(2012/10) Oct 2012

May and
Meredith : wah.. expert..hmmm u all engage one time how much? u all engage massage pple for after birth le ma? anyone heard of hot stone?

Meredith: My in laws live with us and my MIL and mum currently help look after my daughter (MIL is primary caregiver and my mum comes over a few afternoons a week). Am going to start my daughter on half day childcare starting next month and the plan is my no. 2 will be looked after by my mum and helper (my MIL said she is tired and can't help with no. 2). My mum said she will help but only if the kids are brought to her place so we will have to work out some crazy drop off arrangements for both kids next year when I go back to work. If the arrangement doesn't work out, I may have to quit and stay home

Meredith: When I had my #2, I was still FTWM. So my mil was looking after #1 then. When #2 came along, I put #1 into morning half day childcare near my mil place. My mil would go to the childcare centre ard noon to fetch my #1. And in the afternoon, both of them napped for a few hrs. So it was still manageable for my mil. Then when #3 came along, I was alrdy a SAHM, so no issue. I took on all of them at once

Meredith: Currently my mum is helping me with no.1. Coming may12, a nephew is arriving and will be under her care too. But same goes to my no.2, but i will hv to engage a helper to help out my mum. Or at least someone is at home to keep a watch out on the helper.

So my mum will face 2 helpers and 1 tod and 2 infants. Hope won't tired her out since she is old already.

My mum will stay with either our family or my bro's family, tat is to be arranged.

My Hubby dread the idea of hiring a helper. But now he also understand we don't have a choice.

Guess i need to start to source for a helper soon.... headache ....

<font color="0000ff">Joanna:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Mine is $58 for prenatal 60min massage. For Postnatal depends on 3, 7 or 10 days session @ $200, 450 or 630.. </font>

Vankel: I suggest that u start sourcing for maid now cos u oso need time to find a suitable agency, look through their bio data and then wait for the maid to come in 1-2 mths later. At least if maid comes earlier, u can train her to get used to ur household chores n schedules first. If not suitable, oso hv enough time to change.

Some agencies I went to said they dun hv suitable bio data for me now, will instead contact me in 2-3 weeks time when they hv more new bio data. That's what I'm doing now too, sourcing for agency but oso quite confused how to select a maid. Headache

ming8110, serene,
Thanks for sharing. I actually thought of putting #1 into childcare too but I think I will have a hard time making her go since she has never been separated from her Po Po since birth. Morevoer, I scare she will resent bb coz when bb comes, she gets send away. The last time I raise the issue of putting #1 in child care, my mum also not happy. Bu She De her little darling. Headaches..

Vankel,
My mum is currently staying with me and she also don't like the idea of helper at home (same stance as my hubby). She says she can care for both at the same time but I think it will be very tiring for her and she is not exactly very young. Will you be getting your helper to come before you deliver?

Meredith: My mil was oso bu she de, that's why we only put him in half day cc. At least she can clear her household stuff, bath #2 n prepare her lunch b4 my #1 comes home. We oso made sure that we sent #1 to the cc b4 #1 was delivered so as not to make him feel as if we sent him away cos of his baby bro...

<font color="aa00aa">Anyone can advise on travel insurance for pregnant women? Got any difference fm normal travel insurance? How much?</font>

Serenelm: Tks for sharing. Need to get my engine started and be more active. I also headache wat type of maid i want.
Origin of Cty etc...

Can share the cost the agencies are charging now?
Any admin fee, insurance cost...etc?

Meredith: I learnt from the experienced mummies in my daughter's thread that it is best to put the older child in school/ childcare a few months before no. 2 comes along. So he/she won't feel that he/she is being sent away because of mei mei / didi. By the time mei mei/ di di comes along, the older child would hopefully have had a few months to settle in.

May: I did. But the website didn't ask if I was pregnant.

Vankel: With Philipino maids, you are less likely to have language difficulties. With Myanmmese, be prepared to have ALOT of language difficulties. However, I find my Myanmmese helpers to be generally hardworking and honest. With Indonesian maids - more restrictive because they don't eat pork etc. Also, you may have some language difficulties. I may also be stereotyping here but it seems like the reported cases about maids turning on their employers etc all involve Indonesian maids so I am wary about hiring them. BUT that is just my personal view.

May: for travel insurance there is no different for the premium.same for all travel insurance cos my cousin travel and bought the travel insurance and is the same premium as normal adult.

For me, I plan to start looking at infant care centers this week onwards once OSCAR is Ok. I don't think my MIL can care cos my sis in law already places #1 who is 18 months there and #2 will arrive one month before mine so mine is #3. And the thing is my sis in law doesn't seem to have intention to send her #1 to school. Worse her #1 sleeps so little, sometimes as little as 10 mins in the afternoon and demands so much attention So I rather not have my precious bb have third rated care. And it's kind of sensitive to ask my SIL whether she intends to send #1 to school. My MIL does not want a second helper so I can't even have the option of hiring a helper. I don't think it's good to leave them at home unsupervised. So infant care seems one likely option. It's such a headache to figure out childcare arrangements and I realise my hb doesn't think so much. It's really all up to mommies to figure it out.

ccharis, i'm in the West (no. 54 on the list) - thanks!

meredith, i have to get a maid helper too soon before the arrival of #2. But i don't which agency to start looking lol. Pls recommend me some if you know?

ming, quite agree with the different types of maids. At my parents house, my mom has an Indon, she used to steal money from my piggy bank. Myanmmar are more obedient and will listen to you. My part-time Myanmmar maid has been with me for more than 2 years and I like her so much!

ccharis - they asked hom to fly again next fri, when my appt alr pre-planned and he also took leave waaay before they informed him ystd. they jus bluntly tell him to reschedule his appt, which is what they told them a previous time too. Damn pissed off

Meredith &amp; May - any recommendations for massage lady? I am searching for one now.. I checked a few threads but very suspicious postings. More of self recommendations

Joanna - I did not start calcium. Will buy upon next visit to gynae. I hate popping pills..

on maids, its dangerous for baby to be alone with maids. i have seen a few cases in my estate being a sahm. one girl in particular, she is ard my son's age, but u can see no light in her eyes, no curiosity, kinda "dead" when she is obviously a normal healthy child. good thing the mum got rid of the maid... but she was alr almost 2 by then.

Meredith: I plan n hope that the maid arrive at least 2 mths before my delivery. So tat she can get used to the hse work, my no1 can be familiar wif her first etc.

Serene, ming8110,
Ya, probably have to start looking around for child care centre and put my gal there 1st before #2 comes along.

May,
Travel insurance do not differentiate b/w preg lady but most travel insurance do not cover preg related expenses.. So it's better to read the terms n conditions 1st.

Autumn,
I have not use any maid agency before but my gf did gave me a contact previously. Cecilia @ 9488-5955. My gf got her maid from this agency.. So far the maid is pretty gd in caring for her son who is already 15 months nw.

Caitlin,
I have book Grace Chong for my massage. My gf use her previously and really slim down very fast after delivery. She is much more expensive than other massue but I dun mind if she can get me back in shape since this will be my last preg
Her website is www.healthsense2mum.com.

Sing ling,
I agree with you. Hubby usually not very participative when it comes to child care issue. Usually mummy is the kan Cheong one.

Meredith - thanks! But does she do the pushing of uterus etc like the traditional Malay massage? I tried Malay massage for #1 for 2 sessions but too bad I had bad rashes. Sigh.. But it did show some results. Which package are u taking from grace?

Yo hi all,

Been bz.
So many threads, can't catch up le.

Went week 12 Oscar,
Everything good.

Phew.

Baby picture soooooo cute !

Nurse called my wife for a week 20 scan. What's that ar?

Vankel: I've been to a few agencies to make enquiries. Seems that the agency fees can vary widely btw different agencies from $200+ to almost $1k. Insurance charges abt $200-300+ depending on what coverage u choose. For Phil maids, some agencies oso require us to pay for POEA fee (Phil documentation fee) abt $300, Singapore documentation $100+. I can't recall what other charges there are. The initial payment will oso depend on ur maid's loan amt ranging from $2k to $3k plus. So in total first payment probably need to fork out $3k to $4k plus. I oso noticed that some agencies allow us to apply for credit card interest free installments for some payments.

Contract details oso vary, e.g. Under what circumstances can get refund for fees paid, maid need to work for us for minimum how many days before we can request to send her back to agency for a new maid etc...

So I think really need to depend on friends' recommendations, if any. Too many different types of arrangements available in the market...

Meredith - My #1 started CC since the beginning of this year. My mom said she'll help to take care of #2. But I will also register for infant care (which I foresee there will be a waitlist), just in case. When #2 turns 2, I'll send #2 to CC too. I feel it's only fair for my mom. My mom said she'll let me know if she needs a helper but no need for now. We are not used to having an outsider in the house.

<font color="0000ff">Ming8110, Mini22 &amp; Meredith:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Thanks for the info.. Think I better find out more fm my insurance agent..</font>

<font color="0000ff">Caitlin:</font> <font color="aa00aa">My massage lady is fm the website below.. I started engaging her for the conceived preparatory massage mid of last yr.. You can check e web out..
http://www.sritherapy.com/#!page-2 </font>

Good Morning Mummies,

Seems like everyone is already planning on the caregiving of the child. My mum is helping with my #1 now. I have not talk to her on whether she's ok with #2 or she need any helper. But she's the one who encourage us to have #2, so I guess she's kinda prepared to help us with #2?

We are arranging #1 to go for 2hrs playgroup at our void deck in July. Initially thinking of childcare (cause can use CDA, the playgrp need to pay cash), but my mum cant bear to leave her there (actually I also cant bear, hehe). So no choice, try out the 2hrs playgroup first.

SnU, the week 20 scan is the detailed scan. If I didnt remember wrong, they will scan and check the development of the major organs etc..

Hi everyone....anyone still having reflux, heartburn, indigestion and the feeling of want to puke but cannot puke? I am already week 15 plus and still feeling like that! especially now, this time of e day. after a gd breakfast, then feel like something stuck in throat...and still tired?! i thought 2nd trimester is supposed to be honeymoon period...
on childcare...its generally expensive even afte working mum's subsidy. then if want to be SAHM also difficult cos hard to survive on single average income in sg...so how ah? headache...
btw, has anyone tried rustic nirvana prenatal massage? gd?

<font color="0000ff">Candies:</font> <font color="aa00aa">I am in my wk 13.. I still hv those sym.. But not as bad as the past few wks.. I also dun hv much appetite for dinner which I suspect due to motion sickness for the journey home fm office..
Recently I noticed that I will hv the feeling of somethg stuck in my throat after taking sour prune.. So I try to avoid tt now..
As for tired.. Yes, I feel tired but I have problem hving gd slp at nite.. Somex will result to insomnia

Hi May i have constipation too! feel very heavy..lucky on leave today so can rest. breathless also...jialat...2nd pregnancy is more difficult than 1st pregnancy...aiyo..got headaches also!!!

May, Im feeling like you. My MS is more serious in the evening. No appetite for dinner and after I alighted from bus, I feel like puking already. Maybe also motion sickness from the journey home.

Morning Ladies!!!!

Candies, May,
Me too...having the same nausea feel, but very mild now compares to 1st tri. Now is the heartburn that make me feel so "xin ku", like gastric pain. I am craving for a lot of sour sour food now. Last weekend I cooked the "Pig trotter Vineger", finished the whole big pot Wohhahaha...then also eat a lot of mango, oranges, soursup, lime juice,...

thanks raspy.

my wife super no appitite in the evening everyday.

while i have to keep assuring her,
everything wil be fine after 1st trimester.

so we take heavy breakfast and lunch now.
hahahahha

to all MTB and DTB, jia you !!!

Yen: Same! I am craving sourish/savoury food now! That day i wanted to eat fish head curry so badly i whacked most of e fish head...felt so shiok...then i had heartburn and cd not eat dinner...now i feel like having fishball noodles! but dunno whether to give in to craving cos its not nutritious...just carbo and salt..no protein...

and per nurse,

detailed scan at week 20 is already paid for
during the OSCAR scan payment during week 12.

strange way of doing business.

scare me yesterday eh..i thought i've MS..when i went to toilet to poop..alot of blood..end up hub check is frm anus..too heaty..frm eating Ba Zhen n durians..faint!!!

<font color="0077aa">Candies</font>
I'm 15 weeks too. Nausea is there when I'm hungry or on the train/car.
Do you get aches? I had aches like those suan suan feeling on my right pelvic bone. I'm also starting to have backache. Isn't it too early? Cos my tummy like not really big.

<font color="0077aa">BBKay</font>
Can eat Ba Zhen ah?

hmmm check with u all arh.. OScars right. i am given the date between 18 april to 30 april to do it but my appt date is on 25 april issit too late? but i dun think 25 april is 12 weeks it should be 14 weeks le...

so issit still accurate to do?

reineluv: no aches yet but starting to hv mild backache...my tummy also not that big. my edd is 1 oct. dunno whether will be overdue like my no 1...its only 6 more mths to edd for me...gosh, sounds so fast but time can move so slowly also

<font color="0000ff">Candies:</font> <font color="aa00aa">You have constipation.. I have diarrhea most of the time since 1st trim.. Opp fm you.. My sis told me 2nd trim shd nt hv diarrhea.. But I suspect shd be the MTV causing it.. So will monitor for afew more days.. Before I call the clinic to check wif gynae..</font>

<font color="0000ff">Raspy:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Hope our motion sickness will not stick to us to full term.. It will be torturing..</font>

<font color="0000ff">Yen &amp; Candies:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Wow.. At least u 2 hv gd appetite.. But try not to over eat.. As over eating will cause heartburn.. Same for spicy food.. But dan.. eat small amt oso can cause heartburn too.. Like me.. 1 small little sour prune can cause it.. So better eat when we can..</font>

<font color="0000ff">SnU:</font> <font color="aa00aa">I also try to eat more during the day.. But still can't eat too much.. As will feel super bloated and scare trigger me to vomit as well..</font>

<font color="0000ff">BBKay:</font> <font color="aa00aa">You start to eat durians lao ah.. Is it too bu? Heard durian sugar quite high.. Better take moderately k..</font>

<font color="aa00aa">So envy of u all.. Seems like most of u hv gd appetites.. I wana eat but duno wat to eat n no much appetite..

My tummy oso seems to start growing since last wk.. Suddenly like grow v fast.. Think v soon ppl will start asking me le..
Anyone started using stretch cream already?</font>