(2012/08) Aug 2012

Me back from M'sia. Just seem gynae today and not sure y sometimes I can feel the back bottom spin suan. Very scary. Same feel as giving birth. Anyone have this feeling too?

Chris,
agree, boy easier to identify.

Dear gals,
I'm seriously considering getting a maid. Any advice or recommendations for agency? Appreciate all help! Thanks!!!

Hi Judy,

I'm already 12wks now. But baby still looks very small, legs not as developed as the other parts. I can't see at all if it is a girl or boy but I have an inkling it is a girl. I vomit alot, complexion remains clear & I clearly prefer vegetables & fish to meat. I will vomit if i eat any pork or chicken and I used to be a meat-eater.

Gosh, I will have a headache next time for primary school registration as high competition in the dragon year. If it is a boy, I can apply under my husband's alumnus as his is a boy's school.

Morning Mummies!!

Clim> is this your second bb? Could be u walk too much.. I was also shopping in JB for 7 hrs haha.. After landing my butt into the car, I also had that suan feeling and my butt hurts haha

Sashamama> are u getting the maid now or later towards your third trimester? I got mine from Brights maid and I am currently still very happy with mine. Do u mind transfer maids?

Hi mummies! Hope everyone had a great LNY.

I had a little brownish/pinkish spotting yesterday, called my gynae & rushed down to see him. Dr did a scan & said everything is ok. DH said can see the legs and hands very clearly now at 9wk+.
Given one week HL to rest.

Ling>> i went for holidays on my 5th week. Dr gave the green light so i proceed. Just rem not to carry the luggage and try to walk/shop lesser. Take breaks in between shopping. Keep warm as its a little chilling in HK & Macau now. Enjoy!

Hi, Louise, have you had any dream abt your baby? I dreamed of a little baby girl before I knew I was pregnant. Thus I believe mine is a baby girl. And I have the same symptoms as you have. Heyhey.

Dear Sherry,
I'm hoping the maid comes in my 3rd trimester. I'm super new to this, so a lot of research and advice needed. I think transfer maids are fine especially if I have a chance to speak to the previous employers. What do u think?

Re: Maid
Based on this blog http://www.singapore-maid.com/, the writer sorta recommended http://www.121personnel.com/, any gals heard of this agency before? Or which agencies do you gals use? Indonesian or Filipino better? I still have a lot of research to do, all advice appreciated!!!

Sashamama> ok, at least u have ample time to train etc. personally, alot depends on luck. I have friends who changed 4 maids in a short span and it's a mixed of new and transferred maids from Indo, Filipino and myanmar. She's gg to change again cause the maid fell asleep while her twins were playing on the bed!!
For transferred maids, I find some are good cause they have prior experience but it's very important that u do checks with the previous employers. Mine is new but she initially lie saying that she has experience working for an Indo family, taking care of one kid and 2 dogs.. Ended up, she confessed a 2 mths later saying she has no prior experience and she was a salesgirl in a departmental store. But am thankful, she's still quite good la.. Just dun expect too much hehe
By the way, there was an episode of a programme on channel 8 on maids etc by Bryan wong n mark lee.. The agent practice bringing the maid for an one day orientation with the new employer but am not sure what's the agency name

Ying Ying,
Will help you to check with gynae next week.

That time mine is not totally block, he said don't have to over panic, it might slowly move up, if not, just cannot go for natural. Will check for you next week when I visit him.

Hope everything is fine with you.

AG,

hope you can sleep well!

Zratsniwt,
Your blood test will turn out well. Understand how you feel, we mommies will worry non stop.

All the best for your result.

Judy,
Hi, welcome. Have smooth pregnancy ahead!

Ivian,
You are from Malaysia as well?? K.L?

Sashamama,

Hire a maid is by luck sometimes. You might just get one from your first hire. It's good you get it few mths before you deliver so that you can train them to the way you want.

I got mine directly. She was here visiting her aunty and look for job. And she is good in taking care of children. And I have another one which initially is not so good, as in super slow. You might gv instructioon few times and she still catch no ball. BUT she is patient, good hearted, and willing to learn. And she is good to kids as well.

If you want transfer maid, there's one agency in Far East shopping center, is good. I'll check with my friend the name of the agency and update you. There's another one in Lucky plaza also not bad, i friends quite number of friends hired from there before.

As for Myanmar maid, my colleague hired, emm... communication problem... And when you want to renew their passport etc, is quite troublesome as you have to go yourself coz lot of agency don't do it for you. And touch wood, in case you want to change, might not have mucy choice as well.

Ling,
Wish you a good trip next week.

If you have gynae letter, you can show to the letter to the custom, exempted to go through the scan. If you don't want to Q in HK custom, can arrange for meet and greet service there as the Q there is super long. The ground staff will bring you and your colleague pass thru the custom w/o Q-ing.

Just don't carry heavy things will do. Walk and sit down to hv drinks and rest a bit.

My SIL travel back from Europe while she is like 2 mths preggy, is okie so long your gynae find your pregnancy ok. I myself also travel frequently from the beginning till 35 weeks for long and short haul. So long there's ppl carry your heavy stuff is ok.

You might want to bring a face masks in case. The air in HK is nt so good especially those crowded area, late winter, in case got ppl flu, cough etc. I wear a mask when I go to crowded area in HK when I was pregnant two years back.

Enjoy your trip!

Dear Sherry and Vinwee,
Yes, pls share the recommendations! I really need all the help and advice I can get cos super newbie at this. Thanks in advance!

I heard Filipino maids must give 1 day off per week? Do you gals with maids give day offs? Or pay the maid more and no day off?

I just hired a indon maid.
Didn't choose Filipino cuz they require off days and is a must to give them a mobile phone. but seeing too many Filipino maids behaving inappropriately in orchard during Sunday during scares me. Once they go out, I feel that they sure get bad influence. So stick to indon was a safer choice for myself. But of cuz it's still depends on luck.

Remb to get the maid get hep b injection before u bring them home cuz it can b pass to the kids. N make sure no BO.

Sashamama> my helper dun get day off but she gets to choose to go out with us on weekends, even when we go JB for makan.. But u need to give extra $10-20 Per mth. She did try to request for a phone but i told her no. However, she gets access to my home phone to call her mum or her sis whose also working in Singapore.. I dun restrict her on the number of calls per week but she gotta know her limit..

I think for indo maids who are new, language might be a barrier so either u get one who has a better command or English.. Otherwise, it helps if u can pick up some basic Malay or Bahasa Indonesia. I got a dictionary on hand initially haha

Yogi and baby cloud think is three tube blood but one draw. Cos the lady who took my blood say will take three tubes. Then I only saw one tube when she say done and she transfer the blood fr the syringe to the tubes.

Hello Judy, snowy.

Louise,
My #1 don take pork. A boy lei.
No 2 anything also ok, a gal
This round no pork again.

Sherry,
#3. Maybe e travelling cos take 8 hrs car to my hb hometown.

Hi Judy I didn't get any dream about boy or gal leh. Just hope it is a boy against all hopes for practical reasons. I don't have to worry about school registration.

Hi Clim, it's not just pork. All sort of meat except fish and prawns, I immediately dun like & feel like puking. I was a total meat-eater previously.

Louise, same as you, i totally reject all meat stuff and rice.. Can only take seafood and hot stuff.. Damn sian.. Like you, i used to take all areas of the pig, now, i cant take the smell man, i will get turn off and dun want to eat..

clim, for my no. 1 i also abstain from meat awhile, but not as terrible as this time..

ET,
Me too. Totally can't stand the smell of pork.
For fish, if v strong smell, I can't take too. The rest are ok. Yet to try mutton.

Maybe too much pork during Christmas so now rejected.

Louise,
DO u eat beef? I'm ok wif beef n only stop pork.So this bb is halal again.

Now nearly everyday curry veg, jialat.. But at least now my MS not so jialat, i still can tolerate 1 or 2 meals..

clim, my bro also laugh say this baby is halal, my first one born in the year of ox, so only eat grass (vegetables), this one, halal bb..

morning all

ET,
me too..everything must be spicy or hot
else i need chilli sauce...i dont really take chilli lsat time

louise,
normally ppl buy in 2nd tri...cos 3rd tri tummy shld be quite big
can start looking out for baby fairs

gd morning mummies

first day of work..feel so sick..
cant zzz last night and i think i woke up at least 7 times to pee...super tired now

Morning everyone....

MummyR & ET
same same...me 3..i also like spicy food esp curry. But I tried to restrain myself from taking cos someone told me taking too much curry will cause jaundice.. is it true???

BBL
you had alot of water before you sleep?

KJ Chua,
hmm not leh..just normal lo..but yest dont know why need to pee so many times..maybe bb pressin on my bladder..cos i feel slight discomfort at tummy area like intestine kena a knot..so maybe is bb pressing on me

Fell sick on the 3rd day of CNY and now a big bag of medication to take.. now i am so sick of medicines.. just hope this 2 weeks pass faster and I can go into 2nd trimester soon.. 1st trimester really sucks.

Powerwee>> my agent quoted me 2050 for CL and levy is to pay direct to CPF upon receipt of the letter from government which is payable by AXS. Levy need to be paid because the CLs they have are from m'sia.

jojo..
seems like its the sickly period..think alot of ppl fell sick during this period,..me too..just recover abit only..feeling so weak..

Ayukie..
hang on..u gonna reach 2nd tri soon

sashamama, my gynae is LN Sim at Thomson Medical..

i can't wait for first trimester to be over. been having MS for the past few weeks & the feeling is terrible.

sashamama, my gynae is LN Sim at Thomson Medical..

i can't wait for first trimester to be over. been having MS for the past few weeks & the feeling is terrible.

BBL>> ya lor.. now just hope faster recover and faster 8th feb

going tmc for scan on 13th feb and by then i am like 13th week liao. Yay! just hope the nurse finds my veins!

BBL
looks like ur bb is pressing on you.. maybe can talk to ur bb to be nice to u..heee..
must also avoid coffee and tea as these will cause you to pee more..

Jojo
i also did my scan on wk 13, day 1. I din know because base on babycenter calculation i am only week 12. It's only when i went for the scan the radiograher told me that.. maybe the machine is base on the bb size.

I reached 2nd Tri but Dunno if my horror just started. I also feel very tired and want to sleep my naseaous away. I officially vomitted to Welcome my 2nd Tri on Sat night outside at a market, my girl sitting in the stroller look at me in shock lor......and I been feeling worst than ever before....I kena cheated kind of feel thot 2nd Tri will feel better. My girl no MS at all, only twice or a few times heartburn throughout the 9-10 mths only.

I count my 2nd Tri as the beginning of 13 Weeks. Finally announce to my Family and my In Laws yesterday. Today going to announce to my colleagues. Already told one. I caNT TAKE It anymore.

Any idea when is taka baby fair?
I remember ard August , but is too close to edd..

Vinwee,
Yea, me from kl, u too?

Err... I visited my gynae at week 12 and she declared I ended my first tri. So I already announced to the world during cny liao. Ha. Tummy was showing anyway.

Mahjong> MS lasts till 4 mths. Not just 1st tri. Many mummies tell me that coz I was complaining I still feel pukey. Take care k? It shld get better soon.

yanlin>> i think is the start of week 14..
http://www.babycenter.com.sg/pregnancy/

KJChua>> I hope mine is only start of 13 weeks.. dunno how the ultrasound machine count and i guess the same as u it is based on the size of the baby. but i think gynae is confident enough to send me to oscar on 13th Feb that i wont exceed the timeline for the scan.

Mahjong >> no worries la.. 1 or 2 weeks i think its fine leh.. i announce to my frens le.. but not daring enough to announce in FB. wahahaha

Ivian,
I think there should be one around Mar/Apr period.

mahjong,
I am also in my 2nd tri, but not exactly feeling fantastic as well. In fact what's worse now is I keep feeling faint. I can feel the blood draining from my face, cold sweat and everything start to spin. Got to quickly sit down and take some time to recover, and then after that I get a headache and sometimes nausous.

Anyone experience fainting spells too?

Yanlin/ KJ
hmm seems abit late to scan at week 13..but if able to measure the neck fluid then ok lo..scare the fluid disappear only.

Ya think baby super naughty yesterday..hai..i am so sick..voice so sexy..nose so blocked.

Mahjong.
pls take care..puke in the mkt..lucky is mkt not shopping center..

Yoqi,
me me..always feeling dizzy n fainting..think low blood

Hee Hee, I announced on fb when 8 weeks pregnant.
Can't wait for tri 1 to be end soon. Can stop all the meds too. Those pills made me feel dizzy.

jojo
yap, u are right.. must trust ur gynae

BBL
there is neck fluid during the scan but will check with gyane this sat to get assurance from him that the scan is ok and also getting the blood test result

yogi08
at this stage of pregnancy more blood is pump to our bb so you may experience fainting. Think the gynae will give u iron pill to replenish