(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Thanks all for the well wishes

My first sign of labour is bleeding, actually brown discharge like Baby Me, so dr said best to induce.

This red dates saga is very frustrating, I've got my hubby to go ask again, and to quote my fren delivered here last month had it too. I think hv to speak to right person. Anyways, hv asked my mum to brew, hubby will go get it later tonight.

I tried bf earlier, thought surely no colostrum on day 1, so I just latch on and let baby suckle. Baby likes the nipple that is longer and didn't want other that's shorter, sucked a bit then stopped and pushed nipple out, sigh...but still first attempt was abt 15 mins each side. Quite fulfilling experience

Then 2 hrs ago, 2nd attempt bf, nurse says now 30 mins each side (I thot it's quite impossible cos earlier baby got sleepy after 25 mins...) I consulted nurse about the shorter nipple problem and she squeezed it real hard...out came colostrum
Fr then, baby suckled well and fed for abt 5-10 mins, then same thing for other longer nipple too. But she sucks quite strong, so I've to apply nipple cream to prevent soreness. Now baby sleeping very soundly. I haven't had a wink since delivery, hope can close eye a bit later.

btw, really hats off to the c sec bf mummies, it must hv been real hard
My below wounds quite painful and having to sit up straight to bf, it's really very hard, manouvering baby etc., very sore the below even with painkillers. I really can't imagine how a cut across the tummy must have felt like when doing bf

You have my utmost respect c sec mummies

Luv, hope your discharge will go away soon. Rest plenty, bedrest better.

Catherine, does Dr Chua issue HL without u being hospitalised? Think Dr P doesn't leh... Wah, u very garang. I dun think i have the same energy as u, heheh...

Tromso, oh, so u were induced? Good to know that u're successfully latching baby on. Great job!

Congratulations Tromso
and so nice to hear that Baby is latching on nicely. Rest when you can, so that you will recover faster

Luv, do rest more and don't do anything strenous.
We all know and understand that it's scary to see red >.< hug hug

Luv, ya dr Chua will issue. Same for my colleague and fren gynae. They were the one who taught me to do so and I ask dr Chua. I m v strong willed and I m v stubborn. Blame on me that I want to excel and pile all onto me. That's y I say dun follow my road.

Anyone knows if cock cock has given birth?

Congrats Tromso on yr bundle of joy in your hands!

Ya they told me no red date drink and served me ginger tea (their ginger tea got red date smell) by the cup daily. I suspect got red date but a little with more ginger.

Catch some sleep if u can. I sleep 2 -3 hrs each interval due to total bf-ing.

Catherine, Dr P doesn't leh. That's the headache!

Ladies, do u know if Dr M will issue HL? Thinking of seeking 2nd opinion from her.

Catherine...think cock cock not so fast...gg to be 30 wks soon i think..

can i check if d3 transfer is a std in sgh? my fren will be doing a d3 transfer and she is worried why is not d2 transfer...any diff?

Luv, I don't know if Dr M does but Dr L does. You have exhausted your MC entitlement this year? Good to get HL to rest at home. Hope no more bleeding (until full term delivery)!

Catherine, MC, I think Cockcock is 32 weeks as I recall she's around 5 weeks ahead of me.

MC, d3 transfer seems quite common here. Bbjourney's one is a d3 transfer.

Tromso, I will also find it frustrating to keep asking for LRD drink in the midst of many things to learn and manage after delivery. It's hard to understand why the hospital serves the drink to some but not others... Hope that by now you have your home-made-with-love LRD drink.

Luv, you can give it a try and see Dr M for HL. You may want to call to see if she is in cause she is due this month. Dr L will definitely will give HL cos he wants his paitients to rest, i am a good example.

MC, as per Angel, i did D3 transfer.

Luv, not too sure about Dr M, must ask those under her. Your dr dont issue more HL for you? Better to rest than go back work since you still have spotting.

Tromso, glad that your gal is latching well. I seriously dont understand why the hospital has so many different standards to things and you have to really make known what you want.
Hope you have had a good rest yesterday night.

Mc, thought D3 transfer is quite standard here too. I also had D3 transfer.

Thks ladies! On my way to see Dr M now. My prev gynae gives HL but I tot better to see a doc with IVF expertise now. Called clinic n they said can go down.

Dr M did my first fresh so hopefully considered "old" patient?

Very quiet in O&amp;G in the morning hor? So few pple. Guess it must look very different in the afternoon!

Anyway, so it seems like the bleed is really caused by the empty sac. Looks like i can still expect to spot now and then. Haiz...

Thanks Tanny, last night, they brought bb in for bf at 12am, then 4am, I guess cos it's day 1, so feeding gap is longer. But I only hv little colostrum and I think baby is quite hungry today. I bf this morning, baby already slightly refuse to suckle for too long, cos very smart, knew not enough milk. But can see her mouth opening and closing and tongue wagging but refusing to take nipples, also cried for a longer while, see already, I also feel so heart pain.

My mum arrived earlier and jokingly said I'm starving my baby, sigh...cos she keeps opening and closing mouth but when I put her to suckle, she'll only try few suckles then give up and stops and sleep. So we decided to give her fm. She happily took 33ml just now
But will def try bf again and supplement with fm too cos oso afraid get jaundice. PD said bb poo and pee yesterday and no signs of jaundice today, so hope the fm supplement will further extend the 'victory'.

Red dates tea saga...haaa...we've given up. Nurse says hv checked kitchen, they don't have, there's red dates in their ginger tea, so what others claimed as red dates drink is actually their ginger drink. Ah well, whatever, I'm taking home brewed red dates tea now.

Another thing. Our admission, we specified Dr Ong but after delivery, dunno why Dr Ang was assigned to us, so we insisted and got Dr Ong. Maybe some system screw ups as Dr Loh assigns to Dr Ang mostly.

As well just FYI, I think Dr Ong visits bb once a day (cos he only reports progress once a day), I'm fine with it since baby is well and Dr Ong charges are ok.

Also, Dr Loh doesn't visit patient on day of delivery, but if upon request he can do so with additional charge. Standard is he'll visit the next day.

Re baby's metabolism test, dr Ong says about 70-80% of mummies go for it although chance of catching the illness is very very low. It's $100ish, so we opted for it too.

There's also kettle here for those who wants to wash up with cool boiled water. I brought along 3 water bottles for this purpose, to brush teeth, wash hands, wipe body, etc.

Congrat Tromso!! U deliver on my edd date..;) rest well gal..

Luvnhope, u rest well too.. Bed rest more k..

Btw gals, do u always sterilize ur pump after each use? As if pump 3 times at night and got to sterilize 3 times? Xiong woah.. I didnt hv enough sleep last night due to take care my bbies myself.. Almost wakeup every hr..;( i feel bad trouble my mum so chase her hm to rest well.. Wonder shd i asks hb for help but He need work next day? As i worry hb will tired out doing night feeding so stop him fr helping though he tries to help..

Luv, I was induced cos no dilation when I arrived. Dr put in 1 pill. By about 9pm plus, only 2cm, so he suggested put in second pill. As my contraction pains were quite unbearable, every 3-5 min once, I asked about painkiller options and was told if I'm going down that road, might as well get epidural and break waterbag. So I did that.

1 thing to note, everytime we request to check for dilation (say wishing to monitor if can start epidural), need to go to observation room/ labour room, will get charged by the hour. Bearing in mind the dilation pill only starts working about after 6hrs (as was told by nurse), don't have to be too eager to check for dilation. I didn't know and asked to check dilation (cos very painful contractions) after 7hrs so cervix only started opening, not even 1cm, hence not advisable to get epidural which lasts for 6hrs typically before top ups are given. Once epi starts, some pple may feel shivering, nausea, dizziness etc. Due to my slow dilation, dr Loh predicted will take 12 hrs for me to dilate fr 3 to 10cm, hence if I started epi too early, may suffer bad side effects. Luckily only took me 5hrs cos I could relax totally and sleep after epi.

Tromso, no jaundice. That's good news! Btw, what's the metabolism test for again?

Jo3, thanks! Will do.

I sterilised my Avent pump after every use, tho Tromso and Hopefully mentioned b4 if it's Medela brand, there's a part of the pump that can't take too much sterilisation.

Tromso, i see. Yeah, i tot epi can help u relax n therefore dilate faster?

Wow, does it take 6h for the pill to take effect? I remember I started having mild contractions within 1 or 2h of induction. But also maybe becos I was already 2cm dilated or so b4 induction. So progress was faster.

Did ur labour last 5h in total? That's fast for a first-time mummy!!

Just came back from shopping at metro. Having members card preview 20% and some 30% items.

Hi tromso, nice to hear from u. Thanks for all the additional info. Glad to hear baby is coping well too and no sign of jaundice. As for bf, u can slowly do it, main importance baby is well And no jaundice.

Sounds like a complicated process for induced delivery.

Luv, yup, O&amp;G is busy in the noons. So Dr M doesn't give HL too? Funny. So means she said should be ok to go back work next week?

Joanne, I used to sterilised my parts everytime i pump. Tromso and hopefully mentioned apparently the Medela freestyle cant sterilise eveytime or else might spoil a certain part.

pierced, she can give MC but HL only if u're hospitalised. Ah well... Looks like even in the same clinic, diff doctors still work differently.

pierced, yeah lor, in the end i went back to see my old gynae for HL. And it was her who finally spotted the source of the bleeding. Thank goodness!

Btw, cannot pay using credit card at O&amp;G har? Was quite surprised had to pay by NETS.

Luv, good good, luckily after one big round, at least u know the source and it's from the empty sac. Can be relieved and rest well for your HL.

Yup, can't pay by credit card, hee only nets or cash.

pierced, a bit more relieved to know the cause.. but still, it'll be weighing on my mind lor. Can't be helped. Cos donno when will bleed again. Aiyo, why can't my body just absorb the sac leh? Hahah...

throll..not yet..my detailed scan schedule on 21 Aug but i am gg next Tue for review.

have been scanning every 2 wks recently...haha..so can see them often.

when is yr detailed scan?

mc, but how? Does that mean letting the bleeding continue? I forgot to ask doc if it'd be better to let it discharge. That crossed my mind b4 too. But how to do that without scaring myself every time i see red. Jia lat lah...

Tromoso, when started on epi, need to go labour/observation ward. But check dilation no need leh... Dr Loh checked my dilation twice in my hospital premier single room.... Maybe that's why he charged me $1,800! He checked for dilation personally 3x. Last time was in the labour ward after on epi n he burst water bag.. Was 6cm dilated then

Also not even one diliate same speed with the pill. I only had 1 pull, 6-7 hrs later, dr Loh checked already 4cm..

Tromso, I used 2 bottles of epi! Coz I started on epi really early.. Thanks to dr Loh who made the down there so painful fr all his VE! So I requested epi after his 2nd check... Only epi on full force then he broke my water bag.,, yes, 1 bottle last 6 hrs.. Not enough for me, so 2nd bottle!

Baby me,dr ong clinic no is 62599554

Tromso, mayb dr Loh din write on yr card? Nvm la ....

Luv, dr Chua is a ivf doc too. Sometimes dun u wish we can have unlimited days of mc? Condition : preggy women is entitled that haha

Luv, hopefully like what mc says, better to have it out of the body. But did dr mention how long it might take? An understand everytme see red so scary.

Hazel, haha, he give u very personal service so charge u more. So will have different types of services. Hee...
U dilate very fast! The VE sounds really painful!

Catherine, I wish too we have unlimited days of mc, haha! But think no one will employ us anymore.

Pierced, he was also worried something will happen to bb again after my first loss... He came to see me the moment he was bk to SG.. Initally, he still told me he will see me only when I was in active labour.., but seeing him is really reassuring.,

The whole process was v stressful for me.. My eyes were always on the ctg machine monitor.. When it was placed behind me in labour ward, I will keep tilting my head to see.. Bb's Heartbeat dropping, I will beep for the nurse!! Was told a few times it was ok as the heart beat will go up again.. I kepte monitoring to make sure it did not fall below the passing mark... At times the nurse has to readjust the stickers on my tummy coz bb moved.. When she adjusting, at times no heartbeat, I freaked out n almost cried! Was told bb moving, abit hard to locate.... Then nearer the last leg, belle's heartbeat dropped... Mid wife gave me oxygen to breathe.. Told me to take deep breathe as the oxygen will go to belle... I was super stressed.. Eyes nv off the ctg machine.. N if it went beeping, I super worried...

Catherine, yeah, i hear Dr Chua does IVF cases too. But funny to switch docs within the same clinic mah.

pierced, donno how long it'll take leh. But how to have it out of the body other than to allow the bleeding???

Hazel, yup, guess he will pay more attention since he knows all your history. He really bother to go the extra mile. really stressful, thankfully everythingis over.

Luv, hopefully won't be taking too long for it to clear? Come to think, if it's a tiny sac, shouldn't bleed a lot right?

Hi ladies, may I know when's the typical start for post natal massage, natural delivery? 5-7 days, or earlier? Thanks!!

pierced, i donno if and when it'll clear actually since we're stopping the bleeding now. Hopefully it'll be reabsorbed in the meantime or at least not cause any problems. Well, enough bleeding to scare me!

Luv, do u know when dr p is not at his clinic? Then u go and say u want to see dr Chua. FYI dr Chua is not in clinic on tues morning, weds and thurs afternoon. Pretend a bit if u scare dr p minds.

Tromso, I did mine about a week later previously. Normally, think around 5-7 days is fine to start after u have settled down with bb. So have you got a name for your gal already?