(2012/10) Oct 2012

May - What breed you have? For us, because I dont want them to pee/poop at home, so they get walks twice daily. I agree with you too, as I am the morning dog-walker, no matter how my HB call them, they bohiew & just stick to me, they even wake up only when I wake up - very realistic ah, lol! I used to let them 'crawl' over me in the same manner as you too. These days I just lean forward, and let them pass through my back - or, I would EH-UH, then somehow they know must detour, otherwise stay put. Slowly train loh, we still got so many months more to go.

Sksf - It means that your Mum has a GOOD routine! I've read somewhere before, apart from breed trait (ie. herd dogs can herd a baby hor!) the other possibility is that the owner sticks to a regular routine, hence the dog takes a 'job' outta it & in your case, doggy nanny loh. It is true dogs are smart, but alot of people expect them to do things like naturally but instead, if the owner have firm routine, the dog is completed. Thats why if you notice those old folks dog - usually super guai de, walk also dont need leash. Really got 'natural instinct' loh, hahahah!

Morning All.

Am 12 weeks today AND marked it by throwing up last night. Sigh. Am hoping that will be the last of it. Am going on leave from tmw and there are still tonnes to do - worse still I feel the flu coming. Hope to shake it off so I can enjoy my holiday.

Meredith - Thanks!
Angie - You can try to send me a PM already...

I'm also torn between Medela 'Pump in Style' vs. 'Freestyle' - It looks so similar, only diff is Freestyle is handsfree right? But seemed like majority still go for PiS, why ah?

Meredith - I used to have a colleague putting up a sign: "DO NOT DISTURB" (then tiny fonts of 'Expressing Neh Neh') hung in front of her work station, when we see that we would give her space loh. But it depends greatly on the office culture too cause we have habit of hanging signs on our stations (ie. On Leave/Out for Appt/etc...) so the entire office is kinda tuned to notice them... With that, from far far, esp. the males can see the sign already so never would they have to come very close to your work desk to shock you (or have a shock themselves). It works!

Btw. This year so many pops - still got 1-bedder left in TMC meh? I dunno leh, I'm very worried no beds. Hahahaha!

*** Btw. Anyone used BabyPlus before, or planning to get a set boh? (I'm quite blown away by the testimonials) *** and also, when is the time we should start talking so baby can hear?

Jo - I buy my leggings at Cotton On, 2 for S$25 bucks, cheap cheap lah.. My sister bought me maternity leggings too, but havent got chance to wear yet.

I have been eating Multi-vits, Calcium, Folic + Vit C since the 7th week. I think I have to start Fish Oil soon, cause I rem my Gynae said best to start in 2nd T so fetus can absorb.

Meredith & May - I hate to say this, cause I asked my gynae too, and she said with a cheeky smile - dragon year loh. I wanted to deliver at Mt E. (which she used to go there) but this year also cannot not, unless I op. for elective csect.

TMC carpark is really MORE horrendous then Mt A lah! Maybe because also TMC is smaller, wanna illegal park/wait also no space & even their valet parking also very leychey... First time HB drove me there, he freaked out, then gynae said, even their season parking also limited slots for doctors hor. Geez!

hi i recently feel my head very heavy, sometime like wanted to faint, headaches too. I do not know whether is due to the progestrone pill an jab ..........and very sleepy too.

ccharis:
I have sent u a PM with my email address.

Morning Mummies!

Last night went to my MIL's house for dinner. Couldn't even eat cos I don't like her cooking. Felt so terrible!

I must be one of the very few or none who didn't go for OSCAR. The OSCAR's scanning machine is different from the gynae's one ma??

<font color="0077aa">ming8110</font>
How come your freestyle died so fast? Now you guys are making me gian for PISA. haha

<font color="0077aa">skinneybeenie</font>
My gynae say 12 weeks too early to see gender. I guess OSCAR's machine different? Haha.

<font color="0077aa">Sing Ling</font>
Full time working mum is $600 for full day infant care and $300 for half day infant care.

On fishes, I try to just limit myself cos I can't identify the fishes. I read that canned Tuna is ok, but limit to 2 servings per week. Sharksfin is nono though.

Seems like most of you decided on the hospital le, I haven't even thought about it. The list is getting longer!

ccharis: ooo the legging yr sister bought u for maternity is from mothercare also? or other places? can quote the name

yr calcium pills and multivits when usually u ate? at night and how many tablets respectively?

BabyPlus for what? can share?

Caitli: so sad means all those fish with scale cannot eat?

<font color="red">reineluv</font>:
<font color="blue">You're not alone babe. i didn't go for the OSCAR test too
very scared wrong diagnose. ltr like my #1 wrong diagnose &amp; i nearly went to abort it -__- but my son is so fine &amp; normal now.. lol..</font>

<font color="0077aa">ccharis</font>
I wanted to get babyplus, then I decided not to stress the baby too much.

I started talking to baby, asking baby to keep happy and healthy ever since I found out about the pregnancy. Read this from Dr Shichida's book. Apparently, the baby can bond with you from the very beginning.

The book also talked about using flashcards, but I'm not so sure if I want to go there yet.

<font color="0077aa">Sksf</font>

Yah, cos my gyane say if the ratio not good, I have to go for amino test and there's a risk of miscarriage. Otherwise, I have to make the decision to keep or not. I think it will be too much for me to handle.

Reine: Don't know why the Freestyle died on me - simply lost power. Had to then trek to Toh Guan to get it fixed at the Medela centre. Sigh

Joanna: I take folic and progesterone in the morning, calcium just after lunch and my multi-vit and progesterone before I go to bed. Will add on DHA (fish oil) in 2nd tri. For no. 1, I tried taking multi-vit in the morning but then felt terrible after that - was burping up the smell of the multi-vit etc which is so yucky. Gynae suggested taking at night and I have no problems with that.

<font color="0000ff">ccharis:</font> <font color="aa00aa">My dog's breed is Maltese.. Cos I toilet train his in the kitchen at the wash area.. He always lazy to walk till thr when we are not seeing.. But when we are hm in the evening he will do at e correct place infront of us to show good boy n get treats..
Somex he excited n will jump n accidentally towards me.. But mostly he will walk carefully n slowly across my lap / hip n get to my arms or e pillow I am hugging on the sofa.. Dan he happily lie on top of the pillow or in my arms.. Sure know how to find a comfy area.. Somex my hubby rest his head on my lap.. My dog will try all means to squeeze in n eventually take over my lap.. LOL..
He is gentle most of e time.. But is dangerous to me when he is upset or excited.. As for walks my hubby only bring him out every sun.. So every sun he will stick to my hubby.. So fm e moment he open his eyes.. My dog will look at him with watery eyes n tears till he bring him out..

Y dragon yr so special tt all bills hv to goes up.. So sad..</font>

ming8110: yeah i am thinking of asking my gyane if i can take the calcium and multi vits at nite anot bec i find that i am losing appetitte sometimes and is either during lunch or dinner abit no good and also unsure whether issit the medicine that causes me to be like this.. gt to ask him tml when i visit him

Jo - I'm not sure if I'm *xin li zuo yong* cause I hateeeeeee taking meds, but I did felt fan wei when I take my calcium supps and I only take them after meals. I started taking Calcium as soon as I was tested positive by my GP, I think he knows I very bochup &amp; he dont want me to have calcium loss? Btw how many mg you taking? Why need 2 leh?

Web510 - Welcome to the Oct'12 MTBs thread! You may like to give me some of your info (ie. Age/Expecting BB#/Gynae/Hospital/EDD) so I can add you into our excel sheet? We also have a FB page if you are keen. Enjoy your stay here!

BBKay - I agree with you! I rather wear my usual tank tops (ok, they are over stretching, lol!) but then wear a cardigan over loh. Dresses are good investments too, at worse, after birth still can alter.

Jo - My MIL kept saying that we have the dates wrong! I'm at the start of 12 week, she insists that it's at least 4-5 months. Oh well, I think I am growing wee bit faster, even on the 9th week, I was out with my friends and we had to take public transport, someone offered me the MRT priority seat lah!!!! It would only get bigger, so even if wearing maxi can see your stomach, see loh, eventually you want to hide also cannot.

Ming - Could you share more differences between the PISA and Freestyle? I would prefer FS in the beginning cause it seemed to be more 'portable' than the PISA, but as I read on, machiam PISA still has better power/adjustablity, etc...

PISA Freestyle PISA Freestyle PISA Freestyle PISA Freestyle PISA Freestyle PISA Freestyle choose breastpump also so confused, hahaha!

Candies - But batang doesnt seemed to be a good fish leh, as far as the old folks tell me so. Anyway if you want to max out, the best fishes are: Salmon and Codfish, there's also another fish but only the head is good cause packed full with omega3 &amp; collagen jelly - Song fish head (sorry I dunno the english name).

Anyway.. Everything also eat in moderation, that should be safe, cause worrying also do no good to baby.

Constance - Robinsons carries Medela too?

Skinney! You perk my day lah! 2 more days I am going OSCAR, I hope to see a KKJ, hahaha! But at which week did your gynae confirmed the gender for you?

Sing Ling - You havent heard his other side, hahahaa! He still have alot to fine tune, he's a vocalist! Can you imagine, if I try so hard to put peanut to sleep, then he barks! -___-" when the phone rings - he whines, when he watch TV - he barks, when your alarm goes off, this one classic - he HOWLS! when he sees squirrels or cats - he goes out of this world crazy liao.

Also, he is quite an attention-grabber, if you pat my other dog - he would squeeze through and expect you to pat him. If you call out for my other dog, he comes to you too, hahahah! If you dont put on the leash for him first, he would run to grab a toy and vent his anger on it.

Little things like such, makes me wonder too. He had always been the baby of the household (he's the younger dog) so wah, when peanut arrives how? I really dont want him to feel left out, but it's inevitable that most of the attention would be given to peanut instead, sigh!

Btil - I only know this. Pomfret is a good fish BUT please dont eat too much, because it has no scales. Fish with no scales generally are known to be 'not clean' cause no protection. I think stingray also no scales bah?

ccharis: hahaha u are so right leh... all my maxi dresses hor the tummy machiam 3 mths preg and very big leh.. but nobody bother to offer seat for me..starting gt but i told the gal i am not pregnant..

but nowadays i needed a seat badly bec hor haven eat breakfast den dun feel good.. but all is either sleeping or watever pretend nv see haha..or perhaps they think that is my fats..

hmmm.. i duno how many Mg leh... i only know i gt to take 2 tablets for calcium every day and one tablet for multi vits..ahhh so u did feel fan wei lah.. is like me lor at first i didn't realise is the pills that make me like this hubby was the one who told me perhaps is the pills because initial stage i nv experience this kind of horrible feeling at all.

Eh.. baby plus is referring to the pump?

TO all: do u all sleep with the dog in the same room? just that the doggy is sleeping on the floor? is it okay de arh?

Fish with cartilage (I.e soft bones) should not be eaten cause they tend to absorb more mercury. General rule of thumb is to eat smaller fish (less than 1 meter) cause they don't live as long so they don't absorb as much mercury.

General fish to avoid
Shark
Stingray
Swordfish
Horse mackerel
Certain types of tuna like bluefin and yellow fin. Canned tuna is ok as they are made from smaller breeds. But still take in moderation.

Joanna
My dog sleeps on the bed with me. She usually takes the corner. But I don't let her sleeP near my boy.

Ccharis
BM is more diluted than fm. For bm, foremilk will be for quenching thirst. The hindmilk is more filling. So make sure you empty one side of the breast first before going to the other. Esle baby will end up drinking only the more diluted foremilk. Also impt to let baby drink that first few days of bm (yellow in color). It's colustrum and rich in anti-bodies.

Robinson does carry medela. Think you can also check out baby fairs in taka and isetan. Sometimes their bundle package quite good.

<font color="RED">Was feeling so unwell still, coughing every min &amp; cough+flu = bestfriend. Now flu is here too .. Felt so fainty.. everyone commented that i rlly looked so bad &amp; pale .. asking me to go home.. Wondering whether should i go home

Sksf: yeah go back and rest.. i also had flu and fever and sore throat very bad eating so many pills..

better eat already den have a good nap.. go home..

Constance: lol.. u even more than me.. except for the vit d... how come gt vit d de hahah..

ML: wah.. hw come so many fish? cham liow i duno what kind of fish i ate le.. how about saba fish used in korean food court?

Sksf,
Better go back and rest. You will feel better after a good sleep

Joanna,
Seems like you taking alot of vits
I am somemore who cant take vits, get heaty easily. Can also improve calcium, vits etc through natural source like drinking milk, eating more fruits etc.

ccharis,
I don't think the "DND" sign will work in my case coz our partition not very high so even if they don't walk near also can see.
Baby Plus is not a breast pump. Its a machine that you put to your tummy so that bb can hear. The sound supposedly resemble our heartbeat. My friend lent it to me during my #1 but I am not sure if it is useful though. For me, I prefer personal communciation to my bb. As soon as I can feel my bb movement, I read to her every night. Sometimes, I say in my heart to give mummy a kick so that mummy knows you are fine, my bb will also kick me.

to all lipton tea can drink hor?

i am sipping it now.. abit worry can or cannot =(

Meredith: not really i nv take any vits leh... is onli those medicine that gyane prescribe i see pills i scare cos now i am taking sorethroat, flu and all others gyane pills each day like a pill popper =( haizz toking about fruits, doctor say cannot eat citrus fruits and food so no orange, all those fruits that have abit of sour i all cannot take so miserable..

Jo am also drinking lipton tea..i think 1 day a cup is still ok..lipton tea super mild also eh..if u compare drinking outside..taste so dilute to me..i even bought Black Kiss Lipton Tea..think is coffee and tea...hehe

Joanna,
Lipton tea contain caffeine that is why not advisable but I think take abit is fine. If we really follow all rules closely, there will be a super lots of things that we cant eat.

My gynae also advise against eating citrus fruits but I told her eating these sourish stuff makes me happier .. in the end she says.. well if its make you happy, no harm to take abit.. hahaha

Meredith: HAHAHHA means can take arh... i duno whether issit because that time gt bleeding that's y restricted? u gt bleeding last time? because normally they dun restrict u to eat citrus thing one.

Correct it contains caffeine i was shocked to hear that tea contains caffeine =(

BBKay3105: hahaha high 5 but i dare not drink alot.. i just took like less than 10 sips.. i wanna drink ginger milk tea =( forget to buy there goes my crave over ginger milk tea... I thought outside buy is nicer hahaha i make myself not nice one leh =(

lol.. what is black kiss?

BabyJo - I think I should be 12wks3days when I do my OSCAR this Fri, hope the sonographer is pro &amp; can see something. I kept telling HB, you pray peanut got big KKJ so easier to spot, haha!

Jo - She bought from Bishan mall, situated on ground floor, I did ask the name but she's unsure so I reckon it cant be from those big brands like Mothercare/Kiddy Palace loh. I think thats what you're looking for, basically a normal legging but suited for maternity wear. Why dont you go Cotton On and try their leggings too? You are soooooo slim leh, to me I think their leggings fix the whole problem for me, cheap too. I just need more tunics or basics which are longer and can cover my butt now.

Supplements - Mon to Fri I would eat after brekkie, weekends after dinner.

Babyplus is some prenatal education, I also dunno how to describe but here's the link - read and you'll be amazed! http://www.babyplus.com/ so anyone more than #1 have used this before &amp; how's the review? Also, anyone planning to get cause wondering can bulk purchase or not. Please let me know!

ReineLuv - But isnt babyplus supposed to give them the headstart, as in, get used to the noise in reality before birth? I've been massaging my tummy with oil, talking and praying over peanut too. I think for mothers, no matter what the bond would be there, after all we're the carrier. As for Daddy wise, oh well, I think my dogs are bonding better with peanut than him, hahaha! Flashcards?!?!? No comments seriously, lol!

Ming - If multi-vit you burp and it's yucky. How about fishoil, lagi eeeeeeeek loh, the smell, yikes! No MS, self burp and smell that fishy aroma also got MS immediately siah, lol!

May - Maltese very manja de, and thats what I mean loh, the dog wants attention (and I believed yours also all the while had his way) and with the upcoming baby the dog sure emo cause attention all diverted.

Dragon year - High Demand vs. Low Supply and anyway every Tom Dick Harry also wanna make the best out of it and cash in as much as possible loh. Singapore leh, always #1 in kiasu-ness.

ML has a good pointer!!! Less than 1 meter fish, phew! Oh, and thanks for sharing that canned tuna are made from smaller breeds, looks like those in the cabinet wont be going to waste, hehe!

Constance - Getting more cheem, still got fore and hindmilk? o_O" oh! and I was told only 3 days after birth then you would know if you have supply of BM or not, how true is this statement &amp; if baby doesnt latch, can I express the colostrum and let him drink instead?

Sksf - Better go home rest, it's not just good for you, but esp confined in aircon - I am sure you dont want to pass on the sickness to the rest of your colleagues too even if they are not pregnant?

Meredith - I'm thinking to get BabyPlus since the suggested usage is 1hr each; day and night. Other times, talk to baby loh, althought I am not very used to talking to my tummy lah, lol!

Speaking of bb movement, I received an email from BabyCenter, by right +/- 12 weeks should be able to feel movement already right - but I dunno how to feel leh, like for instance yday afternoon I was taking a nap &amp; just as I was about to fall asleep. I think something jolted me, dunno is bb movement or....

Jo - Lipton contains small amounts of caffeine too, I have a post on FB on the intake of caffeine when we are pregnant, you may use that as a benchmark loh. Btw chocolate also contains caffeine, so again, everything in moderation. Dont worry about the food, I realised you get kancheong over foodstuffs very easily. Hahaha!

If citrus fruits cannot eat, how about drinking fresh orange juice? I have at least 2 big glasses a day (cause I trying to meet the 5 portions fruits/vegs) and thats the easiest way to hit traget, hehehe.

BabyJo - How about Soymilk?

<font color="0000ff">ccharis:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Ya.. Hope when bb comes my dog will be ok.. I knw he is an attention seeker.. Always look at u with the watery eyes..</font>

ccharis: precisely.. i am actually wearing those kinds of leggings and kanna complain by hubby.. he say hw can i wear such tight tight leggings.. feel like killing him.. hahhaa.. bec i know whether issit tight anot de ma, but he say all my clothes all tight tight de confirm this will be not very comfortable for our baby lol =X

he demanded i should buy those maternity. i think must show him the tag nah this is the one i buy from maternity..

thanks for the link will go read up =X

Meredith: no wonder lah.. i also will feel like vomitting but cannot vomit but got a very strong liquid coming up from the stomach.. what is tat call?

ccharis,
Baby Movement is very gentle like a small prick on your stomach. During my 1st pregnancy, I am also not sure what is bb movement so I tried by asking my baby to kick me if she is listening and she really responded by giving me a small kick. Maybe you can try also. Quite an amazing feeling to feel your bb inside you

ccharis: yeah i love orange juice but i nv take all these juices at all leh =X perhaps tml ask the gyane i wanna drink but dare not leh.. perhaps i ask.. need to jot down on the things to ask ahaha..

oooo i go and take a look =) hehehe u are so well informed on everything.. eh.. yeah.. tat's y hubby forbid me to eat chocolate.. onli can drink milo when eating fast food and this time round can drink coke lol... but i heard coke contains caffeine too?

Joanna,
Gastric juice... it tastes a bit sourish and bitterish when you throw up But maybe I have gastric problem all along, even before preg so I got it real bad during preg.

<font color="0077aa">Joanna</font>
I just took Oolong Milk Tea from Gong Cha cos I was so hungry. Hot one though. I think moderation is the key la. haha

<font color="0077aa">ccharis and Meredith</font>
Can feel the baby so early? My gynae say at least when I'm 4 to 5 months. But at times, I will focus on my lower abdomen area and try to breath in and out, then I will feel very slight vibrations. I like to think that's my baby moving hahah.
There are also times when I feel bubbles, but I can't tell whether it's gas or movements cos recently I keep having gastric problems.

<font color="aa00aa">I oso hope I can feel bb soon.. Asked my hubby to tok to bb last nite.. He mumble softly.. Most properly toking nonsense to bb.. Faintz..</font>

im always hungry - im now eating my second big bowl of tom yam noodles. First one was at 1pm just now. this one inside me is a big eater!

my oscar will be on 17Apr @ TMC. Anyone scheduled on that date too?

Re: breastpump
i used medela freestyle - best pump *ever* for FTWM bcos its fast, handsfree and dual pump. At home, i could pump and still walk around and do housework. At work, let the pump do its job while i carry on working on my computer. And my #1 is still BF-ing till now (27mths liao). If i'm not mistaken, PISA is non handsfree

Meredith: i nv throw up leh.. i just feel like vomitting but the liquid stuck at the throat and i always have this feeling every morning and nid to lie down..

is gastric juice?

reineluv: lol.. steady.. but hot one okay lah...i craving for horlicks now..

anyone having pains at tummy area the feeling is like Geng tong.. is definitely not cramp but is like kind of the veins pain?

i duno how to explain...

Hi ccharis,

So far have not tried soya milk.
Always nausea and vomit, so sian!

#1, I just vomit for abt 1mth.
#2, from 2 to 3 weeks till now 12 weeks, still "merlion". And I really hate the taste in my mouth.

Ming8110- happy 12th week birthday to ur Bb!!! Same date as mine!!! N charris !!! So we r 'triplets':)

Sleepy in d office , colleagues again commented I look tired n slimmed down (!!) n they think it's becos of d new job I hv!

Baby Jo
Maybe u are lactose intolerant. I hv the same problem. After any dairy products, I will visit toilet within that hour.. Therefore I have been drinking soy milk all this while.

Joanna
Think better not take Saba. I am not sure what is the English name but I suspect it might be horse mackerel. I avoided for first preg lah.

Ccharis
Baby movement is more like bubbles popping beneath the skin. First time MTb won't feel it so soon bah.