(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Thks Tromso..;)

Hi Luv
Hmm.. But if i want to bring the pump to hospital, shouldnt i sterilize now? Since i dun know when will i deliver?? How?

Baby, can put in zip lock bag, but my fear is the sterilisation effect won't last so long. What happens if it's been a few weeks since you sterilised and kept the pump? The alternative is to regularly sterilise it and repack it. But that's gonna be quite troublesome. Are there sterilisers in the hospital that we can use? Hubby sure have time one lah... sterilisation doesn't take long.

Hazel, Catherine, Chris & sisters who just delivered, do you know whether there are sterilisers we can borrow in hospital? I didn't bring my pump to the hospital previously so i didn't check b4. Did u actually have time to use the pump during your stay btw? I'm also keen to hear abt ur experiences.

Tromso, wah, ur DH very supportive and cooperative!! Lucky you!

Dear heartbeat, thanks for replying. Yeah, I am 37 & it's my age that pull the number down. From what i read, the NU has to be at least 3mm so how much lower can my NU be?? I dunno. Like you said, since I am having this baby, I have to pull myself together. It already has been a long journey to get this far so I am praying for the best. I wouldn't mind considering seeing Prof Ananda though IF hubby agrees.

Lynn, frankly speaking i do agree with yr hubby it's all numbers. I din do any test. I din want to.... Hubby din insist i do. Same thoughts I m dying to keep the child. Juz stay positive

Hazel, yup now she is always on watchful eyes. She may have sensitive nose juz like me. Pd gave her medicine this morning. Pd says elis is of gd weight. Juz nice not too fat haha....

Bbliss, how's yr gal now?? Still drinking well? My gal isn't drinking well since last night cos she has some mucus back flow we have to seduce and force her to drink a bit. Hope the nose spray dr ong gave her will improve her appetite later

Lynn, have a good talk with your hb then. Oscar is just a probability test and many times its simply pulled down by maternal age while bb is perfectly ok. So dont get too affected by it. If it gives you more peace of mind to do the genetic test at camden then just go, at least the rest of your pregnancy you wont be strickened with fear all the time. Also if really touchwood anything, at least you can be better prepared before birth. But i seriously think your bb is going to be ok.

NU is neck thickness? If so i was told at KKH, as long as below 2.8 is good.

Jo3 and Baby, maybe can check with ur hospital if they provide steriliser? Because in the long run, even if u sterilise ur pump b4 u bring it to the hospital, u still need to wash & sterilise it b4 the second use. So it'll still be necessary to have access to steriliser after delivery, in which case u might as well sterilise just b4 you use it? Just my two cents worth. Would love to know how u tackle this problem eventually so that i can also learn from u.

geez...sterilizing logistics, ok I'll take note of wats discussed above. Thanks ladies.

Luv, my hubby kinda has no choice but to help heh...cos I can't really sit on the floor now to sort out the items for hospital bag, stand up, bend over to get things and sit down again, repeatedly. So I'll just tell him what I need and where to get them. In the past, he has always be spared of packing and organizing, so it's always an excuse for him to not help out cos he doesn't really know where everythg is. But now I'm making it a point to 'train' him, so no more excuses nxt time

Seriously I feel will need lotsa help when baby comes especially I'm hoping to try take care on my own after a couple of months, hoping to let my parents take a break when my niece starts childcare nxt Jan. Maybe wishful thinking on my part, but will have to start somewhere I guess

Looking forward to motherhood with lotsa anticipations and trepidations at the same time...I'm sure we are are

Tromso, yeah, take help wherever available esp in the first few months. After u settle into a routine, then it'll prob be easier. Looks like u don't intend to hire a CL then?

Ladies who have bought Gerber (of similar) baby hanky at expo...

Tell you my bad experience about it. I put them into the wash with the baby blankets, towels, swaddle clothe. After I've sun the laundry, I discovered lotsa lints on the hankies. I tried flipping them hard, like 5-10 times each handy but still lotsa lints flying about. My nose started to get stuffy and I gave up. Just imagine the lints getting into baby's nose and respiratory system

I had used the lint remover to remove the lints on the hanky, all 50 of them. Realised it's the raw edges that causing the lints to fall out, although there are interlocking stitches on all sides. Then I washed the hankies again and flipped each hard a few times, finally most lints removed!!!

Now I realised my baby towels and blankets are also stuck with lintssss fr the handy....booo....hubby flipped like mad, still lints flying about, so washing them second time too.

Hence, my advice is to get those marketplace cheap terry clothe hankies, much lesser hassle. It's a hanky nightmare...

Hi Luv, no, am not hiring CL. My parents are very insistent on no strangers in the house and very confident they can cope...hmm... I guess since its their second grandchild, they probably know what to expect. Just that I'll have to rely more on myself and hubby since there'll be 2 kiddos, not 1 like last time. I'm very fearful they'll fall ill if don't get enough rest, will have to see how things go. But for now, they are both very athletic still...can def cycle faster and further than me (before i got preg) and actions still very agile, so I can rest my mind and depend on their help.

Have heard a lot of wonderful stories about CL's help, guess I'll just have to content with my parents unconditional love for their kids n grandkids
finger crossed heee...

Will you be getting a CL?

Tromso, u're lucky that ur parents can help with confinement. I'm still thinking what to do for confinement. Didn't have such a wonderful experience with previous CL, so a bit wary. But without CL's help, the first month is gonna be very tough. Will weigh out my options after the heartbeat scan. My EDD will prob be ard CNY, so CL charges will be much higher too. -_-

Catherine & heartbeat, thank you for your advice & kind words. It made me feel much better sharing it with you. I wish i hadn't gone for the OSCAR test but that is done. I will try my best to get over it cos it wouldn't be fair for my baby if mummy is stress over something which is not set in stone.

Came bk from my check up. And I ask for c-sec doc give me a date from 9-12 July which I am in 38 weeks. She doesn't want be to drag till 39-40 cos I might hv contraction and water bag burst and also due to my GD it also not too gd to wait till that time to pop. Now bb is 2.6-2.7kg in 35 weeks. Doc say bb weight is fine, not big or small..

Hi Luv, my friend started her confinement after cny this year but still within the 15 days and she was charged $2,300 (is this reasonable amt?). Her CL sounds very wonderful from hers and hubby's descriptions, and they were full of praises for her, e.g. CL

- visited them pre delivery to suss out their home environment and informed them what's lacking etc.
- accompanied my gf to the shops to get the confinement items
- when baby was delivered, CL not only took care of baby and mummy very well, also helped trained their new maid on housework, simple cooking, marketing etc.
- made her own rice wine fr scratch for gf's use
- made enough pigs trotter stew for the in-laws too (lol...)
- upon finishing her service, CL even gave them an ang bao in return
- after that, CL still calls them to make sure they are coping well and has visited them once with gifts for baby, very sweet of her

Oh during confinement, CL potty trained the baby, so baby poos in potty since 1 mth old but will pee in diaper still. I was actually quite surprised the hubby took to the CL very well cos he is the very picky sort heee...

Heard she is normally booked out quite well in advance, so if you would like, I can request for her contact on your behalf. I think her daughter is giving birth this Aug, so not sure if she'll be helping out for longer periods. Your edd is first quarter next year right, maybe she'll be available then

Faithfully, 2 plus more weeks to go, very excited for you
Take good care meanwhile. I'm sure your baby will stay healthy till then.

My SIL and a good gf both has GD for their pregnancies. All 4 babies came out very well and still very healthy to date

LuvNhope, I didn't see any steriliser in TMC. But when belle was warded in KKH, KKH has. If u latch on, u dun need breast pump. If u need to use breast pump, u can use the primitive approach to sterilise. Ie, with hot boiling water. In KKH, can request for hospital grade pump. They will give sterilised disposable bottles. But TMC, I asked for it, dun hv!

Tromso, that sounds like a wonderful CL! Yeah, my EDD shld be in Feb next year. Wld be great if u could help get me her contact. Thanks much!!

Hazel, thanks for the info. Looks like KK is much more equipped. I only know that TMC ParentCraft has pumps, but not sure if need to pay to use them. I didn't bring it last time cos i assumed i would be latching baby on anyway.

LuvNhope, KKH need to pay for yr accessories coz they give they give new tubings for every patients. But cheap! No news to pay rental for breast pump.

Hi faithfully
We will be delivering around same week... Unless my bbies chose to come out early.. Btw, may i know why u want to go thru c sect instead of induce? Our bbies r around the same weight too..;)

Hi tromso
Yeh.. This period we really need hb help.. I just prepared my portion (pad, pantis n pyjamas) n he incharge of getting the right bag, put in bbies n his clothing n other necessities like my towel, toothbrush etc.. Basically tts all.. Luckily he is those independent guy who oways take care of me instead of me take care of him.. Me lousy wife especially poor in arranging n packing.. ;p

Hi luv
I dun think we hv any milk in first few days so thinking of use the pump to help..;)

Hi lynn
Dun worry.. Is just figure.. If u insist of keep this baby then dun think too much n give positive thots to ur bb..;) everything will be fine..

Luv, no probs, will pm you the contact once I rec it.

I'm also planning to try pump in betw latching on...is this not practical?

Heard Gleneagles doesn't even provide newborn clothes, so have to bring your own. Looks like very diff service for the diff hospitals. Indeed very noble of kkh to provide brand new tubes for their patients, touching

Joanne, your hubby is the rare gem sort
My hubby will only move after my nagging and very specific instructions but slowly improving, relief...!!

Joanne and Faithfully, have you both started drinking coconut juice? Just wondering where do you get them from? The soft ones...

Hi Luv
Ya.. Thinking of tt.. Hope it work out..

Hi Tromso
Thks.. At least urs oso improving, tts gd..;) actually he attracts me last time when i see how he pack his luggage..so much tidy than me..;p but one thing is he not IT pp so dun really play computer game etc while i more IT savvy.. Hence i oways joke tt he is my mum generation as play kampong games etc..;p i feel guys will grow more mature after be father too so ur hb will sure improve for the better which u can see now, just give him time..

J03, the best pump is your bb(s)! Even dr loh said so when he knew I was pumping for milk flow to come in.. As my bb was in NICU, he actually told me, ask my hubby to suck faster! Muhahaha

Tromso, your parents are like mine! At first, i even thought get maid to help them. But they dont want. End up both mum and dad will help. Hb will also take no pay leave for initial weeks.

Thanks for sharing on the gerber hanky. I havent got a single thing for bb haha

Jo3 and Tromso, i donno how pumping between latching on will go, whether it'll be too tiring for the mum. Of course, you're definitely stimulating the breasts more than not pumping b/n feeds in the hospital. It never occured to me to do that b4, and I wonder if i would have had the discipline to do it, heheh...

Hi Hazel
Tts a funny joke..;) ya, tts my worry too if bbies cant suck so need pump help.. Else will be best to use bbies latching on..;)
Hb can help maybe only when we bding.. Lol.. But wont hb feel disgusted? Sometime i wonder, for those who do breastfeeding for 2yrs, wun it be very messy when bding? Hee..

Hi Tromso
I already start drink coconut juice since few wks ago as not sure when will deliver.. Yummy.. My hb buy fr sieng song.. Cheap n nice.. I drink one coconut per week..

Jo3, i guess the pump is more essential for twin mummies like u cos if ur babies are preemies, you may not be able to latch them on straightaway. Those with full-term singletons will prob be able to latch on babies more easily and quickly.

Hi luvnhope, not sure which hospital u r delivering in. But in sgh, the nursery will help you sterilise if required.

A small note to all using freestyle. Do not over sterilise ur pump. The suction part with the plastic mould is made of soft plastic. Hence over sterilising it will actually cause it to expand n hence loses its tightness n d suction power. Pls see medela website. http://www.medela.com/IW/dms/global/breastfeeding/products/pumping/freestyle/pdf/htu_freestyle_cleaning_en.pdf

I know cux it happened to me n I had a tough time looking for d replacement part which is only sold either at toh guan, mums n babes or online blog shop

Chris, I bought alot fr Carters including socks and hair clips. I also bought fr hannaandersson.com. All the way to 18 mths.. Just down I bought fr mothercare waterproof dress bibs, hats, some other stuff.. These few days,, I already spent $600-$700 on belle just on clothes, hair clips, hats, jackets, swimming wear and socks... :p

I just went mt A this PM to visit a relative who just delivered.. No place for parking at all! Terrible... N the construction noise....

HI Joanne03,

I dont wa to waste my time & money to try inducing. Cos doc did say that since mine will be out early then EDD so I will hv to go thru early induce. Which mean I will spent 10 hrs+ to induce which is also waste of time & money (money wise is abt the same as C-Sec cos u will spent like a day inducing and 2 days resting). And also becos I hv phobia of constipation and it really scared me to push. I dont even hv the energy to push my poop out, let alone a bb. But most impt is I dnt wa to stress my bb and myself. I wa the bb to be healthy.

Hi Tromso,
I didnt drink coconut cos I hv GD and beside I will be going C-Sec, so I dont think I will need to drink or can drink. I am not sure whether C-Sec need coconut or nt to make bb more clean.

HI luvnhope, I ve not delivered in either hospital b4, but I heard a few of my friends raving abt d svs of Mt A ( despite d Reno going on, n d Carpark issue is prob the same at TMC cux everyone is complaining abt it).

Hi Joanne and Faithfully, thanks for sharing about coconut juice. Other day I was at Hock Hwa, the in charge there was saying the juice will help cleanse the scalp too...immediately thoughts of cradle scalp came to mind but I didn't verify if it's that cos I don't know how to translate to Mandarin. According to my tcm dr, the juice can help reduce heartiness in both mummy and baby. But for Faithfully, with GD, it pays to be careful, so good to stay away fr food/ items that you are not comfy with

Joanne, so funny, you are attracted to your hubby's luggage packing charms
For mine, it's really his thoughtfully and affection, will always come and give me a hug or kiss anytime. So housework department I have to close 1 eye
No 1 is perfect, I think that's how the Big Boss up there made us

I really like this para, sharing with all of you, has stuck in my mind since, whilst watching a Taiwanese travel show:

在这片天空下,原来快乐不是你佣有了很多,而是你追求得很少。。。

Hi Heartbeats, cool...your hubby is able to take longer time off to help with baby
I was initially hoping 2 weeks fr hubby (he has accumulated more than 1 mth now), but due to work, can only take 1 week. I guess 1 week will do then, will cross the bridge when we come to it

For my niece, my parents did the night shifts daily so sis could rest well during confinement, then sis will take over at about 5-6am onwards then pass on to my parents in the morning again. My side, I'm still uncertain if that's gonna be my plan.

I recall how my sis was lucky to have hubby helping her out quite few weeks then but each late morning, we'd see 2 'corpses' lying in bed in parents' place 'confinement' bedroom...lol... totally KO. Really something taking care of a little kiddo

Hi Tromso, coconut did not help in cradle cap in my case. I drank it from wk 37 onwards, twice a wk n still my girl has cradle cap.. Hahaha..