(2012/08) Aug 2012

oh I have jsut sign embassy agreement for my maid and processing time takes 6-8 weeks. I am afraid I may deliver early then die lor, confinement still have to teach maid.

Ayukie, you know what to buy? do u have the list?
Rykiel, i spoke to her liao and confirm her. by friend recommendation de.

this weekend u all going to expo? my sis passing me everything... so i dont have much to buy. but i guess i need to buy the tip of the milk bottle. the rest i using all the old stuff. save $!

AG: when u signed? i signed 2nd week may.. now still waiting n waiting. LOL!

ayukie: maid still waiting. hahahaha!

meistar: congrats! not gg to fair. i hvn start buying anything yet.. so... yea. giving it a miss. hehehehe!

meistar - i gg reuse those bottles that i use last time for storing bm .. the teats of course must change all but those bottles my sonny use before i nvr recycle because also use v v long liaoz think nt v gd to recycle those ..
yeah gg expo see if gt pampers to stock up bo ..
erm dunno think red dates, some codyceps , some fish , sesame seed oil, ginger erm and what else u wanna her to cook for u lor ..

rykiel - i salute u wahhahaa maid still waiting , nt gg fair and nt buying yet hehe ..

ag - my maid 2 mths liao still kenna scream at by me whhaaa (but abit lesser le)

ayukie: bo bian leh. signed embassy contract early may, till now haven hear anything!!! not buying cos hvn pack anything lor. no space also. all i got is a stroller =x muahahhaha!! & of cos a loving family awaiting his arrival nia. nth else=x ur maid 2mths still no guaiguai ar? siao liao mans... hw old ar urs?

rykiel - 24 behaves like 16~17 most times .. aiyah always chut pattern one lah .. and v forgetful i wanna whack the head liaoz ..
u better prepare before ur 36 wks gal !

rykiel, u haven't buy anything except stroller??? but my friend told me better start buying now when we are not so heavy otherwise very tired towards the end de leh... so i think u better start buy ba....

ayukie, i think i better check with my cl see what to buy and what herbs to buy for bathing purpose...

rykiel, u haven't buy anything except stroller??? but my friend told me better start buying now when we are not so heavy otherwise very tired towards the end de leh... so i think u better start buy ba....

ayukie, i think i better check with my cl see what to buy and what herbs to buy for bathing purpose...

I feel super heavy now already. Now I fan cheong liao due to change in maid so weekend I dig out a lot of clothes for her to wash. Need to buy everything and clean up room, suddenly very stress. Better buy everything Liao no time. Rykiel, just signed yday and I have a feeling she will come after I deliver. My experience is that theres always delay. The last time i also waited slightly more than 2 months.damn so angry. I suspect I will be due @38 weeks which is end July.

Did someone mentioned ordering of ginger shower foam and dry shampoo for our confinement? In case I missed it cos these days busy at work.

ag - wahh handling maid and bb together v siong .. i already ask my maid to wash a few times my #1 clothes still gt abit yellow haiz will try wash again but i throw in machine for baby steam wash ..

i use to get the ginger and lemongras shower foam frm toa payoh but the dry shampoo sucks so nt getting .. anyone gt recommend to get?

Ayukie, I used nappisan the pink colour tin, my maid wash Liao the stain did come off. Maybe she never scrub the stain hah. Yalor i sure pek chey cos I won't have patience if she's slow haiz.

nana: Medela freestyle beauty loft sells it much cheaper

nahnah: I believe can use external ointment like Jen said to relief. I don't have it yet, cross my fingers

meistar: I gain more than you, at 29 weeks, I already gain more than 13KG and every month now seems to gain 3KG..SIAN I haven't pack yet, too busy recently and my gynae seem confident that I won't go into preterm labour, so intend to pack 1 month before EDD. For the herbs, you better check with your CL, even if you buy le, but she don't know how to cook also no use. For pregnancy weight, do note that majority should go into baby, not just the baby weight but the placenta, aminotic fluids and etc take up weight too. Even now I'm at the weight before I slim down, hubby said I don't look as big as then.

JA: It depends how much each bleed for post natal. I only ready 1 box of maternity pads. If not enough then get more ba. NUTC near my house.

Rykiel: You mean taobao rates? I buy myself without going thru agent and I make payment for my purchases using my credit card so the exact exchange rate does change a bit from each purchases. if you are talking about shipping rates, it changes also depending on the time of the year, with before and during festive season more expensive. But usually the rates stay at 40-50% of the listed EMS rates from www.ems.com.cn. Pad wise if I ive him the exterior packaging hubby would be able to help buy if really no choice, otherwise he would be clueless what to buy.

Ayukie: bb one month shower plan to have it at home, morning for relatives, afternoon for friends and colleagues. Hotel one too expensive le. Hehee

ayukie: ur maid also youngs leh. mine 25.. scary sia. i hvn mentally prepared also leh. chuans~~~

meistar: haven.. i hvn pack a space for bb clothes also. see whn weekends no go out than start doing bah.. now no much strength do things also. got mood than do nia..

AG: whn ur EDD? mine 0208. i signed first week may till now still waiting. which agency u with? oh ya filipino they say aft sign embassy contract is about 6-8wks waiting time der.

star: yeappies. so u must be one shop buy sibeh zueh that kind. lol~~~ i like the maternity wear shop u posted. i saw a few catchy ones i like. u got anything u buying now? later i go see see i might get 1-2dresses. now dunit so much liao, anytime soon we're giving birth. i rather wear those i can now than buy more bb stuffs *grins*

v shioks, i went northpoint for dinner, than i came home till now hvn bathe, vacuum floor. throw one whole box of clutter. hahahaha.. gg to throw the clothes into the dryer, uniforms hang up than gg take a long shower! WOO!

Re: Pads
I have adenomyosis thus super heavy flow, I use Sofy the extra long 41cm ones for years liao. And I still need to add one more Whisper day use one at the butt area for added coverage!

Re: CL herbs list
My CL gave me a nicely printed out long list for me to buy stuff. She advised to buy 1 week before delivery. Later I type out and post here.

Re: Motherhood fair
Hubby not working tmr, so we going in the morning. Anyone wants me to look out for anything? I can take photo with my hp and post on FB group or PM you, hehe. Or I can post here too, just that I've forgotten how to!!!

My CL's List of Herbs to buy 1 week before delivery. For your reference. If you getting a CL, better to get her list cos I guess there will be differences!!!

HERBS
红枣 Hong Zao (Seedless) 3kg
龙眼干 Dried Longans 3kg
黑枣 Hei Zao 300g
北芪 Bei Qi 300g
当归 Dang Gui 150g
枸杞 Gou Qi 1 packet
党参 Dang Shen 300g
杜仲 Du Zhong 50g
泡参 Pao Shen 100g
淮山 Huai Shan 200g
海玉竹 Hai Yu Zhu 300g
天麻 Tian Ma 100g
川芎 Chuan Xiong 20g

HERBAL PILLS + BATHING
惊风散 Jing Feng San 1 bottle
苏合丸 Su He Wan 1 big packet
大风艾 Da Feng Ai 1 Box

WINES
白米酒 Bai Mi Jiu 1 bottle for bathing (About $3-4) & 1 bottle for cooking (About $8-9)
绍兴酒 Shao Xing Jiu 1 bottle
姜酒 Jiang Jiu 1 bottle

CONDIMENTS
黑木耳 Hei Mu Er 100g
黑豆 Hei Dou 1 packet
冬菇 Dong Gu 1 packet
姜 Jiang 600g
麻油 Ma You 2 bottles
胡椒粉 Hu Jiao Fen 1 bottle
胡椒粒 Hu Jiao Li 1 bottle
生抽 Light Soya Sauce 1 bottle
黑酱油 Dark Soya Sauce 1 bottle
玉米粉 Corn Flour 1 packet

Rykiel, my edd 1208. #1 was 2,weeks early so must be prepared could be 2-3 weeks early. Hey urs so early and u are not ready :p
Sasha thanks ur list so detailed. My CL never tell me anything leh. During my #1, my CL just tell my hb when she arrives and he went downstairs medical hall to buy. Certain things she will tell my MIL and she will buy for me.

Hi ag,
Her list was printed nicely for me in colour some more. I hope no copyright! lol. But i think if gals just bring the list to medical hall to buy, also dunno if CL or mum or MIL will know what to use for what or not.

You found your replacement maid?

shasha mama : wow so good. mine just say oevr the phone, i copied down and forgot where i place that paper! jia lat.

i think i will also go to the fair tmrw - my first time gg motherhood fair - alone cos nobody to company me.. wonder if i can shop a not, cos really no hands to take things leh.. need to buy diapers, bb carrier, breast pump, detergent/ soap, wipes.. so many stuff..

Tanny,
You go alone dunno can manage or not wor! I gonna work out my shopping list now. I only bought stroller, car seat and steriliser. Cot i know what i want liao. So EVERYTHING else I need to buy!

Breast pump you intend to buy tmr? If medela i thought spree cheaper? Or u buying avent? BB carrier no rush, can even wait till baby born to bring baby go and try.

Rykiel: No la, I buy from a variety of shops and a few items at one shop. I just get my shipper to consolidate the items then send to me. Before I was pregnant, I was into lolita fashion (am still now, but just with big belly cannot wear the dresses), and these dresses are not exactly very cheap (although japan import ones are far more expensive), so I can spend quite a bit on taobao, which makes it more economical to buy on my own.

Shasamama: Can help me look out if got baby monitor? Also cooler bags? Thanks!!!

tanny: A suggestion on what you can do which I intend to do so too. When you buy the items at 1 shop, ask them to keep items temporarily so you can walk around empty handed. Only when you are going home then you collect your stuff from the shops.

shasamama: Don't mind me saying this. I have told my mum about the ingredients that your CL told you to buy. It seems like there's a lot of herbs and seems very nourishing, and it's usually not needed unless your consitution is very weak. 3KG of red date and longan also too much, my mum say you would eat/drink until you puke. Also a word of caution to use wine to bath, as you know, wine contains alcohol and is very cooling, if not careful, is more easily to catch a cold then prevent you from catching one. Do check with your CL after consuming all these herbs, is it still safe to breastfeed.

shasamama: Cooler bag to store the ebm when going home from work.

sasha, I choose a new maid liao, but gotta wait 6-8 weeks so hoping she will come in before I deliver else faintz. my old/current maid still working for me and suddenly so hardworking like doing spring cleaning for me. a bit siao one,
I was telling hb that I am afraid she will put something into my food...esp for me wahaha. I think she was hoping we ask her to stay cos this is not the first time she said she wants to change employer, initially when she came she said that twice within 6 mths and we talk to her and she is ok but that time was different cos she wasnt used to SG life. after 2 years she yaya thought she very clever and used this to threaten us, cos 1 mth back she cut out the article 1 day off per week and place it on our dinning table and I threw it away :p

starfantasy, I know we need lots of red dates cos I drank red dates water for the whole mth and no plain water. but to use alcohol for bath, never heard of leh.

sasha, at the fair, can u see if there's any cheap and nice playpen for me and how much discount for avent bottles? I am thinking if I should go down tmrw but need to ensure hb go down with me. I cant shop and carry on my own.
tanny I dun think u can shop on ur own cos how to carry and end up you wont buy much. now I dont even go ntuc to buy stuff cos I always choose and end up telling the cashier I dont want this and that cos I got no strength to carry.

btw rykiel, I went to the homekeeper agency as my sis used them few months back. I paid about $1.1 for everything including their test,insurance, embassy charges and agency fees. will pay the loan only after collecting the maid. one thing I never check with you gals is the clause where i am allowed to change 1 time maid within 3 months. I remembered last time I can change as many times as I want within a year. anyway I got no time to research at that point cos I already choosen the maid and didnt want to rechoose again.

I have to call my CL later now that u all talking about herbs.. she said she going to buy from Malaysia! I was like wah bian .. dun even know the source you are buying from!

Yes Red dates Water the whole month!

Anyone visiting the fair today?

anyone has the link to the motherhood fair???
happy, I prefer to buy herbs on my own cos dunno if their source is reliable and she may get poor quality ones for you and charge u a premium.

hello mummys & mtbs, long time no post here. today's my Clara's official 29th weeks.

we haven't check on the gender since the last detailed scan at ard 22-23 weeks, that time gynae's guess is a gal. we have since assumed to a gal & therefore named her Clara & have bought pinkish, girlish, princessish clothings & access.

is there still by any chance the male genital will still develop at this stage? will be a shocking to find out upon delivery that the gender is not what u have expected.. :p

My CL just tell me to prepare the herbs needed for confinement but din tell me exactly wat. She said the shop will know. So i have no idea wat to buy, mayb will go n ask the ppl at the shop. Anyway i have a chinese medical hall downstairs, she can get watever she wants if i din buy. I think i'll probably just get the std, red dates n longans plus the showering herbs ba.
By the way, can checkout straits times life for a list of discounts at the fair tdy. I think they have different specials for different days. So mayb everyday might b different for some items. Goo.N newborn listed in tdy's papers. Think i m gg to grab 2 packs.

AG: i know red dates is for drinking but check with my mum she say no need to drink for the entire month and that water is okie to drink.. Haha, my mum had 4 kids and now no prob so i guess wat work for her would work for me too. ;)

Ayukie: usually our bellies and bb aminotic fluid should be okie to cushion a kick unless it's a very strong one. Neverthless, monitor bb movement n take care k. Go see a doc immed u feel anything outside the norm

Urchin: thanks, will check out the newspaper tonight. Am going to grab the goon diapers too. Cross my fingers they will have stock till tml

Rykiel: PMed you. can you share your rates too? thanks.

Sashamama: thanks for sharing your CL list! its so detailed as compared to mine.

Happy, AG: my CL said she can buy for me from Msia too, but i wanna buy it myself, feel 'safer'.

AG> i'm also using homekeeper agency for my new maid. taking on a transfer maid... and yes their clause is can only change 1 within 3 mths....hope its good. u getting pinoy or indon?

Dear gals,
Here's the brochure. http://www.motherhood.com.sg/events/mhbrochure.html
I'm getting ready to go there Liao. So far only request for cooler bag, abt monitor, playpen, avent bottles ya?

There're 2 playpen promos listed on the brochure. I'm getting one! Only 50 per design. One is fisher&price rainforest design, one is brightstarts. Both $199, both usual price $339. I wanna see if all the accessories in the photo are included before deciding.

Can someone teach me how to post photo here? Or else I post on FB group.

Re: maid
Mine also Homekeeper. My clause is free change in 6 months Le. (I think)

By the way, is goon really cheap? $15 a pack for newborn (58 pcs) n s size (52 pcs). I think I buying 1 Pack each. Usual price $30.

sasha, ur maid is filippino or indo...how come 6 mths...mine if filippino and only free change within 3 mths. anyway no point nego with agency too cos they will say that is that time promo.
goon $15 for pack of 58? very cheap leh wah then might as well buy more. I am thinking of geting a playpen at less than $150 but I know fisherprice one very nice :p