(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hi Chrisl, share with u what my skin specialist say about preserved food/ Sambal. She told me all these food can trigger our body to over react and rashes may appear. Though everyone is different I guess I m scare already. I Will not try/ touch. I m not a chilli eater but now preggy I tend to eat a bit of chilli. Maybe my gal follow her dad and like chilli. If u have past history of rash, better control and dun eat those

Catherine, I asked someone to check the tong shu for me 丽春ends on 4 feb. So, after 4 feb, then is true dragon year. That is why i was told must tell my bb to be born after 4 feb if she wants to be a pheonix! Hm.. I washed bb clothes last wk.. Got morning sun!

Thru out the pregnancy, our taste buds and food preference changes. When I was in 2ww n first tri, I preferred spicy food.. Maybe coz mouth was bland then.. Now, I wun touch spicy food... Coz of Reflux and heart burnt..

Hi hasel,

My sil don't have maid. the maid belongs to my in-lawa. My mil in her mid 60s, health not gd, got hi blood, diabetes etc.. Her legs also not good can't bend. So most of the cooking done by maid and sometimes herself. She has to cook bfast, lunch as well as dinner for my sil. Maid has to help bath bb and cleanup after cooking and also got to cook and do hsework at my in-laws place as my granny-in-law aka dowager stays with my in-laws and my eldest bro-in-law (unsound mind). Tats why my in-laws have to ensure that 3 meals are ready for them before they leave the house. My fil will help to mop and vacumm my sil's place daily as well as help bottle feed bb. They rushed over at 8am+ in the morning to prepare bfast and lunch, leave around 1pm+. Then reached their home and start cooking and prepare for dinner and rush to my sil's hse before 6pm and then leave around 8pm. So everyday their schedule fully packed...no time to really rest.
6491805.gif

Hi catherine,
please refrain fr peanuts cos i read in books and even my frens told me tat peanuts will trigger sensitivity as well as allergies n pass to bb. Cos my hb got sensitive skin and ezemma so he told me to refrain eating peanuts if possible as scared tat it will pass the allergies to bb
6491836.gif

Chris, oh, that explains it! Who takes care of bb at night? Maid or r sil? Is your sil fussy with food? Actually nutritious food needs not take alot of time to cook or prepare. Eg,

Breakfast - 2 slices of whole meal bread with jam / ham, cheese and a glass of milk. Or oats/cereals with milk

Lunch / dinner - baked salmon with sauce in oven, cord fish seasoned with ginger n some lime, baked in oven or steam.. stir fry veg, ginger with lean pork, fish soup with papaya n some ginger, steamed thigh / breast meat with XO, rice, a fruit. Or mee suan cooked with fish, veg n meat.. Etc etc

All these do not take a lot of effort to prepare. Cleaning after cooking is not tough too.. I eat same dishes alternate days.. As long as nutritious, I m fine.

Like now, every night I drink the same fish bone soup with some ginger n no salt.. I m at home whole day, lunch I eat simiar food.. Dinner may hv a bit of variety depending what my mum cooks..

Hazel, mr sunshine like to shine when I m at work. I like yr meals a lot. Today I ate mee sua for dinner. V light and fast to prepare. Done in 15 mins.
Chrisbb,, my skin doc say it run in family no need to purposely avoid. I never like peanut until my boss alwaya eat peanut bread then last sun hb wants to eat too. K I avoid as much As I can. thx

oh my poor sil and hb takes care of bb at night. Tey feed FM to bb at night so that bb can sleep throughout the nite. My bro-in-law will boil the herbal water for his wife to bath in the morning before he goes for work and when he's bk at night he'll help up with feeding and bathing bb. Yes she can be fussy as she dun like pork and organs such as liver etc. She is a very neat person can't stand mess and her place is spic and span. Tat's why when my in-law there, they will keep her place really clean and mop floor daily lor. They don't cook there cos dun wan dirty her kitchen and also partly the barang barang at my mil's place. So she'll prepare all the food 1st bring them there to heat up. She only cook very simple stuff there. My mil told me just now that she can't sleep well at night cos very stress, wake up a few times at night cos always got to think of wat to cook for my sil.
My mil is a cantonese, and is the 1st time she doing confinement, so super stress ah, she cooked alot of traditional confinement food etc so spent alot of time preparing a few dishes and herbal soup and at time dessert as well.
6491932.gif

my mil told me she wakes up around 5am+ in the morning, then rush to mkt around 6am+ and then go bk prepare food and then leave house around 8am++
My fil says that they will help me with marketing daily , then hb told them no need la, just do 1 week of marketing at Giant lor can liao.. He dun want to stress his parents esp after seeing them today, wow both of then shag and aged alot. My hb is the kind tat doesn't like to trouble people. My mil at 1st thought my sil's mum will be cooking as well as she only helped part-time, but my sil's mum got to help look after her grandson so she can only come over and look after her during the wkends.
6491961.gif

Chris, err... Buy from giant not a gd idea leh.., u wun hv really fresh produce such as fish.. Ask ur hib go wet market n buy! Yes, is tough on old folks to be running here n there.. Ur sil shld hv gotten a CL

Catherine, my mum will bring in the clothes when the weather changes for the worse! Last time hubs makes hell out if noise when I insisted of staying near my parents... Now, he slowly start to see the advantage of it... Today is tong zi.. He got ah boiling (tang yuen), his favorite dessert to eat! my mil is a catholic, dun prepare such food.. N she is too weak to do now also even if she does.. On allergy, yes, it is in the genes, no need to avoid specifically., I nv avoid any peanut purposely., not as if i eat alot also... Hm... That reminds me to buy some condiments and seasonings before cny for my confinement food!

Chris, u mentioned u bought an air port from Robinson? used to boil water right? I hv 2 at home.. My mum just bought me a big electric kettle! We need alot of boiled water for showering n washing.. Ie no mixing with Tap water.. So need a few devices to boil water.. If not, need to boil many times.. That is why I dun understand how ur bil can boil the water before he goes to work.,. 2 big pail of boiled water for showering, even if u use a 3 litre kettle to boil, u still need to boil many times.... Not even mentioning the boiled water required to wash hands, Brush teeth, etc... My mum usually starts boiling the night before... Coz it takes hrs for it to cool too.. Next day, she will top up with some more hot water so that the overall water temp is luke warm for showering,. We also need at least one big thermal flask too.. To keep our red dates drink warm/hot. We r not supposed to drnk water during CL.. Need another flask to keep boiled water warm, so that we can make milk/Milo to drink.

Chris.. hehe i think bb is fond of chilli/curry same as me and hb..im even thinking of making chix curry in the next few days..shiok..cold days = curry/spicy food days lol

hazel, thanks! But a question..if drink milk after chilli will it make our tummy 'turn'? and thus diarrhea?

Thanks Catherine! Didn't know what
it's something new..i'll try to take in small quantities then..though it's kinda difficult hehe cos i 'chilli queen' haha

Chrisl, u try and see. It is not supposed to. Even if it does, it wun harm ur bb coz diahorea is not caused by unclean food. This trick I learnt from books. Milk is alkaline will chilli n soury food r more acidic so these 2 supposed to neutralize each other. My hubs has super sensitive stomach, after chilli he will hv terrible tummy aches. So, he will take soya milk after taking chilli food.. He is lactose intolerance so can't take milk. I do that too if chilli is super hot.. Where my month feels really hot after eating. Water or soft drinks wun work.. But milk does, immediate relief to the mouth,

Hazel, u have yr mum to bring clothes in how lucky. I can only pray for gd weather this long weekend.

Chrisbb like what hazel say ya we should buy from wet mkt. I have to nag at my hb from march haha he tend to wake up late. Then end up we go buy from ntuc and giant.

Hope all of us enjoy our Xmas long weekend and who ever is gg to the Robinson sakes this morning have fun!!

Catherine & Chris

Hv u done any research on FM brands? If BM not enough first few days, we will need to supplement with FM. Was Told pte hospitals such as tmc uses many brands n will ask mommies which brand they prefer before feeding new born with FM...

Hello hello!
Woohoo - finally managed to make reservations for NYE dinner. Yay yay so last minute cuz every yr take opportunity to get out of Sg but this yr got baby to celebrate with.
Merry Christmas everyone, in advanced. Oh what a beautiful celebration knowing we have little one(s) in the tummy.
Today is the start of partying liao. Haha and hopefully I can control any shopping along the way.

catherine, hazel,

Yup i did tell hb to buy from wet mkt. Went to my sil's place for lunch just a few blocks away from my place. Oh my mil cooks at my sil's place, they pre-prepare the ingredients then cook and wash up there. So sad thought today can do laundry..but guess rainy day all the way. My in-laws chat with me about marketing and say don't worry leave to them to buy the stuff, I told them, they dun need to buy everyday, I'm not particular can just buy 1 whole week stuff and put in fridge.
6494312.gif

Oh if i'm not wrong, my bro-in-law boil the herbs in a big pot there of that mix with the water from the heater.

Hi Kimmy,

I've told my mil not to count us in during NYE dinner planning just go ahead, and do their own reservations cos we dun wan the whole world to wait for us cos don't know when i delivering and might not be able to join in.

Hazel,
before preggy, i can't drink soya bean milk,cos after drinking my stomach will bloat and follow by gastric but now when i preggy can drink liao funny hor.
6494327.gif

Hi hazel,

My sil says Nan is good for FM, but TMC don't have and TMC fed bb another brand so after discharged my sil followed the same brand given by them

Hi hazel,

my sil wanted to save $$ cos her mum used to do confinement for all her 2 sisters and did a very good job. But this time round, her mum got to take care of her nephew so unable to do confinement for her so she asked my mil to help lor. My mil didn't do before and did'nt know it can be so taxing so promised her thinking that my sil's mum will come by most of the time to help. Until then, she found out she doing "full time" so die die muz do for them cos she promised them liao.
6494354.gif

Chris baby - I see. Yeah it make sense since u r gonna be due anytime
wah this rain is horrible! So glad I didn't drive rather take taxi otherwise stress big time! Wahaha

Mm re. FM I heard some use enfagrow?

hehe thanks hazel..i'll try then as not to hv a bad tummy ache and enjoy my spice at the same time ;)

Chris, so your sil used unboiled tap water from the heater.. I can't, my joints will ache.

Hubs engaged a maid to look after Mil. She refused to stay with any of her children's plc. She said, she is used to stepping on ground every day when she wakes up! Pampered loh... Hubs has dinner with her every wk day night. Mon, Wed & Fri, hubs will wake up at 530am, goes back & sends mil & maid to Camden for dialysis. Noon, he will pick them & send them home. If he has time, he will hv lunch there at same time.

The main brands of FM in the market are:

Similac (made in SG) by Abbott (Gain - from Europe)
Enfa by Mead Johnson
Mamil Gold by Dumex (packed in Malaysia)
Frisco Gold by Royal (packed in Malaysia)
FrieslandCampina
Nan Pro by Nestle (made in Philippines)
S-26 by Wyeth

Read, s-26 is thick n heaty. Nan can create alot of bubbles when bb drinks. Similac &amp; Enfa are the most expensive. These days hard to get samples for <6 mths bbs as all the suppliers support govt' on breast feeding. So, suppliers are not supposed to market <6 mths bb FM. So, u dun even see it on their website. I called a few suppliers, was not they not allowed by rule to give samples for <6 mths bbs.....

Was told to get from tmc some liquid FM brands in glass bottles at discharge to try... KKH by default will feed bb the brand it is using for that week...

hazel,

Ya, they are mixing unboiled water from the heater cos no CL to do for them le. My mil also suggests to me using tat method as her frens are doing tat as well.

Wow ur hb very busy le, does your mil stay nearby you all?
6495077.gif

Gosh tummy rumbling liao...how ah??? so lazy hahahaa very tempted to just cook instant noodles. But on 2nd thoughts better not cos i ate instant noodles 2x this week liao. aiyoyoyo whole body aching ah...no choice got to change clothes and made my way down slowly like a penguin hahahahaa

6495087.gif

Chris, we stay in the east.. Mil stays in serangoon gardens. Hubs has been doing this for 5 yrs since fil passes away.. He sick also needs to wake up at 530am 3 days a wk. I hv nv heard him complain.

During my confinement last yr, my mum boiled all the water I used for showering. Initally, I told her no need, just the method ur mil suggested.. In the end, I can't take it, all my joints are aching once I touched unboiled water... So now I listen.. I dun wan to end up with a weak body later.. Will give more issues in life next time...

hazel,

oic, then will ask my CL to do it for me since she is paid heehee then i no need pai seh liao.
Have u heard of this dolphine vacuum system? tat costs around 2-3k+. My sil just bought it, said tat is supposed to be very good as uses water instead of dust bag and can use it on the mattress etc...
6495138.gif

Jus had chicken chop for dinner. Ran out of ideas wat to eat, and didn't want to order noodles or rice as i'll end up piling up on carbo again. Lucky my home opp got kopitiam if not i die liao where to find food nearby when hb not around ah..

6495142.gif

mil says this yr NYE dinner eat outside. Normally we have 2 families eating together around 20+ people and poor mil has to prepare all the food with help of maid and she cooks alot. My gran-in-law aka dowager has 2 sons and his other son's family will join us for NYE dinner. But this yr his mil passed away so they won't be celebrating CNY and hence might not be joining us dinner so MIL says might as well eat outside more convenient. So they might eat like 1 week earlier lor. I've told bb to let mummy eat her NYE dinner b4 we deliver her, ie 22 Jan 2012. hahahaha but dun think that's possible..cos by then she'll be 40wks ++
6495146.gif

we already set up bb cot and other accessories liao though people will say patang, but hb said no time liao...we at 1st intended to paint the walls of bb room cos paintwork very old, last painted was like 6yrs ago. But when in-laws heard with painting they objected violently say cannot do painting in house when i'm preggy and pantang etc...... so we gave up the idea lor hiaz..........

6495149.gif

ya kimmy better don't drive esp now xmas season, orchard very crowded and everyone rushing for xmas shopping, very dangerous n the road is always packed.
6495152.gif

Chris, cny u will be doing confinement!! So, all the seafood is out for you! I can't eat much these days... Eat abit more, stomach presses on my lungs n I can't breathe, eat too little, reflux.. Very chiam.. Also I need some carbo.. If not reflux again!! I just ate a little noodle at 7plus coz feel really uncomfortable after eating... Now discomfort is gone but stomach like nothing inside.. Need to find something to eat later before reflux again... So mommies said festive seasons lots of goodies n nice food... But I can't eat much... Haiz...

hazel,
oh i LOOOOve carbo as it keeps me full. But now got to refrain cos gynae asked me to cut down :'( yup i better listen cos dun wanna go under the knife ah. Nowadays i try to eat 80% full since my 7th mth cos scared of reflux too. But so far touchwood, stuff that i'm not able to eat last time, surprisingly i can eat now, even hb also amazed. My colleague same as me, last time she can't take coffee as will give her gastric, but once preggy she can take liao.
6495159.gif
heehee now thinking of ice-cream....

hazel,

at times me also felt uncomfy cos while eating 1/2 way is not stomach pressing on lungs, its bb pressing near my ribs area..aiyoyo then while enjoying my meal hb will suddenly see tat i stopped eating and rubbing my tummy..then I'll tell him bb pressing hard against my ribs area... sometimes i got to stopped awhile and continue eating afterwards no choice lah.

hazel,

u can try eating fish porridge or mee sua, those food easy to digest. eat smaller portions then continue later. no choice cos heard its very common this stage to have reflux, and when bb engaged liao you'll feel much better.
6495163.gif

hazel,

u can try eating fish porridge or mee sua, those food easy to digest. eat smaller portions then continue later. no choice cos heard its very common this stage to have reflux, and when bb engaged liao you'll feel much better.

hazel,

For me, porridge doesn't cause bloatedness even dr recommends me to eat ah...or how abt mee sua? Oh if u felt bloatedness after taking porridge then better avoid... i know tat last time when i got reflux dunnoe why can't take bee hoon lor, once taken stomache more acidic...
6495416.gif

hazel,

my stretchmarks getting worse around the bikini area the area where i complained to u that bb pressing hard and that i felt pain. The marks now getting deeper around tat area and causing me pain as well. Just now, i keep apply clarins oil around that area.
6495424.gif

Wow hazel u did a lot of research on milk. My fren gynae say the hospital change milk brand every now and then. My mum Told me to c what tmc give my gal then she go buy same. She said not gd to switch milk cos bb may not like it. I let her decide cos I inexperience and my mum work in phArmacy so more exp than me

Catherine, ya loh.. I dun like to switch milk also unless not suitable for bb... I was told tmc will ask us what brands we prefer to give bb as tmc uses a few brands... If not I also will follow wat your mum suggests.. That is why I m doing research now..

If KKH is easy, every wk or so, it will change brand.. So bb will be fed FM brand of that wk.. Mommy can just follow the same brand that bb is fed..

Chris, I didn't see any stretch mark so far other than the long dark line that run under breast bone to belly button to pelvic and red rashes (not itchy) at pelvic areas. I nv use any stretch mark cream.. Coz I believe if I were to get stretch marks, no matter how much cream I apply, I will still get it..

I just ate a slice of bread coz I keep getting reflux though I dun feel hungry! Gaviscon also dun seem to help now.. Hope the bread helps.. If not another sleepless night!

Chrisbb, I have the similar dolphins vacuum cleaner alike. Cost us 3k+. u can feelthe diff when u use normal vacuum cleaner and the water vacuum cleaner. Of cos the latter is better. My hb does it on the mattress every 3 weeks. Initially the water colour is like cuppucinno now ok already. My mum has requested for the vacuum cleaner to b sent to her house b4 I start my confinement so that she can clean the beds.

There is a person who can come to yr place to dodemo or u can ask for cleaning as and when u want and u pay accordingly. I dun know if I m right to say I sleep better now after buying the vacuum cleaner or is it bcos pregnancy drain me out. Oh ya this vacuum can also clean the dust on yr air con and act as air Purifier....

Hi Chris and catherine
I have the same vaccum cleaner too.. It is expensive but i think worthwhile as easy to move around the house since u feel very light.. Unlike some need use alot of force as it suck the floor hard.. Use coming to 10yrs and i buy bec of my son too.. Want to give him a cleaner mattress n environment oways..;) chris, u thinking of buying?

Chris, I don't hv that vacuum cleaner u mention. I hv the usual one at home but I rarely use too.. I believe that too clean an environment is no gd for kids growing up.. Some dust is fine.. We can't always shield them from these dust.. Unless they r allergic to something, then no choice.. They shld build up their immunity from young. ESP boys since they hv to go thru NS some more.. Overly protected will not bring them good. Like my hubs, low immunity, wed we collected my medication from 24hrs children clinic phamarcy and immediately we came down, he is down with body aches n flu! He must hv got it from the sick children there. Super lousy right?

Hi hazel, Jasmine, Catherine,
I did mentioned to hb about it, cos last time they came to do demonstration at our place too...however hb believes that too clean an environment not good for kids growing up... so we put the idea on hold lor. And we beieves S'pore tap water is very clean just need to boil it will do. My sil bought a water filter that separates hot and cold water (somewhat like the ones we use in office) she said more convenient cos cleaner and got hot water can make milk for bb. Not cheap lor that alone cost $388. My mil at 1st asked me to buy too, i told her not necessary cos a good electric airport like tiger or zorijishi costs lesser and works as well. My buddy also believes that we shouldn't overprotect children from young, they can just drink normal drinking water. if we too overprotect our children, then how are the supposed to survive in the outside world or if we bring them out for tour etc...She believes that we should let them slowly build their immunity no doubt we should also keep our house clean as well.

hahahaha wow ur hb immunity weaker than yours heehee...

6496037.gif

Hi Joanne,

Dun think I'll buy cos my colleague and my hb frens has the same vacumm cleaner and they seldom use except for vacuum floor and they don't use it on their matteress as well cos no time..heehee
One of them stayed opposite us and say if we need to use can just borrow from them cos they don't use it that often.

Anyway, i might buy it if bb develops allergies etc...

Hi Hazel,

Did Dr loh recommends you antacids? cos there are a few brands and the ones that KK gave me can fight reflux and gastric and safe for preggy ladies. It helps to reduce acid in your stomache, gaviscon only gave you instant relief but doesn't last long. I knew cos I'm a regular reflux patient and i've taken all kinds of reflux medication before i got preggy. So i very kiasu has already asked my gastric specialist in Gleneagles what i can take if i can peggy, he has alot of preggy patients referred to him too from the gynae there.

6496049.gif

Just went to bengawan website :http://www.bengawansolo.com.sg/baby_beginning2011.pdf

on 1st mth package. My sil's having her full mth today, i asked for her advise and she said she finally settled down on bengawan vouchers instead of ordering cake from sweetest moments etc..She personally preferred cake from melrose. She has gotten feedbacks from frens and colleagues and finds that vouchers more practical.