(2012/10) Oct 2012

Do any of you experience very dry lips even though you are drinking lotsa water? I'm having this situation.

Novembaby - Let me know if you can add me on Facebook. I have pmed you. I'm not sure whether I'm searchable in FB.

Hi Meredith,

Enjoy your hk trip! I just returned from hk Disneyland.. Enjoyed the trip so much with my son

Hi mrng ladies,
Im new to this and edd is oct too.
Im currently having very bad ms. All med doesnt help for me

Its really horrible and i cant even look after my preschooler.
Does anyone have any remedies besides ginger, crackers as thesedoesnt work for me!
Thanks alot!

My info as below

1.nick: nmx
2.LMP: 2 Jan 2012
3.Expecting # baby : 2
4.Gynae: Dr Kowa
5.Hospital: Mt Elizabeth

Xris: Welcome! Try taking some isotonic drinks? I think the trick (for me at least) is to make sure that my stomach is never completely empty. Much on some biscuits or something before you go to bed and 1st thing in the morning, sit in bed and have some biscuits (digestives and wholemeal crackers work better for me). Good luck! 1st tri will pass soon and hopefully we will all feel better!

Yanyan : Good Morning Yanyan,How many weeks are you now?

Hi Mommies, can i check . I've just started working in this current company for 1 month & my probation period is 6months. But i found out i'm pregnant now. If after 3rd month i would to break the news to them that i'm expecting do they have the rights to ask me to leave as i'm still under probation? but my friend told me MOM law is that woman that had worked in the company for more than 90days if they're pregnant the company can't ask them to leave even if they're still under probation as long as it's 90days before delivering. Is this true?

Stephanie: here is the writeout from MOM.

Employees on probation:

As long as the employee has served her employer for at least 90 days before the birth of the child, and meets the other eligibility criteria for maternity leave under the Employment Act or the Child Development Co-Savings Act, she is eligible for paid maternity leave.

Employers’ obligations:

Under Section 81 of the Employment Act, employers are prohibited from dismissing an employee who is on maternity leave. An employer who does so is liable to a fine and/or imprisonment.

An employer cannot employ an employee at any time during the four weeks immediately following her confinement. An employer also cannot contract out the maternity benefits.

The above applies to employees covered under the Employment Act or Child Development Co-Savings Act.

If employer terminates the employment of a pregnant employee within six months from the date of estimated delivery or the date of her confinement without sufficient cause, the employer is required to pay the employee maternity benefits she would have otherwise been eligible for.

Employer is required to pay an eligible employee maternity benefits if she is retrenched within three months from the date of estimated delivery or the date of her confinement.

http://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/employment-rights-conditions/leave-and-holiday/Pages/maternity-leave.aspx

Hi step.. Good morning.. Today is a bad bad morning for me.. Woke up sooo early, manage to go bk slp ard 5+ then alarm went off at 6.30.. I am nw super super tired.. Gg to tk half day go bk rest...

I think i am 5wks.. I last wk used clearblue testkit w the conception wks.. It show 3-4 wks so shld b 4-5 wks.. I next wed then see gynae then knw hw many wks i am ba..

hello everyone, morning to all...

those who are in the 5 weeks plus. can i ask the estimate edd should be in oct hor? will not fall in nov?

YanYan and Autumn: I was also awake at this hour this morning again. My sleeping problem comes back after taking a break from me for two days. Argh.

Joanna.. I use online calculator.. Based on my last menses.. Edd is 31 oct..

Keiko.. Really argghh.. Hate it when i suddenly wake up, look at time & i go argghh.. Not again...0

YanYan: Fully understand coz I am the same now. super tired. went back to sleep at 5+ too. after waking up at 4am.

I have 'suffered' for a month or so. So, I tried to get into bed before 10:30pm and tried to reduce water intake before sleep. I realised I will wake up due to the frequent urine needed and have problem to get back to sleep. But many times, forgot and drink water before sleep coz i'm thirsty. :-(

Also, I will take a bottle of chicken essence every morning in the office to keep me awake.

u mummies r still chatting till so late.. i was so tired till i koonz vry early at 930pm!

yday have some pinkish discharge.. quickly went to c gynae, so now resting at home.. luckily bb is still growing, see heartbeat.. except gynae said my waterbag unusually small...
sigh .. kinda worried me now..

kanelmo, i also have vry dry lips, feeling thirsty despite having drink bottles of water.. i dont use to feel this way w my #1..

ccharis, so exp? i haven check out at web yet.. :p

yanyan: yeah i try to use the calculator too also states 31 oct.. when was yr last menses?

but i think my sil help me to count she say is in nov.. i was like huh? issit? i thought is in oct? since our last menses is mid jan

Taurus76, Keiko: ahhh.. u all dun sleep well one? i thought normally preg will get tired easily? i think maybe u all wake up in the middle of the night and go urine then after that cannot fall asleep...

Taurus: As long as yr baby is growing is fine.. dun think too much wor.. try to relax yrself...

Joanne: Yes, I get tired easily. Normally, after dinner would lay on the sofa or bed already. Refuse to move at all. My sleep problem is due to the frequent urine needs and before preggy i could get back to sleep very easily but now, i need at least one hour.

Keiko: hehehe i think is quite common for u to feel tired...

Do u experience of after eating already den lay down on the bed and u fall asleep immediately? i feel so fat after doing tat hahaha then the tummy like very very big...

Joanna.. My 1st day of last menses is 25 jan...

Taurus.. Ya as long as bb is still growing.. Dun worry.. Hv faith in the little one!

YanYan: When is your LMD? Mine was 23rd Jan. I should be 5weeks + going to 6 now too.. Sometimes feeling bloated & queasy only .. Never really vomit so far ..

Joanna: I checked online calculator, my due date is 29th october but as my menses seems to be 31 days, if counted as 31days then my due date seems to be 1st nov. I'm confused too.. Lol..

Hi keiko.. Yes it take me an hr+ to go bk to slp too...

Joanna.. Mine lmp shld b 31 jan.. Usu is 7days de..yea i feel very bloated.. Tired.. Not much nausea except when i brush my teeth...

Hello I would like to sell my MEDELA FREESTYLE (Bought fr US, can use in s'pore, just use with any travel adaptor, very easy to use!)The complete set is selling in singapore for ard $900. I would like to sell at $400. Light user as very lower supply and used for few weeks. looked brand new. PM me if interested.

whats included
1 - Freestyle pump
1 - Black microfiber tote bag
1 - Lithium ion battery
1 - AC adaptor/charger
1 - Insulated cooler bag and ice pack
4 - 5 oz/150 mL BPA-free breastmilk bottles and lids
1 - Double pumping kit
2 - Medium (24 mm) PersonalFit™ breastshields
2 - Large (27 mm) PersonalFit breastshields
2 - Freestyle breastshield connector bodies
1 - Set of tubing
2 - Membranes
1 - Hands-free accessory kit
Instructions for use
Breastfeeding Information Guide
6744544.png

tks ladies
.. trying to worry as least but still cant help trying to find out more abt low aminotic fluid..

Stephanie: to your question, It is very tough to suggest. If you read the regulation carefully, there is a period (3rd to 6th of pregnancy) that is not cover by the Act.
[If employer terminates the employment of a pregnant employee within six months from the date of estimated delivery or the date of her confinement without sufficient cause, the employer is required to pay the employee maternity benefits she would have otherwise been eligible for.
Employer is required to pay an eligible employee maternity benefits if she is retrenched within three months from the date of estimated delivery or the date of her confinement]

KEIKO : Omg, looking back it's like so confusing. Now i'm lost not knowing what to do! Think i should just one day pass one day & see how it goes !? :/

Joanne: I wouldn't be able to sleep immediately after dinner. My dinner is very light. I always lose all my appetite in the evening.
My tummy is also very bloating too.

yanyan: ahhh.. poor thing is very sian to wait for an hr.. i think i once experience whole night cannot sleep den the dark circle so dark. OMG!!! hmmmm.. seems like my calculation abit wrong le hahaha.. i think my last menses is either on the 12 jan or this is the starting of my menses.. SO i should be 6 weeks now? since u all menses starts at 20+ jan?

Sksf: hahaha when is yr first day of yr menses?

Keiko: is there a possibility that the co will actually retrench the pregnant lady once they know u are preg? hahaha..just a random thought

Stephanie: I believe it is better for you to take with your hubby, family or close friend on this matter. Also, read on your company handbook. Lastly, will base on your feeling regarding to the company culture toward pregancy staff.
Too much of worry is not good for you and your bb. We MTB need to stay positive always so that bb will get this influence and be a happy bb.

Hi Tairus, I had low amniotic fluid for my first pregnancy. Gynea put me on aspirin mid way through the pregnancy. For this pregnancy, the gynea put me on aspirin right at week 7. Maybe, u can check with the gynea concerning the use of aspirin?

Ming8110 - Oh! Thanks for reminding me of that book, that's by Heidi Murkoff right? Geez, my memory is failing! Btw. Anyone looking for that book in Singapore as I have yet to start hunting for it, Borders no more, so left Kinokuniya only & dunno if I should just order it on Ebay/Amazon.

As for Wong Boi Boi (the 'super nanny' from TMC) maybe I dont mind going & experiencing her talk just for once, but I am not so crazy over her after what my BFF experienced. Mayb because she deals with lotsa babies day in day out, it seemed like she has grown pretty rough through the years. I'm not saying she is not good, but after listening how she deals with 'problem babies'(ie. dunno how to latch for BF milk) then I realised I wouldnt want my baby to be forced in this manner too, she doesnt seemed to care when they wail all their might - instead, she thinks it is part and parcel of life. Ok, granted - but you wont have BF for the 1st 3 days leh, latch or dont latch also no milk (still have to give formula) so why forc the baby until his face turns green? Having said that, maybe her talk is more appealing bah...

Precious - Honestly waste $$$ not so bad, but not being able to see anything on the ultrasound then really very rollercoaster, that's IMHO lah. So I think your next appt is a good time.

Welcome NMX & JustALamb!

Yan & Autumn - I think I found my 4AM mates, lol! I have days where I'm really wide awake at that time, if I dont take my afternoon nap. It's so hard, cause it's affecting my HB's sleep too.

Taurus76 - Rest well! Esp the weather is so hot, I think stay indoors also good lah. I'm also home today. Heheheh! You know. I seeemed to be paranoid these days too. Sometimes when I experience a flow or drip (if you get my drift) then I would rush to the restroom immediately just to ensure that I'm not spotting or whatsoever. Esp my MS has stabilised, the more I am paranoid (like why?) and ya, lips is very dry and flaky and I'm not using much lipbalm these days cause I dont want peanut to consume the petroleum jelly too.

Keiko - Hahahah! Sorry! I was talking about this: http://www.pupsikstudio.com/belly-bandit-bamboo.html (thats why I found it weird why you all need to buy so early) so Sorry! Anyway this looks interesting but not sure if it can really expand my jeans? I'm already into leggings daily. Sobs!

Precious - It depends on your cycle, mine is 30days. I had my last menses on 3-5th Jan, and EDD is 10/10 loh.

Yes, I dont even need to see bed also can sleep. HB really at wits end, I now can convert my motion sickness into sleep too. Hahahaha!

KEIKO: Thanks alot for your advice dear

Joanna:Hmm, 22nd Jan midnight i started to bleed.. I remember as it's right after new year eve! So it's counted as 22nd or 23rd? Haha.

Keiko, ccharis, i was awake cos my #1 crying for milk else i would have slept thru haha

Taurus76, hope all will be fine for you, dont worry too much ya

Joanna, i'm 5wks++. My LMP was 13 Jan but i dun have the regular cycle of 28days plus ovulate on day14 type. Hence LMP method of calculating EDD is not accurate for me.
So i did my own calculation for my EDD cos i know exactly the time frame that i ovulated (used OPK). Based on that I know my EDD will be 25-26 Oct and true enough when i went for my scan yday, the gynae confirmed the edd dates based on size of sac..

SKSF: Don't worry too much now. You need to work at least 90 days with the company before they are obliged to give you maternity benefits. So I won't really break the news to them until after the 90 days period. Check with MOM if in doubt.

Issues sleeping: I am having problems sleeping too! Everytime I turn over in bed, I wake up. It wasn't like this with No. 1 until late in the pregnancy. Sigh

Ccharis: Mrs Wong can be pretty scary but she is super experienced. She is great if you don't mind getting bossed around. We thought it was helpful when we were first time parents. Anyway, for her students who deliver in TMC, she will come visit you after you give birth to give you pointers on the baby latching etc. We subsequently brought No. 1 back to her for baby massage classes and found what we learnt pretty useful.

Ming8110 : Yeah, think i'll wait for another 3 more months to be safe before i break the news to them :/

Always after eating, will feel so queasy like all the food is up my throat gonna throw up... sucky feeling

ming8110 - I would like to attend her prenatal classes but if you want me to hand peanut over to her, there's still the fear (of course, when the baby wont latch, being the mum you also wanna cry loh). But anyway since you have consulted her before, just wanna ask if you have attended the Childbirth Education Course? http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm#childbirth Was it any good?

OK, at least I feel better that I'm not the only one with dry lips. Same here, not using lip balm but see how long this situation will last.

Taurus76 - Rest well and hang in there. Everything will be fine.

Hi ccharis
I have attend Mrs Wong class, those things she taught is relevant. Very useful for 1st time mum. Agree with ming8110 she is great...simply best. I hand over my no1 over to her, her communication with babies is really good. My baby did not cry through out and kept listening to her as if she understand. My latching method was wrong and she guide me, surprisingly my sore nipple gets better. She really have a way with babies
Those who wants to attend her class do sign up early...maybe right after Oscar.

ccharis oh ya forgotten...1-3 days after giving birth must latch as there is colostrum. Colostrum is very good for babies u can read up more. Latching if you want to be gentle most likely will fail. Have to stuff your whole areola into baby's tiny mouth. I am a failure for latching and pump is my good friend. Hopefully I will success this time round with no2.

Mrs Wong Class seems great from what i read from all the comments here! How much is her charges for her classes? Any mommies has any ideas?