; night time when we return from work, I still must look after the kid myself; think will be v tired! Feel like must hv the maid. Moreover PIL also need the extra help. Otherwise how to survive the initial years... My hubby ask me dont work. Siao!

My hubby says if ask PIL to come over to our home to look after kid n the maid; we hv extra room that they can stay if they r tired overnight; but if they stay so comfortable for a few months; then we cant ask them to go back to their own home. Means my PIL will shift in to stay in to stay with us forever.. I was like huh! In fact my PIL stays only 3-4 bus away only.

Whose hubby also loved preserved sour food? My hubby just ate all my soury preserved stuff which my mil bought for me within 2 days. So alemark!

Tannny, is a personal choice. For me, I wun leave my bb alone with maids without anyone i can trust as maids cannot be trusted. First 4 mths, I will take care myself since on ML. If I need to something & cannot bring bb along, will ask my parents help bb sit a while. After I return bk to work, my parents will take care during the day. At night I will take care & spend quality time with her. As parents, i need to nuture, guide n teach my bb from young. Cannot out source. From 3 mths, bb can be trained to sleep thru at night. That wld be easier to take care at night when I return bk to work. Parenthood is nv easy. All my friends told me to prepare for sleepless & tiring nights ahead. Now, every hr I hv to wake up to go toilet.. N 6 plus m already awake.. Nature way of preparing mommy when bb is here.

My parents still hv my niece m nephew to take care. Though they r at 6 & 8 yrs old next yr, still require efforts to cook for them, nag at them to do their home work, etc. if they cant handle, I will either get a part time helper or maid to do the household chores. None of my friends leave their kids alone with maids. Even those with multiples din do that. They either let parents or ILs take care with maid to do house work chores or ended up a SAHM with maids to help. Those with no family support send bbs to infant care while maid does the housework. None of my friends are week end parents only.

Well, since I want to hv a child, i must be prepared of the tiring n sleepless days ahead. Is my responsibility as a mother. For the sake of the little one, I find it worth it. Also, why shld I let my bb be close to the maid? Imagine, when she cries n I can't sooth her, only the maid can. I will feel terrible as I hv failed as a parent. If you r attending mrs Wong boi boi class she will tell u the same n all the horrible things she has seen the maid did to the bb. I hv heard a number too.

Catherine, I just asked hubs wats my gynae's full name. He gave me dr SF Loh! I said full name. He cannot give me. He said, initials good enough as he is the medical director of TMC, every one will know who sf Loh is!! Can faint right?! How to entrust him to do things? I told him He has to call the agent to inform I m warded so that 2 days later when I m discharged, CL is here. I just asked him wat he needs to do when I m warded? He looked at me n said keep me company Loh!! He has forgotten abt the CL part. I asked Him wats the CL name which I told him a few mths bk i hv keyed into his HP. He said he dunno!!!! He said I will remind him again in hospital? My gdness, in labour pain I still need to remind him?! How to trust him like this?!

hazel : ahhh, sounds like my hubby too. y men so blur. later i test mine about dr loh. sure he will say sf loh too. ya man, i also awake since like 4am plus..even weekdays i also like that. really bb can train from 3 mths? haven attend wong bb class.. too early for me.

today anywhere got sales? hv to go n look for bigger size clothes.. robinsons? they say vivo vity has a lot of maternity wear shops. lets hope got year end sales.

Hahahhaha hazel, I face same problem as u. Eg my gp clinic is v near my house. Once my hb ask me how to go. I nearly fainted. I m v thankful my hb knows how to go my mum place, my gynae clinic and knows my gynae and gp name. I actually sleep and wake up early. My reply to u at 3am is toilet break. There r nights I need to wake up to ask my hb to sleep early. Though my hb is like 9mths older than me but if u see us together mayb I look 5 yrs younger than him. Beauty of sleeping early and drinking more soup heehee

My dad drives faster than ne and my hb. He always complain we r so slow so if we drive them, my hb will ask my dad to take the wheels haha ... I guess for milk powder I will ask my mum to buy too. Dun stress yr hb. They r juz not as detailed as us

Tanny, I do agree with hazel, never leave maid alone wih bb. That's y I refused to hire a maid. I rather b xin gu a bit fetch my gal to infant care bring her back do all things between my hb and me. I asked my mum to ask my dad to standby for me when I m on ml in case I need to go back office or go for interviews my mum said my dad can't handle. She will take leave to help me. I dun care I will juz ask my dad myself. I m sure my dad will say yes. Like yr fil he juz go out chit chat. In a way I have to prepare early hubby dun have time to drive me to buy when his class start next week. To b v honest I have 2nd thoughts of not hiring a maid. I scare I cannot juggle between work and my gal. My work is v erratic. Now lots of project involve my team. + my daily work + another team in my dept all quit together I actually have a lot to do and need to help my boss. My boss is Chinese educated sometimes must help vet thru his email b4 he send out. My hubby has no objection to hire a maid and ask me to ask my parents to stay with us. I dun dare to ask my parents cos my dad always complain my house too small. My mum will say my house is like a hotel everything looks so new. I also worried if my hubby and I can knock off at 7pm to fetch my gal. Usually we leave after 7. If I have urgent work even how hard I rush I can only finish after 8. So far i have drove my mum to my gal infant care centre twice to let er get familiar with the place. Driving and taking bus r different I wonder if she remembers. The other reason for not hiring a maid is bcos my sucker sister will use my maid and I end up paying lots more or even end up my maid is not looking after my gal. My aunty told me unless my Sis is paying half of maid salary if not she dun encourage me to hire maid which I totally agree with what my aunty says. I m not on talking terms with my Sis bcos she is really a big sucker and rude.

Tanny, I prefer to go to suntec /marina area to shop for our clothes. Less crowded than Vivo. FYI I din buy a lot of maternity wear. I rent! Ok la I v vain. I need lots of clothes. Every 4 weeks I get a new set. Besides i somehow got an instinct my gal is my only child although hubby wants 1more and ask my fs lady to adjust my house. we took 3yrs to get her the stress, quarrel we had yucks I dun want to go thru again. I m so thankful my gal save me from the jabs of ivf. I knew I was pregnant juz 1 week b4 I was about to sign the ivf consent form. What I went thru from last aug to this June was v dramatic. I wanted my gal to have a name of '恩' to make her remember and also us that we should really b thankful. My hb din allow that word in her name.

Well fanny if yr hubby can afford to support u and bb then u should consider not working for at least 1 yr. I would do so if my hubby can. But both of us know we can't. My house is v ex. (juz a hdb and it's price so ex when we buy in 2007), I earn a lot more than my hub. If I dun work we suffer. That's y next yr i m looking to change job to bring in more $. Hubby has co shares so he should not move unless it's a great offer or his co shares rose to a level that is 3.5 times the current price. I also hope to work overseas. Now with my gal it would b so difficult. Sigh... Must b realistic. This was my dream since young. Unfulfilled. Juz hope my gal can fulfill it for me

Hazel, test yr hubby if he knows where u r delivering. I will test mine later haha

my mom ask us to hire a maid, not exactly to look after the bb, but to help us and PIL out in terms in housework, washing (clothes, cloths, bb bottles), cooking etc..so the old folks can focus on caring of the bb and not worry about the rest of the nitty gritty hse work. Not to tire them out. we're not used to hving a stranger, so still contemplating about it. last time my sil send her infant to her parents(my PIL) to look after. even though its rotating between 2 sets of parents including her own PIL. i heard my FIL saying that they r v tired, asking her to get a maid but she refused. i suspect my SIL will use my maid if we get one. i also know my SIL v greedy type, and always take advantage of her brother (my hub) n parents, especially in terms of $$$ calculate until exact cents. i always hear my PIL say she very lazy always push the bb to them, and she go out herself; dont bathe and feed the bb type. cry also dun care. if i hv a maid, my SIL will surely make use of my maid n send her child to my PIL hse or to my house! another aunty of mine also ask me hire a maid to lighten parents load..

my mom worried i hv lack of rest..cos my office load is v heavy, i knock off abt 7 only.. peak times, i used to knock off at 12. nowadays bring home to do. my hb did ask me to be a stay home mum (since he earns more). how much is maid nowadays?

Hi hazel,Catherine

oh my sil helps me to buy some stuff along with hers 1mth ago such as "ru yi oil" powder etc..cos she quite experienced with bb stuff altho is her 1st bb cos her mum used to babysit her nephews at their place when they were babies..so she learnt quite abit from her mum and her buddies who are mostly parents. Oh i was told my her to buy ginvera olive oil (tea tree) i got 1 bottle at giant. She taught me to massage a small amount of the olive oil on bb's hair in the morning after her feed and before she bath. After bath, can apply another small amount. This is to help with hair growth and nourishes bb's hair. She said her familly used this method on all her siblings.

For me i didn't buy any booties, only bought 2 pairs set that comes with mittens. The rest my fren passed me not many. Think i got around one dozen mittens and we intend to wash them daily.
6500134.gif
hankies i bought extra cos will be leaving some in my in-law's place.

Morning! Happy Boxing Day to all.
Haha I've been getting home at 2,3am lately but keep waking up early cuz little one starts his morning activities early and of course - pee sessions
Catherine, heh I agree motherhood changes priorities. I used to shop a lot. But after a very good friend threw and packed away about 1/3 my wardrobe space to make room for baby, I didn't buy anymore. Then when my mom and hb keep asking me if I wanna get this or that when we just shop around, I'd say nah...no need...just keep the money for when baby comes along? And suddenly I'm starting to get into routine, homely etc. heh!

The RL additional 30% sale is really good & addictive, btw. For those who haven't started clicking on the site yet :p

Hi hazel,

Yup we intends to make a cupboard once bb is born cos now pantang le..so i shifted a small cabinet (3 drawers) clean it up to use temporarily. Ya in-laws even forbid us to paint bb's room or any walls at our home. Sigh!!!
6500144.gif

hazel,

recently i sleep quite late too..and wake up more often for toilet breaks ah...Seems to visit the toilet more often in the night....ya parents are the best, but mine stayed far away from me and in their late 70s so can't help much. Hopefully my CL will be okie lor...
My in-laws will drop by with my granny-in-law aka dowager. Which i pray that dowager don't come over..cos as her name implies she's a very difficult, authoritiative, unreasonable person. Even own in-laws couldn't stand her, she is those mil that you normally see in those hong kong serials that is really "bad". During my sil's confinement she dropped by sil's place to look at her great grandaughter and make a huge fuss ordering people around etc...And always think her way is right, she's coming 90 yrs next yr, she can't walk properly as she broke her pelvic bone during a fall 18yrs ago and has a metal plate inserted. When my mil and maid bathing bb in the toilet, dowager insisted to have the toilet doors open wide so she can see the bb and diregard the fact that this few wks very windy and bb will get chilled, my sil was very angry with her and talked to her nicely however she refused to burge and even insisted on squeezing in the toilet, where the floor is so wet and that's not much standing place for my mil and maid if she was to squeeze in. And if she falls, she'll bang on to my mil and maid and it will be very dangerous..

Tanny, my sister is exactly like yr sil! She dump her gal with my mum and god knows where she goes. She tell my mum she is teaching piano. But I know her well she's a great lier. If she really teaches her hubby can look after right after all the kid is 2.5 yrs old but no leh... Craps ... My mum works too can't they spare a thought for a 62 yrs old lady and let her rest? Yup I rent from maternity exchange.

Kimmy, u powerful. I get sleepy by 9.45pm seems v routine. Hope my gal is like that. I thought hazel says the sales starts on boxing day which is like 4 more hrs in US?

Chrisbb, my mum also forbid that. We need to build 1 more shoe rack, install tv console and repair air con pipe. All have to wait till march.

hazel,

YOur hb sooo cute, but anyway i also dun remember SF loh's full name. Think I muz remind my hb's my gynae's full name too, cos we too used to calling her Dr Ang ah... But anyway not to worry cos he's carrying one of my appt card in his wallet, cos i'm more forgetful than him as i lost the card a few times. He's the kan cheong one who has been reminding me daily to bag my hospital bag and to call my CL 1mth before my due date etc.. He also kept my CL hp number in his HP.
6500188.gif

He is better than me, i blurr queen. He even learns faster than me in wong bb's class on how to wrap bb, bath bb and how to wrap bb in cloth diapers etc...He said i too slow ah....hhahahaaa

Chrisbb, Pray hard she dun appear at yr door step!!! My fren ask my mil to come from msia to help me too after my confinement. I said no and no bargain. I will not even invite her to c her grand daughter. First, my relationship with her is no gd. She stereotype me as $ grabbers. In fact she said that to all sg ladies. She thinks we r out to cheat msian $. Even when my hubby told her I have a job and earn more than him she reduced to give in. Second she has big hygiene problem. Nails are v dirty, tell us no need to drink water or bathe so often. Faint. She also dun clean her house. I often have cold at her place and once I return from msia, I will Lao sai, third her cooking sucks, she will use the cheap ingridemts even when we give her $ to buy better food. My nephews and nieces who stay one street away from her in msia r not even close to her. That's y I always find excuses to visit her

catherine,hazel, tanny,

We have decided to let my in-laws take care of bb after my 4mth ML, cos both of us work late, i worked in the CBD area and knocks off 6.30-7++ by the time i reached in-law's place already close to 8pm. My hb worked near Airport, and by the time he teaches my in-law place around 7pm. So we will meet there for dinner and picked up bb lor.
Very tough to get a infant care around our area and also near my work area which can be very ex. This will be our tentative arrangement and we will see how it goes from there.
6500229.gif

Ya catherine,

we badly need the storage area now, but in-laws forbid us to install anything at this stage ah..and now with my stupid bro-in-law (hb's bro) staying with us, i lost 1 room which I can put our stuff. Like few days bk when we packing stuff, i had an arguement with hb cos we really dun have place to store big items (big box) cos i wanted to keep my bb's room spic and span and ended up it looks like a mini-storeroom...so i suggested shifting some of the stuff over to his eldest bro's room and hb refused and then we argued lor. So angry!!! I already told him tat it's not convenient for his bro to stay with us since we need extra room and is so inconvenient with a stranger esp a guy around during my confinement rite?!!!! But still he gave in to his bro and let him stay over cos my sil(hb's 2nd bro's wife) already chased him out from their place (which he has been staying 2yrs since his divorce) and always says wants to buy own flat but till now didn't lor...
6500278.gif
Once he is in, is very difficult to ask him to move out liao..hiazzzzzzz.. My colleague even joked with me to make more babies than i can bargain with my hb tat kids needs more place etc then will have the excuse to ask him to move out liao hhaaahaaa...

Catherine, the 30% more on sale items is on since Xmas day, USA time. Boxing day sale, maybe by tonight.. But not sure if how gd it is or will compliment the current 30% sale. After all, boxing day sale s big in canada.. USA, not so sure, coz black fri sale is better in USA.

We r in similar situation. I earn more than hubs & plan to change job after ML to get another big jump in salary. I m stuck in the current plc since last yr coz of ivf plans & miscarriages. Hubs is supportive if I stop work n take a break for a while but, he has a v heavy commitment as my mil cost alot of money. Cny coming, all the new goodies, food & angbow money he has to prepare for mil... N my mil hor,. Min angbow per packet is $10!!! All the nurses at Camden dialysis clinic she will give angbows.. This yr, she stayed in pte hospital twice & each time was 2 wks & did a super ex day surgery.. Hubs medisave account is drained dry.. My sil isnit wrking & relocated to india with her hubs who is on work assignment. Though my bil is doing v well & my sil is leading a tai tai life, she makes a hell lot of noise when hubs asked her to share mil hospitalisation cost.. Wat can I say? Haiz..

So, I need to work, coz I need to plan for our retirement & for my bb's future. I want to get a 2nd ppty when the time is right.. My hubs does not think so far one... He always says GOD will provide... furthermore, hubs is diabetic too, even though there is medical insurance, it wun be enough if complications set in when he is older.. That is why I hv to think far ahead... When bb is born, need to set aside 6k So that the govt will give $1 for $1 match. Total of 12k can be used for her child care, nursery & sch later. Not even to mention the insurance cost I want to get for her.. Hubs does not know there r these costs. I m crazy over bag & shoes.. & yearly expensive holidays.. I can blow a few Ks on a bag a few times a year. But now,every thing is bb first.. I spend on her stuff now instead of on me & hubs.

Tanny, monthly salary of filipino maid is abt $400. The experienced one maybe $450. If I hv a choice I will prefer Indo maids coz filipino maids are rather arrogant & always pretend they dunno so as to do less.. But Indo maids are hard to get now coz of the salary issues where SG govt has yet to sort out with the Philippines govt which want as much as $500 a mth if not more for their maids. That is why, hubs got a filippino maid recently when the Indo maid went bk for mil. on top of their salary, we need to pay monthly levy to govt. Maids registered under working mothers enjoy some subsidy on levy which is deductible for tax purposes too. If I m not wrong, after subsidy, levy to govt is abt $200. Dun forget there r living expenses n insurance for the maid too.. Which we hv to pay...

Hi catherine,

i even "joked" with my hb if i can ban his grandmum aka dowager from stepping into our house..he say can't and tell me off altho he also can't stand her himself. hahahaa My mil was terrorised by her for over 40 yrs the day she married my fil. Dowager will picked on her and takan her all the way manz. Even now she's so old she still bully my mil, but my mil also not stupid lor at times will talk bk at her and fil will step in and help my mil too. hahahaha even when my mil goes to see fortune teller, fortune teller tells her tat your house got another "pig" same as you, you are fire pig and she is water pig, and all these years you can never win her, she'll takan u all the way...hahahaha both of them happens to be in the yr of the pig. hahaha..

ya dowager is the mil from hell....

Hi Tanny
I agree with what the rest say abt u hv to bring ur bb home to take care at night urself after work as that is a parent respondibility.. We need to care for them ourselves so that they be close to us too instead of to maid.. I remember my mil purposely dun want to take care my bb overnight unless we hv event that night as her purpose is want our baby to be close with us.. Whereas my mum will help me take care one or two nights per wk so that we can hv our own couple time n regain back our sleep.. So both mummy help us take care my boy that time...;) u can tell ur mum tt u need to rest if tt day u r real tired but other days, u shd try bring them back.. For my case, i no hire maid as i dun trust them too... And feel not so necessary since my mum only hv one grandson tt time and she can takecare herself.. Also if go inlaw place, My pil are at home so two adult can help take care one baby too.. So u see whether ur pil can handle..;)

Hi catherine
How much is the rental fee of mathernity clothes? As i try not to buy too..;)

Chris, my mil is not an easy person too, every time I see her she will complain to me on the maid, said she eats a lot, no rice will die, etc etc.. To us is, as long as she works well, she eats alot then let it be.. She is on wheel chair & not convenient to bring her out always.. Some times she does not wan the maid to come along some more.. Next time, with a bb, I dunno how we r to oops. Hubs to help her or help me with my bb? My sil is bk in town for holidays now.. Tai tai, expect my hubs to drive her around to buy this n that.. Her hubs is v well off, she has her own driver n car in India.. N cam buy branded n lead lavish life style but Nw back cannot afford taxi? Hubs sister & very fierce, so hubs dare not say her.. Wat can I say? As long as he dun ask me to do, I dun care... :p

Now, I must go shower coz hubs need to pick up mil n maid fr Camden after dialysis n sends them home! Ya, since I m not working, he wants me to come along....

Re maternity clothes

Other than working ones, I wear normal non maternity tops on wk ends which I bought from M&S or H & M (cheap). I just buy big sizes such as size 14. Till now can still wear.. All the wy to delivery also no issue.

Hazel, u can tell yr hubby u need to rest at home. Yr sil is too much too. I feel all should chip in for yr mil treatment regardless big/small amt

Joanne, I paid abt $500+ to rent 30 pieces. I like the gals there they choose for me and I juz try on and nice I take. Save my time.

Chrisbb, I m putting my gal at Cecil street infant care. one mth cost me $1k. Same as hiring a maid. I hope she can cope. I look at it this way, maybe she is the only child, she needs to mingle with other kids. Y not put her there. I also adopt a wait and see attitude. If she can't cope I would have to ask my mum to resign and help me out, sorry hor I feel yr bil is too much and not automatic n sensitive to yr needs. Yr hb should think hard too. We can't provide our siblings forever there must b a stop to it. My hb always lend $ to his 2nd brother and he din return. Now even better, he is not working. I dun want to go back to my mil house in case he ask for $. I also had n argument on how my mil treats her sons. She over pamper them and give them $. He deny my mil is doing that. My mil even told my hubby not to work so hard dun stressvyrself anything juz go back to msia to lead a quiet life. Where got a mum like that? Dun say my mil, he forbid my hb to b a Singaporean something that pissed me off big time, my mum said where got a mum object to the son's future? That's y I forbid my bil from staying at my place too. I know once I give in, my house is smelly and dirty and hard to 'invite' them out.

Hi hazel,catherine,tanny

Every family has their own problems... mine quite similar like yours too. I earned more than hb, can't switch jobs now cos preggy..Tat's why alot of stuff got to save too..now i dun buy clothes for myself, everytime go shopping buy bb's stuff 1st.
Dowager also not easy to tackle, my mil has over 10 maids since 16yrs ago when dowager falls and hurt herself. She is never satisfied with any of the maids, she always complains and at times takan them till they quit ah... Wat to do she's dowager, my in-laws can't chase her out of the house they say no choice got to bear with her lor...

I'm lucky tat i'm not staying with them ah, last time in-laws did suggest to stay with us, ask us and my sil to sell our flats and buy a pte property (that time crisis so property prices cheap) and stay together. Of cos i don't wan la, i single child le, if i sell my flat and stay with them, how about my parents...furthermore is a package deal le, i'll have to suffer under the hands of dowager..and his other half brother (unsound mind)no way manz...
6501033.gif

Hi catherine,

my this bil is a leech lor, and he's my in-law's pet as their 1st child and the only graduate in the house lor. My in-laws spent alot of $$ sent him to UK for his degree. He and his ex-wife went overseas for their degree for 3yrs, both pampered by their parents. When they back, my in-laws already chasing after them to get married, paid for their wedding, down payment for their 5-room flat cum reno around $100k as they haven't found a job or has any CPF, my bil want a 5-rm resale flat comments tat 4rm too small. Pls lor my in-laws also staying in 4rm flat le. Then after having 5-rm flat he not satisfied aiming for EC, eventho he got no $$ to pay downpayment for it, pester his mum to persuade his dad to lend him the $$. Tat time my fil still doing okie cos got his own biz. And my bil went ahead to sign the sales & purchase agreement b4 his dad agreed to lend him $$$, end up no choice my fil got to squeeze out the $$ to lend them 1st. Never once have they return a single cent to my in-laws or gave them a single allowance, until my mil finally demanded from him then he gave her $100 per mth, and that includes their daily dinner, laundry etc. They eat daily at my in-laws place, bring their laundry there for maid to wash and iron cos his wife hates to do housewk. Their house very messy till my in-laws got to bring maid to clean up for them. Can you imagine how pampered he is?? And my ex sil is my mil's pet too cos she knows how to sweet talk her...
When they divorce, my bil very stupid gave her 70% of the share when they sell the EC, and didn't deduct off the $$ that my in-laws lent them which total up at least $150k!! My in-laws heart pain cos the $$$ like tat gone liao. Now my bil complains he no $$ to buy flat, of cos lah, all the $$$ go to his ex-wife liao. my in-laws are now retired...

Just to share, I went RL boutique at taka just now. This men's shirt, S$180, 50% off still cost S$90. I saw at RL USA website, is a sale item with another 30% off, cost S$54 after conversion at 1.4 exchange rate. Including freight, will cost abt S60. Still S$30 cheaper than SG!!

This bb girl dress, on sale selling at S$50. I saw at RL website, after 30% off at 1.4 conversion cost S$15, including freight, maybe S$20?

Here is really too expensive!

Hazel, i got the novita air cafe for my gal. just a personal preference i dun like osim products. i feel your hb siblings should contribute to your MIL medical bill regardless small or big amount. never mind la your hb inherit good karma. for my gal's insurance, i plan to spend $1k for her each mth + her enrichment class as she goes older, thats y i have to earn more!!! $ really not enough. + yearly holidays, have to squeeze here and there. i want her to observe thru her eyes and senses. i want to build her languages too. thats y i need to expose her as much as possible given my limited time spent on her. i dun believe in getting my gal to use ipad from young.

chrisbb, your bil is really too much. not even sensitive to your needs. he is also stupid to give his ex-wife 70%. stupid. now of cos no $ la. property prices so high. siao. he still think of sponging on his retired parents? i dun know how u can tahan daily. if me i would have given black face to my hb daily or even move out myself. just curious, have u guys quarreled when he is around? i really give no face one leh. i ever quarrel with my hb in front of his siblings. one of his brother caused the quarrel. his brother signed a legal doc without vetting thru... dun know english still dun let me read first. the legal doc has a clause not in their favour. i give no face to them.
i always believe in having our own family space. if u stay with your in laws. any quarrels will affect your work and couple relationship.

Hi sisters who those haf a vpost US acct, is yr address stated something like city: portland, state:eek:regano?

So if tat is correct, mean I have registered my vpost correctly. With that, I can proceed to online shop at RL rite? Juz dump those clothes I want into e shipping cart n key in e address I haf registered. Izit ?

Thx !

hazel, i am doing the online shopping now. have to do it secretly. my hb dun let me shop for expensive clothes for his princess though its my $.

u gals dun believe my bil who has a 2 years old daughter din give us any hand me down despite we asked for it. my mil bought only 2 set of clothes for my gal and its really UGLY and cheap. like RM8.90. please! anyway all our clothes that we dun wear anymore has to be given to my mil to distribute out. i bet she dun know what is RL or oshkosh haha

Catherine, my sil pays for my mil's mthly dialysis cost. So, anything extra, such as hospitalization, she wun wan to Share anymore...

Yes, need extra income for those additional expenses u mentioned coz of our bb! Also, I m not willing to doen grade my life style either... Like wat u shared, yearly holidays, my bags, shoes, etc... So, need to change job for higher pay! Ha!

I quarreled b4 with hubs in front of his sis n mum too. One yr, I quarreled with Him big time at Camden when we picked mil from dialysis. He asked me to let mil sit in front n he got down to keep her wheel chair.. While I was getting down, mil told me she wants to sit behind instead. So, I nv get down. Hubs was so angry with me n picked up a fight! Of course, I wun give in, it was his own mum that told me not to get down n she wanted to sit behind. FYI, that was 1st day of cny! When we reached mil's plc we were still quarreling.. Mil of course sided her own son.. Told me off that I nv wish her happy cny since I met her at Camden. I looked at her n said "your son wrongly accused me & pissed me off n u still expect me to smile at you & wish u happy cny?". With that, I took my things n stomped out of her house without saying good bye! Hubs called n called n drove out looking for me. Who cares, I got home myself n he came bk shortly. For that cny, I refused to go visit his relatives with his mum & him. I just stayed at home all the days. But he can go with his mum if he wanted too, I nv stop him., but he had no mood to go.

I m like u, will give hubs black face if he pissed me off unfairly. If he thinks his mum, sister n family r better than me, I can't swallow that. Now, m pregnant. What hv they done for me? My mum is the one who has been helping with housework chores, wait for hubs, I will quarrel with Him every day.. He is v lazy. My mum is also the one who will brew tonics for me to take. I wun move out the house, coz I paid much more for the house then him n most household expenses since he has to pay for mil's side. I will chase him out instead. I told him, if the marriage does break down one day, I can assure him he wun get custody of our kid & the house will also go to me. He is not stupid, he knows if it ever reaches that stage, he is on losing end.

Just now, mil was throwing tandrum again. Made hubs agitated but he dare not say her. If it is my sil, she wld hv told her off. Like I will too to my mum. Hubs wun do that, coz mil will start crying n look pitiful. If not he gave in just now, we wld hv fought again coz I said I wan to eat steamed chicken but he bought roast chicken (dun taste gd) and still insisted that it was me who wanted roast chicken! Terrible right?

hazel u steady!!!!!! first day of CNY also quarrel. i would have control myself. like your mil, my mil also never ask my hb if i eat more nutritious food or what. my bil has some investment in harvesting birdnest din even offer me any bird nest. i did cry b4 y they din ask about me. isnt my gal good enough? b4 i was preggy, my mil keep asking y not pregnant. when my hubby told her we are seeing doc, the blame is on me. when we want to get married, she asked, y want to get married so fast?! your mil is smart to play tactics. use tears to win his son over u. sigh....

fyi i only found 2 pieces on carter's website for my gal, whats your view? worth buying? a lot are long sleeve and i dun like it.

Bliss, that is the right one. For shipping address, pls make sure u fill in the first name n last name per vpost USA address. Ie, the name which has your name n some numbers. Unsure, read vpost SG website on how to purchase online... There is a step by step guide. Pls register a RL online account so that u can track the movement of parcel from the merchant to your vpost USA account.

Catherine, if I use my own money, I wun allow hubs to stop me from buying anything. End of the day, is my money, not his n I hv alot more savings than him... He has no say over what I wan to buy... I dun hv a mom that suck him dry every few mths.. Anyhow, he wun stop me either coz,, he likes it when I dress well n next time our bb dresses well.. He feels proud too.. Kekeke... Oh ya, when I buy RL online, I will buy clothes for him too.. N he loves RL stuff as the sizes fit him perfectly. :p

Catherine, wat pissed me even more off was mil shld hv told his son off that she was the one who insisted that I dun get down the car! Why didnt she do it? Ask u, if a couple quarrels, either side of the parents if know will try to break the fight n help the couple reconcile right? That shld be the way right? Parents shld not add on n made the situation worse right? FYI, there was once we fought so badly until hubs stepped out of the house n off his phone. I called mil if he was over at her plc. She can lie n tell me she has not seen him or heard of him! I m not stupid. I texted him n told him if I dun see him by when n when, he can forget abt coming home. I just need to call the locksmith & hv the lock changed. He knows I mean my words n he came home,... Wearing a New set of clothes! How wld u think of my mil if u were me? These days, I try to be more tolerance towards her. She can throw tantrum, cry or waterer, I just sit there n watch show... If hubs get irritated of her coz of that then too bad. Just dun vent on me. If he does, I will not give in. Maybe, that was why I lost my elder girl... He kept upsetting me n made me cry.. Made me feel that his family is more impt than me... Last time, if I tell him, I m tired, want to stay at home, he will give me black face! I was really tired wat.. Furthermore I was pregnant then... This pregnancy, my mood is better... Guess he learnt his lesson.. Cz he rarely upset me now.

Dun buy if u dun like. I bought dresses a few wks bk from carter. Is better to hit min amt to get the ground shipping free to vpost USA address.