(2012/08) Aug 2012

jilz - yeah thats what im worried about also haiz .. my hub insisted on asking her what she wants to eat and etc bleahz .. anyway because of the maid, i have also moved back home ..

Ayukie,
home meaning your love nest? =) i'm currently staying with my parents on wkdays... and in laws on wkends! can't wait to have my own home!

jilz - yeahlor i dont stay my in law place already after my mil pass away .. but tml or wed im moving back my parents place to sleep .. cause hubby work late ..

Ayukie,
i see i see! maid follows u too?

today is a quiet day for the bb.. not much kicking and movement!

Ayukie, i'm still waiting for my maid to come. E agent has yet to tell me when. Insurance done last tues and my hub and mum has been asking me when e maid is cmg. Headache

jilz - yeah i told her i have nothing much for her to do now yet so she goes grandma place prepare for bb arrival so baby come can stay at grandma place also lor ..

Hi ayukie
Just curious tt u hire new maid or ex sg maid? Hmm.. Why u request maid to come in so early since now to our delivery date still hv few mths to go? As i intend to asks maid come in only on May so tt she wun be too free now as bbies not born yet..;) my mum oso dun want maid so early as later got nothing for her to do..;p

Just curious, r we suppose to let maid keep do hsework? Can she go for nap in the afternoon or sit down there do nothing for few hrs?

Am in real headache whether shd get new maid or exsg maid? New maid cheap but they may not be able to adapt to singapore lifestyle n want go back soon after, then oso headache.. Sigh...

Regarding abt avent sterilizer, i thot their latest model can sterilize any bottles? Include breast pump etc..

joanne - shes a transfer maid lah so she here a yr liaoz .. its good to come early so she can help me prepare its just that im not used to moving to my home yet also so its too much changes for me lor .. at least she is mopping the floor and cleaning the bathroom and wiping the cupboards and wardrobes for me (i dont need to climb up and down) so then its like i need monitor her likdat and i just dont have strength and mood and time .. and i miss staying at my parents place although my new place is more comfy .. im not making sense right?

im letting her do housework .. as long 8 hrs rest lor if u dont need her wake up in middle of night no need nap for her

joanne - maybe i too long never buy sterilizer liaoz .. anyway i dont sterilize my pump because i did that once and well it end up with lotsa water droplets which i dont really like ..

good afternoon all mummies!

so much reading to catch up - i havent seen prior to this thread but understand Yanlin is considering hand me downs. i think a lot of stuff can be used 2nd hand but i read stuff like car seat, stroller, cot better not bcos as they are used their durability and safety can be compromised after use. maybe yanlin you can check out those expat garage sale as they tend to be pretty new.

i never had headaches much my whole life, and to think that i wil have it during my pregnancy, and in trimester 2!i have it every morning when i wake up ( slight ones) but it goes away very fast. i think it is cos i dont really sleep well nowadays. i used to be able to go back to bed whenever i wake up at night for whatever reasons, now i take at least an hour to go back to sleep. so that is affecting me very much.

for those of you with bad constipation, why not take prune juice? i had constipation in tri 1, and i can imagine the pain and misery so i hope you guys get better soon!!

i havent bought ANY big ticket items, even the steriliser. my hubby and i went down to taka to shop ard and ask abt the stroller + cot etc. we might head down to the khaki bukit hypermart to see this weekend.

also, i am taking yoga classes at M&C, i think it is pretty decent, those of you interested can go for the trail at 30 bucks for 1 hr. i like that it stretches the muscles i dont get to with my usual home routine.

kitty: The avent sterilizer seems very roomy, maybe you talking about the older model?

Ayukie: I got the air fryer. IMO it's a good buy in terms of health wise (although it might not be very energy saving cos it seems to work like oven and we all know that oven is a big sucker for electricity). If use fresh food to fry, only need very little oil, if buy commerical food like nuggets and fries, no need oil! Then the way it is cooked will force out additional oil in the food. So in the end, you get the crisp but not oily at all. It's good for small family cos at one time can only fry limited stuff.

QQ: Rging the sterilizer, I know there are althernative way but being the lazy me, I just want everything to be as efficient as possible (headache thinking back how my sis would spending heating milk to the correct temperature) XD. Then I would only buy stuff that I would confirm be using not just cos got discount then buy la. So everything need to buy, have to discuss and think very long..haha

Joanne: You need at least a few months because the maid needs to be familiar with your home and your family and your way of doing things, because most of the time initially you have to show her how you want the things to be done so that by the time you give birth, you should be able to have a peace of mind that she can do things herself without screwing up. Actually even if you get ex sg maid, there is also a risk that she cannot adapt to your family and might request to go back, so ultimately getting a maid is really like playing jackpot, see your luck.

Regarding treatment of maid, I guess we do not need to pamper them like ask them on the fan or aircon, they are old enough to know that if they are hot they can on the fan and stuff, just need to ask. Treating her well means that she has enough sleep and food and not doing anything that will endanger her life. After a few months, I realise that it's almost akin to how one would teach a kid. Set the boundaries, and as long as it's within the boundaries, she is free to do whatever she wants or esle always ask for permission. Like calling home, I got tired to watch over her to call once a week or month, so every month I would just get her a international calling card and told her to call whenever she wants when she has finished her chores but nothing more when she use up before 1 month time. Napping in the afternoon is all her choice, but she must finish all the chores by the time I go home. Food wise, I just make sure there's enough food at home for her to eat for her lunch, and during weekends if we just go nearby for lunch then we buy for her.

I'm going down M&C for trial classes this thrusday. Really need some exercise. Was swimming previously during weekday night nearby workplace but now scare catch a cold so don't do it anymore. Then wkend lazy to carry so much barang just to go swim XD

Ling: Know prune juice helps, but hate the taste always makes me want to puke instead..hahaa

i went swimming with my son over the weekend..but i felt uncomfortable when water is at my tummy..i felt the pressure there..but dont think i will wanna go swimming again

hey Starfantasy! i am planning to go for the Thurs class since my hubby is out of town - might see you there!

skinny one at 18 weeks would be me!! hahaha

QQ
its on the print out slip..
cos i think its hard to measure bb full length already so now use weight as a gauge lo

<font color="0000ff">hi mummies,
do anyone have pain at your belly button? i have this pain since Sat and it felt as though my belly button is gonna pop out anytime!
wondering has anyone feel the same way b4?</font>

ayukie,
I have the airfryer too and is loving it.

Congrats mummies who know their bb gender.

these few days have been very short tempered n emo.. think my BP going out of roof liao.
no help tat hb is away for 3wks *sobx sobx*

jen - but someone told me that the airfryer when you fry and eat its not bad but after awhile the fries will taste werid , is it the case? Cause thought of getting it since now it drop price abit ..

ive been pukin like mad

ayukie,
i find the food fine esp the fries which i find it taste better then oil fried cos the crunch stays even when cold unlike oil fried fries tat turns soggy when cold.
not too sure abt other food but i have tried nuggets, hotdogs, fries, luncheon and they taste fine to me.
but i do have some relatives tat comment tat the nuggets taste a bit dry when cold partly due to not much oil i guess.
i think most ppl r used to the "oil" taste in fried food cos oil makes food more yummy.

i have made some meatballs out of minced meat and they taste jus fine too.
so it is very much individual.

m ok thx jen .. cause i was thinkin it might be good to have a fryer ..

im sooo tired and sleeply after i puke sian ..

i have some curry gravy for my nasi padang n i feel queasy. but choice, curry is like my lunchtime nemesis.
also cramps r getting quite often due to my fibriod. hope the pain don get too bad.

Hi all, my dull pain near belly button is gone. Finally. But there seems to b more pain at the upper tummy but not continuous. Can't even walk straight now. Got to slouch a bit. Sigh.. Seems more prob in tri 2 then tri1...

hello urchin >> i think i am grateful for Tri 2 ... Tri 1 for me is too much throwing up and low energy. At least i get things done nowdays. and Tri 2 can see a growing belly - something more physical!

Ohhh i am getting rounder my face!

Hello mummies!!

I am going for my routine scan tonight. Am 18 weeks now.. Hopefully can see the gender tonight.. I am so excited!

Mummies who went detail scan, did the sonographer tell u the baby's gender? I hope the sonographer will if gynae cant tell the gender. Its gonna be another 2 long weeks before the detail scan.

i feel sick and i puke and my lower back pain is horrid .. all in all i just feels extremely horrible ....... sian

JC
for detailed scan u will be told of the gender..cos i think they need to report in that report so i guess still have to get the gender out..

urchin
I have this uncomfortable feeling above my belly button occasionally. Trying to identify the cause of it...my findings is it could be due to my poor sitting posture which can be cause by leg room space not enough. It can be quite painful till i need to slouch when i walk. But i feel better when i am lying down at 45 degree

JC
I just had my detail scan last sat, the sonographer will tell u the gender..mine is a birdie.. hee..

think you can ask not to be informed lor and then dont read the report and tell your gynae not to tell you also lor if its reported in report and cant be ommitted. think if you ask not to be told maybe they wont try to see the gender ..

Tigeroo
ya just scan dont need blood or urine test..just go in with empty bladder..dont need to endure till bladder wanna burst..

bbl - last time i do detailed scan for my #1 and my nt scan for my #2 at tmc they ask me drink more water think with water they see better or maybe baby will be in better position for them lor cause i had to walk also for the baby to be in good enough position to scan ..

Ayu
But now bb is so much bigger.still need to drink water? cos full bladder will press on the water bag making it clearer to scan sometimes..

bbl - dunno leh last time for my #1 i was told to do so lor but then that time my tummy not as big as current lor .. (i.e this preg tummy bigger)

<font color="0000ff">urchin, KJChua</font>
<font color="0000ff">do your pain near the belly button feels as though the belly button is going to pop out?</font>

loves
i only feel my belly button going to pop out when i have a very full meal and can even feel my belly is stretching

Ayukie
i was not told to have a full bladder cos the scan sometimes can talk quite long, think my bladder will burst if its full

My detail scan oso no instruction to drink or not to drink. But drink too much oso not good, coz, sonographer will press on the bladder n really felt will burst if she continue pressing it.

loves : I ever asked my gynae before on the pain around belly button. He said that's the intestine/bowel movements and there's no cause to worry. Hope this helps. If not, you can just call your gynae and enquire for assurance

Good evening all mummies,

A super Monday blue for me, like endless work.

JC all the best to ur scan. Hope u able to c the gender.

As for the belly button pain, I sometime also have some pain at the side. And lately, I feel some itch around it.

Dear all, thanks for the update on Philip avert sterilizer and the Philip carnival.