(2012/10) Oct 2012

Strawberry128- thanks for d explanation ! Then I dun hv heartburn , just d night vomit is sour/bitter water

OCT MTB, same as some of you, my tounge also have metallic taste, cannot drink plain water and have my water intake reduce this few weeks... try to drink different kind of water like soya bean, green tea, cranberry juice, ribena, etc...
Around my 5-8 weeks, I had vommitted a few times, earlier only vomit fluid, plain water, then follow by food.. but it was only for a whilee... it seems ok now.. My gynae told me, it is normal, if u vomit, feel nausea, etc.. it means ur baby growing and ur hormone is working..

Hi Lil_D, please put my hospital to Mt.A, thanks! :D

Hi Valerie, Im 7 weeks and will be doing my 1st scan next week ... so very excited. If normal scan can hear heartbeat then its good. transvaginal is probe inserted through V to do the ultrasound and im trying to avoid that.

For those MTB that is dreading the taste of plain water, add a slice of lemon or abit of honey. It might just do the trick!

Btil - Sorry I left out. Seeing Caroline Khi @ ACJ. If I slot another visit, go there say what? I gien gien to see my peanut, can just do ultrasound for me, heheheeh?

Meredith - Ya, everytime "complain" say SG'reans late birth or mai give birth lah, look at this year! They better appreciate, lol!

Btw. What is Baby Kingdom? Hehehe... First time Mum simi also buay hiao... Opps!

Caitlin - Mayb Ashton sensed it? His temperament changed recently only or...? I think it's better to tell them in the 2nd T, cause your tummy would be bulging & easier to explain, and train him for his upcoming siblings. From what I heard from friends, usually if #1 is girl, they seemed to be more doting to Mum when they know #2 is otw. As for boys maybe it's just boys - my BFF elder son developed this habit: purposely run very fast to his Mum, poke her tummy, make the sound of air leak and run away -__-" to the Dad (dunno to laugh or to cry) and kept insisting her to carry even when her stomach so big already - very Mummy's boy.

Once I have all the Jamu massage then I share with you. I'm piecing them together now & also trying to find out better how to choose a good one. Maybe once we have gathered the information, we can console into a spreadsheet then discuss.

Lil'K's - Wah, 9wks already x3 liao? So what's usually included in each session, apart from ultrasound?

I dunno leh, cause #1 pregnancy & looking at this year's demand and I am not sure what is the %tage of people that would engage Jamu, if they are as in demand as CL then best to chop first loh, esp. the good ones.

Btw. Do you drink alot of water, cause waking up every 2-3 hours (and now only 1st T) cannot imagine how much more disruptive for your sleep once you enter 2nd or 3rd T loh!

Sksf - We are all ears for you right here. As we all kept reminding one another, positive thoughts!

On the soft stool, I finally found someone in the same boat as me! I did asked around, even asked my BFF but she said if 1st T the baby is not feeding on you (so will not affect stool) but my stool is really soft, black & stinko! Like baby poop if you understand what I mean. But I dont poop daily. Furthermore, no matter how much fluid I take, it's v yellowish too. Yikes!

Chez - Salute you! You made it through all those in your 1st pregnancy? OMG! I hope your #2 would be a smooth & walk in the park for you. I cannot imagine how crazy I would be with all these! Have you tried Cethaphil or those wash/lotion for sensitive skin? It's less harsh and retains moisture so you wont itch & break into rashes too. I notice I'm also starting to itch esp around the abdominal area (read up, it's due to pregnancy stretch).

Novembaby - Yaloh, HB and I discussed & we set aside 10K for all the essentials, still, we arent sure if it would be enough or not?

We went kpo-browsing for strollers last week, HB wants "big wheels" strollers cause it would be more stable for peanut, but when my BFF got her what she called "continental car" there was a prominent issue, it's still very bulky when stowed. That might post a huge problem for me if HB is not with me. We havent tried them out, still early but I love the Bugaboo Donkey (although it's meant for twins) and ya, I agree with you, all so nice - like buying car for yourself like that, heheh!

6754042.jpg

BBKay - is this the one? http://www.natalessentials.com/

Yanyan - I havent officially announced, except couple of my close friends (cause I need to ask for contacts & advices, hahah) but HB already 'broadcast' liao. I'll still wait till 2nd T, at least the pregnancy is stablised.

Welcome Tan!

I think most of us have scan already. Generally 9th week onwards can hear heartbeat already but some of us managed to hear it on 8th week (myself too) hope it helps!

Lasery - You're very "fated" with BKK, hahaah! Btw.. Facial massage has no issue for pregnancy but because of our rising hormones, massage would improve blood circulation & trigger more pop outs on our face, eeew!

Kanelmo - Mothercare sale is the one at Expo issit? I like them on FB page & it says little or not Q so how was the selection like? Worth going for us boh, hehehe!

Btil & Tan - I wish I have my own ultrasound machine at home, wahahahahahaha! :p

Strawberry - Gavison, stock them! It comes in handy for anyone & I always have them in my bag.

Another old wives tale to ease heartburn is to bath hot water - have the nozzle target at your back, esp your spine and lower back. It is said to help "expand" your digestive tracts, and then let the stucked foods through. At the same time, hammer your lower back & using your palms and trace the outlines of your intestines (this part I wont recommend cause we are pregnant thou).

Charris - this week my stool became soft n black , where else earlier week 5-6 is hard n constipation

ccharis,
mothercare sale is at harbourfront.
15%disc storewide & some item r on 50%. bought some romper & sleeping suit for my little peanut. hope it will turn out to be girl bcs most colour selected r pink! if turn out to be boy again, then this boy gotta wear lots of pink colour hehehe.

Ccharis - I just told my son abt the news earlier on.. Surprisingly he was so excited. And he said now he understand why I can't carry him and added that he would take care of me and bb.. So sweet!!!
U mentioned abt strollers.. I think it depends on each preference and needs. For my #1, I was so tempted to get big wheel, quinny buzz etc.. But after much analyzing, I bought peg prego and no regrets till now! Thank the guy at hyperstore who advised peg and not quinny then.

Buying baby items - not sure if other second time mums feel the same but when it's the first baby, you end up buying loads of things - some of which end up not being very useful.

For instance, we bought (1) a pupsik pouch for carrying baby (2) a sarong sling (3) a baby bjorn and wasn't completely happy with all 3. In the end we got a manduca baby carrier which we love.

ccharis: Hi ccharis! Feeling like a queen but really no appetite to eat but have to force myself to eat. Mummy dun wan to eat, baby also have to eat...hahaha. Seen a gynae once. Now waiting for my appt this coming tue.

Btil: Hi btil! I took progesterone pills. Thank God I completed tat. The rest are the usual ones like Calcium, Vitamins & softgel for baby's devt. I really cant tahan anymore. Decided to stop since in the olden days, our parents dun take any supplements, we are born healthy. So should be ok. Will tell the gynae for my next appt.

Sksf: Hihi...I have been experiencing tat too. The stool is not the usual ones...more like baby stool...haha

ming8110, same for me I still have quite a few items which were hardly used in my store since my first baby. But I think I may need to get a new baby cot.

Good morning all Oct mummies, hope evryone's feeling fine.
I'm feeling super dehydrated today as I haven't been drinking enough water since yesterday.

Yes, I agree with strawberry and Ming, I bought a lot of unnecessary stuff like the sling, which I am to chicken to use it outside. As for stroller, I would advise 1st time mommies to try to get a hand-me-down one first. Once you use it and realize what you like or don't like about the stroller, you can go get the ideal one within your budget. I am using Mcclaren, which I like a lot. The 2009, 2010 and 2011 models are on sale.

Yes agee with those mummies.. For strollers, get hand me down 1st..then buy 1 u really like.. I ask my frens to buy me a stroller for my nbr 1.. But i dun really like.. So perhaps i will buy another 1.. And for sling.. I also bought the mim sling.. Dun like too.. May buy another type of sling too.. Haiz.. Having a bb is a huge investment! Hehe!

For strollers ah... The lesson I got from my #1 time was not to get a huge monstor stroller! Especially if you go often to shopping centers, supermarket... It's impossible to push the stroller thru the narrow shelves one. then one person got to stay outside the shop and if alone then no need to go in the shop already lor! and near impossible to push monstor stroller into the lift packed with abled people!

So end up I have 4 different strollers but the one mostly used is the cheapest one that is also very lightweight and small. Haha! My monstor huge stroller only see daylight when we go for a stroll in the park or go to the zoo.

Ms lala - I saw 2 gynae n they say no nec to take vit during first trimester , d only thing is folic acid n if need be d progestrgrone pill ..

All who r taking prenatal multi vit - what brand r u taking n are they making u nausea ? I m exploring other brands as the one i take from GNC worsens my nausea and I am so scared of them.

morning everyone...
once again the nighly freqent urination is driving me nuts...argh...& frm my past experience its only going to get worse as bb grows bigger...Looks like I can say goodbye to STTN until the lil one is born n really train to STTN...

Caitlin,
i didnt intend to tell my #1 till after 1st tri, but then Hb when to tell him! & at least now he understands mummy tummy got lil didi/mei mei. He's a super active boy so got to forewarn him not to jump on mummy anymore.
Ur boy asking for didi or meimei?
I ask mine & he said want didi AND meimei *faint* haha anyway already scan its only 1 Bb, will definately not have didi AND Meimei. It's either one. hahaa

Ccharis, 1st appt was transvaginal scan can see the sac, second transvaginal scan can hear heartbeat. 3rd appt like i mention was a last min one cos I wasnt well, but already can do Ultrasound scan which means lil bean already grown in size too.

U so fast start to buy bb clothes?!

Strollers: agree with the above mummies. in the end my big stroller also only use for awhile. then ended up we bot a lightweight maclaren which is so useful esp on holidays.

Sling: I use bjorn for #1. But also tot of getting sling this round, the pupsik pouch.

kikilala,
u got lot of strollers
. I thought I got alot since home got 3, who knows u hv even more.

quite true that huge heavy big is not practical. lift always pack with ppl, use escalator I scared not strong enough to handle. end up I kept buying stroller from heavier to the lightest one
(

I ks bought some last nite at mothercare sale. i got alot of pantang when I preggie for my first one, I dare not buy Bcs old folk said must wait until 7 mths preggie then can buy.

I put on weight ard 18kg on my 8th mths. so tired & heavy with big bump & hippo body. end up I anyhow buy & did not wait for sale since already quite last minute & tired easily.

lo..i gt 2 strollers too..1 light weight and 1 heavy weight...heavy weight for going shopping and parks awhile the light is for my use when i goes out with my #1 alone tt time..

for carriers..i gt a bjorn, a sling, a pouch..ended up i got a pongae from gmarket which i love it most...it's similar to beco n ergo.

Hi mommies, wow glad to see few mommies experiencing loose stools like I did . Alright, then it should be ok..

What supplements does you mommies taking now ? I'm taking a lot
take until I'm scared seriously.. Other than folic acid I'm taking two others, 1 is Cardiprin100MG(Aspirin) 1 tablet every morning .. Writen For blood circulation .. Another 1 is Utrogestan100MG(Progesterone), this I've to take 1 tablet 2 times a day & it'll cause drowsiness ;( these 2 tablet is what my Gynae asked me to take to stable my baby as previously I had a miscarriage so she's worried for my this pregnancy too.. Asked me to take these until I see her on the 14th..

Any mommies taking these too? The one that cause drowsiness if take in the morning I'm afraid I can't work :/ so I only took at night so far ..

Yanyan - On the bb heartbeat hearing machine, I have a joke to share. My BFF received that as a gift from someone, so she tried & when asked how was it, can hear? She said, ya... My HB snored louder than I could hear any heartbeat. I think it's not very accurate, esp when we are only in 1/2 trimester.

Chez - So fast you buy clothes liao ah? Hehehe!
I v tempted to buy all blue (we want a boy!) but then I was also told not to buy anything in the 1st T. Some superstitious belief (but for me since cannot confirm gender then resist the urge loh).

Ming8110 - I saw the pupsik pouch & baby Bjorn - Yes, thinking of getting them, really no use ah? You're like my BFF, she's the 1st in the group & his+her family to give birth so everything also trial & error, and all thanks to her, I would be enjoying the easy way out... Thank God!

Kikilala - Can I ask which is the monster stroller? I was also told to get a Combi (or a super compact one) just because the one we picked, sure end up regret - but I realllllly like. At least it would be the ideal stroller when I walk the dogs. Heheheh.

Ms Lala - Same for me (as BTIL) - I did requested but Gynae said 1st T no need to take supp except Folic, Calcium & Prenatal Multi-Vits (basically all these are to supp the Mum & prep the body for 2nd T when the embryo turns into fetus & start absorbing from you). Also, progesterone if is it required, thats it!

Btil - Ask from Gynae? I had those neon pink ones that look like jellybeans from ACJ, lol! I dunno about GNC prenatal vits but when I told my Gynae that I am taking GNC Vit C, she said usually GNC overdose and so in the end she gave me a different form of Vit C instead.

Lil'K's - Under what circumstances you'll be put under V scan? Because I totally never heard of it before (and it sures sound uncomfortable). I havent buy yet lah, just... look look... see see... hhehhehe!

Sksf - Knowing what you are taking is useful, and also gives you the motivation to take lah. I think Aspirin is for the amnotic fluid, Progesterone is "An-Tai" (stablise pregnancy) pill - if your HCG is low then need to take bah. This is also the one, I read here, alot of them are having bad MS due to it, but I think there is those jab in the butt de to lessen the MS. Wait around, someone would elaborate, cause I never take all these, just happened to read from here some time ago (this thread is moving v fast).

sksf, I am taking utrogestan 100mg x 4/ day. 2 morning & 2 at nite. hb will wake me up ard 4-5AM to take 2, then I continue to sleep. the other 2 before go to bed.

yes, side effect of utrogestan can cause dizziness & fly feeling.

last time I took it before go to office, end up I cannot concentrate since I feel v giddy. hb will wake me up at wee hour now at least I can continue to sleep.

My progesterone pill is 100 mg 1 tablet at night - I think d amt is prescribed at doc according to ur condition . My doc gave me not becos my hcg low or anything, but it is in case n to strengthen me, cos she knows this is miracle for us (we tested negative twice last yr n even saw a sPecialist who advised Ivf).

My doc say no need take prenatal multi vit in 1sttrimester at all, u can if u want. I m continuing to take cos I m not eating well n definitely not getting d ideal nutrition so the multi vit is as supplement . I think I lost 2 Kg !!

My progesterone pill is 100 mg 1 tablet at night - I think d amt is prescribed at doc according to ur condition . My doc gave me not becos my hcg low or anything, but it is in case n to strengthen me, cos she knows this is miracle for us (we tested negative twice last yr n even saw a sPecialist who advised Ivf).

My doc say no need take prenatal multi vit in 1sttrimester at
all, u can if u want. I m continuing to take cos I m not eating well n definitely not getting d ideal nutrition so the multi vit is as supplement . I think I lost 2 Kg !!

As for buying d Bb stuff, I m waiting till 1st trimester is over to research. Now just conc on resting n eating well for a safe 1st trimester .... I totally hv zero outing at stay home except work, even at ek I minimize my walking n eat take away in office. Too tired and nausea !!! So ladies, I will get ur advice on d good deals in a month :)

ccharis,
bbjorn is good for younger baby but when yr bb hit 10kg, then u will feel very strain on yr shoulder.
think alot of ppl buying ergo, beco & maduca for bigger baby.

I have bbjorn, ergo & no brand sling. only use sling & bbjorn when my bb less than 6mths old. changed to ergo after 6 mths old. there is ergo insert for infant but i feel bb leg open wide apart even using the insert.

still will start will bjorn then change to ergo on later part

Good afternoon lasery2k! I've been sleeping aplenty yesterday so woke up early. Hope u had a good sleep.

I've been using a Combi stroller since I had my first one. It's lightweight and easy to move around. I've brought it along for quite a few overseas holidays. So I think it's quite a good buy.

I've been taking 'new obimin' (multi-vitamin) and 'neurogainPB' (fish oil). There r days when I forget to take them but I still feel nauseous and heart burn. I think my MS would still be there regardless of whether I take my supplements.

Hi oct mummies!

Having a bad morning....morning sickness which I dun usually have it often.

Currently finished progesterone cos I complained tat I have menstrual cramp feeling & asked gynae if it was normal. 2 per day, usually taken at nite due to drowsy effect.

The other most hated 3 - Calcium carbonate (vit D), NataBoost for baby's devt & Prenaforte ( I tink all the various vits in 1)

Felt giddy and nauseous after lunch so needed to lie down, then fell asleep for a short while, not sure if I can go out 4 dinner w family.

Caused really bad drowsiness, plus my tummy felt so weird I wanted to vomit but I can't this is the worst! I think this is the cause of my MS & the start!! ;( shall follow Chez ways of taking. Wake up in wee hour to take hopefully it won't affect my work!

Thanks mommies ;)

Lilkmum - I think telling #1 now is better. Initially I wanted to wait till after 1st but I realized he may understand better if he knows. My boy wants a didi.. A playmate.. Haha!

LilKmum, my previous gynae from raffles. Wanted to save costs this time round as I'm SAHM now...so tot of switching to TMC

ccharis, appreciate yr naggy opinions ya :p Will call up tomorrow to fix appt...hopefully won't get another 'bomb' telling me CK also no more slots...cross my fingers
Tks!

My ms getting worse past 2 days...
Hey...didn't know about Gaviscon last time...will ask hb to get it later & give it a try

My ms going wOrsen these few days ... Hope it hit rock bottom alrdy , but I read somewhere ms worsens in week 9-12?!?! Any idea ?

I m just eating v v small meals, drinking 100 plus (thanks to this thread's advice), sitting on bed and napping. Tmr again got to go office....

Hi, have u all restrict yourself to certain foods? I cook fish head curry for dnr & my hb is there nagging say preggie dun eat too much curry.. Argghh..

Yanyan- my gynae says no pineappke and coconut. My tcm gave a much longer list. No cold drinks, no herbal soups with dang gui including bak kut teh, no green tea too. But cost my constitution is weak.
Just want to pour out my misery, having slight diarrhea and can't keep food down. Had to take anti nausea medication to keep anything down. So miserable. Thinking of not going to work tomorrow. Today was puking in public, so totally embarrassing.
Hope all this is worth it.

Thanks btil.

Yanyan, don't worry, he means the fresh type. But my sis always says eat everything in moderation so I guess don't eat too much.

Sing ling, no green tea? Omg... My fave drink n I have been drinking n drinking ley.. So cannot??

Cchelz, i was like u! for my #1 I also went through a sling, which I could never put my baby in without her fussing.. Then changed to baby Bjorn, she likes face out but gimme such a backache and in the end we are using an ergo.

Rach, maybe drink less? It's supposed to be cooling. Don't be too hard on yourself. Tcm targets each individual differently. When I first started, the diagnosis is weak constitution including cold uterus so he tells me to avoid all these stuff. My sis in law who's pregnant too drinks cold stuff still without any problems.

Hi all - I'm convinced I m paranoid, or so says my Hubby.. Or is this just all pregnant women r like dat ??

I told Hubby last night I m scared abt bb's safety cos my morning sickness symptoms reduced last 2 days and my tummy which was v bloated now is bk to original state (my loosened pants at d waist starts to feel loose). I m week 8 day 5 now and vomitting wash bad 5 days ago for 3 days and 2 days ago became better than before ... I hv my next check up in 2 days - terribly nervous !! N a non understanding Hubby :-(

Anyone similar experience ?

btil,

relax relax...stay calm..it's normal for first time preg woman to feel over protective over their little peanut now...i had tt be4 too...paraniod over just a single bit of things...bb didn't kick for the morning i also call gynae..hahaha

it's normal for MS to go on n off as i heard from the rest of the mummies..i didn't had any on my first preg but the second 1 i had MS effect just didn't vomit only..every preg is a difference experience.

u felt gassy and also tummy feel like cramping all those it's just the womb getting ready...if really feel insecure and need some assurance can always search or google online or read some books on preg from library...

alot of resources around to help.

my hub was worst loh..beside keep saying me paranoid he even manage to loose his job which make mi jump like tt when i was having my first 1..i got so piss off tt i actually shifted bk hm n stayed for 2 weeks n even threaten to divorced...oh well after looking bk now, it's more like the preg hormones going havwire...

just stay calm n relax..