(2012/10) Oct 2012

I've been reading the posts on pumps, imPressive wealth of knowledge here !!! Gained more insight but still blur like siting as first time MTB..

Charris - all d best tmr n stay calm - hv faith in ur Bb !!! Totally agree hubbies won't understand or get it at all why we worry abt it. I also worrying abt my test this sat, n I think d nerve wrecking period is a few days after d test waiting for d phone call on d verdict !!

In fact, we all worry abt every single thing from d day we got d pregn test result! From cramPs, too much ms, no ms , vit, food intake, spotting of all colours etc!!! N all these worries are only in first 3 months of d journey !!! So MUMMIEs R the World's GREATEST!:)

Joanna, my tcm said take bird nest from week 17 to 34 to help in the lung development.
To all mommies who feel their hubby don't understand, I totally agree. Feel so pissed with mine that I'm not going to talk to him. Read forum better. He has to go on a bike trip next weekend in the name of work though I feel it's more of his own enjoyment. So that leaves me and doggy at home alone. I have no confidence to manage doggy so most likely will send him to the trainer's boarding school. But that makes me feel guilty. Plus I'm scared to be alone. What if emergencies arise? Of course I'm apprehensive. After trying so long since last year's MC, I don't want anything to go wrong. He don't understand and still says I got anxiety disorder. How idiotic is that!

Joanna,

I'm taking bird nest now but probably once every couple of weeks. Probably will take more frequently in the latter part of the pregnancy.

Ccharis,

Actually, I had emergency c-section for my #1 and was exhausted after the operation. So I chose not to breastfeed my baby when the nurse asked. I told them to feed him FM. I really needed to rest. If you want to breastfeed your baby, the nurse would wheel the baby next to your bed every few hours for you to breast feed.

Ccharis,

Nursing bras has these special hooks where you can unhook the cup when you breastfeed your baby and hook the bra cup back after breastfeed. To prevent leaking, you also have to stick breastpads to the nursing bra cups. I bet the breast pads are another new thing to you, right?

Kanelmo, sichua and btil: My hubby tries to be understanding but I guess he really cant understand fully. The MC pain is not as excruciating for them and they can never fanthom no matter how hard they try

Breastfeeding: At TMC, the nurses actually give babies "report cards". They write remarks abt the babies on their breastfeeding habits on a card to serve as a note to the other nurses taking over them during other shifts. My baby was rated as A in latching, as in very GOOD latcher but u guys know what? She bites since day 1 and my breasts bled since the first feed! N before the breasts could heal, she is here 3 hours later, hungry and frustrated, biting again. That was my most nightmarish time, worse than labour I think. So painful even synflex dun help. And the nurses just kept lauding over how good she is at sucking. Hellooo.... look at my poor nipples...

Pumps: The PIS is really lots bulkier than freestyle but the freestyle suction is pretty weak in comparison leh. My model was in 2009, maybe now they have those the motor can take out one loh... then i guess shud b pretty portable cos the motor look quite small

Those bought from USA is cheaper but bear in mind u have to bring an adapter for plugs whereever u go and the USA sets dun come with warranty. So if u sway sway get a faulty set, I think its either u have to pay (i dunnoe how much) to fix it at the Medela agent here but I checked in 2009, the agent here dun fix the USA sets, dunnoe if this has changed now

And oh ccharis, good luck for your Oscar tomorrow! DUn worry, should be ok! EVen before the blood test is done, u can ask the nurse how's the results for the scan alone, mine was 1: 2000 plus I think, that could ease ur nerves a little while waiting for the final results.

Breastpads: My experience is, dun buy so much first. I bought like 10 boxes of pigeon ones at the taka fair and guess what, I din even need to use a single piece of it. My milk never leaked throughout the 13 months and I had to sell away all of them at the forum. So please dun assume u need it hehe... just buy 1 or 2 packs first and observe after that ;)

<font color="0000ff">Ccharis:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Think the nip will con't to grow bigger lo.. So during BF we must take gd care of our nip..</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Dear all.. Just incase some of you are not aware.. There is a Robinson sale ongoing now in Singapore Expo till 8th Apr.. Some of you can go there shopping..

kanelmo: AHHH.. i thought we are not suppose to eat bird nest in the first trimester leh... but i forget the reason...

anyone knows?

sing ling: thanks dear...

ccharis: hehehe yeah i try to nibble some tibits before i go work today and it helps though i still very hungry =(

Meredith: nvm is okay hehe thanks.. but i know is rather miserable...

anyone here not doing OSCAR? i am thinking of whether to do can anyone pls advise?

i am in 9 weeks already i guess have to make appt now right if i want to? can anyone share the total costs of the OSCARS?

Yesterday i went to gyane and did a scan is so amazing so fast can see the baby head and everything so cute.. =) damm happy..

i detected sugar in my urine..sian..gotta cut dwn sugar and carbo..

am 9th wks too..

next appt will be at KKH for blood test + dwn syndrome test..12wks..

<font color="0000ff">BBKay:</font> <font color="aa00aa">U did a urine test already? Hope tt during my test next wk I got no sugar detected. It will be my 1st blood &amp; urine test since I conceive..

You been taking alot of sweet stuffs n carbo?</font>

<font color="800000"> Hi all</font> <font color="ff1493"> got my OSCAR result. I consider high risk based on result. Going to see my gynae tomorrow, likely to go for Amniocentsis test in my 16 week. Was feeling stress when received the result but after reading alot of comments in Babycenter, I feel better now and will go for Amniocentsis test since my risk is higher than the risk of MC from Amniocentsis test</font>

no ah..i mean the urine test as in everytime visit to gynae..they will give u the stripe to test..yesterday change color..then the nurse..orh oh..sugar..

nt doing Oscar eh..wk12 just normal blood test to test for HIV, dietabetics etc..and DS..

BBKay3105: same lah.. tat is protein isn't it? my one also increase hahahah u have the same situation as me.. but i did ask the nurse what does increase means she say is due to discharge and not enough of drinking water? but gyane say is okay leh...

Ahhh.. u told the doctor u not doing OScar arh? i duno whether to do anot leh.. =( but they nv mention about other tests...

but i know there is another type of cheaper test called duno what triple one..

Jo..i never tell the gynane am nt doing Oscar..in the 1st place..#1 and #2 he never mentioned anything abt Oscar..its only frm u all then i knw got Oscar..he just said normal blood test..

same here, my gynae din mention anything about Oscar but she did mention about the triple test during wk 16. can i be kiasu and sign up for Oscar test? Where can i go n take it?

lol... aiyo.. my gyane nv say leh.. but the nurse tell me to do..

btw oscar test does KK have arh? cos there is another test my friend did is onli $200 and she say is KK.. anyone know what test is tat?

<font color="0000ff">BBKay:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Oh.. I din hv any urine test during my 1st appt wow.. Was not asked to do any test but took height n weight only.. And gynae gave me a scan and tok abt the Oscar test nia.. Now wondering how come I am missing checkups and testes lao.. Cos so far only visited gynae once in wk 7..</font>

May: No worries. Now still early stage. I also see gynae on my 7th weeks and did not take any urine test too. Aft 1st trim will start urine test already.

Morning all,

Bad start for e which makes me pissed. Also, my nose have started to bleed! It happened last week, yesterday and this morning. The gynae says it's normal, but it's really scaring me. I used to have nose bleed quite often when I was young, they happen anywhere anytime! And now they are back to haunt me!

<font color="0077aa">Constance</font>
Rest well babe!!
Btw, how do you find the shichida method? Is it really effective??

<font color="0077aa">Joanna</font>
My TCM also say start bird's nest from 17th week. Any earlier is waste of the bird's nest.

Good luck to all those having OSCAR soon. :p

And thanks for all the reviews for PISA and Freestyle. I think I may opt for freestyle after all. Probably need to go play around with the pumps when I'm free.

Wow, it's now like <font color="ff0000">Oscar Fever</font> in this thread! I'm not doing it so I got nothing to contribute hehe

Talking about <font color="ff0000">breast pumps,</font> mine is Ameda Truly Yours which I bought directly from the US. But yes, like some mummies have pointed out, it's a bit troublesome cos the plugs are not compatible. And because I didnt buy a transformer, I opted for rechargeable batteries. That means I'm more mobile and can pump even wihtout a power point but I had the extra step of charging my batteries every day lor.

<font color="ff0000">My two cents' worth on Confinement</font>
The origins are from China where the weather is cooler. According to Chinese belief, after a woman has given birth, her body is totally YIN (meaning very liang) and she's an empty vessel to absorb what she eats or is exposed. So the point of confinement is to eat as much "bu" and warm stuff as possible to build up the body's strength and immunity again. And to avoid direct breezes (fan) which can get into your body through the open pores in your skin, and this can lead to rheumatism and achey joints in future - old age or earlier.

And the good news is, if you take really good care of yourself during your confinement, you can actually "undo" all the damage you've done to your body/health in the past XX years of your life and be healthier than before.

Well, I dont know if that's the 100% truth but I try to err on the side of caution. I dont want to end up weak and with rheumatism when I'm older. I think it's a total bummer to not be able to walk, run, travel because of that. And it's a chronic illness with no cure. No fun at all. So I try my best to adhere to the rules of bathing only with herbal water, drinking only warm red date tea, eating all the sesame oil/ginger food and wearing long sleeves if i really need to go out of the house (which I did for #1! Hubby whisked me out for a date cos the atmostphere at home was too stifling - imagine two grandmothers, plus the grandfathers on some days, plus the new maid, plus the baby. Gosh I had no space of my own, was feeling so horrible and blue - but that's another story.). Small price to pay for possible good health for the rest of my life. Hehe. :p

Pai sei arh.. those who not doing the OScar test and any test that leads to down sydrome.. is okay one right?

or will the doctor ask u to do other test? i just call up the clinic they say there is another compulsory detail test that need to be done..

reineluv: noted babe.. because i remember clearly onli start at 2nd trimester hehe..

<font color="0000ff">Trigger &amp; reineluv:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Ic.. Dan most pro I will be starting on my urine test fm wk12 onwards bah..</font>

Quick one - Just did my OSCARS, waiting to do blood test.
Appt supposed to be at 930am but arrived here, soooooo many people then waited till 1015am for my turn. Peanut took 10mins to get into position, then abit more to take his hands off his face (cause need to measure nose bridge too) - asked the sonographer to guess the gender but he 'kiap' his thighs so tight! I was told I passed (scan probability is 80%) and blood test consist of 10% but since peanut's nose bridge is so obvious, the risk reduces by 18times.

What I am baffled thou is, how come I was charged S$457 when my gynae told me the estimated charges is S$298 - still waiting at the lab, later go for prenatal check will ask. But I think it was a nice experience cause the OSCAR scan machine is so much sharper/detailed than the gynae's (then again it has to be so).

<font color="ff0000">Joanna, </font> <font color="ff6000">Ya, the clinic wont force you to do Oscar test. That one got ethical implications so they wont force you if you dont want to be confronted with the possibility of terminating the pregnancy if the outcome is unfavourable. And it's never 100% that the bb is gonna be downs.. it's always just a percentage.

The compulsory scan is in the fifth month. It is a detailed scan of every part of baby, from the fingers to the toes to the vital organs, just to make sure everything developed properly. That one is done with a ultrascan technician usually, and takes about half an hour, depending if baby cooperates and gets into position. ;)</font>

I don't remember gynae telling me that there is a compulsory test. She asked me to think if I want to take the down syndrome test, she did not mention OSCAR actually, but I think it's almost the same?
I opted out and she was ok with it as a lot of people opt out due to various reasons to.

<font color="0077aa">ccharis</font>
So the oscar scan machine is really better than gynae's machine ah. hahahhaa. Do you get a printout of the scan?

ccharis : what tiggermummy say is correct $457 is oscar test plus detail test because i just called up my clinic to check the exact price and was told the same..

eh.. the OScar test they gt give u scan picture of the baby?

tiggermummy: so the detailed test is done on 20 week?

starry mummy: thanks babe.. so u not doing arh?

reineluv: lol... u ask the same question as me.. hahaha..

ooooh... so those who opted out the oscar test like yrself and starry mummy. u all got do tripple test? or u all not doing any test except for the detail test?

Haven't been coming in for a while and OSCAR and breastpump are now talk of the day...

I will be doing my OSCAR next Monday. Since I have done it for my #1 and #2, thought I should be fair and do it for my #3 too...but I really don't like the waiting for result part..really dunno why we are paying so much $ to scare ourselves..sigh..

Talking about breast pumps, i used Ameda for my # and medela PIS for my #2...I prefer medela PIS though it is much more bulkier to carry around. The suction is definitely better...I bought my PIS for secondhand and it is still in very good condition after 4 years...

Keiko,
Hope all will be well for your Amniocentsis test.

<font color="ff0000">joanna,</font> <font color="ff6000">yup i didnt do for #1 and not doing this round either, although im 37 already. I actually discussed with hubby again given my age, but we decided to let things be and just trust God for the best.</font>

I dunno what is the triple test leh. I only know there is a detailed scan which I will do la, cos I also wanna see the baby more detailed-ly. hahaha

Hi all, i called up TMC and enquire about the Oscar scan. According to the lady, some gynaes prefer the triple test n do not recommend Oscar. She says both actually test for down syndrome. So she says it is up to individual gyanes. But we can do a walk in coz now her appointments r full till end Apr.

starry mummy: HEHHEE thanks babe.. u are so good in making decision.. i am so indecisive still thinking perhaps give a miss for all this test.. see how it goes =(

reineluv: eh.. the triple test is also to check for the same thing as OScar just that it is onli 65% accurate and it costs 180 while Oscar costs $320 which is 95% accurate. However, these tests above does not include the detailed test which is around $155 i think since total $475(Oscar and detail test)

Giantress: actually i did call up earlier, i think still gt slots for end april bec i did book mine first just in case it is fully book but will cancel the appt if i decided not to take any of the test once i consult the gyane next week as he haven mention any of the tests at all. Because the time to consider is rather short and abit kaisu since i know the appt is always full. so i guess those who are thinking perhaps can call up and make appt first once u decide either u just go and cancel lor..

Ccharis: Thanks and no worries, next week is fine... It's oso good that the Oct FB is totally private, can chat all we want then... Who can I contact to add me to the FB Oct group? My email is [email protected]. Name: Serene Lim

Wow, all the talk abt Oscar tests/scans etc... During my precious 3 pregnancies (last one in 2008), nvr heard of all these tests... I feel like a total newbie now, instead of an experienced pregnant lady :p

Think I only did the triple tests.... Even now, my gynae (Dr Kowa) only said its similar tests when I asked him what is the Oscar test as compared to the usual blood tests he does for me at end of 1st tri/beginning of 2nd tri... He oso din mention any detailed scanning or Oscar scanning.... Hmmm, think must ask him in detail at next visit in mid Apr...

I'm oso pretty worried abt the tests cos had a mc last July... Since then, oso become quite paranoid with this current pregnancy... Although I'm hoping for a gal (cos alrdy hv 3 boys)' but most impt is healthy baby

Nice "meeting" u all here too

Oh for MS, mine's still quite bad too... Been very breathless from the start, even walking ard at home oso makes me very breathless n giddy... Was oso puking till last week... Now keeping my fingers crossed that no more puking... I'm alrdy 12 weeks now

I am going to 12 weeks and my MS is still bad...and i still get tired very easily
hopefully things will get better in the next few weeks...

kanelmo, ya its fun to start browsing for big ticket items now
I know there's a motherhood fair coming up at Expo soon in April. Oh btw i didnt buy my FS locally. Bought it online from a reliable retailer in US - no problems till today!

ccharis, at night i dont feeel like eating too. FS installation was easy and straightforward i felt. But ya you are right, many different opinions on PIS and FS so best for mummies to find the best fit!

P.S how come your Oscar is so exp?!