(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Luv: u mean the scan pic of the bb? I did get mine...

When I did my Oscar and detailed scans, the bbs were not cooperative too, too had to go walk around before going in for another scan by a more senior sono...

With a heavy load off..I can take head back to shopping for bb stuff

Hi ladies, I hve just came back from polyclinic for bb jaundice. His level has dropped from 10-5,the dr said tht there's no need to check again. I will start to adjust bb back to bm tml

Thks bbjourney n Biggly! So we collect the pics together with report? Yay!

Yeah, scanned empty sac too but nothing much to see, lol.

Miracle, good news!

Luv, just checked my Oscar report, i hv 11 pics in the report. I hv pictures that shows baby's face, heartbeat, head circumference, nasal bone, neck thickness, head to rump measurement, arms+legs, umbillical cord, bladder n heart.

Hi Catherine and Baby Me, thanks for suggesting engaging earlier massage b4 the scheduled one and notifying that TMC tcm department provides the service, as I think can't find any free lance ones to do 'now-ish'. Called this morning and is able to get appointment this afternoon. Actually my ankles are starting to swell, sigh....I think fr the air con (as I've not been wearing pants and socks, just home slippers and night gown). My mum felt that air con may be worse than fan cos ac is cold air. So I'm not using ac now, just a standing fan circulating air, not directed at me....profusely wiping my perspirations with a towel now

Actually oso having great difficulty with doing big business, can feel bowel movement within but the wounds hurts too much, especially when in contact with urine, so can't push out, so hoping massage can help. I've also came out with a solution - I urinate not entirely seated on toilet bowl (bend forward a lot), so will flow down straight into toilet bowl instead of flowing down and touching the wounds, it works lol...stinging sensation greatly reduced and just passed motion, another small victory.

A little tip for washing the wounds below after toilet visits - I fill up chilled boiled water into those squeezable water bottle, those with bottle cover for sucking. Then squeeze the water onto v area and wounds whilst still seated on toilet bowl, in doing this, then no need to use shower head to wash below, especially for those who prefers chilled boiled water over warm tap water.

Bm has come, can't imagine my joy when I see white bm flowing outta heather's mouth, think I overfed despite her sleeping a lot on the job. So she takes bm abt 1.5-2hrs interval now. Bf 7 times yesterday (fed fm 4 times), so tiring. Think she is drinking well, will try feed 50ml tonight, as she can sleep 3 hrs after fm, easier for everyone.

Going through the Health Booklet, saw that she's O positive like me, I guess that's why no jaundice yet (but will confirm during PD visit nxt mon). I recall someone saying mixed blood group higher chance of jaundice, so I guess I'm just pure lucky. As I'm not taking ginger now, I'm self massaging tummy (was told to do big circular motions around belly button) and has managed to purge gas out but tummy still quite big, hope massage later will help.

Ok, gotta weigh heather later, hope not much weight lost... Been tough so far but quite satisfying results, thanks so much for the recent tips ladies, I really appreciate them

Hazel, catherine, and chris : not sure whether do you all have backache from bending to change diaper, change baby clothing, bathing baby etc...how do you deal with the backache huh?

Tromso : you are doing well. dun give yourself too much stress hehehe
eheheh everything will fall in place slowly....u can ask your hubby to register baby's name within two weeks. take more nutrious food now n have more rest. u engagin a confinement lady huh?

Babyjourney, wow, that's a good number of pics! I really can't recall what I got back in my prev Oscar report. Terrible housekeeping. Wld have to look high and low for it now too.

Tromso, I'm sure Heather is doing well. Jiayou!!

Tromso, r u taking still stool softerner (syrup bottle) and the fibre rich sachet to mix with water (can't remember the name)? Sf Loh gave me both right after delivery coz I told him I scared pooing pain. With that no need to push. Sit on toilet bowel n the stools will move by itself. N of course w lots of fluid. Pee, I half squat and stand. Dr Loh told me must make sure I empty my bladder. If not, bladder later enlarged more problematic to fix.

Sunbelle, is like this one coz we 24x7 takes care of bb during maternity leave. It will get better when u return back to work!

Juvi, yup, me definitely no hope for whatever ranking this year also, think they sure mark me down due to my HL and whatever.Plus Im going back and taking ML in 2 wks time.

Anyway after having a kid, I also a bit heck care with whatever grade they want to give me. Whatever you do, they will tell u to do more, show more so that u are noticed. Everytime it's the same old story. I always tell my RO my family come first n now i have #2 on the way, that's more important after trying for so long.

Biggly, congrats on the good news for your twins.
Angelxuan, thanks for the tips. i already bought the avent shells already coz was so happy that Metro had a 20% disc too.

then realised that Medela has it too.

Tromso, I did my previous confinement without air con too. think this time round even though weather is hotter, my mum still wont allow air con or fan, esp coz bb will be rooming in with me at her place too.

Glad to hear you are coping well with breastfeeding Heather etc.
I just came back from my photoshoot and she was mentioning you had already book for your shot. Was very fun but tiring. After such a long while since we took our last family photoshoot.

Sunbelle, My IUGR seems better now after last scan, bb caught up with weight and not so small after all. Hope to have more good news after seeing Dr Loh next week.
Getting backache is common leh, but try not to overstrain yourself if you can. I got it too, plus sore wrists due to carrying of baby in a wrong position.
You will be still taking care of your bb by yourself right?

Tromso, you and Heather are doing well! So happy for you! Heather is a nice name! If you are asking Dr Loh for the stool softeners, remember to also drink loads of water, like double your daily intake or 2-3 litres a day as the stool softeners need lotsa water to work.

Congrats to those who cleared your oscars!

Juvi, hope you are feeling better. I also face 'grieviance' at work by losing my promotion boss submitted for me earlier this year as the bigger boss not happy but never mind, it didnt matter anymore when i think of my bb and i am more keen for the even more meaningful 'promotion' on my EDD.

Pierced, are you next in line to pop? So exciting! Your gal will be good weight too given she is now catching up.

Ladies, do you all feel discomfort, sometimes even alittle pain when bb move? Recently, i been feeling very tight and when bb roll and turn, the tummy skin feels like its going to burst. Is that normal? I thought tummy should stretch? Now feel like dont know is it tummy not stretching and restricting bb movements.

Faithfully, I switched to full time formula milk instead of bm. Actually I only fed 100% formula milk for 2 days & sun bb this morning for abt 15-20mins. His feeding time is every 2-3hrs 60ml & his stool is yellowish & seedy.

Hi miracle happen, I feed her 90% fm and 10% bm. I also sun her 10 min on each side. And feed her water too after each fm. Her poo also yellowish mustard color too.

heartbeats, I think so! No one else popping in Aug right as far as I know. Time flies so fast!

Yup will feel pain when Bb move, esp when they grow bigger and not much space left, so when they start kicking u, it's like a big painful pokes to your sides. Think for you even worse coz you have 2 inside and squeezing you left and right. hee...
You will feel tummy is tight.

sunbelle, presume u change ur baby on your bed? Have u tried sitting down on the bed while changing rather than bending over? Or get a chair and sit down at the side of the bed? Very bad for our backs to keep bending down for so long. I had backache from changing diapers n poor nursing position too previously.

pierced, yeah, so hard to strike a balance between career and family right? Sthg's gotta give.

heartbeats, jiayou! You're in late 20s week now or in 3rd tri already? The discomfort will be worth it when ur little ones arrive.

I am just glad to know its normal. The turning and rolling feels like being twisted inside. If its normal and just bb movements, i dont mind the discomfort. I just worried its not normal and i am the only one feeling weird and that bb will be stressed.

Luv, i just started 26 weeks going 27. Did you also feel pain when your #1 was turning inside last time? Was wondering is it 1st pregnancy tummy never stretch before so its tighter and more painful.

heartbeats, i remember when I was in late 3rd tri, can sometimes feel my gal poking my ribs or my side (felt like her leg, maybe she was doing a yoga pose ;P). Was quite painful at times esp as baby got bigger. In 2nd tri wasn't so painful. So yeah, as there's less space in tummy, we'll prob feel more discomfort when baby moves or kicks. Moreover, my tummy wasn't very big actually compared to some of my peers'.

Think for you because it's twins, you may feel discomfort even in 2nd tri. Do speak to your doc if the pain is really unbearable or if it still worries you okie?

My nipple is bleeding
May I know if I can still express bm out and if need to discard the milk away until no bleeding.

Nipple split abt 1cm and can see the little bloody flesh hanging out, baby's mouth surrounding also has blood too, I'm so upset
It's the harder to bf left breast, shorter nipples and fuller breast, hence quite difficult to get entire areola into bb's mouth, sigh... tmc breastfeeding helpline no one picking up phone

Tromso, when i had chapped nipples b4, my gynae said can continue BFg. The dried blood will be extra iron for baby, lol. Maybe if it's still bleeding, u wanna try pumping on that side first if it's more comfortable for u? Then when the bleeding has stopped u can resume BF on that side? It's part n parcel of BFg. Keep it up! Dun despair.

Thanks Luv, the bloody scene around bb's mouth makes me feel so sad, felt like I've failed her
Thanks for your encouragement, I'll express the other side out cos starting to feel very full and hard too. I really cannot take another bloody scene, may not bf for a day or 2...

ok, will continue feed bb with ebm when nipple wound is dry. Thank you.

Tromso, you certainly haven't failed Heather!! Dun ever think that. The fact that u're continuing to pump and keep up ur supply already shows ur commitment to ur baby.

Hi gals, long time no here as taking care twins really no joke... So busy everyday after CL left.. Hope they grow up soon..
Btw, when do u start introduce pacifier? How do we sterilize pacifier? Me cant cope if both cry together so think of need pacifier n yaolan help now... Soooo busy daily n tired but i will persist on...

J03, I intro pacifier fr d1 belle was bk home! Sterilise like u sterilise the bottles loh... Btw, not all bbs like pacificer.. Belle does not like it at all n will spilt it out after a while

Tromso, nipple split might be caused by not latching properly. I had that too before, on both nipples some more. I tried to apply nipple cream after latching. It helped.
There is this nipple puller sold in market. You might want to use it for few times to make the nipple slightly longer n easier for baby to suck.
When baby latch, you try to help with your hand too by squeezing the part near areola slightly so baby mouth can cover whole areola. Hope this helps too.

Thks luvnhope on ur advise for ebm..;)

Hi hazel
U mean the avent sterilizer can use to sterilize pacifier too? Is it daily sterilize once? Ohh.. Day one already introduce.. Tts fast.. I remember my elder boy start only 2nd mth so i want to try now else xiong.. Thk u..
Yeh, hb help take care one bb tonight.. Hope i can sleep more.. Else really panda liao to take care 2 bbies n pump..

Thanks Heartbeats and Hazel, I'm hoping can poo once a day, so taking lotsa fluids and fruits now. Will get stool softened fr dr Loh if no choice. I have some leftovers fr my keyhold surgery last year, think will use them for now. Fybogel can too??

Dr Loh actually didn't prescribe much leh
My friend's gynae prescribed her this gel for wounds below too, supposed to speed up healing, for Loh, only the alcohol disinfectant. Ladies, if you want post natal multivitamins, fever pills, stool softener, etc etc etc really hv to joint down and request fr Dr Loh. I think he is sooooo busy that everything is basic, so we gotta watch out for ourselves too, Loh great skills no doubt.

Thanks Luv and Baby Me and Angel, the breast shells actually came in very handy, protects my cracked nipples (the other good 1 also cracked and bled a bit when I use bp, think too strong suction sigh...bm is tinted with pink haizz...but at least not a gapping 1 cm tear like left nipple) and collects bm in betw feeds. I've discarded the bm cos not fresh for bb.

Baby Me, you are right, really need post natal massage EARLY. My breasts starting to harden this morning and in time to get unblocked during this afternoon session and bm flowing very well now. I can't imagine starting massage only nxt week, by then will hv all the huge lumps already, will be even more painful to iron out I'd imagine. Now I'm kneading and rolling constantly, blockages do build up quite fast I realise.

Juvi, yes, Maya attended to me, she's a life saver
Have you tried her massages? For post natal, they use those heated equipment at tmc tcm massage, used a heated rollar thingy to reduce my ankle swelling (said due to salt in food although I'm taking Natal Essentials now and others hv no issues with it), another diff heated device to 'dissolve' my blot clots (said its a lot), a diff heated device again to unblock the milk ducts. Also hv a heat lamp on constantly. I've signed up the package too.

Joanne, jia you, now I know why you and other ladies cry when hubby goes back to work, I can't imagine without his help too as really hv movement restrictions fr the wounds plus the stupid post natal wrap. Is anyone else other than your mum helping you out now that CL is gone?

Pierced, glad you've enjoyed the photoshoot session. Was Megan delighting in it too? How many addn pix have you guys chosen? Yes, I was told NB pix best taken in first 2 weeks cos bb in sleepy state, so easier to manage and also more adorable

Sunbelle, I don't have confinement lady, parents are helping out and been very encouraging. I guess I'm trying to be hands on too, so ended up doing too much. Yes, hubby is doing all the running abouts outside settling things. But he is now officially sick, sigh...

Just browsing through how other mummies are doing. I see many using fm and ebm now. I think I may just use ebm too, and fm at night, as it's very heart pain to see bb struggling with bf. I see the bm flowing into the bp bottles so easily, can't help asking myself why need to put myself and bb through the bf schedules and tiredness, etc, ebm will be equally gd. I did see bb taking in areola too, dunno why nipples still bleeding, sigh...

Tomorrow will be a better day I'm sure. Sorry if I've not responded to other questions or forget to thank anyone, reading forum on and off so may hv overlooked, do remind me again if I've not responded.

Thanks for all the kind suggestions thus far

Congrats to Biggly on your good scan results, can rest your mind and focus on the journey ahead now

Juvi, you felt bb movement before 20 weeks, that's great
Fr now on, can def get more peace of mind with daily 'reports' fr bb. Time flies, you were only in first trimester when we caught up months back...

Miracles, so happy your baby's jaundice has gone down
I'm sure she'll take to bm again, jia you!!

Sunbelle, I was catching up with older postings and saw that you have backaches. Have you considered massages to iron out the knots? I also find that the cot is low-ish, needs a lot of bending. I'm planning to add height to it by putting yellow pages or bricks beneath the legs, not sure if will be workable....

My massage lady said my back, neck and shoulder super tensed up, I told her due to bf cos hv to sit up, carry bb and bend head down, I couldn't cope with the aching after just 2 days, so got my hubby to be Brest Friend last night, helped a lot. Was told I should do bf lying on the bed, way lesser pressure on the body. Like doing many things wrongly, steep learning curve...

Hi Heartbeats, I had quite bad upper tummy ligament pains during my 3rd trimester, also rib pains, was told its not uncommon. Dr Loh also said my tummy not stretching a lot and with my bb I could feel all the kicks and punches quite obvious too. For twins, must be so much harder for you, I recall Joanne having the same 'super tightness' sensation too, so you don't worry too much ok. If the periodic scans look good, then babies must be enjoying themselves inside

Tromso, Maya is also doing massage for me. She is very good in helping unblockage the milk duct using the hot stone. She also helps to reduce my water retention. My stomach after delivery still looked like 8mth pregnant, looked like there is another baby inside. She helped me massage till now almost flat. I'm very happy to see the result. And it's only my 4th massage.

With your perseverance you will be able to latch your baby soon. Don't give up.

Tromso, just in case my prev post wasn't clear, thought I'd clarify here.

I meant that u can consider using a nipple shield (to be worn while latching on so that u can protect ur nipples), not a breast shell.

More info on nipple shields here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nipple_shield_(breastfeeding)

http://kellymom.com/bf/concerns/child/wean-shield/

I didn't like BF while lying down tho many of my frens said that was easier. I guess I found it messy with the BM leaking, hahah... But guess with breast shell the problem will be solved.

Jo3, I tried not to introduce pacifier cos was afraid of causing problems with baby's teeth formation. Only let her use once or twice when really no choice. As to how many times u sterilise the pacifier, depends on ur comfort level?

Ladies, wonder if there are any LCs or massage ladies who just do massaging of breasts to unblock ducts??

Hi ladies, I've decided to pay dr Loh a visit next week, just wondering besides stool softener, what else I should request from him? Thank you.

Hi Hazel and ladies who's used stool softener post natal, may I know how often it should be used?

Omg my bb is awake n singing songs waving hands since 6am until now.... Feed already bathed already changed diaper already, Pat already, must be tired but still not sleeping .... Haiz im so tired..

Baby Me, so your $120 per session massage is also Maya
My package is $648 for 6 hrs (1.5 hr ea session), is yours per hourly or 1.5 hr each session? You also went thru TMC tcm and visits tmc for the massage sessions or private arrangements?

I also look still in 3rd trimester after birth, after 1 massage, think I've lost abt 1kg, I slept with the wrap last night, more water purged out luckily.

Luv, thanks a lot, I'll try the breast shield for bf when I've mastered up the courage again, now both sides still healing but fortunately no more bleeding into bm. Quite happy bm supply going up fast, 1st pump 50ml, 2nd pump already 80ml, def easier and less uncertainty pumping.

Baby gained weight, now 3.6kg, was 3.3kg at birth. My mum says she finishes 50ml fm every 2-3hrs (since yesterday afternoon), I think it's too fast too much. Think will hv to try stretch out her feeding or something...

Tromso, hearing your experiences, I must tell you that you are doing great!
You are a great mummy. It's definitely not easy BFing. And our nipples are getting use to it.
So press on!! :D

Biggly, indeed, so good to hear that both babies are healthy and normal. Every day is a blessing and miracle! :D

LuvNhope, good to know the reason for your bleeding and Baby is growing well

And thanks for always sharing and advising with your experiences! :D

Learning much from all your experiences and sharing!

Yes, I stop pumping at around bb's drinking amount so that no need to store too much excess breast milk - inside my fridge now many frozen ebm. Yes she drinks more when I give her the bottle. Aiyooo my CL says my Bb pattern is need to pat before sleeping... CL already pat for many hrs her eyes still not closing.... Really orh bak cut now..

Tromso, I took stOol softener n the fibre sachets. Took daily for a few wks! Stool softener is a few times a day. Fibre sachet once a day

Hazel, have to take few sachets daily, whoa...ok, already asked hubby to get it, thanks.

Tanny, maybe mine is still too young, at this point will either sleep after drinking or stare about move a bit whilst lying in cot. I read bb can only see black and white first 3 mths otherwise things are normally a blur. I've put black n white picture cards around her cot as a form of entertainment I guess. She just stares at them and not make noise, for now that is. I'm sure more patterns will emerge v soon.

I'm not sure if can put your baby on her tummy yet, if can, maybe a gd form of entertainment as compared to carrying. But I think can only be on tummy very few minutes cos still quite young. Or can try white noise device, or soothing music?

Tromso, Megan was a bit unwilling at first to take photos, needed to warm up but Pat was very good at getting her to join in so we managed to have rather candid family shots. she was more interested in the many lovely toys in the house. haha!
I was at first trying to choose a few just to keep, my hubby was the one who said take all instead. so we ended up taking all the photos back.

As for breastfeeding, I thnk you are doing a great job already. Do what you feel is comfortable, give fm milk at nite if you are really tired so you can have a better rest. Slowly once you ease into bf, you can slowly pick up and even express out for night.
Also dont over do with the BP for now,
can try out the breast shields like Luv recommends, so that it is easier on you.
Latching on needs a bit of learning, and it is not suppose to hurt.

Maya sounds like a really good massage lady. Will keep her in mind in case my other massage lady don't work out fine.

Tanny, you baby is so cute!
Just pump for her quantity now coz too many EBM in store and you don't use it , later on it will lose nutritious value, plus the BM nutrition is always changing accordingly to the age of baby, will not be nutritious enough for baby later on. so can try using your EBM now.