(2012/10) Oct 2012

JOANNA: HUH!! OMG. MEANS I'M GAINING WEIGHT! I don't eat so much de usually! I hope my weight didn't shoot up to 50kg when i weigh myself on my appointment with my gynae next week -____-

Like only today i'm so hungry & it's like sudden attack !

5 more minutes to end work!!

GNL: yeah agree everything is worth it as long as the peanuts is safe and sound =D.. i am just kidding lah on the medicine thing.. But he is from mount E confirm everything also exp de..

hahhahaah me 2.. big big stomach like pregnant 4 mths.. hmmm.. it i read if expanding hor means cramp?

kikilala: omg den can go massage to make it recover or cannot? since u are preg?

Have a good evening &amp; great dinner mommies! <3

Chatting with you mommies had always being my entertainment to do during work ;)

Chat with you all again tmrl when i come to work! Have a good rest to you all!

Sksf: hahaha i duno how true it is but this is what i read and hear from pple.. but i think is normal for us to get hungry even we are not preg?

My stomach alarm will ring everyday at 4pm sharp hahaha..

home sweet home...ofcoz on the dot run hm lah...morning i haven giddy spell still gotta go meeting then stay in eat lunch coz the lunch bus went off n i still in meeting.

the medication given by gynae..no drowsy leh..i take the as normal..

Hi everyone - I just went for 3rd visit at week9 day 0 n Bb measures 25mm n gynae says size n heartbeat is normal ... But I find d scan screen too far n not as zoom in as d other clinic I went .. Doc say too soon to hear heartbeat but d 2nd visit at another clinic let me hear

Is it d scan machine type ???

Btil
Yes it's the ultrasound machine. If can measure the heartbeat already sure can hear mah but some machine don't have sound one...

My #1 gyne machine very good, she install 2 screens, one for herself and one next to the bed so can see very clearly. Somemore got 3D scan, so almost every visit towards the end also can see 3D picture.

Joanna,
I just went for Chinese tuina... But the sinseh say cannot use those herbs oil and only very light massage. So in the end like not much help...

Hi everyone i am expecting my no 2. Now 9wks plus. Next appt in 3 wks time. My gynae is at nuh. Anyone also going to nuh? I still have not told anyone e news yet. Feeling bloated, having headaches and very tired.

Joanna:yeah i know u joking de la hehe yes he frm there surely more exp. he have 3 screens like surround viewing like this haha hub gt confused which to view from but actually all is the same juz depending on whr ur standing position.

Skfs:Its reli nice to chat wif all &amp; something i do daily now!c ya tmr!

Welcome Candies to this big family.

Kikilala:can go tui na ma?careful wor.

Have a gd rest mummies &amp; countdwn to fri!!!

Thanks for e welcome :) hope we all hv smooth pregancies and healthy babies. I hv towait 3 wks till next appt. Thatwill be oscar test.

Gnl: erm not sure but its to screen fr fetal abnormalties and down syndrome. They measure thickness of baby's neck combined with blood test for e mum to see whats e probability that e baby gotdown syndrome and edwards syndrome i think. Its not compulsory cos some parents want to keep e baby no matter what. And e results are just a probability. Had friends with high probability but baby turned out ok

Oh and i recall they aso take note of mummy's age to compute e probability. I think gynae will ask if u want to do. And i think most people do for peace of mind.

Any mummies stopped taking tea or coffe completely? I cannot must hv 1 cup in e morning. Actually my gynae toldme folic acid is e most crucial for 1st tri. And he saidno chinese herbs. Otherwise can eat whatever we like within limits. I keep wanting to eat sashimi

Candies - I'm still drinking ice lemon tea.. I am a coffee and tea drinker but had to stop. So lemon tea as my alternative..
my gynae said no sashimi too.. Basically all must be cooked

Candies
I will take 1 cup of teh-o in the morning. But if I plan to buy bubble tea, then will skip the teh-o. Haha! Limit to 1 cup a day, so hv to save the quotas

Chinese herbs if given by sinseh who knows that u r preggie and given as an tai should be ok to take. Cannot anyhow cook at home without knowing what is the herbs for.

Gnl
The sinseh knows that I am preggie, so just very light tuina on my strain back without any medicated oil and no wrap also. Haiz... Actually not much help like that, still so painful, especially my rib cage area.

I'm so afraid to eat fish oil, when you burp the fishy smell is offensive loh! I think once I start FO my MS will start, lol!

Sksf - Positive thoughts!! Watch this (posted on FB too): http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DiHhZjMulhiA%26feature%3Dyoutu.be&amp;feature=youtu.be&amp;v=iHhZjMulhiA&amp;gl=SG

I feel the atmosphere in this thread had been pretty low this week, some of us had to stop this journey early &amp; while the rest of us are somehow affected by one or another. Let's just encourage each other &amp; move on together? Everyone of us is not alone, even those that has left, fate has brought us together, right? Positive Thoughts = Healthy Pregnancy.

Well said charris !

Sksf - I m w dr Ln sim... How u find her u/s mavuine ?? I find her u/s machine blur n shr said can't hear heartbeat yet , but d earlier week I cud see d screen n printout clearer n with sound , at ml yeap who was looking after her patients when dr sim on leave ...

Heard 2D scan is cheaper n safer than 3D Ones

I think I heard that urine test is compulsory for every prenatal visit - its to monitor the glucose level right? I had it on my 1st appt but with my little experience, cannot comment further le. I can try to ask my gynae tml thou since I slot in a last min, hehe!

After this, I am telling myself not to be paranoid le!!! Sometimes really have to let go &amp; let God, the tighter we hold, the more jialat in the end, since He gave us, it's a gift, we didn't planned for it so the more we should trust His mighty hands.

I heard always scan peanut, the ultrasound waves also not healthy for baby's growth. Today I was just chatting with my neighbour (broke the news to her) and she shared many case stories around her with me too, this gynae she personally know would not allow her daughter to scan until the 3rd month (past 1st trimester) because the u/s waves are harmful and 1st T us extremely high risk, etc...

Sksf - I wonder does super hunger count as severe MS boh? I can eat full breakfast at 9ish, and about late 10-11am, I hungry until want to faint loh, cannot even tahan to lunch hours! Supper is the same too!

Lasery - Don't walk too much too?

Precious - You take tiny folic you say you want to puke liao? Wait till you kenna calcium and fishoil loh -- I take 45mins daily to convince myself to swallow that giant calcium pill

Btil - Atlas, you posted! I was wondering where my twin went to, so quiet! Yup. I managed to hear peanut heartbeat from the same ultrasound machine, very amazing to me, cause she just "picture" the sac &amp; use the mouse to click where the blinking is and the mic is attached! I taped it with my iPhone too, haha!

Tomorrow going again in the morning. Need to see peanut to wipe away all my paranoid. Ok, only this once I allow myself to be so kiasu. Hope all is good inside me!

GNL - I think OSCAR is mandatory or sort of in SG context. It's scheduled somewhere from 12-16th week, to test abnormalities in the fetus - if you pass, then the next mandatory test is conducted at 20th week. If you do not then between the 12-20th week, a series of test (ie. chou yang shui, draw amniotic fluid) would be conducted on you to further investigate, hope it helps!

If you need more info on OSCAR, let me know - my gynae gave me the brochure to read in-depth. Btw it stands for One Stop Clinic for Assessment of Risk for Fetal Anomalies, phew, that's looooong!

Candies - Ya, me too. I usually drink 3-4 cups coffee a day but now I only allow myself a cup &amp; if possible decaf. Btw choco has caffeine too!

I read somewhere flower teas (rose buds/chamomile/mint) are totally fine to have, whereas avoid the blacks. I kinda like ice lemon tea these days too, esp. the peach ice lemon tea, cause very sourish, heheh!

I got "steal eat" sashimi too, oops!
But I seriously do not encourage anyone to do so...

candies: I am a coffee-lover...die die everyday must drink a cup. But the moment I knew my pregnancy, it's amazing tat I managed to stop drinking coffee totally. Not sure if it's due to my taste bud. I tried drinking green tea but stomach feels queasy. So I guess I shall use this opportunity to cut down on caffeine intake. But once a cup is fine.

Hi. I have been a silent reader for the past 2 weeks. Tested positive 2 weeks ago. This will be baby no 5. I have 4 kids now, P3, K1, K2 and 2 years old. Previously had 2 miscarriages before. In fact just had one miscarriage in Aug last year. Have not gone to gynae yet. Thinking of dragging until 2 weeks later cos it's very stressful if can't see much on the scan if I go too early. Keeping fingers crossed now...

Btil: Isit? Ml is at where? You consider to change gynae? Dr sim can be quite cold at times actually.. Lol..

Good morning ladies, feeling hungry .. Tummy was groaning on the bus! Time to take some breadfast! Had a hard time dragging myself up this morning! >
Countdown to friday!

Constance and other new joiners: Congrats and welcome to this thread

Caffeine: For no. 1 I was really guai and didn't drink much tea/coffee (if at all) during the 1st tri. This time round, I am a little more relaxed and usually have half a teh c in the morning. If not, I will be grumpy. Grin.

OSCAR test: I have friends who opt not to do the test because the results are not always accurate and their religions etc mean that they will keep the babies no matter what are the results. If not, most tests are scheduled between weeks 12 to 16 although my gynae thinks it is most accurate between weeks 12 to 14. Depending on the position of the baby, the test can be really quick or slow. The sonographer needs to measure the nuchal thickness (this part behind the baby's neck)as part of the test and it can be difficult to measure if the baby is not in the right position. That is why it may be best to book the OSCAR test in the morning so there is time in case you need to wait for baby to turn to the right position.

mummies who are using iphone:
i just installed this app called "my pregnancy today" into my phone. quite useful leh. will tell you how your baby change each week

lasery2k: usually when u take the medicine? bec i took before sleep hahaha

GNL: 3 screen.. so many hahahha atas clinic is like tat one =P lol..

kikilala: aiyo poor gal.. den can walk ma?or will be still in pain?

ccharis: hmm no lah i puke is due to hungriness den i take the folic acid maybe at that point of time dun feel well.. u better dun steal any more sashimi.. NO GOOD NO GOOD!!!

Constance: congrats wah.. 5th kids...

<font color="aa00aa">ccharis v well said. morale not v high.. coz alot of happenings recently. i also kinda of worried. since MS like suddenly gone.. nt much feeling now. thanks for ur detailed explanation on OSCAR test. I will think about it.

Joanna: I added u in FB &amp; Msn hehe...
hope to see u ard! Yes.... reli ATAS!</font>

At clinic waiting for my turn now. I was such a blunder this morning! Stand outside the house to make sure I brought everything - boarded cab &amp; midway thru, AIYAH! forget HPs! Uturn go back take, sigh! I think memory loss is creeping on me way too early liao...

Ya sorry! I forgot about other races w regards to OSCAR, some religion dont encourage (cause no matter what they are to keep the baby) then they won't go for OSCAR.

<font color="aa00aa">gals, my colleague is coughing away in the ofc. do you tink its a bad idea to wear a face mask? Or m i over-reacting? I don wan to gena cough from her!!! (she dont close her mouth when she cough @ times!!! Argh!!</font>

Ehhhhh, what is Oscar huh? Didn't remember whether I did this in my 1st pregnancy. Is it the same as NT scan? I'm doing that in my next gynae appt which will be on 2nd April

GNL: sure np.. see ya around too =) hmm i think is fine to wear a mask u are not over reacting it.. if u kenna worst lor..

TO all: does oscar costs alot? i heard it is?

Btw can we preg go dentist?

<font color="aa00aa">Joanna: I would think so also lo. she don wan wear I wear should b ok ma hor...its like my ofcnt v big.. cough ah whole plc all virus!! just kind of paranoid about it.

U actually know 2 of my frds @ FB leh so qiao hor haha.. sg is reli small!! &amp; you r a young pretty mummy!!! :D</font>

GNL: hahaha i just saw yr msg here and i went to see.. hahaha..

Lol.. i went to see who are the mutual friends of us..

Yeah just wear the mask is better to protect yrself i think is fine =) hahaha if not u gei gei say u sick den u gei gei cough cough

Pregnant or not, I will tell the person to cover his/her mouth &amp; offer tissue. I know it sounds degratory but this is public hygiene etiquette leh! If colleague, I would say nicely lah, cause we all work in aircon, no ventilation the virus spread very fast de leh... Zidong loh!

Precious - OSCAR is SG$300 before GST.

I also wanna go dentist, it's ok for us to go (in fact it is good for us to go) but please inform dentist you re pregnant.

Just saw my peanut, he grew so much le! Was awake when the scan started then he dozed off. Initially I got worried because 1st scan I saw the blinking very big (heart beat) but today initially boh! So gynae said he was moving &amp; zoomed in, I saw his little heart, hehe! To assure me further she let me listen again, she said, still very very loud &amp; strong!

I'm motivated &amp; felt shame for being paranoid! :/