(2012/10) Oct 2012

<font color="0000ff">reineluv:</font> <font color="aa00aa">I will hv on n off sharp aches on my lower back.. Either side at times.. Just now after my calcium n mtv.. I left side of the tummy abit pain.. So I went to take a walk ard the office to other dept.. After tt ok le..</font>

Serenelm: Thanks for the info. Will need to chk out with my friends to recommend me their agencies then. Narrow down my search....

<font color="0000ff">SnU:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Hw much is yr package for Oscar + Detail scan? Last wk I did my Oscar.. It does not include detail scan.. My detail scan will be included in the antenatal package..</font>

<font color="0000ff">Raspy</font> - Welcome &amp; enjoy your stay! Oh, and we share the same EDD too, hehehe!

<font color="0000ff">Quinny</font> - Are you gonna be a SAHM, if yes, then we can meetup even after delivery hehe! I'm staying at River Valley and where would your new home be?

<font color="0000ff">Jo</font> - Eh, I'm not sure leh, cause I'm adverse to the smell of white milk, so my neighbour asked me to try Ammum Mum Choco loh, that was what she took too but I still cant find it nearby. You never keep the wrapper? If nice then buy that and drink loh.

RE: Supplements.
This is my routine: After breakfast, I eat Folic + VitC + PMV then I take 1 Calcium each with Lunch and Dinner, and 2 hours later or just before I sleep I take Fishoil (reason being I scared I burp then smell the fishy smell &amp; wanna puke) and for me, I feel more comfortable at 1-2 hours interval instead of 30mins, cause my body machiam absorption quite slow leh...

Try to eat your pills with/after meals, this should help supress the fanwei, if not, have it along with some snacks loh. Try to also eat something every 2 hours interval then you wont feel so nausea and upset too. Or maybe because of all the an-tai stuffs you took, or the weekly injections? Because previously I read all the hormones pills trigger bad MS leh.

<font color="0000ff">May</font> - So long dont eat PMV and Calcium together, cause PMV has iron that hinders the absorption of Calcium.

RE: Massage
Please recommend! My back is breaking!

<font color="0000ff">Meredith</font> - I wish!!! I actually ever asked my Gynae before, but since I am adverse to the smell of fish too, then Fishoil to supplement loh. As for Calcium, cause I complain backache (then she found out I never drink milk too) so she supp me on again. As for PMV it's just a precautionary to make up for whatever vitamins/minerals which we might have missed out from food intake. If you can eat well, then I supposed you can give the supps a miss, but I dont think I am (very bad craving for carbs only) and well, this is my #1, so whatever is perceived to be good, I will take loh. But I dare not buy supp myself, I've seen friends eating alot of other weird supplements like 'baby booster multi-vit', etc... I feel that is an overkill...

I'm also 'psychologically' adverse to the supplements - likewise, I would keep thinking about it until I feel so uncomfortable &amp; vomit them out. Esp I like to drown with loads of water, after so many pills I usually feel super lousy and bloated.. But now I think I have accepted this fact, anyway still got 6 more months to go, just tahan for the sake of BB loh.

<font color="0000ff">ReineLuv</font> - Ya ya! Burping fishoil. Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeek! I really hate that...

<font color="0000ff">Skinney</font> - You remind me of a show I just chanced upon last night, it's a local drama (Ch8 Pillow Talk) about local marriages, childbirth, etc.. IMHO quite a nice show, at least it's based on the facts of life &amp; got me thinking into our future, once we have baby all the priorities would be changed, sigh...

You are like, Joanne Peh (your HB is Pierre Png) cause his work cancelled his leave for honeymoon.

I do feel for you, cause I also feel that there are some b*st*rd companies that uses reverse psychology on staffs - if you wanna go on leave, or childbirth then dont expect to be EVEN consider for promotion etc... Which you are true when you said then what's the point of government encouraging the working society to make more babies when the basic fundamental is not even in place.

Having said that, sometimes it's just the culture of the company... Most times (at least I feel in Singapore) it's due to the HR personnel, politics, you know lah...

ccharis,
You are a good mummy. I really can't tahan supplements and I don't want my preg to be so miserable. Anyway, babies are like leeches, they will take whenever they need from mummies so we are the one who will be lacking calcium, iron etc. My plan is to bu back during the confinement month. Hopefully my plan works. hahaha

Thanks Ccharis. Yah.. good to have someone with the same EDD, can check with each other.

Joanna, I try to do the Oscar around week 12. Infact, I book my Oscar appt after my 1st gynae visit, cause I wanted a sat appt so that hb can go with me. During my #1 time, some mummies did the oscar test too late, then become not so accurate and cause false alarm (as in bad results). Really cause alot of worries.

May, Im hoping the MS will go away after week 16, cause my gynae told me usually after the 16th week, we will feel better and its really true for my #1. So still bracing myself until then.

SnU, it depends on the package that your clinic wrote on the paper for the oscar visit. For me, my clinic only asked for the oscar test as the detailed test will be done by my gynae at the clinic.

<font color="0000ff">ccharis:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Oh.. I been taking my MTV and calcium together after bf.. Dan half hr later or after lunch take the fish oil.. Since like tt I better chg and routine.. To fish oil n calcium after bf.. Half hr or after lunch dan take MTV..</font>

My MIL already made Ba Zhen for me 2mths ago..

my mum still go and make and force me to drink..she insisit i drink..said she will nt harm me and bb want ah..

hub already bought 2 times durians for me..but i ate abit nia..

i told hub i cannot be bleeding..must be MC already..he faster check for me..confirm is bleeding frm anus..

we called Mrs Wong to confirm..she said my anus blood vessels burst ah..coz due to constipation and hard stools..

anyway i did my glugose and DS test yesterday at KKH via blood test...and 2 wks later to scan for DS..nobody mention oscars or anything eh..total $321

eh.. HELP HELP can anyone advise oscar must really do on the 12 weeks? i just count the no of days.. on 5 april i did a scan doctor says i am 10 weeks 2 days but my appt date for oscar is 25 april.. so that's means the results is inaccurate?

P/S: I WILL reply the other posts later....

Re: Maids (adding further onto <font color="0000ff">Skinney</font> field report) I would love to have a helper too, but day-in-day out when I walk the our dogs around the neighbourhood, I see the maids I also cannot help but shake head. Just seeing the way they walk a dog is bad enough, you see their dog also no life in their eyes loh! Even got daily walks, still got sooooo much pent up energy, sigh!

I know generally the expats are more easy-going as compared to the Chinese (we are more anal when it comes to looking after a kid) but honestly hor the standard are really atrocious!

Been there, seen that. Maids talking on the phone with a stroller, although it's small estate road, which cars are GENERALLY slow but cross also must see mah! Sometimes car honk also they bochup. Then, push the stroller can push until the wheels get trap in the planter, with the baby inside they try to shake &amp; break free, aiyoh! Worse is... I've seen alot of toddlers with those teething biscuits? Drop on the floor, no, make that drop on common pavement, todd picks up himself &amp; cont chewing... Geez!!!! Can you imagine how much germs and dirt it got trapped on it esp when the whole biscuit is covered with saliva?

Even HB thinks we should forgo a maid, he rather chip in and help himself. So, bottom-line, these days... You really need a help to guard/look after your helper too.

<font color="0077aa">candies</font>
My edd is 2 Oct.
My backache seems very bad today, I can't sit properly.

<font color="0077aa">May</font>
Mine seems to be constantly there. Aiyo, I'm really getting paranoid. I think I need to go for massage haha.

<font color="0077aa">ccharis</font>
Backache caused by lack of calcium??? Really? I think I have to load up on calcium then.
Btw, My initial post was wrong, Calcium is the one that deters absorption of Iron, not the other way round. Haha

hi may,

yep, take snacks ma,
i buy famous amos cookie for wife to keep in bag la,,, office la... small milo packets la....

oscar, i think we paid $400+
dunno ex or not,
since cannot nego one, so just paid lo

then yesterday,
nurse called wife to book appt for detailed scan.

i also dunno is that $400 inclusive ?
or is it the antenatal package, having the detailed scan included?

Joanna, Don't panic, not good for baby. If 5th April, you're 10wk 2days. 25th Apr, 20 more days, you will be 13wks? Your clinic give your the period 18th-30th Apr, right? I think the clinic should know best, so should be ok to follow their timeline.

<font color="0000ff">SnU:</font> <font color="aa00aa">I paid ard $400 for the Oscar test too.. But does not include detail.. Maybe u need to check wif yr clinc.. If include is super cheap!!

You so nice.. will prepare all these for yr wife.. My hubby only buy when I pick them while groceries shopping.. haha.. I noticed I cant drink milo now.. Will makes me feel bloated n uncomfy after tt.. So now I only drink soya bean milk..</font>

<font color="0000ff">Joanna:</font> <font color="aa00aa">I think oscar can do fm wk12 onwards.. By 25th Apr you shd be in wk 13.. Shd be ok bah.. If not sure, just give clinic a call again..</font>

<font color="0000ff">Btil</font> - Calcium gummies? Got picture, cause I love gummies &amp; would like to try too, thanks!

<font color="0000ff">Meredith</font> - Bobian, cause we didnt plan for this pregnancy &amp; my lifestyle not v good (so I ask myself, what nutrients do I have to give our baby - except alot of nicotine loh, lol!) and you are right, babies are like leeches - I actually feel lower back ache on/about 10weeks, so can you imagine sucking for 40weeks? I think I would wilt loh... HB is slowing to make sure I eat properly for the baby (his mentality: if want to keep then must give the best) etc... so I must keep up with it.

As for confinement, since my Mum is not in good health then I can only rely on tingkat confinement meals. With very low expectation, then I better start replenishing my body now... I dont dare to think if I have time for myself when the baby arrives.

<font color="0000ff">Joanna &amp; SnU:</font> <font color="aa00aa">My total bill for tt day is $443. Include Oscar, consultation, Urine and fish oil.. So must depends on the break dwn of the bill.. I suggest SnU go hv a look at the receipt tonite.. I heard details scan oso cost afew hundred dollars..</font>

ccharis: ahhh.. i have just that is some wu lu brand i duno. i onli know similac whahhaha...

u haven take multivits? yeah i am adjusting my calcium to after lunch just like u.. hahahah taking multivits in the night.. i duno which is correct.. haizz nvm anyhow lah..

<font color="0000ff">Joanna:</font> <font color="aa00aa">5th Apr is wk 10 rite.. 25th Apr is abt 3wks later.. So add 3 wks to yr pregnancy = wk 13.. Tts how I count my wks.. Unless I count wrongly.. How come you will count n add 5 wks huh??</font>

may: hahaha i think i know why le... u all based on the no of weeks hahaha..

i based on the number of days.. each week gt 7 days so 5 april is 10 weeks 2 days so i add another 5 more days to get the number of weeks i am in which is 10 april is 11 weeks whahahhaa...

Joanna, even you count by days also same.

5 apr - 10wk 2 days
10 apr - 11wk
17 apr - 12wk
24 apr - 13wk
25 apr - 13wk 1 day lo.

<font color="0000ff">Joanna:</font> <font color="aa00aa">You so cute... Like tt can bring fw yr due date to meet yr little one.. haha</font>

May: sigh... i wish leh.. i wan the 1st trimester faster end and knows the gender den i can start buying clothes for the little one..

cannot wait.. time passes so slow.. now mostly all in 2nd trimester liow.. i still left one week more...

May: thanks babe.. now i feel like digging a hole ahhahaa bec i miscount the weeks so pai sei.. now everybody can see my miscount of days =X

May: hahaha lol.. but still pai sei..

Autumn: whahhaha why u opposite.. i wanna know the gender.. den hor after 14 week ms will go away faster faster go away sick of ms... u how many weeks le?

I'm new here, edd 16th Oct =)
Have evening sickness on and off, but my weight still gained by 4kgs... don't know should be happy or worried. ("-_-)
I don't know what is 'full' during the first 10 wks and just keep munching but heng now appetite is back to normal. I'm so worried that I will gain too much weight.

Joanna: I understand that OSCARS has to be done between weeks 11 to 14. My gynae suggested weeks 12 to 13 to be the best. Check with your clinic again?

Just went to gynae today and the little one is growing well. Phew
Relieved because threw up on Monday night and felt some pain in the upper abdomen and back aches.

Ccharis - u can try the calcium gummies from Nature Farm. It's for kids.
I think it is yummi bears. Taste exactly like gummy bears. I always take some from my son as he's taking the vitamin C for this brand

<font color="0077aa">Jo</font>
Ok la, you made all of us smile. haha
I also wanna know gender, but when I went on week 14, gynae cannot confirm! so now must wait till week 17 le.

<font color="0077aa">raspy</font>
Your post and my post so similar. haha

<font color="0077aa">Yam</font>
Welcome! I love to eat Yam. hahaha.
Your edd is on my hubby's birthday, I'm sure hubby will love that, but my baby will be so overdued. haha

<font color="0000ff">Joanna &amp; Reineluv:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Think most of us are eager to knw the gender soon.. I am oso hoping to be able to knw during e next appt at wk 15.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Yam:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Welcome!! Our EDD is 1 day apart.. Mine on 15th.. But duno bb wana choose wat date to come out.. haha..</font>

<font color="0077aa">may</font>
You may have a good chance. Dr Chua actually tried to see mine on wk14. But notti baby la. 1 min she say look like girl then turn and turn then she not sure le cos got covered by umbilical cord. Hahaha.
Week 15 should be quite clear le, unless your baby also action packed.

Vankel: You're welcome

Mummies, think I've been very heaty too, a little throat pain now. Ate some durians earlier this week, then mooncakes yesterday nite (couldn't resist them when I saw the 大中国 stall at Ngee Ann City last Sat). But felt very bad indigestion after the mooncakes, think it's too oily

Yam: welcome babe to our family hehehe =)

May: ahhh... share with us what gender.. omg so excited for u all...

reineluv: ahhahaha naughty baby must have cover the private part if not u maybe able to tell..ahhh next time i know le i will delay my appt to 15 week den can see? whahhahaa

ming8110: correct the nurse did tell me best is do before 25 april but no choice all appt full i wanna scold myself actually gt slot for 24 april but i nv choose.. regret =(

<font color="0000ff">Reineluv:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Hope tt baby will expose to n open wide wide face us.. Cos last wk during Oscar noti bb keep looking dwn.. Dr Chua try to make bb turn n face up refuse.. Tried v long.. But she manage to see n take measurement of wat she wans.. So ok lo.. Hope bb will be more cooperative next appt..</font>

<font color="0000ff">Joanna:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Sure.. If I an able to see the gender lao.. I will sure post n let u all know..
But meanwhile I need to be patient and wait for another 2.5wks more for the appt.. But quite disappointed as hubby will be oversea.. So he can't go see bb with me..</font>

May: same leh.. my hubby also leh.. when i go for my oscar test he is not with me.. i gt to take cab and like a mad women to go to mount A first to take blood den deliver the blood to TMC..

btw ladies anyone knows can we eat unagi(jap eel)???

Yam: Welcome! I am the opposite. I don't seem to be gaining much weight. Just about 1 kg or so and am slightly worried about it. I weighed a little more before I went on holiday but half a kg or so when I came back. Sigh. Am going to start drinking the mother's milk and that may hasten the weight gain (I remember for no. 1 that caused me to gain quite a lot of weight).

Joanna: You want to try waitlisting for an earlier slot? Alternatively, I am not sure whether the scanning department is able to take walk-ins. Might want to call up and see?

My mum told me that the news reported that something like 6000 babies have been born this Dragon year so far! That's a huge number considering we are not even half way through the year. Imagine the competition for schools etc next time. Shudder.

<font color="0000ff">Joanna:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Oh.. You have to go 2 places ah.. Heng mine all at my Gynae's clinic.. Sad hor.. Hv to go alone.. Dan wana share the excitement and happiness wif hubby when see bb oso can't..</font>

<font color="0000ff">Ming8110:</font> <font color="aa00aa">6000 to date!!! Tts alot!! Just imagine now only Apr.. Can't imagine the no. nu end of the yr!! Faintz.. Super competitive for pre-sch and pri sch in future... </font>

ming8110: HUH u sure 6000 babies.. so much?

hmmm i think some of them reply saying that waiting time is 2 to 3 hrs leh.. =( i dun wanna wait so long leh.. very boring one.. i waiting 2 hr at my gyane there already cannot make it le.. imagine if i am going to wait and is no guarantee that i am able to get a slot one leh..

May: ya lor bec they say if not later need to pop another time to get the blood why not poke once and take more blood lor.. i think i will faint??? hahaha ya lah and i am already dependent on him to drive me everywhere le.. and i am alone for 1 week so sad...

WARM WELCOME- Yam, Ming8110 &amp; raspy!

May- thank you for sharing and the advices. I share similar checkup duration, as just you.
are you a SAHM?
Thank you for the massage contact. I love body massage &amp; foot reflexology, but had stopped since, might only carry on after delivery, coz hb worried about the skills &amp; techniques of the masseuse.

Kikilala, I can join you for the weekdays office hours, should you are keen to join me for the trial yoga session too :p
What are your preferred days/timing like?

Serene- same here, I just had my 1st urine test on my recent visit &amp; dislike pills like you do too.
Did your doctor prescribe the fish oil for you or you purchase it off the rack on your own?

Ccharis- Is it safe to go for u/s on every gynae visit? I thought the u/s waves shouldn't posed much dangerous. care to share?
my checkup is every 3weeksplus too.
are you SAHM? if so, we can meet up if timing allows

gals, is it true that concentrated bird nests should not be taken daily, as it might cause bb to have phlegm when inside us?
I take one spoon daily now.