(2012/08) Aug 2012

Regarding maid, i think can fix the schedule as per how u want it to be when bb arrive. Like sweeping n mopping everyday is a must. With a kid around, u want ur place to be clean. What I do is I lock my master bedroom when I or hubby not in.so my maid clean my room only in weekends or evenings. I bought a small safebox and put inside my locker cupboard n inside my master room, so it's triple safe haha. Cos who knows they duplicate my keys. Oh a warning to new mummies, it's better to train ur maid urself rather than getting the CL to train her cos they teach the wrong things or not the way u want. During my #1 confinement, I also ask my CL to teach my maid, end up it's a total disaster. My current maid is also graduate Filipino, she is good, but always show my black face which I can close 1 eye. But again she is clever cos she now has Hp, offday per mth, now back home for 2 weeks n before she lef, she put the newspaper cutout of 1 day per week off in the table for us to read. I expect when she comes back she will negotiate with me Liao, sianz.
My tummy can see Liao but many times, ppl in mrt just pretend can't see and close their eyes one they take a look at my tummy.

Yanlin: names wise it's best to discuss with your hubby, or even both sides of your family if u know they are those who will mind. Imo, find a name that has the meaning you want your girl to grow up to be. Then complement it with her mother language name.
if your mother language is chinese, i do hear that it's not good if ur children name characters take after immed family names cos don want elders to overshawdow the kid.

Good morning,

Joanne, I manage to get it. U can try today if u r free. Cos the stock dun look like got 200pcs. So better hurry.

Yanlin, think u can ask a feng shui master to help in Chinese name upon bb arrival if both family are those pan tang type as they said the name has to go with the time and date then the future will be good.

As for maid, it also better to be safe than sorry. As last time, my mum maid, she also secretly use my sister skincare products which some are quite branded one tot no one kw as my sister has put some in the common toilet.

So rem to keep ur things in a safe pl if u have a maid at home. U won't kw what will they do when u r not around.

yeah gg buy safe soon .. anyway today brought the maid over my mum place to stay a few days cause hub gonna be working late ..

i got 2 weeks to mid point!!

gd morn ladies...
=P i think my bb is having a hiccup!

congrats to yanlin for clearing the test!
and congrats to all ladies who have just found out the gender!

Yanlin..

Congrats !! Be prepared to spent alot on GIRLS... lolx..

My Oscar was Positive 1:160 also... so scheduledfor my Amnio next tuesday... Kinda scared and my turn to pray as well.... Take care and relax ya....

BTW wats your Oscar Results or why do u need to go for the Amnio test?

Congrats Yanlin!!

Star,
i am cracking my head to c wat she can clean.
i only windows got corridor one which she can clean but i seldom cook since i'm alone wkdays.
no curtains also. not much shelves fixtures or display item, only hb's toys which is out of bonds. doubt he will allow DW to touch or clean cos its expensive.
but like AG, i prob will lock up my master bedroom when at work.
i c on daily basis maybe 1-2hrs can complete n she can shake leg till i come hm liao.

re: baby names

=) yanlin for a start you can discuss with your hubby what alphabet the name is going to start with... then maybe later can move on to the meaning of the name... maybe for example to follow the traits of a saint? will your bb have a baptism name in future? for my #1 we didn't choose a baptism name.. will let him choose his confirmation name when it's time...

try google-ing for baby names... haha... below is one link that i've found...

http://www.babynames.com/

Jen, u got pots? Ask her to clean, otherwise, get her to iron all your clothes, t-shirts, shorts, pillow case for a start, dun let her too free initially, later on she got used to being too free then once bb come she give pattern. If got used plastic bags, ask her fold nicely put in a box and arrange the size from big to small. Then all your shoes can ask her to wipe, sometimes store too long will have mould.

All these stuff when bb come then she can no need do.. Now keep her occupied first.

ayukie,
u let dw access ur master bedroom when no one ard?
mop n sweep daily is ok cos can b done fast.
the after tat?
can maybe ask her hand wash my PJ and work clothes which is 2 set of clothes n general cleaning of everything console/ sofa/ kitchen.
quite weird to ask maid clean windows n my walls every alternate days rite?

jen - yeah cause my mbr nw gt nthing much for her to take also and i got the cctv its my parents place my room that gt the valuables but my parents home lor ..
except windows she clean most of mt stuffs liaoz and she wash my toilet daily and clean kitchen daily lor ..

yanlin,
i vote for charlotte!!

jen,
we let the maid access the master bedroom even when no one ard but we have a safe at home
i think not necessary to clean windows & walls every alt days? prob once every 2 weeks?
maybe u can get her to wipe the house, like the tables, tv consoles, etc? then slowly reorganise the cupboards so she will know where the stuff are?
like repack the snacks cupboard, wash those plates that has been stored for long?

Celeste,
My Oscar result was 1:137 due to low protein plasma A. You have to know your elements.
My amnio was done by Prof Biswas in NUH, he is the top amnio maternal fetal medicine specialist.
My amnio result was a brezze, you just need to bed rest after the amnio test and the next 2 days, hospitalization leave will be given to you. No heavy lifting, no cookings and no housework.
Good Luck to you and I will pray for you too. Leave everything to God, this will help you too…

ET,
my colleagues suggested cleaning all pots and plates which my hse only have 2 frying pan and 2 pots + 1 set of plates which i kept 70% in the cabinet.
plastic bags i tend to fold mine whenever i have it so no need to do.
shoes, i am a spoil n throw n buy new shoes person so not many shoes to clean.
seriously iron everything -.-"

MummyR,
wat do u keep in the safe other the $$ & jewellery?
do u jus lock up drawers tat contain impt documents like birth certs, passport etc?
cos i only have my wardrobe in my master bedroom and a chest of drawers for my girl.

kitchen cabinet is pretty straight fwd, open n all at a glance cos not much cockery.
store room also packed on shelves and boxes labelled accordingly so also no need pack.

think one option here is really to get dw to iron everything in my wardrobe including sheets n underwear :p

Ayukie, me! I'm still puke.. Haiz, now in 21 wks 4 days. I hope, it wouldn't be all the way till delivery.. Sigh..

Jen, ya, let the maid iron home wear clothes, wipe all furnitures, decor items, lamps, anyplaces that u think may get dusty, doors, walls, picture frames, clock, those storage items, can take out n wash n clean again, hand wash some of your clothes coz I think later for bb clothes, some may need hand wash, let her get use to hand wash oso. Curtain, wash once a week or twice a week. Have so many things need to do. Need to really make sure, every corner n items free of dust.

Ayukie, me! I'm still puke.. Haiz, now in 21 wks 4 days. I hope, it wouldn't be all the way till delivery.. Sigh..

Jen, ya, let the maid iron home wear clothes, wipe all furnitures, decor items, lamps, anyplaces that u think may get dusty, doors, walls, picture frames, clock, those storage items, can take out n wash n clean again, hand wash some of your clothes coz I think later for bb clothes, some may need hand wash, let her get use to hand wash oso. Curtain, wash once a week or twice a week. Have so many things need to do. Need to really make sure, every corner n items free of dust.

Jen, I always take out those seldom wear clothes out from wardrobe, wash n iron again n wipe my wardrobe. I hate doing that but I find it is dusty if leave those clothese hanging there. Haha.. May be can ask your maid does tat if you think she is free. Only me n hb stay in a house, we dun have much furniture n cookware too, but I still busy everyday with house chores. Nothing to do, take out cd, Vcd, books n wipe.

Ayukie,
gotta go back and check on safe details for u

Jen,
cash n jewellery in safe
locked up all impt documents esp maid's passport n work permit

Jen > Like mummyR say, you can let her have access to your master bed room but just keep your valuables in the safe. Your maid can also help you to tidy the bed, or sun your pillows. Or can refold all the clothes in the cupboard. Me and hubby are not very tidy person, so my maid got some stuff to do. It depends on how much you want your privacy ba, for me, I allow my maid to access practically everywhere to tidy when she needs except for the safe and drawers which are locked. To me, my rationale is that I got nothing to hide..haha

Ayukie > Erm, I don't really have a specific brand but can offer guidelines. The safe should be relatively heavy so it's not so easy to carry and take away (mine was 20+ KG). There are 2 types of lock on the safe, the dial (which you need to turn) and digital. The good thing with dial type is that you would never be worried about it running out of battery like the digital but sometimes takes some precision to open (have to turn correctly and slowly else have to retry all over again), also the password can never be changed (so if the password is exposed, the only thing you can do is change the entire safe. The good thing with digital lock is that the password can be changed (look for 1 that lets you enter at least 6 digits and above) as often as you want and some would need both the key and password in order to open the safe (which the key can always keep with you). Although there is risk that the battery would run out, the battery consumption is slow (unless you open and close many times a day) and if it really does, they would usually have a master key to overwrite it. The master key can then be kept out of the house (for me I keep in my office) so the maid would not be able to get it even if she turns the house upside down. Last but not least, don't really need to get those that are fireproof (cos they can be very expensive) since your main aim is to keep the maid away from your valuables, not fire. ^_^

QQ,
gd tip, cleaning all the CDs.

Thanks mummies for all the tips.
seem like i am not a gd housewife when it comes to chores cos i usually do only the basic stuff.

like tat maybe can get maid in 1 mth earlier but still wanna talk to MIL to let maid go her place cos think MIL will c maid more then me :p

For safe..
go IMM infront of Giant..
there is a stall selling..i got mine there..
yap get the heavy one where they cant carry n go..

pigpigmummy,
welcome

ayukie,
i dont puke but still feeling v sick at 17weeks

still no weight gain

jen,
if putting maid at MIL house then really need come earlier...most eldery take longer to adapt to a maid as well and communication might be a bigger problem for them

Mummy,
My MIL don want maid at her place at all cos no place for her to sleep.
must ask hb to talk to MIL, c if she will change her mind, if can place with her i don mind the maid come early

Ayukie... Haha.. Ya.. Till now, I don't really dare to go out shopping. Scare my MS attack then I'll be very xin ku. Think bb is trying to help mama save $$...

hi all, i went to taka to buy the steriliser set. they still have some stock, and there is a free playmat as well ( but its cloth, i thought all playmats are plastic or waterproof material? but anyway i was told that is a playmat)

so those who want it, go get it soon!

Just wondering.

Has anyone encountered instance of which OSCAR result is ok but bb is noted to have slightly thick neck, then more scan is required?

Pigpigmummy
Me lo..for my first bb..oscar test is fine but detailed scan bb got thick neck...so kena the amino test..

I wasnt recommended amino test. They juz recommended that I do another scan (to focus on bb's heart).I was crestfallen at first. Then I went to research on the condition.

Finally, i rejected the additional scan. Decided that I shouldnt over-worry. Besides bb's neck is really juz borderline thick, and i read that there are many cases whereby bb is diagnosed with slightly thick but the bb turns out to be ok.

Thankfully my hubby supports my decision. My sister said im very optimistic. :p

BBL, gynae says not too big, not small either.. so average lor.. I also dunno but I presume it's a normal size for it at this time.. it's the first time I was being told bb's weight..

@Pigpigmummy: mine was on the higher side but din hit the 3mm mark...but gynae referred me to another gynae (dr TC Chang) for the detailed scan...originally was supposed to juz go for the scan at TMC level 4...