(2012/11) Nov 2012

sweetcute: my first born is a boy

<font color="0000ff">Queen: Hmm u had dnr early is it? That's why wld feel hungry? I tink I will start next week and will drink in the morn. That will prevent me from drinking tea hahahaha :p Oh not bad leh....this incentive also got milk powder :p My gynae ah....probably I with her very long liaoz. The nurses find me cute too hahaha
Interesting leh! In another few weeks' time, we will know. By then, must share the gender hor. Must b very cute hahahaha! Aiyoyo the thing is hor, I want more flow leh so wont try that theory hahaha. 1st one I only bf for 8mths
Hopefully this time can be beyond 1 yr

Hahaha my hb always say I blur like sotong :p

Hmm I tink that depends on the popularity of the massage lady ba. Those hor no seng li one, you can even last min book. Those gd ones, then gotta chop early leh. Anyone got any good recommendation? Probably we shld go to those Jan - Mar thread and chk out their massage lady cos they have already given birth and used their service liaoz :p

Wendy: Aiyo....how come ur MS gtg worst leh? Headache whole day then hw to work? According to some of the mummies, the prawn paste in Chinese rojak is quite poisonuous so dun take too much ba (where possible)</font>

I booked my massage appointment with Huiling.
She came highly recommended in one of the threads in the forum.
Lemme see if I can find that thread.

<font color="0000ff">wahh all of u action chop chop siaz! I tink I must start doing something too :p

Pink: Wait for u to share the thread hee

So Josey, you hoping for a girl this round?</font>

Sweetycute: I have no idea man! I would say I am ok at initially (compared to the state I am in now) Yes how to work?!?!?! Still have to work lolz. Well just hang in there. It is just a passing stage..

I thought of having chinese rojak... so i think it is safer not to have it.

Yes, i had heard the cabbage theory b4 and saw it when i visit my frd in hos last time as she do not wish to bf so on the spot, the nurse pass her some cabbage. Tat day i went to KKH, aso saw some nurses taking cabbage hehe :D

btw when the massage tat u all mention is for during confinement or after confinement hehe coz i 1st time so newbie, pardon me...

Sweetycute:My hubby is hoping it will be a gal this time round. I'm slightly leaning towards gal side too but as long as the baby is developing well, I'm quite fine with either. I'm praying hard for an all clear Oscar test results.

Dotty: First few days in hospital will have milk flow already? It took me about 5-7days to have any decent flow the last round. I was so stress that I won't have any milk for my son then.

As for the massage, usually 5--7days after natural delivery but if you have C-sec then need to wait for 3-4weeks

Josey: Hi Josey!u mention that your CL is quite good..may i know how much u paid for her?

Queen: I'm in my 12 weeks already!

I'm hoping it's a boy for my first child actually..i guess i have this preference because I always long to have a elder or younger brother!And i've got some good vibes that it's going to be a boy too heh

I've seen the thread of that massage lady huiling too..was very tempted to book her but my hubby says maybe can save up this money as he will learn to massage for me!haha i doubt he will be so hardworking lor!btw anyone tried her services before?is it that effective?

Thanks Pink! Hopefully it will be over soon.

I think I need to be KS abit hahaha. I would say I have not done much. I am worried now.

eunicechen: I engage her in 2010 through the PEM Confinement agency. Total $1800 - Agency fee $500, Paid CL $1300. I have to pay separately for work permit i think is about $140+ or something.

Josey, I not sure as i did not ask my frd whether she got milk anot then i just saw the nurse pass her cabbage and i ask for wat purpose, she told me to stop milk leh hehe...since she dun wan bf.

so if u all book the massage lady now, need to pay any deposit 1st and do she come over to ur hse or u go over?

anyone got recommendation for daily CL? i have no space for her to stay so need to get daily one.

Josey: my cousin booked one via PEM in oct 2012 cost ard $2500 now
very ex, any idea if the herbal package is a must to include?

Eunice: In Huiling's BP threads, some mummies (with high post numbers) posted abt her good service.
So I gan-cheong, quickly booked her first.
Deposit is $30, and then you pay $50 at the end of every session to secure for the next appt.
I took the 10 days package at $480.

My CL was recommended by a friend.
She's charging $2,200.
I didn't check if she needs work permit though.

A lot of the popular CLs all booked up for the year already.
Baby boom this year, so better book early!

hihi.. is massage lady important in simulating milk supply?
My massage lady was good but she didnt really help in simulating my milk supply...

how come u all so fast one!

Hui, u even bought a yao lan already?? Am still considering if i should buy the baby plus, is it really effective?

Pink, what/where is the thread of Huiling, the massage lady?

i'm not sure if i should book so early in advance because alot of things very hard to say.. *touch wood*

<font color="0000ff">Wendy: Yah JY ba! It will pass by soon! Yah better eat after confinement ba :p

Dotty: Hee Queen....my theory is right abt the cabbage thingy hahaha. Btw, the massage that we are talking abt is during confinement. They will come and massage ur stomach and womb back in shape

Pink: Tks! The website look quite pro siaz :p and just need to pay $30 as deposit. Hmm can really consider her :p

Josey: Hee yah....health is the most impt :p Yah it took me a while to have milk also leh. Few first weeks like a few drop. See liaoz so sad
But luckily the flow came later!

Ur agency took $500 and did nothing ah? Din even help to apply work permit for u? Lousy leh!

Eunice: I was hoping for a boy for the first one cos I got the same tinking as u. But it came as a girl instead hee. But nvm lah....girl also gd. Can doll up

Hui: Not bad leh....u bought the baby plus liaoz. I also din get anything yet except a few maternity wear hahaha. Btw, is the baby plus gd ah? What does it do?

Wahhh CL so x siaz! TInk better ask my mama to help me do confinement

Wahhab!! So fast the thread shifted to breast feeding n post massage.

Can I ask a qn to 2nd time mommies an above? Di u all breast feed your #1? How long? Do u think breast feeding helps in the bOnding? I bf my #1 till he was 10mths and #2 a bit lazy, 6mths but this time I v tired, old liao, plus mil keep nagging say no need bf la, feed milk powder better.. I also kinda influenced but scared later the bonding part not there. Sigh.
My #1 and #2, is v v close to me even though she was their pri care giver, and I wonder if it was because I bf? Or cause I really spend time w them? Or what.... So hahaha... Wondering if really will lose out on the bonding if I don't bf...

Queen Kay: The thread was listed under bulk purchase. I think they removed it after the BP ended.. can't find it anymore when I searched just now.

Eunice, i just did OSCAR ytd.my bb was 6cm so nt dat much dif =)

Re: CL
Those looking for one beta bk quick..i heard fr my frens alot of getting bk real fast cos dragon yr..many giving birth..tink there are many recommendations inthe forum but i tink stil safer to get reccomendations fr frens/colleagues cos i heard dat sm of those forum ones might be they ask ppl t post gd comments.. I'm lucky my mum's willing to do it for me dis time too =)

Re: Cabbage
It does help to reduce milk supply and help in engorgement..dang gui oso cant take during confinement..wil reduce milk.

Cindy: I bf my #1 or 23 mths til she self-weaned but i started introducin formula wen she was ard 19 mths thereabts..I tink it helps in bonding but I tink if u use formula and tok to your child wen u feed and sm quality time, wi have the same effect..i persisted mainly cos I feel that breastmilk is beta for the child and indeed, my ger doesn't fall sick as often as compared to my nephews who are on formula from 2-3mths..but i tink no nid to give yrself too much stress though..

Hui: Where did u get yr bb plus? I'm quite tempted to get for #2..heard that it wil help bb slp beta..my #1 was a terrible slper..only slp [email protected] my frens say i suffer earlier, den now enjoy cos my ger slps early.

Piangs: A massage lady wun help to stimulate milk..my mum is trained in massage so she did for me..i had very bad blocked ducts so she helped me massage my breast an it helped..your milk supply depends on how often you latch/pump..

Dotty: I don't have to make deposit for my massage. Just sms confirmation. Anyway she did for me 2yrs back and we both have mutual trust in each other.

For PEM, I didn't take up the herbal package. My mom don't trust that they will give good quality stuff so bought the herbs herself.

Piangz: I have inverted nipple on one side and my massage lady did help me massage my breast and help to unblock the milk duct on that side. She says that side only has one big milk duct open. The rest all blocked. After the massage the supply did get better, but still quite low. Max I get is about 100ml while the other side can go as high as 270-300ml. But I gained 24Kg then and was weighing close to 80kg and she keep telling me I have to bf in order to slim down. Hahahahah maybe she pity me bah!

Sweetycute: The agency did help me do the paperwork for work permit. Just that MOM will send the bill directly to me instead of me paying the agency. So legally I'm the employer for the CL and not the agency.

I think it is good apply work permit for the CL. Safer and CL can't play punk. I heard so many incidents of CL work half way then say they have something urgent at home and need to stop working and will introduce their friend to stand in for them. Or they call you last minute and say they can't come and will introduce their friend to you. Alot of times, these friends are new and inexperience and they are earning commission by help these newbies find assignments. So in a way getting them wp will kind of ensure they work throughout the assignment....i think :p

Cindy: I bf #1 till 11mths. Wanted to hang on till 12mths but I went for a 10days business trip and well dried up after that. I think I was tired out during that period even though i continue to pump out my milk hoping to keep the supply.

For bonding, I think as long as you play an active role in their life, they will still bond well with you. Not every mummy bf their kids and their relationship is still as close. I think is the quality time that you spend that is important.

Hi all, I bought my baby plus from the " want to sell " section..some mummy was selling ..I think yesterday also got a mummy posted her intention to sell in our thread here, it's ard 180 for 2nd hand on average, brand new cost ard 300++, I don't have experience coz its my 1 st baby, even the seller told me cant give concrete proof that it is beneficial coz there are too many factors , but I read the website, I tot no harm trying..I read some jan- mar threads, some mummies did use for their babies, and said their babies are more alert and calm..so I think it's a matter of whether you believe a not..for me I believe so I buy la hahaa

Queen, I bought the Yao LAN coz its not that frequent I saw pple selling 2nd hand so a bit kiasu haaaa

My mum says I was a very difficult baby, I'm scared my baby same as me! Haha I was definitely not a baby who likes sleeping! So I tot Yao LAN shld be better than cot, I also scared cot is so expensive , if baby don't want sleep inside, then jialat!

Hi mummies, after a long 8 years I am finally glad to join this thread. I had a older girl which is in primary 2 now and we are excited to have my #2 . After trying for 6 years and was told that my 1 st child is a miracle , we decided to gave up end of last year. So having to find out that I am expecting and only find out when i am in my 8 weeks bring joy and worries. I feel that I am a first time mum. So happy to be able to join in the Fun!!

Housewife: same here, i always get the hungry but dono wat to eat feeling!! really sucky cos don feel like eating anything. sighs.

Shirlynn: oh i din noe cabbage cause heartburn! so far i don have heartburn so i think shld be fine for me...*fingers crossed*

Sweetycute: hahaha i don think i grow more hair!! but i think probably bcos usually i don have the habit to eat lunch...but now i muz eat else i feel super nausea...
maybe my lunch is causing the weight gain!

Queen kay: kena spotted!!! isnt that a trick question!? hahaha! erm. i usually use this nick...but...i dono who r u!? u r???

Rin: i heard ginger tea is good too! but i don really noe how to prepare...

Josey, rin: thank u girls!!
)) okay seeing that u girls persevere for so long.. A hahhaa salute!!!
i guess I'll see how, prob will run out of energy and patience and perseverance as still have to run after 2 monsters.. I will try to keep it at least 1 mth!! Hahaha. After all I also wanna lose weight.

Pink: congrats! I am happy to read your post!!

<font color="0000ff">Cindy: Hahaha yah....next time u come in, might be talking abt full mth celebration liaoz :p Sadly, my supply only last for 8mths. Tink due to work stress, my supply dropped drastically even though I have diligently been pumping
Hopefully I can do it longer for #2. Hmm not so sure about bonding but bb's health is definitely better! My girl only got sick when she attended nursery so I think, bm really helps a lot

Josey: Oh I see....then I'm wrong about them! Opps :p

Pink: Congrats to u! I waited for 6 yrs too. I can understand that! We are indeed a patient lot!</font>

<font color="0000ff">twinkle24: Same here, I am okie with cabbage but since we knw the possible damage that it can cause us, we just take note ba :p

Oh u mean previously u dun take lunch is it? But would that make u eat more during dinner?

Anyone knws hor the calcium and fish oil supplements, must it be taken separately so that there is effect? I always take together leh until my colleague who is also preggie told me that need to take separately. Got such thing mah?</font>

sweetycute:i take fishoil,calcium,iron,folic all together.should be fine.my gynae didnt ask me to take seperately.

twinkle24:yes!my hubby so pissed off.he bought my fav food and i hardly ate a mouth or two.then he ask if im hungry.i told him YES!then ask why i dont eat.i said just dont feel like eating!lol.i have never been such a fussy eater.he was so pissed with me.lol.

Sweetycute: hehe ya i think i shall skip cabbage, always be safe! :p yap usually i skip lunch n eat more dinner...now i eat more lunch and eat less dinner cos don have much appetite at night...and i still puke 2-3 times per day ... how many weeks are you now? im at wk 9...4 more weeks to go to 2nd tri!

housewife: yes lor sometimes after i bought back food liao i oso don feel like eating! so sian! but if i don eat i will feel nausea.
cannot lidat, tell ur hubby its not you being picky, its the precious inside u who is picky! hehe! :p

Sweetycute,
It's only taking iron and calcium pills together that is not recommended because calcium will affect the absorption of iron. I know this because I have been seeing a bone doctor for a few years (have osteopenia issues) and am always instructed not to take my calcium supplements together with any other multivit or iron pills.

sweetycute: I'm amazed by the truths of the cabbage theory. really learnt something new today.. hahaha. btw i lugi at my buffet earlier, $40 for 2 rounds of food and 2 cups of drinks only. sigh.

hui: hahaha, u are winner! Good also la, less things to think to buy later on.

oohh we got 2 PINK members! CONGRATS!

twinkle24, u've got pm!

Congrats Pink!! Haha.. So cute both of us using the same nick.

Queen: I hope I can get my appetite bk soon, miss all the good food.

Rin: how do u prepare the ginger tea? I'd like to try too.

<font color="0000ff">Housewife: tks for assuring :p Currently, I'm not taking any iron. Just fishoil, calcium and multi-vits

twinkle24: yah tink better to b safe for sake of bb
Mi ah....now 12 weeks le. Just realised that my colleague only started to wear maternity wear when she's 5 mths! So envy leh!

foxinthesnow: oh....din knw that leh. Mi nw taking multi-vits and calcium. So if cannt take tog, then need hw many hrs of gap?

Queen: Hahaha interesting theory hor! Din knw cabbage can perform wonders hahaha! Ohhh thot their dinner buffer is quite x? Like $50+? So it's only $40? Is it becos u ate during weekday? Aiyah nevermind lah, lugi rather than u eat too full and become bloated. That feeling is even worst leh!</font>

<font color="0000ff">Oh yah....anyone gg for bloom pic? and also for your newborn? Hee I'm tinking about all these already :p

And hor, anyone knows where to get maternity swimwear?</font>

Pink: Congrats!!

Dotty: My massage lady package is $300/5days or $400/7days. 60mins each session. Package including one training on baby massage. So in a way she will do one time massage for your baby as she need to show you how to do it mah haha. But make sure baby is not hungry or cranky when she do the massage. We tried 2 times to massage my boy. First time it was close to his feeding time and he got angry when she touch him. Just started massaging his legs and he cried the whole house down, so we tried the 2nd day. This time better he had his milk abt an hr before and he enjoys the session.

My confinement lady wanted to learn to do baby massage so she was with us through out. After that day she will massage my baby everyday. But after my confinement, me the lazy mummy never did the massage for my son anymore...hahah too tired from all the milk feed and I was handling my son alone. Can't cope and doesn't have to mood to do it. So don't want to pass the negative energy to him :p

By the way her mobile is 9109 0584 Mdm Seirra. You can check with her directly. If I remembers correctly, I think her's is the Balinese style. Her grandma pass the skill to her. She is small size but very strong!

<font color="0000ff">Dotty: Hee not mountain turtle lah....we always learn new things everyday de mah :p Those maternity pic showing our beautiful tummy lor hee!</font>

sweetycute, housewife: you girls are taking fishoil.. is that prescribed by the gynae or bought off the shelves?
I read that fish oil is good for bb. Might wanna try.

As for iron, my GP prescribed and I took for 2 days before, got really 'heaty' so I stopped.
After that my first gynae said not necessary to take in 1st trimester?

sweety: haha oh i see...when i see ppl tummy pic, i dun feel nice hehe but now for my 1st time, i duno how i will feel for my own tummy eventually.

so haven tink of taking or not yet haha but did tot of taking the newborn thou :p

anyone gg the baby fair at expo this wkend? was tinking whether shld go n see see or not hmm...

<font color="0000ff">hee pinkie, you change your nick ah :p Mine is prescribed by gynae but I saw it selling off the shelves before. This is quite a common brand - NeuroGain. If I rem correctly, they have supplement for kids too
Usually gynae will recommend to eat fishoil from 2nd trimester onwards. So u can probably chk with ur gynae when u hv reached ur 2nd tri. And of cos, sometimes gynae will charge more for it compared to u buying off the shelf. But if u sign those maternity pkg with ur gynae, sometimes they will include the supplements in the pkg too

Actually for iron, I din take in my 1st tri and I wasnt prescribed for my 2nd tri too. I tink iron is not a compulsory item unless you have low blood then need to 'bu' this part.

Dotty: My hb lah....1st one he said no nid to go studio to take so in the end, we DIY at home. Looks farnie siaz hahaha. So thot since I closing factory after #2, I thot of taking it as a form of memory lor. To me, I think that photos are the most priceless thing!

Oh din knw there is bb fair this weekend leh. Hmm probably can go and kpo for good deals hee :p Tks for the info!</font>

I scared of cabbage in curry liao, ate for 2 days now diarreoh!

Talking about picky food, i also ever sent my hb in the night to buy chwee kueh cos i craving. But at nite where got chwee kueh??? He also complain i make life miserable hahaha, end up he bought cha kueh

Hi Sweety. Yes I changed my nick.. so easier to differentiate. Brain's not working very well, so not very creative with my choice. :p
My gynae doesn't have package so maybe getting the supplements off the shelf is a better option.

Dotty: My hb also says wanna go for bb fair.. but isn't it a bit too early. haha..