(2012/08) Aug 2012

Hello mummies, back to work today so tired and busy. Tell u all my fren story, her previous maid tried in her clothes when she is at work and that maid post on FB and happens that my maid is her fren do i saw her maid photos which is not restricted. Can't stand those photos coa it's those sexy pose with sexy clothes and even tried on her running shorts then lift up her tighs so high , imagine on FB. I also heard stories before maid sleeps in our bed or worse, bring man home and use our bed. So hb n I play safe, don't let her access my master room when no one is at home. Also Don't leave $$ around to tempt them. My hb used to put coins around but now trained him not to Liao.
I bought a small cheap safe years back from giant (less than $50) and put the safe in a locker, so lower chances of her accessing it.

Ayukie: I'm 18weeks tmr still puking. When hungry gag a lot still and when I can't digest my meals out it comes... Much better then 1st trim.

Dear Yanlin,
Congrats on a good amnio test!!! And double congrats for having girl!!!

Dear Urchin,
Congrats on a good scan and having a boy! Hopefully my scan tmr will be a good one too.

Dear Joanne,
Thanks for sharing about your boy's case! Really sounds scary and good to have the ""better be safe than be sorry"" concept.

Dear Celeste,
All the best for your amnio next week! Stay positive!

Dear pigpigmummy,
All the best for your scan this Sat! And welcome!!!

Re: Maid
I been sourcing and visited 5 agencies thee 2 days. Shortlisted two from Homekeeper and wld go confirm one of them tmr after a successful detailed scan!!!

AG, omg. If tat's the case, can we report to anywhere on those problematic maid? This is scary n yucks, think I'll throw away those clothes, mattress n detox everything after she left. Till now, I still can't share any spoon, glass, plate with maid. Even after maid carry bb, i wouldnt carry the bb lor. Natural resistance.

AG: Wa, that kind of maid cannot keep la, but in the first place how can she be able to access facebook account? Is she allowed to use the computer or own handphone? My agent told me that if possible don't let the maid own handphone which I think might not be a bad idea, since if she wants to call home, she can use the house phone.

QQ: The only thing you can do is tell the maid agency, other than that, nothing you can do because it's not a crime to wear other ppl's clothes (not consider stealing). Actually those clothes and stuff no need to throw away la, so wasteful, all this in the mind one. It's not as if she has some contagious illness.

Star, I know wat u mean. It comes naturally, juz can't accept things used by maid. My Hb even worst, if possible, he wouldn't travel to thailand n Indonesia lor. We never been to bangkok till now. Aiyo, unexplainable. Hope bb wouldn't inherited this kind of thought.

QQ: Hummz, think of it this way, when we go outside and eat, the plates, utensils have all been touch by more unknown ppl. Clothes have been tried on by unknown ppl also. So just try to see the maid as an normal person. Actually bb always take parents as their role models, so it would be best if parents themselves can change the mindset first. For the sake of bb, can do it one

Ling, the Philip sale at taka tell me it not free playmate, it a replacement for the blanket that is out of stock..

Starfantasy, I got ur email. Thank you very much.

My next scan, on 26 mar so 5 more days to go. Ya..... So excited to c bb. Hope everything alright.

Hazel: great! Was gg to ask u if u receive my email. I'm going to see my gynae on the same day as u! I only hope bb don't grow so fat, have been eating like a pig lately..haiz

Hazel: everything will be alright for ur bb too! I don want bb to get too chubby cos i want natural delivery and have a low pain threshold.. The bigger bb is, the harder and more painful during delivery..

I kw, I have heard of that too. Avenge is the best. I want natural delivery too.

Heard that if too big might end up doing c-sect.

BTW, have buy any stuffs already?

Pigpigmummy, so it after detail scan then if neck too thick then will be ask do amino test or via visa?

Today one of my colleague tell me I am way too over due for detail scan when I tell her I aldy 4 months plus 5 months.

Haha QQ u so extreme. Sharing utensils with maid is common leh not like we never wash it. My fren insisted on sending her back home n dont allow her to find another employer here. If she choose to let her find another employer in SG then she dont need to pay for her tickets home. So keep in mind when finding transfer maid cos some ppl wanna save $$ so they will just find some excuse for the maid. Regarding Hp difficult to control cos once they have offday they will buy. Mine also came with agreement no offday n Hp but now everything also have.their Hp plan also got data plan to access FB. I found out my maid fb thru my niece cos she added my niece. But she dont know i log in using my niece fb to check on hers before hehe. But my maid db so far nothing much so i let it be. As long as they can do their job, just close 1 eye.

Hazel detailed scam is usually 20 weeks. I doing mine this fri, hopefully can see gender. Btw anyone having red spots on tummy? I didnt apply oil for 2 days and the red spots appeared. I started eating a lot now too. Gynae told me not to overeat cos I am small built later bb cannot come out.

I a bit loss count in my weeks. Ha ha....

I dun have red spot but has those rash like things and a bit itchy sometime but I have not been applying any oil or lotion for the pass few weeks.

So not sure wat happened.

Was thinking maybe my tummy is stretching causing the itch.

Really very sick and tired of work, as a contract staff by right work load should be now, but the 2 managers has been loading me with tonnes of work. I was ask to upload piles of contracts and need to file them after that. Now already having problems bend down yet still need to go all the way down to the last drawer near the floor to do filing.

My sernior a perm staff can, actually go 2 hrs lunch everyday and chit chat here and there most of the time.

Just use the pregnancy calculator and realize I in week 21 which is 5 mths and 1 weeks. Wah time really flies. So not sure if I am really overdue for my detail scan.

Think detailed scan should be done ard week 20 - 21.. will look at kidneys, heart, limbs, brain, body, head, eyes, nose, lips then our cervical length, placenta position, blood flow, etc.. measure a lot of things, I have 4 full pages of pics.. but some dunno what they r measuring also.. as long as all normal then ok lor..
by the way, it's better to go with some water in ur bladder.. I emptied my bladder before scan, thou can see bb, but cannot measure the cervical length, so the sonographer ask me to go out n drink 3 cups of water first... then she do another patient first.. end up I am so urgent... but cannot go toilet.. haha..
I m also itching badly.. but usually aft applying the moisturiser it's better.. but aft a few hrs then start again.. my tummy also has a lot of spots.. that time was red.. now turn brown liao.. ugly... breast also itchy, now back also started to itch... so I think it's cos the skin is stretching.. I m not too sure.. gynae said can give me mild steroid to apply but she saw my expression then say ok, normal calamine lotion will do also if just want to stop itch.. haha..

Hi Hazel
Manage to get the sterilizer.. Thk u ya..;)

Hi sasha
R u getting new maid or transfer maid?

Learn alot abt maid here, thk gals.. But am delimma not sure shd i look for new maid, transfer maid or exsg maids? When i go to agency, they asks me n i look them blur.. As i oso not sure.. Which type (new, transfer or exsg) of maid is better n give less problem?? Any advise...

AG, ya, I'm too extreme. Haiz, my mum oso like tat. Hb oso like tat, n MIL oso like tat. But we never purposely sarcastic to maid, just when come to food, body contact stuffs, a bit sensitive.

Red spot on body, is it becoz our body is heaty now? I only have red spot on the back of my body, some look like pimples. Only my breast itchy. I put stretch mark cream. Do your breast aerola area shrink? I felt mine do shrink sometime in the morning. Is it normal?

Hazel, may be u can ask Gynae on next visit or call up the clinic n ask if u r due for the scan but no arrangement has been made? I think detail scan is good for us. But no worry, bb definitely will be fine. Don't think about negative things. Juz try treating as normal scan n longer scan n u can see bb longer.

AG, sonographer did the DS for me. initially, i thought is Gynae but Gynae told me, Gynae oso can do, but more costly. As he thinks me n bb are ok, so done by sonographer oso ok.

I think my not my gynae doing the scan next time round. I was only told will have scanning done on my next visit 26 mar and was told try come early. But no one mention it DS. So not sure. But guess by then should be able to c bb gender.

Will there be a different charge for gynae to do the scanning?
Was not told abt this.

As for maid, QQ I some how kw how u feel I sometime will have that feeling too. But must try not to do it till too extreme as it will be difficult to get along since she will be live with u all. For food and drink I agree not to share, at home maybe u can consider let her have her own sets of cup, fork & spoon. During meal time, u can use common utensil to take foods for everyone. This way will reduce the contact. But still they are after all human and before they are able to come in sin to work they aldy done body check up to be clear for disease. So not to be scare. Just for the sake of hygnie.

As for clothes, I think a bit difficult unless u only wash them once a week when u r around. If not u can't really ensure she won't try them on after ironing or after drying since u r not around.

Hp wise, as long as they have the $ they can buy it on their own hard to stop.

<font color="ff6000">Bright, urchin</font>
<font color="ff6000">i've checked with my gynae on my belly button pain. it was due to the laparoscopy done 1.5 years ago, so its the wound causing the pain. nothing much can be done, other than bear the pain...</font>

<font color="ff6000">JC, yanlin, urchin </font>
<font color="ff6000">congrats on knowing the gender!</font>

Urchin: If that is detail scan then I think my gynae has been doing that for me every month I see him since bb is 3 months old. He will check every major organ and even count his fingers and toes (so tiny so cute~~). He also very detailed and will look at bb heart from all angle and explain to me. I don study bio so I only understand that bb heart is good..haha. Maybe that explains the expensive doc bill XD

AG: I don have red spots but since having bb, my skin is like becoming more sensitve, if itchy and I scratch a bit, the whole area will swell and become red and hot. Rg maid having HP, I was told by my agent not to let her buy and to control the money I give to her every month (since the rest is deposit into bank acct). She doesn't have offday now but I let her go out for classes once every 2 wks and will give her a spare hp for me to contact her when I need. Crossing my fingers that it will always be this way.

@AG: mine was done by another gynae...referred to by my gynae...was supposed to be done by the TMC sonographer...

RE: DS
other than the measurement, stil got check the flow of blood in the 4 ventricals of the heart...umbilical cord blood flow, kidney...

and the gynae who did the scan for me measure the size of bb's feet as well..which my gyane said he wont measure if he was the one doing it...

also, said tt mine placenta is on the low side but no risk...

I just got the reminder SMS from NUH, but find it funny.

The scan is at 2pm and gynae appt at 2.35pm, so dun think it a detailed scan ba. As since detailed scan need to check so many things should take more then half an hour right?

Hazel: I think max 15 mins will do cos all are done at same time at same ultrasound machine. But I think it also depends how experience the person doing the scan (if not gyne)?

Dear Hazel Nutty,
Maybe you wanna sign uo for the babycenter singapore newsletter? After you register with your EDD, you will receive weekly newsletters updating you on baby's growth
Try this: http://www.babycenter.com.sg/pregnancy/fetaldevelopment/ I very kiasu, downloaded the app into iPad, there're updates on baby's growth on a daily basis. lol.

Dear Joanne,
Below is my criteria for getting maid and my reasons:
1) Filipino (Cos most are better than indon and myanmar in English, more hygienic, not afraid of dogs and ok with touching and consuming pork)
2) Prior experience in taking care of baby and housekeeping (But NOT in Singapore cos wld hv friends etc already, I don't mind training, thus need maid to come earlier)
3) Prior experience should be a sustained one, eg for 2 years (To show consistency)
4) With at least 1 child (Single/Married etc doesn't matter cos some are separated from hubby; they wld hv more motherly instinct, THO they may miss their children la) (And this wld mean they have greater commitment to work harder for child(ren), compared to those young and single ones who come here may look for boyfriend. Those with parents alive and not many siblings MIGHT hv greater commitment to work too)
5) In the 30s age range (Probably more mature and stable)
6) English proficiency (better be good, cos fair or little will mean very bad I think, hard to communicate)
7) Does NOT fear dogs (Some filipinos fear dogs!)
8) Preference of job scope should have baby as 1st or 2nd choice (the 4 choices are usually: care of baby, care of elderly, housekeeping, cooking)
9) NOT too pretty nor too plump nor too frowny nor too vain (Too pretty sure attract unnecessary attention, too plump might not hv enough energy and might eat alot, too frowny see already also not happy, too vain will wanna doll up and go out during weekends)
10) And on the biodata form should have more gradings of ""good"" lo

NOTE: This is NOT foolproof la, like there're Indons better than Filipinos in English, and there are 20+ year olds that are mature enough till they don't even want day-off etc, but I just try to narrow my scope for ease of search lo.

In the end, it is ALL ABOUT LUCK!!! NO such thing as which nationality or which criteria WILL give you NO problems. I have friends with both Indons/ Filipinos and New/Transfer etc and they did come across bad and good ones. Really by luck!!!

As for maid duty roster and a 55-guidelines (with bahasa Indonesia translation), do visit this blog! ALOT to read on this blog: http://singaporemaid.blogspot.com/

One more thing I wanna share is to find an agency with good after-sales lo. When they help u find maid, service can be very good, but must note their terms when things go wrong, eg
1) Insurance need to pay again when change maid? Is there partial refund?
2) When i change maid, what do i need to pay for? Just the entrance test $95 or everything again?
3) When i return the maid for another, do i need to pay for food and lodging ($10/$15) a day til next employer is found (max 2 weeks/ 4 weeks)?
4) How many free replacements do i get and within what period?
5) Do i need to use the maid for at least 30 days before changing?
6) What abt the loan i paid if i return the maid during the loan period? Do i get full refund and how fast do i get the refund?
7) is there instalment payment or do i pay the $3000+ (approximately) upfront?
8) Do you interview the candidates yourselves going over to their country then place them in your training center or do you share database with other agencies?

Lastly, try using their online search database to try out different criteria and see what u get before going down lo. Note that the turnover rates for maids are VERY HIGH and if u don't do enough research, can't make up your mind when u see a good one, very fast she will be taken up. So do your research so that u know a good one when u see one.

I shortlisted two and let my mum see also, listen to her input. I also send whatsapp to my good friends who have maids to help me see and give me advice. The agency will usually print the biodata for you in hard copy (a few that u are keen to consider), but online has everything too.

Here are some with online search database that i found:
http://www.homekeeper.sg/web/maidsearch.asp
http://www.netmaid.com.sg/search
http://www.maidlibrary.com.sg/
http://www.signature.com.sg/maids/search.php
http://www.nation.com.sg/maidSearch.asp
http://sinarmas.netmaid.com.sg/search
http://www.jpbgroup.com/jpb_web/jpb_maidSearch.asp
http://www.cncmaid.com/applicants1.html
http://apple.netmaid.com.sg/search
http://www.maidcity.com/maidsearch.htm
http://www.ecomfort.com.sg/publicsite/
http://www.singaporemaid.com/sgmp/Agency_Search_Criteria.asp?sAgID=sgmp

P/S: I like my post!!! lol. I saved it into my google docs for my future ref! lol.

My red spots started appearing only after 2days of not applying oil. Very disturbing to see and is getting more.
QQ are u getting maid? If so then I think u will have a difficult time. Cos definitely your maid will carry bb then if I find her dirty how u expect her to look after ur bb. I guess must learn to close 1 eye. Like last time my FIL come to my place tale off his shoes n straight away carry my bb without washing hands when he is less than 6 months. I nag my hb to ask him to wash hands then FIL not happy hehe.

AG, we have no plan for maid yet. Part time cleaner ok but maid.. Emm... Really need to think n think.. Not easy for both of us. We have only one bb as for now, think still can handle. see how it goes..

hi mummies, how's everyone? its been awhile since i last log in...was busy with work &amp; my gal during wkend..i'm getting a maid too..no choice cos i doubt i have the energy &amp; time to ferry between my in laws' place &amp; my place everyday...also the time saved can be used to spent quality time with my kids..

gynae still couldnt tell the gender yet so i hv to patiently wait for next mth....but gynae did mentioned that one of the twins look like a boy but she cant confirm...